A LaTeX editor is where a paper, thesis or book gets written, compiled and previewed.
This guide ranks on how much of the toolchain the buyer must install, what leaving costs in files, who stands behind the code, and whether the editor suits a lone author or a co-authoring group. Small independent projects rank above services owned by groups.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What latex editors software does
A LaTeX editor is software for writing LaTeX documents, combining a source editor, compilation, PDF preview and often citation, project and collaboration tools, on the desktop or in a browser.
Every latex editors tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. Challengers hold places 1 to 3 wherever the category has them. Established brands begin at place 4. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
GPL-licensed desktop editor with a PDF viewer that syncs by word
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best LaTeX Editors in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
TeXstudio is the all-round desktop pick for people who already have, or are willing to install, a TeX distribution. It detects MiKTeX and TeX Live, drives Latexmk, bibliography and glossary tools, and shows the result in a built-in viewer with word-level syncing.
A git panel arrived in version 4.9.6, and SVN is supported. The cost is that sharing a draft live depends on teamtype, which the page states only for OSX and Linux.
What stands out
GPL v2
word-level PDF sync
git panel
Where it costs you
The vendor page names no company, owner or country, so there is nobody to hold to a support promise.
Live co-editing through teamtype is stated for OSX and Linux, which leaves Windows users without a stated route.
Right for
A solo author or small lab wanting a full desktop LaTeX workbench at zero licence cost
Wrong for
Teams that must edit one document at the same moment on Windows
Not stated by the vendorFree to use and modify under the GPL v2; no paid tier or donation model stated
Cross-platform GPL editor offering one-click builds and 370 maths symbols
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best LaTeX Editors in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Texmaker bundles the things a thesis writer touches daily: spell checking while typing, auto-completion, code folding, regular expression search and replace, and 370 mathematical symbols one click away.
Quick build commands compile in one step, the PDF viewer supports SyncTeX with continuous view, and Master mode handles documents split over many files. Its single named author, copyright 2003, is both the charm and the continuity question for anything you plan to rely on for years.
What stands out
GPL
Master mode
SyncTeX viewer
Where it costs you
The page credits a named author but no company or country, so continuity rests on one person.
No collaboration or review feature is named, so every shared draft travels by file or version control outside the editor.
Right for
Students writing a thesis alone who want symbols and Quick build ready on day one
Wrong for
Groups needing comments, live co-editing or a hosted workspace
Not stated by the vendorFree under the GPL and running since 2003; the page mentions neither a paid tier nor donations
Document processor that puts structure first and TeX output behind it
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best LaTeX Editors in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
LyX is the odd one out here because you edit a document structure instead of source code. Ready-made layouts spare you preamble work, and the equation editor sits inside the same window as the text.
Cygwin and WSL 2 are also named for Windows, and source code can be downloaded. Expect an adjustment period to its layout model, and note that no licence name or owner is given.
What stands out
WYSIWYM
equation editor
document layouts
Where it costs you
Licence and developing organisation are both missing from the page, so reuse terms and ownership need checking elsewhere.
Output is a PDF made from a structured document, so authors who want to hand-tune raw LaTeX markup work against its model.
Right for
Writers of long structured documents who prefer forms and layouts to markup
Wrong for
Authors who want to hand-edit raw LaTeX source all day
Not stated by the vendorDescribed as free software; the page states no price and names no licence
Berlin-built web editor and compiler offering an alternative to LaTeX
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best LaTeX Editors in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingEurope
Typst GmbH sells one editor three ways: a free tier, Pro with 2 GB of storage and 1,000 files per project, and an on-premises edition for organisations of five members or more, priced by quote.
Web app data sits in a German data centre. No trial exists, only a 14-day refund for first-time Pro buyers. The catch for this category is that Typst is a separate language, not a LaTeX front end.
What stands out
own markup language
Berlin
on-premises option
Where it costs you
It is its own language rather than LaTeX, so template and class files from journals need rewriting or replacement.
The free tier caps storage at 200 MB and 100 files per project, which long image-heavy books can reach.
Right for
Newcomers starting fresh who do not need to submit LaTeX files
Wrong for
Authors bound to a journal or publisher's LaTeX class file
GermanyFree plan with storage and file caps; monthly Pro tier; on-premises licence quoted per organisation
Plain Qt front-end bundled with TeX Live and MiKTeX on Windows
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best LaTeX Editors in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
TeXworks keeps the surface small on purpose. Its viewer is based on Poppler and links source and preview through SyncTeX, with continuous scrolling, a two-page mode and a citation dialog in the 0.6 line.
Windows installers, macOS disk images and many Linux packages exist, and TeX Live and MiKTeX ship it on Windows. Stable release 0.6.11 appeared in February 2026. What you give up is anything beyond editing and previewing.
