API security tools find the interfaces a company exposes, test them for flaws such as broken object authorisation, and sometimes block abuse at runtime.
The twelve here run from OpenAPI auditors to traffic-based platforms. Order follows set-up effort, the bill after extra modules, data exit, reliance on resellers and buyer fit; each entry also says what it lacks.
We accept payment from some vendors for visibility. Entries are not for sale: the criticism stays, and clicks to vendors are not monetised. How that works.
In short
What API security tools software does
API security tools inventory an organisation's APIs, test them against the OWASP API Security Top 10 and business-logic flaws, and some monitor or block abusive traffic at runtime.
Every API security tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. A challenger rule applies on top. Places 1 to 3 are kept for lesser-known vendors when the category has them; large brands rank from 4. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
OpenAPI contract audit, live scan and micro-firewall from one definition
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best API Security Tools in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestEurope
Begin in the IDE. run the audit on one OpenAPI file, fix what scores low, then add the dynamic scan to a pipeline and a quality gate that fails the build.
Introduce the micro-firewall last, on one API, because it blocks anything the contract does not declare and a stale file will reject legitimate calls. The 14-day trial form asks for a corporate email.
What stands out
OpenAPI contract
Audit, scan, protect
Trial available
Where it costs you
Value depends on having an accurate OpenAPI definition; APIs documented badly or not at all give the audit little to score.
The pricing page lists no amounts, only an enterprise scope, and the site now puts MCP server governance ahead of plain API work.
Right for
Teams that write OpenAPI first and want one file to gate builds and traffic
Wrong for
Buyers whose APIs have no specifications and need discovery first
United KingdomQuoted per organisation; 14-day trial; cloud, on-prem or hybrid
Attack simulations per 100 endpoints, with a permanent free tier
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best API Security Tools in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Count endpoints the way the vendor does, one path and method pair each, because 100 endpoints is the billing step. Test the free account against a staging API, then compare the Standard plan with Pro, where CI/CD and ticketing integrations, custom attack simulations and SLAs begin.
A yearly price is listed as well as a monthly one. Ask early about private APIs, since hosted agents and on-premises options are handled separately.
What stands out
Priced per endpoint
Business-logic attacks
Free tier
Where it costs you
Free accounts test public APIs only, and private APIs need a hosted agent plus a paid plan.
The product validates exploits; it does not block traffic at runtime, so a gateway or WAF still has to do that.
Right for
Teams that can count their endpoints and want a priced, continuous attack test
Wrong for
Buyers wanting inline blocking or an on-premises install at list price
United StatesPublished per 100 endpoints, with a free tier; bug bounty custom
eBPF-based API inventory and testing, priced by endpoint count
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best API Security Tools in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
Scope the quote around the endpoint number you can defend, not your gateway count, because the quote basis stated on its pricing page is endpoints secured. Ask which of SaaS, shared cluster, private cluster, hybrid or air-gapped applies, and who runs the sensors.
Pilot on one service mesh, compare the discovered inventory with your own catalogue, and only then extend to testing. Its about page dates the founding to 2021.
What stands out
eBPF discovery
Per-endpoint pricing
Air-gapped option
Where it costs you
No list prices exist; the per-endpoint quote is set after a scoping call.
eBPF runtime discovery implies running Levo components in your own environment, which a platform team has to approve.
Right for
Regulated teams that need discovery and testing to stay inside their own network
Wrong for
Buyers who need list rates before any sales call
United StatesQuoted per endpoint; SaaS, hybrid or on-prem
Business-logic DAST for REST and GraphQL, from a French company
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best API Security Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Point it at one authenticated application first, using the OAuth, SAML or TOTP login you already have, and look at whether the broken access control and IDOR findings are real.
Compare that with a payload-based scanner on the same target. Procurement can run through AWS Marketplace or one of the 20+ channel partners it lists. Escape also publishes the GraphQL Armor project, MIT-licensed on GitHub.
What stands out
Business-logic DAST
GraphQL testing
French SAS
Where it costs you
The current site leads with AI pentesting and attack-surface management, so the API product sits inside a wider platform.
