API documentation tools turn OpenAPI or AsyncAPI files and written guides into portals that developers can read, search and try.
This guide ranks independent vendors with a single product first, then weighs ninety-day setup effort, what projects, seats and AI credits add to the bill, how content leaves through Git or export, and whether each tool does reference, design or guides.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What API documentation tools software does
API documentation tools publish developer portals from API specifications and written guides, with reference pages, search, versioning and access control, so integrators can learn and test an API without asking its authors.
Our order comes from five tests, taken in turn: effort to set up, what you really pay, what happens to your data on the way out, how locked in you are, and the intended customer. A separate rule reserves the first three places for challengers and moves the household names to place 4 and below. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
French-run OpenAPI and AsyncAPI doc portals with change tracking
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best API Documentation Tools in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Bump.sh gets the top place on independence: one French company, It ducks SAS, with a legal-mentions page giving its Angers address. Its homepage ties documentation to a workflow, with automated changelogs, a diff and preview on every pull request, and breaking-change detection.
The limits show in the tiers. Basic allows 10 API docs and 20 external users, Pro 30 docs and 40 external users. Anything bigger means talking to sales for the Custom plan.
What stands out
OpenAPI and AsyncAPI
Breaking-change detection
Capped API docs
Where it costs you
Pricing is capped by API docs and users, so a company with many internal services outgrows Pro quickly.
Entry plans carry no free tier, only a trial on Pro, so a hobby project pays from day one.
Right for
API teams that want change tracking on every pull request from an independent vendor
Wrong for
Hobbyists wanting a permanent no-cost tier
FrancePublished monthly plans by API docs, MCP tools and users; 14-day trial on Pro; custom tier on request
MIT-licensed API reference with Git sync and generated SDKs
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best API Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Scalar is the only hosted product here whose repository we confirmed under the MIT licence next to a free plan that needs no card. The homepage lists Markdown, MDX, OpenAPI and AsyncAPI docs with two-way Git sync, SDKs for six languages and hosted MCP servers.
The trade-off is transparency about the company itself: no country or legal entity appears on the pages we read, so a procurement team has little to verify.
What stands out
MIT licence
Two-way Git sync
SDK generation
Where it costs you
The Pro plan caps APIs at 15 and editor seats at 5, so growth means the pricier Business tier.
Each extra SDK on Pro adds a separate monthly charge, which is easy to miss when budgeting.
Right for
Developers who want open code, a free hosted start and Git-synced Markdown docs
Wrong for
Buyers who need to see a registered company and country first
Not stated by the vendorFree plan; published monthly or yearly tiers by API count and editor seats; 7-day trial; Enterprise on request
API docs platform built around an MIT-licensed command-line linter
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best API Documentation Tools in 2026.
Open sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Redocly builds its pitch around tooling developers already run: the CLI for linting, bundling and shipping API descriptions, Redoc CE for reference docs, a mock server, Arazzo workflows and an MCP server.
The CLI repository carries an MIT licence. Seats are unlimited on Pro, which suits large writer pools, but the project count is the meter, and the yearly charge for each extra project plus the gap from Pro to Scale shapes the real bill.
What stands out
MIT-licensed CLI
Per-project pricing
Unlimited seats
Where it costs you
Extra projects are billed per year each, so a company with many APIs sees the total climb.
SSO and platform role-based access are absent from Pro, which forces the jump to Scale.
Right for
Teams that lint and bundle OpenAPI in CI and want unlimited writers
Wrong for
Small teams wanting a no-cost tier after the trial ends
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly or annual plans by project count; 30-day trial; Enterprise on annual contract
Free starter plan, workspace pricing and Enterprise self-hosting
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best API Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Theneo is the small-company option with the clearest limits on its pricing page. Starter admits 20 team members, Business raises that to 50 and 5,000 endpoints, and Growth reaches 100 members and up to 20 developer portals.
Because pricing follows the workspace, a growing team does not trigger per-seat charges. The costs appear at the top: self-hosting and SAML SSO are reserved for the custom-priced Enterprise plan, and the privacy policy places the company in Delaware.
What stands out
Free Starter
Workspace pricing
Self-host option
Where it costs you
The Starter plan caps public projects at 1 and API endpoints at 2,000, which small portfolios may still hit.
Self-hosting is an Enterprise matter, so it can only be assessed through a sales conversation.
Right for
Small API teams wanting a no-cost start and workspace-based pricing
Wrong for
Large engineering groups needing instant SAML without a sales call
United StatesFree Starter plan; published monthly workspace plans, cheaper billed annually; Enterprise custom
Docs platform with a free Starter and credit-based AI features
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best API Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Mintlify packs its value into Pro: unlimited editor seats, Assistant, Agent, Automations, preview deployments and a developer API, plus 10,000 credits.
