Best VPN Services in 2026

VPN services are sold on introductory prices, device caps and refund windows, and the headline figure often covers only the first term.

This guide ranks twelve consumer VPNs on how little setup and identity they demand, what a normal buyer pays after renewal, how cleanly you can leave, and whether the vendor stands alone.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. How that works.

In short

What VPN services software does

A VPN service encrypts a device's internet traffic and routes it through the provider's servers, hiding the user's address from the sites visited and from local networks.

01

The top three

12 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether you can leave, and who each VPN services tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests: Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.

12tools reviewed
10publish a price
4have a free tier
10countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

12 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1Mullvad VPNSwedenOne flat monthly rate whatever the term, published; cash and crypto accepted—People who want a VPN account that needs no email, name or passwordHouseholds with more than five devices, or anyone needing port forwarding
#2IVPNGibraltarThree tiers (Standard, Plus, Pro Suite); 30-day money-back guarantee—Privacy-minded users who want audited apps and no email at signupBuyers who need many server locations or a free tier to test
#3Proton VPNSwitzerlandFree plan on one device; Plus and Unlimited bundle published; 30-day refundYesBuyers who already use Proton Mail or Pass and want one account for allPeople who need a flat rate that never changes after the first term
#4WindscribeCanadaFree plan with 10 GB monthly; Pro billed monthly or yearly, or built by location; publishedYesLight users who want to try a VPN monthly without paying firstBuyers who want a long refund window to test paid features
#5SurfsharkNetherlandsStarter, One and One+ bundle tiers published; long-term discounts; 30-day refund—Households that want unlimited devices on one account with add-on toolsBuyers who want the plain VPN alone or a company independent of Nord
#6NordVPNPanamaTiered plans on 1-month, 1-year and 2-year terms; 7-day trial in listed countries—Buyers who want a large vendor with audited no-logs claims and a trialPeople who need the same price at every renewal or a small vendor
#7ExpressVPNBritish Virgin IslandsBasic, Advanced and Express Pro tiers published; 30-day refund for new users—Buyers who want a mainstream VPN with audited privacy claims and 113 countriesAnyone who wants an owner outside the Kape group or a stable price
#8CyberGhostRomaniaSingle plan by term, published; 45-day refund on long terms, 14 days monthly—Buyers who want a single simple plan and the longest refund windowHouseholds with many devices or buyers avoiding the Kape group
#9Private Internet AccessUnited StatesMonthly, 1-year and 3-year terms published; 30-day refund for new subscribers—Buyers who want unlimited devices and a long term at a low rateBuyers who avoid US-based vendors or the Kape group
#10IPVanishUnited StatesEssential, Complete and Advanced tiers published; 30-day refund—Buyers who want unlimited devices and double-hop on a US vendorPeople avoiding US jurisdiction or vendors inside a media group
#11TunnelBearCanadaFree tier at 2 GB; Unlimited and Teams plans publishedYesIndividuals and small teams who want a simple app and per-user team billingHeavy users on the free tier or buyers wanting a monthly refund
#12Hotspot ShieldNot stated by the vendorFree tier with a daily cap; Premium and Premium Family tiers published; 45-day refundYesShort-term users who want to test a VPN on a daily allowanceBuyers who need a documented owner, jurisdiction or independent audit

Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.

04

The 12 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Mullvad VPN · 2. IVPN · 3. Proton VPN · 4. Windscribe · 5. Surfshark · 6. NordVPN · 7. ExpressVPN · 8. CyberGhost · 9. Private Internet Access · 10. IPVanish · 11. TunnelBear · 12. Hotspot Shield

#1 Mullvad VPN

Swedish founder-owned VPN with numbered accounts and one flat rate

Ranked #1 of 12 in Best VPN Services in 2026.

Open sourcePublished pricingEurope

The no-logging policy says an account holds only its number and the time left, and that payment data is handled apart from it.

The server list shows 566 servers in 50 countries, marks each as owned or rented and names the hosting companies, so you can see whose racks carry your traffic. The app code is on GitHub under GPL-3.0.

What stands out
  • Numbered accounts
  • Cash payment
  • Open source apps
Where it costs you
  • An account covers five devices at most, so a household or small office needs several accounts.
  • Port forwarding is not supported, which rules out inbound-connection uses such as some torrent setups.
Right for

People who want a VPN account that needs no email, name or password

Wrong for

Households with more than five devices, or anyone needing port forwarding

SwedenOne flat monthly rate whatever the term, published; cash and crypto accepted

#2 IVPN

Gibraltar-registered VPN with anonymous signup and annual security audits

Ranked #2 of 12 in Best VPN Services in 2026.

Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere

The privacy policy shows the sign-up record: an ID, a creation time, the product and the device limit. Card payments go through Braintree and PayPal keeps its own data, while cash and Bitcoin avoid third parties; IVPN runs its own BTCPay server.

The home page reports eight security audits since 2019 and says the apps and website are published on GitHub, where the desktop app is GPL-3.0.

What stands out
  • Anonymous signup
  • Annual audits
  • Open source apps
Where it costs you
  • Gateways cover 41 countries, fewer locations than Windscribe or Mullvad, which matters if you need a specific region.
  • Extras such as mail aliases and the application firewall need a higher tier than the plain VPN plan.
Right for

Privacy-minded users who want audited apps and no email at signup

Wrong for

Buyers who need many server locations or a free tier to test

GibraltarThree tiers (Standard, Plus, Pro Suite); 30-day money-back guarantee

#3 Proton VPN

Swiss VPN with a free plan on one device and a Proton bundle

Ranked #3 of 12 in Best VPN Services in 2026.

Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingEurope

The pricing page sets Free beside VPN Plus and Proton Unlimited: free is one device and 10 countries, Plus is 10 devices, 140+ countries and 20,000+ servers, and Unlimited adds the other Proton apps.

The no-logs support page states that session lengths, IP addresses and visited sites are not stored. The Android app is on GitHub under GPL-3.0, and a no-logs audit report exists.

What stands out
  • Free plan
  • Open source apps
  • Proton bundle
Where it costs you
  • The free plan allows one device at medium speed and picks the country for you, so it is a trial rather than daily use.
  • Advertised monthly prices assume a 1- or 2-year term and renew at a higher yearly figure.
Right for

Buyers who already use Proton Mail or Pass and want one account for all

Wrong for

People who need a flat rate that never changes after the first term

SwitzerlandFree plan on one device; Plus and Unlimited bundle published; 30-day refund

#4 Windscribe

Ontario VPN with a 10 GB monthly allowance and build-your-own plan

Ranked #4 of 12 in Best VPN Services in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

The upgrade page lists Pro with unlimited data, 69 countries and 112 cities, a config generator for OpenVPN, IKEv2 and WireGuard, and an ad and tracker blocker called R.O.B.E.R.T.

Payment can be card, PayPal, crypto, local payments or cash. The desktop app code is on GitHub under GPL-2.0. The home page says no email or payment is needed to start the free version.

What stands out
  • Free plan
  • Build-a-plan
  • Unlimited devices
Where it costs you
  • The refund window is 7 business days and ends once usage passes 10 GB, far shorter than the 30 to 45 days elsewhere.
  • Build-a-plan stops at seven locations; beyond that the Pro plan is cheaper, so it suits narrow needs only.
Right for

Light users who want to try a VPN monthly without paying first

Wrong for

Buyers who want a long refund window to test paid features

CanadaFree plan with 10 GB monthly; Pro billed monthly or yearly, or built by location; published

#5 Surfshark

Amsterdam VPN with unlimited devices, merged with Nord Security

Ranked #5 of 12 in Best VPN Services in 2026.

Published pricingEurope

The pricing page offers Starter, One and One+ with a 30-day money-back guarantee, and the VPN features list unlimited devices. The company history says its no-logs policy was verified by Deloitte, most recently in 2025.

The same page says it merged with Nord Security and, from the legal footer, trades as Surfshark B.V. at an Amsterdam address registered under a Dutch chamber number.

What stands out
  • Unlimited devices
  • Bundled extras
  • Deloitte-checked no-logs
Where it costs you
  • No VPN-only plan appears on the pricing page, so you pay for extras whether or not you use them.
  • The cheap monthly figure is a first-term price over 27 months; what the next term costs is a separate purchase decision.
Right for

Households that want unlimited devices on one account with add-on tools

Wrong for

Buyers who want the plain VPN alone or a company independent of Nord

NetherlandsStarter, One and One+ bundle tiers published; long-term discounts; 30-day refund

#6 NordVPN

Panama-based VPN with plan tiers and a 7-day trial in 15 countries

Ranked #6 of 12 in Best VPN Services in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

Support pages say plans run 1 month, 1 year or 2 years, with the longer terms paid in full upfront. The stored data list covers an email address, a username, and a transaction ID kept for refunds.

Fifth no-logs engagement was run by Deloitte Audit Lithuania in late 2024. NordLynx is built on WireGuard, while NordWhisper is the vendor's own protocol.

