Transactional email services deliver the receipts, password resets and notifications an application sends one at a time. Prices look alike per thousand messages until log retention, dedicated IPs and bundling are added.
This guide ranks twelve services on first-ninety-day effort, the bill once those extras arrive, how much history stays, and whether you can buy without a partner.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What transactional email services software does
A transactional email service accepts messages from an application over an API or SMTP relay and delivers them to inboxes, handling authentication, bounces, suppression lists and delivery logs.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the transactional email services tool was built for. A separate rule reserves the first three places for challengers and moves the household names to place 4 and below. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Single-purpose New Zealand relay with a 1,000-email plan and phone support
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Transactional Email Services in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
SMTP2GO keeps the first ninety days short: the free plan covers 1,000 emails a month with no credit card, and setup assistance is listed among the features every plan includes.
The ladder is easy to model, at $10 for 10,000 emails, $75 for 100,000 and a stated overage of $1 or $0.85 per thousand. Dedicated IPs and email testing tools begin at Professional. Invoices are in US dollars, and euro or pound prices are approximations.
What stands out
Published tiers
Phone and chat support
Subaccounts
Where it costs you
A dedicated IP address is listed only from the Professional tier
Email reporting is kept for 30 days on the tiers shown
Right for
Small teams that want a published price, phone support and no partner
Wrong for
Buyers who need invoices in euros rather than US dollars
New ZealandFree plan to 1,000 emails a month; paid tiers published
Developer-first email API with a 3,000-email plan and flat tiers
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Transactional Email Services in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Resend suits the first ninety days because the free plan allows three domains and 3,000 emails a month, and the next step is a single $20 Pro price. Extra emails cost $0.90 per thousand on both paid plans, so the bill grows in a straight line.
Domains are the quieter meter: Pro allows 10 and Scale 1,000, and further domains on Pro need an add-on. A dedicated IP exists only as an add-on on Scale.
What stands out
API first
Flat tiers
Domain limits
Where it costs you
The free plan is capped at 100 emails a day
A dedicated IP is an add-on and appears only on Scale
Right for
Product teams that want a short price list and few domains to manage
Wrong for
Senders needing dedicated infrastructure without paying for Scale first
United StatesFree plan to 3,000 emails a month; Pro and Scale tiers published
Vancouver-listed sender with a 3,000-email plan and paid private IPs
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best Transactional Email Services in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Elastic Email starts easily: the free plan covers 3,000 emails a month and asks for no credit card until you choose Starter or Pro. The costs sit at the margins.
Both paid plans stop at 50,000 emails, private IPs and dedicated support are billed separately, and auto-increase can move you to a higher plan when a limit is hit, which is convenient and also a billing surprise. The page quotes an average support response of one day.
What stands out
Private IP add-on
Auto plan upgrade
USD billing
Where it costs you
Email logs are kept for only 3 days on the Free and Starter plans
The Email API and Email Marketing products need separate accounts
Right for
Teams that want a free start and plan upgrades handled automatically
Wrong for
Buyers who need long log history on a low-cost plan
CanadaFree plan to 3,000 emails a month; Starter and Pro published
Developer email API that keeps transactional and broadcast streams apart
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Transactional Email Services in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Postmark makes the first ninety days predictable: the free plan gives 100 emails a month for integration testing, and Basic, Pro and Platform all start at 10,000 emails, with overage at $1.80, $1.30 and $1.20 per thousand.
The step from Basic to Pro buys inbound processing and retention of up to 365 days. Dedicated IPs cost extra per IP and need 300,000 monthly emails, so small senders stay on shared IPs.
What stands out
Message streams
45-day retention
ActiveCampaign link
Where it costs you
A dedicated IP is limited to senders of 300,000 emails a month on Pro or higher
The free plan stops at 100 emails a month and allows no overages
Right for
Application teams that want clean transactional streams and long log retention
Wrong for
Low-volume senders who want a large free allowance
United StatesFree plan to 100 emails a month; paid tiers by volume, published
Transactional sender from the MailerLite team with a 500-email plan
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Transactional Email Services in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
MailerSend offers a 14-day trial with all Professional features, so the first ninety days begin with a test of what you will actually pay for. The free plan allows 500 emails a month, which is enough for integration testing only.
Hobby caps at one domain and a one-day activity window, Starter allows 10 domains, and Professional adds a dedicated account manager and a deliverability consultation. Billing is in US dollars.
What stands out
14-day Professional trial
Retention by plan
USD billing
Where it costs you
Hobby keeps activity data for one day and allows one domain
Invoices are in US dollars, and euro or pound prices are informational
Right for
Small teams that want to trial every Professional feature first
Wrong for
Buyers who need long activity history on a low plan
United StatesFree plan to 500 emails a month; Hobby to Professional published
Transactional and marketing email on one account, hosted in France and Germany
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Transactional Email Services in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Charging by send volume rather than by stored contact is the whole point: a list of 50,000 people you email monthly costs a fraction of what the per-contact platforms charge.
