Event streaming platforms store and move events between services, often through the Kafka protocol, and the choice mostly comes down to who operates the cluster and what the meter counts.
This guide ranks twelve products on first-ninety-day effort, price after the usual add-ons, ease of exit and independence from partners.
A vendor may pay to be more visible here. The wording of its entry, criticism included, stays ours, and no click on a vendor link pays us. How that works.
In short
What event streaming platforms do
An event streaming platform is a durable, ordered log that applications publish events to and read from in real time, offered as a managed service or as software.
We ranked the 12 event streaming platforms on setup effort first, then total cost, then data export, then exit, then fit for the buyer. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Utrecht Kafka platform adding self-service governance, run on your Kubernetes or hosted
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Event Streaming Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Start on a laptop: one Docker Compose command brings up the platform locally, with schemas, connectors and access rules to test before any sales call.
Production comes in three plans: Axual Cloud on Scaleway, a self-managed deployment on your own Kubernetes or on-premises, or support for a Strimzi environment you already run. Upgrades arrive as Helm charts you apply yourself, and leaving means keeping standard Kafka.
What stands out
Dutch B.V.
Strimzi-based
Governance layer
Where it costs you
No public price list or self-service subscription, so a budget comparison needs a quote
Day-to-day maintenance under managed services runs in business hours, with 24/7 standby only for incidents
Right for
Regulated European organisations wanting governed Kafka per team without a cluster for each
Wrong for
Individual developers wanting a credit-card signup and public rates
NetherlandsQuoted per deployment; no self-service subscription; local Docker Compose run costs nothing
Helsinki-built managed Kafka with a free playground and published monthly tiers
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Event Streaming Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Aiven handles provisioning, patching, failover and backups, and bundles a Karapace schema registry, tiered storage and consumer lag insights. A cost estimator on the page converts ingress rate, egress multiple and retention into a monthly figure before you sign up.
Terms fall under Finnish law. The Kafka itself is upstream Apache 2.0 code, so clients and connectors move across without rewrites, in either direction.
What stands out
Finnish Oy
Free playground
Multi-cloud
Where it costs you
Diskless topics trade latency for cost, with P99 around 1,500 ms in the figures shown against sub-100 ms for classic topics
Prices on the page are in US dollars, so a euro budget carries a currency step
Right for
Teams wanting managed Kafka with clear monthly tiers and a cheap place to experiment
Wrong for
Buyers who need a governance portal for hundreds of internal teams
FinlandFree playground tier; Developer and Professional plans published monthly; larger clusters through sales
Kafka-compatible C++ engine sold as serverless, bring-your-own-cloud or self-run edition
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Event Streaming Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Serverless sets a ceiling of 100 MB/s write, 300 MB/s read and 5,000 partitions with a 99.9% SLA. BYOC lifts it to 2 GB/s write and 112,500 partitions at 99.99%, hosted in your AWS, Azure or GCP account.
Redpanda Connect adds 300+ connectors defined in YAML, and Iceberg topics write to table format. No rates sit on the pricing page, so costing needs the estimate form.
What stands out
Delaware corporation
BSL community edition
Kafka API
Where it costs you
Community Edition is source-available under BSL 1.1, which excludes use as a streaming or queuing service
Serverless tops out at 100 MB/s write and 5,000 partitions, and BYOC requires an annual commitment
Right for
Engineering teams wanting the Kafka API from a single-binary broker, with trials available
Wrong for
Hosting providers wanting to embed the community broker in a service
United StatesServerless pay as you go or annual commit; BYOC with 14-day trial; Enterprise Edition with 30-day trial
Apache Pulsar service from its creators, speaking Pulsar, Kafka, MQTT and REST
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Event Streaming Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Pulsar's multi-tenancy and geo-replication come with every tier, and Pulsar Functions give light processing inside the cluster.
Entry is the Serverless plan from a stated monthly figure, with a free trial attached; Dedicated and BYOC start higher and add single-tenant isolation or deployment in your own account. The Pulsar code is Apache 2.0 licensed, so a self-run exit exists if the managed service stops fitting.
What stands out
Delaware corporation
Pulsar creators
Multi-protocol
Where it costs you
Private networking extras such as peering, Transit Gateway and bring-your-own-key are limited to Pro tiers
Managed Flink is not built in, the page points to partner Ververica
Right for
Organisations that want queue and stream semantics from one cluster with several client protocols
Wrong for
Teams whose tooling, skills and connectors are all Kafka-only
United StatesServerless, Dedicated and BYOC plans with stated monthly starting prices; free trial on Serverless
Company behind NATS, hosting the messaging system with JetStream persistence for streams
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Event Streaming Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The Personal plan costs nothing and includes 2 accounts, 10 connections and 10 GiB of network data, enough for a prototype of JetStream streams, key-value and object stores.
