Choosing 3D modeling software means choosing between exact solids, polygon sculpting and browser tools, and the price depends on licence type as much as features.
This guide ranks twelve products on first-ninety-day effort, the real invoice once renderers and credits are added, how files leave, and whether you can run it without a partner.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What 3D modeling software does
3D modeling software lets you build, edit and export three-dimensional objects as solids, surfaces or meshes, for games, film, product design, architecture, printing and web scenes.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each 3D modeling tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Subscription per user, annual billing cheaper; price shown at checkout; 14-day trial
—
Character, creature and collectible artists who sculpt at high polygon counts
Engineers, architects or teams needing precise dimensional modeling
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Foundation-run modeller, sculptor and animator with a GPL licence
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best 3D Modeling Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingEurope
Blender is released under the GNU GPL by a Dutch public benefit foundation funded by donations and the Development Fund. Cycles is Apache 2.0 and the licence page states that your artwork and .blend files are yours.
Exit is easy because the source is public and no key is needed. The weak spot is support: the Foundation offers documentation, a forum and a manual, not a paid helpdesk.
What stands out
Open source
Foundation-run
Modeling and animation
Where it costs you
The interface spans modeling, sculpting, animation and rendering, so the first weeks go into learning where tools live.
Support is the manual and the community forum, with no service contract on the vendor pages.
Right for
Solo artists and studios that want to own their pipeline without licence management
Wrong for
Teams that need a vendor-backed contract or guaranteed support
NetherlandsFree software under the GPL, funded by donations and memberships
Perpetual-licence solid and surface modeller built on Parasolid
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best 3D Modeling Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Plastic Software LLC sells Indie and Studio licences, both with twelve months of updates, and its terms say purchased licences are perpetual. Studio adds xNURBS, PolySplines, IGES, ACIS and Rhino import.
Indie licences are for one person, and firms above ten employees need Studio. The trial runs on macOS, Windows and Linux, but export is trimmed, so test your hand-off formats before paying.
What stands out
Perpetual licence
Direct editing
Hard-surface
Where it costs you
Indie licences omit IGES, ACIS and Rhino import, which only the Studio licence adds.
The trial allows no commercial use and limits export to low-resolution OBJ and STL.
Right for
Hard-surface and product modellers who want a perpetual licence and fast direct editing
Wrong for
Animators, character artists and anyone needing a rendering pipeline
United States30-day trial; perpetual Indie and Studio licences, prices published
Sculpting and painting app priced as a single purchase
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best 3D Modeling Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Hexanomad sells a sculpting and painting app with a downloadable desktop demo that needs no account. The desktop licence is one key for two computers, with seats and classroom keys for groups.
Reformatting a machine uses a new activation, so free the old one first. Educational discounts exist only on iOS and iPadOS, and the vendor lists no country, so contracting details are thin.
What stands out
One-time purchase
Sculpting
Phone, tablet, desktop
Where it costs you
Purchase orders and custom invoices are not supported, so an invoice-based firm cannot buy it.
Mobile and desktop versions are separate purchases, and the key is checked online every so often.
Right for
Sculptors working on tablet or phone who want a single payment
Wrong for
Companies that need invoicing, volume support or parametric modeling
Not stated by the vendorOne-time purchase per platform, desktop price published on the site
NURBS modeller sold as a licence per user with no maintenance fee
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best 3D Modeling Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Rhino's licensing is the outlier in this market: one payment, no maintenance, upgrades bought when they are worth buying, which over a decade costs less than two years of some competitors. Grasshopper turns it into a design environment rather than a drawing tool.
Understand what you are not getting, which is parametric history, PDM, assembly management and the drawing automation an engineering department expects, so many studios end up running Rhino beside a second system.
What stands out
Perpetual licence
NURBS
Windows and Mac
Where it costs you
No feature history, so design changes mean remodelling rather than editing
Manufacturing drawing production is weaker than any MCAD competitor
Right for
Freeform, architectural and product design where the geometry matters most
Wrong for
Engineering teams needing parametric history and revision control
United StatesPerpetual licence per user or concurrent seat, prices published; 90-day evaluation
Procedural node-based 3D and VFX tool from Toronto
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best 3D Modeling Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
SideFX of Toronto offers Apprentice, Indie, Core and FX, with Indie priced for creators under 100,000 USD in yearly revenue and limited to three licences per studio. Houdini Engine licences load assets into Maya, Unreal and Unity.