What stands out
Qt toolkit
Poppler viewer
SyncTeX
Where it costs you
No git panel, glossary tooling or collaboration is named, so teams add those themselves.
Neither a licence nor a company appears on the page, which limits what a buyer can verify.
Right for
Beginners who got it bundled with TeX Live or MiKTeX and want to stay simple
Wrong for
Anyone who expects project management, git or shared editing built in
Not stated by the vendorListed with no prices and no paid tier; current stable release 0.6.11
KDE-developed editor with forward and inverse search and quick previews
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best LaTeX Editors in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Kile keeps an author inside one window: build, convert and view run from a single click, and forward and inverse search link the source to a DVI viewer.
Wizards and templates start new documents, and navigation by chapter and section helps in books. The part to weigh is how the downloads are split between a beta and an older stable line. Neither licence nor price is given on the page.
What stands out
KDE
QuickPreview
project grouping
Where it costs you
Its newest listed build is a beta, while the stable build targets KDE4, so the supported path is unclear.
The page states no licence, price or country, leaving the terms of use unverified.
Right for
KDE desktop users who like wizards, templates and tight viewer search
Wrong for
Buyers who need a clearly stable, currently supported release
Not stated by the vendorNo price or licence stated on the page; offered as a project download
MIT-licensed Visual Studio Code extension adding LaTeX builds and previews
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best LaTeX Editors in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
LaTeX Workshop turns Visual Studio Code into a LaTeX environment. It builds on save, including BibTeX, shows the PDF in VS Code or a browser, and supports direct and reverse SyncTeX.
IntelliSense completes citations and labels, hover previews show equations, and a log parser plus linting flag problems. It works with Docker, WSL and Remote Development. You still need VS Code 1.114.0 or later, and maintenance sits with named volunteers.
What stands out
MIT licence
VS Code extension
IntelliSense
Where it costs you
It only works inside VS Code 1.114.0 or later, so the editor itself becomes a dependency.
The repository names contributors but no company, so support is community effort.
Right for
Developers who already live in VS Code and want LaTeX inside the same window
Wrong for
Writers who want a standalone app with no code editor to learn
Not stated by the vendorFree extension under the MIT licence; no price stated on the page
Windows-only GPL editor with output profiles for PDF, DVI and PS
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best LaTeX Editors in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
TeXnicCenter treats a thesis as a project: several files, customisable shortcuts and toolbars, and a command reference inside the editor. One-click builds use output profiles for PDF, DVI and PS, and the viewer supports forward and inverse search.
The GPL licence, linked as version 3, is clear. Platform is the limit, since the page says Windows only, and it shows no developer name, no country and no collaboration feature.
What stands out
Windows only
GPL v3
output profiles
Where it costs you
It runs on Windows only, which rules it out for mixed-platform groups.
The page states neither a developer nor a country, only a GitHub link and a 2026 copyright line.
Right for
Windows-only labs wanting project management and build profiles at no licence cost
Wrong for
Anyone who works on macOS or Linux, even occasionally
Not stated by the vendorFree under the GPL, linked text version 3; no paid tier shown
Renamed Texpad: LaTeX app for macOS and iOS with live typesetting
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best LaTeX Editors in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Texifier is the product formerly sold as Texpad, and the old domain now redirects to the new one. It covers macOS and iOS, with a document-structure sidebar, a LaTeX error list, a symbols table, live typesetting and a PDF viewer with dark mode.
A free macOS demo lets you try it. No prices are displayed, and the Windows version is only a beta sign-up, so cost and reach are open questions.
What stands out
formerly Texpad
macOS and iOS
live typesetting
Where it costs you
No price or plan appears on the page, so the real cost is unknown until checkout.
Windows is only marked as coming soon, which leaves PC users on a sign-up list.
Right for
Apple users wanting a native app that also works on an iPad
Wrong for
Windows or Linux teams needing something installable today
Not stated by the vendorFree macOS demo plus a buy-now option; prices and plans not shown on the page
Browser LaTeX and Markdown editor with auto-compilation and templates
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best LaTeX Editors in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Papeeria pairs a browser editor with real-time collaboration, auto-compilation and templates, and accepts Markdown as well as LaTeX.
Desktop and mobile variants exist, and a ZIP download lets you carry projects to a local TeX distribution, which keeps leaving cheap. What the homepage will not tell you is what the paid tiers include, how large projects can be, or who runs the company.
What stands out
LaTeX and Markdown
real-time collaboration
ZIP export
Where it costs you
No plan or price detail appears on the homepage, so limits and upgrade costs are unknown.
The owner and country are not stated, which makes long-term support hard to judge.
