Warehouse vendors meter scanned terabytes, slot-hours, credits or vCPUs, so the headline rate tells you little.
This guide ranks twelve of them on what an analytics team pays and does in the first ninety days: how the bill behaves when queries idle, whether the engine can leave with you, and how far the vendor is from a single product you can run yourself.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What data warehouse software does
Data warehouse software stores structured business data from many systems in one place and runs analytical SQL over it, so reports and dashboards read from a single consistent source.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each data warehouse tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Fixed commitment plus flex usage in Teradata Units; rates not on page
—
Large enterprises with regulated workloads and on-premises estates
Small teams that want self-service sign-up
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
DuckDB-based serverless warehouse with a small plan ladder and one-day setup
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Data Warehouse Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
MotherDuck publishes three plans: Lite, Business and Enterprise. Compute is metered separately from storage, with the smallest instance type billed per query and larger ones billed per second. Storage includes a seven-day fail-safe that counts toward the bill.
Business adds up to 90 days of snapshots and a 99.9 percent uptime target. Enterprise adds fixed-cost capacity, PrivateLink and bring-your-own-cloud on request. Treat it as the shortest route to a working warehouse, not as a place for large regulated estates.
What stands out
DuckDB-based
Free Lite plan
Per-query compute
Where it costs you
Every organisation is tied to one of six AWS regions chosen at creation, so there is no Azure or Google Cloud option.
Lite stops at three internal users, two service accounts, 10 GB of storage and one day of snapshots.
Right for
Small data teams that want a hosted warehouse running within a week
Wrong for
Buyers needing Azure or Google Cloud placement
Not stated by the vendorFree Lite plan; Business per organisation per month plus usage, published
Column store you can run yourself or rent by the minute
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Data Warehouse Software in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
The cloud service comes in Basic, Scale and Enterprise plans. Basic caps storage at 1 TB on a single availability zone; Scale removes the cap and adds compute-compute separation; Enterprise adds SAML single sign-on, private regions and HIPAA and PCI compliance.
A 30-day trial credit needs no card. Because the open source build runs the same engine, a team can prototype locally and keep a migration path. The cost is expertise: you choose the schema and table design yourself.
What stands out
Apache 2.0 licence
Self-host or cloud
Scale to zero
Where it costs you
Compute, storage, backup storage, egress and ClickPipes are metered as separate lines, so the invoice has several drivers.
Bring-your-own-cloud is not self-service and is priced by custom quote.
Right for
Engineering teams with event and log data who want an exit route
Wrong for
Teams wanting a warehouse with no tuning work
United StatesUsage-based compute, storage and egress, published; credit-based trial
In-memory analytics database from an independent German company
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Data Warehouse Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestEurope
Exasol is described by the vendor as a high-performance in-memory analytics database for data warehousing, near real-time analytics and AI workloads. It uses a massively parallel architecture across nodes, and the pricing page reduces total cost through compression and caching rather than listing rates.
A customer story on the site mentions memory-based licensing, so sizing RAM is likely central to the quote. Ask for the licence formula before the proof of concept, not after.
What stands out
In-memory MPP
On-premises or cloud
Single product
Where it costs you
The pricing page lists no prices, so a licence cost can only be learned from the vendor.
The page does not state the limits of the personal edition.
Right for
Mid-size firms wanting fast SQL under their own control
Wrong for
Teams that need a published price before a call
GermanyQuoted per organisation; personal edition for individual use
Query engine with a self-hosted Core edition and per-second cloud billing
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Data Warehouse Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Core runs as a single node from one install script, or across several nodes using Docker Compose, and speaks a Postgres-compatible SQL dialect with Iceberg support. The managed service charges per node-second by hardware type, and new accounts receive introductory credits.
At the calculator's defaults, an always-on small node costs several hundred dollars a month, so auto-stop settings matter. The Core edition removes licence fees but moves operations onto your own team.
What stands out
Self-hosted Core
Per-second billing
Credit-based start
Where it costs you
Core needs Linux kernel 6.1 or later and at least 16 GB of memory for basic queries.
The homepage describes the open-source edition as a preview, and the licence is not named on the pages reviewed.
Right for
Engineers who want to test a query engine locally first
Wrong for
Teams wanting one invoice and phone support
Not stated by the vendorCompute per second and storage per GB-month, published; self-hosted Core at no charge
Apache-licensed warehouse engine run as a Linux Foundation project
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Data Warehouse Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The project describes itself as a high-performance warehouse for sub-second analytics, with real-time updates, multi-table queries without denormalisation, and queries over open formats on a data lakehouse.