Karma licences come with Core and FX, and perpetual Karma tokens depend on an active upgrade plan. The graph-based approach pays off in pipelines but is slower for one-off models.
What stands out
Procedural
VFX
Indie licence
Where it costs you
Core and FX licence prices are not in the text of the store page.
Apprentice renders carry a watermark and cannot be used for commercial work.
Right for
VFX artists and technical directors building procedural, simulation-heavy scenes for film or games
Wrong for
Beginners who only need quick hand modeling of simple props
CanadaFree Apprentice with watermark; Indie price published; Core and FX by licence type
Browser-based modeller that ties design to 3D print ordering
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best 3D Modeling Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Womp works in the browser and offers a Starter plan at no cost, a Pro plan billed annually, a per-seat Team plan and an Enterprise tier starting higher.
It includes 3D print ordering with materials such as chrome and titanium, and Pro gives 10 percent off print orders. AI model credits are metered per month, so heavy generation moves you to a higher tier.
What stands out
Browser-based
3D printing
Free plan
Where it costs you
Features such as freehand drawing, SVG import and 500 super materials start on the Pro plan.
The vendor pages state no country of establishment, which complicates procurement checks.
Right for
Hobbyists and small brands turning quick designs into printed objects
Wrong for
Engineers who need parametric CAD, drawings or STEP-based exchange
Not stated by the vendorFree plan; Pro, Team and Enterprise tiers, prices published
Parametric solid modeller for tablet, laptop and headset
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best 3D Modeling Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Shapr3D is the quickest way here from an idea to a solid model: sketch with a pencil, push and pull faces, and export STEP to whoever does the detailed engineering.
The Parasolid kernel means the geometry opens cleanly in SolidWorks and Solid Edge. It is subscription only, and the free plan limits projects and export quality. For drawings, tolerances and large assemblies, it hands over to a full MCAD product.
What stands out
Free Basic plan
Solid modeling
iPad and desktop
Where it costs you
Assemblies, technical drawings and simulation are limited
Subscription only; nothing to keep if you stop paying
Right for
An industrial designer who wants fast concept models that export cleanly
Wrong for
A mechanical engineering team managing large assemblies and drawings
HungaryFree Basic plan; Pro per Editor seat billed annually, price published
Browser 3D editor for interactive web scenes and exports
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best 3D Modeling Software in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Spline, Inc., a Delaware corporation, runs a 3D and 2D editor in the browser. The free tier limits personal files and keeps a watermark on web exports.
Hobby removes the watermark, Pro adds video export and Apple and Android exports, and Max adds ten thousand AI credits a month. Pro also lifts the scene limit per file and adds variables, APIs and webhooks. Enterprise adds SAML SSO, self-hosted export and a team library.
What stands out
Browser-based
Interactive 3D
Web export
Where it costs you
Self-hosted and code exports, SSO and version history are limited to the Enterprise tier.
AI credits are limited monthly, and extra credits are bought per year in blocks.
Right for
Web designers building interactive 3D scenes that embed directly in sites
Wrong for
Teams that need printable meshes, CAD precision or film-grade rendering
United StatesFree plan; Hobby, Pro and Max per seat, monthly or annual, prices published
Browser 3D studio for product visuals, configurators and AR
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best 3D Modeling Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Vectary, Inc. offers a Free plan with five projects and one seat, a Starter plan with 25 projects, a Team plan with 250 projects and five seats, and Business on contact. Team adds 40,000 monthly AI credits, and Business adds SSO, version history and WebXR.
Top-up credit packs are sold separately in five sizes, so AI-heavy teams should model the credit cost before choosing between Starter and Team, and plan for one seat per person.
What stands out
Browser-based
Product visuals
AR
Where it costs you
CAD import and optimisation require the Team tier at a higher monthly price.
AI credits refresh monthly and unused credits do not roll over.
Right for
Product teams producing 3D visuals, AR and embeddable configurators online
Wrong for
Engineers needing parametric CAD or artists doing high-poly sculpting
United StatesFree plan; Starter and Team tiers published, Business on contact
Subscription 3D modeller used for buildings, interiors and layouts
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best 3D Modeling Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
SketchUp wins on speed: someone can produce a usable 3D model on their first day, and the component library means a kitchen or a facade rarely starts from nothing. LayOut, from the Pro plan up, turns the model into presentable drawings; the Go plan is web and iPad only.
