Feature management software lets engineers switch code paths on and off per user, company or percentage without redeploying, and some products add experiments.
This guide ranks thirteen products by what the first ninety days cost in work, what the bill becomes under each metering unit, how cleanly flags export, and whether one vendor stands alone.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What feature management software does
Feature management software stores flags and remote configuration outside the codebase, evaluates targeting rules per user or account, and records who changed what, so releases and rollbacks need no redeployment.
To rank feature management tools we asked, in turn, how much work setup takes, what it truly costs, whether data can be taken back out, whether leaving is possible, and who the product suits. A separate rule reserves the first three places for challengers and moves the household names to place 4 and below. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Flag service that charges per config download, with unlimited seats
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Feature Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The pricing page meters five tiers by config downloads, from 5 million a month on Forever Free to 6 billion on Dedicated, with network traffic allowances alongside. SDKs cache the JSON locally and you set the polling interval from one second upward.
ConfigCat Kft. has its seat in Budapest. Dedicated is described as a private cloud managed by you or by ConfigCat. Check the polling interval you need against the download allowance before choosing a tier.
What stands out
Download-based metering
Unlimited seats
ISO 27001:2022
Where it costs you
The free plan allows only ten flags and two products, so a real product outgrows it quickly.
Targeting limits per flag, such as segments and percentage options, rise by plan, so heavy rule use pushes you up a tier.
Right for
Small engineering teams that want predictable flag costs regardless of headcount or traffic
Wrong for
Buyers wanting built-in experiment statistics and a warehouse workflow
HungaryForever Free plan; four paid plans published monthly; Dedicated tier for a private cloud
The plan table lists unlimited flags, environments and segments on every tier, so the limits that matter are requests, team members and projects. Overage starts at a published rate per million requests.
The privacy policy names Bullet Train Limited, registered in London, as the operator. Enterprise adds tailored hosting from cloud to air-gapped instances. A busy mobile app can exhaust the free request allowance within days, so estimate calls first.
What stands out
Request-based metering
BSD-3-Clause core
Self-hosted option
Where it costs you
Governance features such as change requests and audit logs sit on Scale-Up, the second paid tier.
Team seats are capped per plan, with Scale-Up allowing up to twenty members, so larger teams must talk to sales.
Right for
Teams wanting one codebase they can run on their own servers or buy hosted
Wrong for
Buyers wanting pricing independent of client API call volume
United KingdomFree plan; Start-Up and Scale-Up published monthly or yearly; Enterprise quoted; open source core
Flag platform sold per seat, with an open-source edition on GitHub
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Feature Management Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingEurope
The comparison table lists unlimited flags, projects and environments, SSO, role-based access, audit logs with two years of retention, and data residency in the US or EU on both the pay-as-you-go and custom tiers.
Terms name Bricks Software AS in Oslo, with a US entity in Palo Alto. Flag metrics are kept for ninety days. The GitHub repository is licensed AGPL-3.0, which matters for legal review.
What stands out
Per-seat billing
AGPL-3.0 edition
Stale-flag tracking
Where it costs you
Because billing is per seat, adding product managers and support staff raises the monthly cost directly.
Hosted private instances and the multi-region edge layer are add-ons on the custom contract, not on pay-as-you-go.
Right for
Engineering-led organisations with many users and few people editing flags
Wrong for
Companies wanting whole-company access to flag dashboards at a flat price
NorwayOpen-source edition free; hosted Pay-As-You-Go published per seat; Enterprise contract quoted
Apache-licensed flag platform billed per user plus metered requests
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Feature Management Software in 2026.
Open sourcePublished pricingAsia-Pacific
Anyways Labs Ltd, registered in New Zealand, runs the service under the FeatureHub trade name. The GitHub repository states the Apache 2.0 licence, and the pricing page promises that all open-source features are in the hosted product.
Request prices are listed per ten thousand calls for streaming, REST and test traffic. Because requests are metered, estimate polling and streaming volume before trusting the low seat price.
