Cursor alternatives: 12 AI coding assistants tools compared
Cursor alternatives are sought by developers who want an AI coding agent without changing editor or paying a per-seat price plus usage, and by organisations reconsidering their vendor after Cursor was acquired by SpaceX in August 2026. They move to agents that live in a terminal or in the IDE they already use, to open-source tools run on their own model keys, or to bundles from the model providers.
Short answer: The closest replacements for Cursor in our AI coding assistants ranking are Claude Code, GitHub Copilot and JetBrains AI Assistant. Choose Claude Code if you want the agent in your terminal or existing IDE and are content with one model family. All 12 alternatives below are ranked products from Best AI Coding Assistants in 2026, and each says where it differs from Cursor.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this site; it never changes what we say
about a product. How that works.
Pricing: Free Hobby plan; per user per month plus on-demand usage, published
Established in: United States
Built for: Teams that want a finished AI editor and accept its owner's model priorities
Not for: Buyers who want the editor vendor neutral between model makers
01
Why buyers look past Cursor
01
A seat price plus on-demand usage
Cursor's published plans are a free Hobby tier, Individual at $20 a month and Teams at $40 per user per month, and every plan includes base model usage with on-demand overage billed monthly. The headline price is therefore the floor, not the bill. Teams whose heaviest users run agents all day look for a model where usage is paid at provider rates, or pooled across the organisation.
02
A new owner
Cursor's own blog announced on 14 August 2026 that Cursor has been acquired by SpaceX, and its homepage now lists Grok among the supported models. The announcement is brief and says nothing about pricing or governance. Procurement and security teams that approved Anysphere, Inc. as a supplier have a reason to review the decision again, whatever they conclude.
03
Its own editor
Cursor is delivered as its own desktop application, with a CLI, cloud agents and a Slack integration alongside it. Developers who are productive in JetBrains IDEs, in Zed or in a terminal, or whose company standardises an editor, have to adopt a second environment to use it. Tools that plug into the existing editor remove that step.
Free Hobby plan; Individual subscription and pay-as-you-go credits, published
Agent for web, desktop and terminal, billed at provider token prices
you want cloud-run agents across web, mobile and terminal rather than a desktop IDE
#3
03
What each one does differently
1
Claude Code
United States · Per seat per month on Claude plans, published; or pay-as-you-go API usage
Claude Code is an agent from Anthropic that runs in the terminal, in VS Code and JetBrains plugins, on desktop, web and mobile. It is bought as a Claude subscription (Pro at $20 a month billed monthly, Max from $100) or paid for per token through a Console account. It uses Anthropic's models, not a choice of vendors.
Switch from Cursor if you want the agent in your terminal or existing IDE and are content with one model family.
United States · Free plan; per seat per month with AI credit allowance, published
GitHub Copilot works as a plugin in VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Neovim, Eclipse and Vim, so nobody changes editor. It has a Free plan with 2,000 inline suggestions a month, Pro at $10 a month and Pro+ at $39, each with a credit allowance. Business and Enterprise are priced through sales.
Switch from Cursor if you want the lowest entry price and the widest editor support.
Netherlands · Free tier with monthly credits; per user per month, published
JetBrains AI sits inside IntelliJ-based IDEs and is priced in credits worth $1 each: a free tier with 3 credits per 30 days, AI Pro from $10 a month and AI Ultimate from $30. It suits JetBrains users and is not a standalone editor. Availability varies by IDE version and region.
Switch from Cursor if your team already works in JetBrains IDEs and wants AI there.
United States · Free Personal plan; Pro and Business per seat per month, published
Zed is an open-source editor with AI as an option, not the core. Personal is free, with unlimited use through your own API keys or external agents, Pro is $10 a month with $5 of token credits, and Business is $30 per seat. Beyond the credits, Pro bills at API list price plus 10%.
Switch from Cursor if you want a fast editor where AI can be switched off or run on your own keys.
United States · Free extension and CLI with inference at cost or own keys; Enterprise quoted
Cline is an Apache 2.0 licensed coding agent that runs as a VS Code extension, in JetBrains (early access), as a desktop app and as a CLI. The tool itself costs nothing and you bring your own provider keys, so the model bill goes straight to the provider. Enterprise terms are quoted.
Switch from Cursor if you want an open-source agent and direct control over which model provider you pay.
United States · Free extensions with usage billed at provider rates; Teams per user per month, published
Kilo Code is MIT licensed and runs in VS Code, JetBrains, a CLI and a cloud agent. It states zero markup on AI inference, supports 500+ models and your own keys, and sends teams to sales for pricing. It gives you Cursor's agent workflow without the bundled usage allowance.
Switch from Cursor if you want an open-source agent with no inference markup and the choice of any model.
Not stated by the vendor · Free; you pay your chosen model provider directly
Aider is a command-line tool under the Apache 2.0 licence that edits code in your repository and commits each change to git with a message. It has no editor, no seat price and no hosted service: you pay the model provider you point it at. Anything graphical or collaborative is outside its scope.
