Best Cloud Security Posture Management Software in 2026
Cloud security posture management software checks your AWS, Azure and Google Cloud accounts for misconfigurations and compliance gaps.
This guide ranks eleven products on first-ninety-day effort, the invoice once modules and growth are added, how findings and reports leave, and whether you can buy and run it without a bundle.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What cloud security posture management software does
Cloud security posture management software continuously inspects cloud accounts and workloads for misconfiguration, excessive exposure and compliance drift, then reports prioritised findings against frameworks such as CIS Benchmarks.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each cloud security posture management tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Free foundational CSPM; Defender CSPM billed per resource after a 30-day trial
Yes
Azure-centred companies wanting a posture baseline at no licence cost
Teams with no Azure footprint and little Microsoft tooling
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Apache-licensed scanner with a hosted version billed per cloud account
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Cloud Security Posture Management Software in 2026.
Open sourcePublished pricingNorth America
Prowler OSS is released under the Apache 2.0 licence, and Prowler Cloud is hosted by the same company, billed per cloud account per month with a 7-day trial that has no account limit.
The pricing page counts an AWS account, a GCP project or an Azure subscription as one unit, and a Microsoft 365 tenant or GitHub repository as one too. The risk is cost at scale: every extra account adds a line, and private deployment needs a conversation.
What stands out
Open source CLI
Per-account pricing
Multi-cloud
Where it costs you
The billing unit is the cloud account, so organisations with very many small accounts pay per account.
Running the CLI yourself means you maintain scan schedules, storage and dashboards, which the hosted plan takes over.
Right for
Small security teams that want to read the code and pay only for accounts
Wrong for
Companies with hundreds of tiny accounts and no automation budget
United StatesPublished per cloud account per month, 7-day trial; the CLI is open source
Kubernetes-centred posture and runtime platform built on Kubescape
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Cloud Security Posture Management Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestMiddle East
ARMO is operated by Cyber Armor Ltd, registered in Israel, and builds its platform on Kubescape, an Apache 2.0 project, so part of the engine can be tested without a contract.
The vendor lists continuous CSPM, KSPM and runtime detection as solutions. Its pricing page says cost depends on the number of vCPUs and other cloud resources and asks you to book a call. Expect to scope the cluster inventory before a quote.
What stands out
Kubescape core
Kubernetes focus
Open source engine
Where it costs you
The platform centres on Kubernetes, so non-container assets receive less attention than in a general posture tool.
Pricing depends on vCPUs and other resources and is given only after a meeting.
Right for
Platform teams whose estate is mostly Kubernetes clusters on managed clouds
Wrong for
Buyers whose assets are mostly virtual machines, databases and buckets
IsraelQuoted per organisation, based on vCPUs and other cloud resources
Runtime-first cloud security platform with posture management as one module
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Cloud Security Posture Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Upwind's navigation lists CSPM, CIEM, DSPM, AI-SPM, API security and cloud detection and response, so posture is part of a wider platform. The about page says it was founded by the team behind Spot.io, later acquired by NetApp.
The pricing URL returns a not-found page and the home page offers only a demo. The terms page we could read does not name the provider entity, so ask for it in writing before procurement starts.
What stands out
Runtime focus
CSPM and CIEM
Demo-led sales
Where it costs you
The vendor pages show no price and no trial, only a demo request.
The country and contracting entity are not stated on the pages we could read.
Right for
Teams that value runtime detail and accept a demo-led purchase process
Wrong for
Buyers who need public prices or a named legal entity first
Not stated by the vendorNot stated on the vendor pages; demo only
Posture checks extended with live workload visibility for container fleets
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Cloud Security Posture Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Sysdig, Inc. lists its headquarters in Raleigh, North Carolina, and the licensing text says CNAPP is based on the number of hosts, with compute instances counted for CSPM. The CNAPP offering bundles CSPM, CIEM, compliance and IaC security.
Detection and response is licensed per host plus events processed. The open-source Falco project is listed on the site. Without published amounts, request the host count assumptions in writing.
What stands out
Falco project listed
Host-based licensing
CSPM with workload context
Where it costs you
Licensing counts hosts, which makes cost swing with autoscaling fleets.
The pricing page names no amounts and offers a demo rather than a trial.
Right for
Container-heavy teams that want posture findings tied to running workloads
Wrong for
Teams that only need configuration checks on a handful of accounts
United StatesQuoted per organisation; licensed per host for the CNAPP offering
Code-to-runtime platform where CSPM sits under posture management
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Cloud Security Posture Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestMiddle East
Aqua says it was founded in 2015 and is headquartered in Boston and Ramat Gan, Israel. Its pricing page prices Cloud Security by workloads such as EC2 instances, Fargate containers and Lambda functions, and Dev Security by code repositories.
CSPM covers inventory, configuration checks and compliance reporting. Trials are requested through a demo form. Plan on a staged agent rollout and a workload count that grows with serverless.
What stands out
Runtime enforcement
Air-gap capable
Workload-based pricing
Where it costs you
Enforcement relies on agents, so rollout takes engineering time on every workload type.
Prices are quoted and depend on workload and repository counts.