What stands out
Apache 2.0
Per user plus requests
Unlimited flags
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows no tiers for SSO, audit retention or support levels, so those answers need a sales conversation.
Streaming requests cost more than REST calls, so real-time client updates raise the monthly bill.
Right for
Small teams wanting the lowest per-seat rate and a source-visible server
Wrong for
Regulated buyers needing documented compliance tiers before a trial
New ZealandPer-user price published, plus API request charges by call type; 30-day trial; open source core
Open-core flag platform for self-hosting with no seat or user limits
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Feature Management Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
The company page lists FeatBit Inc. in Colorado, FeatBit SAS in Paris and a Hong Kong entity, and says commercial agreements may be signed with any of them. Its README calls the project open core and puts most of the code under MIT.
The pricing page lists Bayesian experimentation, a CLI and MCP tools among the features. Enterprise Premium adds extra auto-sync agents and shorter reply targets, priced on request.
What stands out
MIT open core
Self-hosted
No MAU caps
Where it costs you
Cloud plan prices were not on the pages read, so hosted costs are unknown until you ask.
Part of the code falls outside the MIT licence, so check which features you rely on before assuming open source.
Right for
Platform teams comfortable running infrastructure who want uncapped users at a fixed fee
Wrong for
Teams wanting a hosted service with a visible usage-based price list
United StatesSelf-hosted Foundation tier free and open source; Enterprise yearly price published; Premium custom
Flags and experiments that read results from your own data warehouse
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Feature Management Software in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
The pricing page offers a Cloud and a Self-Hosted view. Pro adds multi-arm bandits, safe rollouts and premium support. Its README splits the code: the bulk is MIT, while a few directories carry a separate Enterprise licence.
A managed warehouse option exists for teams that do not want to connect their own. Legal terms name GrowthBook, Inc. without a street address, so the country is left unstated.
What stands out
MIT open core
Warehouse-native
Per-seat Pro
Where it costs you
Starter caps users at three and projects at one, so a second team needs Pro.
Approval workflows and SCIM appear only on Enterprise, whose price is not published.
Right for
Data-literate teams that want release flags and experiment statistics in one tool
Wrong for
Teams without a warehouse or analyst to maintain event data
Not stated by the vendorFree Starter for three users; Pro published per seat; Enterprise custom; self-hosted option
SaaS-focused flags that track which customer companies use each feature
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Feature Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The terms of service are issued by Bucket ApS and governed by Danish law, and the company page describes a distributed team across Denmark, Sweden, the UK and Portugal.
Early-access workflows, release stages and in-app feedback are part of the plan table. Remote config, a kill switch and local evaluation are on every tier. Estimate your monthly tracked users first, since consumer traffic burns through allowances fast.
What stands out
Company-level targeting
Unlimited seats
OpenFeature support
Where it costs you
Starter's 1,000 tracked users is a low ceiling for any product with a real audience.
SAML sign-on is limited to the custom Enterprise plan.
Right for
B2B SaaS teams releasing features by customer company rather than by user
Wrong for
Consumer apps with large user counts and tight margins
DenmarkFree Starter plan; Pro published monthly or annually; Enterprise custom; metered by tracked users
Flag service with two published euro plans and request-based overage
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Feature Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Both paid plans include five seats; extra seats cost seven euros a month on Standard and fourteen on Pro, up to caps of twenty and fifty. Audit history runs a week on Standard and a month on Pro.
Overage requests are charged at the end of the month. The terms and privacy documents are linked only as PDFs that could not be read as text here, so the company location is left unstated.
What stands out
Euro pricing
Seat and request billing
Required approvals
Where it costs you
Standard allows one project and a one-week audit log, which is thin for regulated work.
Paid plans stop at twenty and fifty seats, so growing teams must move to a custom contract.
