Test automation tools run software tests without a person clicking through them, and they range from free code libraries to paid platforms with recorders, AI and device clouds.
This guide ranks twelve products on setup effort in the first ninety days, the real price at working size, how tests can leave, and independence from a partner.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What test automation tools software does
Test automation tools execute scripted or recorded checks against web, mobile, desktop and API software, report pass or fail, and let teams repeat them on every release without manual effort.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each test automation tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Per-product prices published, team tiers via sales; free trial
—
Teams that need real browsers and devices on demand for existing tests
Teams wanting a tool that also writes and maintains their tests
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Codeless web and mobile tests with an AI agent, flat monthly plans
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Test Automation Tools in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Endtest has the shortest path to a first test: record in the Chrome extension or ask the AI Test Creation Agent for a scenario in plain English, then edit the steps.
Real price follows parallel slots, because users, executions and test creation are unlimited on both published tiers. Starter and Pro differ mainly in slots (one to five against two to five) and result retention. Plan on Enterprise if you need six or more parallel tests.
What stands out
Codeless authoring
Unlimited users
AI test creation
Where it costs you
Parallel runs stop at five on Starter and Pro, with six or more needing Enterprise
Starter keeps test results for 30 days and Pro for 90 days
Right for
Small QA teams wanting recorder-built web and mobile tests without per-seat charges
Wrong for
Developers who want tests stored as code in their repository
United StatesMonthly plans published per tier; trial offered; Enterprise by quote
Keyword-driven open-source framework extended through Python and Java libraries
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Test Automation Tools in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Robot Framework costs nothing to adopt, which makes the first ninety days a staffing question rather than a budget one. Tests are written as keywords, and the standard libraries cover core needs while third-party libraries add browsers and more.
The foundation asks companies for an annual fee by number of users, listing €500 for one to two users, which is voluntary support for maintainers. Budget engineer time for libraries, CI and reporting.
What stands out
Open source
Keyword syntax
Foundation-funded
Where it costs you
Browser and mobile automation depend on separate libraries that you choose, install and keep current
robotframework.org lists no hosted execution service, so CI machines are your own
Right for
Teams that want a licence-free, keyword-driven framework and can staff library upkeep
Wrong for
Teams wanting a hosted recorder and device cloud out of the box
Not stated by the vendorFree to use, Apache-2.0 licence; optional foundation membership fee by team size
Visual flow-based test automation from a Copenhagen company, sold by quotation
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Test Automation Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Leapwork keeps the first ninety days about workshops and scoping, because the quote form is the only route to a price and a try-out. The product line is split into Play, Flow and Go, so the real price depends on which of them your estate needs.
Use cases on the site name SAP, Salesforce, Oracle and Microsoft apps. Ask for the licence unit in writing, and for how flows export if you leave.
What stands out
Visual flows
Quote-based
Enterprise apps
Where it costs you
The pricing page only offers a custom quote form, so no price is visible before talking to sales
Three separately named products (Play, Flow, Go) make it harder to see which one covers your need
Right for
Mixed-skill QA teams testing packaged enterprise applications with visual flows
Wrong for
Developers who want tests as plain code under their own control
DenmarkQuoted per organisation; pricing page is a quote form
Plain-English test steps that run on web, mobile, desktop and mainframe targets
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Test Automation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestNorth America
testRigor starts fast: write a step such as purchase a Kindle in plain English, and the engine translates it into actions. The free tier is only suitable for open work, since all tests and results are public.
Private testing needs the Private plan, which includes Ubuntu, Windows, Mac, Android, iOS and Windows native runs and all AI features, but the sign-up page lists no price, so budget time for a quote.
What stands out
Plain English tests
Private plan
AI test generation
Where it costs you
The free plan publishes all tests and results to anyone with the link
The sign-up page shows no price for the Private plan after its 14-day trial
Right for
Manual testers who want to write automated tests in plain English
Wrong for
Teams needing private tests without talking to sales for a price
United StatesPublic plan at no cost; private plan 14-day trial then quoted; Enterprise custom
Playwright browser checks scheduled as monitoring, with plans sized by check volume
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Test Automation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Checkly, Inc. runs Playwright browser checks and API checks on a schedule from 6 to 22 locations, so it answers whether production works rather than whether a build passed.
