Test management software stores test cases, plans runs, records results against requirements and shows whether a release is ready.
Products differ in how they charge (per seat, per concurrent user or flat blocks), whether they run on your own servers, and what the cheapest tier cannot export. This guide ranks eleven on setup, real price, exit and independence.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What test management software does
Test management software holds test cases and requirements, schedules manual and automated test runs, records results and defects, and reports coverage and release readiness to QA leads and managers.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each test management tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Trial without a card; plan price not shown on the product page
—
Teams already on Katalon Studio that want manual and automated results together
Teams that need a published price or their own servers
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Graz-built test management with per-seat plans and optional self-hosting
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Test Management Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingEurope
Testiny answers the exit question in two ways. Data can leave as CSV or Excel from the Starter tier upwards, and Testiny Server lets regulated teams run the product on their own infrastructure through Docker or Kubernetes.
The catch is sequence: the free tier cannot export, and the server edition sits under the Custom Enterprise plan, so check both before an import. Volume discounts apply automatically as seats grow, and yearly billing gives two months free.
What stands out
Austrian vendor
Per-seat
Self-host option
Where it costs you
Permanent tier is capped at 1,000 test items and blocks CSV and Excel export
Audit log, custom roles and permission groups exist only on the Enterprise tier
Right for
Small and mid-size QA teams that want published seat prices and an EU-hosted cloud
Wrong for
Teams that need self-hosting bought and installed without a sales call
AustriaPer user per month, published; trial and a small permanent tier
Open source test case system from Sofia, run as a Docker container
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Test Management Software in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingEurope
Kiwi TCMS is the clearest case of independence in this list. The code is published, releases ship as container images, and the legal page names Open Technologies Bulgaria Ltd in Sofia as the operator.
Subscriptions buy support, a private package repository or hosting, not access, so leaving means keeping your own database. Enterprise adds on-premises installation with LDAP and OAuth. Private Tenant promises an email reply within 72 hours.
What stands out
Open source
Self-hosted
Docker
Where it costs you
The Self Support subscription includes no technical support, only account and billing help
Hosted instances start at the Private Tenant tier, priced per instance and not per user
Right for
Engineering teams that can run containers and want source code they control
Wrong for
Teams that want a hosted product with phone-style support from day one
BulgariaOpen source code; paid support and hosting subscriptions published
Utrecht test management with Europe-only hosting and a built-in issue tracker
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Test Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
TestMonitor has a short path to a working project. The trial opens every feature without a card, Excel import moves test cases out of spreadsheets, and automation results arrive from more than 30 tools.
Exit needs a date in the diary: if a trial lapses, data is deleted after one month, and cancellations are not refunded. Professional adds custom fields, branding and OIDC sign-on, while Enterprise adds a customer success manager.
What stands out
EU hosting
Issue tracker included
Excel import
Where it costs you
Starter caps automation at 500 test results a day and Professional at 2,500
Refunds are not given for cancellations or downgrades, per the pricing FAQ
Right for
Teams that want European data hosting and requirements, tests and issues in one tool
Wrong for
Teams that need SAML or SCIM on a mid-priced plan
NetherlandsPer user per month, published; 14-day trial, no card
Leverkusen tool combining manual tests, exploratory sessions and automation results
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Test Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Testmo's pricing is easy to forecast, since the monthly fee covers a block of users instead of charging each seat. Annual prepayment gives 15% off Business and Enterprise, and the balance is drawn down monthly so the plan can change mid-term.
The cost is the jump between tiers, from 5 included users to 15. Several AI features are marked coming soon on the plan table, so do not buy against them.
What stands out
Exploratory testing
Automation results
Cloud only
Where it costs you
Testmo is a cloud web application only, with no installable edition
SSO, the user audit log and two-factor enforcement are Enterprise-only
Right for
Teams mixing manual cases, exploratory sessions and CI automation results in one place
Wrong for
Teams whose security policy requires an installation on their own servers
GermanyFlat monthly price per tier with users included, published; trial
Cologne vendor selling test and requirements management as separate licences
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Test Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The first-90-days cost is set by the licence mix. A full test management licence is priced per month, a test runner licence is far cheaper and meant for people who only execute, and guests view at no charge.