Cost is scoped to your environment, with no rate card to compare.
Right for
AppSec teams in Europe testing access control in REST and GraphQL APIs
Wrong for
Buyers who want API-only scope, or price comparison without a call
FranceQuoted to environment size; also sold on AWS Marketplace
MIT-licensed API security core, with usage-based enterprise cloud
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best API Security Tools in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestNorth America
Run docker-compose on a test machine, feed it a Postman collection or Burp traffic, and see what the test library finds before involving procurement.
The MIT licence means the code can be read and kept, but the README places CI/CD scheduling in the Enterprise edition, so test that boundary early. Ask the vendor for the usage metric behind the quote, since the pricing page says only that it is usage based.
What stands out
Open source
Docker Compose install
Usage-based
Where it costs you
CI/CD scheduling and extra dashboard users are Enterprise features according to the repository README.
The marketing site and pricing page now centre on AI agent and MCP security, so API-only buyers must ask what is quoted.
Right for
Engineering-led teams that want to try API testing on their own servers first
Wrong for
Buyers who need guaranteed vendor-hosted setup and a fixed price
United StatesOpen source MIT edition; enterprise usage-based, quoted
Attacks replayed from functional tests, via CLI, Postman or Burp
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best API Security Tools in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Install the CLI, run it through a Postman collection you already maintain, and read the JSON result before wiring it into GitHub Actions, GitLab or Jenkins. Ask whether eBPF or ALB mirroring is needed for discovery, as the FAQ mentions both.
Because the product page now covers LLM and MCP testing too, confirm which parts of a quote relate to classic API testing. The open-source CLI repository is Apache-2.0.
What stands out
Test-driven attacks
CLI and CI/CD
eBPF or mirroring
Where it costs you
The site does not publish what the Start Free option includes or any paid terms.
Attack quality depends on the functional tests or traffic you feed it; untested endpoints stay untested.
Right for
QA-heavy teams that already run Postman, Burp or Selenium tests
Wrong for
Buyers who need discovery from raw network traffic with no test suite
United StatesStart Free button; paid terms not published
API posture and audit trail through a library or gateway link
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best API Security Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Start with the library or the agentless gateway integration on one API, open the posture dashboard, and check whether the audit trail captures the events you would need after an incident. Route alerts to the SIEM or ticketing tool you already use.
Confirm in writing which gateways and clouds are covered today, because the page says only applications and cloud providers. FireTail also sells AI usage monitoring, which is a separate scope.
What stands out
Audit trail
Posture dashboard
Library or gateway
Where it costs you
The API security page names no supported gateways and lists repository and API-management integrations as planned.
No price or free-tier terms are given; only a trial request, a demo and an onboarding call.
Right for
Small teams wanting a hosted audit trail of API events with alerting
Wrong for
Buyers who need published gateway coverage or attack testing
United StatesTrial offered; pricing not stated on the site
Pre-merge API scans in the pipeline or next to a coding agent
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best API Security Tools in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Fits API testing into the pull request: Wingman works inside Claude Code, Cursor and Copilot, boots the app, attacks it and rescans after a fix, limited to 50 scans per user each month.
The entry plan is per user, so cost tracks developers, not endpoints. Discovery of unknown APIs, sensitive data detection and reporting are Scale only, and it tests code you own, not live production traffic.
What stands out
Developer DAST
14-day trial
Per-user entry plan
United StatesPublished per user per month for Wingman; Scale quoted
Outside-in API discovery and authenticated testing from Palo Alto
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best API Security Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Run the proof of concept against your own domain: external discovery from the outside first, then authenticated testing with a scanner inside your network and provisioned test identities.
Count in your own inventory how many APIs were found only through mobile and web app analysis. Confirm which WAF will receive blocking rules and from which AWS, Azure or GCP log source traffic is read.
What stands out
Outside-in discovery
BOLA testing
Via existing WAF
Where it costs you
Blocking in production relies on the WAF you already run, so Data Theorem alone does not enforce.
Authenticated scans need a scanner placed in your environment and identity-provider credentials.
