Product analytics software records what users do inside a web or mobile product and turns it into funnels, retention curves and cohorts.
This guide ranks twelve tools on how long set-up takes in the first ninety days, the price once replay and governance are added, how data leaves, and whether you can run without a partner.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What product analytics software does
Product analytics software captures user actions inside an app or website and reports funnels, retention, cohorts and paths, showing which features users adopt and where they drop off.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each product analytics tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Quoted per organisation by monthly active users in Base, Core and Ultimate
—
Analytics and in-app guides priced by monthly active users, not events
—
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Event-priced web and product analytics from Stockholm, hosted in Germany
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Product Analytics Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingEurope
OpenPanel is the lightest route into product analytics: unlimited users, projects and dashboards, and a 30-day trial. A 100K-event plan costs $20 monthly, a 1M plan $90, so cost follows traffic alone.
Data sits on Hetzner in Germany with backups on Cloudflare R2 in the EU, and AGPL-3.0 code lets a team run its own copy. Plan for engineering time if you self-host.
What stands out
AGPL-3.0
Event-based pricing
EU hosting
Where it costs you
Pricing page lists steps only up to 50M events a month, with a custom option above
The vendor states no warehouse sync or governed metric layer
Right for
Small product teams wanting EU-hosted event analytics with predictable event-based billing
Wrong for
Data teams that must run analysis inside their own warehouse
SwedenPublished, set by monthly event volume; 30-day free trial; self-host for free
Product analytics that runs as queries on your own data warehouse
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Product Analytics Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Mitzu costs few setup hours if the warehouse exists: connect it and a semantic layer is built for you. Real price depends on seats and AI insights.
Analyst is $149 a month with three editors and 300 insights, Team is $749 with ten editors and unlimited viewers, and extra editors cost $50 to $75 each. Exit is simple because the data never left your warehouse, which is the main argument for it.
What stands out
Warehouse-native
Seat-based
AI agents
Where it costs you
The Analyst plan includes no viewers, so only editors can open reports
Needs event data already modelled in a supported warehouse
Right for
Data-led teams already holding product events in Snowflake, BigQuery or Databricks
Wrong for
Startups that have no warehouse and want tracking snippets
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly plans with unlimited events; 14-day trial; Enterprise quoted
Person-level analytics tying campaigns to signups and payments
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Product Analytics Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Kissmetrics costs a few hours to start, since the site offers install with AI in about five minutes and ready schemas for SaaS and stores. Free covers 100k events and three seats.
Growth is $99 monthly for 500k events and $299 at 2M, with unlimited seats, and annual billing saves 20 percent. Data can leave through exports of any report on Growth. A single vendor sells it, so no partner is needed.
What stands out
Revenue per campaign
Person-based
Event tiers
Where it costs you
Campaign performance reports and export need the Growth plan
Per-event pricing grows with every extra tracked action
Right for
Marketing-led SaaS and e-commerce teams tying campaigns to paying customers
Wrong for
Engineering teams wanting session replay, flags and experiments in one tool
Not stated by the vendorFree up to a monthly event limit, then published tiers by event volume; Growth billed monthly or yearly
Analytics sold as private cloud or a self-hosted install, no seat fees
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Product Analytics Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingEurope
Countly is one of few tools in this list that you can run on your own servers: Enterprise is self-hosted with no default vendor access. Flex starts at $175 monthly with a 14-day trial, billed on usage rather than seats.
The first-90-days cost is higher than a snippet tool because regions, add-ons and deployment need choosing. Adding Adaptivity and Intelligence raises the bill, so price the full set before signing.
What stands out
Self-hosted option
Private cloud
Usage-based
Where it costs you
Funnels, retention and flows require the Intelligence add-on on Flex
Self-hosting is part of the quoted Enterprise tier only
Right for
Teams needing analytics on their own infrastructure or in a chosen cloud region
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a free entry tier to test on live traffic
United KingdomFlex plan published and usage-based, 14-day trial; Enterprise self-hosted, quoted
Warehouse-native experiments and flags with a product analytics module
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Product Analytics Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
GrowthBook analyses results by querying your own warehouse, so event data stays where it already lives. The self-hosted route uses Docker Compose with MongoDB, an Express API and a Next.js front end.