Transactional email runs on the same account, which removes a second vendor for most small teams. Where it disappoints is reporting — the analytics answer what happened but rarely why — and shared-pool deliverability needs a proper warm-up before a first big send.
What stands out
Send-volume pricing
EU hosting
Email and SMS
Where it costs you
Reporting is the weakest part of the product
Deliverability on the shared pool needs warming up
Right for
A large but quiet list where per-contact pricing would hurt
Wrong for
A team that needs deep segmentation and revenue reporting
FranceFree plan of 300 emails a day; paid plans by send volume, published
Volume-priced French sender, one of three Sinch Email brands
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Transactional Email Services in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Mailjet earns its place on the pricing model and the hosting. Paying per email rather than per contact suits a company with fifty thousand addresses that hears from it twice a year, which is the case that makes contact-priced tools expensive.
EU data residency is available and documented, which for some buyers ends the discussion. The trade is capability: the automation builder handles a welcome series comfortably and runs out of room after that.
What stands out
Sinch Email brand
Monthly plans
Dedicated IP on request
Where it costs you
Automations only from the Premium plan
Roadmap set by the parent company
Right for
A team that wants product email and campaigns on one bill
Wrong for
A marketer who wants sophisticated lifecycle automation
FranceFree plan to 6,000 emails a month; paid plans by volume, published
Per-message AWS pricing with plans that add deliverability tooling
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Transactional Email Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Amazon SES charges per email with no contract negotiation or upfront commitment, which in our reading keeps the first ninety days cheap in cash and costly in hours, since you assemble sending, authentication and monitoring yourself.
The pricing page lists Essentials, Pro and Enterprise plans plus a la carte rates, with Pro at $105 a month and Enterprise at $500. Managed dedicated IPs cost $15 a month per account plus a per-email fee, and standard ones $24.95 per IP.
What stands out
Pay as you go
Add-on pricing
AWS credits
Where it costs you
New accounts start on Essentials at a higher per-email rate than a la carte
Dedicated IPs are add-ons on every plan
Right for
Teams already on AWS that can assemble sending, logs and alerts themselves
Wrong for
Buyers who want a single flat price without reading rate tables
United StatesPay as you go per 1,000 emails; plan and add-on rates published
Developer email API with US or EU regions, from Sinch Email
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Transactional Email Services in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Mailgun's free plan allows 100 emails a day with one sending domain and a single day of logs, enough to test an integration but not to debug a bad week.
Basic adds 10,000 emails a month, Foundation raises domains to 1,000 and opens with a month free, and Scale adds dedicated IP pools and live phone support. Overage runs from $1.80 per thousand on Basic down to $0.50 on Scale at one million emails.
What stands out
US and EU regions
Sinch Email brand
Retention by plan
Where it costs you
Log retention is only one day on the free and Basic plans
SAML SSO and dedicated IP pools need the Scale plan
Right for
Developers who want to choose between EU and US sending regions
Wrong for
Small senders who need more than one day of logs
United StatesFree plan of 100 emails a day; Basic to Scale published
Twilio-owned email API with a 60-day trial and volume pricing
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Transactional Email Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
SendGrid's trial gives 100 emails a day for 60 days across SMTP relay, SMTP API and Web API, which is long enough to finish an integration before paying. The cost question is harder, because the pages we could read describe volume-based pricing without a plan table.
One dedicated IP is included with the Pro Email API plan, extra ones carry a monthly charge, and the console adds one a month. Expert services go to Pro and Premier accounts.
What stands out
Twilio-owned
60-day trial
Dedicated IPs
Where it costs you
Only one extra dedicated IP can be added a month through the console
Volume-based pricing is stated without a plan table on the pages we could read
Right for
Teams already buying Twilio services who want one supplier for messaging
Wrong for
Buyers who need a price list before signing up
United States60-day trial of 100 emails a day; paid plans by volume
SparkPost, now Bird, sells email through a monthly prepaid balance
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Transactional Email Services in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Bird's email pricing works from a monthly deposit rather than an email quota: Startup puts $15 into the balance, which the page estimates at 37,500 transactional emails at $0.40 per thousand.
Unused balance carries forward and can pay for other Bird usage. Dedicated IP add-ons begin at Growth with up to five. Growth costs $250 a month and its rate per thousand is higher than Startup's, so read the rate row, not the deposit.