What stands out
  • Tiered plans
  • 7-day trial
  • Audited no-logs
Where it costs you
  • Ten devices per account, but only five on a single server at the same time, separated by protocol.
  • The 7-day trial exists in 15 countries only and excludes crypto and some other payment methods.
Right for

Buyers who want a large vendor with audited no-logs claims and a trial

Wrong for

People who need the same price at every renewal or a small vendor

PanamaTiered plans on 1-month, 1-year and 2-year terms; 7-day trial in listed countries

#7 ExpressVPN

BVI-registered VPN in three tiers, part of Kape since 2021

Ranked #7 of 12 in Best VPN Services in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

The order page shows Basic, Advanced and Express Pro, each with a 30-day guarantee for new users, 113 countries, and a mail relay in every tier and a password manager from Advanced up.

The about page says server data is wiped at every restart on RAM-only machines, and the privacy policy mentions a KPMG audit of its privacy policy and server technology. Its Lightway protocol is published on GitHub.

What stands out
  • Three tiers
  • RAM-only servers
  • Kape group
Where it costs you
  • The dedicated IP costs extra in the two lower tiers and is included only in Express Pro.
  • The first-term price lasts 28 months, after which the plan renews annually at a higher amount.
Right for

Buyers who want a mainstream VPN with audited privacy claims and 113 countries

Wrong for

Anyone who wants an owner outside the Kape group or a stable price

British Virgin IslandsBasic, Advanced and Express Pro tiers published; 30-day refund for new users

#8 CyberGhost

Bucharest VPN with one plan, seven devices and a 45-day refund window

Ranked #8 of 12 in Best VPN Services in 2026.

Published pricingEurope

The pricing page shows one plan sold as 1-month, 6-month and multi-year terms, with 9600+ servers and seven devices on every term. The long term bills the full amount first and then renews annually.

The privacy policy gives the Romanian company number and registered office, and states group sharing with Kape Technologies PLC and its subsidiaries inside the EU or equivalent jurisdictions.

What stands out
  • Seven devices
  • Long refund window
  • Kape group
Where it costs you
  • Seven simultaneous devices, fewer than the unlimited allowances of Surfshark, PIA and IPVanish.
  • The cheap per-month price needs a 2-year commitment; the monthly plan costs several times more with a shorter refund window.
Right for

Buyers who want a single simple plan and the longest refund window

Wrong for

Households with many devices or buyers avoiding the Kape group

RomaniaSingle plan by term, published; 45-day refund on long terms, 14 days monthly

#9 Private Internet Access

Denver VPN with unlimited devices and RAM-only servers

Ranked #9 of 12 in Best VPN Services in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

The buy page lists 1-month, 1-year and 3-year plans, with antivirus and dedicated IP as add-ons chosen at checkout and servers in 112 countries. The about page gives the Denver office and says the company is US-based.

The page also describes the VPN as open source, though the repository licence is not stated on GitHub, so we do not rely on that claim. RAM-only servers erase usage on reboot.

What stands out
  • Unlimited devices
  • RAM-only servers
  • Add-on dedicated IP
Where it costs you
  • The best price needs a 3-year commitment, billed in one amount and renewing at the same interval.
  • US jurisdiction and Kape group ties apply, which some privacy-focused buyers exclude.
Right for

Buyers who want unlimited devices and a long term at a low rate

Wrong for

Buyers who avoid US-based vendors or the Kape group

United StatesMonthly, 1-year and 3-year terms published; 30-day refund for new subscribers

#10 IPVanish

New York VPN with unlimited devices and tiered security bundles

Ranked #10 of 12 in Best VPN Services in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

The pricing page shows three tiers by term, 150 locations, double hop, split tunnelling, obfuscation, a SOCKS5 proxy and RAM server access. Essential includes 3 GB of eSIM data, Advanced 5 GB.

The privacy policy names a New York legal address and appoints a Dublin representative under the GDPR, and refers to the Ziff Davis group when explaining international transfers.

What stands out
  • Unlimited devices
  • Tiered bundles
  • Double hop
Where it costs you
  • Phone support and antivirus need the Complete tier, and cloud storage needs Advanced.
  • Introductory 1- and 2-year prices cover only the first term, after which list prices apply.
Right for

Buyers who want unlimited devices and double-hop on a US vendor

Wrong for

People avoiding US jurisdiction or vendors inside a media group

United StatesEssential, Complete and Advanced tiers published; 30-day refund

#11 TunnelBear

Toronto VPN with a 2 GB free tier and a per-user team plan

Ranked #11 of 12 in Best VPN Services in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

The pricing page lists Free, Unlimited and Teams, with unlimited devices on both paid plans, split tunnelling, city-level server selection and priority support in the paid ones.

