Load testing tools are bought on a virtual-user number and then used for a few minutes a week.
This guide ranks twelve of them on what the first ninety days cost in scripting time, what the bill becomes once tests get long and large, whether your scripts survive leaving, and whether a vendor stands between you and the test engine.
AuthorHannah ReiterSenior Analyst, Business Applications
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What load testing software does
Load testing software generates simulated traffic against a website, API or application and records response times and errors, so teams can find the point where the system slows or fails.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each load testing tool is built for. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Priced on request; trial on request; on-premises and cloud editions
—
Large organisations testing SAP, Oracle and legacy applications across global teams
Small teams that want a published price and quick start
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Tests written as code, an Apache-licensed engine and a paid cloud
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Load Testing Software in 2026.
Open sourcePublished pricingEurope
Gatling is the smallest independent vendor in this list that still sells a full hosted platform. The engine is open source under Apache 2.0, and the Enterprise edition adds team collaboration and managed load generators, billed in credits where one credit is a one-minute test on one generator.
The published Basic plan is cheap but short on hours, and Team lifts the ceiling to five hours. Because the code is ordinary Java or JavaScript, leaving costs little.
What stands out
Open source core
Test credits
Code-first
Where it costs you
The Basic plan includes one hour of testing, so a long soak test needs a higher tier
The gRPC, MQTT and GraphQL components fall under the Gatling Enterprise Component License, not Apache 2.0
Right for
Engineering teams that keep load tests in version control next to the application code
Wrong for
Testers who want to record and click rather than write code
FranceCommunity Edition open source, local use only; Enterprise plans per month by test credits, published
Open source load testing with Playwright browser tests and a free plan
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Load Testing Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingNorth America
Artillery runs distributed tests on AWS Lambda or Fargate without you provisioning machines, and its Playwright integration lets the same platform load test with real headless browsers. The free plan is a real starting point rather than a demo, though the 30-minute cap rules out soak tests.
Paid plans scale reports, retention and workers per test; Team allows 25 workers, Business is unlimited. Governance features are sold separately, which surprises buyers who assumed Business included them.
What stands out
Free plan
Open source core
Playwright
Where it costs you
The free plan stops at 30 reports a month and tests of 30 minutes
SSO and audit logs are enterprise add-ons priced above the Business plan
Right for
Small engineering teams that want hosted distributed tests and browser load from one tool
Wrong for
Buyers who need a vendor trial of paid plans without talking to sales
United StatesFree plan; Team and Business plans per month, published; enterprise add-ons
A hosted layer over Apache JMeter with a permanent free tier
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Load Testing Software in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingEurope
OctoPerf sells the reporting, scheduling and load generation that JMeter does not provide, and lets you import scripts you already have. The pay-per-test option is unusual: a single one-hour test for a fixed price, with no subscription, which fits a team that tests before two launches a year.
The free tier carries all platform features within its user and duration limits. Optional on-premise infrastructure exists for the monthly plan. The price jump between free and the monthly plan is the main trap.
What stands out
Free tier
JMeter based
Pay per test
Where it costs you
The monthly plan starts at 1,000 concurrent users, a large step up from the 50-user free tier
Tests run on JMeter, which works at protocol level and does not execute page JavaScript
Right for
Teams with existing JMeter scripts who want a web interface and shared reports
Wrong for
Teams that need a code-first tool or real-browser load
FranceFree tier to 50 concurrent users; flat monthly plan or pay per test, published; optional on-premise infrastructure
Locust's pitch is that your test design is never limited by a GUI or a domain-specific language. Users and tasks are Python classes, which means any Python library can drive a scenario.
The documentation covers distributed runs, Docker, headless running, a Kubernetes operator and non-HTTP protocols such as gRPC and MQTT. The cost is operational: you run the workers, keep the results, and decide how a failed run blocks a release. Azure Load Testing runs Locust scripts if you later want managed scale.
What stands out
Open source
Python scripts
Self-hosted
Where it costs you
The project site names no company or location, so there is no contract to enforce
Result history, trend comparison and scheduling are left for you to assemble
Right for
Python teams who want load tests as plain code with no licence cost
Wrong for
Testers without programming skills who expect a recorder
Not stated by the vendorFree and open source; hosted Locust Cloud offered separately
Java-based open source load tester covering many protocols
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Load Testing Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
JMeter's reach is its protocol list: HTTP, SOAP, REST, JDBC, FTP, LDAP, JMS, SMTP, POP3, IMAP and TCP. That breadth is why so many commercial tools here, including OctoPerf, BlazeMeter, Azure Load Testing and OpenText, accept JMeter scripts.