The Starter plan stays useful for hosting with a custom domain, web editor and MCP server for up to 5 editors. The weak spot is the missing paper trail: the homepage names no legal entity or country, and the terms and privacy URLs we tried returned 404 errors.
What stands out
Free Starter
AI credits
Open source programme
Where it costs you
AI features are absent from Starter, so the free plan gives only hosting and editing.
Credits beyond the monthly 10,000 are billed per credit, which makes heavy AI use variable.
Right for
Teams who want a polished hosted docs site and accept AI-credit billing
Wrong for
Buyers who must check a legal entity before purchase
Not stated by the vendorFree Starter plan; published Pro tier billed monthly or annually; AI credits metered; Enterprise on request
Interactive API docs with Git sync and an AI writer
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best API Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
ReadMe's homepage emphasises writing help: an AI Writer that drafts updates from pull requests and Slack threads, an AI Linter before merging, and bi-directional Git sync with GitHub, GitHub Enterprise Server and GitLab.
It also lists an MCP server for editors such as Claude Code and Cursor. Real cost depends on admin seats and the add-on, since Pro includes five admins and Ask AI is extra. Nothing on the pages we read names a country.
What stands out
Free Starter
Git sync
AI Writer
Where it costs you
Starter permits a single published version, so versioned APIs force an upgrade straight away.
Extra admins on Pro cost money each, and Ask AI is billed as its own add-on.
Right for
Developer-relations teams that want interactive docs fed from pull requests
Wrong for
Solo maintainers with several published API versions
Not stated by the vendorFree Starter plan; Pro billed annually with priced extra admins; Enterprise on request
General docs site builder priced per site plus per user
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best API Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
For an API docs buyer, GitBook works as the guides layer next to a reference tool. The homepage lists Git Sync, an Agent, an Assistant, Docs Analytics, an MCP server and custom components.
Cost comes in two parts: a site fee and a seat fee, with Essential at one level and Ultimate adding AI Assistant Chat and more credits. Enterprise adds SAML SSO, custom contracts and Git Sync IP allowlisting.
What stands out
Per-site pricing
Git Sync
Docs analytics
Where it costs you
Essential and Ultimate bill per site and per user, so extra sites multiply the monthly total.
The Free plan has no custom domain, so a public developer portal needs a paid tier.
Right for
Teams that want one docs tool for guides and APIs, with Git Sync
Wrong for
Buyers who need native OpenAPI reference rendering on the feature list
United StatesFree plan for one user; published per-site monthly fees plus per-user charge; 14-day trial; Enterprise quoted
Design-first OpenAPI editor with mock servers, under SmartBear terms
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best API Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Stoplight is built design-first: the homepage describes a platform to design, document and build APIs with reusable models and components around OpenAPI standards. Basic includes a visual designer, interactive docs and mock servers for 3 users, and extra users are priced per month.
Higher tiers add users in blocks of 8 and 15. Documentation is one output of a design workflow, so teams that only want to publish finished specs pay for editing features.
What stands out
Visual OpenAPI designer
Mock servers
SmartBear terms
Where it costs you
Teams and SSO via LDAP and SAML only start on Pro Team, the third paid tier.
Terms sit on a SmartBear domain, so independence cannot be assumed.
Right for
API designers who want a visual OpenAPI editor and instant mock servers
Wrong for
Companies wanting a single-product independent vendor
United StatesFree tier of one user; published monthly or annual tiers by user bundle; 14-day trial; Enterprise on request
Docs platform with a free plan, now part of Postman
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best API Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Fern's free plan is the broadest on this list by included features: 10 team members, 1,000 pages, 250 AI credits, a custom domain and subpath, Ask Fern, Fern Agent and an MCP server.
Format coverage is wide too, from OpenAPI Overlays and Arazzo to gRPC and OpenRPC. The pricing page lists a SOC 2 Type II report. Its ownership is the catch, since the footer ties it to Postman, and no country is given.
What stands out
Free plan
Postman-owned
Many spec formats
Where it costs you
Compliance and identity features are Enterprise only, including SSO, SCIM and self-hosting.
The vendor is a Postman company, which limits independence for buyers avoiding bundles.
Right for
Teams wanting many spec formats and an MCP server on a no-cost plan
Wrong for
Buyers who want a vendor outside the Postman group
Not stated by the vendorFree plan; Enterprise quoted through a demo call
Knowledge-base platform with AI search, quoted per configuration
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best API Documentation Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Document360 splits into a Portal for writers and reviewers and a Site for customers and employees. The feature list names Eddy AI, AI Search, an AI Chatbot, SSO, SCIM and a custom workflow builder.
Those suit help centres more than API portals. The quote is shaped by team accounts, workspaces, languages, SSO and AI usage, none of which is published as a number, and customer content is processed in Microsoft Azure.
What stands out
Quote only
Knowledge base
AI search
Where it costs you
No tier prices are published, so budgeting starts with a sales conversation.
