Replacing Windows, macOS or Android means choosing who maintains the system under your staff.
This guide ranks twelve Linux distributions and independent mobile systems on setup effort, real price including support, how you leave, whether the project depends on a sponsor or hardware maker, and what kind of organisation each one fits.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What operating systems do
An operating system manages a computer's hardware and runs its applications; the alternatives here are Linux distributions for desktops and servers, and Android-based phone systems without Google's services.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each operating system is built for. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Subscription per system, published; no-cost developer membership
—
Enterprises that need certified software support and a single accountable vendor
Small teams that only need a stable base with no contract
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
A desktop Linux built to feel familiar to Windows users
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Operating Systems for Business in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Setup is the cheapest part: the installer is a normal download and the interface is arranged like Windows. The real price depends on edition. Core costs nothing, but a company has to licence Pro on every machine, so a thirty-seat office pays thirty times, once.
Exit is trivial because there is no subscription to cancel. The release it describes, Zorin OS 18, is updated until at least June 2029, which is shorter than a ten-year plan.
What stands out
Windows-style desktop
One-time Pro licence
Windows app support
Where it costs you
The terms require a Pro copy for each computer used in a business
Windows app support is described as running many Windows apps, not every one
Right for
Small offices moving ageing Windows desktops to Linux without retraining staff
Wrong for
Anyone needing a managed fleet with vendor support contracts
IrelandCore edition free; Pro is a one-time purchase per computer
Arch-based desktop Linux with installer images and ARM builds
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Operating Systems for Business in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The first ninety days are mostly spent choosing an image and learning how updates behave, because the pages we could reach say nothing about rolling releases or branches, and we do not claim any.
Real price is the company's side business: it describes enterprise services for business IT, which are separate from the downloadable images. Exit is easy for the same reason as every distribution here, since home directories stay in ordinary formats on your own disk.
What stands out
Arch-based
KDE, GNOME and Xfce
ARM images
Where it costs you
The download page states no support period for any release
Community images such as Cinnamon sit at an older version than the official ones
Right for
Technical users who want recent software on a desktop they installed themselves
Wrong for
Regulated fleets that need a published support lifecycle
A pay-what-you-can desktop with a curated app store
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Operating Systems for Business in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Setup is a standard installation, and updates for both apps and the system run through AppCenter's Installed tab. The price is whatever the buyer picks, including nothing, which makes budgeting easy and makes the vendor's long-term funding a question to ask.
Independence is high, because the OS and its store belong to one company. Exit is a normal reinstall, though paid AppCenter apps are tied to the store they came from.
What stands out
Pay-what-you-can
Curated AppCenter
Ubuntu-based
Where it costs you
The privacy policy and homepage name elementary, Inc. but state no country
Security patches arrive through Ubuntu notices, so the OS depends on that upstream
Right for
Individuals and small studios who want a finished desktop and will pay for it
Wrong for
Organisations that must verify the vendor's place of establishment
Not stated by the vendorPay what you can; AppCenter sells paid apps
A desktop distribution funded by donations and advertising
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Operating Systems for Business in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The editions are the setup decision: Cinnamon is the most complete and mostly developed by the project itself, MATE is lighter, and Xfce is lighter again, while from version 20 only 64-bit images exist.
Real price is zero licences and zero support, which is exactly what you are buying. Independence is high because nothing depends on a partner, and exit is a reinstall. Anyone who needs a throat to choke has to hire a third party.
What stands out
Cinnamon, MATE, Xfce
Ubuntu or Debian base
Donation-funded
Where it costs you
The site names no company, address or country
Its donors page showed 1,795 dollars from 67 donations in the month we read it
Right for
Home users and small teams who want a conventional desktop and no vendor
Wrong for
Buyers who need an SLA or a contract counterparty
Not stated by the vendorFree download; funded by donations, sponsors and advertising
A volunteer-built distribution with a written free software contract
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Operating Systems for Business in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Debian costs nothing in licences and the first ninety days cost whatever your administrators' time is worth, because there is no vendor onboarding. The architecture list is wide: amd64, arm64, armhf, ppc64el, riscv64 and s390x are all primary.