Switch from Cursor if you work in a terminal and want every AI change as a reviewable git commit.
Not stated by the vendor · Free plan with limited use; ChatGPT plans per user per month, published
OpenAI Codex is not sold alone but bundled into ChatGPT plans: Free, Go at $8 a month, Plus at $20, Pro at $100 to $500, and Business from $20 per user. It is used through a desktop app, web, CLI and IDE extension. API keys with token pricing are an option for CI. Limits depend on the plan.
Switch from Cursor if your team already pays for ChatGPT and wants the coding agent included.
United States · Flat monthly plan per organisation plus usage top-ups, published
Augment Code charges a flat monthly fee per organisation, Standard at $20 with $20 of usage and Business at $100 with $100, with up to 50 seats and pooled usage. LLM costs carry a 40% service fee. It offers SOC 2 Type II and a CLI, and is priced by pool, not by developer.
Switch from Cursor if a small team would rather share one usage pool than buy seats.
United States · Free tier; Pro per user per month, published
Amazon Q Developer has a free tier of 50 agentic requests a month and a Pro tier at $19 per user per month, available in the IDE and the CLI. Pro adds an admin dashboard, IP indemnity and higher Java transformation limits (4,000 lines a month, pooled). It is closest to the AWS ecosystem.
Switch from Cursor if your infrastructure is on AWS and you want indemnity and an admin console at a low per-seat price.
United States · Free plan; Teams base fee plus per seat per month, published
Devin is an autonomous agent working in its own cloud environment, not an assistant inside your editor. Plans are Free, Pro at $20 a month, Max at $200 and Teams at $80 a month plus $40 per developer seat (up to 200 users). Usage runs on daily and weekly allowances, with extra at API rates.
Switch from Cursor if you want to hand whole tasks to a cloud agent and review the result.
United States · Free Hobby plan; Individual subscription and pay-as-you-go credits, published
Amp is a cloud-based coding agent used through the web, native macOS and iOS apps and a CLI. Each thread runs on its own cloud machine (an orb) with your code preloaded, and it combines several models. It is deliberately opinionated and drops features the team does not use. We could not confirm its price from the vendor pages.
Switch from Cursor if you want cloud-run agents across web, mobile and terminal rather than a desktop IDE.
Cursor remains a sound choice when a team wants an agent-first desktop editor with several vendors' models behind one login, and values the Teams controls: team-wide privacy mode, SAML/OIDC single sign-on, usage analytics and a shared marketplace for rules and skills. Cursor lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO/IEC 27001 and ISO/IEC 42001 certifications on its security page. If developers are already productive in it and the on-demand usage is predictable, the ownership change alone is not a technical reason to move.
05
What moving off Cursor involves
01
Rules and context are tool-specific
Cursor's team marketplace holds internal rules, skills and plugins. Other tools read their own files and MCP servers, so the written conventions have to be recreated or exported by hand. Move the rules that people actually rely on first, and delete those nobody can explain.
02
Model access changes with the vendor
Cursor offers models from several providers behind one subscription. Moving to a tool from a model vendor narrows that to one family, while moving to an open-source agent means managing provider keys and budgets yourself. Decide who owns keys and spend limits before the first developer switches.
03
Run both for a sprint
Agent quality depends on the codebase more than on the benchmarks. Give a few developers the candidate tool on a real backlog for two weeks, compare cost per merged change, and keep the Cursor subscription until the numbers are in.
06
Questions about replacing Cursor
5 answers
Who owns Cursor now?
Cursor's blog states that it was acquired by SpaceX on 14 August 2026. Its homepage names Anysphere, Inc. as the developer. The post gives no detail on pricing or governance, so check the current terms and privacy policy when you renew.
What does Cursor cost?
Hobby is free, Individual is $20 a month and Teams is $40 per user per month, with Enterprise quoted. Each plan includes base usage and bills on-demand overage monthly, so heavy agent use can exceed the list price.
What is the cheapest Cursor alternative?
Aider, Cline and Kilo Code are free to install and you pay your model provider directly.
GitHub Copilot has a free plan and Pro at $10 a month, and Zed Pro is $10 a month. Total cost depends on how much model usage your team consumes.
Can I keep my current editor?
Yes. GitHub Copilot supports VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Neovim and Eclipse, Cline and Kilo Code run in VS Code and JetBrains, and JetBrains AI sits in JetBrains IDEs. Aider and Claude Code also run in a terminal.
Does Cursor train on my code?
Cursor says that with Privacy Mode enabled it will not train on your data, and that Privacy Mode is available to all users and can be enforced by team or enterprise administrators. Check each alternative's data terms the same way.
—
Sources
Checked 8 October 2026
Cursor pricing: Hobby free, Individual $20, Teams $40 per user per month, on-demand overage, Teams SSO and privacy mode.
Cursor homepage: Developed by Anysphere, Inc.; desktop, CLI, cloud agents, Slack; Grok among supported models.
Cursor blog: Acquisition by SpaceX announced 14 August 2026, no pricing detail.
Cursor security: Privacy Mode no-training statement; SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 42001.