IoT platforms connect sensors to storage, dashboards and rules, and they differ in which layer they actually cover.
Fourteen are ranked here on the effort of the opening three months, the bill once devices, messages and retention grow, how readings leave, whether one vendor can sell, host and release you without a reseller, and the fleet each suits.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What iot platforms do
An IoT platform registers devices, receives their readings over protocols such as MQTT, stores the data, shows it on dashboards, triggers alerts and rules, and pushes updates back to the fleet.
Each iot platform was put through the same five questions, in sequence: how hard is setup, what does it really cost, how does data come back out, can you leave, and who is it for. Challengers hold places 1 to 3 wherever the category has them. Established brands begin at place 4. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Dashboards, device templates and a LoRaWAN network server in one product
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best IoT Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Setup is short because most of the work is choosing a template: each of the 400+ comes with its decoder, so a known sensor model reaches a dashboard without a custom payload parser.
Alerts leave by email, SMS or webhook, and data leaves by MQTT, HTTPS webhooks, the REST API or scheduled exports. Cost climbs in device bands rather than per message, which keeps a budget predictable. Settle where it is hosted before sending regulated data.
What stands out
Free for 5 devices
400+ device templates
Scheduled exports
Where it costs you
Hosting, and whether a private option exists, is never described
The Hobby tier tops out at 25 devices with a year of history
Right for
Teams running LoRaWAN sensors who want dashboards and alerts without writing code
Wrong for
Buyers who need a stated private or on-premise deployment
GermanyFree for 5 devices; monthly plans by device band, published
Dashboards and device management to run in the cloud or on-premises
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best IoT Platforms in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
The ladder is the draw: a Free cloud plan with 5 devices, Prototype and Pilot by the month, Private Cloud from 5,000 devices, then on-premises subscriptions or a one-time perpetual licence for those who prefer to run it themselves.
Multi-tenancy is built in, and an IoT Gateway links 25+ industrial protocols over MQTT. The cost is licence reading, since versions before 4.4 stay Apache 2.0 and later ones do not. Test on the cloud tiers first.
What stands out
Source available
Cloud or on-premises
Free tier
Where it costs you
Private Cloud plans start at a high monthly price and carry no trial
Code from version 4.4 on is licensed as Business Source License 1.1, a restricted licence
On-premises subscriptions are not refunded for unused time
Right for
Teams wanting one platform from a cloud prototype to production on their own servers
Wrong for
Anyone who needs a permissive licence on the current code
Not stated by the vendorFree tier for 5 devices; cloud, private cloud and on-premises plans, published
Dedicated instances per customer, with Node-RED and Grafana alongside
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best IoT Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
A dedicated instance means your devices do not share a tenant with strangers, and the yearly bill is a flat figure by device band: 100, 1,000 or 2,500 devices.
Over-the-air updates can target one device or a batch, skipping devices already on the target version, and 170+ integrations cover The Things Stack, LORIOT, ChirpStack and Sigfox. Expect to resolve the two price lists with sales before you sign for a year.
What stands out
Dedicated AWS instance
Free tier
Node-RED and Grafana
Where it costs you
Two sets of monthly figures sit on the pricing page, unexplained
The community tier is described as free with fair limits, and no numbers appear
The GitHub organisation lists client libraries and a CLI, with no server repository
Right for
Teams wanting an isolated instance with Node-RED and Grafana running beside it
Wrong for
Buyers who need the vendor's country stated on its site
Not stated by the vendorFree community cloud tier; dedicated-instance plans billed yearly, published
Usage-priced device management with OTA updates and data pipelines
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best IoT Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Pricing is a list of meters instead of plans: an active device each month, megabytes of OTA bandwidth, megabytes through Pipelines, plus logs and long-term stream retention. That suits a small prototype, since credits cover months of testing.
At fleet scale the spread of meters needs a spreadsheet. Annual prepaid contracts cut the total by up to a tenth, and a new pipeline destination leaves deployed firmware alone.
