Cloud platforms rent servers, storage and networks by the hour or second, and the invoice depends less on the instance price than on outbound traffic, public addresses, support and commitments.
This guide ranks twelve platforms on first-90-days effort, the bill after those extras, how data leaves, independence and fit.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What cloud computing platforms do
A cloud computing platform rents virtual servers, storage, networking and managed services over the internet, billed by usage, so a business runs workloads without buying or maintaining its own hardware.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each cloud computing platform is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Pay-as-you-go with a free plan for new accounts; 100 GB outbound a month not charged
Yes
Teams that need the broadest service catalogue and accept calculator-led estimates
Teams that want a flat monthly price without modelling usage
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
German single-company cloud with hourly billing capped at a monthly price
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Cloud Computing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Hetzner's prices make the American providers look like a different market, on hardware that does not cut corners, with cloud servers in Germany, Finland, the US and Singapore. For a technical team the value is difficult to argue with.
It is mostly self-service: support answers precise questions competently, and the managed layer is narrow, a range of managed servers and web hosting packages in Nuremberg with updates and backups handled. Anything outside that is yours to run when something breaks at an awkward hour.
What stands out
Monthly price cap
Germany
Four locations
Where it costs you
Self-service: support expects you to know what you are asking
Managed option limited to managed servers and web hosting in Nuremberg
Right for
A technical team that wants the most compute per euro
Wrong for
A non-technical owner who needs hand-holding
GermanyHourly billing capped at a monthly price per server; outgoing traffic above the plan allowance is metered
Paris-registered cloud with instances, GPUs and storage in four countries
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Cloud Computing Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Scaleway answers the ninety-day question through its startup programmes, which carry credits of up to 36,000 euros, rather than a plain trial.
The real price depends on items beyond the instance: a public IPv4 is billed per hour, a public gateway has its own tiered hourly price, and Edge Services show no egress fee on three plans. Independence is partial, since the company belongs to the iliad Group.
What stands out
France
iliad Group
GPU instances
Where it costs you
Each public IPv4 address carries an hourly charge on top of the instance
Cloud regions sit in four countries only, and Sweden and Germany are described as upcoming
Right for
Teams wanting GPU instances and object storage from a Paris-registered operator
Wrong for
Buyers who need regions outside four European countries
FranceMetered cloud billing with network prices published; startup credit programmes
Swiss cloud billed per second with a clear support price ladder
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Cloud Computing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Exoscale charges compute per second and says nothing is owed up front. Each instance carries about 1 TiB a month of outbound traffic, and inbound and internal traffic cost nothing.
Support is the clearest part: Built-In is included, Starter is 50 a month, Pro 500, and Enterprise 5 percent of usage with a 1,500 minimum. Zones sit in Austria, Switzerland, Germany, Bulgaria and Croatia, in Equinix and A1 facilities.
What stands out
Switzerland
Per-second billing
A1 Digital
Where it costs you
Volume discounts need a twelve-month commitment, and private direct ports need a yearly one
Support above the built-in level costs 50 or 500 a month, and Enterprise costs 5 percent of usage
Right for
Buyers wanting Swiss-run compute with per-second billing and a stated support ladder
Wrong for
Teams needing a free trial credit or a pricing sheet to audit
SwitzerlandPer-second compute billing, no long-term commitment; support plans priced per month
Compute, Kubernetes and object storage with phone support included in the price
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Cloud Computing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
IONOS Cloud meters Compute Engine per hour and Cubes per minute. The first 2 TB of outgoing traffic is included, then tiers fall from 0.036 to 0.018 dollars a GB.
Support is listed as free of charge, with a dedicated account manager and 24/7 phone and e-mail support in German and English, which is rare at this price. Data centres are in the US, UK, France, Germany and Spain. A one- or three-year plan lowers the rates.
What stands out
Germany
Savings plans
Phone support
Where it costs you
Savings Plans need a one-year or three-year commitment to reach the lower hourly rates
Each additional static IPv4 address is charged every 30 days
Right for
Teams that want phone support and an account manager included in a cloud price
Wrong for
Teams that need a clearly documented trial offer
GermanyHourly per-resource billing, Cubes billed by the minute; 1-year and 3-year savings plans
French cloud where outbound traffic is included in most instance prices
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Cloud Computing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
OVHcloud runs its own European data centres end to end, which matters when data residency is a contractual requirement rather than a preference, and the price per resource is competitive with Hetzner.
