Data governance software records who owns data, what terms mean, where data flows and who may use it.
This guide ranks eleven products on setup effort, the bill once quality, lineage or access modules are added, how metadata can leave, and whether you can buy and run it without a long sales process.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What data governance software does
Data governance software gives organisations a shared place to define business terms, assign owners, trace lineage, classify sensitive data and set access policies across their databases, warehouses and reporting tools.
Our order comes from five tests, taken in turn: effort to set up, what you really pay, what happens to your data on the way out, how locked in you are, and the intended customer. A challenger rule applies on top. Places 1 to 3 are kept for lesser-known vendors when the category has them; large brands rank from 4. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Catalog and lineage you install yourself, priced by editors
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Data Governance Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingEurope
Dataedo bills by editors, the people who write documentation, while viewers and connectors are unlimited. The pricing page lists Essentials, Data Lineage and Data Quality as yearly plans, with the trial installed on Windows, AWS or Docker, or a cloud setup on request.
Deployment choices include on-premises and self-hosted cloud. Exit is the unknown: the pages read do not describe an export format, so test it during the trial.
What stands out
Priced per editor
Windows or Docker install
Unlimited viewers
Where it costs you
Plans are named Essentials, Data Lineage and Data Quality, so lineage and quality checks cost more than plain cataloguing.
Cost follows the number of editors, with a floor of three, so a large stewardship team raises the bill faster than a large reader base.
Right for
Mid-sized data teams wanting a catalogue with a printed price and an on-premises option
Wrong for
Buyers needing runtime access enforcement across several warehouses
PolandPublished yearly prices for three plans, set by editor seats; 14-day trial only; viewers unlimited
Prague catalog sold by seat bundle, with a monthly starting price
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Data Governance Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingEurope
Dawiso counts seats rather than data volume. Standard bundles five contributors and twenty viewers; Corporate bundles sixty and 240; Enterprise starts at 260 and 1,040.
Connectors are unlimited at every level, and the object cap is per contributor. Only Enterprise allows an on-premises install. The pricing page lists no export route, so ask how glossary and lineage leave before signing.
What stands out
Seat bundles
Unlimited connectors
On-premises in Enterprise
Where it costs you
Support on Standard is a Slack forum, and an account manager only starts in Corporate.
Objects are capped at 100,000 per contributor licence, and scanning more means buying extra licences.
Right for
Small governance teams wanting a catalogue and glossary with a visible entry price
Wrong for
Teams that need a self-serve trial before talking to anyone
CzechiaStandard plan starts at a published monthly price; Corporate and Enterprise by demo; no trial named
Apache-licensed metadata platform with an optional managed service
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Data Governance Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Among data governance tools, this is the one whose code you can read under Apache-2.0, with 130+ connectors listed by the project.
Collate sells the managed route in steps: 5 users and 500 assets free, 25 users and 5,000 assets on Premium, 50 users and 10,000 on Enterprise. A governance buyer should count assets and stewards before choosing, because those two numbers decide which step applies.
What stands out
Apache-2.0
130+ connectors
Managed via Collate
Where it costs you
Hosting it yourself leaves upgrades and uptime with your own engineers.
Collate's free tier covers only five users, so a team of ten needs a paid tier at once.
Right for
Buyers who want licence-free code first and a paid managed route only if they need it
Wrong for
Teams that expect a vendor to carry the operations burden from day one
Not stated by the vendorOpen source you host yourself; Collate managed tiers include a free tier with published limits
Apache-licensed metadata platform with a managed Cloud edition
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Data Governance Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestNorth America
DataHub's own comparison page splits the product in two. Core means manual install, configuration and upgrades, with your team owning uptime. Cloud means guided onboarding, managed upgrades and security patching, and a dedicated customer success team.
The company says it is headquartered in Palo Alto, California. Exit from Core is straightforward because you hold the instance; exit from Cloud is not described.
What stands out
Apache-2.0 Core
Managed Cloud edition
Community on Slack
Where it costs you
Core has basic access controls and no SSO or fine-grained permissions out of the box.
