SSL certificates are bought as single orders, yearly subscriptions, free automated issuance or through a registrar, and certificate lifetimes are shrinking toward a few months.
This guide ranks twelve SSL certificate providers on setup effort, the price once wildcard and organisation validation are added, how easily you can leave, and whether you can run without a reseller.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What SSL certificate providers software does
An SSL certificate provider is a certificate authority or reseller issuing the TLS certificates that let websites encrypt connections, after checking control of a domain and sometimes the organisation.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each SSL certificate providers tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Free certificate with a domain or hosting; paid plans published per year
Yes
Buyers who want DNSSEC and anycast DNS included, from a French registrar
Anyone who wants the lowest renewal price on every extension
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Nonprofit certificate authority issuing automated domain-validated certificates through ACME
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best SSL Certificate Providers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Let's Encrypt is a service of the nonprofit Internet Security Research Group. Certificates are valid for 90 days, a six-day variant is optional, and the lifetime cannot be adjusted.
Wildcards are issued, but only through DNS validation. The keys are generated and kept on your own servers. The home page announces 64-day lifetimes from February 2027, so renewal automation matters more each year.
What stands out
Nonprofit
Automated issuance
Domain validation
Where it costs you
It issues only domain-validated certificates, so no organisation name can appear in the certificate.
The vendor offers no direct support to subscribers, only documentation and a community forum.
Right for
Teams that can run an ACME client and need only domain-validated certificates
Wrong for
Buyers needing organisation validation, a warranty or phone support
United StatesFree certificates funded by donations and sponsors; no paid tier
Vienna certificate authority combining dashboard, REST API and ACME in one account
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best SSL Certificate Providers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
ZeroSSL GmbH has its registered office in Vienna. Beyond ACME it offers a management console, REST API, monitoring and a security scan add-on called Protect.
Paid plans run from Basic to Platinum and are billed yearly, with higher plans adding annual certificates, wildcard allowances and better support tiers. The pricing page cites a rule that certificates must be renewed no later than day 199, so even annual products need a renewal step.
What stands out
Dashboard and API
ACME
Tiered plans
Where it costs you
Dashboard issuance is limited by plan, and the free plan lists only three 90-day certificates.
Annual certificates must still be renewed within the 199-day limit that the pricing page cites.
Right for
Small teams wanting ACME plus a web console and API under one login
Wrong for
Large estates needing a sales contract, organisation validation or on-site audits
AustriaFree plan with three 90-day certificates; paid plans billed yearly, published
Houston certificate authority selling DV, OV and EV with published prices
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best SSL Certificate Providers in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
SSL.com was founded in 2002 in Houston and its product table runs from a Basic single-domain DV certificate to Enterprise EV UCC. Warranties are listed per product, from 10,000 dollars on Basic to 1,750,000 on EV.
It supports ACME under RFC 8555 and says it participates as a voting member of the CA/Browser Forum. Separate sales, support and validation addresses exist, so validation questions do not queue with billing.
What stands out
Houston, since 2002
DV, OV and EV
Published prices
Where it costs you
Durations are capped at 200 days, so the yearly price covers repeated reissuance.
Prices differ by validation level and domain count, so total cost needs a quote for a mixed estate.
Right for
Businesses wanting DV, OV or EV from one specialist with printed prices
Wrong for
Sites needing certificates at no charge or a bundled hosting package
United StatesPer certificate per year, published; ACME supported
Italian certificate authority with a free plan, subscriptions and unlimited ACME
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best SSL Certificate Providers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Actalis describes itself as an eIDAS-qualified authority and the only Italian one in the CA/Browser Forum.
The subscription table shows unlimited single-domain 90-day DV certificates through ACME on every plan, wildcard DV certificates on Silver, and organisation validation on Gold. Warranty limits are 50,000 euros for DV on the standard level and 500,000 on Warranty Plus.
What stands out
Aruba Group
Subscriptions
eIDAS qualified
Where it costs you
Wildcard and organisation validation require the Silver or Gold subscription.
The free plan carries the lower standard warranty, and the higher Warranty Plus costs extra.
Right for
Agencies and EU businesses wanting a subscription with ACME and an eIDAS-qualified issuer
Wrong for
Buyers who need a single contract across many certificate types worldwide
ItalyFree plan plus Bronze, Silver and Gold subscriptions, published; single certificates sold separately
Greek academic certificate authority funded by the Greek Universities Network
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best SSL Certificate Providers in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
HARICA stands for the Hellenic Academic and Research Institutions Certification Authority and is funded by the Greek Universities Network. Its server catalogue includes DV, IV, OV and EV certificates, wildcard variants, onion names and QWAC types under eIDAS, including PSD2.