The control panel and support are the recurring weak points. The 2021 Strasbourg data centre fire is a fair thing to raise with them, specifically about backup isolation and recovery procedure.
What stands out
France
Savings Plans
Bundled traffic
Where it costs you
The control panel and support are the weak points
The 2021 Strasbourg fire is a fair thing to ask about
Right for
A company with a contractual EU data-residency requirement
Wrong for
A team that values support quality above all
FranceHourly billing with outbound traffic bundled into instances; Savings Plans for committed use
Developer cloud with per-second Droplets and capped monthly pricing
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Cloud Computing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
DigitalOcean's pricing is the clearest in cloud infrastructure: servers are billed per second up to a flat monthly price, so you can predict a bill before you deploy, and the documentation taught a generation of developers how to run servers.
Managed databases and Kubernetes are solid. It is unmanaged by default: you are the system administrator, and the managed add-ons cost enough that the price advantage narrows once you use them.
What stands out
Per-second billing
App Platform
Droplets
Where it costs you
Unmanaged: you are the sysadmin
Managed add-ons cost more than they look
Right for
A developer who wants predictable infrastructure pricing
Wrong for
A business with no technical staff
United StatesPer-second billing with a 60-second minimum; outbound transfer pooled per Droplet; credit on sign-up
Akamai-run cloud with hourly billing and a per-gigabyte transfer overage
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Cloud Computing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Akamai Cloud keeps the Linode pricing shape: each plan has an hourly and a monthly rate, and the bill never exceeds the monthly rate, except for network transfer. Overage is 0.005 dollars per GB.
The Nanode 1 GB plan costs five dollars a month with 1 TB of transfer. Since July 2026, G8 dedicated Linodes, GPU Linodes and extra IPv4 addresses bill exact hours with no cap, and a 100-dollar new-customer credit is advertised.
What stands out
Monthly cap
Transfer pooling
Dedicated plans
Where it costs you
Transfer overage falls outside the monthly cap, so a spike can exceed the stated monthly rate
G8 dedicated and GPU plans bundle no transfer and have no cap
Right for
Developers wanting a simple capped monthly rate with a per-GB overage
Wrong for
Buyers who need the country of the vendor stated on the pricing page
Not stated by the vendorHourly billing capped at a monthly rate; transfer overage per GB; sign-up credit offered
Hourly metered cloud with an account-wide monthly outbound allowance
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Cloud Computing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Vultr sells the same kind of product as DigitalOcean and Hetzner: a virtual or bare metal server, billed by the hour up to a monthly cap, with the price on the page. Its argument is reach, with 33 locations across every inhabited continent, and general bare metal next to the cloud servers.
What it does not sell is responsibility. Updates, firewalls and backups are yours, the managed databases and Kubernetes are younger than the competition's, and support stops at the hypervisor. A stopped server keeps accruing charges until it is destroyed.
What stands out
Hourly metering
Bandwidth pool
Bare metal
Where it costs you
Unmanaged: you patch and secure the server
Documentation and managed services thinner than DigitalOcean's
Right for
Technical teams wanting cheap servers in many regions with hourly billing
Wrong for
Owners who need someone else to run the server
United StatesHourly metered compute; each account gets a monthly outbound transfer allowance plus per-instance accrual
Cloud with a permanent Always Free tier and 10 TB outbound included
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Cloud Computing Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Oracle gives a 300-dollar credit for up to 30 days plus Always Free services with no time limit, including Arm-based and AMD-based compute and HeatWave. Networking is its sharpest term: the first 10 TB of outbound traffic a month is not charged in North America, Europe and the UK, and inbound transfer is free.
The pricing page also states that FastConnect private circuits have no separate transfer charge. It sits last because the scale does not change the five tests.