Right for
Regulated teams needing runtime enforcement, including in disconnected or air-gapped environments
Wrong for
Teams wanting a posture view in days with no agent installation
IsraelQuoted per organisation; priced per workload or per code repository
Agentless scanner that reads cloud workloads without installing software
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Cloud Security Posture Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestMiddle East
Orca scans through its SideScanning technology without agents, and its CSPM page cites over 2,500 configuration controls and checks against more than 150 frameworks.
That shortens the first weeks, because nothing is installed on workloads. The trade-off is that without a runtime sensor you see configuration and exposure, not live process behaviour, and the cost is only discussed after a demo.
Lacework-derived CNAPP now sold inside the Fortinet portfolio
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Cloud Security Posture Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
FortiCNAPP is described by Fortinet as built natively for the cloud from Lacework technology, with CSPM, KSPM, CIEM, CWPP and policy-as-code named as components. Fortinet lists its headquarters at 909 Kifer Road, Sunnyvale, California.
The page links a Free Trials page, a product demo and an ordering guide but states no price. The gain is one vendor for firewall and cloud, the loss is a portfolio shaped around Fortinet.
What stands out
Lacework technology
Part of Fortinet
CNAPP
Where it costs you
The brand transition from Lacework is visible, with Lacework logins still on the page.
No prices appear on the product page, only trial, demo and an ordering guide.
Right for
Fortinet customers wanting cloud posture under their existing vendor contract
Wrong for
Buyers who want an independent specialist with no network-vendor bundle
United StatesTrial and demo pages offered; ordering guide, no prices shown
Posture management from a network-security vendor with firewall roots
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Cloud Security Posture Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestMiddle East
Check Point Software Technologies Ltd. gives its address as 5 Shlomo Kaplan Street, Tel Aviv, Israel. The CloudGuard page frames posture inside a CNAPP section that promises misconfiguration detection, best-practice enforcement and risk prioritisation, and quotes a customer about management risk reports.
A trial link and a demo link are offered with no terms. Treat feature depth as unconfirmed until you test it.
What stands out
Check Point portfolio
Firewall integration
CNAPP
Where it costs you
The product page names no specific CSPM features, so capability checks need a demo.
No prices are stated and the trial link carries no terms.
Right for
Organisations already running Check Point gateways and management who want one vendor
Wrong for
Teams wanting independent posture software with public documentation first
IsraelNo prices stated on the product page; trial link and demo offered
Agentless graph-based posture scanner with the widest rule library here
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Cloud Security Posture Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Wiz builds an inventory through cloud provider APIs without agents and cites over 2,800 configuration rules and more than 250 compliance frameworks.
Attack-path analysis joins misconfigurations with exposure, identities and vulnerabilities. The pricing page offers Wiz One, Wiz Go and an à la carte route but no amounts, so the real invoice is known only after a quote.
What stands out
Agentless
Security Graph
2,800 rules
United StatesQuoted per organisation through a pricing request form
Palo Alto Networks code-to-cloud suite with CSPM as one module
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Cloud Security Posture Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Palo Alto Networks lists its headquarters at 3000 Tannery Way, Santa Clara. The Prisma Cloud page places Cloud Security Posture Management under infrastructure and says licensing is credit-based, offering flexibility across usage models.
It also introduces Cortex Cloud with Precision AI while still showing Prisma Cloud in navigation. Ask which product name and credit table your quote uses, since module costs are not shown.
What stands out
Credit licensing
Palo Alto Networks
Full CNAPP
Where it costs you
Credit licensing spreads cost across modules, so a posture-only budget is hard to isolate.
The product page promotes Cortex Cloud as well, which can confuse contract naming.
Right for
Large security teams buying one suite across code, posture and runtime
Wrong for
Small teams wanting only posture checks at a clear unit price
United StatesCredit-based licensing; prices not stated on the product page
Azure-native posture service that also connects AWS and Google Cloud
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Cloud Security Posture Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Microsoft Corporation lists its address as One Microsoft Way, Redmond. The documentation names Foundational CSPM as free and Defender CSPM as paid, with attack path analysis, AI security posture and agentless scanning in the paid plan.
The pricing page says the first 30 days are free. Billing counts servers, storage accounts, databases, and serverless items where eight functions equal one billable resource, which rewards a resource audit before enabling.
What stands out
Azure-native
Foundational plan
Multicloud connectors
Where it costs you
Advanced features need the paid Defender CSPM plan, billed per counted resource.
Azure gets the deepest integration; AWS and GCP need connectors and more setup.
Right for
Azure-centred companies wanting a posture baseline at no licence cost
Wrong for
Teams with no Azure footprint and little Microsoft tooling
United StatesFree foundational CSPM; Defender CSPM billed per resource after a 30-day trial
How to choose cloud security posture management software
Cloud security posture management software continuously inspects cloud accounts and workloads for misconfiguration, excessive exposure and compliance drift, then reports prioritised findings against frameworks such as CIS Benchmarks. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
2 of the 11 tools here publish what they cost; the other 9 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Prowler, Microsoft Defender for Cloud.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 11 vendors are established in 3 countries across 3 regions (North America 6, Middle East 4, Elsewhere 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
2 of these are open source: Prowler, ARMO. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Choosing cloud security posture management software by agent model
Start with how a product collects data. Wiz builds its inventory through cloud provider APIs without agents, and Orca Security describes itself as agentless, which gets inventory in quickly. Aqua Security enforces through agents and can run in disconnected environments, and Sysdig ties posture to running hosts. An agentless scan sees misconfiguration and exposure but not live process behaviour, while agents add rollout work on every workload type.
