Database client software is what developers and analysts open to browse tables, write queries and edit rows without a terminal.
This guide ranks fourteen clients by setup effort in the first ninety days, the real bill once seats, editions and add-ons arrive, how queries and connections can be taken elsewhere, vendor independence, and which engines each tool actually reaches.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What database client software does
Database client software gives people a graphical way to connect to a database, run queries, browse and edit data, and manage structures, so work happens without hand-typed command-line sessions.
Ranking criteria for this database client tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. Top three places belong to challengers outside the best-known brands whenever possible, and incumbents follow from four. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
MongoDB users who explore collections, indexes and aggregation pipelines visually
Teams that need one client for SQL and document databases
The country column shows the vendor's headquarters or contracting entity. Data hosting is a separate matter, and an entry flags it when the two diverge.
One-author desktop client for MariaDB, MySQL, SQL Server, PostgreSQL and SQLite
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Database Client Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
HeidiSQL lists MariaDB, MySQL, MS SQL, PostgreSQL, SQLite, Interbase and Firebird as targets, with SSH tunnels and SSL settings for remote servers.
Editors cover tables, views, stored routines, triggers and scheduled events, and results export as SQL, CSV, JSON or XML. Nothing on the site sells a plan, so budget approval is trivial, but a company that wants someone to call has no paid route to one here.
What stands out
Donation-funded
SSH and SSL
Seven engines
Where it costs you
The licence section is linked but its text was not visible in our check, so reuse terms need reading first.
The seven named engines are all relational, which leaves out document and key-value stores.
Right for
Solo developers and small teams who want a no-cost client for MySQL-family databases
Wrong for
Teams needing vendor support contracts or document-database browsing
GermanyFree for all major platforms; no paid plans, voluntary donations only
SQL editor with a no-cost community plan and three per-user paid tiers
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Database Client Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The price ladder is easy to read: Indie covers two users with one device each, Professional covers twenty users on unlimited devices and all databases, and Business removes the user cap and allows invoices.
Query and connection folders, a JSON sidebar and SSH tunnels are named features. Because every paid tier is a yearly subscription, the cost never ends, unlike the perpetual licences sold by some rivals.
What stands out
Community plan
SSH tunnels
Cloud workspaces
Where it costs you
Cloud workspaces and the AI Shell are limited to Professional and Business, so the cheaper tiers lack them.
Indie allows one device per user, which matters for people working on a laptop and a desktop.
Right for
Small teams that want yearly per-user pricing and a trial without card details
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a one-off purchase rather than yearly billing
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-user monthly prices billed yearly; community plan at no cost; 14-day trial
Perpetual licences per device with one year of updates included
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best Database Client Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Team licences cost less per seat than Basic, start at three seats, allow resale and add a License Manager, high-priority support, hot patch builds, custom invoices and wire transfer.
Basic is transferable but tied to a single device. The perpetual model suits freelancers who dislike renewals, yet a team that wants every new release must keep buying the yearly update window or accept the version it owns.
What stands out
Perpetual licence
Per-seat Team
Capped trial
Where it costs you
The trial limits you to two tabs, two windows and two advanced filters at a time.
Updates are included for one year only, and the page does not price updates after that.
Right for
Developers who prefer paying once per device over a yearly subscription
Wrong for
Organisations needing a stated country or an ongoing no-cost tier
Not stated by the vendorPublished one-time perpetual licences per device or seat; trial capped on tabs and windows
Community edition plus Premium billed monthly or yearly, per user
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Database Client Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
DbGate separates the single-user Premium from the Team tier at two users, so a pair of developers moves to the higher per-user rate immediately. Monthly billing is available alongside yearly, which keeps a short project cheap.
The community edition is described as open source, but the licence is not named, so check the repository before depending on the code. Advanced data visualisation and AI chat are the headline extras.
What stands out
Community edition
Team Premium
AI database chat
Where it costs you
The page does not say which named features are limited to Premium.