Cloud pricing is not published, so the step up from Core is hard to budget in advance.
Right for
Platform teams comfortable running open-source tooling who may add a vendor later
Wrong for
Teams without engineers to install, upgrade and troubleshoot it
United StatesCore is open source with no licence fee; Cloud pricing is scoped per use case by sales
Licence priced by connectors, capabilities and author users, not data volume
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Data Governance Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
OvalEdge counts a connector as one technology at one IP address, so one database instance is one connector whatever it holds. Catalogue, glossary, workflows and classification come as the base platform; the platform page lists 170+ prebuilt connectors.
The pricing page argues against consumption pricing, which is a fair point, but it publishes no figure and does not describe export.
What stands out
Licensed, not metered
170+ connectors
Add-on lineage and quality
Where it costs you
No price is shown on the pricing page, so the licence has to be quoted before comparison.
Lineage, quality and access governance are per-connector add-ons, so a broad rollout costs more than the entry licence.
Right for
Lean governance teams wanting a predictable licence tied to connected systems
Wrong for
Buyers who want prices and a trial before any call
United StatesLicence quoted from connectors, enabled capabilities and author users; no trial named on the pricing page
Lyon catalog sold in three editor-minimum tiers, all quoted
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Data Governance Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
For a governance buyer the tier ladder matters most: Starter gives SSO and unlimited readers, Professional adds the governance module and usage analytics, and Enterprise adds data products management.
The company is a SAS registered in Lyon, with a Paris office since 2019. Each tier has a minimum editor count of 5, 15 or 50, so the number of people who curate decides the tier before any feature does.
What stands out
Minimum editors per tier
Unlimited readers
Quote per tier
Where it costs you
Even the entry tier requires five editors and ends in a quote button.
The governance module only arrives in Professional, which starts at fifteen editors.
Right for
French or European teams wanting a catalogue first and a governance module as a later step up
Wrong for
Governance leads who need rule-setting from the lowest tier or a stated price
FranceStarter, Professional and Enterprise tiers; no prices shown, each with a get-a-quote button
Governance, quality and mastering modules on one platform, priced by tier
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Data Governance Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestEurope
Ataccama describes cloud and on-prem environments and a platform made of modules: data quality, catalogue, lineage, reference data, observability and master data management. Exceeding a tier never interrupts operations or triggers retroactive charges, according to its pricing page.
That is friendlier than hard caps, but it still means the true cost is a negotiated figure, and the three counted dimensions each grow as the programme spreads to more teams and systems.
What stands out
Soft usage limits
Quality and MDM modules
Cloud or on-prem
Where it costs you
No prices are shown, only a request-pricing route and a guided evaluation instead of a trial.
Three pricing dimensions make a quote hard to predict, since checks and objects both grow over time.
Right for
Organisations wanting governance joined to data quality and mastering in one product
Wrong for
Small teams that only need a glossary and a catalogue
CzechiaTier set by named users, data objects and active quality checks; read-only users unlimited; request pricing
Policy engine that decides data access for people and agents
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Data Governance Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Immuta's Govern workflow runs in steps: register users, prepare metadata, then author policies. Classification recommends risk tiers, and data domains group assets.
The newest pitch is agentic access, where an AI assistant requests data and masked columns can be unlocked by a time-limited exception. That fits access control well, and it leaves cataloguing and definitions to another tool in the stack.
What stands out
Access policies
No-code policy editor
Sensitive-data classification
Where it costs you
The Govern page covers classification and policy but does not describe a business glossary.
The pricing address returns a not-found page, so cost is only learned through a demo.
Right for
Regulated organisations needing fine-grained access rules enforced on their data platforms
Wrong for
Teams wanting a glossary and stewardship workflow first
United StatesNo price list found on the site; sold through a demo request
Catalog with lineage and monitoring, now part of Atlassian
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Data Governance Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Core already brings the full catalogue, column-level lineage, SAML and role-based access, which covers the plain end of governance. Premium adds the data quality score, guest accounts, policies and PII scanning; Enterprise adds SIEM logging and disaster recovery support.