Its licence is Apache 2.0, confirmed in the GitHub repository. With no company behind the website, you carry upgrades, capacity planning and incident response, or you pay somebody else to. Price it as engineers, not as software.
What stands out
Apache 2.0
Foundation project
No vendor plans
Where it costs you
The home page shows no support plan, price list or hosted service, so help comes from the community or a third party you hire.
No headquarters or legal entity is stated on the project site.
Right for
Teams with platform engineers who want no licence contract
Wrong for
Buyers who need a vendor to call
Not stated by the vendorFree under Apache 2.0; no vendor price list
Distributed SQL database sold as managed cloud, own-VPC or self-managed
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Data Warehouse Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
SingleStore's heritage is the MemSQL database, founded in 2011. Managed plans are billed hourly from a listed starting rate, and Standard carries a 99.9 percent uptime target on one availability zone or 99.99 percent across two.
Read replicas and database branching come with Standard. Enterprise adds point-in-time recovery, disaster recovery and customer-managed keys. A credit offer helps testing, though its duration is not stated. It targets mixed workloads more than classic reporting.
What stands out
Free shared plan
Hourly billing
BYOC option
Where it costs you
The free Shared plan is limited to evaluation, development and non-production use.
Self-managed is listed as an option but the pricing page gives no details of it.
Right for
Teams mixing transactions and analytics on one database
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a pure warehouse with simple storage pricing
United StatesHourly managed plans from a published rate; free shared workspace; BYOC quoted
Warehouse priced per vCPU that runs in your cloud or data centre
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Data Warehouse Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
The pricing page says there are no credits, slots or units to decode, only vCPU compute metered to the second. You can mix subscription and on-demand rates, and on-premises subscriptions that include hardware are sold directly.
The vendor lists workloads such as enterprise data warehousing, streaming analytics and cloud migration. Because customers run the platform in their account, you can compare it against managed rivals on a like-for-like vCPU basis.
What stands out
Per-vCPU pricing
Your cloud or on-prem
Kubernetes-based
Where it costs you
The listed rate covers the software only; your own cloud or on-premises costs are extra.
The trial length is not stated on the pages reviewed.
Right for
Firms moving a legacy warehouse onto their own infrastructure
Wrong for
Teams wanting infrastructure fully handled by the vendor
United StatesPer vCPU per year or per vCPU-hour, published; trial offered
Consumption-billed cloud warehouse sold in four editions
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Data Warehouse Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Snowflake offers on-demand payment at list price or pre-paid capacity with storage discounts. The Standard edition covers core functions; Enterprise adds governance controls; Business Critical adds failover and failback for disaster recovery.
A start-for-free sign-up exists, but its length is not stated on the pricing page. Because the edition decides which governance features you receive, test the edition you will actually buy.
What stands out
Edition tiers
Consumption billing
Trial offered
Where it costs you
Compute rates sit in a separate consumption table, not on the pricing page.
Multi-cluster compute and longer Time Travel need the Enterprise edition or above.
Right for
Larger organisations sharing data across many business units
Wrong for
Small teams that want a single predictable monthly bill
United StatesConsumption-based compute and monthly storage; four editions
SQL warehouses on a lakehouse platform, billed pay as you go
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Data Warehouse Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The documentation lists three warehouse types and says only serverless includes intelligent workload management, which scales on query demand. Serverless starts typically in two to six seconds.
The pricing page offers pay as you go with a 14-day trial and committed-use discounts, and routes cost estimates to a calculator. The platform breadth is useful when SQL is one workload among many, and unnecessary overhead when it is the only one.
What stands out
Lakehouse platform
Serverless warehouses
Trial offered
Where it costs you
Pro warehouses start in roughly four minutes against two to six seconds for serverless.
The pricing page rate table did not load, so rates must be taken from the calculator.
Right for
Teams already running data engineering and machine learning on Databricks
Wrong for
Teams wanting only a standalone SQL warehouse
United StatesPay as you go; 14-day trial; committed-use discounts
Serverless warehouse billed per TiB scanned or per slot-hour
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Data Warehouse Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The on-demand model charges for the columns a query reads, with a ten-megabyte minimum per table, and shares up to 2,000 concurrent slots in a project. The capacity model charges per slot-hour using autoscaling or purchased commitments.