Independence is the strongest in this list, since no company can change terms, and exit is simple. The trade is that you carry every support question yourself or buy it from a third party.
What stands out
Volunteer-built
Five-year lifecycle
Social Contract
Where it costs you
There is no commercial vendor to contract for support
LTS covers a reduced set of architectures compared with the full-support period
Right for
Teams with in-house Linux staff who want a stable base with a long lifecycle
Wrong for
Buyers who want a single supplier accountable for support
United StatesFree of licence fees; volunteer-maintained
A community-governed server Linux that stays compatible with RHEL
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Operating Systems for Business in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
This is a server distribution, so setup means the same kickstart and package work you would do on RHEL, with no subscription registration step. Real price is licence zero plus whatever TuxCare or Cybertrust Japan charge for support, which the site calls tailored.
Independence is partial: governance is the foundation's, but support depends on sponsors. Exit to RHEL is the shortest on this page, because the compatibility is the product's stated purpose.
What stands out
RHEL-compatible
Foundation-governed
Third-party support
Where it costs you
Support comes from named sponsors, not from the foundation itself
Each minor version reaches end of life when the next one is released
Right for
Servers moving off CentOS that must remain compatible with RHEL software
Wrong for
Desktop users who want a consumer-friendly graphical installer experience
United StatesFree; commercial support sold by third parties
A de-Googled Android that replaces Google services with microG
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Operating Systems for Business in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Setup is a web installer for compatible devices, a direct download from GitLab, or a Murena phone that ships with it. The installer route costs hours per device the first time.
Independence is the point of the product, but the cloud suite is Murena's, hosted in Europe according to its site. Exit is a factory reset back to stock Android on a supported device, and the data lives in the Workspace account.
What stands out
De-Googled Android
microG replaces Google services
287 supported devices
Where it costs you
The device selector lists Play Integrity status per device, so some apps may not pass
Murena Workspace includes 1 GB of free storage, with paid plans above that
Right for
Staff phones where Google accounts and tracking are to be removed
Wrong for
Fleets that depend on apps requiring Google Play Integrity
FranceFree to install on supported devices; Murena sells phones and Workspace plans
A hardened Android for Pixel phones with sandboxed Google Play
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Operating Systems for Business in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Setup is a Pixel purchase plus an install, so the first-ninety-day cost is device logistics. Real price is the phone, because the OS itself is free and the FAQ notes that resellers charge a premium over doing it yourself.
Independence has a limit: the OS is independent of Google services, but the hardware is Google's. Exit is flashing stock firmware. The licence is described as permissive, so it avoids GPLv3 code on purpose.
What stands out
Pixel only
Hardened memory allocator
Sandboxed Google Play
Where it costs you
Official support covers Google Pixel devices only
The FAQ names no legal entity or country of establishment
Right for
People who need the strongest phone isolation and accept Pixel hardware
Wrong for
Organisations standardised on phone brands other than Pixel
Not stated by the vendorFree download; devices bought separately
System76's Ubuntu-based desktop with auto-tiling windows and encryption
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Operating Systems for Business in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Setup is a normal installer, and it works on any hardware even though it is designed around System76's machines. There is nothing to buy for the OS, so real price only appears if you buy the company's computers.
Independence is moderate: one American company decides the direction, and the Ubuntu base means upstream decisions reach it too. Exit is a reinstall. The page names Pop! Chat and GitHub as support, not a contract.
What stands out
Ubuntu-based
Auto-tiling windows
Hardware-maker OS
Where it costs you
The product page states no licence and no support period
Development priorities follow System76's own hardware business
Right for
Developers who want tiling windows on a ready-made Ubuntu base
Wrong for
Buyers who need a published lifecycle and vendor support terms
The mainstream Linux desktop with paid extended security support
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Operating Systems for Business in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Setup is short because the installer and package ecosystem are the most familiar here. Real price is the Pro tier you pick: 300 dollars a year for a workstation with 24/7 support, 3,400 for a server with full support.
Exit is straightforward on the OS side, but Livepatch and Landscape are Canonical services. The registered office on its contact page is in London, and its terms refer to a company registered in the Isle of Man.