Right for
Small product teams wanting predictable euro billing and approvals on a mid plan
Wrong for
Buyers needing a permanent free tier or a stated company address
Not stated by the vendorStandard and Pro published monthly with request overage; Enterprise custom; 30-day trial only
Hosted dashboard for the Flipper gem used in Ruby applications
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Feature Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The pricing page states a soft 50-seat limit and says the company dislikes per-seat pricing, so tiers are fixed-cost. The terms name Very Good Software, LLC in Granger, Indiana.
A self-hosted Pro version of the Cloud UI, running inside your own Rails app, is advertised as early access at a yearly fee per organisation. Cloud tiers also differ in environments, with Bronze allowing one custom environment and Gold unlimited.
What stands out
Ruby focus
MIT open-source gem
Polling-based sync
Where it costs you
The product is built around Ruby applications and their client-side code, so other back ends gain little.
Free-tier polling every five minutes means flag changes can take that long to reach servers.
Right for
Rails teams that already use the Flipper gem and want a hosted UI
Wrong for
Polyglot companies running services in several unrelated languages
United StatesFree Cloud tier; Bronze, Silver and Gold published monthly or yearly; 14-day trial; Enterprise on request
Release-control platform billed by service connections and client-side users
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Feature Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The Foundation tier lists a per-connection rate and a per-thousand-user rate, with a 14-day trial and no platform or seat fees. Special packages exist for Kubernetes, serverless, Python and Ruby because they create many connections.
The about page says the company was founded in 2014 in Oakland, California. Newer AgentControl pricing meters AI runs, adding a third unit to estimate when budgeting.
What stands out
Usage-based billing
Guardian add-on
AI run tracking
Where it costs you
Two usage meters, connections and client-side users, make the bill hard to forecast for consumer traffic.
Release monitoring and automatic rollback cost extra on top of Enterprise.
Right for
Large engineering organisations needing governance, approvals and guardrails around every release
Wrong for
Small teams that need a fixed monthly bill
United StatesFree Developer plan; Foundation pay-as-you-go published; Enterprise custom; Guardian add-on priced separately
Flag service built around .NET, with a free Starter plan
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Feature Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The pricing page lists Team at nineteen dollars a month with five applications and three members, and Business at 199 dollars with ten applications and fifteen members. Extra applications and members are billed per unit.
The terms name opsAI LLC as operator and governing law as that of the United States, which does not locate the company. The FAQ says evaluations run locally in the SDK, with definitions cached.
What stands out
.NET first
Per-application pricing
Local evaluation
Where it costs you
Approval flows and app-level permissions begin on the Business plan, so governance means a large step up in monthly cost.
Starter limits you to one application, so multi-service companies reach Team immediately.
Right for
Small .NET teams wanting a low-cost start with approvals on the top plan
Wrong for
Companies needing SSO on a published price list
Not stated by the vendorFree Starter plan; Team and Business published monthly; 30-day trial; Enterprise by demo
File-based open-source flags with no database, built on OpenFeature
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Feature Management Software in 2026.
Open sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The pricing page offers an Opensource tier at no cost with all features and unlimited flags, and an Enterprise support tier with SLA on CVE fixes, roadmap preview and maintainers joining your chat.
The comparison table calls it free under the MIT licence. Retrievers cover S3, Google Cloud Storage, Azure Blob, GitHub, MongoDB and more. The site names no company, so no country can be given.
What stands out
MIT licence
File-based config
OpenFeature native
Where it costs you
Targeting rules live in YAML files, so every change passes through whoever can edit and deploy them.
Community support is the only free support, and the paid plan is contact-only.
Right for
Platform engineers who keep flags in version-controlled files, not dashboards
Wrong for
Product teams wanting a hosted dashboard with approvals and roles
Not stated by the vendorOpen source and free to run; optional Enterprise support plan on request
CyberAgent-built open-source flag and experiment platform for self-hosting
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Feature Management Software in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
The GitHub README calls it an enterprise-grade feature management and experimentation platform, self-hosted and scalable, and links a live demo and a Slack community.
The site describes dark launches, staged rollouts and trunk-based development. Bayesian analysis is stated to need smaller samples than frequentist methods. Because neither site nor README names a company address, the country is not stated here.
