Status page software gives customers a public place to see whether a service is up, what is broken and when it should recover, and lets them subscribe to updates.
This guide orders twelve products by ninety-day setup effort, what subscribers, domains and extra pages add to the bill, export options, vendor independence and the size of team each suits.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What status page software does
Status page software publishes the live health of a service to customers, with component status, incident updates, maintenance notices and subscriber alerts, hosted by a vendor or on your server.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the status page tool was built for. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Status page first, with a Starter plan that costs nothing
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Status Page Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The page is the main product here, with monitoring added around it. Starter covers 15 monitors, five team members and 200 subscribers; Pro raises that to 50 monitors, 30-second checks and 5,000 subscribers, and adds a custom domain.
Business brings SAML SSO, all status page types and 1,000 monitors, while Enterprise adds SCIM sync and a 99.99% uptime SLA. Yearly billing takes 25% off on the pricing page.
What stands out
Free Starter plan
Custom domain on Pro
Subscriber-based tiers
Where it costs you
Starter has no custom domain, so the page lives on the vendor address until you move to Pro.
The Business price and the trial length are not shown on the pricing page.
Right for
Small product teams wanting a hosted public page running within an afternoon
Wrong for
Buyers needing a stated legal entity and country before signing
Not stated by the vendorFree plan on Starter; Pro and Business billed monthly with a trial of unstated length; yearly discount; Enterprise by contract
Hosted status pages billed by component packs and email subscribers
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Status Page Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Hund prices by structure rather than by seat. Components cost the most per pack of 20 for the first 40, less for the next 40 and least above 80, which rewards large services over small ones.
Subscribers beyond the first 250 are charged individually, at a rate that drops above 1,000. Sovereign Enterprise points to private deployments and data residency, but only through an enquiry, so those buyers get no figure upfront.
What stands out
Component packs
Metered subscribers
30-day trial
Where it costs you
Both components and email subscribers are metered, so the bill moves with two variables.
The pricing page lists a 30-day trial and nothing permanent, so a page kept for years always costs money.
Right for
Teams with many components who want a bill that falls per pack
Wrong for
Hobby projects that need a status page kept at no cost
Not stated by the vendorPublished usage-based pricing by component pack and subscriber count; 30-day trial; Enterprise by enquiry
Status pages and uptime checks sold in five clear tiers
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Status Page Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Tiers climb in steps: Hobby, Starter, Pro and Scale, with Enterprise custom. Starter allows 20 components, 20 monitors and 3 months of retention; Pro allows 5 status pages, 50 components, 30-second checks and 12 months of retention.
Extra Starter pages and monitors cost more each month. A 14-day trial needs no card. Check where the company sits before relying on the French terms.
What stands out
Free Hobby plan
Priced add-ons
Page per tier
Where it costs you
Starter includes one status page and each further page is an add-on, so multi-brand setups cost more.
The terms are governed by French law, yet the company location is not stated.
Right for
Developers wanting priced tiers that scale from one page to five
Wrong for
Operators running many brands from a single plan
Not stated by the vendorFree Hobby plan; Starter to Scale billed monthly or yearly; add-ons per page and monitor; Enterprise custom; 14-day trial
Paris-based monitoring suite that also includes status pages
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Status Page Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
In this market Hyperping is a suite where status pages sit among ten products. The personal plan includes 20 monitors and one basic page, Pro allows three pages and Business ten. Essentials is priced on yearly billing.
A 14-day trial needs no card, and the footer states a registered address in Paris, which answers the country question directly. Expect the bill to follow monitor counts and page limits together.
What stands out
Free personal plan
Page count by tier
Metered logs
Where it costs you
A buyer who wants only a page still pays for a monitoring suite.
Logs add a charge per GB above what the plan includes.
Right for
Teams wanting uptime checks, on-call and pages from a Paris vendor
Wrong for
Companies needing just a page with nothing else attached
FranceFree plan for personal projects; Essentials to Business billed monthly; yearly pricing; log usage metered; 14-day trial
Self-hosted status page with no cloud service behind it
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Status Page Software in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingEurope
Cachet suits a team that already runs servers and wants the status page under its own control. The site names only self-hosting, with the FAQ answering the price question with zero.
Installation for businesses is mentioned but not priced, so budget a conversation. The trademark and copyright belong to Alt Three Services Limited, registered in England and Wales, which settles who stands behind the name and nothing about support commitments.
