AI governance platforms keep an inventory of the models, agents and AI vendors an organisation uses, assess their risk, and collect evidence for rules such as the EU AI Act.
The twelve below range from register-first tools to security-led controls. We order them by set-up effort, real cost, data exit, independence and fit.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. How that works.
In short
What AI governance platforms do
AI governance platforms register an organisation's AI systems, score their risks, map controls to regulations and standards, and keep audit evidence, and some also test or restrict agents at runtime.
We ranked the 12 AI governance platforms on setup effort first, then total cost, then data export, then exit, then fit for the buyer. A challenger rule applies on top. Places 1 to 3 are kept for lesser-known vendors when the category has them; large brands rank from 4. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Graph of risks, controls and policies that systems inherit automatically
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best AI Governance Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Start with the EU AI Act classifier on the vendor's site, then register five live systems and link each to its model and dataset to see which risks and controls are inherited.
Connect Azure AI Foundry or Amazon Bedrock first, since those links are built in, and leave webhooks to Slack or Jira until the register is trusted. Ask for a price in writing before the pilot, because the plan table is not visible without scripts.
What stands out
Knowledge graph
EU AI Act focus
ISO 27001 certified
Where it costs you
Plan contents are not readable on the pricing page without scripts, so costs cannot be compared before contact.
Its strongest material is about the EU AI Act, and agent security testing is outside what the site describes.
Right for
European legal and AI teams wanting risks and controls pre-filled from a curated library
Wrong for
Security teams looking mainly for runtime blocking of agent actions
FinlandSubscription plans, cancellable before the next payment; VAT added by buyer location
Intake-first governance workflow with risk triage and framework readiness scores
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best AI Governance Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Run the pilot on the intake queue: import last quarter's use case requests, let the risk routing sort them, and compare the share cleared automatically with your manual process.
Check the readiness scores against one framework you must answer to, such as ISO 42001 or the EU AI Act deployer duties. Then test vendor questionnaires and document parsing on a contract you already hold, and ask how exports reach auditors.
What stands out
Use-case intake
Risk triage
Public benefit corporation
Where it costs you
No price list or trial is shown, so a quote and demo are the only way to size the cost.
Enablement comes from the vendor's own team, which adds reliance on the supplier.
Right for
Governance offices that must triage a high volume of new AI use case requests
Wrong for
Engineering teams wanting runtime guardrails or tracing inside the product
Agent discovery and evaluations with a permanent free tier and open engine
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best AI Governance Platforms in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Sign up on the Free plan and connect one cloud data source, then watch whether the discovery view lists agents your teams did not register. Run continuous evaluations on a single use case and keep the alert thresholds loose for a fortnight.
If the engine fits, read the MIT-licensed code on GitHub before deciding between Premium and Enterprise, because retention, users and deployment model change at that step.
What stands out
Free plan
Open source MIT engine
Agent discovery
Where it costs you
Free tier keeps 7 days of data and covers 4 use cases, so a pilot outgrows it quickly.
Single sign-on, SLAs and managed VPC options are Enterprise only, and its pricing page shows no regulation mapping.
Right for
Engineering-led teams wanting agent discovery and evaluations they can trial at no cost
Wrong for
Legal teams needing intake forms and framework attestations first
United StatesFree plan, published Premium monthly price, Enterprise quoted
Policy engine and gateway that decide agent actions before they run
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best AI Governance Platforms in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Pick one agent that can spend money or touch customer data, express its limits as an OPA policy and run it through the gateway in a test environment. Check that blocked and allowed calls both produce a record with the rule version and reason.
Then try the registry with one MCP server or skill, and ask how the self-hosted gateway is updated, who operates it and what happens if it is unreachable.
What stands out
OPA policy engine
Pre-action blocking
Self-hosted gateway
Where it costs you
The site shows no price, trial or company address, so country and cost need a direct question.
Policy is written as OPA rules, which presumes a platform team able to maintain code.