On the cloud, Pro costs a listed amount per seat with up to 30 users, while Enterprise adds approvals, SSO, SCIM and audit exports. Statistics options include Bayesian, frequentist, sequential tests and CUPED.
What stands out
Experimentation
Feature flags
Warehouse-native
Where it costs you
Free plan stops at three users and one project, so a growing team hits the cap early.
Running it yourself means operating MongoDB, the API and the front end.
Right for
Engineering-led teams with a data warehouse who want experiments and flags without per-event fees
Wrong for
Marketers who want a hosted visual editor and no data engineer
Not stated by the vendorPublished; free Starter, Pro per seat per month, Enterprise quoted; self-hosted option
Mobile-first behaviour analytics with replay, funnels and an AI analyst
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Product Analytics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
UXCam gets a team from install to answers quickly through a full-feature trial, but the real price is a quote built on monthly sessions and team size.
Funnels, retention, segments, replay and heatmaps are named on the site, along with an AI analyst called Tara and an MCP connection. The privacy policy lists a San Francisco company address and says services are hosted in the United States.
What stands out
Mobile apps
Session replay
AI analyst
Where it costs you
No price is shown, only a quote form answered within 24 hours
Built around mobile apps, with web analytics a separate offering
Right for
Mobile product teams combining funnels with session replay and heatmaps
Wrong for
Teams that need a published price before talking to anyone
United StatesQuoted per organisation from monthly session volume; full-feature trial
Customer-journey analytics with people profiles, owned by Appier
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Product Analytics Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Woopra's strength is the person profile: every event, property change and segment join is counted and attached to a person. The costly part is the quota, because property updates count as events, so a busy CRM sync can exhaust volume quickly.
Pro starts at $999 monthly with 50 seats and 24 months retention. Data warehouse sync, which eases exit, is reserved for Enterprise.
What stands out
Journey reports
People profiles
Appier group
Where it costs you
Pro starts at 5M+ events a month, a high entry point for small teams
Warehouse sync and SSO require Enterprise
Right for
Funded companies tracking whole customer journeys across web and app touchpoints
Wrong for
Early-stage teams with low event volume and tight budgets
United StatesPro plan published from a monthly price at 5M events; 30-day trial; Enterprise quoted
Event analytics bundled with replay, flags and experiments, billed by usage
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Product Analytics Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
PostHog gives every product a monthly allowance, among them 1M analytics events, 5K recordings and 1M flag requests, and charges only beyond it. It bundles analytics with replay, flags, experiments, surveys and error tracking, which suits engineering-led teams.
Recordings are kept for one month on the free allowance and 90 days on pay as you go, and the long product list makes the final bill hard to forecast.
What stands out
Usage-based
Bundled products
MIT product
United StatesFree monthly allowance on every product, then usage-based billing with a card
Event analytics with a free tier of 1M events and unlimited seats
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Product Analytics Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Mixpanel's free tier allows 1M events a month, 10K session replays and unlimited seats, and every plan carries replay, heatmaps, experiments and flags. Growth lifts the limit to 20M events and 100K experiment users, with only five alerts.
Anomaly detection, root cause analysis and first-party tracking domains sit in Enterprise, which is quoted, so a growing company meets a sales call for governance features.
What stands out
Free tier
Event-based
Unlimited seats
Not stated by the vendorFree tier, Growth from zero with volume pricing, Enterprise quoted
Auto-captured events in four tiers, with replay sold as an add-on
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Product Analytics Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Heap's pricing page lists Free, Growth, Pro and Premier, and its AI assistant is named as Contentsquare's Sense. Free is capped at 10k monthly sessions, Growth adds 12 months of history and CSV export, and account analytics arrives with Pro.
