Subscription analytics software turns billing records into MRR, churn, retention and cohort reports for companies that sell on recurring plans.
This guide ranks eleven products on setup effort, the bill once exports and extra billing systems are counted, how data leaves, and whether the vendor is independent of a payments or billing suite.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What subscription analytics software does
Subscription analytics software connects to billing systems and calculates recurring revenue, churn, lifetime value and cohorts, giving finance and growth teams one set of subscription metrics.
Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every subscription analytics tool here. One rule sits on top of those tests: places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Published percentage of billing volume pay-as-you-go, or monthly plans on one-year contracts; custom pricing at high volume
—
Software companies already collecting card payments through Stripe
Businesses collecting mainly by SEPA direct debit or bank transfer
The country column shows the vendor's headquarters or contracting entity. Data hosting is a separate matter, and an entry flags it when the two diverge.
Berlin-built revenue metrics with a free plan and warehouse export
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Subscription Analytics Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The pricing page counts tracked ARR: the free plan stops at 120K ARR, Starter and Pro cover up to 10M ARR, and Enterprise has no cap. Billing sources are limited to 1 on Free and Starter, 5 on Pro and 15 on Enterprise.
Advanced destinations, Snowflake and BigQuery among them, begin on Pro. The terms name ChartMogul GmbH & Co. KG in Berlin, and the page lists SOC 2 Type II certification.
What stands out
Free plan
Warehouse sync
Built-in CRM
Where it costs you
Starter connects one billing system and three team members, so a company with two billing systems needs Pro.
Enterprise begins at an annual contract, and the pricing page shows no monthly option for that tier.
Right for
SaaS finance and growth teams wanting MRR, churn and cohort reports from billing data
Wrong for
Buyers wanting failed-payment recovery inside the same subscription
GermanyFree plan up to a revenue limit; Starter and Pro published by tracked revenue; Enterprise on an annual contract
Plain MRR, churn and cohort reports for Stripe or Paddle accounts
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Subscription Analytics Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The page shows Pro in six steps from 250 to 10,000 paying customers, with a contact route above that. The free plan allows three team members, while Pro allows unlimited ones.
The terms say an individual operates the service from a registered London address and that English law governs disputes. Billing details for MRR.io subscriptions are processed by Paddle, according to its privacy policy. Plans run pay as you go and can be cancelled at any time.
What stands out
Free plan
Stripe and Paddle
Cohort analysis
Where it costs you
Only Stripe and Paddle sync directly; data from other processors arrives by manual entry or the read/write API.
Cohort analysis and forecasting sit on Pro, not on the free plan.
Right for
Solo founders and small SaaS on Stripe or Paddle watching a few hundred customers
Wrong for
Companies with well over ten thousand paying customers
United KingdomFree plan up to 100 paying customers; Pro published by customer count; 30-day trial; pay as you go
Metrics priced on tracked revenue, with payment recovery sold separately
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Subscription Analytics Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Baremetrics bands run from Launch up to 360K ARR, Growth up to 3.6M and Scale above, and annual billing can take up to 35 percent off the listed price.
Scale includes a dedicated support rep and budget and expense tracking. The terms name Baremetrics Inc. and apply Alabama law, while the privacy-shield policy refers to servers located in the United States.
What stands out
Priced by ARR
Recovery add-on
28+ metrics
Where it costs you
The analytics API is listed only on Scale, so smaller accounts cannot pull their data programmatically.
Advanced exports start on Growth, and Cancellation Insights carries an extra monthly fee on every plan.
Right for
Early-stage SaaS wanting metrics free first, then bands following revenue rather than seats
Wrong for
Teams needing API access below the top band
United StatesFree plan while tracked ARR stays under a limit; paid bands published; add-ons priced separately; free trial
Billing and sixty B2B SaaS metrics for finance teams, sold by quote
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Subscription Analytics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The analytics page lists ARR, CARR, LTV, CAC, NRR, GRR and 54 other metrics, with cohort reports tracking NRR over time and a view of which metadata correlates with it.
Named integrations are QuickBooks, NetSuite, Xero, HubSpot and Salesforce. The company page says Subscript was founded in San Francisco with a fully remote team across 20 countries, and its enterprise terms give a Delaware mailing address.
What stands out
Quoted
CARR and NRR
Billing bundle
Where it costs you
The lowest ballpark on the pricing page is a five-figure yearly sum, which excludes companies with little revenue.
The real figure is quoted after a conversation, so budget is unknown before a demo.