Right for
Platform and model risk teams that want pre-action policy checks on agents
Wrong for
Compliance officers who need a no-code questionnaire workflow
Not stated by the vendorPricing not stated; discovery call on request
Policy-to-proof governance shaped by insurance and model risk teams
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best AI Governance Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Ask for the insurance workflow demo and bring one real model with its documentation. Test whether drift, bias and accuracy checks can run on it and whether the output is something an examiner would accept.
Add third-party AI vendors to the same inventory to see how the vendor governance module handles them, then ask for integration specifics, because the public pages describe them only in general terms.
What stands out
Insurance focus
Model validation
Vendor governance
Where it costs you
Examples centre on insurance and financial services, so fit for other sectors needs proof.
No price, trial or head-office address appears in its public pages.
Right for
Insurers and model risk teams that must show validation evidence to regulators
Wrong for
Start-ups wanting self-serve sign-up and a public price
Not stated by the vendorPricing not stated; contact form and demo
Discovery, 40+ bias and safety tests, then policy enforcement with Guardian Agents
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best AI Governance Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Connect one cloud account and one code repository to see how many AI systems appear that nobody had listed. Pick a customer-facing model and run the bias, hallucination and prompt-injection tests, then check whether each result attaches to a control in your framework.
Ask how Guardian Agents block or escalate in production, and who owns false positives, before expanding beyond a pilot.
What stands out
Shadow AI discovery
40+ risk tests
UCL origins
Where it costs you
No price or trial is published, and the head-office country is not stated.
Discovery lists AWS, Azure, GitHub and Databricks, so estates outside them need a check.
Right for
Risk teams wanting measurable bias and safety test results beside an AI inventory
Wrong for
Buyers who need a public price list before talking to sales
Not stated by the vendorPricing not stated; demo on request
Observability and guardrails with a free guardrail tier and per-trace pricing
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best AI Governance Platforms in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Turn on the free guardrails against one chatbot and measure the latency and catch rate on prompts you already know are bad. Move the same app to the Developer plan and read the per-trace charge against a week of real traffic.
If audit and regulation reporting matter, ask for the governance module in a demo, and check whether VPC or on-premise deployment is needed for your data.
What stands out
Free guardrails
Per-trace pricing
VPC or on-premise
Where it costs you
Its pages centre on monitoring and evaluation, with less detail on intake or legal workflows.
Per-trace billing makes the Developer bill rise with traffic, and Enterprise terms are quoted.
Right for
ML and agent teams that need evaluation, guardrails and audit trails in one tool
Wrong for
Governance offices seeking a questionnaire-driven use case register
United StatesFree guardrail tier, published per-trace Developer price, Enterprise quoted
System of record that automates the model lifecycle in banks and insurers
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best AI Governance Platforms in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
Map your current model approval process on one page, then ask for it to be rebuilt as a ModelOp workflow with the same sign-offs. Measure the elapsed time against today's, as Prudential describes for its risk rating.
Test the connectors for your ticketing, GRC and data tools, and ask which parts run on-premises, in cloud or hybrid, because the delivery engine spans all three.
What stands out
ModelOps heritage
On-prem, cloud or hybrid
50+ integrations
Where it costs you
The pages are addressed to CIOs and large enterprises, and no price or trial is shown.
Its roots are in model operations, so a light register for a few AI systems may be more than needed.
Right for
Large banks and insurers with many models needing one lifecycle system of record
Wrong for
Small teams wanting a quick inventory and self-serve set-up
Registry for agents and models with policy packs for each regulation
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best AI Governance Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Choose one regulation you face, such as the EU AI Act or Colorado ADMT, and ask to see its policy pack applied to a real use case.
Use the GAIA assistant on intake for three systems and compare its risk and control mapping with your own reviewers. Confirm which of the 300+ integrations you need are live, and which pieces, like agent governance, are still labelled preview.
What stands out
Policy packs
Agent registry
300+ integrations
Where it costs you
The Agent Governor is a research preview, and no pricing page is available.