What stands out
Balance deposits
Amsterdam entity
Dedicated IP add-ons
Where it costs you
The free plan is limited to 50 emails a day and stops sending at its limit
Dedicated IP add-ons exist only on Growth and Scale
Right for
Teams that may add SMS or WhatsApp and want one prepaid balance
Wrong for
Buyers who want a plain per-email price on every plan
NetherlandsFree plan to 1,000 emails a month; monthly balance plans published
Mandrill's successor, sold as a Mailchimp add-on in prepaid blocks
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Transactional Email Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Mailchimp Transactional is the product formerly called Mandrill, now sold inside Mailchimp: open the Automations tab, choose Transactional Email, pick a block plan, then add a sending domain and DNS records.
Marketers can edit transactional templates inside Mailchimp, which the page presents as a benefit and which also ties the product to a marketing account. Transactional SMS is now part of the offer. The parent is Intuit Inc.
What stands out
Formerly Mandrill
Mailchimp add-on
Transactional SMS
Where it costs you
It is sold only as an add-on to a paid Mailchimp plan
The block calculator stops at 20 blocks, or 500,000 emails a month
Right for
Existing Mailchimp customers who want receipts sent beside their campaigns
Wrong for
Teams that need a standalone API plan with no marketing subscription
United StatesPrepaid email blocks, published; needs a paid Mailchimp plan
Sending API and SMTP, plus a sandbox for testing mail
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Transactional Email Services in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Mailtrap offers an email API and SMTP service for transactional mail, with a bulk stream, analytics and an inbound email API listed on its site.
The separate Email Sandbox catches test messages from development and QA environments, with its own plans starting at a free tier of 50 test emails. Sending plans are Free, Basic, Business and Enterprise, with log retention growing from 3 to 30 days across them.
What stands out
Free plan
Sandbox
Volume tiers
Where it costs you
The free plan caps sending at 150 emails a day and 4,000 a month, with a single user and one sending domain.
Dedicated IPs are listed only on Business tiers, which start at a much higher monthly price than Basic.
Right for
Developers who want to test mail in a sandbox and then send through the same vendor
Wrong for
Senders needing a dedicated IP on a small budget
United StatesFree plan with 4,000 emails a month; published monthly tiers by volume for Basic, Business and Enterprise
Mail server you install on your own Ubuntu machine, MIT-licensed repository
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Transactional Email Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The postalserver.io address sends visitors on a permanent redirect to the postalserver/install repository on GitHub. That repository offers install scripts for Postal 2 and 3 on Ubuntu, under the MIT licence.
Its own text separates the prerequisite scripts from production use, because the database defaults are weak. The GitHub account is called postalserver, and the pages read show no company, address or country. Version numbers and release dates are not shown there.
What stands out
MIT licence
Ubuntu install
Own server
Where it costs you
The prerequisite scripts install database services with weak default passwords and are stated as not meant for production.
The pages read name no company, no country and no hosted service or price.
Right for
Engineers comfortable installing and hardening their own mail server on Ubuntu
Wrong for
Teams wanting a hosted sender with published plans
Not stated by the vendorNo price listed; the install repository is MIT licensed and no sending plans are shown
How to choose transactional email services software
A transactional email service accepts messages from an application over an API or SMTP relay and delivers them to inboxes, handling authentication, bounces, suppression lists and delivery logs. These are the questions that actually differ between vendors, in the order we would ask them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
The split is 12 published against 2 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with SMTP2GO, Resend, Elastic Email, Postmark, MailerSend, Brevo, Mailjet, Amazon SES, Mailgun, Bird (SparkPost), Mailchimp Transactional, Mailtrap.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
The vendors on this page are based in 6 countries (North America 9, Europe 3, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.
How transactional email pricing is metered
Four meters hide behind the same per-thousand figure. Postmark sells tiers that each start at 10,000 emails, then charges $1.80, $1.30 or $1.20 per thousand depending on the tier. Bird (SparkPost) takes a monthly deposit into a balance and charges a different rate per thousand on each plan. Amazon SES bills per email and now lists Essentials, Pro and Enterprise plans beside an a la carte rate.
Mailchimp Transactional sells blocks of 25,000 emails. The same 100,000 messages therefore cost different amounts depending on how the unit is cut. Convert every quote to your own monthly volume and your own bursts before comparing, and ask what happens to messages beyond the quota, since a block or tier boundary can cost more than the headline rate suggests.
Price your real monthly volume, including your busiest month, at every vendor.
Check whether overage is billed, blocked or moves you to a higher plan.
Ask whether unused balance or blocks carry forward.
Log retention decides how fast you can debug
A bounced password reset is only debuggable while the log exists. Mailgun keeps 1 day of logs on its free and Basic plans, 5 on Foundation and 30 on Scale. MailerSend keeps activity data for 1, 7 and 30 days from Hobby to Professional. Elastic Email stores logs for 3 days on Free and Starter and 7 on Pro.
Postmark keeps 45 days by default and up to 365 days from Pro. A cheap plan with one day of history is fine until a customer reports a missing email on Monday about something sent on Friday. Match retention to how long your support team takes to raise a ticket, not to how long a developer takes to test.