Right for
B2B SaaS finance leaders with usage-based or parent-child accounts and a five-figure budget
Wrong for
Founders wanting to connect a billing account and start today
United StatesQuoted per organisation; ballpark range shown on the pricing page; one-off onboarding fee
Mobile subscription analytics tied to app store purchases and web billing
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Subscription Analytics Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
RevenueCat advertises reporting on 40-plus metrics, predictive LTV cohort analysis, Apple Search Ads cohort tracking and daily deliveries of normalised data to a cloud destination.
The terms describe RevenueCat, Inc. as a Delaware corporation with a Florida business address, and California law governs. Its client SDKs on GitHub carry an MIT licence, yet the hosted service is the paid product.
What stands out
App subscriptions
Tracked revenue
Charts
Where it costs you
The bill is a percentage of tracked revenue, so it rises in step with app income.
The pricing page describes in-app purchase infrastructure, not invoice-based B2B contracts.
Right for
Mobile app publishers selling subscriptions through Apple and Google stores
Wrong for
B2B software billed by invoice or direct debit
United StatesFree below a tracked-revenue threshold, then a published percentage of tracked revenue; Enterprise quoted
Failed-payment and cancel-flow tool with a free recovery measurement tier
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Subscription Analytics Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Measure is free and includes an MCP connection to Claude or ChatGPT. Dunning or Cancel Flows alone start at $269 a month, both together at $430, set by MRR, and an advisory review costs $2,500 once.
The company says it has handled 50 million failed payments since 2013 and sells month to month with no contract or commission. Pricing for a single product scales at roughly 0.1 percent of MRR.
What stands out
Dunning
Cancel flows
Month to month
Where it costs you
Analytics cover failed payments and cancellations; MRR and cohort reporting must come from another product.
The fee changes when MRR moves to another tier, and setup takes about an hour with the vendor's team.
Right for
Mid-market subscription brands losing revenue to failed payments on an existing billing platform
Wrong for
Anyone wanting MRR, LTV and cohort dashboards from it
United StatesFree plan for measurement only; dunning and cancel flows published by MRR band; month to month
Cancel flows and payment recovery with churn metrics included
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Subscription Analytics Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Starter bundles cancel flows, dunning-style recovery and a metrics view for $250 a month billed yearly, with a 14-day trial and no card needed.
Core adds A/B tests, unlimited segmentation, customer timelines and Slack or webhook integrations. The security page and footer cite SOC 2 Type II and GDPR, but the pages read name no country, so confirm the contracting entity before signing.
What stands out
Cancel flows
Churn-volume tiers
14-day trial
Where it costs you
Starter is limited to teams with under 5K of monthly churn volume, so larger teams must move up a plan.
A/B testing and segmentation are listed from Core, not on Starter.
Right for
Subscription businesses focused on cancellations and failed payments more than revenue reporting
Wrong for
Finance teams wanting MRR waterfalls and board reporting
Not stated by the vendorStarter published as a yearly-billed monthly fee by churn volume; Core and Intelligence quoted; 14-day trial
Merchant of record whose free ProfitWell Metrics also reads other billing tools
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Subscription Analytics Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The trade is explicit: Paddle becomes the seller, so it files the VAT, handles the invoices and absorbs the chargebacks, and you take a lower net rate for it. For a team of five selling into thirty countries that is cheaper than an accountant.
Once you have finance staff, the same percentage buys you nothing you could not do yourself, and your customer records live inside a relationship you cannot fully control.
What stands out
Merchant of record
Free metrics
Per transaction
Where it costs you
The rate is far above a plain card processing fee
You do not own the merchant relationship with your customer
Right for
Small software sellers who cannot staff international tax compliance
Wrong for
Companies with a finance team and their own VAT registrations
United KingdomPublished per-checkout percentage plus fixed fee; ProfitWell Metrics free; custom pricing at high volume
Subscription billing platform whose analytics unlock on the higher plan
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Subscription Analytics Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The retry engine, pause offers and plan-change flows are where Recurly earns its keep, and the entry price on the site ($249 a month plus 0.9% of billing volume) means the first conversation can start with a number.
The design assumptions are consumer subscriptions: many customers, similar plans, churn as the main problem. B2B contracts with negotiated terms and usage commitments fit less comfortably, and the percentage model becomes an argument at scale.