Right for
Small groups wanting a browser editor with Markdown beside LaTeX
Wrong for
Buyers who need published limits, ownership and prices up front
Not stated by the vendorSign-up advertised without a credit card; pricing page not itemised on the homepage
Shared browser workspace where LaTeX sits beside SageMath and AI agents
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best LaTeX Editors in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
CoCalc suits groups whose documents sit next to code or maths software. A project holds live collaborator edits, earlier versions to restore and SageMath, with Codex and Claude Code agents offered in the same space.
Memberships run from a free tier to Pro, team seats are billed to one account, and Star is self-hosted for free. The trade-off is breadth: LaTeX is only one use, and the incorporation country is not stated.
What stands out
SageMath
team seats
self-hosted Star
Where it costs you
LaTeX is not the headline feature, so a pure writing team pays for tooling it may not use.
Incorporation country and parent company are not stated, only that California law governs the terms.
Right for
Teams mixing LaTeX with SageMath or code in one shared project
Wrong for
Authors wanting a focused writing tool with nothing else around it
Not stated by the vendorFree membership, three paid monthly tiers, team seats and a self-hosted Star edition
Hosted LaTeX workspace with project sharing, history and group plans
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best LaTeX Editors in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingEurope
Overleaf puts collaboration first. Free accounts get unlimited projects but one collaborator per project and a 24-hour history, so groups move to Student, Standard or Pro, with Pro offering unlimited collaborators.
Paid tiers start with a seven-day trial and a card charge afterwards unless cancelled. Organisations plans add SSO, audit logging, managed accounts and optional on-premises hosting. The trade-off is the subscription, and ownership by the Digital Science group.
What stands out
hosted collaboration
24-hour history on free
SSO for organisations
Where it costs you
Free projects allow one collaborator and 24 hours of document history, which collapses for real co-authoring.
It is run by Digital Science UK Ltd within a larger group, so independence is limited.
Right for
Research groups co-authoring papers who want zero setup
Wrong for
Authors who want an offline editor with no subscription
United KingdomFree plan with one collaborator per project; seven-day trial on paid tiers; organisation plans quoted
Simple LaTeX editor maintained on GitHub for Linux and BSD
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best LaTeX Editors in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Gummi is a one-maintainer project on GitHub with 1,093 commits and no archived notice, offered through official channels for most Linux and BSD distributions and as source.
The listing is short: no pricing, no release date, no licence text shown, and the gummi.app website could not be reached. That makes it a hobbyist pick to check yourself before depending on it.
What stands out
Linux and BSD
GitHub project
single maintainer
Where it costs you
The linked project site refused connections during our check, so documentation could not be confirmed.
No last release or commit date is shown, which leaves maintenance status unverified.
Right for
Linux users who want a deliberately plain editor from their distribution
Wrong for
Windows or macOS users, since no packages for them are named
Not stated by the vendorNo price on the repository page; source buildable by anyone
A LaTeX editor is software for writing LaTeX documents, combining a source editor, compilation, PDF preview and often citation, project and collaboration tools, on the desktop or in a browser. These are the questions that actually differ between vendors, in the order we would ask them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
The split is 9 published against 4 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with TeXstudio, Texmaker, LyX, Typst, LaTeX Workshop, TeXnicCenter, Texifier, CoCalc, Overleaf.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Look at the contracting entity: these 13 vendors sit in 3 countries, split by region as Elsewhere 11, Europe 2. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Open source here means TeXnicCenter. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
LaTeX editors: desktop app, browser service or plugin
The first decision is where the compiler lives, and it splits this market cleanly. TeXstudio, Texmaker, TeXworks, Kile and TeXnicCenter are desktop programmes that expect a TeX distribution on your machine, which TeXstudio detects for MiKTeX and TeX Live. LaTeX Workshop is an extension that needs VS Code 1.114.0 or later.
Overleaf, CoCalc, Papeeria and Typst run in the browser, so installation disappears but a login and an account take its place. LyX sits apart, since you edit a structured document and not markup. Pick the model that matches how your co-authors already work, then compare features inside it. Whatever you choose, run one real chapter through it before the whole team moves.
Decide whether anyone on the team will install a TeX distribution
Check the host application version, such as VS Code 1.114.0 for LaTeX Workshop
List which operating systems the editor actually names
Collaboration and history in LaTeX editors: where it costs money
Co-writing is where prices and platforms diverge most. On Overleaf the free plan caps collaborators at one per project with a day of history, while Pro lifts the cap. CoCalc lists live collaborator edits and restoring earlier versions, with a free membership. Papeeria advertises real-time collaboration but shows no plan detail.
TeXstudio offers teamtype, stated for OSX and Linux only, and Texmaker names no collaboration feature at all, so desktop teams usually fall back on a git panel or outside version control. Before choosing, write down how many authors edit one file at once and how far back you need to rewind. A short trial with two real co-authors will show friction that a feature list hides.