Plans scale by check count and frequency, with private locations only from the Team tier. A team wanting a pre-release regression suite with test-case authoring will treat it as a complement, not the whole stack.
What stands out
Playwright checks
Synthetic monitoring
Published plans
United StatesFree Hobby plan; Starter and Team published per month; Enterprise custom
Desktop, web and mobile UI automation from Vienna, on floating licences
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Test Automation Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Ranorex Studio suits desktop-heavy estates, since the licensing page lists WinForms and WPF testing next to web and mobile. Tests are built with a visual recorder or in C#, with a shared object repository.
Real price depends on mixing Studio and Runtime licences, because Runtime only executes and needs a Studio or Enterprise licence for authoring. The vendor lists floating licences on physical and virtual machines. Ask for a quote with execution counts.
What stands out
Desktop UI testing
Floating licences
Codeless and C#
Where it costs you
Studio Runtime executes tests only and requires at least one Studio or Enterprise licence for creation
The licensing page shows no prices, only a quote request
Right for
Teams automating Windows desktop applications as well as web and mobile
Wrong for
Teams wanting published prices or a pure browser-based workflow
AustriaQuoted per organisation; licensing page shows no prices
Open-source test runner with a paid cloud for parallel runs and analytics
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Test Automation Tools in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingNorth America
Cypress costs nothing to start, as the MIT-licensed app runs locally and you pay only for Cypress Cloud. Starter allows 10 users and 500 test results a month, which a medium suite exceeds within days.
Team adds flake detection and Jira integration, and Business adds SSO and re-run optimisation. Count results per month before choosing a tier, since each tier above Starter meters by year.
What stands out
Open source
Paid cloud
JavaScript testing
Where it costs you
Cloud plans cap test results (500 a month on Starter, 120k a year on Team and Business)
SSO and spec prioritisation start at the Business tier
Right for
Front-end teams that already write tests in code and want parallel cloud runs
Wrong for
Testers who want a codeless tool without engineering involvement
United StatesFree open-source app; Cloud plans from a free Starter, then published tiers
The W3C WebDriver standard, with bindings in six languages, free under Apache-2.0
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Test Automation Tools in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingNorth America
Selenium has no licence cost, but the first ninety days go into choosing a test runner, reporting and a place to run browsers.
The project describes itself as a suite for automating web browsers, with six official language bindings and Selenium downloading browser drivers by itself. Real cost is engineer time and any grid or cloud you add. Exit is easy, since scripts are plain code in your repository.
What stands out
Open source
WebDriver standard
Six languages
Where it costs you
It automates browsers only, so test runners, reporting and execution infrastructure are yours to assemble
The project site lists no paid support plan, so help comes from community channels
Right for
Engineering-led teams wanting a vendor-neutral browser driver in their own language
Wrong for
Non-programmers needing a recorder, hosted execution or vendor support
United StatesFree to use, Apache-2.0 licence; no commercial tier
Studio authoring with a free local edition and per-seat paid tiers
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Test Automation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Katalon starts free: the Studio free edition authors and runs tests locally with record and playback, and the vendor offers a 30-day trial of the paid tiers. Real price grows with add-ons, since CI execution needs Runtime Engine licences and cloud runs need TestCloud.
Professional adds parallel execution, BDD and AI self-healing per seat. Add the seat count and the execution licences before comparing it with open-source stacks.
What stands out
Studio IDE
Per-seat licences
TestOps and TestCloud
Where it costs you
The free edition excludes parallel execution, Cucumber and Gherkin support and AI self-healing
Headless and CI/CD execution needs a Runtime Engine add-on, and cloud runs need TestCloud
Right for
Mixed-skill teams moving from manual testing to scripts across web, API and mobile
Wrong for
Teams wanting one all-in-one price covering CI runs and cloud execution
United StatesFree local edition; Professional per seat per month published; Enterprise by quote
Agentic web, mobile and API test platform sold on a single quote
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Test Automation Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
mabl offers a free trial, then moves to quoted pricing: the vendor states that one payment covers web, mobile, API, accessibility and performance testing, with unlimited local runs and cloud concurrency at no extra cost.
