AI assistants are sold as free levels, personal subscriptions, seat plans and bundles inside other products, and the headline price says little about limits, data use or leaving.
This guide ranks fourteen assistants on first-week setup, the real monthly price, how chats export, whether you can buy without a partner, and who each one suits.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What AI chatbots and assistants software does
An AI assistant answers questions, drafts text and summarises documents in a chat window, and is sold as a free level, a paid plan, a team seat or a bundle.
Every AI chatbots and assistants tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Paris assistant, now branded Vibe, with published plans and Team data export
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Mistral's help centre confirms the rename: your account, plan and conversations moved to Vibe at the same address. The pricing table sells Free, Pro and Team, with Team at a per-user monthly price that adds data export, domain verification and 30GB storage per user.
Enterprise covers audit logs, SAML SSO and custom deployments through sales, so a small team can start published and move to a quote later.
What stands out
Paris company
Team data export
Renamed Vibe
Where it costs you
Data export is listed only from the Team plan, so individual users have no documented way out.
The product was renamed Vibe in August 2026, which means older guides and comparisons use the former name.
Right for
Buyers who want published plans from a European company and team data export
Wrong for
People who need fixed message counts per day
FranceFree, Pro and Team plans published; Enterprise by sales
Answer engine that puts inline citations on every answer
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Perplexity prices a Free plan, Pro and Max, with Pro billed annually at a lower monthly rate than monthly billing. Pro adds Computer access, deep research and premium data sources such as PitchBook and Statista.
The company states that every answer carries inline citations. Perplexity AI, Inc. gives a San Francisco address, and its privacy notice lets users ask for their data in a portable, machine-readable form.
What stands out
Cited answers
Comet browser
Model routing
Where it costs you
Pro adds model selection, so Free users cannot choose which lab's model answers.
Enterprise prices are not shown, so organisations must go through sales to compare.
Right for
Researchers who want every answer shown with its sources and links
Wrong for
Teams wanting one fixed model behind every answer
United StatesFree, Pro and Max plans published; Enterprise priced separately
Anthropic assistant with Free, Pro and Max plans and self-service data export
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Claude's pricing page lists Free, Pro and Max for individuals, with Max at 5x or 20x Pro usage, and Team seats in standard and premium tiers.
The help centre explains that Free, Pro and Max users export data from Settings, then Privacy, and receive an emailed link. Anthropic PBC gives a San Francisco address, and Anthropic Ireland, Limited contracts with consumers in Europe.
What stands out
Self-service export
Seat plans
Opt-out training
Where it costs you
Free has no Claude Code and limits Projects to five.
Team seats at the lower price need annual billing, and Enterprise has a 20-seat minimum.
Right for
Individuals and small teams who want documented export and opt-out training
Wrong for
Buyers who need invoicing terms on the individual plans
United StatesFree, Pro and Max plans published; per-seat Team and Enterprise
OpenAI assistant with six plan levels from Free to Enterprise
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
OpenAI's ChatGPT documentation lists Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business and Enterprise. Business bills per user annually, needs at least two users, and states that business data is not used for training by default.
Enterprise adds SCIM, key management, role-based access, audit logs through a compliance API and data residency controls. Extra usage beyond plan limits is bought as ChatGPT credits.
What stands out
Six plan levels
Credits add-on
Business SSO
Where it costs you
The ladder has six levels and Pro alone has three price points, which makes the right plan hard to pick.
Its own documentation names no country of establishment, and we could not read its data export page.
Right for
Organisations that want one vendor with plans from solo use to enterprise
Wrong for
Buyers who need data residency without an Enterprise contract
Not stated by the vendorFree, Go, Plus, Pro and Business plans published; Enterprise by sales
Quora platform that puts many third-party models behind one account
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Poe's terms describe a platform where users talk to bots powered by third-party models, and creators can build their own.
Bots may be limited by messages, points or compute points, and some subscriptions can be shared with a family, friends or a team. Quora, Inc. is the data controller named in the privacy policy. The Poe pages we could read show no team admin features.
What stands out
Many models
Points system
Group accounts
Where it costs you
Usage is measured in points that cannot be refunded or cashed out, which makes the monthly cost hard to predict.
It hosts other companies' models, so what you can use depends on those makers.
Right for
Curious individuals comparing many models through one account instead of separate subscriptions
Wrong for
Organisations needing admin controls, audit logs or central billing
United StatesPoints-based message limits; subscription prices not seen on the vendor site
Chinese lab's chat app and web assistant, data processed in China
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
The pricing page lists two models and bills input, cached input and output tokens separately, with off-peak hours priced at half. The documentation gives separate base URLs for OpenAI and Anthropic clients, so existing SDK code can usually be repointed.
