File manager software sits beside the folder view your operating system ships with, adding twin panels, tabs, batch renaming, archive handling and remote transfers.
The first choice is the system you run: Windows, a Mac, a KDE desktop or a bare terminal. This guide then ranks by licence clarity, what one purchase covers, and the independence of the maker.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What file manager software does
File manager software lets people browse, copy, move, rename, search and compare files and folders in multiple panes or tabs, locally and on remote servers, beyond the built-in system browser.
Every file manager tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
File manager with perpetual licences and a 30-day trial
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best File Manager Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
XYplorer lists its prices in dollars and euros on the home page. Either one-person licence follows its owner across machines, which suits someone with a desktop and a laptop. Upgrades to either licence are offered at 25% off.
The Mini Site Professional and Enterprise licences each cover up to 50 users, at USD 995 and USD 3,995. Because the 30-day trial is fully functional, a small team can test it properly before deciding.
What stands out
Perpetual licence
Lifetime upgrades option
Mini Site licences
Where it costs you
Standard upgrades stop after one year, so keeping current needs either the Lifetime licence or a paid upgrade.
Site coverage jumps to Mini Site licences for up to 50 users, with no step between one person and that.
Right for
Individuals and small teams who want a one-off licence with a stated price
Wrong for
Organisations needing a few seats between one person and fifty
GermanyPublished perpetual licences: one year of upgrades or upgrades for life; 30-day free trial of the 64-bit build
Per-computer file manager with an extended 60-day trial option
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best File Manager Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
Every Directory Opus pack bundles a laptop licence for personal use plus support for life, which changes the maths for someone who works on a desktop and a laptop. Trials run 30 days, or 60 days after registering.
Upgrade options use one, two or three year renewals, so staying current is a recurring decision. The Open Licence Plan gives tiered discounts from 11 seats. Amounts did not show in the text we read.
What stands out
Per-computer licence
Upgrade subscription
Volume licence plan
Where it costs you
The licence unit is the computer, so a team with many machines pays by count rather than by person.
Volume pricing needs an email to sales and starts at 11 seats, which leaves buyers of 6 to 10 on the five-computer pack.
Right for
Power users who own one to five machines and want lifetime support
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a price list they can read before contacting anyone
AustraliaSingle, Dual and Five packs priced in AUD with GST included; upgrade subscriptions of one to three years
File manager covering Windows 3.1 through Windows 11, with USB version
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best File Manager Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The home page presents Total Commander as a file manager for Windows 3.1 through 11, a span no other page in this list states. A USB version sits beside the normal download, which helps anyone moving between machines.
The copyright line names Ghisler Software GmbH in Switzerland. The page offers an Order link but no figures, so a team lead has to open the order flow to learn the cost, and the evaluation terms stay unknown.
What stands out
Windows 3.1 to 11
USB version
Swiss vendor
Where it costs you
The home page states no price or currency, so cost is unknown until the order step.
Trial and free-version terms are not stated anywhere on the page we read.
Right for
Windows users who want a long-established manager with a portable USB build
Wrong for
Mac or Linux users, because only Windows is named
SwitzerlandLicence ordered through an Order link; the home page itself shows no prices or currency
File manager for Windows 10 and 11 with a free home version
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best File Manager Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The page separates two audiences: a home version with no price given, and a lifetime Pro licence aimed at work. That split is useful for freelancers, who can test at home and pay once for work.
It is Windows 11 and 10 only. The V4 Beta is on offer, but no Pro trial is described, so evaluating work features may mean paying first. Copyright names Tangible Loop LLC.
What stands out
Free home version
Lifetime Pro licence
V4 Beta
Where it costs you
The $30 figure has no currency code beside it, so the real cost is ambiguous.
The vendor's country is absent from the page, which complicates invoicing and contracts.
Right for
Windows 10 and 11 users who start at home and upgrade for work
Wrong for
Teams on older Windows versions or on Mac and Linux
Not stated by the vendorFree for home use; Pro licence for professional and commercial use is listed as lifetime
Quad-directory explorer, freeware, usable in companies and at home
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best File Manager Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Q-Dir's page says outright that company and business use is free. Its supported list reaches back to Windows 7 and includes Server editions, which matters for fleets with older machines.
The price of that is organisational: a single author, Nenad Hrg, with downloads spread across softwareok.de, .com and .eu. Nothing on the page offers paid support or names a company behind it.
