Best Container Management Software in 2026

Container management software is the layer that decides who may start, stop and update containers on your servers and clusters.

This guide ranks eleven products on how much work the first ninety days take, what the bill looks like once teams and clusters are added, how you leave, and whether you can run it without a partner.

Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.

In short

What container management software does

Container management software gives teams one place to deploy, monitor and control containers across Docker hosts or Kubernetes clusters, with access rules, logs and deployment history.

01

The top three

11 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

Our order comes from five tests, taken in turn: effort to set up, what you really pay, what happens to your data on the way out, how locked in you are, and the intended customer. One rule sits on top of those tests: places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.

11tools reviewed
5publish a price
1have a free tier
5countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

11 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1PortainerNew ZealandPublished per-node annual plans (Starter, Scale), custom Enterprise tier; first 3 nodes free; 45-day Enterprise trial—Teams with mixed Docker, Swarm and Kubernetes hosts wanting one governed consoleOrganisations that want to run their own distribution and nothing on top
#2KomodoNot stated by the vendorOpen source under GPL-3.0; no per-server limit stated; run it on your own hardware—Small teams running Docker hosts who want free software they controlBuyers who need a vendor contract, support hours or Kubernetes
#3CoolifyNot stated by the vendorSelf-hosted is free of charge; Cloud has published monthly pricing with a base for two servers plus a per-server add-on—Developers deploying web apps and databases to their own serversPlatform teams governing many Kubernetes clusters across business units
#4Giant SwarmGermanySold through the sales team; the pages read list no prices or trial—Platform teams that want Kubernetes operated for them, not by themTeams wanting to download, test and run software themselves in an afternoon
#5Podman DesktopNot stated by the vendorFree to download; open source under Apache-2.0; Red Hat sells a separate supported buildYesDevelopers wanting a free local container and Kubernetes interfaceOperations teams needing shared access control over production hosts
#6LensUnited StatesPublished per-seat monthly plans; Personal tier free for small organisations; Plus, Pro and Enterprise paid—Engineers who work in Kubernetes clusters all day and want a visual clientTeams wanting a central server that deploys and governs workloads
#7SUSE RancherLuxembourgQuoted per organisation through a sales form; the Rancher software itself is open source—Platform teams running many clusters who want an open source baseSmall teams with a few Docker hosts and no Kubernetes
#8Mirantis Kubernetes EngineUnited StatesSubscription sold through the vendor; the product page lists no prices—Regulated organisations needing a hardened on-premises Kubernetes platformSmall teams who want to sign up and deploy this afternoon
#9HashiCorp NomadNot stated by the vendorCommunity Edition under the Business Source Licence; Enterprise sold as a base package plus an optional governance add-on—Teams scheduling containers and non-container jobs on their own machinesBuyers who want a graphical console to point and click
#10DockerUnited StatesPublished per-user monthly plans (Pro, Team, Business); Personal tier free—Developer teams standardising how containers are built and sharedOperations teams governing production clusters and server fleets
#11Red Hat OpenShiftUnited StatesSubscription by edition; managed editions run on AWS, Azure, Google Cloud or IBM Cloud; trial available—Large organisations standardising on one supported Kubernetes platformSmall teams that only need to run a few containers

Listed countries refer to the company, not the infrastructure. Differences in hosting are noted inside the entries.

04

The 11 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Portainer · 2. Komodo · 3. Coolify · 4. Giant Swarm · 5. Podman Desktop · 6. Lens · 7. SUSE Rancher · 8. Mirantis Kubernetes Engine · 9. HashiCorp Nomad · 10. Docker · 11. Red Hat OpenShift

#1 Portainer

One console for Docker, Swarm, Podman and Kubernetes hosts

Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Container Management Software in 2026.

Published pricingAsia-Pacific

The pricing page counts a node as any server, VM or device running the Portainer server or managed by one. Starter covers 5, 10 or 15 nodes; Scale covers 5 to 25 with next-business-day support and 24 vCPUs per node; Enterprise is custom with 24/7 support as an option.

The three nodes free offer is limited to one licence per organisation. The company page says the product is made in New Zealand.

