Best Managed Detection and Response Services in 2026
Managed detection and response services put a vendor's analysts on watch over your endpoints, identities and cloud around the clock and let them contain threats.
The eleven here range from per-endpoint services to platform-bound offers. Order follows set-up effort, the bill once extras are added, data exit, dependence on partners and buyer fit.
Visibility here may be paid for by a vendor, but what we write about its product is not, and following a link to the vendor earns us nothing. How that works.
In short
What managed detection and response services software does
Managed detection and response services are subscriptions in which a vendor's analysts monitor an organisation's security telemetry around the clock, investigate alerts and take or recommend containment actions.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the managed detection and response services tool was built for. Challengers hold places 1 to 3 wherever the category has them. Established brands begin at place 4. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Managed EDR sold per endpoint with a 24/7 SOC included
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Managed Detection and Response Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Run the trial on one department first, since it is the same product as the paid one, SOC included. Count Windows, macOS and Linux devices separately before asking for volume pricing, because the minimum applies per product.
Choose between monthly billing on deployed usage and an annual commitment; the annual route leaves overage to manual handling, so ask who watches it. The MSRP on the page is a list price, and volume rates are requested separately.
What stands out
Per-endpoint price
24/7 SOC included
Windows, macOS, Linux
Where it costs you
Direct customers and resellers need a minimum of 50 seats per product, so a very small office has to come through an MSP.
The standard term is 12 months, and overage above a committed annual minimum is handled manually, not billed automatically.
Right for
Organisations of 50 or more endpoints, or MSP clients, wanting a priced managed EDR
Wrong for
Sub-50-seat organisations buying directly without an MSP or partner
United StatesPublished per endpoint per month; free trial; 12-month standard term
Three MDR packages that connect to the security tools you own
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Managed Detection and Response Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Ask Expel to map your current tools against its 160+ integrations before any quote, since the package depends on which surfaces you need covered. Starter has auto-remediation for endpoints only, Select extends it across surfaces, and Premium adds Workbench API access and a dedicated engagement manager.
The page claims a 14-minute MTTR for critical and high incidents with auto-remediation, a vendor figure worth testing against your own incident history during the demo.
What stands out
160+ integrations
Workbench visibility
Three packages
Where it costs you
Cloud control plane and SaaS app coverage start at Select, so the entry package leaves two attack surfaces out.
Every package says Request pricing, so a budget comparison against a posted list price has to wait for sales.
Right for
Companies with an established tool stack that want analysts to work inside it
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a bundled agent and a posted per-seat price
United StatesQuoted per organisation; Starter, Select and Premium packages
Human-owned decisions on 24/7 MDR from an Ohio company
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Managed Detection and Response Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Use the demo to pin down what the page leaves open: onboarding time, which incident response work is included, and which exclusions apply.
Ask which of your EDR and SIEM products are supported at full response depth, as the compatibility list spans Defender, Sentinel, Cortex, CrowdStrike, Carbon Black, SentinelOne, Google SecOps, Sumo Logic, Devo, Splunk and ExtraHop. Ask for sample monthly reports, which the page says show MTTD, MTTR and detection coverage.
What stands out
Works with existing EDR
Managed deception
Retroactive hunts
Where it costs you
No price, contract term or onboarding time appears on the MDR page, all of it sits behind a demo request.
Incident response terms and exclusions are not stated, so what counts as included work stays unknown until quoted.
Right for
Mid-size security teams keeping their EDR and SIEM while adding analysts and hunts
Wrong for
Buyers who need published prices or a self-serve trial first
Canadian MDR vendor with unlimited incident handling and three packages
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Managed Detection and Response Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Compare the three packages line by line against your estate, since endpoint, network, log, cloud and identity are the signals the SOC works on. Confirm what unlimited incident handling covers and where digital forensics and incident response, sold as a separate service on the site, begins.
Request the Atlas Operations Center demo, which the site says shows what the SOC sees and how investigations proceed, and check which Atlas features sit inside the quoted package.