What stands out
Freeware
Four panes
Windows 7 to 11
Where it costs you
Support rests on one named author, with no company or service terms on the page.
The page names no country, so there is no legal entity to contract with.
Right for
Teams on older Windows or Server who need four panes at no cost
Wrong for
Buyers needing a vendor with contract, SLA or support terms
Not stated by the vendorFreeware, stated as free for company, business and private use
Twin-panel file manager for KDE Plasma and other Unix-like desktops
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best File Manager Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
For Linux administrators the useful part is that transfers, archives and folder synchronisation share one twin-panel window, instead of needing separate programs. The page lists many archive formats, mounted filesystems, (S)FTP and advanced search.
The licence is GPL 2 or later. What it cannot do for a mixed estate is span operating systems, since the page speaks only of KDE Plasma and other Unix-like desktops.
What stands out
GPL 2 or later
Directory synchronisation
(S)FTP transfers
Where it costs you
The page aims at KDE Plasma and Unix-like desktops, leaving Windows and macOS unaddressed.
Development sits with a volunteer group called the Krusader Krew, with no support terms listed.
Right for
Linux desktop users who want archives, SFTP and folder sync in one window
Wrong for
Windows or macOS fleets that need one tool across platforms
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under the GNU General Public License 2 or later
Cross-platform two-panel file manager, free of charge, code on GitHub
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best File Manager Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The site calls Double Commander cross-platform and free, yet leaves out which platforms and which licence. Those answers sit behind the GitHub and SourceForge links, so a careful buyer follows them.
Issue tracking is public on GitHub, which lets you read how problems are handled before you commit. The footer credits the author alone, with no company or country, so there is nobody to sign a support agreement with.
What stands out
Cross-platform
Two panels
No licence fee
Where it costs you
Operating systems are not listed by name on the page, so cross-platform is a claim to verify.
The licence is not named on the page, which blocks a legal review from that source.
Right for
Cost-conscious teams on mixed machines willing to check the repository
Wrong for
Procurement that needs the licence and platforms confirmed up front
Not stated by the vendorFree of charge; downloads on SourceForge, source code and issue tracker on GitHub
Small, fast Windows file manager with tabs and bookmarks
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best File Manager Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Explorer++ keeps its pitch short: a small, fast manager for Windows with tabs, bookmarks and advanced file operations. Both 32-bit and 64-bit builds are offered at version 1.4.0.
Money appears only as a Donate section, with no price status, so the cost position stays unclear. The copyright names David Erceg as an individual. Licence terms are not on the page, which links to GitHub, so a business buyer has to check there.
What stands out
Tabs
Bookmarks
32-bit and 64-bit
Where it costs you
No licence is named on the page, which leaves terms of business use unconfirmed.
The vendor is one named individual, with no organisation or country stated.
Right for
Windows users who want tabs and bookmarks in a small download
Wrong for
Companies that need written licence terms before installing
Not stated by the vendorPrice status not stated on the page; a Donate section is offered
Text-mode file manager for consoles, X terminals and ssh sessions
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best File Manager Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Midnight Commander is the answer when the only access to a machine is a terminal. The page shows it working in a console, an X terminal or across ssh, with a viewer, editor and diff viewer included.
It can copy, move and delete entire directory trees, run commands in a subshell and apply skins. Install notes cover four packaging families, including macOS. A graphical desktop user will find nothing here to click.
What stands out
GPLv3+
Text mode
Runs over ssh
Where it costs you
Everything runs in a text interface, which does not suit users expecting a graphical window.
No Windows install route is listed on the page, only Linux, BSD and macOS.
Right for
Administrators working on servers over ssh who want a built-in editor
Wrong for
Desktop users who expect drag and drop in a graphical window
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under the GNU General Public License, shown as GPLv3+
KDE's own file manager, with tabs, split view and an integrated terminal
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best File Manager Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Dolphin's distribution is its main strength on Linux: it arrives through Discover, Flathub or distribution packages, so the install route depends on the distribution.
The feature list covers tabs, split view, three view modes, custom actions, an integrated terminal and cloud or remote file access. Windows gets nightly builds only. KDE e.V. is named as trademark holder, with no country, so the project is a community effort rather than a vendor product.
What stands out
GPL-2.0-or-later
Split view
Integrated terminal
Where it costs you
The Windows build is described as nightly, so it is not offered as a stable release.