What stands out
Always Free tier
10 TB outbound
Austin, Texas
Where it costs you
Pricing is quoted per OCPU, which is two vCPUs on x86, so comparisons need a conversion
Accounts left idle for 30 days may be suspended or terminated
Right for
Buyers who want a large permanent allowance and a full public price list
Wrong for
Teams comparing prices against vCPU-based quotes without converting
United StatesAlways Free tier plus Pay As You Go; trial credit for 30 days; published price list
Cloud with a documented exit programme for free data transfer on leaving
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Cloud Computing Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Google Cloud gives new customers 300 dollars of credit and a permanent free usage limit on selected products: one e2-micro instance a month, 5 GB of Standard storage, 1 TB of BigQuery queries and 2 million Cloud Run requests.
The exit programme is the part worth reading: submit an exit notice, receive a billing agent within 14 days, and transfer is waived once everything leaves. Scale does not change setup hours or price tests.
What stands out
Exit programme
Free usage tier
Network tiers
Where it costs you
Free exit transfer needs a submitted exit notice and a migration of all workloads
Premium Tier and Standard Tier carry different network prices
Right for
Teams that want a documented exit route before committing to a hyperscaler
Wrong for
Teams wanting a single flat price for network traffic
United StatesPay-as-you-go with a free usage tier and trial credit; two network service tiers
Cloud with the widest published region list and tiered egress prices
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Cloud Computing Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Azure gives 200 dollars for 30 days, 12 months of free monthly amounts for more than 20 services and always-free amounts for over 65 more.
Egress is charged by source continent: from North America or Europe, the first 100 GB a month is not charged, then 0.087 dollars a GB on the premium network or 0.08 on a routing preference route. It lists 77 regions in 36 geographies, and its size does not alter the exit test.
What stands out
77 regions
Free account
Tiered egress
Where it costs you
After the 30-day credit, services are disabled unless the account moves to pay-as-you-go
Credit cannot be applied to Marketplace purchases or Spot virtual machines
Right for
Buyers whose staff already work in Microsoft agreements and need many regions
Wrong for
Buyers who want one egress price independent of routing choice
United StatesPay-as-you-go with a free account credit; first 100 GB of egress each month not charged
Largest catalogue with a six-month free plan and free exit transfer
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Cloud Computing Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
AWS lets a new account start on a Free plan with 100 dollars of credit and up to 100 more for exploring services, closing automatically after six months. Over 30 services stay free within monthly limits.
Outbound data transfer has a 100 GB monthly allowance across all services and regions. Customers leaving AWS can apply for free transfer out, an offer stated to follow the European Data Act. Size does not alter the first-90-days cost.
What stands out
Free plan
39 regions
Exit waiver
Where it costs you
The Free plan account closes after six months or when credits run out
The Free plan is limited to selected services; the Paid plan is needed for the rest
Right for
Teams that need the broadest service catalogue and accept calculator-led estimates
Wrong for
Teams that want a flat monthly price without modelling usage
United StatesPay-as-you-go with a free plan for new accounts; 100 GB outbound a month not charged
A cloud computing platform rents virtual servers, storage, networking and managed services over the internet, billed by usage, so a business runs workloads without buying or maintaining its own hardware. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
5 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 7 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Scaleway, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure, Amazon Web Services.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 5 countries across 3 regions (North America 6, Europe 5, Elsewhere 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Outbound traffic decides the real cloud price
The instance price is the part every vendor advertises, and outbound traffic is the part that moves the invoice. Hetzner bills outgoing traffic above a plan allowance in 100 MB blocks and charges nothing for incoming or internal traffic. Exoscale includes roughly 1 TiB a month per instance.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure does not charge the first 10 TB a month from North America, Europe and the UK. Amazon Web Services and Microsoft Azure start charging after 100 GB a month, with Azure pricing by source continent and routing choice. Akamai Cloud and DigitalOcean quote a per-gigabyte overage once the allowance is gone.
Estimate monthly outbound traffic from logs, not from an architecture diagram.
Ask whether the allowance is per instance, per account, or pooled across instances.
Price the overage at three times your forecast to see the bad month.
Billing granularity and what keeps billing when off
Metering looks like a detail until a test environment sits idle. Exoscale bills compute per second, DigitalOcean per second with a 60-second minimum, and IONOS Cloud bills Cubes by the minute and Compute Engine by the hour.