What stands out
  • Per-node licence
  • Docker and Kubernetes
  • 3 nodes free
Where it costs you
  • Starter and Scale plans keep a fixed node count for the term and change only at renewal.
  • Starter caps each node at 16 vCPUs and offers community support only; Starter is limited to one licence per company.
Right for

Teams with mixed Docker, Swarm and Kubernetes hosts wanting one governed console

Wrong for

Organisations that want to run their own distribution and nothing on top

New ZealandPublished per-node annual plans (Starter, Scale), custom Enterprise tier; first 3 nodes free; 45-day Enterprise trial

#2 Komodo

Self-run build and deploy tool for containers across many servers

Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Container Management Software in 2026.

Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere

The docs split Komodo into Core, a web server hosting the API and browser interface, and Periphery, a stateless agent on each connected server. Core handles deployments, builds, alerts and browser shells.

Resources can be defined as TOML files in a git repository and synced. The GitHub repository states the GPL-3.0 licence. The site says there is no limit on connected servers and never will be.

What stands out
  • Open source
  • Unlimited servers
  • Docker Swarm support
Where it costs you
  • The repository disclaimer says the software carries no warranties, and the pages read show no paid support option.
  • The documentation describes Docker containers, compose stacks and Swarm; Kubernetes clusters are not listed.
Right for

Small teams running Docker hosts who want free software they control

Wrong for

Buyers who need a vendor contract, support hours or Kubernetes

Not stated by the vendorOpen source under GPL-3.0; no per-server limit stated; run it on your own hardware

#3 Coolify

Open source control plane that deploys apps to your own servers

Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Container Management Software in 2026.

Open sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere

The pricing page offers self-hosted at no cost with all features, and Cloud at a base price covering two servers plus a set amount per extra server, with 20 percent off annual billing.

Cloud hosts only the Coolify dashboard; apps still run on servers you bring from a provider such as Hetzner or AWS. The repository carries the Apache-2.0 licence. The site footer names coolLabs Solutions Kft. but gives no country.

What stands out
  • Open source
  • Self-host or cloud
  • Bring your servers
Where it costs you
  • You supply and maintain the servers in both the self-hosted and Cloud options.
  • The documentation covers applications, databases and services on Docker; it describes no Kubernetes cluster management.
Right for

Developers deploying web apps and databases to their own servers

Wrong for

Platform teams governing many Kubernetes clusters across business units

Not stated by the vendorSelf-hosted is free of charge; Cloud has published monthly pricing with a base for two servers plus a per-server add-on

#4 Giant Swarm

Managed Kubernetes platforms run for you by a platform team

Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Container Management Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestEurope

The homepage describes empowering platform teams to provide internal developer platforms, with use cases for industrial IoT, developer platforms and hybrid or multi-cloud estates.

The contact page gives a mailing address in Cologne, Germany, and lists the founder and chief executive. Neither the homepage nor the company page states prices, a free tier or a trial. Expect a scoping call before any number is quoted to you.

What stands out
  • Managed service
  • Platform engineering
  • Hybrid and multi-cloud
Where it costs you
  • No pricing or trial appears on the pages read, so cost comparison needs a sales conversation.
  • A managed platform ties daily operations to the provider's engineers.
Right for

Platform teams that want Kubernetes operated for them, not by them

Wrong for

Teams wanting to download, test and run software themselves in an afternoon

GermanySold through the sales team; the pages read list no prices or trial

#5 Podman Desktop

Graphical desktop app for containers and local Kubernetes work

Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Container Management Software in 2026.

Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere

The site calls it the best free and open source tool for containers and Kubernetes work, built by a community and trusted as part of the CNCF. The GitHub repository states Apache-2.0.

A separate section says Red Hat offers the Red Hat Build of Podman Desktop with enterprise support and long-term maintenance. The pages read name no company as owner and give no country, so none is claimed.