No country appears anywhere in the footer beyond the company name, Sprinx Systems, LLC.
Right for
Individuals and small groups wanting monthly billing with an optional no-cost edition
Wrong for
Teams that need a stated country and published edition feature split
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly or yearly Premium prices; community edition at no cost
Per-user Pro licence with volume bands and cheaper renewals
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Database Client Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The same installer serves Free and Pro, so upgrading means entering a licence key rather than reinstalling. Premium support adds a guaranteed response within one business day, hotfixes and developer-addressed issues.
Two- and three-year terms discount later years by 10% or 20%. Enterprise licensing is by quote, students and teachers get Pro at no cost, and non-profits, schools and startups up to ten users pay half.
What stands out
Volume bands
Renewal pricing
Premium support
Where it costs you
Updates stop when the subscription lapses, even though the usage licence is perpetual.
The purchase page lists no features for the Free edition, so its limits are unclear.
Right for
Mid-sized teams wanting band-based per-user pricing and cheaper yearly renewals
Wrong for
Anyone who must see exactly what the free edition includes
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-user prices falling by volume band; renewal cheaper than new; free edition exists
Hankinsoft's multi-engine client sold as subscription or lifetime licence
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Database Client Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
A lifetime option sits beside the subscriptions, which suits someone who dislikes renewals, and students receive a year at no charge. Import and export cover CSV, JSON, SQL and XML, autocomplete and syntax highlighting are built in, and SSH tunnelling is named.
Because neither amounts nor a trial appear in the text we read, a buyer has to contact the developer or reach checkout to learn what any route costs.
What stands out
Lifetime option
Student year
Result sets
Where it costs you
The page gives no readable prices for any of the three licence routes.
No free trial is mentioned, so there is nothing to test before paying.
Right for
Developers who want a lifetime licence and need Oracle or Snowflake coverage
Wrong for
Anyone who wants to try before paying or compare costs in advance
Not stated by the vendorMonthly or yearly subscription, or one-time lifetime licence; amounts not shown on the page
Community edition plus annual-subscription editions for desktop, web and command line
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Database Client Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The product range is wider than a single app: three desktop editions, two web editions and a command-line tool, all on annual terms. Students can request an academic licence at no charge.
The licence file is described as ASL, though Apache 2.0 is not named. Because amounts were not readable, a team cannot work out the cost of moving from community to Enterprise without opening the buy page itself.
What stands out
Community edition
Web edition
Command-line dbvr
Where it costs you
The buy page lists several editions across desktop, web and command line without amounts we could read.
No company location is given beyond the copyright line DBeaver Corp.
Right for
Teams starting on the community edition who may add web editions later
Wrong for
Buyers who need clear edition prices before a first conversation
Not stated by the vendorAnnual subscriptions for paid editions; community edition at no cost; 14-day trial of PRO
Single PHP file for web-server installation, with desktop builds
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Database Client Software in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Because Adminer is a file rather than an installer, it fits shared hosting and quick server-side checks. Desktop builds exist for people who prefer a local window.
The feature list on the site is short: free-form SQL from a text box or file, structure and data export, a foreign-key diagram and a process viewer. Everything else, including who maintains it over the long run, rests on one named author.
What stands out
Single PHP file
Dual licence
Process list
Where it costs you
Installation means putting a PHP file on a web server you must secure yourself.
The page mentions no paid support, company or country, only the author Jakub Vrana.
Right for
Small hosting setups where a PHP file beats installing a desktop application
Wrong for
Teams wanting vendor support or managed access control
Not stated by the vendorFree for commercial and non-commercial use; dual licence, Apache or GPL 2
Community-maintained client for PostgreSQL, desktop, container or browser
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Database Client Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Server mode lets several users reach one deployment from any browser, which a purely local install does not give you. Object management shows the generated SQL, the query tool offers highlighting, completion and history, and Schema Diff appears in the release notes.