What stands out
Self-host only
No licence fee
Own infrastructure
Where it costs you
Only self-hosting is on offer, so hosting, updates and backups are yours to carry.
Professional installation is mentioned without any price.
Right for
Engineering teams that want to own every part of the page
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a vendor-run page with support attached
United KingdomFree to self-host per the FAQ; installation service has no listed price
Self-hosted monitoring tool installed from a Docker image
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Status Page Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Seen as a status page option, this is a monitoring tool that lists a status page feature. It installs through a Docker command using the louislam/uptime-kuma:2 image, and the homepage links a live demo, documentation and GitHub.
There is no pricing shown, so the cost is your server and time. The pages read do not say whether subscribers or custom domains are included, so judge that in the demo before committing.
What stands out
Self-hosted
Docker install
Status page feature
Where it costs you
The homepage names no company or country, so no contracting party exists.
The status page runs on the host that does the monitoring, so one outage can hide both.
Right for
Engineers wanting a monitor and a page under their own control
Wrong for
Buyers needing vendor support or managed subscriber lists
Not stated by the vendorNo pricing or paid plan shown; installed with a Docker command on your own server
GitHub-powered uptime monitor and status page as a static site
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Status Page Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Everything lives in a repository: GitHub Actions run the checks, response-time statistics sit in version control and a static Svelte site renders outage history and trend charts. Starting means using the GitHub template the site offers.
That keeps the data in your own account, which makes leaving simple. The price is that setup is a developer task and nothing on the site describes email subscribers or a dashboard for non-engineers.
What stands out
GitHub Actions
Static Svelte page
5-minute checks
Where it costs you
Checks run every 5 minutes, which is slower than the 30-second options sold elsewhere in this list.
The site names a project author but no company, country or support route.
Right for
Developers comfortable running the whole stack from a GitHub repository
Wrong for
Non-technical teams wanting a dashboard and subscriber emails
Not stated by the vendorNo pricing stated on the site; started from a GitHub template
Monitoring suite where each status page carries priced add-ons
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Status Page Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Treat the status page here as a base price plus options. One page is included for personal projects and further pages are charged monthly, with a lower rate on yearly billing.
Custom CSS and JavaScript, password protection, white-label, IP allowlisting, SSO and own-domain e-mail are each added per page. The pricing page offers a 60-day money-back guarantee in place of a trial, so the first payment comes before testing.
What stands out
Free personal page
Per-page add-ons
Money-back guarantee
Where it costs you
Every protective option, from white-label to SSO, is a separate monthly line per page.
Extra subscribers are bought in blocks of 1,000 on top of the page price.
Right for
Teams already watching services with Better Stack who need one page
Wrong for
Brands wanting white-label and SSO without a growing bill
United StatesFree for personal projects; extra pages billed monthly or yearly; per-page add-ons; 60-day money-back guarantee
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Status Page Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
One plan keeps the comparison simple, and the homepage says the page can cover multiple products or services at once. The bill is a single monthly figure that carries 1,000 subscribers and five seats; the pricing page does not say what happens beyond those limits.
A Data Processing Agreement is linked from the footer. Annual payment is mentioned without a price, and Enterprise goes through a demo.
What stands out
Single plan
7-day trial
Enterprise demo
Where it costs you
No yearly price is shown, so annual budgeting means asking the vendor.
The trial lasts only seven days, which is short for a page that needs customer sign-up testing.
Right for
Companies wanting one hosted page across several products on one plan
Wrong for
Teams who need a stated company country before buying
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly Status Page plan; 7-day trial; Enterprise on request
Hosted status pages with team-size tiers from Basic to Enterprise
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Status Page Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The ladder runs Basic, Standard, Plus and Enterprise, each lifting subscriber and team-member limits together, so growth in either pushes you up a tier. Custom billing by purchase order is for annual plans only, which matters to buyers whose finance team needs a PO.
The homepage describes incidents and maintenance that update components and trigger notifications, and the footer lists a Developer API; no legal entity is named.
What stands out
Four tiers
Annual discount
Developer API
Where it costs you
No trial terms are stated behind the Try button, so the cost of testing is unclear.
The annual discount is only 5%, so paying yearly saves little.