Teams is billed per user per month. The terms grant a full refund on the first year of an annual subscription bought from tunnelbear.com. Group ownership is not stated on the pages we could read.

What stands out
  • Free tier
  • Unlimited devices
  • Teams plan
Where it costs you
  • The free tier is capped at 2 GB, so it works as a trial rather than a daily tool.
  • The money-back guarantee applies to annual plans bought directly, not monthly or app-store purchases.
Right for

Individuals and small teams who want a simple app and per-user team billing

Wrong for

Heavy users on the free tier or buyers wanting a monthly refund

CanadaFree tier at 2 GB; Unlimited and Teams plans published

#12 Hotspot Shield

VPN with a daily-capped free tier and a 45-day refund window

Ranked #12 of 12 in Best VPN Services in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

The plan page compares Basic, Premium and Premium Family: 1, 10 and 25 devices, with streaming limited on Basic and optimised on paid tiers. It promises a 45-day guarantee on all plans bought directly.

The home page cites servers in 80+ countries and the proprietary Hydra protocol, and a security audit page offers an independent audit download without naming the auditor on the page.

What stands out
  • Free tier
  • Daily cap
  • Hydra protocol
Where it costs you
  • The free tier caps data at 500 MB a day and speed at 2 Mbps, with one US location only.
  • Company country and ownership could not be read, and the plan page copy differs between sections.
Right for

Short-term users who want to test a VPN on a daily allowance

Wrong for

Buyers who need a documented owner, jurisdiction or independent audit

Not stated by the vendorFree tier with a daily cap; Premium and Premium Family tiers published; 45-day refund
06

How to choose VPN services software

A VPN service encrypts a device's internet traffic and routes it through the provider's servers, hiding the user's address from the sites visited and from local networks. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.

  1. 01

    Decide whether you need a published price

    10 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 2 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Mullvad VPN, Proton VPN, Windscribe, Surfshark, ExpressVPN, CyberGhost, Private Internet Access, IPVanish, TunnelBear, Hotspot Shield.

  2. 02

    Decide how much the jurisdiction matters

    These 12 vendors are established in 10 countries across 3 regions (North America 4, Europe 4, Elsewhere 4). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.

  3. 03

    Consider whether you want the source

    3 of these are open source: Mullvad VPN, IVPN, Proton VPN. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.

How to read a VPN's no-logs claim

Every vendor here says it keeps no activity logs, so the claim alone separates nobody. What differs is what can be checked. Mullvad's policy lists exactly what an account holds. NordVPN names a fifth Deloitte engagement, Surfshark points to Deloitte assurance too, and ExpressVPN mentions a KPMG audit of its policy and server technology. A report is a point-in-time statement, and some reports are readable only inside an account.

Jurisdiction matters less than the data that exists to hand over, which is why account type matters. A numbered account with cash payment leaves almost nothing to disclose, while an account tied to an email address, a card and a transaction ID leaves a trail even when no browsing is recorded. Weigh the stored account data as heavily as the logging promise.

  • Ask which firm audited, what was in scope and when, and whether the report is public or only shown to logged-in users.
  • Read the policy's list of stored data: email, username, payment IDs and transaction IDs are all kept by some vendors.
  • Prefer vendors that publish app code, as Mullvad, IVPN, Proton VPN and Windscribe do on GitHub.

What a VPN really costs after the first term

The advertised monthly figure is almost always an introductory price spread over a long first term. ExpressVPN shows 28 months at one price, then renews annually at a higher amount. CyberGhost bills the long term up front and renews annually. Private Internet Access bills three years at once. Proton VPN renews its yearly plan above its two-year intro rate.

Mullvad is the counter-example: one flat monthly rate whatever the term. Compare the renewal price, not the headline, and find out whether auto-renewal can be switched off. Bundles deserve the same scrutiny: Surfshark's list shows no VPN-only plan, and ExpressVPN's tiers add mail relay and password tools. If you only want the tunnel, the cheaper tier is not always the one that matches your need, so price the exact feature list.

  • Find the renewal price on the checkout page and compare it with the introductory monthly figure.
  • Check whether the plan is VPN only or bundled with extras you will pay for anyway, as on Surfshark.
  • Check the term length: three-year plans lock the money for years while refunds last 30 days or fewer.

Device caps and how simultaneous connections are counted

Device limits are the least comparable number on any VPN page. Mullvad allows five devices per account, CyberGhost seven, ExpressVPN 10 to 14 by tier, Proton VPN Plus 10, while Surfshark, IPVanish and Windscribe advertise unlimited. NordVPN allows 10 but only five on one server at once, split by protocol. A router counts as one connection on NordVPN and covers every device behind it.