Right for
Mobile-heavy organisations that need to find which APIs their apps call
Wrong for
Buyers wanting list pricing or a self-serve trial
United StatesScoped proof of concept; pricing not stated
API discovery and 200+ risk rules, beside separate bot and WAAP products
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best API Security Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Ask for a demo environment that discovers your documented, undocumented and shadow endpoints, then export one audit-ready report against the framework you are measured on.
Check whether the gateway connection or an inline deployment suits your latency limits. Decide up front if bot defence is in scope, since it is a separate product line, and ask how the 200+ risk rules are updated.
What stands out
200+ risk rules
Gateway or inline
Bot management separate
Where it costs you
Nothing on the product page gives a price, trial or assessment, only a demo request.
Bot management and WAAP are separate products, so account-takeover cases may mean more licences.
Right for
Security teams that want API inventory and compliance mapping via existing gateways
Wrong for
Buyers who want published pricing or a self-serve test
United StatesPricing not stated; personalised demo
Agentless API discovery, then protection through gateways and WAFs
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best API Security Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Take the free API Attack Surface Assessment first and compare its inventory with your gateway logs. Then ask for a quote split by module, separating Surface and Collect from Protect and Code, so you can see what discovery alone costs.
Check which of the 40+ integrations match your gateways and WAFs. Protection runs through those existing tools, so their rule limits become your limits.
What stands out
Agentless start
40+ integrations
Modular platform
Where it costs you
The site publishes no prices or trial length, and module scope changes what a quote covers.
Marketing now leads with agentic AI security, which can blur the API-only feature set.
Right for
Large API estates that need discovery before anything is blocked
Wrong for
Small teams that need list rates or a quick self-serve start
United StatesPricing not stated; demo and assessment offered
Cloud-managed or self-managed API discovery, an add-on for Cloud WAF
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best API Security Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
If you already run Imperva Cloud WAF, enable the add-on and check that the cloud-managed discovery finds APIs your teams forgot. If data must stay local, evaluate the self-managed console, which avoids external cloud services.
Compare the findings against a specification-based tool such as 42Crunch, because Imperva scans an uploaded specification for design and configuration issues. Ask which gateway integrations are included.
What stands out
Self-managed console
OWASP API Top 10
WAF add-on
Where it costs you
Automatic inline blocking runs through Cloud WAF or WAF Gateway, which adds a second product.
The page quotes nothing, offering a trial and a demo.
Right for
Existing Imperva WAF customers adding API discovery to what they run
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a vendor-neutral tool outside the Imperva stack
API security tools inventory an organisation's APIs, test them against the OWASP API Security Top 10 and business-logic flaws, and some monitor or block abusive traffic at runtime. What separates these products is rarely a feature. Work through the steps below.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
The split is 3 published against 9 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with APIsec, Pynt, StackHawk.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 3 countries: North America 10, Europe 2.
03
Consider whether you want the source
1 of these are open source: Akto. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Separate API specification tools from runtime tools
API security tools solve three different problems, and a shortlist mixes them up easily. 42Crunch audits the OpenAPI file and enforces it with a micro-firewall. StackHawk and Pynt attack the running API from the pipeline. Salt Security, Cequence and Imperva API Security watch traffic to build an inventory and spot misuse. APIsec and Escape sit between, validating exploits against live endpoints.
Before comparing prices, write down which problem hurts: unknown APIs, flawed new releases, or attacks on production. Most teams need two of the three, so find out how each product hands work to the next, what it expects from your gateways and WAF, and which findings your developers will actually see inside their normal tools each week.
Do we have OpenAPI files for most production APIs?
Is the gap discovery, pre-release testing or runtime blocking?
Which gateway or WAF must receive the findings?
Compare the unit each vendor charges for
Vendors meter different things, so prices cannot be lined up directly. APIsec publishes plans per 100 endpoints, while Levo.ai quotes per endpoint secured. StackHawk publishes a per-user entry plan, which tracks developers. Akto bases its enterprise price on usage, and 42Crunch scopes an enterprise plan to the organisation. Salt Security, Cequence, FireTail and Data Theorem state no prices at all.