Right for
Mid-size teams that want tiers scaled to subscribers and staff
Wrong for
Anyone needing a permanent entry plan or a stated company location
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly tiers by subscribers and team members; 5% annual discount; purchase orders on annual plans
Aggregator of third-party service status, better for watching than publishing
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Status Page Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
This is a different job from the rest of the list: collecting the status pages of other providers into one board.
Free covers 3 monitors, 1 board, 1 user and 100 subscribers with one month of history; Starter, Team and Corporate move to 25, 75 and 150 monitors and offer a 14-day trial. API limits rise from 15 to 120 requests per minute by plan. Treat it as a complement to a page, not a replacement.
What stands out
Free forever tier
Third-party status
Monitor-based tiers
Where it costs you
The homepage frames it around watching other providers, so it answers a different question from running your own page.
Plans are capped by monitors, so growth in services watched raises the price.
Right for
Teams that depend on many vendors and want one place to watch them
Wrong for
Companies whose goal is a branded public page for customers
Not stated by the vendorFree plan with limits; Starter to Corporate published monthly; 14-day trial; Enterprise custom
Flat monthly tiers for public and private status pages
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Status Page Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
Atlassian Statuspage is a large vendor billing a flat monthly fee per plan, not per user. Public tiers rise with subscribers, from 100 on the entry level to 25,000 on Enterprise, and private pages are priced by employee count.
Business and Enterprise carry component subscriptions, role-based access and SSO through Atlassian Guard, plus custom CSS, HTML and JS. Because of its size it ranks low on independence, though its range of page types is the widest listed.
What stands out
Public and private pages
Flat monthly tiers
Atlassian Guard SSO
Where it costs you
The step from the 1,000 to the 5,000 subscriber tier is steep.
The free plan holds only 2 team members and 2 metrics.
Right for
Organisations wanting private employee pages and SSO under one vendor
Wrong for
Small teams preferring an independent single-product supplier
AustraliaFree plan; paid public tiers billed per month by subscriber count; private pages priced by employees; Enterprise invoicing
Status page software publishes the live health of a service to customers, with component status, incident updates, maintenance notices and subscriber alerts, hosted by a vendor or on your server. A feature table will not settle this choice. These steps will.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Only 10 of the 12 print a price; 2 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Instatus, Hund, OpenStatus, Hyperping, Cachet, Better Stack, Sorry, Status.io, StatusGator, Atlassian Statuspage.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
Check the vendor's home market (Elsewhere 8, Europe 2, North America 1, Asia-Pacific 1), because that is where subpoenas and data requests arrive first, whatever region holds your files.
Status page software priced by subscribers: Instatus, Hund and Status.io
Most hosted status pages charge for the audience, not the author, so the first question is how many people will subscribe. Instatus counts 200 subscribers on Starter and 5,000 on Pro. Hund gives the first 250 email subscribers and meters the rest. Status.io steps through 500, 2,000 and 5,000 subscribers across its tiers, each with a team-member limit that rises at the same time.
Better Stack includes 1,000 subscribers per page and sells more in blocks. A product launch or a long outage can double a subscriber list overnight, and that is when a metered model surprises a buyer. Estimate the list you expect in a year, not today, and price that number.
Count subscribers you expect in twelve months, not the number today
Ask what happens at the limit: upgrade, overage or blocked sign-ups
Check whether team members rise in the same tier jump
Self-hosted status pages: Cachet, Uptime Kuma and Upptime compared
Cachet, Uptime Kuma and Upptime cost nothing on the pages read, and each hands you the work. Cachet is described only as self-hosted on your own infrastructure, with no cloud service. Uptime Kuma installs from a Docker image and lists a status page feature. Upptime runs through GitHub Actions every 5 minutes and publishes a static site.
The risk specific to this category is inferred rather than stated by the vendors: a page hosted on the same server or network as the service it reports can go down with it, leaving customers with nothing at the moment they look. Place the page on separate infrastructure and test it by switching the main service off.
Host the page outside the infrastructure it reports on
Write down who patches, backs up and restores the tool
Test a full outage once before customers see it
Custom domains and branding on Instatus, Better Stack and Atlassian Statuspage
A status page on the vendor address looks unfinished, and many vendors treat the custom domain as an upgrade. Instatus Starter has no custom domain; Pro adds one or more. Better Stack charges per page for scripting, login protection, white-labelling and more, so a fully branded protected page adds several lines to the invoice.