That simplifies budgeting across teams, but the price is opaque until you ask. Agents create, run, analyse and maintain tests, with teams in control. Request the licence metric and the export format for tests in writing.
What stands out
Agentic testing
Quote-based
Web, mobile, API
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows no figures and only a Request a Quote button
One shared price across all test types means you cannot buy only web testing at a lower rate
Right for
Organisations testing web, mobile and API across several teams on one contract
Wrong for
Small teams wanting a published monthly rate before talking to sales
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation; trial available
Open-source end-to-end test runner covering Chromium, Firefox and WebKit
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Test Automation Tools in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Playwright installs with one command and has no licence cost, so the first ninety days go to writing tests and wiring CI. The runner isolates each test in a fresh browser context, waits for elements automatically and shards across machines.
Its listed languages are TypeScript, Python, .NET and Java. Real cost is engineer time and the machines or cloud you run it on, since the site offers no managed plan.
What stands out
Open source
Cross-browser
Four languages
Where it costs you
playwright.dev lists no hosted execution or paid support, so CI machines and reporting are yours
Tests are code, so the tool assumes developers or test engineers who can write TypeScript, Python, .NET or Java
Right for
Developer-led teams wanting one free runner across three browser engines
Wrong for
Non-programmers needing a recorder-first workflow or a managed service
Not stated by the vendorFree to use, Apache-2.0 licence; no commercial tier
Cloud of real browsers and devices for running tests, priced per product
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Test Automation Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
BrowserStack starts quickly because a free trial is offered and the cloud needs no machines of your own. Prices are listed per product: Live is billed per user per month on annual terms, and a Freelancer plan includes 100 minutes of Live.
Test automation and team plans route to Contact Sales, so real price depends on parallel sessions. Compare it with running Playwright or Selenium on your own CI machines.
What stands out
Browser and device cloud
Per-product pricing
Free trial
Where it costs you
It runs tests but does not replace a framework, so you still need a runner such as Selenium or Playwright
Team-level plans send buyers to Contact Sales, and the Freelancer plan includes only 100 minutes of Live
Right for
Teams that need real browsers and devices on demand for existing tests
Wrong for
Teams wanting a tool that also writes and maintains their tests
Not stated by the vendorPer-product prices published, team tiers via sales; free trial
Test automation tools execute scripted or recorded checks against web, mobile, desktop and API software, report pass or fail, and let teams repeat them on every release without manual effort. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
8 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 4 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Endtest, Robot Framework, Checkly, Cypress, Selenium, Katalon, Playwright, BrowserStack.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 4 countries across 3 regions (North America 6, Elsewhere 4, Europe 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
4 of these are open source: Robot Framework, Cypress, Selenium, Playwright. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Open-source runner, codeless platform or device cloud: three different purchases
Test automation tools cover three jobs that vendors blur together. Playwright, Selenium and Cypress are runners: you write tests as code and run them yourself. Endtest, testRigor and mabl are authoring platforms that record or generate tests and host their execution. BrowserStack is a cloud of browsers and devices that runs tests written elsewhere.
Robot Framework sits between, using keywords over libraries. Comparing a runner with a platform on price alone misleads, because the runner is free and hides the cost in engineering hours, while the platform charges money and hides the cost in lock-in. Decide who writes the tests first, developers or testers, then shortlist within that group, and trial two tools from it on the same real scenario.
Name who will write and fix tests in year one.
List whether you need authoring, execution or both.
Check where tests live and whether you can export them.
Pricing units: seats, parallel slots, check counts and test results
Each vendor meters something different, so quotes cannot be lined up directly. Endtest publishes Starter and Pro tiers with unlimited users and charges by parallel slots. Katalon bills Professional per seat, then adds Runtime Engine and TestCloud for CI and cloud runs. Cypress Cloud caps test results, 500 a month on Starter. Checkly counts browser checks and locations.
Leapwork, mabl and Ranorex quote per organisation, with Ranorex splitting authoring and Runtime licences. Convert every offer into a yearly figure at your own suite size: tests, runs per day and parallel jobs, including any add-on needed for CI runs. A flat unlimited plan can beat a cheap metered one after the first growth spurt.
Estimate daily test runs and peak parallel jobs.
Ask which metric triggers the next price tier.