What stands out
Usage-based
Part of Canonical
Data pipelines
Where it costs you
Canonical ownership means the vendor no longer stands alone
Charges per megabyte for OTA, pipelines and logs make large fleets harder to forecast
Whether the service is hosted only by the vendor goes unmentioned
Right for
Embedded teams who want to pay per active device and per megabyte moved
Wrong for
Anyone needing one predictable monthly invoice for budgeting
United StatesUsage-based per active device and per megabyte, published; trial credits
Branded mobile apps and a web console for connected products
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best IoT Platforms in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
The distinctive part is the end-customer app: each plan ships a branded iOS and Android build next to a web console, and devices connect over MQTT, HTTP or webhooks.
Prices climb by device count and users, so a consumer product with many owners moves from Prototype into Production quickly. The free plan caps messages at 100,000 monthly, while Starter allows 10 million. Read the Production tiers against your expected owner count.
What stands out
Free tier
Branded iOS and Android apps
Managed cloud
Where it costs you
Starter keeps readings for a month, the entry tier for only a week
Self-hosting and on-premise deployment are listed only under Enterprise
The FAQ calls a plan Pro that the pricing table labels Production
Right for
Hardware makers who want a branded companion app for end customers
Wrong for
Teams that need self-managed hosting below the Enterprise tier
Not stated by the vendorFree tier, then monthly plans by device count, published; Enterprise quoted
Dashboards and over-the-air updates built around Arduino and ESP boards
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best IoT Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The vocabulary is Things and variables, and every plan caps both. Maker offers 25 Things with three months of retention, Team 100 Things with a year, and a School plan prices per member. That structure fits classrooms and small product runs.
A fleet of thousands of sensors falls under Enterprise, which is custom-priced through sales. A six-month prototyping offer carries Team-level features, so a pilot can run on it before the yearly commitment.
What stands out
Free tier
Arduino and ESP boards
30-day plan trials
Where it costs you
The entry plan stops at 2 Things and keeps a single day of history
The Team plan stops at 100 Things and 50 users before Enterprise talks begin
Cloud versus self-managed hosting is not addressed anywhere on the plans page
Right for
Makers and schools prototyping on Arduino or ESP boards with a ready dashboard
Wrong for
Fleets of third-party hardware needing large Thing counts
ItalyFree tier; yearly plans by Things and users, published
Container-based fleet updates for Linux devices such as Raspberry Pi
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best IoT Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Plans bundle devices and users: ten devices cost nothing, then Prototype, Pilot and Production add device blocks, with a per-device charge beyond them. Observer seats are unlimited at no cost, while Operators and Developers are priced per user.
The CLI is Apache-2.0, though that covers the command-line tool and not the platform. Because updates arrive as application deltas, bandwidth for remote devices stays small.
What stands out
Free tier
Container-based OS
Per-device pricing
Where it costs you
The yearly table lists $24 per extra device where the monthly one lists $2
The listed features cover updates and images, not dashboards or alerts
Terms name Balena only, with no entity or establishment country given
Right for
Teams shipping containerised software to Raspberry Pi, x86 or Jetson devices
Wrong for
Anyone expecting built-in dashboards and sensor charts from the vendor
Not stated by the vendorFree for the first ten devices; monthly plans by device block, published
Device registry, digital twins and cloud plans from five devices
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best IoT Platforms in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Credentials and devices can be managed singly or in groups, and batching is meant to spare network and battery. Integrations go through a REST API and WebSockets, with business tools such as SAP and Salesforce named.
Cloud plans meter devices and storage in gigabytes, and a Node-RED Cloud add-on costs a small monthly sum. Ask which entity you contract with, since the terms do not name its country.
What stands out
Free for 5 devices
Self-hosted option
Digital twins
Where it costs you
The calculator recommendation does not match any published plan
The self-hosted option and larger endpoint counts are contact-sales only
The length of the 'Try it free' trial is not stated
Right for
Teams that want a managed registry now and the option to host it later
Wrong for
Buyers who need all endpoint counts priced openly
Not stated by the vendorFree for 5 devices; monthly cloud plans by device count, published; self-hosted quoted
Dashboards and alerts with MQTT, HTTP, TCP and UDP ingestion
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best IoT Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The meter that matters is throughput rather than devices: 6 dots per second on Professional, 20 on Industrial and 100 on Enterprise, with retention growing from six months to 24 or more.