The Apache Software Foundation is a US charity, which means no commercial agenda and no commercial support. You get a test IDE and a headless mode, then supply the machines, the reports and the discipline yourself.
What stands out
Open source
Self-hosted
Many protocols
Where it costs you
JMeter is not a browser, so it does not execute page JavaScript or render pages
Support comes from the community, not from a vendor
Right for
Teams testing databases, queues and web services as well as websites
Wrong for
Teams that want hosted scale and polished reports out of the box
United StatesFree and open source under the Apache licence; no vendor charges
Open source load testing in JavaScript, with a Grafana Cloud service
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Load Testing Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingNorth America
k6 keeps one script format across three places to run it: your machine, a Kubernetes cluster, and Grafana Cloud k6 with 21 load zones. The repository lists HTTP, WebSockets, gRPC and browser protocols, plus an extension ecosystem and k6 Studio for generating scripts without coding.
The cloud tier meters virtual user hours, a unit that is easy to estimate for short tests and awkward for long ones. Grafana Labs runs both the tool and the cloud, so lock-in is limited to the cloud account.
What stands out
Open source
Free tier
JavaScript scripts
Where it costs you
The AGPL-3.0 licence needs legal review if k6 is embedded in a product you distribute
Enterprise pricing carries a minimum annual spend
Right for
Developers who want JavaScript tests that move from a laptop to the cloud
Wrong for
Testers who want a point-and-click recorder as the main way to build tests
United StatesOpen source tool; Grafana Cloud k6 has a free tier, then pay per virtual user hour, published
Real-browser load tests from a recorder, in cloud or on premises
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Load Testing Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
LoadView's distinction is that the load is real browsers: Chrome, Safari, Firefox and more than forty desktop and mobile browsers and devices. The EveryStep recorder lets a tester click through a flow and edit C# only when needed.
Plans are published with browser, HTTP and injector-hour limits, and unused capacity rolls over. An on-premises option exists for internal applications. Because browsers are heavy, a plan sized for HTTP traffic gives you far fewer browser users than the headline number suggests.
What stands out
Real browsers
Recorder
On-premises option
Where it costs you
Concurrent browsers per plan are a tenth of the concurrent HTTP connections
Each test is limited to four hours on every subscription plan
Right for
QA teams testing the full browser experience without writing scripts
Wrong for
Developers who want tests as code in a repository
United StatesOn-demand or monthly and annual plans, published; five free tests on signup; enterprise quoted
Protocol-level load testing sold since 1993, with a published Pro plan
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Load Testing Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
RadView says WebLOAD has been trusted by enterprises since 1993 and that every plan runs the same engine; what changes is scale, deployment and protocols. The tool offers recording with automatic correlation, execution and analysis, delivered as a SaaS dashboard or self-hosted on your own or cloud machines.
The vendor page lists a North American office but no headquarters country. Pro covers the common web case; anything touching SAP or Oracle Forms means a quote.
What stands out
Published Pro plan
Enterprise protocols
Since 1993
Where it costs you
SAP, Oracle Forms and Salesforce protocols and on-premise deployment are Enterprise only
Pro is limited to 500 concurrent users and 5,000 VU-hours a month
Right for
Mid-size teams wanting a long-established tool with a published monthly entry plan
Wrong for
Teams whose tests must run on-premise at the Pro price
Not stated by the vendor15-day trial; Pro plan per month, published; Enterprise quoted, annual or monthly rental
Browser-based URL load tests run from Amazon's US-east datacenter
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Load Testing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Loader.io is built for the smallest useful job: verify a host with a DNS or file check, fire a set number of clients at a handful of URLs, and share the result graph. The free plan covers one host and one-minute tests, so it works as a smoke test.
Pro is a flat monthly subscription with no per-test purchase. The footer names SendGrid, Inc., whose policy pages now redirect to Twilio, which tells you the product is an add-on to a larger company rather than its focus.
What stands out
Free plan
Single region
Simple URL tests
Where it costs you
All tests run from one location, Amazon's US-east datacenter
Pro allows ten URLs per test and ten-minute runs, which limits multi-step scenarios
Right for
Developers who need a quick traffic spike against one or two URLs
Wrong for
Teams testing multi-step journeys or traffic from several regions
United StatesFree plan; Pro plan per month, published; no pay-per-test option
Hosted runs for JMeter, Gatling, k6 and Locust, owned by Perforce
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Load Testing Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingNorth America
BlazeMeter's value is hosting: you keep the JMeter, Gatling, k6 or Locust tests you wrote and run them from its cloud. Performance plans are published as Basic and Pro, with Unleashed and AWS Marketplace tiers on quote, and annual billing is cheaper than monthly.