The price is nothing, but the setup effort of a web deployment, and the narrow engine scope, are what a buyer pays instead of licence fees.
What stands out
PostgreSQL licence
Server mode
Graphical EXPLAIN
Where it costs you
The pages we read describe no other database engine, so mixed estates need another client.
Nobody is named as seller, so there is no commercial support route on the page.
Right for
PostgreSQL shops that want a browser-accessible client for several people
Wrong for
Teams running several different database engines side by side
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under the PostgreSQL licence; no paid tier mentioned
JetBrains SQL IDE, no cost for non-commercial use, subscription otherwise
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Database Client Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The split is by purpose rather than by feature: an individual using it for non-commercial work pays nothing, but a company must subscribe after a 30-day trial.
Connectivity to local and cloud databases, SQL support, a data editor and local history are the named strengths. History and recovery is a named feature, which helps when a script overwrites the wrong rows. Billing basis and amounts stay unknown from the page we read.
What stands out
Non-commercial use
SQL IDE
AI assistant
Where it costs you
The buy page did not render its prices, so amount and billing basis are unknown.
Commercial users cannot rely on the non-commercial terms and must subscribe.
Right for
Developers already using a JetBrains subscription who want an SQL IDE
Wrong for
Commercial teams who want a perpetual one-off purchase
Not stated by the vendorSubscription for commercial use; no cost for non-commercial use; 30-day trial; price table not shown
Annual per-user desktop IDE with governance and data-masking products
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Database Client Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The core IDE has a clear annual price in dollars, but the real bill grows with the add-ons: 3T Access for governance, 3TL Bridge for masking, 3T MCP for AI agents and read-only Lens for analysts.
Bridge pricing is per pipeline and the bundles are by contact. A buyer who needs only the editor pays for the Ultimate tier or restricts use to the non-commercial community edition.
What stands out
Annual licences
Data masking
Lens for analysts
Where it costs you
3TL Bridge starts at a price per pipeline, and the bundles are quoted only through sales.
The community edition cannot be used commercially.
Right for
Teams wanting a visual query builder plus masking and governance add-ons
Wrong for
Plain desktop-client buyers who do not need data governance
Not stated by the vendorPublished annual per-user licences without auto-renewal; community edition for non-commercial use
Range of Navicat products, with a Lite version and trials
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Database Client Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
The shop is organised by product, from Premium to Cloud and Monitor, so a buyer has to decide which of several names applies. Free versions exist for Premium Lite, Data Modeler Lite and BI Viewer.
Features named include Navicat AI, collaboration and variants for Snowflake, Redis and MongoDB. With the promotion expired and no base price shown, the only way to learn the cost is to open the checkout.
What stands out
Product range
Lite edition
Perpetual licences
Where it costs you
No price is shown for Premium, so even the discount cannot be turned into an amount.
The trial length is not stated beside the Free Trial button.
Right for
Buyers who want to test the Lite edition before choosing a full product
Wrong for
People who need a visible price or a stated company country
Not stated by the vendorQuoted through Buy Now buttons with no base price shown; Lite edition at no cost; trial
Redis-focused client for desktop, Redis Cloud console or Docker
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Database Client Software in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Three delivery routes cover most setups: a desktop client, a version inside the Redis Cloud console on the Essentials tier, and a self-hosted deployment. Value formats are human-readable, and the Workbench uses the Monaco editor.
Streams and Pub/Sub visualisation are named, which relational clients lack. The page offers nothing for other engines, so it works as a specialist addition to a general client rather than a replacement.
What stands out
Redis only
Streams view
Self-hosted option
Where it costs you
It is built for Redis, so SQL databases need a second client.
The licence was not readable, which limits any plan to modify or redistribute it.
Right for
Teams whose main datastore is Redis and who want stream visualisation
Wrong for
Teams that query relational databases as well as Redis
Not stated by the vendorFree to use, described as 100 percent free; no paid tier listed
MongoDB's desktop GUI for exploring collections and aggregations
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Database Client Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Compass comes from MongoDB, Inc., and its scope matches the vendor: sampling and metadata to spot outliers, a query bar that can generate queries from natural language, index management and a visual pipeline builder.