Over 20 widget types include gauges, maps and SCADA-style controls. Five end users and five organisations come with Professional, which suits a service business serving a few clients. Count peak readings per second before you trust the device allowance.
What stands out
30-day trial
Private cloud option
Dots-per-second limits
Where it costs you
Professional throughput is 6 dots per second, with bursts allowed three times an hour
Private deployment is part of Enterprise only
No legal entity or country of establishment appears on the homepage
Right for
Small teams wanting widgets, alerts and several ingestion protocols under one plan
Wrong for
High-rate sensor fleets needing more than a few dots per second
Not stated by the vendor30-day trial only; Professional plan per month with included devices, published; higher tiers quoted
Devices, SIM connectivity and cloud sold together under one contract
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best IoT Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The offer joins three layers that other vendors sell separately: devices, EtherSIM connectivity across 350+ carriers and a device cloud with 250+ data integrations. That simplifies a first launch.
The cost is coupling, since leaving means replacing connectivity and cloud together. The free plan allows 100 devices and 100K data operations, and Basic and Plus raise the monthly operation count per block. Larger projects move to annual invoices.
What stands out
Free tier
Cellular SIM included
Acquired by Digi
Where it costs you
Digi now owns it, which ends its stand-alone status
Spend steps up per 100-device block, and every block has a set data-operations cap
No licence is given for the cloud platform itself
Right for
Cellular product teams who want hardware, SIM and cloud from a single supplier
Wrong for
Buyers who must avoid depending on a larger corporate owner
Not stated by the vendorFree for up to 100 devices; monthly blocks of 100 devices, published; larger deals quoted
Device lifecycle management across cloud, edge and air-gapped installs
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best IoT Platforms in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingEurope
Reading the pricing page shows two products: a self-service entry plan with 2.5M messages a month, and a ladder of enterprise tiers up to 99.9% uptime and unlimited messages.
Device handling runs from onboarding to decommissioning, with thin-edge.io and protocol adapters, and a streaming module triggers alarms. Offloading to a data lake supports exit planning. A trial of 30 days is the only no-commitment route, with a separate agreement attached.
What stands out
Cloud, edge and on-premises
30-day trial
Streaming analytics
Where it costs you
Starter keeps data for 30 days and states 95% uptime
Business, Enterprise and both edge plans are contact-sales only
Neither edge plan can run as a highly available or multi-tenant setup
Right for
Industrial operators needing the same platform in cloud, edge and air-gapped sites
Wrong for
Small teams wanting self-service pricing beyond one entry plan
GermanyStarter published; larger plans quoted per organisation; 30-day trial
Low-code workflow engine for device data, with digital twins
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best IoT Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Workflows are the core: data collected from devices passes through a low-code engine, and an edge agent connects to PLCs, CRMs and Azure or AWS. Provisioning is automatic, with digital twins.
The platform states it scales to millions of devices. Evaluating it means filling in a form and waiting for contact, and the Ohio-law terms name only 'Losant', not a registered entity, so contracting details need a question.
What stands out
Workflow engine
Edge agent
Owned by SUSE
Where it costs you
Plan prices are absent, so any budget starts with a call to the vendor
The terms and limits of the Developer Sandbox are not stated
The homepage does not state the hosting options
Right for
Teams automating device data with workflows rather than writing integration code
Wrong for
Teams that need published prices before any sales call
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation; developer sandbox terms not stated
Managed MQTT broker with rules routing, billed per connection minute
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best IoT Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The unit economics are transparent but fiddly: a connection minute rate, a message rate and separate charges for registry, Shadow operations, rules and actions. Basic Ingest over MQTT or HTTP carries no message charge, which helps one-way telemetry.
Security is a strength on paper, with mutual authentication, access policies and Device Advisor test suites. Everything beyond the broker, such as visualisation, is built or bought elsewhere.
What stands out
Pay as you go
MQTT broker and rules
12-month Free Tier
Where it costs you
Each message is rounded up to a 5 KB step, so chatty small payloads add up
No dashboard or device-page product is described next to the broker
Pricing differs per Region and has no named plans to compare
Right for
Teams already on AWS needing a managed broker for very large device counts
Wrong for
Teams wanting dashboards and device pages out of the box
United StatesPay as you go per Region, published; 12-month Free Tier
Device identities, messaging and routing inside the Azure ecosystem
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best IoT Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Tiers are priced per unit and per month, with daily message allowances from 400,000 on a Standard S1 unit up to 300,000,000 on S3.
