Claude alternatives: 11 AI chatbots and assistants tools compared
People look for a Claude alternative when the usage windows bite, when the gap between Pro and Max feels too wide, or when a team finds that audit logs and SCIM sit in a different plan. They move to another general assistant, to the assistant bundled with their office suite, or to a per-token API.
Short answer: The first three alternatives to Claude in our AI chatbots and assistants ranking are ChatGPT, Google Gemini and Microsoft Copilot. Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Choose ChatGPT if your colleagues already use it and you want a second opinion on its current plan page. All 11 alternatives below are ranked products from Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026, and each says where it differs from Claude.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this site; it never changes what we say
about a product. How that works.
Pricing: Free, Pro and Max plans published; per-seat Team and Enterprise
Established in: United States
Built for: Individuals and small teams who want documented export and opt-out training
Not for: Buyers who need invoicing terms on the individual plans
01
Why buyers look past Claude
01
Usage resets every five hours and paid plans add weekly caps
Claude's help centre says limits are tracked in a five-hour session window plus weekly limits, and that message size, conversation length, tool use and model choice all change how fast you burn through them. The page gives no fixed message counts per plan. Someone who relies on Claude for a full working day cannot read their capacity off the pricing page.
02
A big step from Pro to Max
Pro is $17 a month on an annual plan ($20 monthly). The next individual plan, Max, starts at $100 a month and is billed monthly only, at 5x or 20x Pro usage. There is no $30 or $50 rung in between, so a heavy Pro user who keeps hitting the cap faces a fivefold price jump, or has to buy usage credits.
03
Governance features sit above the Team plan
Team is $20 per seat a month on annual billing ($25 monthly) with 2 to 150 seats and SSO. Its pricing page excludes SCIM, audit logs, the Compliance API, custom retention and role-based access. Those arrive on Enterprise, which lists $20 per seat a month with a 20-seat minimum plus usage at API rates, so a 10-person regulated team has to compare Enterprise's minimum against a rival's Team tier.
API per call published; chat pricing not found on its site
Search company whose site now leads with web search APIs
you want to give your own application live web search and pay per call
#12
03
What each one does differently
1
ChatGPT
Not stated by the vendor · Free, Go, Plus, Pro and Business plans published; Enterprise by sales
The closest like-for-like chat assistant from OpenAI, sold as a ladder from Free up to Business and Enterprise. We could not read its pricing or help pages (both refused our requests), so we quote no prices and no limits for it. Compare its current plan page against Claude's five-hour and weekly windows yourself.
Switch from Claude if your colleagues already use it and you want a second opinion on its current plan page.
United States · Free tier with Google account; AI Plus, Pro and Ultra published
Free with a Google account, then AI Plus at EUR 4.99 a month, AI Pro at EUR 21.99 and AI Ultra from EUR 99.99 (5x Pro limits) or EUR 219.99 (20x). Each tier bundles storage, from 15 GB to 20 TB and up, so the price covers the Google account as well as the assistant.
Switch from Claude if you want a cheaper entry tier and already keep your files and mail with Google.
United States · Bundled in Microsoft 365 subscriptions, published; business add-on per user
Copilot is sold with Microsoft 365: Personal at $9.99 a month, Premium at $19.99, Pro at $99.99, with higher Copilot usage on each step. For businesses, an add-on is listed at $18 per user a month on a yearly promotion that runs 1 July to 31 December 2026, first year only. It assumes Word, Excel and Outlook.
Switch from Claude if your team lives in Microsoft 365 and wants the assistant inside those apps.
United States · Free, Pro and Max plans published; Enterprise priced separately
A search-first product from Perplexity AI, Inc. Its free plan gives 3 Pro Searches a day; Pro and Max raise those to weekly limits and give access to models from several vendors, including Claude Sonnet 4.6 per its help page. Enterprise Pro starts at $40 per seat a month. We could not read the individual Pro price.
Switch from Claude if most of your prompts are research questions and you want other vendors' models in one subscription.
France · Free, Pro and Team plans published; Enterprise by sales
Mistral's assistant has a Free plan, a Pro plan with $15 a month in API credits, and Team at $24.99 per user a month with data export and 30 GB storage per user. Enterprise mentions self-hosted, private cloud or on-premises deployment, which Claude's plans do not offer. Its standard Pro price was not clearly shown.
Switch from Claude if you need a deployment option inside your own environment or a Team seat priced below Claude's Premium seat.
Not stated by the vendor · Free, Plus, Premium, Super and Ultra tiers published; team seats
Sold as The X Subscription: Free, Plus $8 a month, Premium $30, Super $100 and Ultra $200, with included usage of 4x, 15x and 50x on the top three. Team seats exist from Premium at $30. The usage pool is shared with Cursor, and third-party models inside Cursor draw on credits from the first use.
Switch from Claude if you also use Cursor or X and want one usage pool across them.