The privacy question is the real filter: the terms reference de-identified processing but no location, and the governing law is that of the People's Republic of China.
What stands out
Chinese operator
Web and app
China data storage
Where it costs you
The terms do not state a data storage location and are governed by PRC law
You buy only DeepSeek's own two models, with no routing to others
Right for
Cost-driven workloads that can tolerate a vendor in mainland China
Wrong for
Regulated buyers who need a stated data location
ChinaPer-token API published; chat plans not shown on its site
Moonshot AI assistant with membership tiers and a business edition
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
Kimi's help centre describes memberships with a shared usage pool, extra top-up packs and automatic renewal that can be cancelled. A separate business edition adds workspaces and seat management, and the API is pay-as-you-go on a different platform.
The privacy agreement is issued by Beijing Moonshot Technology Co., Ltd. Moonshot's own site says K3 has 2.8T parameters, is multimodal and has a 1M-token context.
What stands out
Moonshot AI
Shared usage pool
Business edition
Where it costs you
The pricing page needs JavaScript, so we could not read membership prices.
The help centre and agreements are in Chinese, which slows a European buyer's checks.
Right for
Users with long documents who want a Chinese-built assistant with agents
Wrong for
Teams needing English-first admin documentation and clear prices
ChinaMembership tiers and business edition; prices not readable without JavaScript
xAI assistant now sold inside the X Subscription with Cursor
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The docs describe a Free tier, then Plus, Premium, Super and Ultra at 4x, 15x and 50x included usage on the three upper tiers. Grok Bot is included from Premium upward, and team seats exist on Premium, Super and Ultra.
Grok and Cursor draw on a shared weekly pool, while third-party models inside Cursor are billed separately. Docs state accounts can be deleted at accounts.x.ai.
What stands out
X Subscription
Shared usage pool
Weekly limits
Where it costs you
Weekly limits pause paid features once the pool runs out, until the stated reset.
Switching from SuperGrok or X Premium to The X Subscription is permanent and cannot be undone.
Right for
Users already inside X or Cursor who want one bill
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a standalone chat subscription with fixed daily limits
Not stated by the vendorFree, Plus, Premium, Super and Ultra tiers published; team seats
Google assistant tied to a Google account and storage tiers
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The Dutch plan page shows a no-cost tier with a Google account, AI Plus, AI Pro and AI Ultra, with Ultra priced in two usage steps. Pro includes 5 TB storage and Gemini in Gmail, Docs and Vids.
Chats are stored as activity in the Google Account, which users can delete or stop keeping. Google LLC lists Mountain View, California, and Google Ireland Limited serves the EEA.
What stands out
Google account
Storage bundled
Usage multiples
Where it costs you
The best tiers are bundled with storage and Workspace features, so the price is hard to compare with chat-only rivals.
Google says human reviewers read some Gemini data, so confidential text does not belong in it.
Right for
People already on Google accounts who want assistant, storage and Gmail integration
Wrong for
Teams wanting an assistant separate from the Google account
United StatesFree tier with Google account; AI Plus, Pro and Ultra published
Microsoft assistant sold inside Microsoft 365 plans and as a business add-on
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Microsoft's individual page sells Personal, Family, Premium and Pro, each with Copilot, plus a one-month trial. Premium carries higher usage limits than Personal, and Pro the highest.
For businesses, a Copilot Business add-on is priced per user per month, billed yearly. The Copilot terms say you must sign in with a Microsoft account, and Microsoft Corporation lists Redmond, Washington. Microsoft 365 Personal also has a yearly price.
What stands out
Microsoft 365
Account required
Business add-on
Where it costs you
Consumer terms do not apply to work or school accounts, so staff signing in with those accounts follow other rules.
The individual price is a Microsoft 365 subscription, so you pay for the Office suite as well.
Right for
Microsoft 365 households wanting AI inside Word, Excel and Outlook
Wrong for
Teams that want a standalone chat tool without Office
United StatesBundled in Microsoft 365 subscriptions, published; business add-on per user
Meta assistant used inside its apps, with paid Meta One tiers
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Meta's newsroom says Meta AI stays free for everyday use, while Meta One Core and Premium raise usage for image and video generation. The paid Meta One bundles combine features from Instagram, Facebook and WhatsApp with Meta AI.
Creator and business bundles start higher and add tools like Meta Business Agent. Meta states plans are available globally but varying by region.
What stands out
Inside Meta apps
Meta One tiers
Consumer focus
Where it costs you
No team plan, admin controls or export documentation appeared in the Meta pages we could read.
Plans and prices vary by region, app and account, so a published price may not match what you are offered.