The trust centre says AI processing depends on OpenAI, which narrows options for regulated content.
Right for
Support teams running an AI-searchable help centre with approval workflows
Wrong for
Developer teams that need OpenAPI reference pages first
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per configuration; demo-led
API client and workspace platform where docs are one part
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best API Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Postman brings an installed base: the free plan gives one user 5 integrations and 10,000 API calls a month, Team lifts that to 50 integrations and 1 million calls, and Enterprise adds SSO and 100 integrations.
Pay-as-you-go AI credits start at 3.5 cents on Enterprise. The company page puts headquarters in San Francisco with Bangalore origins. Because Fern is part of the Postman Agent Stack, its docs ambitions are now split between two products.
What stands out
Free plan
Per-user Team plan
Metered AI credits
Where it costs you
Documentation is secondary to the API client, so reference sites may feel bolted on.
Team pricing is per user, and AI credits are metered on top at stated per-credit rates.
Right for
Teams already testing APIs in Postman who want docs near collections
Wrong for
Buyers who need a standalone documentation product
United StatesFree plan for a single user; Solo and Team prices published, billed annually; Enterprise by contact; metered AI credits
Agent security and MCP gateway vendor, billed by usage
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best API Documentation Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Speakeasy's current pricing page bills tokens stored, tokens scanned and gateway egress, with an annual Enterprise contract priced on tokens under management.
The homepage lists Agent Identity, an MCP Gateway with an approved server registry and Agent Observability that logs tool calls to an OpenTelemetry destination. None of that is a documentation portal, so it is included for completeness and placed at the bottom.
What stands out
Usage-based
MCP Gateway
Agent security
Where it costs you
Pay-as-you-go rates cover agent sessions and gateway egress, not documentation sites.
The trial length and company address are not stated on the pages we read.
Right for
Teams governing AI agents and MCP servers, not publishing API reference docs
Wrong for
Anyone shopping for a documentation portal today
Not stated by the vendorPublished pay-as-you-go usage rates with no platform fee; annual Enterprise contract; trial of unstated length
Older API design and docs tool whose paid plans read Deprecated
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best API Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Apiary offers API design, prototyping, documentation and testing, with sign-up through GitHub and open-source companions such as API Blueprint, Gavel and Dredd.
Its plans page is the warning: the Standard and Pro prices read Deprecated and the Standard tier is where private projects and team management live. With an Oracle copyright line and no stated discontinuation, it suits only existing users.
What stands out
Deprecated paid plans
API Blueprint
Oracle copyright
Where it costs you
No paid upgrade path is shown, because both higher tiers carry a Deprecated label.
The free plan has no team management and no private API projects.
Right for
Existing users maintaining API Blueprint projects on the free plan
Wrong for
Any team buying documentation tooling for a new programme
Not stated by the vendorFree plan listed; Standard and Pro show Deprecated instead of a price
API documentation tools publish developer portals from API specifications and written guides, with reference pages, search, versioning and access control, so integrators can learn and test an API without asking its authors. A feature table will not settle this choice. These steps will.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
1 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 12 publish a pricing model you can read today: Bump.sh, Scalar, Redocly, Theneo, Mintlify, ReadMe, GitBook, Stoplight, Fern, Postman, Speakeasy, Apiary.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
These 13 vendors are established in 3 countries across 3 regions (Elsewhere 8, North America 4, Europe 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
2 of these are open source: Redocly, Mintlify. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
API documentation tools: what the meter counts
Before comparing portals, find the unit each vendor bills on, because it decides who pays more as the API estate grows. Bump.sh caps API docs and MCP tools per plan, Redocly counts projects while giving unlimited seats, and Theneo charges per workspace.
Scalar limits APIs and editor seats, GitBook bills each site plus each user, and ReadMe includes five admins on Pro and charges for more. Postman is per user on Team. A company with ten small services and three writers fares well on Redocly or Theneo and badly on a per-site model. List your APIs, writers and sites before asking for prices.
List APIs, sites and writers before requesting quotes
Check how each plan counts a project or API doc
Price the cheapest tier that includes SSO
Reference generators, guide platforms and design tools differ
This market mixes three kinds of product, and buying the wrong one is the usual disappointment. Stoplight is design-first, built around a visual OpenAPI editor and mock servers. Redocly and Scalar start from the OpenAPI file and render a reference.
GitBook and Document360 are general documentation or knowledge-base platforms, and Postman is primarily an API client with docs attached. Apiary shows the legacy path: its paid plans now read Deprecated. Decide whether you need design, reference rendering, or guides and tutorials, then check that the vendor's own feature list names that job, not just the word documentation.