That suits a company with a few test designers and many executors. The aqua Suite adds a dedicated cloud or on-premises installation, backups with rollbacks and a support manager. Annual billing is cheaper than monthly, so a short project pays a premium.
What stands out
Cologne
Licence types
Private cloud
Where it costs you
Floating and concurrent licences are priced individually, not published
SAML or LDAP sign-on is listed only under the Suite licence for private cloud or on-premises
Right for
Teams that want requirements and test cases together and can use read-only guests
Wrong for
Small teams that want one self-service price covering every user
DCKAP initiative with a permanent entry tier and low per-seat prices
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Test Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
QA Touch is the cheapest route to a managed tool: attachment storage rises from 10 GB to 50 GB to 150 GB with the plan, and projects, test cases and runs are capped on lower tiers.
The site names DCKAP as the company behind it but gives no country, so legal location is something to ask before a purchase. The pricing page says nothing about exit, so test an export on the permanent tier first.
What stands out
Low seat price
AI case generation
DCKAP product
Where it costs you
AI generation is limited to 10 uses on Startup and 20 on Professional
SSO and multi-factor authentication appear only on the top Unlimited plan
Right for
Budget-limited teams that want a permanent entry tier and the lowest seat prices
Wrong for
Teams that need legal and hosting details stated plainly before buying
Not stated by the vendorPer user per month, published; permanent entry tier
Israeli test management with US, EU or AU data centre choice
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Test Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestMiddle East
PractiTest's Team plan includes unlimited projects, the end-to-end modules and five comment-only users per licence, which makes occasional reviewers cheap. The published example is ten testers for twelve months.
Corporate raises the comment-user allowance to ten per licence and adds multiple two-way issue integrations. Terms are governed by Israeli law, with Tel Aviv courts. Import from CSV and XML is available, and the vendor advertises a migration path from TestRail and Qase.
What stands out
Israeli vendor
Data centre choice
Corporate plan
Where it costs you
Corporate requires at least 10 licences and yearly billing
SAML, SCIM, audit log and global test repository are Corporate-only
Right for
Mid-size and larger QA organisations needing traceability and a regional data centre choice
Wrong for
Small teams that want SSO and audit logging without a minimum licence count
IsraelPer user per month on Team, quoted for Corporate; trial
Inflectra test manager priced by concurrent users, with unlimited named accounts
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Test Management Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
The concurrent model rewards teams whose testers are not logged in together: 30 concurrent users cost a published monthly figure however many accounts exist.
Cloud or on-premises installation is offered, and the vendor lists free migration tools from Excel, TestRail, PractiTest, TestLink and others, so getting in is cheap. Getting out relies on the standard export tools. Compliance features include electronic signatures for high-assurance customers.
What stands out
Concurrent licences
Cloud or on-premises
Requirements built in
Where it costs you
The published table starts at 3 concurrent users
Simultaneous users set the price, so a team that all tests at once pays for every seat
Right for
Shift-based or large tester pools where few people use the tool at once
Wrong for
Very small teams that want per-seat pricing from one user
United StatesPer concurrent user, published; 30-day trial
Seat-priced test management with a permanent tier and paid AI credits
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Test Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Qase's price depends on who sits in which seat. Full seats are for people writing and running tests, while stakeholders who only view runs and dashboards join as collaborators for a smaller monthly fee.
The permanent tier keeps 30 days of history, Teams keeps two years and Enterprise keeps data without limit. SAML single sign-on arrives on Teams, whereas SCIM and multi-workspace sign-on require Enterprise. The vendor's terms name Qase Inc.