Count authors who edit the same file at once
Ask how long history is kept on the plan you will use
Check whether sharing needs a paid tier, a platform or a separate tool
Exit and file ownership when you change LaTeX editor
LaTeX source is plain text, which makes leaving cheap, but only if the editor hands it back. Papeeria offers a ZIP download of projects for a local TeX distribution, and the desktop programmes keep files on your disk from the start. Typst is the exception that matters: it is a separate language, so moving a manuscript there or back means rewriting markup and templates.
LyX stores its own document format and produces PDF through TeX, so check how its files export before you commit a book. Hosted tools such as Overleaf and CoCalc hold projects on their servers, so test one real export while your account is still active. Treat that export test as part of procurement, not an afterthought at the end of a project.
Download one project and compile it in a local TeX setup
Check which file format the editor saves as
Confirm journal class files still work after any move
Maintenance and ownership: judging a LaTeX editor's future
Most editors here are free, so the real cost is whether they keep working. Texmaker names one author and a copyright year of 2003, TeXworks lists release 0.6.11 from February 2026, and Kile shows a 3.0 beta 4 beside a 2.1.3 stable release for KDE4. Gummi is a one-maintainer GitHub project whose linked website refused connections when we checked.
Overleaf is run by Digital Science UK Ltd, CoCalc by SageMath, Inc., and Typst by Typst GmbH of Berlin. A named company can be held to a support promise, a volunteer cannot, so match the risk to how long the document must stay editable. Weigh that against the cost of moving a half-finished book to another editor later.
Look for a dated recent release on the vendor's own page
Find out whether a company or a person stands behind it
Check that your operating system is named, not assumed
What goes wrong most often when buying latex editors software
Assuming a free browser plan covers a co-authored paper, then finding that Overleaf's free tier allows one collaborator per project and only 24 hours of history.
Treating Typst as a LaTeX editor and discovering too late that journal class files and existing templates do not carry over to its own language.
Installing Kile or Gummi without checking the release status, when the Kile page lists a beta for KDE Frameworks 6 next to a stable build for KDE4.
Picking TeXnicCenter or Texifier for a mixed team, although one is stated as Windows only and the other covers macOS and iOS with Windows only marked coming soon.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best latex editors in 2026?
First of 13 on this page is TeXstudio. TeXstudio opens the list because it asks nothing of the buyer: a GPL v2 licence, installers for Windows, macOS and Linux, and a PDF viewer that syncs down to the word.
It finds MiKTeX, TeX Live and Ghostscript by itself and carries a git panel. The page names no company or country, and collaborative editing runs through teamtype, which it lists for OSX and Linux only.
Which latex editors tools publish their pricing?
9 out of 13 state a price model on their own site:
TeXstudio: Free to use and modify under the GPL v2; no paid tier or donation model stated.
Texmaker: Free under the GPL and running since 2003; the page mentions neither a paid tier nor donations.
LyX: Described as free software; the page states no price and names no licence.
Typst: Free plan with storage and file caps; monthly Pro tier; on-premises licence quoted per organisation.
LaTeX Workshop: Free extension under the MIT licence; no price stated on the page.
TeXnicCenter: Free under the GPL, linked text version 3; no paid tier shown.
Texifier: Free macOS demo plus a buy-now option; prices and plans not shown on the page.
CoCalc: Free membership, three paid monthly tiers, team seats and a self-hosted Star edition.
Overleaf: Free plan with one collaborator per project; seven-day trial on paid tiers; organisation plans quoted.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free latex editors tool?
TeXstudio, Texmaker, Typst, LaTeX Workshop, TeXnicCenter, Texifier, CoCalc, Overleaf can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these latex editors vendors established?
Across 3 countries (Elsewhere 11, Europe 2):
TeXstudio: Not stated by the vendor.
Texmaker: Not stated by the vendor.
LyX: Not stated by the vendor.
Typst: Germany.
TeXworks: Not stated by the vendor.
Kile: Not stated by the vendor.
LaTeX Workshop: Not stated by the vendor.
TeXnicCenter: Not stated by the vendor.
Texifier: Not stated by the vendor.
Papeeria: Not stated by the vendor.
CoCalc: Not stated by the vendor.
Overleaf: United Kingdom.
Gummi: Not stated by the vendor.
Which latex editors tools are open source?
TeXnicCenter.
Which latex editors tools can you host yourself?
Typst, CoCalc, Overleaf. The other 10 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of TeXstudio?
Look at Texmaker (made for Students writing a thesis alone who want symbols and Quick build ready on day one) and LyX (made for Writers of long structured documents who prefer forms and layouts to markup), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy TeXstudio?
Teams that must edit one document at the same moment on Windows. The vendor page names no company, owner or country, so there is nobody to hold to a support promise..
If your latex editors product belongs among these 13, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.