Failed queries and cached results are not billed. Partitioning and clustering cut scanned bytes, so schema design directly lowers the bill. The model rewards discipline and penalises exploration.
What stands out
Serverless
Per-TiB billing
Free query allowance
Where it costs you
A LIMIT clause does not reduce the data processed, so an unfiltered query is billed in full.
Billing differs by account-level model, either per TiB or per slot-hour, not per project.
Right for
Teams on Google Cloud with irregular, bursty query loads
Wrong for
Teams that need a fixed monthly cost without reservations
United StatesPer TiB scanned or per slot-hour, published; monthly free query allowance
AWS warehouse sold as serverless or provisioned clusters
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Data Warehouse Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
New serverless users get a credit that expires after 90 days, while provisioned users in regions without serverless get a two-month trial. Concurrency Scaling earns up to one free hour per day per cluster, accumulating up to 30 hours.
Serverless folds concurrency scaling into its RPU bill. Automated snapshots are free for up to 35 days. Multi-AZ doubles compute charges, so resilience has a visible price.
What stands out
Serverless or provisioned
Reserved terms
AWS-hosted
Where it costs you
Reserved instance fees continue whether the cluster runs or is paused.
Manual snapshots keep billing until deleted, even on a paused cluster.
Right for
Teams that already run most workloads and security on AWS
Wrong for
Teams wanting to avoid AWS commitments
United StatesPer RPU-hour serverless or per node-hour provisioned, published; credit-based trial
Long-established warehouse sold as committed plus elastic capacity units
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Data Warehouse Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
The vendor says its Fixed plus Flex model avoids pure consumption spikes by committing a baseline and billing peaks on demand. Two storage options and three packages are offered across deployment models, including an air-gapped on-premises option for regulated industries.
Packages can be upgraded at any time, but downgrades wait for renewal, so over-committing is the main financial risk. It suits steady, large workloads.
What stands out
On-premises or cloud
Committed capacity
Single currency
Where it costs you
No rates are shown, so cost depends on a negotiated commitment.
Downgrading a package takes effect only at the next contract renewal.
Right for
Large enterprises with regulated workloads and on-premises estates
Wrong for
Small teams that want self-service sign-up
United StatesFixed commitment plus flex usage in Teradata Units; rates not on page
Data warehouse software stores structured business data from many systems in one place and runs analytical SQL over it, so reports and dashboards read from a single consistent source. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
8 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 4 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: MotherDuck, ClickHouse, Firebolt, StarRocks, SingleStore, Yellowbrick, Google BigQuery, Amazon Redshift.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 3 countries across 3 regions (North America 8, Elsewhere 3, Europe 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
2 of these are open source: ClickHouse, StarRocks. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
How billing units differ across Google BigQuery, Amazon Redshift and Yellowbrick
Each data warehouse meters something different, so a headline rate is not comparable until you convert it. Google BigQuery charges per TiB scanned or per slot-hour, and the first TiB scanned each month is free. Amazon Redshift charges per RPU-hour on serverless, with a 60-second minimum, or per node-hour on provisioned clusters.
Yellowbrick prices per vCPU, either per year on one- and three-year terms or per vCPU-hour billed to the second, on top of your own infrastructure. Firebolt bills per node-second plus compressed storage. Convert each to the same unit: the monthly cost of the dashboards and loads you run today. A scan-billed engine rewards narrow queries, while a vCPU-billed one rewards steady load.
Convert every quote into the monthly cost of one real query set
Ask whether the rate covers compute only or also storage and egress
Check minimum billing increments per query or per start
Where ClickHouse, MotherDuck and Firebolt stop charging when idle
Idle behaviour decides whether a quiet warehouse costs anything. ClickHouse Cloud meters compute per minute and scales idle services to zero, but storage, backups and egress keep billing. MotherDuck bills its smallest Pulse instance per query with a one-second minimum, while larger instances bill per second, and the seven-day fail-safe on changed data counts toward storage.
Firebolt engines auto-stop and resume, though the pricing example of one node running all month comes to several hundred dollars. Amazon Redshift provisioned clusters stop compute billing when paused but keep charging for backups. Reserved fees keep running regardless. Ask each vendor what a weekend of no queries costs.