Starter and Pro scale the pool of accounts, connections and storage, and Enterprise adds an SLA and a design review. The server is Apache 2.0 code in the nats-io repository, so a self-run route stays open if the hosted plan stops fitting.
What stands out
Synadia Communications, Inc.
NATS and JetStream
Apache 2.0 core
Where it costs you
NATS clients replace Kafka clients, so existing Kafka connectors and code do not carry over (inference from the protocol difference)
Starter and Pro tiers carry no support SLA and no review of your NATS apps
Right for
Teams connecting services and edge devices who value a small binary over Kafka compatibility
Wrong for
Organisations committed to Kafka connectors, Kafka Streams or ksqlDB
United StatesFree Personal plan; Starter and Pro monthly prices published; Enterprise by contract
Munich company selling Apache Flink stream processing, deployed in your cloud account
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Event Streaming Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Choose it when the broker question is settled and the work is stateful computation: joins, aggregations and CDC pipelines run on Flink with column-level lineage.
The vendor also lists Apache Fluss, a columnar streaming storage layer, and a Streamhouse design that combines stream and lakehouse storage. Certifications named are SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and the imprint places the company under German law.
What stands out
Ververica GmbH
Flink focus
Processing layer
Where it costs you
It is a processing layer, so you still need a broker such as Kafka, Pulsar or Fluss for the events themselves
Google Cloud BYOC is labelled as coming soon, and no price appears on the pages seen
Right for
Banks whose hard problem is windowed joins and fraud rules over streams
Wrong for
Teams that only need to move events from producers to consumers
GermanyNot shown on the pages checked; BYOC listed on AWS and Azure marketplaces, or self-managed contracts
NetApp-owned managed Kafka billed for management only, infrastructure paid to the cloud
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Event Streaming Platforms in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Provisioning works through the console, an API or a Terraform provider, and 24/7 support comes from Kafka specialists. The same console covers Cassandra, PostgreSQL, OpenSearch, ClickHouse and Cadence, which suits an estate that wants one operator for several data stores.
Terms name NetApp, Inc. as the seller. Annual commitments lower the per-node price on a sliding discount, shown beside the calculator, so a twelve-month plan changes the comparison with hourly offers.
What stands out
NetApp, Inc. terms
BYOC or RIIA
Terraform provider
Where it costs you
Under BYOC the headline price excludes cloud VMs, storage and firewalls, so the real bill has two invoices
The pricing calculator loads client-side, so a quick comparison with other vendors needs a session in the tool
Right for
Platform teams with cloud discounts wanting a vendor to operate Kafka in their account
Wrong for
Small teams wanting one all-in price without touching cloud billing
Not stated by the vendorManagement fee per node via calculator; cloud costs separate in BYOC; free trial; annual commit discounts
Ottawa event broker vendor selling event mesh, portal and monitoring in packages
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Event Streaming Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Event Portal designs and catalogues events, schemas and applications, and the portal covers import, discovery and audit against what the brokers actually run. Customer-controlled clusters can sit in your own private cloud or data centre.
Because licensing mixes package, broker tier and application services, plan an early scoping call to see the combined figure; the drawdown model lets that figure flex across a year.
What stands out
Ottawa headquarters
Event mesh
Package licensing
Where it costs you
Capacity tiers are set by connections and queues, which fit enterprise messaging better than raw log throughput
The pricing page lists no rates, so every comparison goes through a sales contact
Right for
Enterprises linking brokers across data centres and clouds with a designed event catalogue
Wrong for
Developers wanting a Kafka-compatible log for analytics pipelines
CanadaFixed subscriptions or annual drawdown; three platform packages; 30-day trial; prices not listed
Kafka service with stated eCKU rates and cluster tiers, owned by IBM
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Event Streaming Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The vendor shows estimated monthly starts of about 385 dollars for Standard, 895 for Enterprise and 2,300 for Freight, assuming 70% utilisation. Basic scales to zero, so prototypes cost little, but Enterprise adds private networking and the highest throughput.
IBM ownership appears on its own pages, which matters if your supplier list flags parent companies. Kafka stays portable, but proprietary add-ons do not.
