Continuous integration is sold as minutes, credits, seats or parallel jobs, and each unit runs out in a different place.
This guide ranks CI/CD tools on what setup costs in engineering time, what the bill looks like once concurrency and macOS builds arrive, whether you can leave with your pipelines, and whether the vendor is needed at all.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What CI/CD tools software does
A CI/CD tool automatically builds, tests and releases software whenever code changes, running the work on machines it hosts or on build agents that you operate yourself.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each CI/CD tool is built for. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Per parallel job, published; free tier of one hosted job and one self-hosted job
Yes
Teams deploying to Azure who want pay-per-parallel-job pricing, not minutes
Teams unwilling to set up Azure billing for a free grant
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Pay-per-minute pipelines from a company whose platform is open source
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best CI/CD Tools in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingEurope
The pricing page shows no named plans: you pay per minute by machine type, with a monthly credit that covers roughly 2,000 two-vCPU Linux minutes. Self-hosted agents run at a lower per-minute rate than hosted machines.
Because the platform is also published as Apache 2.0 code with an install guide, a hosted bill that grows can be replaced by running it yourself. The cost of that move is operations work and the loss of Enterprise Edition features.
What stands out
Open source edition
Per-minute billing
Self-hosted agents
Where it costs you
Enterprise Edition code is under a commercial licence, so the open source edition may lack features you were shown in a demo
The original Community Edition repository is archived and development moved to a new organisation, which you must follow
Right for
Teams wanting published per-minute rates and the option to self-host the platform
Wrong for
Buyers who need a large partner and integrator network
SerbiaPay-as-you-go per machine-minute, published; monthly free credit included
Plans are priced per active user, with a Free plan for up to five users, a Pro plan for up to fifty and an Enterprise plan with a thirty-user minimum. Self-hosted agents are limited by plan to 10, 250 or unlimited concurrent jobs.
Hosted agents exist for Linux and Mac but are an add-on billed by usage. The trade is plain: the per-user fee is small and predictable, while compute and its upkeep stay your own responsibility.
What stands out
Bring your own agents
Free plan available
Per-user billing
Where it costs you
Free plan retains build history for 30 days only
Running your own agents means you build and maintain the images and scaling
Right for
Teams with a cloud account and engineers willing to run build agents
Wrong for
Small teams wanting no build-machine administration at all
AustraliaPer active user per month, published; hosted compute billed separately by the vCPU minute
The project site states Woodpecker is and always will be free, and the repository is licensed Apache 2.0. Pipeline steps run in Docker containers, with Kubernetes also supported, and configuration lives in a .woodpecker directory.
The repository reports about 100 MB of memory for the server and 30 MB for an agent. The price of zero licence cost is that nobody is contractually responsible when a build server fails.
What stands out
Open source
Apache 2.0
Self-hosted
Where it costs you
No commercial hosted service or support contract is offered on the project site
Every step runs as a container, so work that cannot run in a container needs another tool
Right for
Small technical teams that want a free, self-run CI engine with no licence
Wrong for
Organisations that need a vendor, SLA or hosted option
Not stated by the vendorFree and open source; you pay only for the servers you run it on
Credit-based cloud CI with timing-based test splitting across containers
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best CI/CD Tools in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Credits are spent in real time on compute, storage and network, and the Free, Performance and Scale plans differ mainly in allowances. Test splitting by previous run timings spreads a suite over parallel containers.
Self-hosted runners avoid per-minute build charges but cost credits per gigabyte of network beyond the allowance. The Server edition is the exit route for buyers who must host the platform themselves.
What stands out
Credit-based billing
Test splitting
Server edition
Where it costs you
Credits obscure the real cost until you have run a month of builds
Self-hosted runners still consume credits for network egress beyond the plan allowance
Right for
Teams that want hosted CI that scales with job volume and parallel test runs
Wrong for
Buyers who want a flat per-seat price they can easily forecast
United StatesCredits bought up front and spent per machine-minute, published; free plan available
Build server with dependency chains, as Cloud or a free Professional edition
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best CI/CD Tools in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingEurope
On-premises, the Professional edition is free with three agents; Enterprise removes the configuration cap and adds agents by licence, with a year of upgrades.
In Cloud, anyone with ten or more commits in thirty days needs a committer slot, and a fourteen-day trial is offered. Build chains tie builds to one source snapshot. The cost is a heavier product with more concepts than a plain YAML runner.