The page lists no macOS option, leaving Mac buyers without a route.
Right for
Linux desktop users who want split view and remote files built in
Wrong for
Windows or Mac teams needing a supported production release
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under GPL-2.0-or-later, distributed by KDE
Tiny terminal file manager, about 150 KiB, under a BSD licence
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best File Manager Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
The README reads like a list of places nnn runs: Raspberry Pi, Termux, Linux, macOS, BSD, Haiku, Cygwin and WSL. That reach, plus a size of about 150 KiB, suits constrained machines.
Disk usage analysis, batch renaming and plugins bound to hotkeys give it more than navigation. The cost is the interface: it lives in a terminal, so people who want a drag-and-drop window will not get one.
What stands out
BSD-2-Clause
Terminal only
Batch renaming
Where it costs you
The interface is a terminal, and the README describes no windowed mode.
A single named maintainer holds the copyright with contributors, and no support terms exist.
Right for
Terminal users on small or unusual systems who want a light tool
Wrong for
Anyone expecting a window with dialogs and mouse control
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under BSD-2-Clause, per the project README
Dual-pane file manager and file transfer client for macOS
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best File Manager Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
ForkLift combines two jobs for Mac users: managing local files in two panes and acting as a transfer client for remote locations. A downloadable try-out exists, though no trial length or limit is stated.
Pricing lives in the BinaryNights store behind the Buy now button, not on the product page. With copyright held by BinaryNights LLC and no contact details visible, procurement checks must start from the store pages.
What stands out
macOS only
Transfer client
Try-out download
Where it costs you
Trial length and limits are not stated, so the evaluation window is unknown.
The page carries no imprint, contact or about information, and shows no country.
Right for
Mac users who move files between local folders and remote servers
Wrong for
Windows or Linux buyers, as only macOS is named
Not stated by the vendorSold through the BinaryNights store; amounts not shown on the page, with a try-out download
Mac file manager sold on the Mac App Store and directly
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best File Manager Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Two ways to get Commander One are shown: the Mac App Store and a direct download. That choice suits teams who either centralise purchases or prefer to deploy outside the store.
The product page is thin on cost, pointing to a purchase page and saying nothing of a free version or trial. A US address in Reston, Virginia, and a copyright to Electronic Team, Inc. give a clear contracting party.
What stands out
Mac App Store
Direct download
FTP Commander One
Where it costs you
The product page shows no prices, so the cost sits behind a separate link.
No free version or trial is mentioned, which leaves the evaluation route unclear.
Right for
Mac buyers who prefer the Mac App Store install route
Wrong for
Windows or Linux users, because only Mac routes are described
United StatesPrices on a separate purchase page; sold through the Mac App Store and by direct download
File manager software lets people browse, copy, move, rename, search and compare files and folders in multiple panes or tabs, locally and on remote servers, beyond the built-in system browser. A feature table will not settle this choice. These steps will.
01
Check who publishes a price
Prices are public at 4 products (XYplorer, One Commander, Q-Dir, Double Commander) and on request at the remaining 9, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Look at the contracting entity: these 13 vendors sit in 5 countries, split by region as Elsewhere 9, Europe 2, North America 1, Asia-Pacific 1. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
03
Consider whether you want the source
4 of these are open source: Krusader, Midnight Commander, Dolphin, nnn. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
File manager software starts with the operating system you run
Before comparing features, sort the shortlist by platform, because this market splits sharply. XYplorer, Directory Opus, Total Commander, One Commander, Q-Dir and Explorer++ are Windows products. Krusader and Dolphin belong to KDE and Unix-like desktops, with Dolphin offering only nightly builds on Windows. Midnight Commander and nnn live in a terminal and run over ssh or on small systems.
ForkLift and Commander One address the Mac, while Midnight Commander and nnn also list macOS installs. A product that ignores your platform is wasted effort, however good its panels look in screenshots. Write down every operating system your staff use, including servers, then cross out any tool whose page does not name it.
List every operating system in use, servers included
Cross out tools whose page does not name your platform
Check whether the Windows route is stable or nightly
What one XYplorer or Directory Opus licence actually covers
The licence unit differs more than the price. XYplorer sells one person on all their computers, with a Standard licence that includes one year of upgrades and a Lifetime licence with upgrades for life. Directory Opus sells by computer count, in Single, Dual and Five packs, each with a personal laptop licence, and renews upgrades on terms of one to three years.
