Penetration testing tools range from free scanners and exploit frameworks to services where a vendor sells you tester hours.
This guide ranks twelve of them on how much setup a first test takes, what the bill is once retests and credits are counted, whether you can leave with your findings, and whether you can run it without a partner.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What penetration testing tools software does
Penetration testing tools help security testers find and prove weaknesses in networks, applications and cloud systems, either as software a person operates or as a service that delivers the test.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each penetration testing tool is built for. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Quoted per organisation; fixed cost per engagement
—
Organisations already using HackerOne who want a scoped pentest
Buyers wanting an online price before a call
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Manual web testing toolkit sold per user, with a trial
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Penetration Testing Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The product page describes a web vulnerability scanner, an intercepting proxy, authenticated API scanning, Burp Intruder, and an extension store with over 300 entries.
The buy page asks for subscription length, currency and user count, and says everyone using it needs a subscription. Estate wide scheduled scanning is sold separately as Burp Suite DAST, so budget for both if you need that.
What stands out
Web proxy
Per user licence
Extension store
Where it costs you
Every person who uses it needs their own subscription, so team cost grows per tester.
Network, host and Active Directory work is outside what the product page describes.
Right for
Web application testers who work by hand and want one paid tool
Wrong for
Teams needing network or infrastructure exploitation
Not stated by the vendorPer user subscription, published; free trial
Free network scanner that maps hosts, ports and services
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Penetration Testing Tools in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingNorth America
Nmap sits at the start of nearly every network test: it shows which hosts answer and what runs on them.
The NPSL licence lets end users download and use it for free, but does not allow redistribution inside commercial software or hardware, which the maintainers license separately. Output is raw scan data, so reporting, exploitation and tracking come from other tools around it.
What stands out
Network discovery
Source available
Free download
Where it costs you
It maps what is reachable and does not run exploits, so it is one step of a test.
The licence forbids redistributing it inside commercial software without an OEM deal.
Right for
Anyone mapping networks who needs a free, scriptable scanner first
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a guided, reportable test platform
United StatesFree for end users; paid OEM licensing for embedding
Debian-based distribution that ships a pentesting toolbox preinstalled
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Penetration Testing Tools in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Kali packages tools such as Nmap, Metasploit Framework, Burp Suite, Wireshark, Aircrack-ng, Hydra and sqlmap into one image, and the site lists installs for virtual machines, containers, cloud providers, WSL and Android. That saves hours of setup. What it does not give you is a workflow: findings, evidence and client reports are your own job.
What stands out
Open source
Linux distribution
Toolbox bundle
Where it costs you
It is an operating system with no built-in reporting, scheduling or finding tracker.
Included tools come from many authors, so each has its own licence and interface.
Right for
Testers who want a ready toolbox on a laptop or VM
Wrong for
Teams needing managed reports and tracked remediation
Not stated by the vendorFree, open source distribution
Free web application scanner and intercepting proxy, backed by Checkmarx
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Penetration Testing Tools in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
ZAP covers the same ground as a paid web proxy: it intercepts traffic, crawls with its spider, runs active scans and exposes an API plus an automation framework for pipelines.
The repository is Apache 2.0 licensed, so it can be embedded and modified. The cost is your own time for tuning and triage, because nobody triages findings for you.
What stands out
Open source
Web proxy
Automation framework
Where it costs you
Support is community based, with no paid support plan shown on the pages fetched.
The sponsor, Checkmarx, sells commercial products that overlap with it.
Right for
Teams wanting a free web scanner they can script in CI
Wrong for
Buyers who need a vendor contract and support terms
Not stated by the vendorFree, open source under Apache 2.0
Exploitation framework with a free edition and a paid Pro edition
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Penetration Testing Tools in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The homepage separates Metasploit Framework, BSD licensed and free, from Metasploit Pro, which Rapid7 sells with commercial support. Framework builds come as nightly installers. Pro carries a 30-day trial and a price that has to be requested through the download page. Exploit coverage is its strength, while reporting and team workflow are what Pro adds.
What stands out
Open source
Exploit framework
Commercial Pro edition
Where it costs you
Pro's price is not listed on the homepage, so budgeting needs a conversation.
The Framework is command line driven and expects a trained operator.
Right for
Testers who need to run exploits and want a free starting point
Wrong for
Teams without trained operators or a fixed price
Not stated by the vendorFree open source framework; Pro price not listed on homepage
Autonomous pentest platform that chains weaknesses into attack paths
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Penetration Testing Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
NodeZero's pitch is to find, fix and validate risks without a consultant on site. Internal tests deploy as a Docker container or OVA; external tests run from the vendor cloud.
Operation types named include cloud, Kubernetes, password audits, tripwires and phishing impact tests. The packaging page names Flex, Core, Pro and Elite, with no prices shown.
What stands out
Autonomous pentesting
Docker or OVA
Four packages
Where it costs you
The packaging page lists four tiers but no prices, so cost is only known after a demo.
It tests technical paths, and the page does not describe reports for auditors.