Session replay is an add-on from Pro and a data warehouse integration starts at Premier, so a team needing both pays for the two highest tiers.
What stands out
Auto-capture
Four tiers
Replay add-on
United StatesFree tier by session volume, Growth, Pro and Premier tiers; Pro and Premier quoted by sessions
Product analytics with 2M monthly events on the entry plan
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Product Analytics Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Amplitude's Plus plan starts at zero with the first 2M events a month included, and it asks for a credit card. It limits Plus to 20 behavioural cohorts and 10,000 replay sessions, and conversion drivers and saved metrics need a higher plan.
Growth is priced by event volume through sales, so a company that outgrows Plus moves from a published page to a negotiated one.
What stands out
Behavioural cohorts
Entry plan
Replay add-on
United StatesPlus plan published from zero with 2M events included; Growth quoted by event volume
Analytics and in-app guides priced by monthly active users, not events
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Product Analytics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Pendo bundles analytics with in-app guides, so a buyer who wants analytics alone still gets the guide product in the quote. Base, Core and Ultimate all say request pricing with a custom MAU volume.
Session replay starts at Core, and sentiment surveys and data sync only at Ultimate. A separate Novus product is in free beta, but the three main plans show no price to compare.
What stands out
MAU-based
In-app guides
Three plans
United StatesQuoted per organisation by monthly active users in Base, Core and Ultimate
Product analytics software captures user actions inside an app or website and reports funnels, retention, cohorts and paths, showing which features users adopt and where they drop off. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
10 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 2 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: OpenPanel, Mitzu, Kissmetrics, Countly, GrowthBook, Woopra, PostHog, Mixpanel, Heap, Amplitude.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 4 countries across 3 regions (North America 6, Elsewhere 4, Europe 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Event-based, warehouse-native or session-based: three different products
Product analytics tools differ in where the data lives. Mixpanel, Amplitude and Kissmetrics store events in their own cloud and meter on volume. Mitzu and GrowthBook read tables in a warehouse you already own, so events are never copied. UXCam leans on sessions for mobile apps, and Pendo meters on monthly active users.
The meter decides the bill: a consumer app with many events and few users pays differently from a B2B tool with few events and many accounts. Count your monthly events and your active users before comparing any two plans, because one number can differ by an order of magnitude. Vendors also count differently: Woopra counts property changes as events, which a busy CRM sync can multiply, while Heap counts sessions.
Count events and monthly active users for last quarter.
Ask which meter the vendor uses and what overage costs.
Check whether the tool needs a warehouse before you start.
Free tiers and trials: what each one lets you prove
Free access in this market tests different things. Mixpanel allows 1M events and unlimited seats, PostHog gives every product a monthly allowance, Kissmetrics stops at 100k events, and Heap's free tier stops at 10k sessions. Mitzu, Countly and Woopra offer trials instead, 14 to 30 days, and Pendo and UXCam quote after a form.
A trial that ends before your first funnel has enough data proves nothing, so line it up with a release date. Start with the limit that blocks a real decision, such as retention windows or cohort counts, not the headline event number. Amplitude's Plus plan, for instance, caps behavioural cohorts at 20, which matters more to a lifecycle team than the 2M events.
Check which reports the free tier or trial excludes.
Note the replay, retention and cohort limits per plan.
Set the trial start after instrumentation is merged.
Where the data lives and how it leaves
Exit is a product question here. Countly Enterprise runs on your infrastructure, OpenPanel can be self-hosted under AGPL-3.0 and stores its cloud data in Germany, and Mitzu leaves data in your warehouse. Kissmetrics offers exports of any report on Growth, while Woopra puts warehouse sync in Enterprise and Heap puts its data warehouse integration in Premier.
A vendor-hosted event store with no raw export means analysis history stays behind if you switch. Ask for a raw export of one week of events during the trial, and check how identities and cohorts are exported, not only the events. Self-hosting changes the risk but not the effort: your team then maintains upgrades, storage and backups.