What stands out
AI credits
Collaborator seats
MCP server
Where it costs you
AI credits expire monthly and extra credits are charged separately
Fees are non-refundable, including during a committed term
Right for
Teams that want permanent entry pricing and AI test generation with credit control
Wrong for
Teams that need a refund route during a committed term
Not stated by the vendorPer user per month, published; permanent tier for small teams
Test management with three published tiers and an on-premises edition
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Test Management Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
TestRail lets Professional and Enterprise customers choose cloud or on-premises, while Essentials is cloud only. Rate limits are 100, 180 and 300 requests a minute by tier, and Enterprise adds 500 GB of storage against 50 GB below it.
AI features are included on every tier and can be disabled for compliance. The company behind it is not named on the pages we could read.
What stands out
On-premises option
Three tiers
API limits
Where it costs you
Essentials is limited to teams of five users or fewer
SSO, MFA and audit logs are on the Enterprise tier only
Right for
Teams wanting a mainstream tool with a cloud or on-premises choice
Wrong for
Teams that must see SSO and audit logging on a lower tier
Not stated by the vendorPer user per month tiers, published; trial without card
Atlanta vendor's test management product, tied to its automation platform
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Test Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Katalon TestOps ties requirements, cases, runs, evidence and defects together, and defects can be drafted for Jira or Azure DevOps. The AI runner executes natural-language steps and records evidence, with a choice of autonomous or approve-each-test mode.
Admins can switch AI off or connect an approved model. Weigh the platform dependency: the strongest claims describe the four-product Katalon stack, and the pricing page we read lists only Studio prices.
What stands out
Katalon platform
AI test runner
Private SaaS
Where it costs you
The TestOps page shows no price, only a trial and a demo request
Hosting is limited to multi-tenant or Katalon-hosted private SaaS
Right for
Teams already on Katalon Studio that want manual and automated results together
Wrong for
Teams that need a published price or their own servers
United StatesTrial without a card; plan price not shown on the product page
Test management software holds test cases and requirements, schedules manual and automated test runs, records results and defects, and reports coverage and release readiness to QA leads and managers. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
9 of the 11 tools here publish what they cost; the other 2 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Testiny, Kiwi TCMS, TestMonitor, Testmo, aqua cloud, QA Touch, SpiraTest, Qase, TestRail.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 11 vendors are established in 7 countries across 4 regions (Europe 5, Elsewhere 3, North America 2, Middle East 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
1 of these are open source: Kiwi TCMS. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
How test management software charges: seat, concurrent user or block
The same team can pay very different amounts depending on the meter. TestRail, Qase, Testiny, QA Touch, TestMonitor and PractiTest charge per user per month. SpiraTest charges for concurrent users and gives unlimited named accounts, so shift teams pay for peak use. Testmo sells blocks: 5, 15 or 25 users are included in each tier's monthly price.
aqua cloud sells separate licences for test management, requirements and test running, with read-only guests at no charge. Kiwi TCMS charges for support and hosting, not for seats. Compare prices only after counting who writes tests, who only executes them and who only reads reports, because Qase, aqua cloud and PractiTest all price those roles differently. Check also whether the quoted price is annual or monthly.
Count writers, executors and read-only viewers separately.
Ask whether the listed price is billed yearly or monthly.
Check what happens to the price when you pass a tier boundary.
Self-hosting and data location: Kiwi TCMS, Testiny Server and TestRail on-premises
Buyers in regulated sectors often ask where test data sits. Kiwi TCMS is open source and ships as a container you run yourself. Testiny offers Testiny Server through Docker or Kubernetes under a negotiated Enterprise plan, while its cloud is hosted in the EU. TestRail states that Professional and Enterprise can run on-premises. SpiraTest and aqua cloud also list on-premises installation.
TestMonitor hosts in Europe only, and PractiTest lets you choose a US, EU or AU data centre. Testmo is cloud only, so it does not suit a team that must install it internally. Treat a vendor's hosting list as the start of the question. Ask which plan carries the option, whether it is priced online, and who patches the installation afterwards.
Ask which tier carries on-premises or a data-centre choice.
Confirm whether self-hosting is bought online or negotiated.
Check where backups and attachments are stored.
