Antivirus software for home and small-office PCs and phones ranges from a scanner for one Windows machine to bundles with VPN, backup and identity cover.
This guide ranks eleven consumer products on setup effort, the price after the first year, how a subscription ends, whether the vendor is independent, and who each suits.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What antivirus software does
Antivirus software scans devices for malware, blocks malicious sites and ransomware in real time, and increasingly bundles a VPN, password manager, backup and scam protection into one yearly subscription.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each antivirus tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Per year, tiers by device count, published; first-year price differs from renewal
—
US households wanting backup, VPN and identity protection under one login
Buyers who dislike introductory prices that change at renewal
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Four-platform consumer suite from a company with an imprint in Bochum
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Antivirus Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Setup is light: a 30-day trial, installers for Windows, macOS, Android and iOS, and support the vendor says runs every hour of every day. The real price depends on edition, since firewall and ransomware protection start at Internet Security and the extras start at Total Security.
Exit is a lapsed subscription, though files in the local encryption or backup tools need your own copy. G DATA is an independent company with its own imprint and needs no reseller.
What stands out
Three editions
Windows, macOS, Android, iOS
24/7 support
Where it costs you
The entry edition runs on Windows only and has no firewall or ransomware protection
Encryption, USB access control and the performance tuner exist only in the top edition
Right for
Households wanting a German-based vendor with round-the-clock support and a clear three-step edition ladder
Wrong for
Buyers who want a bundled VPN or identity monitoring
GermanyPer-year licence in three editions, published; 30-day trial
One app bundling antivirus, VPN, scam and identity protection across four platforms
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Antivirus Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
First-week effort is low: one app on every platform, a trial of the full version for 30 days and a 30-day money-back guarantee. The true cost is the bundle itself, because the VPN, ID protection and scam tools are paid for whether you use them or not.
If you only need malware scanning, F-Secure also sells Internet Security as a separate product. Exit means cancelling the subscription; the VPN and ID protection stop with it.
What stands out
Antivirus plus VPN
Scam protection
30-day trial
Where it costs you
Scam Scanner is described as beta and available in English only
The price is not shown on the product page, only at checkout
Right for
Buyers wanting antivirus, VPN and scam tools in one app, from Finland
Wrong for
People who only need a scanner and will not use a VPN
FinlandAnnual subscription, price shown at checkout; 30-day trial
Dual-engine scanner and behaviour blocker for one to five home PCs
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Antivirus Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
Emsisoft is the narrowest product on this page, which keeps setup short: install, run the dual-engine scan, leave the behaviour blocker on. The 30-day trial removes purchase risk.
Real cost is easy to model because there is only one home product, sold per PC for one to five PCs and one, two or three years. Exit is a lapsed licence, and the vendor also offers a command-line scanner, but home buyers must check their platform before buying.
What stands out
Dual-engine scanner
1 to 5 PCs
Cloud console
Where it costs you
Pricing page amounts load by script and were not readable
The comparison table lists scanning and prevention features, with no bundled VPN or password vault
Right for
Windows users wanting a focused scanner, with no bundled extras to pay for
Wrong for
Households with iPhones and Android phones to cover with the same licence
New ZealandPer PC per year, one to three year terms; 30-day trial
Three tiers for one to ten devices with a 30-day trial
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Antivirus Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
ESET offers a 30-day trial with no credit card, so setup cost is an afternoon. The real price follows two choices: tier and device count. VPN connections scale with the tier, three for Premium and ten for Ultimate on the 1 to 10 device plans.
Exit goes through ESET HOME, the account area where the vendor says renewals and autorenewal are managed. ESET sells directly and does not require a partner.