The browser Data Explorer in Atlas is a separate product. It is a sensible addition for a MongoDB team and a poor primary tool for anyone else.
What stands out
Aggregation builder
Explain plan
Natural-language queries
Where it costs you
The licence type is not named on the page, so source availability is unconfirmed.
It serves MongoDB data only, so SQL work needs a different client.
Right for
MongoDB users who explore collections, indexes and aggregation pipelines visually
Wrong for
Teams that need one client for SQL and document databases
Not stated by the vendorFree to download; no paid tier or price mentioned
Database client software gives people a graphical way to connect to a database, run queries, browse and edit data, and manage structures, so work happens without hand-typed command-line sessions. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Prices are public at 9 products (HeidiSQL, Beekeeper Studio, TablePlus, DbGate, DbVisualizer, Adminer, Studio 3T, RedisInsight, MongoDB Compass) and on request at the remaining 5, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
Check the vendor's home market (Elsewhere 13, Europe 1), because that is where subpoenas and data requests arrive first, whatever region holds your files.
03
Decide if open source matters
1 of these are open source: pgAdmin. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Database client software: check the engine list first
A client that cannot reach your database is worthless, so start with coverage. HeidiSQL names MariaDB, MySQL, MS SQL, PostgreSQL, SQLite, Interbase and Firebird. SQLPro Studio mentions many types including Oracle and Snowflake. pgAdmin describes itself around PostgreSQL alone, while RedisInsight and MongoDB Compass each serve a single data store.
Navicat lists variants for Snowflake, Redis and MongoDB under separate names, so a mixed estate may mean several purchases. Studio 3T and DataGrip pages we read name features rather than engines, which means the connection list must be confirmed with the vendor. Write down every database you run, including the odd legacy one, and tick each against the vendor's own list before any trial starts, because a missing driver found in week six costs more than any licence.
List every engine and version you run, including legacy ones
Confirm each engine on the vendor's own page, not a feature list
Decide whether a single-store specialist is acceptable as a second tool
Perpetual licence, yearly renewal or monthly: how clients bill
Billing models differ more than the headline price suggests. TablePlus sells perpetual licences with one year of updates. DbVisualizer includes a perpetual usage licence but needs an active subscription for updates. Beekeeper Studio bills per user per month, charged yearly. DbGate offers monthly or yearly Premium, and Studio 3T sells yearly licences that do not auto-renew.
SQLPro Studio adds a lifetime option, while Navicat shows no base price at all. A one-person team may favour perpetual, while a department with turnover may find per-seat subscriptions easier to reassign. Compare three-year cost, including what happens when updates stop, rather than first-year price, since renewal terms are where these vendors differ most.
Compute a three-year cost per seat for each shortlisted client
Ask what changes when the update period ends
Check whether seats can move between people or devices
Desktop, browser or server: where the client runs
Most clients here install on a laptop, but not all. Adminer is a single PHP file placed on a web server, with desktop builds that bundle PHP. pgAdmin can run in server mode so several people reach one deployment through a browser. DBeaver sells CloudBeaver as its web edition, and RedisInsight can sit inside the Redis Cloud console or run in Docker.
TablePlus licenses per device or seat. Server-hosted options reduce per-laptop setup but make you responsible for patching and access control, while desktop tools leave connection settings on each machine, which suits a lone developer and annoys an auditor. SSH tunnels, named for HeidiSQL, Beekeeper Studio and SQLPro Studio, matter when the database sits behind a bastion.