What stands out
Confluent, an IBM company
eCKU billing
Kafka, Flink, connectors
Where it costs you
Total cost combines unit-hours, network in and out and storage, so a forecast needs real throughput numbers
Basic offers a 99.5% SLA while the 99.99% figure begins at Standard with two or more units
Right for
Large Kafka estates wanting connectors, governance and processing from the original Kafka vendor
Wrong for
Small teams wanting one fixed monthly figure with no metering
United StatesBasic cluster from nothing a month; Standard and Enterprise rates published per eCKU plus data in and out
AWS-managed Kafka in Express, Standard and Serverless forms with per-meter billing
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Event Streaming Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Express brokers are described as scaling faster and recovering sooner than Standard brokers, and Serverless removes broker sizing in exchange for per-partition charges.
MSK Connect meters workers in units of one vCPU and 4 GB, billed per second. Data leaving to the internet or another region carries standard AWS transfer charges. Kafka clients stay compatible, so the exit is a mirror and cutover plan.
What stands out
AWS service
Express brokers
MSK Connect
Where it costs you
Bills stack several meters (brokers, storage, partitions, connectors, data transfer), so one number never covers the system
It runs only inside AWS, so a later move to another cloud means a migration project
Right for
Companies on AWS wanting Kafka beside IAM, VPC and their other services
Wrong for
Buyers needing Kafka across several clouds or in their own data centre
United StatesHourly broker, cluster and partition meters plus storage and transfer; rate tables load client-side
Microsoft ingestion service with a Kafka endpoint from the Standard tier upward
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Event Streaming Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The Kafka endpoint lets existing producers and consumers connect without code changes, which makes it a retrofit route for Kafka applications moving onto Azure. Capture writes events to storage on tiers above Basic.
Because retention and features follow the tier, pick Premium or Dedicated when audit trails need 90 days. Retained data above the included quota is billed as overage.
What stands out
Microsoft Azure
Kafka endpoint
Four tiers
Where it costs you
Basic lacks Kafka access, Capture and Schema Registry, so a cheap start does not behave like the production tier
Dedicated is charged in one-hour increments with a four-hour minimum
Right for
Azure-centred teams pointing existing Kafka clients at a managed service
Wrong for
Buyers who must run on a cloud other than Azure
United StatesBasic, Standard, Premium and Dedicated tiers metered in throughput, processing or capacity units
Google's usage-priced messaging service with a monthly allowance of 10 GiB
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Event Streaming Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Retention follows storage charges: topics keep messages for the configured duration, and snapshots incur a one-time fee equal to seven days of backlog. Import topics for Kinesis Data Streams are priced separately.
Since billing follows bytes, a quiet workload costs almost nothing, and a heavy fan-out one deserves a model before launch. Portability is lower than with Kafka, so plan an adapter layer if exit matters.
What stands out
Google Cloud
Per-byte billing
Push and pull
Where it costs you
Every extra subscription adds delivered bytes, so fan-out raises the bill in proportion
The pricing page lists a separate Managed Service for Apache Kafka as the route for Lite users, beside Pub/Sub
Right for
Google Cloud teams wanting serverless messaging with nothing to provision and per-use billing
Wrong for
Teams that want Kafka protocol, partitions and offsets under their own control
United StatesPriced per TiB published and delivered; first 10 GiB each month free; storage and transfer extra
An event streaming platform is a durable, ordered log that applications publish events to and read from in real time, offered as a managed service or as software. Products in this area look alike on a feature list, so we would decide these questions first.
01
Check who publishes a price
Prices are public at 4 products (Aiven for Apache Kafka, Synadia, Confluent, Google Cloud Pub/Sub) and on request at the remaining 8, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Headquarters range over 6 countries and 3 regions: North America 8, Europe 3, Elsewhere 1. Legal exposure follows the vendor, not only the data centre, so read the contracting entity before you sign.
Kafka protocol or another protocol before any price
Start with the clients you already run. Axual, Aiven for Apache Kafka and Confluent keep the Kafka protocol, so existing producers, consumers and connectors continue to work. StreamNative speaks Pulsar, Kafka, MQTT and REST from one cluster, while Synadia's NATS uses its own clients and subjects, so every service that publishes or consumes needs a new library.
Azure Event Hubs offers a Kafka endpoint, but only from the Standard tier up. A protocol change is a rewrite budget, not a licence line, and it belongs in the comparison next to the monthly figure. Teams with no Kafka estate are freer to pick on other grounds, but should still ask how many languages and frameworks their services use, since client quality differs by protocol.
List every client library and connector currently in use.
Test one real producer and consumer against each shortlisted endpoint.
Price the rewrite hours if the protocol differs.
What the meter counts decides the invoice
Confluent bills elastic units per hour plus gigabytes in, out and stored, and publishes rates for each cluster type. Amazon MSK combines broker-hours, partition-hours, storage, connector workers and transfer. Azure Event Hubs charges per hour of throughput, processing or capacity unit, with a four-hour minimum on Dedicated. Google Cloud Pub/Sub charges per TiB published and delivered, so each subscription counts again.