The limits show on larger jobs, where models get slow and heavy, and in production, where there is no parametric history and no real building data. It is Trimble's product, and the plans push towards its cloud services.
What stands out
Subscription
Architecture
Extension library
Where it costs you
Not parametric and not BIM
Subscription only since perpetual licences ended in 2020
Right for
Architects, interior designers and joiners who need quick 3D models
Wrong for
Mechanical engineering or projects requiring coordinated BIM data
United StatesPer-user subscription tiers, prices published; school version at no cost
Motion-graphics 3D tool sold inside a Maxon subscription
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best 3D Modeling Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Cinema 4D is built by Maxon Computer GmbH, part of the Nemetschek Group, and sold by subscription with Redshift included. The page names MoGraph, native After Effects integration and support for OBJ, FBX, Alembic, USD and glTF.
The Teams plan adds SSO and a license dashboard, and the subscription renews automatically, so cancel before the cycle ends. Trial users receive the whole Maxon One suite, not only Cinema 4D, which makes a fair single-product test harder.
What stands out
Subscription
Motion graphics
Redshift included
Where it costs you
The price is not shown in the page text and appears only at checkout.
Trial and subscriptions are tied to a Maxon account and the Maxon One suite.
Right for
Motion designers and brand studios who add 3D to After Effects work
Wrong for
Buyers needing a perpetual licence or a price before checkout
GermanySubscription per user, annual billing cheaper; price shown at checkout; 14-day trial
Digital sculpting tool with 200 brushes, now inside Maxon
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best 3D Modeling Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
ZBrush is a sculpting tool from Maxon Computer GmbH, with over 200 brushes, sold by subscription that includes ZBrush on iPad and Redshift CPU.
The trial runs 14 days with the whole Maxon One suite, so judge ZBrush alone before buying. It is aimed at film, games and toy work, with the page citing character, creature and collectible makers as its users.
What stands out
Subscription
Sculpting
iPad version
Where it costs you
Pricing is visible only in the cart, so the cost appears after you commit to a checkout.
It is a sculpting tool and does not replace CAD or architectural modelling.
Right for
Character, creature and collectible artists who sculpt at high polygon counts
Wrong for
Engineers, architects or teams needing precise dimensional modeling
GermanySubscription per user, annual billing cheaper; price shown at checkout; 14-day trial
3D modeling software lets you build, edit and export three-dimensional objects as solids, surfaces or meshes, for games, film, product design, architecture, printing and web scenes. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
10 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 2 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Blender, Plasticity, Nomad Sculpt, Rhino, Houdini, Womp, Shapr3D, Spline, Vectary, SketchUp.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 6 countries across 3 regions (North America 6, Europe 4, Elsewhere 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
1 of these are open source: Blender. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Choosing 3D modeling software by the type of geometry
Start with the shape you must produce. Rhino, Plasticity and Shapr3D build exact solids and NURBS surfaces that carry dimensions; Blender, Cinema 4D and ZBrush work with polygons, subdivision and sculpted detail. Houdini builds geometry through a node graph, and SketchUp sits between, popular for buildings and interiors.
Pick two representative models from your own work and build them in a trial before comparing prices, then time how long each takes. Look at export formats too, because the free or trial versions of Plasticity and Shapr3D limit them to low-resolution meshes. A tool that cannot hand its model to your printer, game engine or CAD system fails the test regardless of its modeling speed.
Model one real part or asset in the trial before buying
Check which import and export formats are blocked at the tier you plan to buy
Confirm the trial can be used for the kind of work you will do
Perpetual licences, subscriptions and donations
Pricing models split into three camps. Blender is released under the GPL and funded by donations, so there is no licence to manage. Rhino, Plasticity and Nomad Sculpt sell permanent licences, though Plasticity bundles twelve months of updates and Rhino sells upgrades for hardware changes. Houdini offers rental and perpetual licences, while Cinema 4D, ZBrush, SketchUp, Spline, Vectary and Shapr3D sell per-user subscriptions.
Over three years a subscription usually costs more than a permanent licence, but it includes updates and sometimes a renderer. Add the price of rendering, animation plug-ins and AI credits before you compare, since Rhino sells Bongo separately and Spline and Vectary meter AI credits. Cinema 4D and ZBrush show prices only in the cart, so ask for a written quote or screenshot of the final basket before approving the spend.