What stands out
  • Open source
  • Desktop app
  • CNCF project
Where it costs you
  • It runs on one workstation and offers no multi-user governance of shared servers.
  • Commercial support is a separate Red Hat build, not part of the free download.
Right for

Developers wanting a free local container and Kubernetes interface

Wrong for

Operations teams needing shared access control over production hosts

Not stated by the vendorFree to download; open source under Apache-2.0; Red Hat sells a separate supported build

#6 Lens

Desktop Kubernetes IDE sold per seat, owned by Mirantis

Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Container Management Software in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

Pricing lists Personal at no cost, Plus at 25 dollars a month on annual billing, Pro at the same per seat, and Enterprise at 50 dollars per seat. Enterprise adds SSO, SCIM, offline activation and an air-gapped mode.

Features include multi-cluster management, logs, Helm management and a security centre for CVE reports. Mirantis states that it acquired Lens, and the Lens site footer credits Mirantis Inc.

What stands out
  • Kubernetes IDE
  • Per-seat licence
  • Owned by Mirantis
Where it costs you
  • Personal use is restricted by company size, with a 30-day evaluation limit for larger organisations.
  • SSO, SCIM and air-gapped mode need the Enterprise tier, the most expensive seat price.
Right for

Engineers who work in Kubernetes clusters all day and want a visual client

Wrong for

Teams wanting a central server that deploys and governs workloads

United StatesPublished per-seat monthly plans; Personal tier free for small organisations; Plus, Pro and Enterprise paid

#7 SUSE Rancher

Multi-cluster Kubernetes management from SUSE with an open source core

Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Container Management Software in 2026.

Open sourcePricing on requestEurope

The Rancher pricing page holds a form that sends requests to the regional sales team, with no figures. The homepage calls Rancher open source with more than 19,700 GitHub stars and offers managed Rancher on Amazon EKS with a free trial on AWS.

The GitHub repository states Apache-2.0. SUSE S.A.'s contact page gives its registered office as Luxembourg; the Rancher site routes support through the SUSE Customer Center.

What stands out
  • Open source core
  • Multi-cluster
  • Quoted pricing
Where it costs you
  • The pricing page is only a request form, so the cost of support is not visible before contact.
  • The wider Rancher stack adds projects such as Longhorn and K3s, which enlarges what a team must learn.
Right for

Platform teams running many clusters who want an open source base

Wrong for

Small teams with a few Docker hosts and no Kubernetes

LuxembourgQuoted per organisation through a sales form; the Rancher software itself is open source

#8 Mirantis Kubernetes Engine

Hardened Kubernetes platform on k0s with a DISA STIG profile

Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Container Management Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

The product page calls it FIPS 140-3 validated and STIG-hardened, built on k0s and shipped with k0rdent Enterprise by default. Clusters are managed through a web interface, a command line or an API.

The company page lists a Campbell, California address, describes the firm as privately held, and traces the product back to the Docker Enterprise platform business Mirantis bought in 2019.

What stands out
  • Hardened Kubernetes
  • k0s based
  • Regulated sectors
Where it costs you
  • No pricing is shown on the product page, so a buyer cannot estimate cost before contact.
  • Swarm users are pointed to a separate earlier release rather than this product.
Right for

Regulated organisations needing a hardened on-premises Kubernetes platform

Wrong for

Small teams who want to sign up and deploy this afternoon

United StatesSubscription sold through the vendor; the product page lists no prices

#9 HashiCorp Nomad

Scheduler for containers and plain binaries, from HashiCorp

Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Container Management Software in 2026.

Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere

The docs describe Nomad as a simple, flexible scheduler for containers and non-containerised applications. Enterprise adds resource quotas, Sentinel policies, audit logging and multi-region deployments, sold as a base Platform package plus a Governance and Policy add-on.

The repository licence names IBM as licensor of versions 1.7.0 and later. The pages read do not state a vendor country, so none is given.

What stands out
  • Source available
  • Mixed workloads
  • Enterprise edition
Where it costs you
  • The licence blocks using Nomad to compete with IBM's paid versions, which matters to service providers.
  • Once enterprise features are in use, the docs say the cluster cannot revert to the community version.
Right for

Teams scheduling containers and non-container jobs on their own machines

Wrong for

Buyers who want a graphical console to point and click

Not stated by the vendorCommunity Edition under the Business Source Licence; Enterprise sold as a base package plus an optional governance add-on

#10 Docker

Docker Desktop and Hub sold per user, with Business controls

Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Container Management Software in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

The pricing page lists Personal at no cost, Pro and Team with annual discounts, and Business with SSO, SCIM, Image Access Management and Enhanced Container Isolation. Team allows up to 100 users and Business has no user cap.