What stands out
Essential, Premium, Ultimate
AI interaction security
30-day trial
Where it costs you
Ultimate is offered from five devices upward, which raises the entry cost for small households
Prices are not in the page text and appear only in the cart
Right for
Households choosing protection by tier and paying only for devices they own
Wrong for
Buyers who need one fixed price visible before the cart
Not stated by the vendorPer device count and year in three tiers; 30-day trial
Four subscription tiers from device security to identity insurance
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Antivirus Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Setup is a download and a sign-in, backed by a 60-day money-back guarantee. The jump between tiers is where the money goes: Standard is device security only, Plus adds the VPN, and Ultimate and Total add identity insurance and personal-data removal that a non-US household may not use.
Exit is a cancelled subscription. A separate free scanner tool exists, but that is not the same as the paid real-time product.
What stands out
Four tiers
Browser Guard
Windows, Mac, Android, iOS
Where it costs you
The identity insurance in the upper tiers is described in US dollars and tied to the identity service
The top tiers cover one adult, not a whole household
Right for
Individuals who already run another tool and want a scanner with a VPN tier
Wrong for
Families wanting parental controls in the same subscription
United StatesPer year in four tiers, published; 60-day money-back guarantee
Four-platform suite with a 30-day trial and a capped VPN
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Antivirus Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
A 30-day trial keeps the first month risk-free, and one suite covers four operating systems. The real price must be read at checkout, since the shop price rendered as a placeholder when we fetched it.
The VPN allowance of 200 MB per day suits occasional use only; a full VPN is a separate purchase. Exit is a cancelled subscription, and the password manager is part of the suite, so export vault entries first.
What stands out
Four platforms
Password manager
Capped VPN
Where it costs you
The bundled VPN allows 200 MB per day
Data breach detection is available on Android and iOS only
Right for
Mixed-platform households wanting one suite with a password manager inside
Wrong for
Heavy VPN users, because the bundled VPN is capped daily
Not stated by the vendorAnnual subscription, price loads in the shop; 30-day trial
Antivirus, VPN and tuning bundle for five or twenty-five devices
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Antivirus Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The free edition makes the first install cheap, and Prime lifts the limit to five or twenty-five devices on every platform listed. The real price needs the cart: the amounts and the first-year versus renewal split were not in the text.
Prime is part of Gen, a large company, so independence is limited, although Avira keeps its own site and brand. Exit is simple, with the subscription ending and the free edition still available.
What stands out
Up to 25 devices
VPN included
Free edition exists
Where it costs you
Dark Web Monitoring is available only to residents of Germany
Prices load by script, so the first-year and renewal amounts could not be read
Right for
Large households wanting one subscription across up to twenty-five devices
Wrong for
Users in India who need the Phantom VPN
Not stated by the vendorFree Security edition; paid Internet Security and Prime by year
Three-tier home range priced by device count and 12 or 24 months
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Antivirus Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Setup is a download from the store page, and prices are visible there for each term, which makes budgeting easy. The twenty-four-month option lowers the yearly cost but commits the money upfront.
Tier choice decides device coverage: three PCs, five devices or ten. Trend Micro lists a US headquarters in Irving, Texas, and its store prices shown here are US-dollar prices, so non-US buyers should recheck in their own storefront.
What stands out
Three tiers
12 or 24 months
Chromebook supported
Where it costs you
Identity fraud insurance applies to US customers only and excludes trial users
Internet Security excludes phones and tablets
Right for
Small US households who want a published price per device count and term
Wrong for
Households outside the US who want the insurance cover
Not stated by the vendorPer device count and term in three tiers, published
Internet Security with a 30-day no-card trial for Windows and Mac
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Antivirus Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Setup takes minutes: a 30-day trial with no card, then a decision. The real price needs care because the page carries a web discount and a future price, so budget for the renewal amount, not the first year.
Platform coverage is wide on paper but uneven, with Mac in English only. Exit is a cancelled subscription, after which the free edition remains an option for the PC.