Device Update for IoT Hub delivers over-the-air updates, and IoT Edge extends the service to the edge, with 10 devices free for testing. Plan the move from the proof-of-concept edition on day one, as it stays separate, and check amounts with Microsoft.
What stands out
Per-unit tiers
Free tier
99.9% SLA
Where it costs you
The free edition cannot be upgraded to a paid edition
The pricing page we captured showed no unit prices
A default limit of 50 hubs per Azure subscription applies
Right for
Teams building on Azure who need device identities, messaging and routing
Wrong for
Buyers who need prices visible before they sign up
Not stated by the vendorFree tier for proof of concept; paid Basic and Standard units per month
An IoT platform registers devices, receives their readings over protocols such as MQTT, stores the data, shows it on dashboards, triggers alerts and rules, and pushes updates back to the fleet. What separates these products is rarely a feature. Work through the steps below.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Prices are public at 13 products (Datacake, ThingsBoard, Thinger.io, Golioth, Blynk, Arduino Cloud, Balena, Kaa, Ubidots, Particle, Cumulocity, AWS IoT Core, Azure IoT Hub) and on request at the remaining 1, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
The 14 companies behind this list are established in 4 countries, by region Elsewhere 9, Europe 3, North America 2. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.
What an IoT platform bills for: devices, messages, blocks or units
Every vendor here meters something different, and the cheap entry price hides which meter grows first. Datacake and ThingsBoard sell bands of devices, so a fleet that doubles moves you up one rung. AWS IoT Core charges per minute connected and per million messages in 5 KB steps, so firmware that reports every few seconds costs more than one that reports hourly.
Golioth bills each active device plus megabytes of updates and pipeline traffic. Particle sells blocks of 100 devices, each with a fixed allowance of data operations. Azure IoT Hub sells units with a daily message ceiling. Model your own fleet against its meter, not the headline, because the first meter to run out differs from vendor to vendor and the cheapest entry plan is often the one that hits it soonest.
Estimate messages per device per day and multiply it out for the whole fleet.
Find out what a tier ceiling triggers: a throttled feed, an overage or a forced upgrade.
Price the fleet at three times today's device count before choosing.
Dashboards, updates or connectivity: which part does the platform cover
IoT platforms are not interchangeable, because each started from a different layer. Balena delivers containers and OS updates to Linux boards and leaves charting to others. Blynk and Arduino Cloud begin from the app and dashboard end, with firmware updates attached. Thinger.io and Ubidots lean towards dashboards and ingestion protocols.
AWS IoT Core and Azure IoT Hub are brokers and routing layers, so visualisation is something you add. Losant is a workflow engine. Particle bundles hardware, SIM and cloud. Decide first which layer you lack, then buy for it, instead of expecting one product to cover everything, which none of them does without a second tool or a custom build behind it.
List the layers you already own: broker, dashboards, update delivery, connectivity.
Check that over-the-air updates can target a batch or a device profile, not only one device.
Confirm the firmware libraries support your board before you commit to a plan.
Cloud only, dedicated or self-managed: where the platform can run
Hosting options vary widely, and the answer decides which vendors stay on the shortlist. ThingsBoard offers shared cloud, private cloud and on-premises deployment in your own data centre, including air-gapped sites. Cumulocity names cloud, edge, on-premises and air-gapped environments, though its edge plans lack high availability and multi-tenancy.
Thinger.io puts each paid plan on a dedicated AWS instance in a region you choose, and offers an on-premise option. Blynk lists self-hosting only under Enterprise, and Ubidots reserves private deployment for Enterprise. Others, such as Golioth and Arduino Cloud, say nothing about hosting on the pages we read, so ask before you shortlist them for a regulated site.
Write down whether the sites you serve allow data to leave the premises at all.
Ask which plan unlocks private or on-premises hosting and what it costs.
Check what is missing on the self-managed option, such as clustering or multi-tenancy.