What stands out
Build chains
Cloud and on-premises
Kotlin DSL
Where it costs you
The free Professional edition caps build configurations at 100 and pipelines at 10
Cloud billing by committer and build credits needs a month of real usage to forecast
Right for
Teams with dependent multi-stage builds who want a vendor behind the server
Wrong for
Teams that want only a few lines of YAML
CzechiaCloud billed per committer with build credits; Professional edition is free, paid licences per agent
CI/CD service built around mobile apps, signing and store publishing
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best CI/CD Tools in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Machine rates differ by type: Apple silicon Macs cost more per minute than Linux and Windows machines. Pay-as-you-go has no minimum contract, while fixed annual plans give unlimited usage within their concurrency.
The free allowance is 500 M2 minutes monthly with one parallel build. Configuration is either a visual editor or a codemagic.yaml file. The focus on mobile is also the limit: it is not a general-purpose pipeline for a whole company.
What stands out
Mobile builds
Code signing
Store publishing
Where it costs you
Built for mobile pipelines, so server and web workloads need a second tool
Extra concurrent builds are an add-on, charged per concurrency
Right for
Mobile teams that want code signing and store releases handled for them
Wrong for
Backend or web teams with no mobile app
EstoniaPay-as-you-go per build minute by machine, or fixed annual plans, published; monthly free minutes
Release and deployment orchestration that follows your existing CI server
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best CI/CD Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
Plans are annual, with Free, Professional and Enterprise tiers for both the hosted Cloud and the self-managed Server. The free tier caps projects, tenants, machines and users at ten each.
Release progression across environments, tenanted deployments and runbooks are the core features. The company says CI is not CD. That honesty is also the limitation: the tool starts after the build has finished elsewhere.
What stands out
Deployment automation
Runbooks
Cloud or Server
Where it costs you
It does not build code, so it always needs a CI tool beside it
Only annual billing is offered, with add-on pricing for more machines and tenants
Right for
Teams with many environments or customers where deployment, not building, is the pain
Wrong for
Teams that only want a build-and-test pipeline, nothing else
AustraliaAnnual plans for Cloud or Server, published; free plan with fixed limits
Jenkins runs on Linux, macOS, Windows, Docker and Kubernetes, typically as a standalone application. Core committers must sign a contributor licence agreement through the Linux Foundation's service, and the project uses the MIT licence.
Over 2000 plugins cover build tools and integrations. The licence is zero, but the real price is the engineer-hours spent keeping the controller, agents and plugins current and secure.
What stands out
Open source
MIT licence
Self-hosted
Where it costs you
The installation docs describe only self-run servers, with no hosted option
Plugin-heavy installations add upgrade and compatibility work
Right for
Organisations with existing Jenkins skills that want no licence cost
Wrong for
Teams with nobody to maintain a build server
Not stated by the vendorFree and open source; cost is servers and maintenance time
Declarative GitOps continuous delivery controller for Kubernetes clusters
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best CI/CD Tools in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Argo CD is a Kubernetes controller that compares live applications with the desired state in Git, supporting Helm, Kustomize, Jsonnet and plain manifests. It offers a web interface, a CLI, SSO through OIDC, SAML and others, and audit logging.
Sync hooks run before and after deploys. Because it handles delivery only, it sits after a separate CI step, and the team owns its upgrades and cluster permissions.
What stands out
Open source
GitOps
Kubernetes only
Where it costs you
It deploys to Kubernetes only, so other targets need another tool
It runs no builds or tests, so a CI tool must produce the artefacts
Right for
Kubernetes teams treating Git as the single source of truth for deployments
Wrong for
Teams deploying to targets other than Kubernetes clusters
Not stated by the vendorFree and open source; no vendor price list
Modular delivery platform covering CI, CD and security testing
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best CI/CD Tools in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestNorth America
The pricing page offers one free tier, an all-in-one Essentials bundle and a modular Enterprise plan, and says there are no per-pipeline charges. The free tier does not include the full platform.
Enterprise adds modules such as feature management, database DevOps and an artifact registry. The breadth is the draw and also the risk: you can end up paying for modules that you only partly use.
What stands out
Modular pricing
Free plan available
Test Intelligence
Where it costs you
No price is published for the paid plans
Self-managed deployment is an add-on, not part of the base plans
Right for
Larger engineering organisations that want CI, CD and security in one contract
Wrong for
Small teams that need a price they can see published
United StatesPaid plans quoted per organisation by module; open-source tools included at no cost
Workflow automation built into GitHub repositories, with a large marketplace
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best CI/CD Tools in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Hosted runners cover Linux, macOS, Windows, ARM and GPU, with matrix builds to test several operating systems and runtime versions at once. The documentation says usage is free on self-hosted runners.
Minutes and storage billing sit with the repository owner. Actions are shared through a marketplace, which speeds up setup but means you depend on third-party code in your pipeline.