List which cost lines continue when no query runs
Confirm how fast an engine resumes after auto-stop
Check whether reserved or committed fees survive a pause
Taking Exasol, StarRocks or ClickHouse out of the vendor relationship
Exit is easier when the engine is something you can run yourself. ClickHouse is Apache 2.0 licensed and can be installed from the vendor's script, and StarRocks is an Apache 2.0 project hosted under the Linux Foundation. Exasol runs on AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, Kubernetes or on-premises, though the licence is quoted.
Firebolt Core runs from a Docker image, and Teradata lists on-premises and customer-cloud options. The hyperscaler services and Snowflake have no equivalent route, so leaving means a migration project. Before signing, run the exit: export a table in an open format and load it somewhere else, and note the hours it took.
Test an export to an open file format before the contract starts
Check whether a self-run version of the engine exists
Ask what happens to retained snapshots after cancellation
Trial terms to compare between Databricks SQL, Snowflake and SingleStore
Trial offers vary more than prices do. Databricks SQL advertises a 14-day free trial, ClickHouse Cloud gives a credit allowance over 30 days with no card, and MotherDuck offers seven days of its Business plan without a card. Amazon Redshift serverless gives a credit that expires after 90 days.
SingleStore offers a free shared workspace for non-production use and a credit offer on Standard, with the duration not stated. Snowflake shows a start-for-free sign-up but states no length or credit on its pricing page. Use the trial to load your own data and your slowest query, not a sample dataset, and note how much credit that consumed.
Load your real data and slowest report during the trial
Record the credit used so you can scale it to production
Confirm the trial plan matches the edition you would buy
What goes wrong most often when buying data warehouse software
Comparing the headline rate of one warehouse with the rate of another without converting scan, slot, RPU and vCPU pricing into one monthly figure.
Testing on a sample dataset, so the first real bill from scan-billed engines such as Google BigQuery arrives as a surprise.
Assuming a paused cluster costs nothing, when Amazon Redshift snapshots and reserved fees keep billing.
Choosing an Apache-licensed engine such as StarRocks or ClickHouse without budgeting the engineers needed to run, upgrade and tune it.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best data warehouse software in 2026?
MotherDuck leads our ranking of 12. The plan ladder is short and published: a Lite plan for three internal users, a Business plan billed per organisation plus usage, and a custom Enterprise tier.
Compute is sized per user, so one analyst's heavy query does not queue the others. The limits are real: each organisation is pinned to one of six AWS regions, and Lite caps storage at 10 GB.
Which data warehouse tools publish their pricing?
8 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
MotherDuck: Free Lite plan; Business per organisation per month plus usage, published.
ClickHouse: Usage-based compute, storage and egress, published; credit-based trial.
Firebolt: Compute per second and storage per GB-month, published; self-hosted Core at no charge.
StarRocks: Free under Apache 2.0; no vendor price list.
SingleStore: Hourly managed plans from a published rate; free shared workspace; BYOC quoted.
Yellowbrick: Per vCPU per year or per vCPU-hour, published; trial offered.
Google BigQuery: Per TiB scanned or per slot-hour, published; monthly free query allowance.
Amazon Redshift: Per RPU-hour serverless or per node-hour provisioned, published; credit-based trial.
The other 4 quote per organisation.
Is there a free data warehouse tool?
MotherDuck, StarRocks offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these data warehouse software vendors established?
In 3 countries across 3 regions: North America 8, Elsewhere 3, Europe 1.
MotherDuck: Not stated by the vendor.
ClickHouse: United States.
Exasol: Germany.
Firebolt: Not stated by the vendor.
StarRocks: Not stated by the vendor.
SingleStore: United States.
Yellowbrick: United States.
Snowflake: United States.
Databricks SQL: United States.
Google BigQuery: United States.
Amazon Redshift: United States.
Teradata: United States.
Which data warehouse tools are open source?
ClickHouse, StarRocks.
Which data warehouse tools can you host yourself?
ClickHouse, Exasol, Firebolt, Yellowbrick, Teradata. The other 7 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of MotherDuck?
ClickHouse and Exasol are the next two on this page. ClickHouse is for Engineering teams with event and log data who want an exit route; Exasol is for Mid-size firms wanting fast SQL under their own control.
Who should not buy MotherDuck?
Buyers needing Azure or Google Cloud placement. Every organisation is tied to one of six AWS regions chosen at creation, so there is no Azure or Google Cloud option..
If your data warehouse software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.