Hetzner rounds partial hours up and continues to bill servers that are powered off, and a primary IP keeps billing until it is deleted. Akamai Cloud caps most plans at the monthly rate, but its G8 dedicated and GPU plans bill exact hours without a cap. Vultr accrues bandwidth in hourly slices per running instance.
Confirm whether a powered-off server still bills storage and addresses.
Check which plan families fall outside the monthly cap.
Delete test resources by script, not by memory.
Trial credits are time-boxed; always-free tiers have conditions
Credits show up in the first week and disappear in the third month. Oracle Cloud Infrastructure gives 300 dollars for up to 30 days and Always Free services after that, but may suspend accounts idle for 30 days. Azure gives 200 dollars for 30 days and disables services unless the account moves to pay-as-you-go.
AWS closes a Free plan account after six months. Google Cloud gives 300 dollars of credit and a permanent usage limit, and OVHcloud advertises 200 dollars. Credits for Exoscale and Hetzner are not stated on the pages we read.
Write down the credit expiry date and what happens to running resources.
Check which services the credit cannot buy, such as Marketplace or Spot.
Treat an always-free tier as a lab, not a production budget.
Leaving: egress waivers and support you can pay for
The exit test has two sides: moving data out, and who answers when something breaks. Amazon Web Services and Google Cloud both run programmes that waive transfer when a customer moves everything away, with Google requiring an exit notice and a 14-day response. Neither applies to a partial move.
On support, Exoscale prints its ladder (Built-In included, Starter 50, Pro 500, Enterprise 5 percent of usage with a 1,500 minimum), and IONOS Cloud lists support as free of charge with 24/7 phone help. Most other vendors link a support page rather than a price.
Read the exit conditions before signing, not at termination.
Ask what support costs at 5 percent of usage as spend grows.
Test an export of one real dataset in the first month.
What goes wrong most often when buying cloud computing platforms
Comparing a monthly instance price while ignoring outbound traffic, public IPv4 addresses and backups.
Trusting a free trial to cover a proof of concept that runs past the credit expiry date.
Choosing a platform for its catalogue when the workload uses three of its services.
Leaving test servers powered off and assuming that stops the bill.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What are the best cloud computing platforms in 2026?
Hetzner leads our ranking of 12. A single German operator whose invoice is easy to audit: the hourly rate stops at a monthly cap, incoming and internal traffic cost nothing, and outgoing traffic above the plan allowance is metered in 100 MB blocks.
It takes first place because nothing here needs a reseller or a contract. Servers keep billing while powered off, partial hours round up, and cloud servers exist in only four locations.
Which cloud computing platforms publish their pricing?
5 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure: Always Free tier plus Pay As You Go; trial credit for 30 days; published price list.
Google Cloud: Pay-as-you-go with a free usage tier and trial credit; two network service tiers.
Microsoft Azure: Pay-as-you-go with a free account credit; first 100 GB of egress each month not charged.
Amazon Web Services: Pay-as-you-go with a free plan for new accounts; 100 GB outbound a month not charged.
The other 7 quote per organisation.
Is there a free cloud computing platform?
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, Amazon Web Services offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these cloud computing platform vendors established?
In 5 countries across 3 regions: North America 6, Europe 5, Elsewhere 1.
Hetzner: Germany.
Scaleway: France.
Exoscale: Switzerland.
IONOS Cloud: Germany.
OVHcloud: France.
DigitalOcean: United States.
Akamai Cloud (Linode): Not stated by the vendor.
Vultr: United States.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure: United States.
Google Cloud: United States.
Microsoft Azure: United States.
Amazon Web Services: United States.
What should you use instead of Hetzner?
Scaleway and Exoscale are the next two on this page. Scaleway is for teams wanting GPU instances and object storage from a Paris-registered operator; Exoscale is for Buyers wanting Swiss-run compute with per-second billing and a stated support ladder.
Who should not buy Hetzner?
A non-technical owner who needs hand-holding. Self-service: support expects you to know what you are asking.
If your cloud computing platforms product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.