What stands out
Marketplace actions
Matrix builds
Self-hosted runners
Where it costs you
Workflows are written for GitHub and must be rewritten to move elsewhere
Minutes beyond the plan allowance are billed per minute, with macOS costing the most
Right for
Teams that already host code on GitHub and want CI with no extra vendor
Wrong for
Teams whose source code lives on a platform other than GitHub
United StatesIncluded minutes per plan, then per-minute billing by runner type, published; free for public repositories
The Bitbucket pricing page lists a Free plan for up to five users with 50 build minutes, then Standard and Premium plans billed per user. Pipelines needs no separate installation: it is switched on within Bitbucket Cloud.
Self-hosted runners are documented for Linux, Windows and macOS. Because plan and build minutes are bought together, the CI bill and the seat bill are tied to one Atlassian relationship.
What stands out
Atlassian suite
Minute blocks
Self-hosted runners
Where it costs you
The Free plan includes only 50 build minutes
It is part of Bitbucket Cloud, so leaving Bitbucket means leaving the pipeline
Right for
Teams already on Bitbucket and Jira who want CI without another vendor
Wrong for
Teams hosting their source code on a platform other than Bitbucket
AustraliaPer user per month for Bitbucket plus build minutes, published; extra minutes sold in blocks
Microsoft's pipeline service inside Azure DevOps, billed per parallel job
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best CI/CD Tools in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Parallel jobs are the unit you buy: extra Microsoft-hosted jobs have unlimited minutes, and self-hosted jobs cost less. The first five Basic users are free, later users are billed monthly.
The service deploys to virtual machines, containers, on-premises and cloud targets, and integrates with GitHub and Azure Repos. The tie to Azure DevOps administration, with organisations and projects, is extra overhead for teams that only want a pipeline.
What stands out
Parallel jobs
Self-hosted agents
Azure integration
Where it costs you
The free grant needs billing set up with an Azure subscription
Public projects are retired and existing ones convert to private in 2027
Right for
Teams deploying to Azure who want pay-per-parallel-job pricing, not minutes
Wrong for
Teams unwilling to set up Azure billing for a free grant
United StatesPer parallel job, published; free tier of one hosted job and one self-hosted job
A CI/CD tool automatically builds, tests and releases software whenever code changes, running the work on machines it hosts or on build agents that you operate yourself. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
12 of the 13 tools here publish what they cost; the other 1 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Semaphore, Buildkite, Woodpecker CI, CircleCI, JetBrains TeamCity, Codemagic, Octopus Deploy, Jenkins, Argo CD, GitHub Actions, Bitbucket Pipelines, Azure Pipelines.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 13 vendors are established in 6 countries across 4 regions (North America 4, Europe 3, Asia-Pacific 3, Elsewhere 3). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
4 of these are open source: Semaphore, Woodpecker CI, Jenkins, Argo CD. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Minutes, credits, seats and parallel jobs: pick the unit that fits
CI vendors meter different things, so quotes cannot be compared directly. CircleCI sells credits that are spent on compute, storage and network, so a month of real builds is the only honest forecast. GitHub Actions gives monthly minutes per plan and then bills per minute by operating system, with macOS costing the most.
Azure Pipelines sells parallel jobs, so the number of builds running at once sets the bill, not minutes. Buildkite charges per active user and leaves compute to you or to a per-vCPU hosted rate. Semaphore bills per machine-minute by machine type. Run a typical week of builds through each trial and read the meter afterwards, because forecasts from the pricing page alone miss queueing and retries.
Record how many builds run at the same time on a busy day, not the monthly average.
Price macOS and Windows minutes separately, because they cost more than Linux.
Ask what happens to unused credits or minutes at month end.
Build tool or deploy tool: where Octopus Deploy and Argo CD fit
Not every product here runs your tests. Octopus Deploy says CI is not CD and starts after your build server finishes, which means Jenkins, TeamCity or GitHub Actions still do the building. Argo CD only synchronises Kubernetes clusters with what is stored in Git, and has no build step at all.
Buying either as a replacement for a CI server leaves a gap that shows up in the first sprint, when the first commit has nothing to build it. Harness bundles CI and CD in one contract, and TeamCity or Azure Pipelines cover both in one product. The useful question is whether you want one tool for the whole path to production or two tools with a clear handoff between them.
List which tool compiles and tests, and which one deploys, before the demo.
Check that the deploy tool accepts artefacts from the CI tool you already run.
Confirm whether a Kubernetes-only tool covers every environment you deploy to.
Who maintains the build machines: Buildkite, Woodpecker CI and Jenkins
The cheapest line on the quote is often the most expensive in hours. Buildkite hosts the control plane while you run the agents, so images, scaling and clean-up are yours. Woodpecker CI and Jenkins are free to licence, but the servers, upgrades and security patches belong to your team, and Woodpecker offers no vendor to call.