No amounts are shown. Because the acquisition banner sits on the homepage, a contract should ask in writing who supports and develops the product over the term.
What stands out
Acquired by Atlassian
Column-level lineage
PII scanning in Premium
Where it costs you
The homepage says Atlassian acquires Secoda, with no word there on what happens to the product next.
Policies and PII scanning sit in Premium, so basic governance on Core means access control only.
Right for
Teams that value column-level lineage and a ready catalogue and accept a changing owner
Wrong for
Buyers who must sign a multi-year contract with an independent supplier
Not stated by the vendorCore, Premium and Enterprise tiers with no prices shown on the pricing page
Catalog vendor selling through a conversation, with no plans shown
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Data Governance Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Alation's navigation pairs the catalogue with separate pages for agentic data governance and AI governance, next to Critical Data Manager, data products, a marketplace and ontologies.
That gives a governance buyer many parts to sequence. The pricing page shows no plans, amounts or trial, so the first meeting has to settle which parts are in scope, what the limits are and how a pilot would be judged.
What stands out
Sales-led
Catalogue and lineage
Agentic governance
Where it costs you
The pricing page offers only a thirty-minute call, so budget cannot be set beforehand.
The pages read state no headquarters country, which matters for a European procurement file.
Right for
Programmes that already plan agentic and AI governance and will buy through a sales process
Wrong for
Procurement teams that must compare written plan limits before any meeting
Not stated by the vendorNo plans or prices shown; the pricing page offers a call; trial not mentioned
Enterprise governance suite with Brussels and New York headquarters
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Data Governance Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Collibra names Brussels as its global headquarters, through Collibra Belgium BV, with New York as the North American base, which suits buyers who want a European contracting party.
The homepage centres on an Enterprise AI Control Plane and sorts content by industry such as healthcare and retail. Without published plans, a buyer learns scope and cost only once a demo request has turned into a sales scoping exercise.
What stands out
Dual headquarters
Sales-led
AI control plane
Where it costs you
The homepage leads to a demo request and shows no amounts, plan names or trial.
The Enterprise AI Control Plane framing suggests a large programme, which adds weight for a small team.
Right for
Belgian and wider European enterprises that want a Brussels-based supplier for a group-wide programme
Wrong for
Small data teams that want to try the product before talking to anyone
BelgiumNo price list on the site; demo request is the entry point
Data governance software gives organisations a shared place to define business terms, assign owners, trace lineage, classify sensitive data and set access policies across their databases, warehouses and reporting tools. Products in this area look alike on a feature list, so we would decide these questions first.
01
Start with pricing transparency
Prices are public at 3 products (Dataedo, Dawiso, OpenMetadata) and on request at the remaining 8, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 6 countries: Europe 5, North America 3, Elsewhere 3.
03
Decide if open source matters
Open source here means OpenMetadata, DataHub. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
How data governance software gets its first owner
Most governance purchases fail before the software matters, because nobody has been told to write definitions. Check how each tool counts the people who do that work. Dataedo prices by editors with a minimum of three, DataGalaxy sets editor floors of five, fifteen and fifty by tier, and Dawiso bundles contributor seats with twenty viewers on Standard.
Readers are unlimited in Dataedo and DataGalaxy, so the bill follows stewards, not staff. Name those stewards before asking for a quote. A catalogue with no named owner per domain fills with unreviewed entries within a quarter, and then the tool gets blamed for a staffing gap. Buy the seat count you can actually fill.
List the named stewards per data domain before requesting any quote
Ask whether readers and viewers are unlimited or counted
Confirm what happens when you add a steward mid-term
Why Ataccama ONE and OvalEdge need a pricing worksheet
Governance vendors count different things, and the unit decides your growth cost. Ataccama ONE sets a tier from named users, data objects and quality checks active in the past 90 days, with soft limits. OvalEdge counts connectors, per-connector capabilities and author users, and says data volume is irrelevant. Dawiso counts seats and caps objects per contributor at 100,000.
None of these figures is published except Dawiso's Standard start. Ask each vendor for a quote built on the same inventory: number of source systems, expected tables, and stewards. Then ask what each added capability costs, such as lineage or quality, because the entry licence rarely covers the modules a buyer ends up needing.
