ChatGPT vs Claude
ChatGPT is OpenAI's assistant with a six-step plan ladder from Free to Enterprise, including a Go plan and Pro tiers up to $500 a month. Claude is Anthropic's, with Free, Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise plans and a documented chat export. Prices at the entry and team levels are close, so the choice rests on the plan ladder, exit and which coding tool comes with the plan.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this site; it never changes what we say about a product. How that works.
you want the cheapest paid entry plan, a choice of Pro tiers at $100, $200 or $500, and Codex bundled from the Plus plan upward.
you want to be able to export your chats from Settings, a Team plan with SSO at a published seat price, and Claude Code included from Pro.
ChatGPT and Claude side by side
| ChatGPT | Claude | |
|---|---|---|
| Our AI chatbots and assistants rank | #4 of 12 | #3 of 12 |
| Established in | Not stated by the vendor | United States |
| Pricing | Free, Go, Plus, Pro and Business plans published; Enterprise by sales | Free, Pro and Max plans published; per-seat Team and Enterprise |
| List price, 19 October 2026 | Free; Go $8/month; Plus $20/month; Pro $100, $200 or $500/month; Business $20/user/month annual | Free; Pro $17/month annual or $20 monthly; Max from $100/month; Team standard seat $20/seat/month annual |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Open source | — | — |
| Self-hostable | — | — |
| Built for | Organisations that want one vendor with plans from solo use to enterprise | Individuals and small teams who want documented export and opt-out training |
| Not for | Buyers who need data residency without an Enterprise contract | Buyers who need invoicing terms on the individual plans |
Both are reviewed in full in our AI chatbots and assistants ranking: ChatGPT and Claude.
Where they differ
ChatGPT 1 · Claude 1 · open 3- 01
Entry price
ChatGPT Go costs $8 a month and Plus $20. Claude has no plan between Free and Pro: Pro is $17 a month billed annually or $20 monthly. Both free plans exist, but Claude's Free plan does not include Claude Code. For the lowest paid price, ChatGPT Go is cheaper.
Edge: ChatGPT
- 02
Heavy-use plans
ChatGPT Pro comes in $100, $200 and $500 a month versions, and its docs say Pro currently has no five-hour limit. Claude Max starts at $100 a month with 5x or 20x Pro usage, and paid Claude plans add weekly limits. Both bill extra usage on top: ChatGPT sells credits, Claude sells usage credits at API rates.
Depends on the buyer
- 03
Team plans
ChatGPT Business is $20 per user per month billed annually ($25 monthly) for 2+ users, with SAML SSO and MFA. Claude Team is 2 to 150 seats, standard seat $20 annual ($25 monthly), with SSO. On both, SCIM and audit logs wait for Enterprise. Claude's 150-seat ceiling is its extra limit.
Depends on the buyer
- 04
Exit
Claude documents the export: Free, Pro and Max users open Settings, choose Export data, and get an emailed link that expires after 24 hours; it is not available in the mobile apps. ChatGPT's help page returned an error to us, so we state no export process for it.
Edge: Claude
- 05
Training on your chats
Anthropic says consumer chats are used for training only if you allow it, if they are flagged for safety review, or if you join a programme such as Trusted Tester. OpenAI's pricing docs say Business data is not trained on by default. We did not find the consumer-plan default on a page we could read.
Depends on the buyer
When neither fits
If neither plan ladder fits, the other assistants in our ranking, such as Perplexity and Mistral Le Chat, have their own pricing and exit terms worth reading before you commit.
ChatGPT or Claude: questions
4 answersIs ChatGPT or Claude cheaper?
At entry level ChatGPT Go is $8 a month, against Claude Pro at $17 a month billed annually or $20 monthly. ChatGPT Plus and Claude Pro are both $20 on monthly billing.
Can I export my chats from Claude?
Yes. Free, Pro and Max users go to Settings, then Privacy, and click Export data; a link is emailed and expires after 24 hours. Team and Enterprise members need an owner to switch it on.
Which one includes a coding tool?
Claude Code is included from Pro upward and not on Free. ChatGPT Plus lists Codex on the web, CLI, IDE extension and iOS, and Go is described for lightweight coding.
Where are OpenAI and Anthropic based?
Anthropic PBC lists a San Francisco, California address in its privacy policy. The ChatGPT documentation we could read does not state OpenAI's country, so we leave it unstated.
Sources
Checked 19 October 2026- ChatGPT plans and pricing (docs): plan prices, Business seat price, SSO, Enterprise features, usage limits, no training on business data.
- ChatGPT desktop app docs: projects, files, macOS and Windows.
- Claude pricing: plan prices, Claude Code by plan, Team seats, usage limits, SSO, enterprise features.
- Claude data export help: who can export, steps, 24 hour link.
- Claude training statement: when consumer chats are used for training.
- Anthropic privacy policy: San Francisco address, Ireland entity.