United States · Points-based message limits; subscription prices not seen on the vendor site
A multi-model aggregator from Quora, not a model maker. One account reaches bots from several vendors, metered in points. We could not read its subscription prices or about page (the site refused our requests), so we state no figures and no limits for it.
Switch from Claude if you want to try several vendors' models side by side before committing to one.
Not stated by the vendor · Meta states core use stays free; paid Meta One tiers published
Meta's assistant, built into its own apps and its own site. We could not read Meta's plan pages (the sign-in and cookie walls blocked us), so we quote no prices or plan limits. It is aimed at consumers inside Meta's apps and is not evidently a team product with SSO or admin controls.
Switch from Claude if you want an assistant inside the Meta apps you already use and need no work plan.
China · Per-token API published; chat plans not shown on its site
Operated by Hangzhou DeepSeek Artificial Intelligence Co., Ltd. The API bills per million tokens: deepseek-flash at $0.15 input (cache miss) and $0.60 output off-peak, deepseek-v4-pro at $0.66 and $1.98, both with a 1M-token context. Peak hours cost double. We could not find a consumer plan table.
Switch from Claude if you build on an API and want token billing with off-peak discounts instead of a seat.
China · Membership tiers and business edition; prices not readable without JavaScript
An assistant from Beijing Moonshot Technology, now promoting its K3 model for agentic coding and knowledge work, with scheduled tasks, PPT creation and deep research in the app. The pages we could read show no membership prices, and the privacy agreement is in Chinese.
Switch from Claude if you read Chinese, want an agent-style assistant and will confirm prices with the vendor first.
United States · API per call published; chat pricing not found on its site
You.com now lists web search and research APIs priced per 1,000 calls: Web Search $5, Contents $1, Answer $5, Research from $12 to $1,200. There are no seats or platform fee, and $10 of free credit. Its pricing page shows no chat subscription, so it replaces Claude only if you are building an agent.
Switch from Claude if you want to give your own application live web search and pay per call.
Claude remains a sound choice when you want published seat prices ($20 Team seat on annual billing, 2 to 150 seats), no model training by default on Team and Enterprise, and a self-service export on Free, Pro and Max. Enterprise adds SCIM, audit logs, a Compliance API and custom retention. If you rarely reach the five-hour window, the Pro plan at $17 a month on annual billing costs less than most paid rivals we could read.
05
What moving off Claude involves
01
Export before you cancel, and know where it works
On the web app or Claude Desktop, open Settings > Privacy and choose Export data. Claude emails a link that expires after 24 hours, and you cannot start an export from the iOS or Android apps. On Team and Enterprise, members can export their own chats only if an owner has switched that on; Primary Owners export for the whole organisation.
02
Test limits on real work, not on the price list
Claude meters in five-hour and weekly windows, Grok in a shared weekly pool, Perplexity in Pro Searches and Research queries, DeepSeek in tokens. Run two or three recurring jobs on the new tool for a month and count how often you stop. Keep Claude's seat until you have that number.
06
Questions about replacing Claude
6 answers
What is the cheapest alternative to Claude?
Among prices we could read, Google AI Plus is EUR 4.99 a month and Grok Plus is $8, against Claude Pro at $17 on annual billing.
Free levels exist at Gemini, Grok, Mistral and Perplexity. Cheaper tiers carry lower limits, so compare how much work fits, not the sticker price.
Does Claude have a free plan?
Yes. Claude's pricing page lists Free at $0 with web, desktop and mobile chat, web search and Artifacts. It is limited to Sonnet and Haiku models and 5 Projects, and Claude Code is not included. Opus and Claude Code start on Pro.
Is there an alternative that can run inside our own environment?
Mistral's pricing page says custom deployments can be self-hosted, in a private cloud or on-premises, and lists this under Enterprise by contacting sales. Claude's pricing page lists no such option; Enterprise is a hosted plan with network access control and IP allowlisting.
How do I move my Claude chats elsewhere?
Export from Settings > Privacy on the web or desktop app; you receive an emailed link valid for 24 hours.
We have not tested whether other assistants can import the file, so treat it as an archive and expect to rebuild your prompts and projects by hand.
Does Claude train on my conversations?
Claude's pricing page says model training is opt-out on Free, Pro and Max, and off by default on Team and Enterprise. Check the setting in your account after any plan change.
Which alternative suits teams on Microsoft 365 or Google accounts?
Microsoft sells Copilot inside Microsoft 365 plans and a Business add-on, and Google sells Gemini Enterprise from US$21 per licence a month for teams up to 300 people. Both tie the assistant to a suite you already pay for, which Claude does not.
—
Sources
Checked 20 October 2026
Claude pricing: Free, Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise prices, seat limits, exclusions on Team, training defaults, Free plan model limits.
Founder of The Knowledge Engineers and of 2 Steps Ahead, an AI search visibility agency. Editorially responsible for every page on this site; research and drafting are AI-assisted.
Written, edited and fact-checked by Sebastiaan Smits. Last reviewed
20 October 2026. How we review.