What stands out
Atlas platform
Unlimited incident handling
Waterloo, Canada
Where it costs you
The packages page shows no amounts and says the packages are customised to each organisation.
The site now leads with Atlas, AI operatives and exposure testing, which makes plain MDR scope harder to separate from extras.
Right for
Mid-market firms wanting Canadian-run 24/7 MDR with incident handling included
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a posted price before speaking with sales
Concierge-run MDR with a warranty tied to a three-year bundle
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Managed Detection and Response Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Read the warranty conditions before the price, because the page ties the financial assistance to a bundle and a three-year term. Ask whether the incident response named under the MDR service is part of the base subscription, as the site also sells Incident Response and an Incident360 retainer on their own.
The page says the architecture plugs into current telemetry with 200+ integrations but states no sensor requirement, so have a sales engineer name any sensors your estate would need.
What stands out
Concierge team
Warranty conditions
200+ integrations
Where it costs you
The warranty needs the Total Security Operations Bundle and Aurora Managed Endpoint Defense on a three-year term.
The MDR page does not say whether incident response is in the base subscription, and the site sells Incident Response and Incident360 separately.
Right for
Organisations wanting a named security team and a three-year bundle with warranty
Wrong for
Buyers wanting the warranty on a short or single-product contract
Finnish MDR with a Europe-based team and a 60-minute SLA
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Managed Detection and Response Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Pilot the 30-day Elements trial on a limited device group, since the MDR service is described as working from Elements EDR data and the trial form asks for no credit card.
Ask which events count toward the 90 percent SLA figure and where the Major Incident Threshold sits, because the page leaves the hand-off point undefined. Decide at the start whether identity monitoring is needed, as the Entra ID service is an add-on.
What stands out
Europe-based analysts
60-minute SLA
Identity add-on
Where it costs you
Access to digital forensics and incident response is conditional, and a major incident escalates into a separate process.
The 60-minute SLA covers 90 percent of cases, not all of them, and the service reads data from the Elements EDR agent.
Right for
European mid-market firms wanting analysts based in Europe and an SLA
Wrong for
Estates running a different EDR that must stay in place
FinlandQuoted per organisation; 30-day trial of the Elements platform
MDR on your own stack or Sophos's, response not capped by hours
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Managed Detection and Response Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Ask for the tier and response-mode list in writing, since the page only mentions flexible tiers. Check which of your tools sit within the integrations counted, given the figure of 350 in the FAQ and 500 elsewhere.
Request the breach protection warranty terms, which the page does not give. The page says confirmed threats are removed with no limits or extra fees, so ask for contract wording that matches that sentence.
What stands out
Bring your stack
No hourly caps
UK company
Where it costs you
The page mentions service tiers and response modes but lists neither them nor any price.
Warranty terms are absent and the integration count is stated inconsistently on the same page.
Right for
Organisations wanting a UK-based vendor and response work not capped by hours
Wrong for
Buyers who need a published tier list and price
United KingdomPricing not stated; Get Pricing form
Red Canary's MDR, now sold by Zscaler with ZIA containment
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Managed Detection and Response Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Check what changed after the acquisition: the page says Red Canary is now part of Zscaler, so ask which contract entity signs, which analysts hold your account and whether detection content ships unchanged.
Ask how isolation works with your EDR, since the playbooks isolate endpoints through it, and what the ZIA actions cost if you do not own ZIA. Request the 2026 Threat Detection Report that the page links and compare its numbers with the page's own claims.
What stands out
Red Canary heritage
ZIA integration
AI agents
Where it costs you
The network side of containment is built around Zscaler's ZIA, so the service is worth less if you do not run it.
Figures such as 4x more threats and 10x faster response come without a baseline on the page, and no price appears.
Right for
Zscaler ZIA customers wanting Red Canary's analysts to act through it
MDR delivered on Rapid7's SIEM with uncapped incident response
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Managed Detection and Response Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Count assets the way Rapid7 does before asking for quotes, since the price follows assets and not users or data volume. Ask for the packages page and the warranty terms, which the page calls simple but does not spell out.