Aiven shows tiers with a fixed monthly floor, and Synadia sells fixed pools with no overage. Fixed pools suit spiky teams who fear surprises; metered models suit steady traffic that is easy to forecast. Whichever you pick, estimate with your own traffic, not the vendor's example, and repeat the estimate for a month with double the volume to see which meter grows fastest.
Model peak and average MB/s, subscriptions and retention days.
Check what happens when a plan quota runs out.
Add transfer and connector charges to every estimate.
Where the brokers live: their cloud, your account or your Kubernetes
Redpanda Serverless and Confluent run in the vendor's accounts, while Redpanda BYOC and Ververica BYOC place the data plane inside your own cloud account. Instaclustr offers both and, in BYOC, charges only for management while cloud resources go straight to your provider. Axual runs on your Kubernetes, on-premises or in its own cloud on Scaleway, and Solace adds software and appliances for private sites.
Hosting inside your account lets existing cloud discounts apply but moves patching and capacity limits closer to you. Single-cloud services such as Amazon MSK and Google Cloud Pub/Sub trade that choice for integration with their own platform, which is convenient until the company runs a second cloud or a private site.
Decide who holds the encryption keys and network perimeter.
Ask whether your cloud commitment discount applies.
Confirm which regions each deployment option supports.
Governance, licences and the way out
Kafka-compatible does not mean portable in every respect. Axual and Aiven describe their Kafka as upstream with standard clients, so leaving keeps the data format. Redpanda's Community Edition is under the Business Source License, which bars offering it as a streaming service, and Synadia and StreamNative publish Apache 2.0 code for NATS and Pulsar.
Governance portals, schema registries and proprietary connectors are where lock-in builds up: Solace's Event Portal and Confluent's managed connectors live inside the vendor's product. Before signing, export a topic with its schema and offsets to a neutral target and measure how long it takes, then note who would do that work under the contract you are offered.
Check the licence of the engine and of any console you depend on.
Run a test export of topics, schemas and consumer offsets.
Ask which governance features exist only inside the vendor product.
What goes wrong most often when buying event streaming platforms
Comparing a free playground or serverless entry tier with production pricing and then being surprised by the step in cost.
Counting only the broker line, which leaves out connectors, network transfer, long retention and the cloud resources paid separately under BYOC.
Treating Kafka compatibility as proof of a painless migration without testing transactions, ACLs and consumer offsets on a real workload.
Buying a stream processing platform such as Ververica when the actual gap is a broker, or the reverse.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What are the best event streaming platforms in 2026?
First of 12 on this page is Axual. Axual B.V. of Utrecht packages Apache Kafka and Strimzi with a portal where each team requests topics and schemas and the data owner approves access.
Teams share one cluster under quotas, so adding a team adds no cluster. Pricing follows the deployment, not a list, and there is no self-service sign-up, so a production test starts with a conversation.
Which event streaming platforms publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Aiven for Apache Kafka: Free playground tier; Developer and Professional plans published monthly; larger clusters through sales.
Synadia: Free Personal plan; Starter and Pro monthly prices published; Enterprise by contract.
Confluent: Basic cluster from nothing a month; Standard and Enterprise rates published per eCKU plus data in and out.
Google Cloud Pub/Sub: Priced per TiB published and delivered; first 10 GiB each month free; storage and transfer extra.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free event streaming platform?
Aiven for Apache Kafka, Synadia can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these event streaming platform vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, North America 8, Europe 3, Elsewhere 1:
Axual: Netherlands.
Aiven for Apache Kafka: Finland.
Redpanda: United States.
StreamNative: United States.
Synadia: United States.
Ververica: Germany.
Instaclustr: Not stated by the vendor.
Solace: Canada.
Confluent: United States.
Amazon MSK: United States.
Azure Event Hubs: United States.
Google Cloud Pub/Sub: United States.
Which event streaming platforms can you host yourself?
Instaclustr. The other 11 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Axual?
Second is Aiven for Apache Kafka, which suits teams wanting managed Kafka with clear monthly tiers and a cheap place to experiment. Third is Redpanda, which suits Engineering teams wanting the Kafka API from a single-binary broker, with trials available.
Who should not buy Axual?
Individual developers wanting a credit-card signup and public rates. No public price list or self-service subscription, so a budget comparison needs a quote.
Sell event streaming platforms and missing from the ranking? Send us a line on what the product does and who buys it. Whether it is added is our decision alone, and the terms of a listing sit on the software advice page.