What stands out
Free edition exists
30-day trial
Windows and Mac
Where it costs you
The Mac version is available in English only
A web discount in the page data means the first-year price may not match renewal
Right for
Windows users who want to try protection first and upgrade only if needed
Wrong for
Mac users who need a non-English interface language
Not stated by the vendorFree antivirus edition; paid Internet Security by year with 30-day trial
Single app with free antivirus inside and a paid Premium Security tier
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Antivirus Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Setup is the cheapest on the page because Free Antivirus is installed from the same app that sells Premium Security. The real price is not visible in the text we fetched, so check the cart for the tier you need.
Independence is mixed: Avast Software s.r.o. is in Prague, yet the EULA names Gen Digital Inc. as licensor for the Americas. Exit is easy, since uninstalling or downgrading leaves the free tier.
What stands out
Free edition exists
One app
Premium Security tier
Where it costs you
The contracting company differs by region, Avast Software s.r.o. or Gen Digital Inc.
The free edition gives basic protection only, so features sit behind the paid tier
Right for
Users starting with a no-cost scanner and upgrading inside the same app
Wrong for
Buyers who want one fixed legal entity regardless of region
CzechiaFree antivirus inside the app; paid Premium Security tier
Plans from antivirus alone to bundled VPN, backup and identity tools
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Antivirus Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Setup is quick, but choice is not: the page lists many plans, from antivirus alone to identity bundles and small-business plans. The first-year price is a promotion, and the page itself notes savings against the renewal price, so budget for the higher figure.
Independence is low: Norton is a Gen Digital Inc. brand, and Avira and Avast point to Gen too. Exit is a cancelled subscription, and cloud backup data should be copied out first.
What stands out
Many tiers
VPN and backup
Virus Protection Promise
Where it costs you
First-year prices are shown against a higher renewal price
The range has many near-identical tiers, so comparing plans takes effort
Right for
US households wanting backup, VPN and identity protection under one login
Wrong for
Buyers who dislike introductory prices that change at renewal
United StatesPer year, tiers by device count, published; first-year price differs from renewal
Antivirus software scans devices for malware, blocks malicious sites and ransomware in real time, and increasingly bundles a VPN, password manager, backup and scam protection into one yearly subscription. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
7 of the 11 tools here publish what they cost; the other 4 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: G DATA Total Security, Malwarebytes, Avira Prime, Trend Micro Maximum Security, AVG Internet Security, Avast One, Norton 360.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 11 vendors are established in 6 countries across 4 regions (Elsewhere 5, Europe 3, North America 2, Asia-Pacific 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Scanner or suite: decide what the subscription must contain
Antivirus products now sell bundles, and the bundle decides the price. Emsisoft Anti-Malware Home is a scanner with web protection and a behaviour blocker, listing no VPN or password vault in its comparison table. F-Secure Total, Bitdefender Total Security and Norton 360 add VPNs, password tools or backup, and Norton goes further with identity bundles.
Each extra is paid for even when unused, and several are capped or limited: the Bitdefender VPN allows 200 MB per day, and Malwarebytes sells unmetered VPN only from its Plus tier. Write down which extras you would actually use in a year, and which you already own elsewhere, then shortlist the products whose cheapest suitable tier contains them and nothing else.
Tick the extras you would use: VPN, password manager, backup, identity cover.
Check whether the bundled VPN is capped per day.
Find the cheapest tier that contains your list.
First-year price versus renewal price
Home antivirus is sold on introductory prices. Norton shows first-year prices beside a note that savings are measured against a renewal price, and AVG's page data carries a web discount and a future price. Trend Micro shows list and discounted prices for 12 and 24 months, which means a two-year term fixes the cost upfront but commits the money.
G DATA and Malwarebytes publish prices on their pages, while Bitdefender and Avira load prices by script, so a screenshot taken from a promotion tells you little. Before buying, find the renewal price in the cart or the terms, and multiply it by three years, which is the real cost of staying.
Find the renewal price before paying the first-year price.
Compare three-year totals, not first-year totals.
Note whether the discount needs a new account or coupon.