Included usage covers Docker Scout repositories and Testcontainers Cloud minutes. Docker, Inc. publishes a Palo Alto, California address in its privacy policy and legal terms.

What stands out
  • Per-user plans
  • Docker Desktop
  • Business controls
Where it costs you
  • Personal covers one user and rate-limits Docker Hub pulls to 100 an hour.
  • SSO and SCIM are listed only under Business, the top self-serve tier.
Right for

Developer teams standardising how containers are built and shared

Wrong for

Operations teams governing production clusters and server fleets

United StatesPublished per-user monthly plans (Pro, Team, Business); Personal tier free

#11 Red Hat OpenShift

IBM-owned enterprise Kubernetes platform in self-managed and cloud editions

Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Container Management Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

The pricing page splits editions into cloud services (Service on AWS, Azure Red Hat OpenShift, Dedicated, IBM Cloud) and self-managed (Container Platform, Platform Plus), with Kubernetes Engine and Virtualization Engine variants.

Trials include a developer sandbox and a trial cluster. Red Hat's company page lists a Raleigh, North Carolina address and states it has been joined with IBM since 2019.

What stands out
  • Enterprise Kubernetes
  • Many editions
  • Owned by IBM
Where it costs you
  • Choosing among editions and add-ons makes the real price hard to estimate from the pricing page.
  • Managed editions are run jointly with a cloud partner, adding a second party to the relationship.
Right for

Large organisations standardising on one supported Kubernetes platform

Wrong for

Small teams that only need to run a few containers

United StatesSubscription by edition; managed editions run on AWS, Azure, Google Cloud or IBM Cloud; trial available
06

How to choose container management software

Container management software gives teams one place to deploy, monitor and control containers across Docker hosts or Kubernetes clusters, with access rules, logs and deployment history. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.

  1. 01

    Work out how much a sales call is worth to you

    6 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 5 publish a pricing model you can read today: Portainer, Coolify, Podman Desktop, Lens, Docker.

  2. 02

    Look at where the vendor sits

    Jurisdiction is a buying criterion here. The 11 vendors are spread over 5 countries (North America 4, Elsewhere 4, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1), and the home country determines which disclosure rules bind them.

  3. 03

    Consider whether you want the source

    Source code is available for Komodo, Coolify, Podman Desktop, SUSE Rancher. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.

Container management software: what the licence counts

The unit on the invoice differs more here than in most categories. Portainer charges per node and its pricing page says a single licence spans all three orchestrators. Lens and Docker charge per seat or per user, which suits developer tools but says nothing about how many servers they touch.

Coolify Cloud charges a base price plus an amount per extra server, and Komodo states no limit on connected servers. Red Hat OpenShift sells by edition, and Mirantis Kubernetes Engine shows no price at all. Count your hosts, vCPUs per host and engineers, then price each model. Portainer's Starter plan caps vCPUs per node, so a few large machines can push you into a higher plan.

  • Count nodes, vCPUs per node and people separately
  • Ask whether one licence covers Docker and Kubernetes
  • Check the per-node vCPU cap against your largest machine

Docker hosts, Swarm or Kubernetes: match the tool to the runtime

Not every product here manages Kubernetes. Komodo and Coolify deal with Docker hosts and compose stacks, and Komodo also manages Swarm. Portainer covers Docker, Swarm, Podman and Kubernetes in one console. SUSE Rancher, Mirantis Kubernetes Engine and Red Hat OpenShift centre on Kubernetes, and Mirantis points Swarm users to an earlier release.

HashiCorp Nomad schedules plain binaries as well as containers. Lens and Podman Desktop sit on a workstation instead of a server. Write down which runtimes you will run in two years before shortlisting, because moving a Swarm estate to a Kubernetes-only product is a migration project, not a licence change.