Unlimited can also carry a rule, since Windscribe prohibits account sharing. Check the count against your real use: phones, laptops, a TV and a home router add up faster than most buyers expect, and a family sharing one account can pass a five-device cap quickly. A lower cap with a clear rule is better than an unlimited claim you cannot test.

  • Count every phone, laptop, TV and router you would connect and compare it with the cap on the plan you would buy.
  • Ask how a router, a browser extension and a second user on one machine count against the limit.
  • Read the terms for sharing rules attached to any unlimited allowance.

Anonymous signup, payment methods and refunds

Some vendors let you start without an identity. Mullvad issues a numbered account and takes cash in an envelope, and IVPN signs up without an email address. Windscribe's free version needs neither email nor payment. NordVPN keeps an email address and a username, and its free trial excludes crypto.

Refund windows run from 7 business days on Windscribe, through 14 days on Mullvad and 30 days on most, to 45 days on CyberGhost and Hotspot Shield, and each has conditions such as new subscribers only or usage under a data limit.

  • Check which payment methods preserve anonymity and which attach a card or PayPal identity.
  • Read the refund conditions: first purchase only, annual plans only, usage caps and app-store exceptions.
  • Test the free or trial option before paying, noting its caps, such as Windscribe's 10 GB or TunnelBear's 2 GB.

What goes wrong most often when buying VPN services software

  • Buying the cheapest multi-year term without checking the renewal price, which can differ sharply from the introductory monthly figure.
  • Treating a free tier as a daily tool when its data or speed cap, such as 500 MB a day on Hotspot Shield, makes it a trial.
  • Assuming unlimited devices means unrestricted sharing, when the terms of some vendors, Windscribe among them, prohibit account sharing.
  • Taking a no-logs statement at face value without asking who audited it, what the scope was and whether the report is public.
07

Frequently asked questions

7 answers
What is the best VPN services in 2026?

Mullvad VPN leads our ranking of 12. Owned by its two founders and run from Sweden, Mullvad asks for no name or email: an account is a generated number that can be paid in cash through the post.

One monthly rate applies to any term. The limits are plain: five devices per account, no port forwarding, no sales, and a 14-day money-back guarantee that excludes cash payments.

Which VPN services tools publish their pricing?

10 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:

  • Mullvad VPN: One flat monthly rate whatever the term, published; cash and crypto accepted.
  • Proton VPN: Free plan on one device; Plus and Unlimited bundle published; 30-day refund.
  • Windscribe: Free plan with 10 GB monthly; Pro billed monthly or yearly, or built by location; published.
  • Surfshark: Starter, One and One+ bundle tiers published; long-term discounts; 30-day refund.
  • ExpressVPN: Basic, Advanced and Express Pro tiers published; 30-day refund for new users.
  • CyberGhost: Single plan by term, published; 45-day refund on long terms, 14 days monthly.
  • Private Internet Access: Monthly, 1-year and 3-year terms published; 30-day refund for new subscribers.
  • IPVanish: Essential, Complete and Advanced tiers published; 30-day refund.
  • TunnelBear: Free tier at 2 GB; Unlimited and Teams plans published.
  • Hotspot Shield: Free tier with a daily cap; Premium and Premium Family tiers published; 45-day refund.

The other 2 quote per organisation.

Is there a free VPN services tool?

Proton VPN, Windscribe, TunnelBear, Hotspot Shield offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.

Where are these VPN services vendors established?

In 10 countries across 3 regions: North America 4, Europe 4, Elsewhere 4.

  • Mullvad VPN: Sweden.
  • IVPN: Gibraltar.
  • Proton VPN: Switzerland.
  • Windscribe: Canada.
  • Surfshark: Netherlands.
  • NordVPN: Panama.
  • ExpressVPN: British Virgin Islands.
  • CyberGhost: Romania.
  • Private Internet Access: United States.
  • IPVanish: United States.
  • TunnelBear: Canada.
  • Hotspot Shield: Not stated by the vendor.
Which VPN services tools are open source?

Mullvad VPN, IVPN, Proton VPN.

What should you use instead of Mullvad VPN?

IVPN and Proton VPN are the next two on this page. IVPN is for Privacy-minded users who want audited apps and no email at signup; Proton VPN is for Buyers who already use Proton Mail or Pass and want one account for all.

Who should not buy Mullvad VPN?

Households with more than five devices, or anyone needing port forwarding. An account covers five devices at most, so a household or small office needs several accounts..

—

Tools reviewed

12 products
—

Head to head

All comparisons
—

Alternatives pages in the same area

All alternatives
—

More Data & IT software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

If your VPN services product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.

Suggest a product →