Find the retention on the plan you would buy, not the top plan.
Ask whether message content is kept or only delivery events.
Check whether longer retention is a plan feature or a paid add-on.
Dedicated IPs: who gets one, and at what size
A shared IP is cheap and carries other senders' reputation, so the dedicated IP question comes up as soon as volume grows. Postmark offers managed dedicated IPs only to customers sending 300,000 emails a month or more on Pro or higher. SendGrid includes one dedicated IP in its Pro Email API plan and lets the console add one a month.
Resend sells it as an add-on on Scale, and SMTP2GO lists one from Professional. Mailjet lists one on Premium. The decision is rarely about the IP itself: it is about whether the plan that unlocks it also forces other spending, such as a larger quota you will not use. Compare the whole step up, not the IP line.
Ask the volume threshold for a dedicated IP, not only the price.
Check who handles warm-up and whether that costs extra.
Compare the whole plan step, since the IP may sit on a larger tier.
Marketing bundles and parent companies
Several names here are one product inside a larger company. Mailgun and Mailjet are both Sinch Email brands, SendGrid sits inside Twilio, Mailchimp Transactional is a Mailchimp add-on under Intuit, and Postmark's terms are with AC PM, LLC and point to ActiveCampaign. Brevo and MailerSend run transactional sending next to marketing tools on the same account.
A bundle helps a team that mails both kinds of message, and it is a cost for one that only needs an API. Choosing two brands from one group also does not spread supplier risk. Before buying, read which legal entity signs your contract and which products share the plan you are paying for.
Read the contracting entity in the terms of service before you sign.
Check whether the plan includes marketing tools you will never use.
Do not pick two brands of one group as a fallback pair.
What goes wrong most often when buying transactional email services software
Comparing the headline price per thousand emails without adding retention, dedicated IP and support to the plan you would actually buy.
Judging a free plan by its monthly quota while ignoring daily caps, such as 100 emails a day on Resend's free plan and 50 a day on Bird's.
Sending marketing mail through a transactional stream and then wondering why password resets are delayed.
Treating a rebrand as the same contract, when Mandrill, SparkPost and SendGrid have each moved to a new owner or address.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best transactional email services in 2026?
Our ranking of 14 puts SMTP2GO first. The operator is Sand Dune Mail Ltd, whose terms fall under New Zealand law, and the product is a relay with published tiers: a free plan for 1,000 emails a month, Starter at 10,000 and Professional at 100,000.
Ticket, chat and phone support come with every plan, though chat and phone last 14 days on the free one. A dedicated IP first appears on Professional.
Which transactional email services tools publish their pricing?
12 of the 14, with the pricing model each one publishes:
SMTP2GO: Free plan to 1,000 emails a month; paid tiers published.
Resend: Free plan to 3,000 emails a month; Pro and Scale tiers published.
Elastic Email: Free plan to 3,000 emails a month; Starter and Pro published.
Postmark: Free plan to 100 emails a month; paid tiers by volume, published.
MailerSend: Free plan to 500 emails a month; Hobby to Professional published.
Brevo: Free plan of 300 emails a day; paid plans by send volume, published.
Mailjet: Free plan to 6,000 emails a month; paid plans by volume, published.
Amazon SES: Pay as you go per 1,000 emails; plan and add-on rates published.
Mailgun: Free plan of 100 emails a day; Basic to Scale published.
Bird (SparkPost): Free plan to 1,000 emails a month; monthly balance plans published.
Mailtrap: Free plan with 4,000 emails a month; published monthly tiers by volume for Basic, Business and Enterprise.
The remaining 2 sell by quote.
Is there a free transactional email services tool?
SMTP2GO, Resend, Elastic Email, Postmark, MailerSend, Brevo, Mailjet, Mailgun, Bird (SparkPost), Mailtrap can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these transactional email services vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, North America 9, Europe 3, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1:
SMTP2GO: New Zealand.
Resend: United States.
Elastic Email: Canada.
Postmark: United States.
MailerSend: United States.
Brevo: France.
Mailjet: France.
Amazon SES: United States.
Mailgun: United States.
SendGrid: United States.
Bird (SparkPost): Netherlands.
Mailchimp Transactional: United States.
Mailtrap: United States.
Postal: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of SMTP2GO?
Resend and Elastic Email are the next two on this page. Resend is for Product teams that want a short price list and few domains to manage; Elastic Email is for teams that want a free start and plan upgrades handled automatically.
Who should not buy SMTP2GO?
Buyers who need invoices in euros rather than US dollars. A dedicated IP address is listed only from the Professional tier.
Missing from this transactional email services ranking? Contact us with a short description of the product and its users. Adding it is an editorial choice, and software advice explains what a listing does and does not involve.