  • List every runtime you run today and plan to run
  • Separate workstation tools from server-side control planes
  • Ask how a Swarm estate is handled before buying

Open source, source available or proprietary: read the container licence

Licences in this category are less open than the labels suggest. Rancher and Coolify are Apache-2.0 and Komodo is GPL-3.0 on their official repositories. Podman Desktop is Apache-2.0 as well. HashiCorp Nomad is under the Business Source Licence from IBM, and its additional use grant forbids offering it in competition with IBM's paid versions, so it is source available.

Portainer's repository carries a zlib licence, but its paid plans are licence keys for Business Edition. Lens, Docker and OpenShift are commercial products. The difference shows when you want to fork, resell or host the software for customers or when you need to leave.

  • Read the licence file in the official repository
  • Check the additional use grant for competing-service limits
  • Ask what stays usable if the vendor changes terms

Self-run tool or managed platform: Giant Swarm, Rancher and OpenShift

Some products are software you run, others are a relationship. Giant Swarm sells platforms its own staff operate, and shows neither price nor trial. Red Hat OpenShift offers managed editions jointly with AWS, Microsoft and IBM, which adds a cloud partner to the contract. Rancher is open source, with support quoted through a sales form.

Komodo, Coolify and Portainer are installed and run by you. The managed route removes patching work but makes your exit depend on a handover, so ask early how clusters, configuration and logs leave. A tool you run yourself costs engineer hours in the first ninety days instead.

  • Ask who patches and upgrades the control plane
  • Ask what a handover looks like if you leave
  • Estimate engineer hours for the first ninety days

What goes wrong most often when buying container management software

  • Buying a per-seat developer tool such as Lens or Docker and expecting it to govern production servers.
  • Picking a Kubernetes-only platform when half the estate is still Docker hosts or Swarm.
  • Treating a source available licence like Nomad's as open source and building a hosted service on it.
  • Starting a managed platform contract without asking how clusters and configuration are handed back.
07

Frequently asked questions

8 answers
What is the best container management software in 2026?

Our ranking of 11 puts Portainer first. Portainer is priced by the node, and one licence covers Docker, Swarm and Kubernetes together, so a mixed estate does not need three contracts.

Starter and Scale have fixed node counts until renewal. Starter is limited to 16 vCPUs per node and community support, so growing teams reach the Scale plan quickly. It manages clusters rather than replacing a Kubernetes distribution.

Which container management tools publish their pricing?

5 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:

  • Portainer: Published per-node annual plans (Starter, Scale), custom Enterprise tier; first 3 nodes free; 45-day Enterprise trial.
  • Coolify: Self-hosted is free of charge; Cloud has published monthly pricing with a base for two servers plus a per-server add-on.
  • Podman Desktop: Free to download; open source under Apache-2.0; Red Hat sells a separate supported build.
  • Lens: Published per-seat monthly plans; Personal tier free for small organisations; Plus, Pro and Enterprise paid.
  • Docker: Published per-user monthly plans (Pro, Team, Business); Personal tier free.

The other 6 quote per organisation.

Is there a free container management tool?

Podman Desktop offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.

Where are these container management software vendors established?

The headquarters are spread over 5 countries and 4 regions, North America 4, Elsewhere 4, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1:

  • Portainer: New Zealand.
  • Komodo: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Coolify: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Giant Swarm: Germany.
  • Podman Desktop: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Lens: United States.
  • SUSE Rancher: Luxembourg.
  • Mirantis Kubernetes Engine: United States.
  • HashiCorp Nomad: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Docker: United States.
  • Red Hat OpenShift: United States.
Which container management tools are open source?

Komodo, Coolify, Podman Desktop, SUSE Rancher.

Which container management tools can you host yourself?

Coolify, HashiCorp Nomad. The remaining 9 run only on the vendor's servers.

What should you use instead of Portainer?

Komodo and Coolify are the next two on this page. Komodo is for small teams running Docker hosts who want free software they control; Coolify is for Developers deploying web apps and databases to their own servers.

Who should not buy Portainer?

Organisations that want to run their own distribution and nothing on top. Starter and Scale plans keep a fixed node count for the term and change only at renewal..

—

Tools reviewed

11 products
—

More Data & IT software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

Do you make a container management software product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.

Suggest a product →