The registered office is at the University of Athens network operation centre. It reports being in the Mozilla, Microsoft, Apple, 360 and Oracle root programmes.
What stands out
Academic network
eIDAS qualified
DV, OV, EV
Where it costs you
The pages seen show an entry price but no full price table, so total cost needs a quote or checkout.
No ACME or free option appears on the server certificate pages that were checked.
Right for
Academic bodies and EU organisations needing qualified website certificates (QWAC)
Wrong for
Teams that want fully automated issuance advertised with published terms
GreecePer certificate per year; entry price published
Polish certificate authority from Asseco, sold in its shop and through resellers
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best SSL Certificate Providers in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Certum belongs to Asseco Data Systems S.A. and runs its own data centre, stated to be available 99.9 percent of the time and located in the EU.
Its range is Domain Validation with verification in about an hour, Organisation Validation in one to five days and Extended Validation in one to seven days. The shop lists Certum Trusted SSL from 109 euros, and a reseller map points to partners.
What stands out
Asseco group
Reseller network
DV with ACME
Where it costs you
Only one shop price was visible (Certum Trusted SSL), and resellers set their own.
ACME is mentioned only on the DV product, not on OV or EV.
Right for
Polish and Central European buyers wanting an authority with EU infrastructure
Wrong for
Buyers wanting one transparent global price list for every certificate type
PolandPer certificate, price published in the shop; reseller network available
Certificate authority selling DV, OV and EV through its own shop
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best SSL Certificate Providers in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Sectigo says it has issued over a billion certificates and secures more than 57 million active ones. Its shop sorts certificates by validation level (DV, OV, EV) and by coverage (single, wildcard, multi-domain).
The privacy policy covers Sectigo Limited and subsidiaries including Sectigo Inc. in the United States and SSL247 SAS in France. Reseller brands such as Trustico also sell Sectigo-issued products.
What stands out
DV, OV and EV
Money-back promise
Reseller supply
Where it costs you
The listed starting price for one-year DV is high compared with several authorities in this guide.
The company's own pages focus on enterprise lifecycle management, so small buyers sift through platform marketing.
Right for
Buyers wanting a large authority with 24/7 support and a refund promise
Wrong for
Small sites seeking the lowest price for plain domain validation
United KingdomPer certificate from a published starting price; enterprise platform quoted separately
Certificate authority active since 1996 with regional ordering and an ACME service
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best SSL Certificate Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
GlobalSign has operated since 1996 and sells DV, OV and EV certificates with a 200-day maximum validity. The page lists issuance times of about five minutes for DV, one to two business days for OV and three to four for EV, with warranties of 10,000, 1,250,000 and 1,500,000 dollars.
A separate ACME service is offered with a free trial. Its country of establishment is not named on the pages checked.
What stands out
Since 1996
Regional ordering
ACME trial
Where it costs you
The shop requires choosing the region where your company is registered, and a mismatch cancels the order.
Prices are not visible on the product pages without entering the ordering flow.
Right for
Mid-size and larger firms wanting an established authority with regional ordering
Wrong for
Buyers comparing prices openly before talking to anyone
Not stated by the vendorRegion-specific price shown in the shop; custom quote for extras
Large certificate authority selling annual subscriptions with ACME and 24x5 support
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best SSL Certificate Providers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
DigiCert's Basic TLS certificate is sold as a subscription with a 1.25 million dollar NetSure warranty, the CertCentral management platform and 24x5 standard support. Higher tiers add EV, priority support and larger warranties up to 2 million dollars.
The per-domain subscription price is listed per month for standard and wildcard domains. Certificates are valid for 199 days and ACME automation is included with subscriptions.
What stands out
Subscriptions
ACME included
Premium pricing
Where it costs you
List prices for Basic TLS and above are several times those of smaller authorities.
Subscriptions renew automatically every 12 months until cancelled, and prices are stated as subject to change.
Right for
Enterprises wanting a large warranty, an included management platform and ACME
Wrong for
Small sites with one domain and no need for a warranty
Not stated by the vendorPublished per product and per domain; annual subscriptions
Google's certificate authority offering public TLS certificates through an ACME API
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best SSL Certificate Providers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Google Trust Services states it now offers publicly trusted TLS certificates at no charge through its ACME API, used with a GCP account. Google Cloud documentation describes the Public CA service as ACME based for automated issuance, renewal and revocation.
