ChatGPT alternatives: 11 AI chatbots and assistants tools compared
People look for a ChatGPT alternative when the plan ladder stops fitting: a free tier that is thin, a jump from Plus at $20 to Pro plans from $100, or a Business seat that needs a minimum of two users. Most move to another general assistant, to a search-first tool, or to the assistant already bundled with their office suite.
Short answer: The first three alternatives to ChatGPT in our AI chatbots and assistants ranking are Claude, Google Gemini and Microsoft Copilot. Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Choose Claude if you want a similar chat assistant with a published seat price and a self-serve data export. All 11 alternatives below are ranked products from Best AI Chatbots and Assistants in 2026, and each says where it differs from ChatGPT.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this site; it never changes what we say
about a product. How that works.
Pricing: Free, Go, Plus, Pro and Business plans published; Enterprise by sales
Established in: Not stated by the vendor
Built for: Organisations that want one vendor with plans from solo use to enterprise
Not for: Buyers who need data residency without an Enterprise contract
01
Why buyers look past ChatGPT
01
A steep ladder between Plus and Pro
ChatGPT's documentation lists Free at $0, Go at $8 a month, Plus at $20 a month and Pro from $100 a month, with Pro sold at $100, $200 or $500. Someone who outgrows Plus does not get a $30 or $40 step. The next purchase is five times the price, which is where Claude Max from $100, Gemini AI Pro at EUR 21.99 or Grok Premium at $30 become relevant.
02
Usage is quoted as ranges, not fixed limits
The docs give estimates of local messages per five-hour period (for example 15-160 for GPT-6.1 Sol on Plus and Standard Business) and say these are not fixed limits, that weekly limits may also apply, and that tasks that look alike can consume different amounts. A buyer who needs to predict a monthly workload cannot read it off the plan page.
03
Business seats need two users and extra usage is credit-based
ChatGPT Business is $20 per user per month billed annually ($25 monthly) and requires 2 or more users. Usage beyond the plan is extended with ChatGPT credits, and Enterprise and Edu is sales-led. The docs we could read do not state a country of establishment, and chatgpt.com and openai.com refused our requests, so we could not check the consumer export route.
API per call published; chat pricing not found on its site
Search company whose site now leads with web search APIs
you need live web search inside your own application, not a chat subscription
#12
03
What each one does differently
1
Claude
United States · Free, Pro and Max plans published; per-seat Team and Enterprise
A general assistant from Anthropic PBC, based in San Francisco. Pro is $17 a month on an annual plan ($20 monthly), Max starts at $100, and Team seats are $20 a month billed annually (2 to 150 people). Free users and paid users can export their data from Settings.
Switch from ChatGPT if you want a similar chat assistant with a published seat price and a self-serve data export.
United States · Free tier with Google account; AI Plus, Pro and Ultra published
Google's assistant, free with a Google account and sold as AI Plus (EUR 4.99 a month), AI Pro (EUR 21.99) and AI Ultra (from EUR 99.99) on its Dutch page. Plans bundle cloud storage (15 GB free, 400 GB, 5 TB) and Gemini inside Gmail and Docs, so the price covers more than the assistant.
Switch from ChatGPT if you already live in Gmail, Drive and Docs and want the assistant bundled with storage.
United States · Bundled in Microsoft 365 subscriptions, published; business add-on per user
Microsoft's assistant sold inside Microsoft 365 subscriptions for individuals (Personal $9.99 a month, Premium $19.99, Pro $99.99) and as a Copilot Business add-on from $18 per user per month paid yearly. You cannot buy it alone for personal use, and it assumes you work in Word, Excel and Outlook.
Switch from ChatGPT if your team already pays for Microsoft 365 and wants the assistant inside those apps.
United States · Free, Pro and Max plans published; Enterprise priced separately
A search-first assistant that cites sources in every answer. Pro is $17 a month billed annually and Max $167 a month billed annually. It routes each query across several models, which Perplexity says include ChatGPT, Gemini and Claude, so you buy access to other vendors' models, not one model family.
Switch from ChatGPT if most of your questions are research queries where you want a source behind every claim.
France · Free, Pro and Team plans published; Enterprise by sales
The assistant from Mistral AI, a company registered in Paris, renamed Vibe on 12 August 2026 at the same chat.mistral.ai address. Pro is $14.99 a month and Team $24.99 per user a month, both under fair-usage limits. Its Enterprise tier mentions self-hosted and on-premises deployment. Prices are shown in USD or EUR.
Switch from ChatGPT if you want a French vendor with a cheaper team seat and the option of private deployment.
Not stated by the vendor · Free, Plus, Premium, Super and Ultra tiers published; team seats
The assistant now sold as The X Subscription: Free, Plus $8 a month, Premium $30, Super $100 and Ultra $200, with team seats from $30. One shared weekly usage pool covers Grok and Cursor. Plus does not include Grok Bot, and Plus is not available for teams. The documentation names no country of establishment.
Switch from ChatGPT if you also use Cursor or X and want one subscription with a weekly usage pool.