What stands out
Five-year LTS
Ubuntu Pro tiers
Livepatch
Where it costs you
The base Pro tier covers security patching, while support is a higher-priced tier
Canonical's privacy policy lists Google Analytics, Facebook Pixel and LinkedIn tracking on its sites
Right for
Companies wanting a common desktop and server base with paid long-term patching
Wrong for
Anyone who wants support included without a subscription tier
United KingdomFree to download; Ubuntu Pro per machine per year, published
A GNOME desktop with short release cycles, backed by Red Hat
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Operating Systems for Business in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Setup is a standard installer, and upgrades between versions are described as quick and easy. Real price is licence zero plus the yearly upgrade labour, which grows with the number of machines.
Independence is partial because Red Hat sponsors the project and uses it as a testbed. Exit is a reinstall to another distribution. For buyers who later want a supported enterprise build, the path leads to Red Hat's paid product.
What stands out
GNOME desktop
About 13 months of updates
Red Hat-backed
Where it costs you
Each version is updated for about thirteen months
The project is sponsored by Red Hat, so priorities follow the sponsor
Right for
Developers who want current GNOME and the upstream of RHEL software
Wrong for
Fleets that cannot upgrade the operating system every year
The paid enterprise Linux that the others here are compared to
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Operating Systems for Business in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Setup is registration against Red Hat's subscription system, and its store lists RHEL Server from 383.90 dollars per system and Workstation from 196.90. Real price grows with machines and with specialised editions such as SAP, which starts far higher.
Independence is the weakest here: you buy from a subsidiary of IBM, and its lifecycle has full support, maintenance and extended phases. Exit means re-platforming, and AlmaLinux is the closest destination.
What stands out
Per-system subscription
Three lifecycle phases
IBM subsidiary
Where it costs you
Every system needs a subscription
The extended life phase is available only with add-ons
Right for
Enterprises that need certified software support and a single accountable vendor
Wrong for
Small teams that only need a stable base with no contract
United StatesSubscription per system, published; no-cost developer membership
An operating system manages a computer's hardware and runs its applications; the alternatives here are Linux distributions for desktops and servers, and Android-based phone systems without Google's services. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
10 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 2 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Zorin OS, Linux Mint, Debian, AlmaLinux, /e/OS, GrapheneOS, Pop!_OS, Ubuntu, Fedora Workstation, Red Hat Enterprise Linux.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 6 countries across 3 regions (North America 5, Europe 4, Elsewhere 3). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Who signs the support contract on a Linux desktop
Every distribution here costs little or nothing in licences, so the money goes to the question of who answers the phone. Debian and Linux Mint have no company behind them to sign anything, which is fine for a team with its own administrators and a problem for an office with none. Zorin OS Technologies sells a one-time Pro edition and an installation support service for one computer.
Canonical sells support inside Ubuntu Pro tiers, and Red Hat sells it as the subscription itself. AlmaLinux splits the two: the foundation owns the system, while TuxCare and Cybertrust Japan sell the support. Decide first whether you need a counterparty, because that single answer removes half of this list from consideration before any feature is compared, and it keeps a team from discovering the gap during an outage.
Write down who you would call at 2am and what they would be paid.
Ask whether the support tier you price includes patches only or also help.
Check whether the support company is the same one that owns the OS.
Lifecycle dates decide how often you reinstall
A release that ends in thirteen months costs more labour than one that lasts five years, whatever it costs to download. Fedora Workstation versions are updated for about thirteen months. Ubuntu LTS gets five years of standard maintenance and Ubuntu Pro adds five more. Debian 13 has three years of full support and two of Long Term Support, to June 2030, and Linux Mint 22 is supported until April 2029.
Zorin OS 18 is updated until at least June 2029, and AlmaLinux 9 through 2032. Manjaro and Pop!_OS state no period on the pages we read. Multiply the upgrade effort by your machine count before comparing prices, and treat a missing date as a finding, because a buyer cannot plan around a period the vendor has not stated.
Find the end-of-support date of the exact release you will install.
Count how many machines you must upgrade each time the date arrives.