Security features on the top tier: SSO, audit logs and SCIM
Most vendors keep identity features for the dearest plan, which changes the real price of a mid-size rollout. Testmo reserves SSO, the audit log and two-factor enforcement for Enterprise. TestRail puts SSO, multi-factor sign-in and audit logs on Enterprise, and Qase offers SAML on Teams but SCIM only on Enterprise.
PractiTest keeps SAML, SCIM and its audit log on Corporate, which also needs ten licences. QA Touch puts SSO and MFA on its top plan. Testiny offers single sign-on from Business and audit logs from Enterprise. Write down which identity features your security team requires before reading a price table, and cost the plan that actually contains them, including any minimum licence count attached to it.
List the identity features your security team requires.
Price the cheapest plan that includes all of them.
Check minimum licence counts on that plan.
Getting data out: what the entry tier will not export
Entry tiers are where lock-in hides. Testiny's permanent tier cannot export CSV or Excel, and it is limited to 1,000 test items. QA Touch caps projects and test cases on its lower tiers, so check an export before relying on one. TestMonitor deletes data one month after a trial lapses, and Kiwi TCMS keeps your own database in your hands.
SpiraTest and PractiTest both advertise import tools from competing products, which signals that migrations are routine, but check the reverse direction too. Qase holds data for 30 days on its permanent tier, two years on Teams and without limit on Enterprise. Before committing, export a full project and open the file, because a CSV that omits attachments or step results is not an exit.
Export a full project and open the file.
Check attachments and step-level results are included.
Ask how long data is kept after a plan lapses.
What goes wrong most often when buying test management software
Choosing on a free tier that caps test items or blocks export, then discovering the cap during a real release cycle.
Buying the cheapest plan and finding that SSO, audit logs or SCIM sit on a tier that costs several times more.
Counting every colleague as a full seat when read-only collaborators, guests or comment users are priced separately.
Treating AI test generation as a deciding feature without checking monthly credit limits, usage caps or whether it can be disabled.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best test management software in 2026?
Testiny leads our ranking of 11. Testiny prices every plan per seat and publishes the numbers, including a permanent tier for three users capped at 1,000 test items in total.
Single sign-on starts at Business, and audit logs and custom roles wait for Enterprise. Self-hosting through Testiny Server is negotiated with sales, so a team wanting its own servers cannot simply buy it online.
Which test management tools publish their pricing?
9 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Testiny: Per user per month, published; trial and a small permanent tier.
Kiwi TCMS: Open source code; paid support and hosting subscriptions published.
TestMonitor: Per user per month, published; 14-day trial, no card.
Testmo: Flat monthly price per tier with users included, published; trial.
aqua cloud: Per licence per month, published; demo-led.
QA Touch: Per user per month, published; permanent entry tier.
SpiraTest: Per concurrent user, published; 30-day trial.
Qase: Per user per month, published; permanent tier for small teams.
TestRail: Per user per month tiers, published; trial without card.
The other 2 quote per organisation.
Is there a free test management tool?
No. None of the 11 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these test management software vendors established?
In 7 countries across 4 regions: Europe 5, Elsewhere 3, North America 2, Middle East 1.
Testiny: Austria.
Kiwi TCMS: Bulgaria.
TestMonitor: Netherlands.
Testmo: Germany.
aqua cloud: Germany.
QA Touch: Not stated by the vendor.
PractiTest: Israel.
SpiraTest: United States.
Qase: Not stated by the vendor.
TestRail: Not stated by the vendor.
Katalon TestOps: United States.
Which test management tools are open source?
Kiwi TCMS.
Which test management tools can you host yourself?
Testiny, Kiwi TCMS, SpiraTest, TestRail. The other 7 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Testiny?
Kiwi TCMS and TestMonitor are the next two on this page. Kiwi TCMS is for Engineering teams that can run containers and want source code they control; TestMonitor is for teams that want European data hosting and requirements, tests and issues in one tool.
Who should not buy Testiny?
Teams that need self-hosting bought and installed without a sales call. Permanent tier is capped at 1,000 test items and blocks CSV and Excel export.
If your test management software product belongs among these 11, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.