Not stated by the vendor · Meta states core use stays free; paid Meta One tiers published
Meta's assistant inside Instagram, Facebook, WhatsApp and its own site. Meta states the core experience stays free. Paid Meta One plans start at $2.99 a month for single products, $7.99 for individual bundles and $14.99 for creator and business bundles. It is built around Meta's apps, not a standalone work assistant.
Switch from ChatGPT if you mainly want an assistant inside WhatsApp or Instagram and do not need a work plan.
United States · Points-based message limits; subscription prices not seen on the vendor site
A platform from Quora, Inc. that puts many third-party models and user-made bots in one place. Usage is measured in points, messages per bot or compute points; points have no cash value and are non-refundable. We could not read its subscription prices. Shared family or team subscriptions exist.
Switch from ChatGPT if you want to compare several vendors' models in one account without three subscriptions.
China · Per-token API published; chat plans not shown on its site
A web chat and API from Hangzhou DeepSeek Artificial Intelligence Co., Ltd. The API is billed per 1M tokens with a 1M-token context, and the home page shows no consumer plan table. Terms are governed by the laws of China, which a buyer with data-location rules has to weigh.
Switch from ChatGPT if you build on an API and want per-token billing instead of a subscription seat.
China · Membership tiers and business edition; prices not readable without JavaScript
An assistant from Beijing Moonshot Technology Co., Ltd., with a membership system built on a shared usage pool and top-up packs, plus Kimi Business with an independent workspace and seat management. Its pricing page renders client-side, so we cannot quote prices. The help centre is in Chinese.
Switch from ChatGPT if you read Chinese, want a long-context assistant and can confirm prices with the vendor.
United States · API per call published; chat pricing not found on its site
SuSea, Inc., trading as you.com, now leads with web search APIs priced per 1,000 calls ($5 for Web Search, $12 to $1,200 for Research tiers) with 100 free queries a day via MCP. It is built for developers feeding live web data to their own agents, not for a chat seat.
Switch from ChatGPT if you need live web search inside your own application, not a chat subscription.
ChatGPT remains the right choice when you want one assistant on the broadest set of plans, from a $8 Go tier to Business with SAML SSO, MFA and no training on business data by default, and Enterprise with SCIM, audit logs and data residency controls. If your team already standardised on it, its usage ranges and credit top-ups are a known quantity. The cost of leaving is retraining prompts and habits, not a data format.
05
What moving off ChatGPT involves
01
Take your history out before you cancel
We could not load ChatGPT's export instructions, so check the export route in your account settings before you downgrade. Claude states that Free, Pro and Max users can export from Settings > Privacy and receive an emailed link that expires after 24 hours. Perplexity's privacy policy says you may request your data in a portable, machine-readable form.
02
Run the new tool on real work for a month
Plans differ in how they meter use: five-hour estimates at ChatGPT, a shared weekly pool at Grok, points at Poe, fair-usage limits at Mistral. Move two or three recurring tasks, count how often you hit a limit, and only then cancel the old seat. Seat prices alone will mislead you.
06
Questions about replacing ChatGPT
6 answers
What is the cheapest ChatGPT alternative?
Among published prices, Meta states its core experience stays free, Google Gemini has a free tier with a Google account, and Mistral Pro is $14.99 a month against ChatGPT Plus at $20.
Perplexity Pro and Claude Pro are $17 a month on annual billing. Compare usage limits, not only the sticker price.
Is there a free alternative to ChatGPT?
Claude, Gemini, Grok, Mistral and Perplexity all list a Free tier with limits. Meta says its core experience across its apps and Meta AI stays free. Free tiers are capped on messages, searches or image generation, so test whether your normal week fits.
Which alternative is best for research with sources?
Perplexity cites sources inline in every answer and adds premium data sources such as PitchBook, Statista and S&P Capital IQ on paid plans. We have not tested answer accuracy against ChatGPT, so check citations on a topic you know.
Is there a European alternative to ChatGPT?
Mistral AI is registered in Paris, and its assistant at chat.mistral.ai is now called Vibe. Gemini Apps in the EEA are provided by Google Ireland Limited, which is a legal entity choice, not European ownership. Pick by task and contract terms.
Can I use several models without several subscriptions?
Poe and Perplexity both give access to models from other vendors under one account. Poe meters by points and Perplexity selects models per query. In both cases you depend on that intermediary's plan, not on the model maker's own terms.
Can a team replace ChatGPT Business?
Claude Team seats cost $20 per month billed annually, Mistral Team $24.99, Grok team seats start at $30, and Copilot Business adds from $18 per user to Microsoft 365.
Compare admin features and the minimum seat count against ChatGPT Business at $20 for 2 or more users.
Founder of The Knowledge Engineers and of 2 Steps Ahead, an AI search visibility agency. Editorially responsible for every page on this site; research and drafting are AI-assisted.
Written, edited and fact-checked by Sebastiaan Smits. Last reviewed
19 October 2026. How we review.