Request a raw export of events during the trial.
Check whether identity merges and cohorts export too.
Confirm the hosting region in writing.
Bundles and add-ons: the real price of a replay, flag and survey suite
Several vendors now bundle replay, flags and experiments with analytics. PostHog and Mixpanel include them with usage limits, Amplitude lists replay allowances per plan, and Heap sells Session Replay as an add-on from Pro. Countly sells Intelligence and Adaptivity as separate suites on Flex, and Pendo adds in-app guides to every quote.
A bundle helps when you would buy the extras anyway, and costs money when you do not. List the products you will switch on in the first year and price only those, with the add-ons they need, then check which of them carry separate limits or retention periods. Mixpanel Growth, for example, allows five alerts, while anomaly detection sits in Enterprise.
List which bundled products you will really use.
Check retention periods for replay and events.
Ask which features need the next plan up.
What goes wrong most often when buying product analytics software
Choosing by headline event allowance without counting how many events a single user session produces.
Buying a seat-priced plan for a company where everyone wants dashboards, then paying again for viewers.
Skipping a raw-data export test during the trial and finding the limits at renewal.
Instrumenting every click on day one, which inflates the event meter and hides the few events that matter.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best product analytics software in 2026?
OpenPanel leads our ranking of 12. OpenPanel AB in Stockholm sells one cloud price that depends only on events per month, with unlimited users, dashboards and websites on every volume step.
The cloud stores event data on Hetzner servers in Germany, and the AGPL-3.0 code can also be self-hosted. It carries session replay, but the vendor lists no warehouse sync or governed semantic layer, so large data teams will need to look elsewhere.
Which product analytics tools publish their pricing?
10 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
OpenPanel: Published, set by monthly event volume; 30-day free trial; self-host for free.
Mitzu: Published monthly plans with unlimited events; 14-day trial; Enterprise quoted.
Kissmetrics: Free up to a monthly event limit, then published tiers by event volume; Growth billed monthly or yearly.
Countly: Flex plan published and usage-based, 14-day trial; Enterprise self-hosted, quoted.
GrowthBook: Published; free Starter, Pro per seat per month, Enterprise quoted; self-hosted option.
Woopra: Pro plan published from a monthly price at 5M events; 30-day trial; Enterprise quoted.
PostHog: Free monthly allowance on every product, then usage-based billing with a card.
Mixpanel: Free tier, Growth from zero with volume pricing, Enterprise quoted.
Heap: Free tier by session volume, Growth, Pro and Premier tiers; Pro and Premier quoted by sessions.
Amplitude: Plus plan published from zero with 2M events included; Growth quoted by event volume.
The other 2 quote per organisation.
Is there a free product analytics tool?
Kissmetrics, PostHog, Mixpanel, Heap offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these product analytics software vendors established?
In 4 countries across 3 regions: North America 6, Elsewhere 4, Europe 2.
OpenPanel: Sweden.
Mitzu: Not stated by the vendor.
Kissmetrics: Not stated by the vendor.
Countly: United Kingdom.
GrowthBook: Not stated by the vendor.
UXCam: United States.
Woopra: United States.
PostHog: United States.
Mixpanel: Not stated by the vendor.
Heap: United States.
Amplitude: United States.
Pendo: United States.
Which product analytics tools can you host yourself?
OpenPanel, Countly, GrowthBook. The other 9 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of OpenPanel?
Mitzu and Kissmetrics are the next two on this page. Mitzu is for Data-led teams already holding product events in Snowflake, BigQuery or Databricks; Kissmetrics is for Marketing-led SaaS and e-commerce teams tying campaigns to paying customers.
Who should not buy OpenPanel?
Data teams that must run analysis inside their own warehouse. Pricing page lists steps only up to 50M events a month, with a custom option above.
If your product analytics software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.