Decide: design, reference, guides, or all three
Check the feature list for OpenAPI or AsyncAPI by name
Ask which job the vendor's homepage leads with
AI credits and MCP servers now sit inside the price
Almost every vendor now sells AI as part of documentation, and the cost model differs. Mintlify includes 10,000 credits on Pro and bills overages at one cent each. Fern and Scalar include small monthly credit allowances in the free tier, Postman meters credits at stated per-credit rates, and ReadMe sells Ask AI as a separate add-on.
MCP servers appear in the lists of Fern, Mintlify, ReadMe, Redocly and Bump.sh. Treat them as features to test, not guarantees. Estimate how many questions your readers might ask an assistant each month and see where the included allowance ends.
Ask whether AI answers use credits or are included
Check overage prices and whether a cap exists
Test the MCP server with your own spec
Ownership, trials and who you can verify
Several names here are not what the logo suggests. Fern says it is a Postman company, Stoplight keeps its terms on a SmartBear domain, and Apiary carries an Oracle copyright line. Bump.sh is the one entry that publishes a registered French company address.
Redocly, Mintlify, Scalar and ReadMe name no country on the pages we read. Trial rules also vary: Redocly gives 30 days, Stoplight and Bump.sh 14 on named plans, Scalar 7, while Theneo, Fern and Document360 mention none. Before you commit documentation to a vendor, confirm who owns it and how your content leaves.
Confirm the owner and legal entity on the terms page
Ask how Git sync or export returns your content
Start a trial on the plan you would really buy
What goes wrong most often when buying API documentation tools software
Choosing a guide platform such as GitBook or Document360 and expecting it to render OpenAPI reference pages without extra work.
Counting seats but not projects: on Redocly, extra projects are billed yearly while seats stay unlimited.
Starting on a free tier like ReadMe Starter, then finding it allows one published version and one admin.
Treating Apiary, with paid plans marked Deprecated, as a safe base for a new documentation programme.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best API documentation tools in 2026?
Our ranking of 13 puts Bump.sh first. Bump.sh is a product of It ducks SAS, registered in Angers, France, so no larger parent sits behind the purchase. Plans are capped: Basic covers 10 API docs and 3 internal users, Pro covers 30 docs and 5 internal users.
Pro lists a 14-day trial. Breaking-change detection and a diff on every pull request are the draw. White labelling and EU data residency are Enterprise features.
Which API documentation tools publish their pricing?
12 of the 13, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Bump.sh: Published monthly plans by API docs, MCP tools and users; 14-day trial on Pro; custom tier on request.
Scalar: Free plan; published monthly or yearly tiers by API count and editor seats; 7-day trial; Enterprise on request.
Redocly: Published monthly or annual plans by project count; 30-day trial; Enterprise on annual contract.
Mintlify: Free Starter plan; published Pro tier billed monthly or annually; AI credits metered; Enterprise on request.
ReadMe: Free Starter plan; Pro billed annually with priced extra admins; Enterprise on request.
GitBook: Free plan for one user; published per-site monthly fees plus per-user charge; 14-day trial; Enterprise quoted.
Stoplight: Free tier of one user; published monthly or annual tiers by user bundle; 14-day trial; Enterprise on request.
Fern: Free plan; Enterprise quoted through a demo call.
Postman: Free plan for a single user; Solo and Team prices published, billed annually; Enterprise by contact; metered AI credits.
Speakeasy: Published pay-as-you-go usage rates with no platform fee; annual Enterprise contract; trial of unstated length.
Apiary: Free plan listed; Standard and Pro show Deprecated instead of a price.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free API documentation tool?
Scalar, Theneo, Mintlify, ReadMe, GitBook, Stoplight, Fern, Postman, Apiary offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these API documentation tool vendors established?
Across 3 countries (Elsewhere 8, North America 4, Europe 1):
Bump.sh: France.
Scalar: Not stated by the vendor.
Redocly: Not stated by the vendor.
Theneo: United States.
Mintlify: Not stated by the vendor.
ReadMe: Not stated by the vendor.
GitBook: United States.
Stoplight: United States.
Fern: Not stated by the vendor.
Document360: Not stated by the vendor.
Postman: United States.
Speakeasy: Not stated by the vendor.
Apiary: Not stated by the vendor.
Which API documentation tools are open source?
Redocly, Mintlify.
Which API documentation tools can you host yourself?
Theneo, Fern. The remaining 11 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of Bump.sh?
The next in line are Scalar, aimed at Developers who want open code, a free hosted start and Git-synced Markdown docs, and Redocly, aimed at teams that lint and bundle OpenAPI in CI and want unlimited writers.
Who should not buy Bump.sh?
Hobbyists wanting a permanent no-cost tier. Pricing is capped by API docs and users, so a company with many internal services outgrows Pro quickly..
This list covers 13 API documentation tools products. A product we left out can be put to us by its maker, with a short note on its purpose and its customers; we decide on inclusion ourselves. The rules are under software advice.