The legal entities listed are Google Trust Services LLC in Mountain View and Google Trust Services Europe Ltd in Dublin. The service reports annual WebTrust audits.
What stands out
ACME API
Google Cloud account
Public CA
Where it costs you
The service needs a Google Cloud account and offers only ACME issuance, with no purchase catalogue.
The pages checked show no support plan, organisation validation or reseller route.
Right for
Teams on Google Cloud wanting ACME-issued certificates
Wrong for
Buyers who need an invoice, a warranty or organisation validation
United StatesFree certificates via ACME with a Google Cloud account
Reseller and certificate-as-a-service brand listing Sectigo and Trustico CA products
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best SSL Certificate Providers in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
The Trustico shop lists PositiveSSL, Trustico and Sectigo product lines, and each card states whether the issuer is Sectigo CA or Trustico CA.
Traditional single-site DV starts at 19 dollars on the listing, and the CaaS lines add ACME for single, multi-domain and wildcard certificates. The contact page names Secure Click Pty Ltd in Southport, Queensland, which runs the site under licence for the brand.
What stands out
Reseller
ACME service
Strict refunds
Where it costs you
Refunds are not available for fulfilled orders or CaaS subscriptions, and discretion rests with the seller.
The company details on the shop pages are thin, apart from the contact page naming a licensed operator.
Right for
Price-driven buyers who accept a reseller and know which issuer line they want
Wrong for
Buyers wanting the certificate authority itself as their contract partner
AustraliaPer certificate, prices published in dollars; prepaid credit available
Domain registrar selling Standard, Pro and Business certificates alongside hosting
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best SSL Certificate Providers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The .com page lists LiveDNS with anycast and DNSSEC, 10,000 aliases and forwarding addresses, and a certificate free for the first year with the domain. Owner changes are free and leave the expiry date alone.
The company says it has 135 employees, offices in Paris, Luxembourg, San Francisco and Taipei and customers in 192 countries. Some extensions show a promo register price against a much higher renewal figure, so the table has to be read per extension, not as a flat rate.
What stands out
Registrar
Bundled with hosting
Three paid tiers
Where it costs you
Promo prices on some extensions are well below the standard price charged at renewal
The ownership statement on the about page dates from 2019, so check it before relying on it
Right for
Buyers who want DNSSEC and anycast DNS included, from a French registrar
Wrong for
Anyone who wants the lowest renewal price on every extension
FranceFree certificate with a domain or hosting; paid plans published per year
An SSL certificate provider is a certificate authority or reseller issuing the TLS certificates that let websites encrypt connections, after checking control of a domain and sometimes the organisation. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
11 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 1 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Let's Encrypt, ZeroSSL, SSL.com, Actalis, HARICA, Certum, Sectigo, DigiCert, Google Trust Services, Trustico, Gandi.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 9 countries across 4 regions (Europe 6, North America 3, Elsewhere 2, Asia-Pacific 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
How validity limits changed SSL certificate providers
The biggest practical change when comparing SSL certificate providers is certificate lifetime. SSL.com says its durations are now capped at 200 days, GlobalSign lists a 200-day maximum, DigiCert says its certificates last 199 days, and Let's Encrypt announces 64-day lifetimes from February 2027. A price quoted per year therefore buys several issuances, not one.
ZeroSSL's pricing page cites a rule requiring renewal no later than day 199 even for annual products. Before you compare prices, work out how many certificates you hold, how each is renewed, and who is paged when a renewal fails. A provider whose product only works by hand has become more expensive in staff time than its list price suggests.
Count certificates per domain and how often each is reissued
Ask who performs the renewal step and how a failure is reported
Check the maximum lifetime the vendor lists today, not last year's
Automating renewal with ACME and a provider account
ACME is the protocol that lets a server request and renew certificates without a person. Let's Encrypt works only this way. ZeroSSL states that ACME-created certificates are free of charge with no rate limits, while Actalis includes unlimited single-domain DV certificates through ACME on every subscription, and the free plan too.
DigiCert says its subscriptions include ACME automation without extra cost, GlobalSign offers an ACME service with a trial, and Trustico sells ACME as certificate as a service. Google Trust Services gives ACME access through a Google Cloud account. The question to ask is whether ACME covers the certificate types you need, since wildcards often need DNS validation and organisation validation is usually still manual.