Delivery relies on forward-deployed governance experts, which adds cost and dependence.
Right for
Enterprises wanting regulation-specific policy packs and an agent registry together
Wrong for
Teams that need published pricing and instant self-serve access
United StatesPricing not stated; expert call on request
Security-led control of agents in SaaS copilots, cloud platforms and endpoints
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best AI Governance Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Point the discovery at the platform where agents are most common, such as Copilot Studio or Salesforce Agentforce, and list what it finds against your own records.
Pick one flagged exposure and see if the exploitability test and suggested fix hold up. Then try a runtime boundary on a non-critical agent in monitor mode before blocking, and ask how coding agents on laptops are covered.
What stands out
Agent security
Runtime enforcement
Salesforce and Bedrock coverage
Where it costs you
It is a security product first, with no legal-review register or regulation mapping described.
No price or trial is shown, and the country of establishment is not stated.
Right for
Security teams that must see and stop agents in SaaS copilots and cloud platforms
Wrong for
Compliance teams wanting questionnaires, assessments and framework attestations
Not stated by the vendorPricing not stated; demo on request
AI Command Center layered on a data catalogue and lineage estate
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best AI Governance Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Collibra added an AI Command Center to its data governance suite, promising visibility and trace of every agent in production, with an MCP server so agents can read trusted data.
That makes sense for a customer whose catalogue and lineage already live there. Buying it purely for AI risk means taking a data platform along, and its site gives no price.
What stands out
Data governance base
MCP server
Dual HQ
Belgium / United States (dual HQ)Pricing not stated; demo on request
AI governance module inside a privacy, consent and third-party risk suite
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best AI Governance Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
OneTrust prices its AI Governance package by admin users and AI inventory, and gives the amounts only on contact.
The module adds intake, tiering against the EU AI Act, NIST and ISO 42001, runtime controls on prompts and agent actions, and MCP permissions. A privacy team already inside OneTrust gains most; anyone outside it starts a new, large contract.
What stands out
Privacy suite
Runtime controls
Visionary per vendor
United StatesQuoted per organisation; based on admin users and AI inventory size
AI governance platforms register an organisation's AI systems, score their risks, map controls to regulations and standards, and keep audit evidence, and some also test or restrict agents at runtime. Rather than compare features, settle the following points one after another.
01
Start with pricing transparency
The split is 2 published against 10 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Arthur, Fiddler AI.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
Check the vendor's home market (North America 6, Elsewhere 5, Europe 1), because that is where subpoenas and data requests arrive first, whatever region holds your files.
03
Check the open source options
1 of these are open source: Arthur. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Decide whether you are buying a register, a test lab or a gatekeeper
AI governance platforms mix three jobs that vendors bundle under one name. Saidot, Trustible and Credo AI start from the register and the regulations: who owns each system, which risk tier it falls in and which evidence an auditor will ask for. Holistic AI and Fiddler AI start from testing and monitoring of behaviour. Zenity, Arthur and Lumenova AI start from controlling what agents do while they act.
Most programmes need all three eventually, but one of them is the pain today. Write down which team owns the budget, because a legal owner and a security owner will pick different products and then argue about the gaps. Name the person who will log in every week, since a register is only useful when an owner updates it and a test lab only when someone reads the results.
Who owns the budget: legal, risk, security or engineering?
Is the first need a register, testing or runtime control?
Which regulation sets our deadline?
Compare how each vendor shows its price
Prices are rare here. Arthur publishes a free plan and a monthly Premium price, and Fiddler AI publishes a free guardrail tier and a per-trace Developer rate. OneTrust says its AI Governance package is priced on admin users and AI inventory, and shows amounts only after contact. Collibra, ModelOp, Monitaur, Trustible, Credo AI, Holistic AI, Lumenova AI and Zenity show a demo button and no figure.