Check the 13-month retention against your audit needs and ask how exports work on exit, because the service is delivered on Rapid7's SIEM and Velociraptor-based forensics. Third-party sources enter through the extension library, so list yours.
What stands out
Asset-based pricing
Runs on Rapid7 SIEM
13-month retention
Where it costs you
Delivery on Rapid7's SIEM means leaving the service also means leaving that data platform.
Tiers sit on a separate packages page, and the MDR page itself shows neither price nor trial.
Right for
Teams wanting SIEM and MDR from one vendor under asset-based pricing
Wrong for
Buyers keeping an existing SIEM as their system of record
United StatesPricing not stated; asset-based model, demo on request
Managed Falcon with warranty cover of up to 2 million US dollars
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Managed Detection and Response Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Ask CrowdStrike to itemise the Falcon modules that Falcon Complete needs in your estate, because the page does not state which subscription it requires. Request the warranty conditions behind the figure of up to 2 million US dollars and read the exclusions.
The page lists endpoint, identity, cloud and SaaS surfaces plus third-party data, so confirm which your quote includes, and whether the AI apps and agents coverage in a 2026 page is in the base price.
What stands out
Warranty cover
Falcon platform
Identity and cloud
Where it costs you
No price appears for the service, only links to a general pricing page and a value calculator.
The page leans on Falcon telemetry but states no licence requirement, so the full cost may include the platform itself.
Right for
Organisations already on Falcon wanting analysts to remediate on their behalf
Wrong for
Estates built on another EDR that should stay in place
United StatesPricing not stated; value calculator and pricing page linked
Microsoft's MDR over Defender incidents, with a third-party plan
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Managed Detection and Response Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Read the FAQ scope before any pricing talk: only high and medium severity incidents on Windows, Linux and macOS count. Decide whether Plan 1 is enough or Plan 2 is needed for third-party sources, which arrive through Microsoft Sentinel, and ask what that ingestion adds because the page does not say.
Analysts act through the roles granted to them in Microsoft Defender, so the permission set is a contract item, as is the live chat access.
What stands out
Two plans
Defender-native
Live chat with experts
Where it costs you
Mobile and IoT incidents are outside the service, as are compliance, DLP and custom-detection incidents.
Analysts take no actions inside third-party products, so response there stays with your own team.
Right for
Microsoft Defender shops wanting expert triage and managed response on it
Wrong for
Estates relying on mobile, IoT or non-Microsoft tooling for action
United StatesPricing not stated; Contact Sales only
How to choose managed detection and response services software
Managed detection and response services are subscriptions in which a vendor's analysts monitor an organisation's security telemetry around the clock, investigate alerts and take or recommend containment actions. Work through these questions in order; they separate the products better than a feature matrix does.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
10 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 1 publish a pricing model you can read today: Huntress.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
2 regions are represented (North America 9, Europe 2). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.
Decide what the service takes off your plate
Managed detection and response services differ in how much they do after an alert. Microsoft Defender Experts MDR triages and acts through Defender roles but only gives recommendations inside third-party products. Expel and Binary Defense work on top of tools you already own. WithSecure Elements MDR, Rapid7 MDR and CrowdStrike Falcon Complete run on their own agent or platform.
Huntress sells the agent and the SOC together. Write down who isolates a host at 3 a.m., who approves that action and who is called afterwards. A service that only recommends leaves the night shift with you, while one that acts needs written authority and a clear limit on what it may switch off.
Does the analyst contain a threat, or only recommend?
Who pre-authorises isolation and account suspension?
Which tools can the service act inside?
Compare pricing units and published prices
Pricing models are not alike. Huntress publishes a per-endpoint line with a 50-seat minimum for direct buyers. Rapid7 MDR prices by asset, and eSentire, Expel and Arctic Wolf quote per organisation. Expel shows Request pricing on all three packages, and Sophos MDR points to a Get Pricing form. WithSecure shows bundle prices for partners but no MDR rate, and Microsoft Defender Experts MDR offers Contact Sales only.