Jenkins adds plugin compatibility to that list, with over 2000 plugins to keep current. Hosted services such as Semaphore, CircleCI and Codemagic take the machines away but charge for the time. A small team without an owner for build infrastructure often saves money by paying a hosted vendor instead of running a free server.
Name the person who will patch the build server and the agents.
Count plugins or third-party actions your pipelines depend on.
Check whether the vendor offers a hosted agent if you later stop running your own.
Pipeline files are the lock-in: what leaves with you
Your data in a CI tool is mostly pipeline definitions, and each vendor writes them differently. Bitbucket Pipelines reads bitbucket-pipelines.yml inside Bitbucket Cloud, and GitHub Actions workflows live in GitHub repositories. Codemagic uses codemagic.yaml or a visual editor, Woodpecker CI uses a .woodpecker directory, and TeamCity can be configured through the web interface or a Kotlin DSL, which is awkward to move.
Semaphore publishes its platform as Apache 2.0 code, so the hosted service can be swapped for a self-run copy. Treat the cost of rewriting pipelines as part of the price of any switch, and always ask each vendor exactly how pipelines can be exported or reused before signing.
Keep pipeline definitions in version control, not only in a web interface.
Estimate the days needed to rewrite every pipeline for another tool.
Prefer a vendor with a self-run edition if you may need to leave.
What goes wrong most often when buying CI/CD tools software
Comparing a monthly minute allowance with a parallel-job count or a credit balance as if they were the same unit.
Buying a deployment tool such as Octopus Deploy or Argo CD and discovering nothing builds or tests the code.
Choosing a free server like Jenkins or Woodpecker CI without budgeting the hours to patch and run it.
Putting macOS or Windows builds on a Linux price estimate, then finding mobile pipelines cost several times more per minute.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best CI/CD tools in 2026?
Semaphore leads our ranking of 13. Semaphore Technologies doo publishes its rates by machine type, so a small job does not pay for a large machine. The Community Edition is Apache 2.0 code you can install yourself, an exit most hosted rivals lack.
Concurrency starts at 20 jobs, and macOS is billed at a higher per-minute rate. Enterprise Edition code is under a commercial licence, so check which edition has the feature you need.
Which CI/CD tools publish their pricing?
12 of the 13, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Semaphore: Pay-as-you-go per machine-minute, published; monthly free credit included.
Buildkite: Per active user per month, published; hosted compute billed separately by the vCPU minute.
Woodpecker CI: Free and open source; you pay only for the servers you run it on.
CircleCI: Credits bought up front and spent per machine-minute, published; free plan available.
JetBrains TeamCity: Cloud billed per committer with build credits; Professional edition is free, paid licences per agent.
Codemagic: Pay-as-you-go per build minute by machine, or fixed annual plans, published; monthly free minutes.
Octopus Deploy: Annual plans for Cloud or Server, published; free plan with fixed limits.
Jenkins: Free and open source; cost is servers and maintenance time.
Argo CD: Free and open source; no vendor price list.
GitHub Actions: Included minutes per plan, then per-minute billing by runner type, published; free for public repositories.
Bitbucket Pipelines: Per user per month for Bitbucket plus build minutes, published; extra minutes sold in blocks.
Azure Pipelines: Per parallel job, published; free tier of one hosted job and one self-hosted job.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free CI/CD tool?
Buildkite, Woodpecker CI, CircleCI, Octopus Deploy, Jenkins, Argo CD, Harness, Bitbucket Pipelines, Azure Pipelines offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these CI/CD tool vendors established?
In 6 countries across 4 regions: North America 4, Europe 3, Asia-Pacific 3, Elsewhere 3.
Semaphore: Serbia.
Buildkite: Australia.
Woodpecker CI: Not stated by the vendor.
CircleCI: United States.
JetBrains TeamCity: Czechia.
Codemagic: Estonia.
Octopus Deploy: Australia.
Jenkins: Not stated by the vendor.
Argo CD: Not stated by the vendor.
Harness: United States.
GitHub Actions: United States.
Bitbucket Pipelines: Australia.
Azure Pipelines: United States.
Which CI/CD tools are open source?
Semaphore, Woodpecker CI, Jenkins, Argo CD.
Which CI/CD tools can you host yourself?
Semaphore, Buildkite, Woodpecker CI, CircleCI, JetBrains TeamCity, Jenkins, GitHub Actions, Bitbucket Pipelines, Azure Pipelines. The other 4 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Semaphore?
Buildkite and Woodpecker CI are the next two on this page. Buildkite is for teams with a cloud account and engineers willing to run build agents; Woodpecker CI is for small technical teams that want a free, self-run CI engine with no licence.
Who should not buy Semaphore?
Buyers who need a large partner and integrator network. Enterprise Edition code is under a commercial licence, so the open source edition may lack features you were shown in a demo.
If your CI/CD tools product belongs among these 13, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.