Atlassian Statuspage places role-based access, code-level styling and team SSO on Business and above. List the branding and access requirements first, then price the tier that includes them. That total is the real price, not the headline figure, and it is the one to compare across vendors before signing anything or starting any trial of a lower tier.
List must-have branding and access options before reading price pages
Add every per-page add-on to reach the real monthly figure
Confirm whether SSO covers your team or your subscribers
Page-first or monitoring-first: Hyperping, OpenStatus and StatusGator
Some products in this list are status pages with monitoring attached, while others are monitoring suites with a page inside. Hyperping lists uptime, server, log, browser-check and cron monitoring beside status pages, and caps pages by tier: one basic on the free plan, three on Pro, ten on Business. OpenStatus allows one status page with three components on Hobby.
StatusGator aggregates the status of third-party services, which suits watching suppliers more than informing your own customers. Exit is the other thing to ask about: Upptime keeps history in version control, while the other pages read describe no export. Decide whether the page or the monitor is the thing you are buying.
Decide first whether you are buying the page or the monitor
Check the page count and component limit per tier
Ask how incident history leaves the product when you cancel
What goes wrong most often when buying status page software
Choosing a tier on today's subscriber count, then meeting a jump in price when a launch doubles the list.
Hosting the status page on the same infrastructure as the service it is meant to report on.
Treating a monitoring suite such as Hyperping or Better Stack as a page-only product and paying for modules never used.
Assuming a free personal plan includes the custom domain, branding and access controls a customer-facing page needs.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best status page software in 2026?
First of 12 on this page is Instatus. Instatus puts a public status page on its Starter plan with 15 monitors, 2-minute checks and 200 subscribers, so a small team can test a hosted page before paying.
A custom domain starts on Pro. The Business price is not shown in the page text, and the site states no country or address, so ask about jurisdiction directly.
Which status page tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Instatus: Free plan on Starter; Pro and Business billed monthly with a trial of unstated length; yearly discount; Enterprise by contract.
Hund: Published usage-based pricing by component pack and subscriber count; 30-day trial; Enterprise by enquiry.
OpenStatus: Free Hobby plan; Starter to Scale billed monthly or yearly; add-ons per page and monitor; Enterprise custom; 14-day trial.
Hyperping: Free plan for personal projects; Essentials to Business billed monthly; yearly pricing; log usage metered; 14-day trial.
Cachet: Free to self-host per the FAQ; installation service has no listed price.
Better Stack: Free for personal projects; extra pages billed monthly or yearly; per-page add-ons; 60-day money-back guarantee.
Sorry: Published monthly Status Page plan; 7-day trial; Enterprise on request.
Status.io: Published monthly tiers by subscribers and team members; 5% annual discount; purchase orders on annual plans.
StatusGator: Free plan with limits; Starter to Corporate published monthly; 14-day trial; Enterprise custom.
Atlassian Statuspage: Free plan; paid public tiers billed per month by subscriber count; private pages priced by employees; Enterprise invoicing.
The remaining 2 sell by quote.
Is there a free status page tool?
Instatus, OpenStatus, Hyperping, Cachet, Better Stack, StatusGator, Atlassian Statuspage come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these status page software vendors established?
In 5 countries across 4 regions: Elsewhere 8, Europe 2, North America 1, Asia-Pacific 1.
Instatus: Not stated by the vendor.
Hund: Not stated by the vendor.
OpenStatus: Not stated by the vendor.
Hyperping: France.
Cachet: United Kingdom.
Uptime Kuma: Not stated by the vendor.
Upptime: Not stated by the vendor.
Better Stack: United States.
Sorry: Not stated by the vendor.
Status.io: Not stated by the vendor.
StatusGator: Not stated by the vendor.
Atlassian Statuspage: Australia.
Which status page tools can you host yourself?
Cachet, Uptime Kuma. The remaining 10 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of Instatus?
Hund and OpenStatus are the next two on this page. Hund is for teams with many components who want a bill that falls per pack; OpenStatus is for Developers wanting priced tiers that scale from one page to five.
Who should not buy Instatus?
Buyers needing a stated legal entity and country before signing. Starter has no custom domain, so the page lives on the vendor address until you move to Pro..
Vendors who think their status page software product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.