Ask each seller for a written quote that names the unit, such as users, systems, traces or agents, and the services included, because enablement from the vendor's own experts is often a separate cost. Also ask whether discovery of new systems, extra frameworks or additional business units change the unit count mid-contract.
What is the pricing unit: users, systems, traces or agents?
Are enablement and expert hours in the quote?
What does the second-year renewal assume?
Test the evidence, not the dashboard
Every demo shows a tidy dashboard with sample data. The useful test is whether the product can produce evidence an auditor accepts for a real system. Give Monitaur or ModelOp one model with its history and ask for the validation record. Give Trustible or Saidot an existing use case request and check the risk tier they assign against the EU AI Act.
Ask Holistic AI which test produced each score and where it is stored. Request exports in a format your own GRC tool can read, and find out who in the vendor team must be involved each time you need a report. Ask for a sample audit trail from a customer in your sector, with names removed.
Can a real system pass through from intake to evidence?
In what format do reports and audit trails export?
Who maintains the regulatory content and how fast does it update?
Check how the platform connects to where your AI lives
Discovery only works if the product can reach your estate. Holistic AI lists AWS, Azure, GitHub and Databricks, Saidot has built-in links to Azure AI Foundry and Amazon Bedrock, and Zenity covers agents in Copilot Studio, Salesforce Agentforce and Bedrock. Credo AI lists 300+ integrations and Collibra offers an MCP server for agents.
Lumenova AI runs its gateway inside the buyer's perimeter, and ModelOp runs on-premises, in cloud or hybrid. List your actual platforms first, then ask each vendor for the connector, its status and its limits, since a roadmap item is not a working link. Check also whether connectors are read-only, because some products only list what exists and cannot change anything.
Which of our AI platforms have a live connector today?
Where does the product run and who operates it?
Does shadow AI detection cover laptops and SaaS tools?
What goes wrong most often when buying AI governance platforms
Buying a security tool such as Zenity for a legal duty, then finding it has no questionnaire workflow for assessments.
Choosing a platform on its analyst placement alone, when the vendor pages give no price, connector list or exportable evidence to check.
Piloting with sample data, so nobody learns how long a real use case takes from intake to approval.
Ignoring the existing suite, since OneTrust or Collibra customers may add AI governance cheaper than a new vendor but take on a heavy contract.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What are the best AI governance platforms in 2026?
First of 12 on this page is Saidot. Saidot, a Helsinki company, links each registered system to a curated library of 260+ risks, 620+ controls and 110+ policies, so attaching a model or dataset brings its obligations along.
Built-in connections cover Azure AI Foundry and Amazon Bedrock, anything else goes through REST or webhooks. Plan contents cannot be read without scripts on its pricing page, so budget needs a conversation.
Which AI governance platforms publish their pricing?
2 out of 12 state a price model on their own site:
Arthur: Free plan, published Premium monthly price, Enterprise quoted.
Arthur, Fiddler AI offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these AI governance platform vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 4 countries and 3 regions, North America 6, Elsewhere 5, Europe 1:
Saidot: Finland.
Trustible: United States.
Arthur: United States.
Lumenova AI: Not stated by the vendor.
Monitaur: Not stated by the vendor.
Holistic AI: Not stated by the vendor.
Fiddler AI: United States.
ModelOp: United States.
Credo AI: United States.
Zenity: Not stated by the vendor.
Collibra: Belgium / United States (dual HQ).
OneTrust: United States.
Which AI governance platforms are open source?
Arthur.
Which AI governance platforms can you host yourself?
Arthur, Lumenova AI, Fiddler AI, ModelOp. The other 8 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Saidot?
Second is Trustible, which suits Governance offices that must triage a high volume of new AI use case requests. Third is Arthur, which suits Engineering-led teams wanting agent discovery and evaluations they can trial at no cost.
Who should not buy Saidot?
Security teams looking mainly for runtime blocking of agent actions. Plan contents are not readable on the pricing page without scripts, so costs cannot be compared before contact..
Vendors who think their AI governance platforms product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.