Add up three years of cost for each licence type
List extras such as renderers, plug-ins and AI credits
Check whether prices are shown on the vendor page or only at checkout
How your files leave: formats, licences and who owns them
Exit is mostly a question of formats. Blender states that your artwork and .blend files are your own property, and the source is public. Cinema 4D imports OBJ, FBX, Alembic, USD and glTF, and Plasticity reads Rhino files only in its Studio licence.
Web-based tools such as Womp, Spline and Vectary keep projects in the vendor cloud, so confirm what survives if you cancel, and note that Shapr3D limits its Basic plan to low-resolution STL and 3MF export. Keep a mesh copy and, for engineering parts, a STEP copy of every finished model outside any subscription account, and test that the copy opens in a second program before you cancel anything.
Export a finished model in two neutral formats before committing
Ask what happens to cloud projects when a subscription lapses
Check whether the licence needs an online activation to keep working
Free tiers, trials and licence terms for commercial work
Most vendors give a trial, but terms differ. Houdini Apprentice and Plasticity's trial forbid commercial use, Houdini Indie is limited to earners under 100,000 USD a year, and Nomad Sculpt's demo is free to download and try. Womp, Shapr3D, Spline and Vectary have free plans with project, export or watermark limits. SketchUp for Schools is free through Google and Microsoft education accounts.
Read the terms before taking a client project, and note that Plasticity requires Studio for companies with more than ten employees. Rhino's educational licences cannot be transferred to another user, and Shapr3D's free education licences last one year and must be renewed, so a student project may need a new licence before it goes to a paying client or a studio.
Read the commercial-use terms of every free version
Check revenue or headcount limits on indie licences
Keep a receipt of the licence type for each client project
What goes wrong most often when buying 3D modeling software
Buying a subscription before testing whether the free or trial version can export the format your next tool needs.
Choosing a polygon tool such as Blender or ZBrush for parts that need exact dimensions, then redrawing them in CAD.
Forgetting that Houdini Apprentice and the Plasticity trial prohibit commercial work, so a paid client file ends up in the wrong version.
Comparing sticker prices while ignoring renderers, plug-ins, upgrade purchases and AI credit packs that the final invoice includes.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best 3D modeling software in 2026?
Blender leads our ranking of 12. Developed in public by the Amsterdam-based Blender Foundation and released under the GNU GPL, so you can buy it, run it and leave it without a vendor or reseller.
The licence page says the files you create, including .blend files, belong to you. The cost is time: the interface covers modeling, sculpting, animation and rendering at once, and support comes from the community and the manual, not a contract.
Which 3D modeling tools publish their pricing?
10 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Blender: Free software under the GPL, funded by donations and memberships.
Plasticity: 30-day trial; perpetual Indie and Studio licences, prices published.
Nomad Sculpt: One-time purchase per platform, desktop price published on the site.
Rhino: Perpetual licence per user or concurrent seat, prices published; 90-day evaluation.
Houdini: Free Apprentice with watermark; Indie price published; Core and FX by licence type.
Womp: Free plan; Pro, Team and Enterprise tiers, prices published.
Shapr3D: Free Basic plan; Pro per Editor seat billed annually, price published.
Spline: Free plan; Hobby, Pro and Max per seat, monthly or annual, prices published.
Vectary: Free plan; Starter and Team tiers published, Business on contact.
SketchUp: Per-user subscription tiers, prices published; school version at no cost.
The other 2 quote per organisation.
Is there a free 3D modeling tool?
Blender, Houdini, Womp, Shapr3D, Spline, Vectary offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these 3D modeling software vendors established?
In 6 countries across 3 regions: North America 6, Europe 4, Elsewhere 2.
Blender: Netherlands.
Plasticity: United States.
Nomad Sculpt: Not stated by the vendor.
Rhino: United States.
Houdini: Canada.
Womp: Not stated by the vendor.
Shapr3D: Hungary.
Spline: United States.
Vectary: United States.
SketchUp: United States.
Cinema 4D: Germany.
ZBrush: Germany.
Which 3D modeling tools are open source?
Blender.
Which 3D modeling tools can you host yourself?
Spline. The other 11 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Blender?
Plasticity and Nomad Sculpt are the next two on this page. Plasticity is for Hard-surface and product modellers who want a perpetual licence and fast direct editing; Nomad Sculpt is for Sculptors working on tablet or phone who want a single payment.
Who should not buy Blender?
Teams that need a vendor-backed contract or guaranteed support. The interface spans modeling, sculpting, animation and rendering, so the first weeks go into learning where tools live..
If your 3D modeling software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.