What stands out
Billing volume
Churn model
90-day trial
Where it costs you
Revenue-based pricing grows faster than the workload
Usage-based models are supported rather than native
Right for
Consumer and prosumer subscriptions where churn recovery drives revenue
Wrong for
Metered infrastructure pricing with millions of events
United StatesStarter published as monthly fee plus percentage of billing volume; All-Access quoted; 90-day trial
Billing platform with usage and revenue analytics, priced on invoicing volume
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Subscription Analytics Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Chargebee Inc. prices its Flow plan on monthly invoicing volume, either 0.80 percent with no monthly fee or 0.65 percent plus $99, and Flow lists usage, pricing and revenue analytics.
Export to Snowflake, S3 and GCS appears under Enterprise, which is quoted. Analytics arrive with billing, so choosing Chargebee for metrics means adopting it as the billing system and paying a share of every invoice.
What stands out
Invoicing volume
Warehouse export
Usage analytics
Where it costs you
Overbuilt and overpriced for one-off invoicing
Takes a percentage of invoicing volume; revenue recognition is a separate product
Right for
A subscription business with proration and dunning to manage
Wrong for
A company sending occasional invoices
United StatesPublished percentage of invoicing volume with optional monthly fee; Enterprise quoted; trial offered
Billing metrics bundled with Stripe subscriptions; custom reports cost extra
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Subscription Analytics Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Billing, payment and dunning in one place removes the reconciliation work that kills small finance teams, and the API is the best documented in this category.
The cost model is the argument against it: at scale you are paying a percentage of revenue for software whose workload has not grown. Card-first design also fits Europe badly, where direct debit is the cheaper instrument. Plan the exit before you have three years of subscriptions inside it.
What stands out
Pay as you go
Billing analytics
Data sync extra
Where it costs you
The percentage rate rises with revenue while the work does not
Subscription logic does not export with the data
Right for
Software companies already collecting card payments through Stripe
Wrong for
Businesses collecting mainly by SEPA direct debit or bank transfer
Not stated by the vendorPublished percentage of billing volume pay-as-you-go, or monthly plans on one-year contracts; custom pricing at high volume
Subscription analytics software connects to billing systems and calculates recurring revenue, churn, lifetime value and cohorts, giving finance and growth teams one set of subscription metrics. What separates these products is rarely a feature. Work through the steps below.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
The split is 10 published against 1 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with ChartMogul, MRR.io, Baremetrics, RevenueCat, Churn Buster, Churnkey, Paddle, Recurly, Chargebee, Stripe Billing.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
The 11 companies behind this list are established in 4 countries, by region North America 6, Europe 3, Elsewhere 2. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.
Which revenue number does subscription analytics software charge on?
Subscription analytics software is billed on one of four bases, and the base decides how the bill ages. ChartMogul and Baremetrics charge by tracked recurring revenue, with a free plan below 120K and 180K ARR respectively. MRR.io charges by paying customers, free up to 100. RevenueCat takes 1 percent of tracked revenue beyond 2,500 a month.
Chargebee, Recurly, Stripe Billing and Paddle charge a share of billing volume, so the analytics ride along with the payments bill. Subscript quotes per organisation. Convert each vendor's unit into your own current and next-year figures, because a company doubling revenue moves up a band on ChartMogul or Baremetrics but only grows a percentage fee on Stripe Billing.
Write down current MRR, paying customers and monthly billing volume
Project each unit twelve months ahead before comparing totals
Check which plan holds the features you actually need
Can subscription analytics software read my billing system?
Intake decides whether subscription analytics software works at all. MRR.io connects directly only to Stripe and Paddle; other processors need manual entry or its API. ChartMogul allows one billing system on Free and Starter, five on Pro and fifteen on Enterprise. Baremetrics lists multiple billing systems on its Scale band. Paddle's ProfitWell Metrics names Stripe, Chargebee and Paddle.
RevenueCat reads app-store purchases, and Subscript names NetSuite, QuickBooks and Xero. Chargebee, Recurly and Stripe Billing report on what they bill themselves, so their analytics follow the billing choice rather than the other way round. A company with web subscriptions on Stripe and app-store subscriptions on Apple needs a tool that merges both, or two reports and a spreadsheet.
List every system that bills a subscriber today
Confirm each system appears on the vendor's integration list
Ask whether a second billing source needs a higher plan
How do I get data out of subscription analytics software?
Exit terms in subscription analytics software differ more than headline prices suggest. ChartMogul's comparison table lists standard CSV exports, a REST API and an MCP server, with Snowflake and BigQuery destinations from Pro, and a scheduled advanced CSV export of MRR per customer per month. Baremetrics puts advanced exports on Growth and its analytics API on Scale.