Decide whether your first need is an audit for compliance or protection of what runs, because the answer sets how many weeks the first ninety days take. Ask each vendor which clouds and asset types the agentless method covers, and write down which features stay blocked until a sensor is installed on the workload.
Ask which assets are scanned without any install
List which checks need an agent or sensor
Time a trial connection against two real accounts
Pricing units differ more than the amounts
Prowler bills per cloud account, Sysdig licenses per host, Aqua Security prices workloads and repositories, ARMO uses vCPUs and other resources, and Prisma Cloud spends credits across modules. Microsoft Defender for Cloud bills counted resources such as storage accounts and databases, with serverless functions grouped eight to one.
The same estate can look cheap under one unit and costly under another, so count your accounts, hosts, workloads and vCPUs before you ask for a quote. Most vendors in this list show no amounts on their pages, so request the unit definition in writing and a price for the estate size you expect in twelve months, including the rate for added units.
Count accounts, hosts and vCPUs before asking for quotes
Request the unit definition and growth price in writing
Model the invoice at double your current estate
Exit and evidence: keeping the findings you have paid for
Compliance work produces evidence for auditors, and you should know exactly where that evidence lives and who can read it. Prowler and ARMO build on Apache-licensed engines, so scan logic stays inspectable even if you leave the hosted service. Microsoft Defender for Cloud lists data exporting in both its free and paid CSPM plans, while for the other vendors we saw no export terms on the pages reviewed.
Ask each vendor how long findings are kept, in which format reports leave, and what happens to custom rules when the contract ends. Keep a quarterly export of your compliance reports so an audit does not depend on a live subscription or on one particular login.
Ask which export formats and API limits apply
Check retention of findings after the contract ends
Keep quarterly compliance reports outside the tool
Independence: who sells it and what else is bundled
FortiCNAPP comes with Fortinet, Check Point CloudGuard with Check Point, Prisma Cloud with Palo Alto Networks and Microsoft Defender for Cloud with Azure, so the real price may involve a wider vendor relationship. Independent specialists such as Upwind, Orca Security and Prowler sell posture as their main product.
That matters for negotiation and for exit, because a specialist has fewer ways to push other products on you: a bundle gives one contract but can tie discounts to unrelated purchases. Confirm the contracting entity, since Upwind does not name one on the pages we read, and ask whether features move between licence tiers during the term, since that changes the invoice after you have signed.
Confirm the legal entity named in the contract
Ask whether discounts depend on other products
Check which modules are included in the quoted tier
What goes wrong most often when buying cloud security posture management software
Comparing list prices without converting each vendor's unit, whether account, host, vCPU, workload or credit, to your own estate.
Treating a successful trial on one account as proof that agentless scanning covers serverless, Kubernetes and managed databases.
Buying a bundle for the posture module and then discovering that attack paths or data posture sit in a higher tier.
Leaving compliance evidence only inside the tool, so an audit depends on an active subscription and a working login.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best cloud security posture management software in 2026?
Prowler leads our ranking of 11. The open-source Prowler CLI runs under Apache 2.0, and the hosted Prowler Cloud is billed per cloud account, so you can start with the code and add the paid platform later without a sales call.
The unit is the catch: every AWS account, GCP project and Azure subscription counts, so a company with hundreds of small accounts pays for each one.
Which cloud security posture management tools publish their pricing?
2 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Prowler: Published per cloud account per month, 7-day trial; the CLI is open source.
Microsoft Defender for Cloud: Free foundational CSPM; Defender CSPM billed per resource after a 30-day trial.
The other 9 quote per organisation.
Is there a free cloud security posture management tool?
Microsoft Defender for Cloud offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these cloud security posture management software vendors established?
In 3 countries across 3 regions: North America 6, Middle East 4, Elsewhere 1.
Prowler: United States.
ARMO: Israel.
Upwind: Not stated by the vendor.
Sysdig: United States.
Aqua Security: Israel.
Orca Security: Israel.
FortiCNAPP: United States.
Check Point CloudGuard: Israel.
Wiz: United States.
Prisma Cloud: United States.
Microsoft Defender for Cloud: United States.
Which cloud security posture management tools are open source?
Prowler, ARMO.
What should you use instead of Prowler?
ARMO and Upwind are the next two on this page. ARMO is for Platform teams whose estate is mostly Kubernetes clusters on managed clouds; Upwind is for teams that value runtime detail and accept a demo-led purchase process.
Who should not buy Prowler?
Companies with hundreds of tiny accounts and no automation budget. The billing unit is the cloud account, so organisations with very many small accounts pay per account..
If your cloud security posture management software product belongs among these 11, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.