What stands out
Apache-2.0
Self-hosted
Bayesian A/B tests
Where it costs you
No hosted service or price list appears on the pages read, so you carry operations alone.
Support routes are a community Slack and documentation, with no commercial tier shown.
Right for
Infrastructure teams that want an Apache-licensed platform they operate themselves
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a vendor-hosted service with an SLA
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under Apache-2.0, run on your own infrastructure; no vendor price list seen
Feature management software stores flags and remote configuration outside the codebase, evaluates targeting rules per user or account, and records who changed what, so releases and rollbacks need no redeployment. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
The split is 12 published against 1 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with ConfigCat, Flagsmith, Unleash, FeatureHub, FeatBit, GrowthBook, Reflag, Tggl, Flipper Cloud, LaunchDarkly, Toggly, GO Feature Flag.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Headquarters range over 7 countries and 4 regions: Elsewhere 5, Europe 4, North America 3, Asia-Pacific 1. Legal exposure follows the vendor, not only the data centre, so read the contracting entity before you sign.
03
Decide if open source matters
Source code is available for Flagsmith, FeatureHub, FeatBit, GO Feature Flag, Bucketeer. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
Feature management software: what each vendor counts on the invoice
The unit on the invoice differs more than the headline price. ConfigCat counts config downloads and ignores seats and users. Flagsmith counts API requests, FeatureHub adds a per-user rate to request charges, and Tggl combines seats with request blocks. Reflag counts monthly tracked users, LaunchDarkly counts service connections and client-side users, and Unleash and GrowthBook Pro bill per seat.
A mobile app with a million quiet users behaves very differently under each of these. Write down servers, client apps, daily active users, editors and polling interval, then price each vendor's page with those numbers. Re-run the sum for a year of growth, because a unit that is cheap today can dominate the bill later.
List servers, client apps, users and flag editors
Convert your traffic into each vendor's billing unit
Price a year of growth, not just today
Open core and self-hosting: FeatBit, Flagsmith, Unleash and GO Feature Flag
Many products here publish source, but the licences differ and so does the work. GO Feature Flag is MIT and keeps flags in files, Bucketeer and FeatureHub use Apache licences, Flagsmith is mostly BSD-3-Clause, and FeatBit and GrowthBook are open core with some code under other terms. Unleash publishes its repository under AGPL-3.0, which legal teams read carefully.
Self-hosting removes metering but moves uptime, upgrades and database care to you, and Unleash's Enterprise edition sets a five-seat minimum for self-hosting. Decide who gets paged when the flag service fails, because an outage there can change application behaviour. Ask whether your team would rather pay for hosting or staff the service.
Read the licence file in the repository, not the marketing page
Name who gets paged when flags fail
Compare self-hosted effort against the hosted price
Approvals, roles and audit trails in LaunchDarkly, Flagsmith and Tggl
Governance features are where cheap plans end. LaunchDarkly keeps approvals, scheduling and SCIM on Enterprise, and Flagsmith holds roles, change requests and audit logs for Scale-Up. Tggl offers required approvals on Pro and keeps a short audit log on Standard. Toggly puts approval flows on Business, Reflag puts user permissions on Pro, and GrowthBook puts approval workflows on Enterprise.
Unleash lists four-eyes approvals on its pay-as-you-go tier. If an auditor or a bank customer will ask who changed a production flag and who approved it, buy the tier that records that, and ask how long edits stay searchable. Do not assume approvals are included because the product is a flag tool.
Find the plan that adds approvals and audit logs
Ask how long edits stay searchable
Confirm SSO sits on the tier you will buy
Stale flags and clean-up: Unleash, Reflag and Flipper Cloud
A flag that nobody removes becomes permanent code with a hidden branch. Unleash lists a stale-flag dashboard, lifecycle categories and stale-on and stale-off notifications. Reflag's Pro plan includes self-cleaning flags, and Tggl lists technical debt management among its features. Flipper Cloud lets you assign feature owners on every tier.