Ask whether extended security patching is a separate purchase.
Phone systems fail on the apps, not on the privacy
A de-Googled phone is a software swap on hardware that was designed for Google's. GrapheneOS runs on Pixel devices only and offers Google Play as a sandboxed app, so it keeps app compatibility without giving Google privileges. /e/OS replaces Google services with microG and lists Play Integrity status per device across 287 supported devices, which is where banking and payment apps can break.
The two answer different problems: GrapheneOS asks you to buy Pixel hardware, /e/OS works on many brands but each device behaves differently. Pilot the three apps your staff cannot work without, on the exact handset, before you order a fleet. A phone that cannot run the authenticator your employer requires is a phone you will have to replace, and the cost of that discovery is higher after a bulk order.
Test your banking, authenticator and work apps on the exact handset.
Check the device's Play Integrity status in the vendor's device list.
Confirm who patches the phone and how quickly updates arrive.
Compatible does not mean the same as the vendor's build
Red Hat Enterprise Linux is the paid reference, with subscription prices published per system and an extended life phase available only with add-ons. AlmaLinux states that software and kernel modules that work on RHEL work on it, which is the reason to choose it. That is a vendor promise, not a certification. If your application vendor supports only RHEL, a compatible system may leave you without support from them.
Fedora Workstation is the upstream testbed for RHEL, so it runs newer software than either. Ask your application vendors in writing which distributions they support before treating any of the three as interchangeable. A saved licence fee can disappear into a consultant's invoice if a vendor refuses to support the platform you picked.
Ask each application vendor which distributions it supports in writing.
Price the support for the compatible system as well as the licence.
Check whether your build tools need RHEL's exact package versions.
What goes wrong most often when buying operating systems
Buying Zorin OS Pro once and forgetting that a business must licence it for every computer it runs on.
Treating a donation-funded desktop such as Linux Mint as if it came with a contract and a support line.
Choosing a de-Googled phone before testing the banking and authenticator apps on that exact handset.
Assuming a RHEL-compatible system gets support from application vendors that list only RHEL.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What are the best operating systems in 2026?
Zorin OS leads our ranking of 12. Zorin OS Technologies is a single-product company in Dublin, and the split is simple: Core is a free download, Pro is bought once per computer with no renewal.
That suits a small office replacing ageing Windows machines. The catch is the business rule, since the terms require a Pro copy for every computer a company uses it on, and the Windows app support covers many apps, not all.
Which operating systems publish their pricing?
10 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Zorin OS: Core edition free; Pro is a one-time purchase per computer.
Linux Mint: Free download; funded by donations, sponsors and advertising.
Debian: Free of licence fees; volunteer-maintained.
AlmaLinux: Free; commercial support sold by third parties.
/e/OS: Free to install on supported devices; Murena sells phones and Workspace plans.
Ubuntu: Free to download; Ubuntu Pro per machine per year, published.
Fedora Workstation: Free.
Red Hat Enterprise Linux: Subscription per system, published; no-cost developer membership.
The other 2 quote per organisation.
Is there a free operating system?
Linux Mint, Debian, AlmaLinux, /e/OS, GrapheneOS, Pop!_OS, Ubuntu, Fedora Workstation offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these operating system vendors established?
In 6 countries across 3 regions: North America 5, Europe 4, Elsewhere 3.
Zorin OS: Ireland.
Manjaro: Germany.
elementary OS: Not stated by the vendor.
Linux Mint: Not stated by the vendor.
Debian: United States.
AlmaLinux: United States.
/e/OS: France.
GrapheneOS: Not stated by the vendor.
Pop!_OS: United States.
Ubuntu: United Kingdom.
Fedora Workstation: United States.
Red Hat Enterprise Linux: United States.
What should you use instead of Zorin OS?
Manjaro and elementary OS are the next two on this page. Manjaro is for Technical users who want recent software on a desktop they installed themselves; elementary OS is for Individuals and small studios who want a finished desktop and will pay for it.
Who should not buy Zorin OS?
Anyone needing a managed fleet with vendor support contracts. The terms require a Pro copy for each computer used in a business.
If your operating systems product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.