Confirm the ACME service covers wildcard and multi-domain names
List which DNS provider and client software will do validation
Find out whether ACME use is included in the plan or billed separately
Choosing DV, OV or EV certificates and warranties
Domain validation proves control of a domain, organisation validation adds checked company details, and extended validation adds a stricter identity check. Time and warranty rise together. GlobalSign lists issuance in about five minutes for DV, one to two business days for OV and three to four for EV. Certum quotes around one hour, up to five days and up to seven days.
SSL.com's table lists warranties from 10,000 to 1,750,000 dollars, and Actalis lists 50,000 to 500,000 euros at its standard level. HARICA adds QWAC types under eIDAS for buyers who need a qualified website certificate. Most blogs and shops need only DV, and a warranty is not insurance for your own outage.
Decide whether any customer or regulator requires a named organisation
Compare the warranty with what a contract actually asks for
Allow validation days in the project plan for OV and EV orders
Reseller, registrar or authority: who issues your certificate
Some sellers on this list are authorities and some are resellers or registrars. Trustico's product cards state whether the issuer is Sectigo CA or Trustico CA, and its refund page excludes fulfilled orders and CaaS subscriptions. Gandi's page lists Free, Standard, Pro and Business certificates but names no issuer, and its warranty text and table disagree.
Certum is sold by its own shop and through about 500 partners, so the price depends on the channel. HARICA, Actalis, SSL.com and DigiCert all sell under their own authority name. The issuer matters for revocation handling, trust-store removal risk and support routing, because a reseller can only forward your problem to the authority behind the certificate.
Find the issuing authority named on the product page
Read the refund and reissue terms before paying
Check who handles validation questions: seller or authority
What goes wrong most often when buying SSL certificate providers software
Buying a multi-year plan from a certificate seller and forgetting that each certificate still has to be reissued every 200 days or less.
Assuming an ACME client replaces organisation validation, when OV and EV orders still go through a manual check at several providers.
Choosing the cheapest reseller without reading its refund terms, then finding that a fulfilled order cannot be returned.
Using a registrar's bundled certificate for a business site without checking which authority issued it and what warranty applies.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best SSL certificate providers in 2026?
Let's Encrypt leads our ranking of 12. Run by the nonprofit ISRG as a single-purpose service, so there is no sales contract, no account and no price to renegotiate. Certificates last 90 days by default, with a six-day option, and wildcards need DNS validation.
It issues no organisation or extended validation certificates and offers no direct support, only documentation and a community forum. Teams that cannot run an ACME client on their servers need a different provider.
Which SSL certificate providers tools publish their pricing?
11 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Let's Encrypt: Free certificates funded by donations and sponsors; no paid tier.
ZeroSSL: Free plan with three 90-day certificates; paid plans billed yearly, published.
SSL.com: Per certificate per year, published; ACME supported.
Actalis: Free plan plus Bronze, Silver and Gold subscriptions, published; single certificates sold separately.
HARICA: Per certificate per year; entry price published.
Certum: Per certificate, price published in the shop; reseller network available.
Sectigo: Per certificate from a published starting price; enterprise platform quoted separately.
DigiCert: Published per product and per domain; annual subscriptions.
Google Trust Services: Free certificates via ACME with a Google Cloud account.
Trustico: Per certificate, prices published in dollars; prepaid credit available.
Gandi: Free certificate with a domain or hosting; paid plans published per year.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free SSL certificate providers tool?
Let's Encrypt, ZeroSSL, Actalis, Google Trust Services, Gandi offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these SSL certificate providers vendors established?
In 9 countries across 4 regions: Europe 6, North America 3, Elsewhere 2, Asia-Pacific 1.
Let's Encrypt: United States.
ZeroSSL: Austria.
SSL.com: United States.
Actalis: Italy.
HARICA: Greece.
Certum: Poland.
Sectigo: United Kingdom.
GlobalSign: Not stated by the vendor.
DigiCert: Not stated by the vendor.
Google Trust Services: United States.
Trustico: Australia.
Gandi: France.
What should you use instead of Let's Encrypt?
ZeroSSL and SSL.com are the next two on this page. ZeroSSL is for small teams wanting ACME plus a web console and API under one login; SSL.com is for Businesses wanting DV, OV or EV from one specialist with printed prices.
Who should not buy Let's Encrypt?
Buyers needing organisation validation, a warranty or phone support. It issues only domain-validated certificates, so no organisation name can appear in the certificate..
If your SSL certificate providers product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.