Right for
Consumers who already use Instagram, WhatsApp or Facebook every day
Wrong for
Businesses needing a managed assistant with admin controls
Not stated by the vendorMeta states core use stays free; paid Meta One tiers published
Search company whose site now leads with web search APIs
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
You.com's pricing page lists a keyless free allowance of 100 Web Search queries a day, then pay as you go at a fixed amount per thousand calls with no minimums or seats.
Research endpoints cost more per thousand calls and run longer. The company offers zero data retention and a DPA to enterprise customers. SuSea, Inc. operates the service under its terms.
What stands out
API focus
Per-call pricing
SuSea Inc
Where it costs you
The front page is now an API product, so a buyer looking for a chat assistant finds no price.
Its terms mention subscriptions but we found no plan table for the chat product.
Right for
Developers wanting real-time web search for their own AI tools
Wrong for
Readers who want a consumer chat plan with clear prices
United StatesAPI per call published; chat pricing not found on its site
A browser with built-in AI companions for non-technical work
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Strawberry is a browser for macOS and Windows with built-in companions that research across sites (including behind logins), source leads on LinkedIn, update CRMs and spreadsheets, transcribe meetings without a bot, build slide decks and run scheduled routines. Official companions cover sales, recruiting, executive assistance, marketing and consulting, and users can create their own. Browsing uses no credits; chats and actions do.
Individual plans are Free (500 credits a month), Intern ($20, 6,000 credits), Part-time ($85, 25,000) and Full-time ($250, 75,000), with top-ups at $0.01 per credit that roll over. Team includes 3 free seats and Enterprise adds pooled credits and invoicing, with no prices shown for either. The homepage names Strawberry Browser Inc. and says the company meets SOC 2 requirements. The about page says the company was founded in Stockholm, Sweden, where the team is based.
What stands out
Free plan
Credit-based
AI browser
Where it costs you
No iOS or Android apps are listed, and its own comparison page points coding and finished Excel and PowerPoint files to Claude
Usage is metered in credits, so heavy automation moves you up from the free 500 credits to $85 or $250 a month
Right for
Non-technical teams in sales, marketing or recruiting that want AI to do browser work in the tabs they already use
Wrong for
Developers, or anyone who wants a single chat assistant with mobile apps
SwedenFree 500 credits a month; Intern $20, Part-time $85, Full-time $250 a month; top-ups $0.01 per credit
Web and desktop app for chatting with many open-source AI models, with side-by-side answers and a judge model
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Polychorus gives access to open-source models such as GPT-OSS and DeepSeek in one app. You can ask one model, let two answer while a third judges, or run a multi-model discussion.
The free plan allows 15 prompts a day on six fast models, and paid plans are listed in euros with VAT included. The footer names an individual in Zagreb as owner, and the page gives two different model counts, 27 and 41.
What stands out
Free plan
Open-source models
Multi-model answers
CroatiaFree plan with 15 prompts a day; Visitor EUR 4.99 a month, Benefactor EUR 9.99, Atelier EUR 14.99, Collector EUR 49.99, VAT included
An AI assistant answers questions, drafts text and summarises documents in a chat window, and is sold as a free level, a paid plan, a team seat or a bundle. Feature lists look alike, so we would settle these points one at a time instead.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Only 12 of the 14 print a price; 2 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Mistral Le Chat, Perplexity, Claude, ChatGPT, DeepSeek, Grok, Google Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, Meta AI, You.com, Strawberry, Polychorus.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
4 regions are represented (North America 6, Europe 3, Elsewhere 3, Asia-Pacific 2). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.
What an AI assistant plan actually limits
Almost every assistant has a free level, so the useful question is what the paid levels raise. Vendors rarely sell message counts. Claude's Max plan is described as 5x or 20x the usage of Pro, Grok's tiers as 4x, 15x and 50x included usage, and Mistral's table speaks of up to 6x the Free plan.
Google AI Pro offers 4x the usage of the no-cost tier. A multiple of an unpublished baseline cannot be priced in advance. Compare the weekly or daily pool, whether paid features pause when it ends, and whether extra usage can be bought. ChatGPT sells extra usage as credits, and Mistral lists pay-as-you-go credits beyond the plan.
Does the vendor state usage as a fixed pool or only as multiples?
What happens when the pool runs out: pause, throttle or extra charge?
Can extra usage be bought without changing plan?
How chat data enters, trains and leaves
Check three things before anyone pastes client material into an assistant: whether chats train models, who can read them, and how they leave. Anthropic says consumer chats are used for training only if you allow it or they are flagged for safety review. Google says human reviewers read some Gemini data.
DeepSeek's privacy policy says data is stored in the People's Republic of China, and Mistral's table lists data export only from Team. Claude documents an export from Settings, then Privacy, for Free, Pro and Max users. Perplexity's privacy notice lets users ask for data in a portable form. Ask for the exit route in writing before you standardise on one.
Is training opt-in, opt-out or off by default for your plan?