Around load testing sits a Perforce portfolio of API testing, functional testing, monitoring and test data. That breadth helps a team standardising, and inflates the quote for a team that only needs load tests.
What stands out
Runs open source tests
Free plan
Perforce owned
Where it costs you
The free plan is capped at 50 virtual users, 10 tests a month and 20-minute tests
Trial accounts are deactivated on expiry unless you upgrade
Right for
Teams that already have scripts and need cloud scale without rewriting them
Wrong for
Buyers who want one small vendor with a single product
United StatesFree plan; Basic and Pro plans per year, published; Unleashed tier quoted
Managed JMeter and Locust runs billed by virtual user hour
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Load Testing Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Microsoft has folded Azure Load Testing into a wider product called Azure App Testing, and the pricing page still treats it separately, billing virtual user hours calculated as users times minutes divided by sixty, sampled every ten seconds.
It accepts existing JMeter and Locust scripts without changes, hits public and private endpoints, and integrates with Azure DevOps and GitHub. The convenience is Azure integration; the cost is dependence on one cloud, with a volume-tiered rate and a minimum from March 2026.
What stands out
Pay as you go
JMeter and Locust
Azure Monitor metrics
Where it costs you
A minimum usage applies from 1 March 2026
Testing needs an Azure subscription, and pricing varies by region and currency
Right for
Azure-based teams running JMeter or Locust tests from their CI pipelines
Wrong for
Teams outside Azure wanting a standalone tool and fixed price
United StatesPay as you go per virtual user hour, tiered by volume; Azure trial account
Performance engineering suite covering more than 180 protocols and technologies
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Load Testing Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
LoadRunner is the incumbent for enterprise estates: Professional suits co-located teams running single tests, Enterprise supports global teams with distributed concurrent testing, and the cloud edition, formerly LoadRunner Cloud, simulates over five million virtual users across 40-plus regions.
Existing JMeter scripts can be imported. It is also the answer when the application is SAP or Oracle E-Business. The trade is independence: OpenText is a large vendor, prices sit behind a form, and a trial is by request.
What stands out
180+ protocols
Trial on request
On-premises or cloud
Where it costs you
The product pages show no prices, so cost is only known after a sales conversation
Editions split by team structure, so growing from Professional to Enterprise changes the product
Right for
Large organisations testing SAP, Oracle and legacy applications across global teams
Wrong for
Small teams that want a published price and quick start
CanadaPriced on request; trial on request; on-premises and cloud editions
Load testing software generates simulated traffic against a website, API or application and records response times and errors, so teams can find the point where the system slows or fails. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
10 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 2 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Gatling, Artillery, OctoPerf, Locust, Apache JMeter, k6, LoadView, WebLOAD, Loader.io, BlazeMeter.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 4 countries across 3 regions (North America 8, Europe 2, Elsewhere 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
6 of these are open source: Gatling, Artillery, Locust, Apache JMeter, k6, BlazeMeter. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Virtual users mean a different thing in every price list
A load test is priced in a unit, and the units do not convert. k6 on Grafana Cloud bills virtual user hours, Azure Load Testing bills the same name but samples active users every ten seconds, Gatling Enterprise bills credits where one credit is a one-minute test on one load generator, and BlazeMeter publishes a count of concurrent users and tests per year.
LoadView splits capacity into concurrent HTTP connections, concurrent browsers and injector hours, and Loader.io sells clients per test. Two vendors can quote the same ten thousand users and mean costs that differ several times over once the test lasts an hour. The only comparison that holds is the cost of your own planned test plan, run end to end, including the longest soak test you intend to run.
Write down your longest test in minutes and users, and price that one in each vendor's unit.
Ask whether idle time during ramp-up and ramp-down is billed.
Check what happens to unused hours or credits at the end of the billing period.
Where the script lives decides whether you can leave
A load test is mostly script, and the script format is the lock-in. JMeter plans are accepted by OctoPerf, BlazeMeter, Azure Load Testing and OpenText LoadRunner, which makes them the most portable asset in this category. Locust files run on Azure Load Testing as well. k6 uses the same JavaScript locally, on Kubernetes and in Grafana Cloud, and Gatling tests are Java, Kotlin, Scala, JavaScript or TypeScript code that stays in your repository.