Getting readings and devices out of an IoT platform before the fleet grows
The exit question arrives late in IoT, because devices are already in the field. Datacake includes scheduled CSV and JSON exports and full backups. Kaa exposes a REST API and WebSockets. Golioth Pipelines forward data to AWS, Azure, GCP or custom APIs, and routing changes need no new firmware. AWS IoT Core routes messages with programmable rules.
Devices tied to a vendor SIM or a branded app are harder to move, which makes Particle and Blynk more of a commitment than a bare broker. Test an export and a re-pointing of one device during the trial, not after year one, when a thousand units are already deployed and every change needs a site visit.
Export a sample of real readings while on trial, then open the file.
Find out whether device credentials and certificates can be moved or must be reissued.
Check retention limits: a plan that deletes data after a week is its own exit risk.
What goes wrong most often when buying iot platforms
Sizing the budget on the number of devices alone, when message counts, retention and update bandwidth are what usually drive the invoice.
Choosing a dashboard product for a problem that is really firmware delivery, or the other way round, because the vendor demo showed only one layer.
Starting on a proof-of-concept tier that cannot be upgraded, such as the Azure IoT Hub free edition, and then having to rebuild the pilot.
Skipping the hosting question until a customer site refuses cloud connections, when ThingsBoard or Cumulocity could have been picked from the start.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What are the best iot platforms in 2026?
Datacake leads our ranking of 14. Ranks first on setup and exit. The site lists 400+ device templates from 124+ manufacturers with decoders included, and scheduled CSV and JSON exports plus full backups come out of the box.
Plans in EUR step up by device band from 25 to 1,000 devices, then go to sales. The imprint names a GmbH in Vreden and no parent. Hosting is never described.
Which iot platforms publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 13 products on this page:
Datacake: Free for 5 devices; monthly plans by device band, published.
ThingsBoard: Free tier for 5 devices; cloud, private cloud and on-premises plans, published.
Thinger.io: Free community cloud tier; dedicated-instance plans billed yearly, published.
Golioth: Usage-based per active device and per megabyte, published; trial credits.
Blynk: Free tier, then monthly plans by device count, published; Enterprise quoted.
Arduino Cloud: Free tier; yearly plans by Things and users, published.
Balena: Free for the first ten devices; monthly plans by device block, published.
Kaa: Free for 5 devices; monthly cloud plans by device count, published; self-hosted quoted.
Ubidots: 30-day trial only; Professional plan per month with included devices, published; higher tiers quoted.
Particle: Free for up to 100 devices; monthly blocks of 100 devices, published; larger deals quoted.
Cumulocity: Starter published; larger plans quoted per organisation; 30-day trial.
AWS IoT Core: Pay as you go per Region, published; 12-month Free Tier.
Azure IoT Hub: Free tier for proof of concept; paid Basic and Standard units per month.
The remaining 1 sell by quote.
Is there a free iot platform?
Datacake, ThingsBoard, Thinger.io, Blynk, Arduino Cloud, Balena, Kaa, Particle, AWS IoT Core, Azure IoT Hub come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these iot platform vendors established?
Across 4 countries (Elsewhere 9, Europe 3, North America 2):
Datacake: Germany.
ThingsBoard: Not stated by the vendor.
Thinger.io: Not stated by the vendor.
Golioth: United States.
Blynk: Not stated by the vendor.
Arduino Cloud: Italy.
Balena: Not stated by the vendor.
Kaa: Not stated by the vendor.
Ubidots: Not stated by the vendor.
Particle: Not stated by the vendor.
Cumulocity: Germany.
Losant: Not stated by the vendor.
AWS IoT Core: United States.
Azure IoT Hub: Not stated by the vendor.
Which iot platforms can you host yourself?
ThingsBoard, Blynk, Kaa, Cumulocity. The remaining 10 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of Datacake?
The next in line are ThingsBoard, aimed at teams wanting one platform from a cloud prototype to production on their own servers, and Thinger.io, aimed at teams wanting an isolated instance with Node-RED and Grafana running beside it.
Who should not buy Datacake?
Buyers who need a stated private or on-premise deployment. Hosting, and whether a private option exists, is never described.
Vendors who think their iot platforms product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.