Others, including GO Feature Flag and Bucketeer, leave clean-up to your own process. Pick a rule before adopting any tool: every release flag has an owner and a removal date, and temporary flags are separated from permanent kill switches. A product that tracks stale flags only helps if someone reads the report. Include the clean-up task in the definition of done.
Give every release flag an owner and removal date
Separate temporary flags from permanent kill switches
Check whether the tool reports stale flags
What goes wrong most often when buying feature management software
Choosing on the free tier alone, then discovering that ConfigCat's ten flags or Reflag's 1,000 tracked users run out in the first quarter.
Comparing seat prices without counting request or connection charges, which can exceed the licence at LaunchDarkly, FeatureHub and Flagsmith.
Self-hosting an open-core product and assuming every feature on its pricing page is in the licensed source, when FeatBit and GrowthBook both place part of their code elsewhere.
Leaving release flags in the code for years because nobody owns removal, so the number of untested paths grows with every launch.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best feature management software in 2026?
ConfigCat takes first place among the 13 we reviewed. ConfigCat counts only the config JSON downloads its SDKs make from the CDN, so seats, service connections, monthly active users and flag reads cost nothing extra.
The Forever Free plan stops at ten flags, two environments and two products. Pro raises that to 100 flags and Smart removes the flag cap. Cost therefore follows how often your apps poll, which you control.
Which feature management tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 12 products on this page:
ConfigCat: Forever Free plan; four paid plans published monthly; Dedicated tier for a private cloud.
Flagsmith: Free plan; Start-Up and Scale-Up published monthly or yearly; Enterprise quoted; open source core.
Unleash: Open-source edition free; hosted Pay-As-You-Go published per seat; Enterprise contract quoted.
FeatureHub: Per-user price published, plus API request charges by call type; 30-day trial; open source core.
FeatBit: Self-hosted Foundation tier free and open source; Enterprise yearly price published; Premium custom.
GrowthBook: Free Starter for three users; Pro published per seat; Enterprise custom; self-hosted option.
Reflag: Free Starter plan; Pro published monthly or annually; Enterprise custom; metered by tracked users.
Tggl: Standard and Pro published monthly with request overage; Enterprise custom; 30-day trial only.
Flipper Cloud: Free Cloud tier; Bronze, Silver and Gold published monthly or yearly; 14-day trial; Enterprise on request.
Toggly: Free Starter plan; Team and Business published monthly; 30-day trial; Enterprise by demo.
GO Feature Flag: Open source and free to run; optional Enterprise support plan on request.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free feature management tool?
ConfigCat, Flagsmith, FeatBit, GrowthBook, Reflag, Flipper Cloud, LaunchDarkly, Toggly offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these feature management software vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 5, Europe 4, North America 3, Asia-Pacific 1:
ConfigCat: Hungary.
Flagsmith: United Kingdom.
Unleash: Norway.
FeatureHub: New Zealand.
FeatBit: United States.
GrowthBook: Not stated by the vendor.
Reflag: Denmark.
Tggl: Not stated by the vendor.
Flipper Cloud: United States.
LaunchDarkly: United States.
Toggly: Not stated by the vendor.
GO Feature Flag: Not stated by the vendor.
Bucketeer: Not stated by the vendor.
Which feature management tools are open source?
Flagsmith, FeatureHub, FeatBit, GO Feature Flag, Bucketeer.
Which feature management tools can you host yourself?
Flagsmith, Unleash, FeatBit, GrowthBook, Bucketeer. The other 8 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of ConfigCat?
The next in line are Flagsmith, aimed at teams wanting one codebase they can run on their own servers or buy hosted, and Unleash, aimed at Engineering-led organisations with many users and few people editing flags.
Who should not buy ConfigCat?
Buyers wanting built-in experiment statistics and a warehouse workflow. The free plan allows only ten flags and two products, so a real product outgrows it quickly..
Do you make a feature management software product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.