Right for
Security teams that want repeatable internal and external tests
Wrong for
Buyers needing a published price or a human report
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation; four packages; trial account
Pentest service mixing AI agents and certified testers, priced online
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Penetration Testing Tools in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Prices are on the site, which is rare in this market. Pentest Auto includes one human re-scan in a 30 day window, Expert includes two, and Enterprise includes four in 90 days.
Reports are aimed at SOC 2, ISO 27001 and HIPAA reviews, with a certificate you can share. A dashboard plus Slack, Jira and CI/CD integrations come with most plans.
What stands out
PTaaS
Published plans
Compliance report
Where it costs you
Re-scans are capped per plan, one on Auto and two on Expert.
The company sells four products, so the pentest shares its attention.
Right for
Startups needing a priced pentest report for compliance reviews
Wrong for
Large estates needing custom red team work
United StatesPublished plans, monthly or annual; one-week paid trial
Credit based pentest service with human testers and AI automation
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Penetration Testing Tools in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The pricing page sells consumption: a credit equals eight hours of testing, and the number you need depends on scope and complexity. Start times differ by tier, within three, two or one business days.
A single autonomous pentest has a published promotional price valid through the end of 2026, but the human tiers need a quote. Unused credits are lost at renewal.
What stands out
PTaaS
Credit packages
Start in days
Where it costs you
Credits expire at the end of the contract year and do not roll over.
The pricing page advertises no free trial, and tier prices need a quote.
Right for
Teams buying several tests a year who want scheduling flexibility
Wrong for
Buyers wanting to trial before committing
United StatesAnnual credit packages quoted by tier; autonomous pentest price published
Pentest service combining AI agents with a vetted researcher crowd
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Penetration Testing Tools in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The pricing page lists Sara Pentest, SynackST, Synack14/365 and an Enterprise tier, with starting prices shown for the first three. Credits can move between products but expire after one year and exclude the platform subscription. The homepage mentions a researcher team of over 1,500, AI pentesting, and a merger with NetSPI announced in September 2026.
What stands out
PTaaS
Credit packages
Researcher crowd
Where it costs you
Credits expire one year after purchase.
Credits cannot be used for the platform subscription itself.
Right for
Buyers who want published starting prices for managed pentests
Wrong for
Teams wanting to run tests in-house
United StatesCredit packages with published starting prices; enterprise quoted
Automated attack emulation across internal, external and cloud environments
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Penetration Testing Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The site splits the platform into Pentera Core for internal networks, Surface for external, Cloud for cloud and hybrid, and Resolve for remediation orchestration. It is described as agentless and safe in production.
Because the modules are separate and pricing is not shown, the real price depends on how many you need. The about page lists offices in Boston, London, Hamburg, Tel Aviv, Dubai, Singapore and Madrid.
What stands out
Attack emulation
Agentless
Demo on request
Where it costs you
The pages fetched show no prices, only a demo path.
Four separately named products make the final scope unclear until quoted.
Right for
Security teams validating defences continuously across several attack surfaces
Wrong for
Buyers needing a fixed price or a human tester
Not stated by the vendorNot listed on the product pages; demo on request
Managed attack surface platform with expert validation of findings
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Penetration Testing Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The platform page describes continuous asset discovery, evidence-first scanning with screenshots and fingerprints, and expert review before findings reach you.
Cloud connectors cover AWS, GCP, Azure, Cloudflare and Oracle, and Jira and ServiceNow sync findings both ways. It is fully managed by Bishop Fox, with pricing available only through a quote request. Exit means leaving a service, not a tool.
What stands out
Managed platform
Attack surface
Expert validation
Where it costs you
Bishop Fox operates it, so you cannot self run the platform.
It focuses on the external attack surface rather than internal networks.
Pentest as a service delivered by vetted testers from its community
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Penetration Testing Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The product copy says engagements launch in seven to ten days instead of three to four weeks, using testers with three or more years of experience and OSCP, OSE or OSWE certification.
The vendor describes fixed compensation for testers, so total cost does not swing with the number of bugs found. Pricing is quote only, per the pricing page.
What stands out
PTaaS
Community testers
Fixed engagement cost
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows no prices, only a quote route.
The fixed engagement pricing means scope is negotiated up front.
Right for
Organisations already using HackerOne who want a scoped pentest
Wrong for
Buyers wanting an online price before a call
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation; fixed cost per engagement
Penetration testing tools help security testers find and prove weaknesses in networks, applications and cloud systems, either as software a person operates or as a service that delivers the test. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
8 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 4 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Burp Suite Professional, Nmap, Kali Linux, ZAP, Metasploit, Astra Pentest, Cobalt, Synack.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 2 countries across 2 regions (Elsewhere 7, North America 5). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
4 of these are open source: Nmap, Kali Linux, ZAP, Metasploit. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Penetration testing tools cover three different jobs
Buying a penetration testing tool starts with deciding which of three jobs you mean. Nmap maps what is reachable, Metasploit runs exploits, and Burp Suite Professional or ZAP sit between a browser and a web application so a person can poke at requests. Kali Linux bundles many of them into one image but adds no workflow.