Where is chat data stored and who may review it?
Can you export every conversation yourself, on your plan?
Individual plans versus team seats
A seat price is not the same product as an individual plan. Claude Team is priced per seat with a lower annual rate, ChatGPT Business needs at least two users billed annually, and Mistral's Team plan is priced per user with data export and domain verification. Microsoft sells Copilot Business as a per-user add-on to a Microsoft 365 licence.
Enterprise tiers for ChatGPT and Claude add controls such as SCIM and audit logs, but need a sales conversation or minimum seat count. A team starting on individual plans often has no central billing, which is hard to fix later. Decide who owns invoices, who can leave, and who can see the chats.
Is there central billing and who owns the account?
What is the minimum seat count and billing term?
Which admin features exist below Enterprise?
Assistants that live inside another product
Several assistants are not standalone. Microsoft Copilot is bundled into Microsoft 365 Personal, Family, Premium and Pro. Google Gemini's higher tiers include cloud storage and Gemini in Gmail and Docs. Meta AI runs inside Instagram, Facebook and WhatsApp, with Meta One bundles on top. Grok is sold inside The X Subscription with Cursor and X access.
Poe is the opposite case, putting third-party models behind one account. Bundling can be good value if you use the rest of the package, and a trap if you do not. Price the assistant on its own, then compare it with the bundle, and read the privacy policy to see which company controls your chats and where it says they are processed.
What else are you paying for in the bundle?
Does the assistant work if you drop the host product?
Which company is the data controller for chats?
What goes wrong most often when buying AI chatbots and assistants software
Buying a plan from a multiple such as 5x or 20x without asking what the baseline allows.
Pasting client data into a consumer account that your company does not control or bill.
Assuming a personal Claude, ChatGPT or Gemini plan covers staff, when business use needs Team, Business or Enterprise terms.
Treating a bundled assistant such as Microsoft Copilot or Meta AI as free when the suite price pays for it.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best AI chatbots and assistants in 2026?
Mistral Le Chat leads our ranking of 14. A French company incorporated in Paris, whose assistant keeps the chat.mistral.ai address and login but is now branded Vibe.
Free, Pro and Team plans carry published prices, and only Team lists data export and domain verification. Limits are stated as multiples of the Free plan under fair use, not as fixed message counts, so a heavy user cannot forecast the month.
Which AI chatbots and assistants tools publish their pricing?
12 out of 14 state a price model on their own site:
Mistral Le Chat: Free, Pro and Team plans published; Enterprise by sales.
Perplexity: Free, Pro and Max plans published; Enterprise priced separately.
Claude: Free, Pro and Max plans published; per-seat Team and Enterprise.
ChatGPT: Free, Go, Plus, Pro and Business plans published; Enterprise by sales.
DeepSeek: Per-token API published; chat plans not shown on its site.
Grok: Free, Plus, Premium, Super and Ultra tiers published; team seats.
Google Gemini: Free tier with Google account; AI Plus, Pro and Ultra published.
Microsoft Copilot: Bundled in Microsoft 365 subscriptions, published; business add-on per user.
Meta AI: Meta states core use stays free; paid Meta One tiers published.
You.com: API per call published; chat pricing not found on its site.
Strawberry: Free 500 credits a month; Intern $20, Part-time $85, Full-time $250 a month; top-ups $0.01 per credit.
Polychorus: Free plan with 15 prompts a day; Visitor EUR 4.99 a month, Benefactor EUR 9.99, Atelier EUR 14.99, Collector EUR 49.99, VAT included.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free AI chatbots and assistants tool?
Mistral Le Chat, Perplexity, Claude, ChatGPT, Grok, Google Gemini, Strawberry, Polychorus can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these AI chatbots and assistants vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, North America 6, Europe 3, Elsewhere 3, Asia-Pacific 2:
Mistral Le Chat: France.
Perplexity: United States.
Claude: United States.
ChatGPT: Not stated by the vendor.
Poe: United States.
DeepSeek: China.
Kimi: China.
Grok: Not stated by the vendor.
Google Gemini: United States.
Microsoft Copilot: United States.
Meta AI: Not stated by the vendor.
You.com: United States.
Strawberry: Sweden.
Polychorus: Croatia.
What should you use instead of Mistral Le Chat?
Perplexity and Claude are the next two on this page. Perplexity is for Researchers who want every answer shown with its sources and links; Claude is for Individuals and small teams who want documented export and opt-out training.
Who should not buy Mistral Le Chat?
People who need fixed message counts per day. Data export is listed only from the Team plan, so individual users have no documented way out..
Makers of AI chatbots and assistants products can ask us to look at theirs. Say what it does and who uses it. We choose what to add, and nothing can be bought; see software advice for what a listing means.