Chargebee lists export to S3, GCS and Snowflake under Enterprise, and Stripe Billing marks custom reporting and warehouse sync as additional cost. MRR.io offers a read/write API, which also serves as its route for loading data from other processors. A free plan that cannot export the history you built is a lock-in, not a gift. Before connecting a billing account, find which plan unlocks the raw customer-level table and confirm that plan fits your budget.
Find the plan that exports MRR per customer per month
Check whether warehouse sync is included or an add-on
Export a sample during the trial and open it
Should subscription analytics software also recover failed payments?
Analytics tells you where revenue leaks; recovery tools stop the leak, and vendors sell them in three different ways. Baremetrics sells Payment Recovery and Cancellation Insights as add-ons. Churnkey and Churn Buster are built around cancel flows and dunning, with metrics limited to churn outcomes, and Churn Buster offers a free Measure tier for existing tools.
Recurly sells its Engage retention product separately from its billing plans. ChartMogul's pricing page lists no recovery tools. Buying a metrics product and a recovery product separately keeps each replaceable, while a bundle simplifies one invoice. Decide first whether failed payments are a measurable loss for your company, using a month of billing data.
Measure failed-payment losses before paying for recovery
Compare bundled add-ons against a separate dunning tool
Check whether recovery is flat-fee or a share of recovered revenue
What goes wrong most often when buying subscription analytics software
Comparing a free-plan limit in ARR with a free-plan limit in customers without converting both to your own numbers.
Connecting a billing account for a trial before checking whether the plan that exports raw customer-level history is affordable.
Treating a recovery-focused product such as Churnkey or Churn Buster as a replacement for MRR and cohort reporting.
Choosing Chargebee, Recurly or Stripe Billing for analytics alone, then paying a percentage of billing volume for years.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best subscription analytics software in 2026?
ChartMogul leads our ranking of 11. ChartMogul GmbH & Co. KG sells one product, revenue analytics, and prices it by the recurring revenue it tracks: free below 10K MRR, then published Starter and Pro bands.
Pro adds warehouse sync, several billing systems and unlimited seats. Weak spots: Starter allows three users and one billing system, and Enterprise starts at an annual contract, so growth meets a step at each threshold.
Which subscription analytics tools publish their pricing?
10 out of 11 state a price model on their own site:
ChartMogul: Free plan up to a revenue limit; Starter and Pro published by tracked revenue; Enterprise on an annual contract.
MRR.io: Free plan up to 100 paying customers; Pro published by customer count; 30-day trial; pay as you go.
Baremetrics: Free plan while tracked ARR stays under a limit; paid bands published; add-ons priced separately; free trial.
RevenueCat: Free below a tracked-revenue threshold, then a published percentage of tracked revenue; Enterprise quoted.
Churn Buster: Free plan for measurement only; dunning and cancel flows published by MRR band; month to month.
Churnkey: Starter published as a yearly-billed monthly fee by churn volume; Core and Intelligence quoted; 14-day trial.
Paddle: Published per-checkout percentage plus fixed fee; ProfitWell Metrics free; custom pricing at high volume.
Recurly: Starter published as monthly fee plus percentage of billing volume; All-Access quoted; 90-day trial.
Chargebee: Published percentage of invoicing volume with optional monthly fee; Enterprise quoted; trial offered.
Stripe Billing: Published percentage of billing volume pay-as-you-go, or monthly plans on one-year contracts; custom pricing at high volume.
1 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free subscription analytics tool?
ChartMogul, MRR.io, Baremetrics, RevenueCat, Churn Buster have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these subscription analytics software vendors established?
In 4 countries across 3 regions: North America 6, Europe 3, Elsewhere 2.
ChartMogul: Germany.
MRR.io: United Kingdom.
Baremetrics: United States.
Subscript: United States.
RevenueCat: United States.
Churn Buster: United States.
Churnkey: Not stated by the vendor.
Paddle: United Kingdom.
Recurly: United States.
Chargebee: United States.
Stripe Billing: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of ChartMogul?
The next in line are MRR.io, aimed at Solo founders and small SaaS on Stripe or Paddle watching a few hundred customers, and Baremetrics, aimed at Early-stage SaaS wanting metrics free first, then bands following revenue rather than seats.
Who should not buy ChartMogul?
Buyers wanting failed-payment recovery inside the same subscription. Starter connects one billing system and three team members, so a company with two billing systems needs Pro..
If your subscription analytics software product belongs among these 11, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.