One Commander separates home use from a Pro licence for professional and commercial work. Q-Dir states that company use is free. Total Commander shows no price on its home page. Ask whether a person or a machine is billed, who may use it at work, and what keeps you current after the first year.
Find out whether the licence counts people or computers
Confirm that work use is allowed on the plan you buy
Note what upgrades cost after the first year
Reading missing prices on ForkLift, Commander One and Total Commander
Three pages in this list leave out the figure a buyer needs first. Total Commander shows an Order link and nothing else on cost. ForkLift sends the Buy now button to the BinaryNights store and states no trial length. Commander One links to a separate purchase page and mentions no free version.
Directory Opus names AUD and GST but the amounts did not show in the text we read. None of this is a fault by itself, yet a budget built on a guess is a fault. Open each order flow, record the total with tax, and screenshot it. Put that number beside XYplorer, whose prices are printed on the home page.
Open each order flow and record the full total with tax
Screenshot the figure and its date for the file
Ask for trial terms in writing where the page is silent
Open source file managers: Midnight Commander, Krusader, Dolphin and nnn
Four tools here name their licence, which is what lets a legal team approve them quickly. Midnight Commander is GPLv3+, Krusader is GPL 2 or later, Dolphin is GPL-2.0-or-later and nnn is BSD-2-Clause. Others are vaguer: Double Commander calls itself free but names no licence on the page, and Explorer++ links to GitHub without stating one.
Free software has no vendor contract, so support depends on a volunteer group or a single maintainer. Nobody signs an agreement, and Dolphin's trademark holder is KDE e.V. rather than a company. Record the licence name from the repository, and decide in advance who inside your team answers when something breaks or an update stops working.
Record the licence name from the repository, not from memory
Name who inside the company handles breakage
Check the project README for platform and support notes
What goes wrong most often when buying file manager software
Buying a Windows tool such as XYplorer or Total Commander before checking whether Linux or Mac staff need the same workflow.
Treating a missing price on Total Commander, ForkLift or Commander One as cheap instead of opening the order flow.
Assuming a free home version of One Commander also covers commercial work, when the page points professional use to Pro.
Deploying Double Commander or Explorer++ at scale without reading the licence in the repository the page links to.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best file manager software in 2026?
XYplorer takes first place among the 13 we reviewed. XYplorer comes from Cologne Code Company in Cologne, Germany, and prints its prices on the home page. A Standard licence never expires and includes a year of upgrades; a Lifetime licence includes upgrades for life.
One licence covers one person on all their computers. The catch is team coverage: the only multi-user licences are Mini Site editions for up to 50 users, starting at USD 995.
Which file manager tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
XYplorer: Published perpetual licences: one year of upgrades or upgrades for life; 30-day free trial of the 64-bit build.
One Commander: Free for home use; Pro licence for professional and commercial use is listed as lifetime.
Q-Dir: Freeware, stated as free for company, business and private use.
Double Commander: Free of charge; downloads on SourceForge, source code and issue tracker on GitHub.
The other 9 quote per organisation.
Is there a free file manager tool?
One Commander, Q-Dir, Double Commander offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these file manager software vendors established?
In 5 countries across 4 regions: Elsewhere 9, Europe 2, North America 1, Asia-Pacific 1.
XYplorer: Germany.
Directory Opus: Australia.
Total Commander: Switzerland.
One Commander: Not stated by the vendor.
Q-Dir: Not stated by the vendor.
Krusader: Not stated by the vendor.
Double Commander: Not stated by the vendor.
Explorer++: Not stated by the vendor.
Midnight Commander: Not stated by the vendor.
Dolphin: Not stated by the vendor.
nnn: Not stated by the vendor.
ForkLift: Not stated by the vendor.
Commander One: United States.
Which file manager tools are open source?
Krusader, Midnight Commander, Dolphin, nnn.
What should you use instead of XYplorer?
Second is Directory Opus, which suits Power users who own one to five machines and want lifetime support. Third is Total Commander, which suits Windows users who want a long-established manager with a portable USB build.
Who should not buy XYplorer?
Organisations needing a few seats between one person and fifty. Standard upgrades stop after one year, so keeping current needs either the Lifetime licence or a paid upgrade..
If your file manager software product belongs among these 13, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.