Then there are services such as Cobalt, Synack and HackerOne Pentest, where the product is a tester's time. Astra Pentest and NodeZero sit between the two, with automation doing the work. Buy one from each group and you cover a test; buy three from one group and you duplicate yourself.
Write down whether you need discovery, exploitation, web testing or a delivered report.
Check whether the product runs the test or only helps a person run it.
List which tools your testers already run from Kali.
Free tools are real, but the labour is not free
Nmap costs nothing for end users, Kali Linux is a free image, ZAP is released under Apache 2.0, and Metasploit Framework is BSD licensed. A team can assemble a capable toolbox for no licence fee. The cost moves into hours: someone installs and updates it, tunes scans, triages output and writes the report.
Burp Suite Professional is the usual paid addition because it is sold per user, with every person needing a subscription. A free stack suits a team with experienced testers. A team with none will pay for hours either way, in salary or in a service.
Count tester hours for setup, triage and reporting before comparing licence prices.
Check that Nmap's source available licence fits your use if you embed it.
Decide who owns updates for a Kali image.
Prices are mostly hidden, so ask the same questions of every vendor
Only some vendors show a price. Astra publishes plans, Synack lists starting prices for three packages, and Cobalt shows one promotional autonomous test. NodeZero, Pentera, Bishop Fox Cosmos and HackerOne Pentest sent us to a demo or quote.
Credit systems add another layer: a Cobalt credit is eight hours of testing and does not roll over, and Synack credits expire after a year. Compare on three numbers: what one test of your scope costs, what a retest costs, and what is lost if you buy too many credits. Ask each vendor for those in writing.
Ask for the price of one test of your exact scope.
Ask what a retest costs and how many are included.
Ask what happens to unused credits at renewal.
Automation and human testers answer different audits
Autonomous products such as NodeZero and Pentera, and the AI tiers at Astra, Cobalt and Synack, run quickly and repeatedly. Services with human testers, such as HackerOne Pentest, Bishop Fox Cosmos and the Expert tiers elsewhere, give a person who can judge business logic. Astra Pentest says its report is aimed at SOC 2, ISO 27001 and HIPAA reviews. Whether a given auditor accepts an automated test is for the auditor to say, not the vendor.
Ask the auditor first, then buy. Also separate the two uses of the word pentest: a repeatable check that a fix worked, where a quick automated rerun is enough, and a scoped assessment signed by a named person for a customer questionnaire. Many teams need the first monthly and the second once a year, and paying for the second tool at the first tool's frequency is how budgets disappear.
Ask your auditor in writing whether an automated test satisfies the control.
Confirm who signs the report and whether testers are named.
Check how many retests are included after fixes.
What goes wrong most often when buying penetration testing tools software
Buying a scanner, such as Nmap, and expecting it to exploit anything.
Comparing a per user licence with a per test service as if they were the same unit.
Letting credits expire because the scope was guessed too large at signing.
Skipping the auditor's view on whether an automated test counts as a pentest.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best penetration testing tools in 2026?
Burp Suite Professional leads our ranking of 12. PortSwigger Ltd sells Burp Suite Professional as a per user subscription, from one year up to ten, with a trial and a separate Community edition.
It is the interactive tool a tester sits in all day, with a proxy, scanner and a store of over 300 extensions. It covers web and API testing only, and the scanner for whole estates is a different product, Burp Suite DAST.
Which penetration testing tools publish their pricing?
8 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Burp Suite Professional: Per user subscription, published; free trial.
Nmap: Free for end users; paid OEM licensing for embedding.
Kali Linux: Free, open source distribution.
ZAP: Free, open source under Apache 2.0.
Metasploit: Free open source framework; Pro price not listed on homepage.
Astra Pentest: Published plans, monthly or annual; one-week paid trial.
Synack: Credit packages with published starting prices; enterprise quoted.
The other 4 quote per organisation.
Is there a free penetration testing tool?
Nmap, Kali Linux, ZAP, Metasploit offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these penetration testing tool vendors established?
In 2 countries across 2 regions: Elsewhere 7, North America 5.
Burp Suite Professional: Not stated by the vendor.
Nmap: United States.
Kali Linux: Not stated by the vendor.
ZAP: Not stated by the vendor.
Metasploit: Not stated by the vendor.
NodeZero: Not stated by the vendor.
Astra Pentest: United States.
Cobalt: United States.
Synack: United States.
Pentera: Not stated by the vendor.
Bishop Fox Cosmos: United States.
HackerOne Pentest: Not stated by the vendor.
Which penetration testing tools are open source?
Nmap, Kali Linux, ZAP, Metasploit.
What should you use instead of Burp Suite Professional?
Nmap and Kali Linux are the next two on this page. Nmap is for anyone mapping networks who needs a free, scriptable scanner first; Kali Linux is for Testers who want a ready toolbox on a laptop or VM.
Who should not buy Burp Suite Professional?
Teams needing network or infrastructure exploitation. Every person who uses it needs their own subscription, so team cost grows per tester..
If your penetration testing tools product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.