Request a written yearly figure at your volume.
Target platforms decide the shortlist: browser, mobile or desktop
A tool that excels at browsers can still fail your application. Playwright covers Chromium, Firefox and WebKit, and Selenium drives Chrome, Firefox, Edge and Safari, but neither tests a WinForms or WPF desktop program. Ranorex lists desktop, web and mobile, and testRigor lists web, Android, iOS and desktop targets.
Katalon names web, API, mobile and Windows desktop testing, with desktop only in its paid editions. Write down every platform you must cover in the next two years, including packaged systems such as SAP or Salesforce, then remove any product that omits one of them, however good its demo looked. Trying the same login flow in each tool exposes gaps quickly, before any contract exists.
List every browser, device and desktop target you must cover.
Run one real login flow in each shortlisted tool.
Check which edition carries the platform you need.
Trials, public tests and the limits that appear after sign-up
Free access often hides a condition. testRigor's no-cost plan makes every test and result public, so confidential applications need the Private plan. Katalon's free Studio edition lacks parallel execution, BDD and AI self-healing. BrowserStack's Freelancer plan includes 100 minutes of Live testing, and Checkly's Hobby plan has no private locations.
Endtest keeps results for 30 days on Starter. Read the plan comparison table before you start, and trial with your real suite instead of a demo app, so limits show up early. Record the exact date a trial ends, because moving to a quoted vendor such as Leapwork or mabl takes weeks of sales contact, and tests built in the trial may not leave in a usable format.
Confirm whether trial tests and results stay private.
Note result retention and parallel limits per plan.
Test an export of your tests before you commit.
What goes wrong most often when buying test automation tools software
Buying a codeless platform for a team of developers who then keep writing Playwright code beside it.
Treating a free runner such as Selenium as a finished solution and forgetting grid, reporting and maintenance hours.
Comparing list prices across vendors that meter seats, parallel slots, test results and checks differently.
Choosing a browser tool first and discovering later that desktop or packaged-application tests are missing.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best test automation tools in 2026?
Endtest leads our ranking of 12. Endtest Inc. is a Delaware company whose Starter and Pro plans share unlimited users, unlimited test runs and unlimited AI, so cost rises with parallel slots rather than headcount.
Parallelism is capped at five tests below Enterprise, and Starter keeps results for 30 days. Teams that want tests written as code in their own repository will find an editor-and-recorder tool instead.
Which test automation tools publish their pricing?
8 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Endtest: Monthly plans published per tier; trial offered; Enterprise by quote.
Robot Framework: Free to use, Apache-2.0 licence; optional foundation membership fee by team size.
Checkly: Free Hobby plan; Starter and Team published per month; Enterprise custom.
Cypress: Free open-source app; Cloud plans from a free Starter, then published tiers.
Selenium: Free to use, Apache-2.0 licence; no commercial tier.
Katalon: Free local edition; Professional per seat per month published; Enterprise by quote.
Playwright: Free to use, Apache-2.0 licence; no commercial tier.
BrowserStack: Per-product prices published, team tiers via sales; free trial.
The other 4 quote per organisation.
Is there a free test automation tool?
Robot Framework, testRigor, Checkly, Cypress, Selenium, Katalon, Playwright offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these test automation tool vendors established?
In 4 countries across 3 regions: North America 6, Elsewhere 4, Europe 2.
Endtest: United States.
Robot Framework: Not stated by the vendor.
Leapwork: Denmark.
testRigor: United States.
Checkly: United States.
Ranorex Studio: Austria.
Cypress: United States.
Selenium: United States.
Katalon: United States.
mabl: Not stated by the vendor.
Playwright: Not stated by the vendor.
BrowserStack: Not stated by the vendor.
Which test automation tools are open source?
Robot Framework, Cypress, Selenium, Playwright.
What should you use instead of Endtest?
Robot Framework and Leapwork are the next two on this page. Robot Framework is for teams that want a licence-free, keyword-driven framework and can staff library upkeep; Leapwork is for Mixed-skill QA teams testing packaged enterprise applications with visual flows.
Who should not buy Endtest?
Developers who want tests stored as code in their repository. Parallel runs stop at five on Starter and Pro, with six or more needing Enterprise.
If your test automation tools product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.