LoadView stores its tests as recorder output with C# editing, and WebLOAD sells recording with its own engine, so those scripts are tied to the tool that made them. Exit therefore comes down to asking what file you hold after the contract ends and which other engine will run it.
Ask for a sample script export before signing, and try running it on an open source engine.
Check whether results history can be downloaded, not only the scripts.
Confirm the script format is not generated from a recorder you cannot run elsewhere.
Protocol-level load and browser load are different products
Most tools here send requests rather than render pages. JMeter says plainly that it is not a browser and does not execute page JavaScript, and OctoPerf, which wraps JMeter, inherits that. Artillery and Azure Load Testing add Playwright, and LoadView runs real Chrome, Safari and Firefox browsers from its own recorder.
Browser load shows the cost of front-end rendering and third-party scripts, which protocol tests never see, but it is heavier: a LoadView Starter plan allows a thousand concurrent HTTP connections and only a hundred concurrent browsers. Teams usually test the API at protocol level with Gatling, k6 or Locust and reserve browser load for a few critical journeys. Buying only one kind leaves a blind spot.
Decide which journeys need a real browser and which only need the API.
Compare browser capacity separately from HTTP capacity in every quote.
Check that the tool can run browser and protocol tests in the same report.
Test length and limits are capped on the entry plans
The free and entry tiers cap the very thing a serious test needs. Loader.io's free plan stops at one minute, OctoPerf's free tier at twenty minutes, BlazeMeter's free plan at twenty minutes, Artillery's free plan at thirty minutes, and Gatling's Basic plan includes one hour of testing in total.
A soak test that looks for memory leaks over several hours does not fit any of them, so the real purchase is the next tier, and the jump can be steep: OctoPerf moves from fifty concurrent users to a plan starting at a thousand. Open source engines such as JMeter, k6 and Locust have no duration cap but make you supply the machines. Price the duration of your longest test, not the headline user count.
Find the maximum test duration of each plan you are considering.
Check whether a limit applies per test, per month or per year.
Ask what the next tier costs before you start the trial.
What goes wrong most often when buying load testing software
Choosing a tool by its maximum concurrent users when the longest test you run is capped at a plan far below that.
Writing hundreds of recorder-based scripts that no other engine can run, then discovering that exit means rewriting them.
Load testing only at protocol level with a tool like JMeter and missing the slowdown that front-end scripts add in a real browser.
Treating an open source engine such as Locust or k6 as free when you must still run the machines, store results and wire it into CI.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best load testing software in 2026?
Gatling leads our ranking of 12. Gatling Corp is a French company whose open source engine is licensed Apache 2.0, with a hosted Enterprise edition sold in monthly plans metered in test credits.
Scripts are Java, Kotlin, Scala, JavaScript or TypeScript, so it suits developers. The entry plan includes one hour of testing, the gRPC, MQTT and GraphQL components carry a separate licence, and Community Edition is for local use only.
Which load testing tools publish their pricing?
10 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Gatling: Community Edition open source, local use only; Enterprise plans per month by test credits, published.
Artillery: Free plan; Team and Business plans per month, published; enterprise add-ons.
OctoPerf: Free tier to 50 concurrent users; flat monthly plan or pay per test, published; optional on-premise infrastructure.
Locust: Free and open source; hosted Locust Cloud offered separately.
Apache JMeter: Free and open source under the Apache licence; no vendor charges.
k6: Open source tool; Grafana Cloud k6 has a free tier, then pay per virtual user hour, published.
LoadView: On-demand or monthly and annual plans, published; five free tests on signup; enterprise quoted.
WebLOAD: 15-day trial; Pro plan per month, published; Enterprise quoted, annual or monthly rental.
Loader.io: Free plan; Pro plan per month, published; no pay-per-test option.
BlazeMeter: Free plan; Basic and Pro plans per year, published; Unleashed tier quoted.
The other 2 quote per organisation.
Is there a free load testing tool?
Artillery, OctoPerf, Locust, Apache JMeter, k6, Loader.io, BlazeMeter offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these load testing software vendors established?
In 4 countries across 3 regions: North America 8, Europe 2, Elsewhere 2.
OctoPerf, Locust, Apache JMeter, LoadView, WebLOAD, OpenText LoadRunner. The other 6 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Gatling?
Artillery and OctoPerf are the next two on this page. Artillery is for small engineering teams that want hosted distributed tests and browser load from one tool; OctoPerf is for teams with existing JMeter scripts who want a web interface and shared reports.
Who should not buy Gatling?
Testers who want to record and click rather than write code. The Basic plan includes one hour of testing, so a long soak test needs a higher tier.
If your load testing software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.