Send every vendor the same inventory of systems, tables and stewards
Ask the price of lineage, quality and access modules separately
Ask what happens to the price when objects or checks double
Documenting data is not the same as controlling access
Catalogues such as Dataedo, Alation and OpenMetadata describe data: definitions, owners, lineage. They do not by themselves decide who may query a table. Immuta works the other way round. It registers users, classifies sensitive columns and applies policies natively on each platform, with masked values unlocked by a time-limited exception.
Its Govern page does not describe a glossary. Many buyers need both halves, and the integration between them is where projects slip. Decide which risk you are buying down first: confusion about meaning, or exposure of personal data. If it is exposure, put the access layer first and keep the catalogue modest. If it is confusion, start with a glossary and add enforcement later.
Write down whether your first problem is meaning or exposure
Ask Immuta-style tools how classifications reach your catalogue
Ask catalogue vendors which platforms they enforce policy on
Ownership, licences and exit for governance platforms
A governance tool holds years of definitions, so the vendor's future matters. Secoda's homepage announces its acquisition by Atlassian, and the pages read do not say how contracts or roadmap will change. OpenMetadata and DataHub Core are Apache-2.0, so the code and your metadata stay under your control, at the price of running them yourself.
DataHub's own page says Core ships without SSO. Collibra and Alation sell through sales conversations, and none of the pages read describes export terms. Before signing with any tool here, ask for the export format in writing, test it on a pilot dataset, check who owns the vendor today, and ask what the contract says if that changes.
Ask for the export format of glossary, owners and lineage in writing
Test an export during the pilot, not after signature
Check current ownership of the vendor and any pending acquisition
What goes wrong most often when buying data governance software
Buying a catalogue before naming who will write and approve the business definitions.
Comparing quotes that count different units, such as editors, connectors, objects and quality checks.
Assuming a catalogue enforces access, when tools like Immuta and the catalogues divide that job.
Skipping a test export during the pilot, then discovering the glossary cannot leave.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best data governance software in 2026?
Our ranking of 11 puts Dataedo first. Dataedo Sp. z o.o. sells one product and prints its price list: three yearly plans, each with a minimum of three editors and unlimited read-only viewers.
It runs on-premises, in your own cloud account or hosted by Dataedo, and a 14-day trial runs on your own data. Lineage and quality checks sit in the two dearer plans, so a documentation-only buyer pays for a ceiling it may not reach.
Which data governance tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 3 products on this page:
Dataedo: Published yearly prices for three plans, set by editor seats; 14-day trial only; viewers unlimited.
Dawiso: Standard plan starts at a published monthly price; Corporate and Enterprise by demo; no trial named.
OpenMetadata: Open source you host yourself; Collate managed tiers include a free tier with published limits.
The remaining 8 sell by quote.
Is there a free data governance tool?
OpenMetadata offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these data governance software vendors established?
In 6 countries across 3 regions: Europe 5, North America 3, Elsewhere 3.
Dataedo: Poland.
Dawiso: Czechia.
OpenMetadata: Not stated by the vendor.
DataHub: United States.
OvalEdge: United States.
DataGalaxy: France.
Ataccama ONE: Czechia.
Immuta: United States.
Secoda: Not stated by the vendor.
Alation: Not stated by the vendor.
Collibra: Belgium.
Which data governance tools are open source?
OpenMetadata, DataHub.
Which data governance tools can you host yourself?
Dataedo, Dawiso, Ataccama ONE. 8 products offer no self-hosted option.
What should you use instead of Dataedo?
The next in line are Dawiso, aimed at small governance teams wanting a catalogue and glossary with a visible entry price, and OpenMetadata, aimed at Buyers who want licence-free code first and a paid managed route only if they need it.
Who should not buy Dataedo?
Buyers needing runtime access enforcement across several warehouses. Plans are named Essentials, Data Lineage and Data Quality, so lineage and quality checks cost more than plain cataloguing..
If a data governance software product of yours deserves a place among these 11, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.