Decide whether people should share one deployment or install locally
Confirm SSH tunnel support if databases sit behind a bastion host
Assign someone to patch any web-hosted client you run yourself
Trials, free editions and what they hide
Trials in this market come with strings. TablePlus caps the trial at two tabs, two windows and two advanced filters. Beekeeper Studio gives 14 days with no account or card, DBeaver offers 14 days of PRO, and DataGrip gives 30 days for commercial use. Navicat shows a Free Trial button without a length, and SQLPro Studio mentions no trial.
HeidiSQL, pgAdmin and Adminer ask for no payment, but they come with the support and security work you must do yourself. DbVisualizer and DBeaver also offer routes for students, and SQLPro Studio gives a free year. Test on your largest real table, not a sample, because limits show up there, and write the result down so the comparison is fair across tools.
Run the trial against your largest real table and slowest query
Note any trial cap before you start the clock
Check whether student or non-commercial terms apply to your use
What goes wrong most often when buying database client software
Buying a single-store specialist such as RedisInsight or MongoDB Compass as the only client for a team that also queries SQL databases.
Assuming a perpetual licence covers every future release when TablePlus and DbVisualizer both tie updates to a year or an active subscription.
Trusting a no-cost edition for commercial work without reading terms, since DataGrip requires a subscription for commercial use and Studio 3T limits its community edition.
Putting Adminer or pgAdmin in server mode on a reachable host without planning who patches and restricts access to it.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best database client software in 2026?
HeidiSQL takes first place among the 14 we reviewed. HeidiSQL is written by Ansgar Becker, listed with an address in Neuenkirchen, Germany, and sells nothing: the site has a donate page and no paid plans.
It reaches seven engines through SSH tunnels and SSL settings. The licence text was not visible when we checked, and the engine list stops at relational databases, so MongoDB or Redis work needs another client.
Which database client tools publish their pricing?
9 out of 14 state a price model on their own site:
HeidiSQL: Free for all major platforms; no paid plans, voluntary donations only.
Beekeeper Studio: Published per-user monthly prices billed yearly; community plan at no cost; 14-day trial.
TablePlus: Published one-time perpetual licences per device or seat; trial capped on tabs and windows.
DbGate: Published monthly or yearly Premium prices; community edition at no cost.
DbVisualizer: Published per-user prices falling by volume band; renewal cheaper than new; free edition exists.
Adminer: Free for commercial and non-commercial use; dual licence, Apache or GPL 2.
Studio 3T: Published annual per-user licences without auto-renewal; community edition for non-commercial use.
RedisInsight: Free to use, described as 100 percent free; no paid tier listed.
MongoDB Compass: Free to download; no paid tier or price mentioned.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free database client tool?
HeidiSQL, Beekeeper Studio, Adminer, RedisInsight, MongoDB Compass can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these database client software vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 13, Europe 1:
HeidiSQL: Germany.
Beekeeper Studio: Not stated by the vendor.
TablePlus: Not stated by the vendor.
DbGate: Not stated by the vendor.
DbVisualizer: Not stated by the vendor.
SQLPro Studio: Not stated by the vendor.
DBeaver: Not stated by the vendor.
Adminer: Not stated by the vendor.
pgAdmin: Not stated by the vendor.
DataGrip: Not stated by the vendor.
Studio 3T: Not stated by the vendor.
Navicat: Not stated by the vendor.
RedisInsight: Not stated by the vendor.
MongoDB Compass: Not stated by the vendor.
Which database client tools are open source?
pgAdmin.
Which database client tools can you host yourself?
Adminer, Navicat, RedisInsight. The remaining 11 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of HeidiSQL?
The next in line are Beekeeper Studio, aimed at small teams that want yearly per-user pricing and a trial without card details, and TablePlus, aimed at Developers who prefer paying once per device over a yearly subscription.
Who should not buy HeidiSQL?
Teams needing vendor support contracts or document-database browsing. The licence section is linked but its text was not visible in our check, so reuse terms need reading first..
Your database client software product is not among these 14? Tell us what it is for and who it serves, and we will consider it. The decision is editorial, and the ground rules are set out under software advice.