Compile one inventory of endpoints, developers and environments, hand the identical list to each vendor, and have the quote itemise extras, such as bot management at Cequence or Cloud WAF behind Imperva. Ask each vendor to write the assumptions down, because a quote that quietly excludes private APIs or test environments grows by the first renewal.
How many endpoints will exist in two years, including internal ones?
Is the price driven by users, endpoints or traffic?
Which extras appear as their own quote lines?
Run a trial that tests the unglamorous parts
Trials differ in what they let you prove. 42Crunch offers 14 days with a corporate email, StackHawk Wingman 14 days with no card, and APIsec a permanent free account limited to public test APIs. Data Theorem offers a time-boxed proof of concept, and Salt Security a free attack surface assessment.
Use the time on a real authenticated API, not a demo target: give the tool a login with limited roles and see whether it finds a BOLA case you planted. Check what the scan does to a staging database, how findings reach your tickets, and how long a false positive takes to suppress. Write the pass criteria before the trial starts, so every product is judged on the same planted flaw, and keep the logs of what each one reported.
Does the tool authenticate with our real login method?
Can it find a planted authorisation flaw?
How do findings reach our ticketing system?
Check where your data and traffic go
Some products read traffic from your hosts, others only your specifications. Levo.ai uses eBPF sensors and can run air-gapped, Akto offers a Docker Compose install of its MIT-licensed core, and Imperva API Security has a self-managed console that avoids external cloud services. Data Theorem needs a scanner inside your environment for authenticated tests.
Ask each vendor where discovered payloads and sensitive data are stored, for how long, and who can export them. Leaving a vendor is easier if inventories, findings and policies export in a standard format such as OpenAPI. Request a sample export while the trial runs, and check that history older than a year stays available after contract end.
Which component sees live traffic or payloads?
Where is sensitive data stored, and for how long?
Can we export inventory and findings when we leave?
What goes wrong most often when buying API security tools software
Buying runtime protection before knowing how many APIs exist, which leaves shadow endpoints outside the policy.
Testing only with a demo API, so the first real authorisation flaw appears after the contract is signed.
Comparing a per-endpoint quote with a per-user plan without converting both to the same estate.
Assuming one product covers specification, testing and blocking, when several rely on your existing WAF or gateway for enforcement.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best API security tools in 2026?
42Crunch leads our ranking of 12. Treats the OpenAPI file as the single source: an audit runs 300+ checks on the definition, a scan sends simulated traffic at the running API, and a micro-firewall built from the same contract blocks undeclared calls.
The parent company is located in London. An API without a usable OpenAPI definition has little to audit, and its pricing page offers an enterprise scope instead of a rate card.
Which API security tools publish their pricing?
3 out of 12 state a price model on their own site:
APIsec: Published per 100 endpoints, with a free tier; bug bounty custom.
Pynt: Start Free button; paid terms not published.
StackHawk: Published per user per month for Wingman; Scale quoted.
The remaining 9 sell by quote.
Is there a free API security tool?
APIsec offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these API security tool vendors established?
Across 3 countries (North America 10, Europe 2):
42Crunch: United Kingdom.
APIsec: United States.
Levo.ai: United States.
Escape: France.
Akto: United States.
Pynt: United States.
FireTail: United States.
StackHawk: United States.
Data Theorem: United States.
Cequence: United States.
Salt Security: United States.
Imperva API Security: United States.
Which API security tools are open source?
Akto.
Which API security tools can you host yourself?
42Crunch, APIsec, Levo.ai. The remaining 9 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of 42Crunch?
APIsec and Levo.ai are the next two on this page. APIsec is for teams that can count their endpoints and want a priced, continuous attack test; Levo.ai is for Regulated teams that need discovery and testing to stay inside their own network.
Who should not buy 42Crunch?
Buyers whose APIs have no specifications and need discovery first. Value depends on having an accurate OpenAPI definition; APIs documented badly or not at all give the audit little to score..
Your API security tools product is not among these 12? Tell us what it is for and who it serves, and we will consider it. The decision is editorial, and the ground rules are set out under software advice.