Device counts, platforms and who is actually covered
Licences are counted in devices, and the counts differ. Avira Prime covers 5 or 25 devices, Trend Micro Internet Security three PCs, and ESET HOME Security lets you pick from 1 to 10 devices, with Ultimate offered from five upward. Malwarebytes Ultimate and Total cover one adult and three devices, which is a person count, not a household count.
Platforms also differ: G DATA Antivirus is Windows only, while its Total Security covers Windows, macOS, Android and iOS. AVG's Mac version is English only, which matters for non-English households. List every device in the house, including phones and a Chromebook if you own one, and check each against the product's platform list.
List every device and operating system you must cover.
Check whether the limit counts devices or adult users.
Confirm language support for the Mac version.
Who owns the brand and which company you contract with
Several well-known names share an owner. Avira says it is part of Gen, and Norton is a Gen Digital Inc. product. Avast's EULA names Avast Software s.r.o. in Prague for Europe, the Middle East and Africa, and Gen Digital Inc. in Tempe for the Americas, so the party you contract with depends on where you buy.
G DATA CyberDefense AG gives an imprint in Bochum, and Emsisoft says it is headquartered in New Zealand. Ownership does not change detection quality, but it changes who holds your data, who can change the terms, and whether two brands you compare are really competitors. Read the licence terms and the EULA header before you pay, and keep a copy.
Read the EULA to see which company licenses you.
Check whether two shortlisted brands share an owner.
Note where support is offered and in which hours.
What goes wrong most often when buying antivirus software
Buying a three-year term on a promotional price without reading the renewal terms.
Assuming one licence covers every phone, Mac and tablet in the house when the product counts adults or Windows PCs.
Paying for a VPN and a password manager that sit unused beside one already in place, while the real need was a scanner.
Running two real-time antivirus products at once instead of removing the old one before installing the new one.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best antivirus software in 2026?
G DATA Total Security leads our ranking of 11. G DATA CyberDefense AG sells home protection as Antivirus, Internet Security and Total Security, with prices on the product page and an imprint in Bochum.
Antivirus covers Windows only and leaves out the firewall and ransomware protection, so most households must start at Internet Security. Total Security adds a performance tuner, local data encryption and USB access control, extras a family with phones and laptops may never open.
Which antivirus tools publish their pricing?
7 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
G DATA Total Security: Per-year licence in three editions, published; 30-day trial.
Malwarebytes: Per year in four tiers, published; 60-day money-back guarantee.
Avira Prime: Free Security edition; paid Internet Security and Prime by year.
Trend Micro Maximum Security: Per device count and term in three tiers, published.
AVG Internet Security: Free antivirus edition; paid Internet Security by year with 30-day trial.
Norton 360: Per year, tiers by device count, published; first-year price differs from renewal.
The other 4 quote per organisation.
Is there a free antivirus tool?
Avira Prime, AVG Internet Security, Avast One offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these antivirus software vendors established?
In 6 countries across 4 regions: Elsewhere 5, Europe 3, North America 2, Asia-Pacific 1.
G DATA Total Security: Germany.
F-Secure Total: Finland.
Emsisoft Anti-Malware Home: New Zealand.
ESET HOME Security: Not stated by the vendor.
Malwarebytes: United States.
Bitdefender Total Security: Not stated by the vendor.
Avira Prime: Not stated by the vendor.
Trend Micro Maximum Security: Not stated by the vendor.
AVG Internet Security: Not stated by the vendor.
Avast One: Czechia.
Norton 360: United States.
What should you use instead of G DATA Total Security?
F-Secure Total and Emsisoft Anti-Malware Home are the next two on this page.
F-Secure Total is for Buyers wanting antivirus, VPN and scam tools in one app, from Finland; Emsisoft Anti-Malware Home is for Windows users wanting a focused scanner, with no bundled extras to pay for.
Who should not buy G DATA Total Security?
Buyers who want a bundled VPN or identity monitoring. The entry edition runs on Windows only and has no firewall or ransomware protection.
If your antivirus software product belongs among these 11, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.