Give every vendor the same inventory of endpoints, identities and cloud accounts, ask for a quote that lists extras as separate lines, and keep the contract term visible: Huntress states 12 months as its standard term, and the Arctic Wolf warranty needs three years, so the same service can cost very different amounts over the full commitment.
Is the unit endpoints, assets, users or the organisation?
Which extras appear as their own quote lines?
What term does each quote assume?
Read the response and warranty terms
Several vendors attach incident response or a warranty to the service, and each comes with conditions. Sophos MDR says critical incident response has no hourly caps, Rapid7 MDR says engagement has no caps, and eSentire says incident handling is unlimited. WithSecure Elements MDR gives conditional access to forensics and sends major incidents to a separate process.
CrowdStrike Falcon Complete cites warranty coverage of up to 2 million US dollars, and Arctic Wolf ties its warranty to a bundle and a three-year term. Ask each vendor for the warranty text and the definition of a major incident before the pilot, and compare the dollar figures only once you know the conditions.
What defines a major incident that leaves the base service?
Which conditions attach to the warranty?
Is forensic work inside the subscription?
Plan the exit and the dependency on the vendor's platform
Leaving an MDR vendor is easier when the data stays in tools you own. Expel and Binary Defense connect to your stack, while Rapid7 MDR runs on Rapid7's SIEM with 13-month retention and Zscaler MDR (Red Canary) leans on Zscaler ZIA for network containment. WithSecure Elements MDR and CrowdStrike Falcon Complete read data from their own agents, so exit also means replacing the agent.
Ask in the trial for a sample export of investigations, detections and reports, and ask which of them you keep after the contract ends. A short pilot on one department, run under written pass criteria that every vendor shares, shows the dependency on a platform or agent before the contract is signed, while switching is still cheap.
What do we keep after termination?
Which agent or platform must we also replace?
Can investigations be exported in a usable format?
What goes wrong most often when buying managed detection and response services software
Comparing a per-endpoint list price with an asset-based or per-organisation quote without converting both to the same estate.
Buying a warranty headline without reading the bundle and term it requires, as with a figure tied to a three-year contract.
Assuming the analysts act in every tool, when some services only recommend inside third-party products.
Skipping a written definition of a major incident, so forensic work is billed separately at the worst moment.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best managed detection and response services in 2026?
Huntress leads our ranking of 11. Huntress puts the agent, managed antivirus and the 24/7 SOC into one per-endpoint line, and its pricing page shows that line openly.
Direct customers and resellers must buy at least 50 seats per product, while MSPs have no Huntress-required minimum. The trial is the full paid product. The company is in Columbia, Maryland, and the Managed EDR page describes endpoint coverage only.
Which managed detection and response services tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 1 products on this page:
Huntress: Published per endpoint per month; free trial; 12-month standard term.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free managed detection and response services tool?
No. None of the 11 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these managed detection and response services vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 4 countries and 2 regions, North America 9, Europe 2:
Huntress: United States.
Expel: United States.
Binary Defense: United States.
eSentire: Canada.
Arctic Wolf: United States.
WithSecure Elements MDR: Finland.
Sophos MDR: United Kingdom.
Zscaler MDR (Red Canary): United States.
Rapid7 MDR: United States.
CrowdStrike Falcon Complete: United States.
Microsoft Defender Experts MDR: United States.
What should you use instead of Huntress?
The next in line are Expel, aimed at companies with an established tool stack that want analysts to work inside it, and Binary Defense, aimed at Mid-size security teams keeping their EDR and SIEM while adding analysts and hunts.
Who should not buy Huntress?
Sub-50-seat organisations buying directly without an MSP or partner. Direct customers and resellers need a minimum of 50 seats per product, so a very small office has to come through an MSP..
If your managed detection and response services product belongs among these 11, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.