SSH client software opens encrypted shells and file sessions on remote servers, network gear and serial devices.
This guide ranks fourteen tools by who sells them, starting with small independent makers, then by what the first three months demand, what a realistic licence costs, how saved sessions can be taken elsewhere, and which kind of administrator each one suits.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What SSH client software does
SSH client software connects a desktop or phone to remote machines over encrypted sessions, storing hosts and keys, forwarding ports and sending files, so administrators avoid retyping the same commands.
Our order comes from five tests, taken in turn: effort to set up, what you really pay, what happens to your data on the way out, how locked in you are, and the intended customer. One rule overrides the order: smaller vendors take the first three places when the category offers them, and the best-known brands start at four. Reasons for the choice of tests, and for skipping a score out of ten, can be read on the how we work page.
Terminal emulator sold as a perpetual licence with a 200-command scripting language
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best SSH Client Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
ZOC tops this list because it is a single-purpose product with a price you can read in full: a perpetual per-user licence, upgrade pricing for older versions, and a site licence band for 250 to 500 users.
Its scripting language has over 200 commands, and SSH port forwarding and agent forwarding are listed. Where it falls short is disclosure, since the pages say nothing about EmTec's location.
What stands out
Perpetual licence
Scripting language
Agent forwarding
Where it costs you
The order page gives a country only for a distributor, never for EmTec itself.
Above 500 users the page lists no price and sends buyers to EmTec.
Right for
Administrators wanting a one-off licence, serial access and a large scripting vocabulary.
Wrong for
Buyers who need a vendor country stated before signing anything.
Not stated by the vendorPublished perpetual per-user licence with upgrade prices; 30-day evaluation
Free edition with hard session limits and a per-user Professional upgrade
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best SSH Client Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
MobaXterm is easy to price: Home is limited to 12 sessions, 2 tunnels and 4 macros, and Professional adds support plus the Customizer, which builds versions carrying your own logo and default settings.
Updates run for 12 months while the right to use is lifetime. Volume discounts exist by quote. The limits make Home a short-term answer, and Mobatek's country remains unknown from the page.
What stands out
12-session Home cap
Customizer tool
Lifetime right to use
Where it costs you
Home Edition ends at 12 sessions, so a busy admin outgrows it quickly.
The download page names no company address, city or country for Mobatek.
Right for
Admins who want a capped trial-like edition before paying a modest per-user price.
Wrong for
Teams that need more than a dozen saved sessions without paying.
Not stated by the vendorFree Home Edition with caps; published per-user Professional price with 12 months of updates
MIT-licensed client with a single named copyright holder, Simon Tatham
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best SSH Client Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
PuTTY earns third place on independence alone: one named copyright holder, an MIT licence, no price and no account. Contributors such as CORE SDI S.A. hold copyright on some portions, which the licence page lists.
Everything beyond that is outside what the pages read here show, so session management, scripting and support depth are for you to test, and a team wanting a paid contract has nobody to call.
What stands out
MIT licence
Commercial use allowed
Individual copyright holder
Where it costs you
The licence page lists no features, so capability claims need your own testing.
No country is given for the author or the contributors.
Right for
Anyone who needs a no-cost client with unrestricted commercial use.
Wrong for
Buyers who expect a vendor with paid support and a roadmap.
Not stated by the vendorFree under the MIT licence, commercial use allowed; no paid plan shown
Apache-licensed terminal for three desktop systems with tmux integration
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best SSH Client Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
WindTerm suits people who attach to tmux sessions all day: entering tmux -CC turns remote sessions, windows and panes into the client's own interface. Triggers, search and mark, syntax highlighting and OneKey are listed too.
It runs on three desktop systems under a permissive licence. The developer is a name, not a company, the footer stops at 2025, and no support offer appears.
What stands out
Apache-2.0
tmux -CC mapping
Windows, macOS, Linux
Where it costs you
The site footer ends at 2025, so check recent releases before standardising on it.
No company, team size or country is stated on the pages read.
Right for
Developers who live in tmux and want it rendered as native tabs.
Wrong for
Organisations that require a named company and a support contract.
Not stated by the vendorFree under Apache-2.0 for commercial and non-commercial use
Connection hub with local vaults and git-remote sync you host
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best SSH Client Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingEurope
Xpipe is closer to a connection manager than a terminal. Limits on the Community plan are specific: one tunnel, one Tailscale tailnet, one Netbird profile, one Docker context, one Proxmox community node and one workspace.
Paid plans are monthly or yearly, and Enterprise has no listed price. A German legal entity with a Stuttgart court registration is a rare stated fact in this market, but the licence name is missing.
What stands out
Community plan limits
Git remote sync
Ludwigsburg legal entity
Where it costs you
The Community plan allows one concurrent active tunnel and one workspace.
Pages name neither the open-source licence nor whether tiers bill per seat.
Right for
Users managing many hosts who want vault data kept off third-party servers.
Wrong for
People who want a simple terminal window rather than a hub.
GermanyFree Community plan with limits; paid monthly or yearly tiers; Enterprise on request
Client listing tunnelled Remote Desktop, VNC, X11 forwarding and an FTP bridge
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best SSH Client Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Bitvise reads like a toolbox for people who tunnel things: web browsing through SSH, Remote Desktop and VNC sent through a tunnel, an FTP bridge, X11 forwarding and unattended use.
Git with sexec is listed as well. The cost is not visible, because the download page points to separate licence terms. About pages returned an error, so the company's country stays unknown to this review.
What stands out
Tunnel Remote Desktop
X11 forwarding
FTP bridge
Where it costs you
Licence terms sit on a separate page, so cost for business use is unconfirmed here.
The trial mentioned on the page covers the server product, not the client.
Right for
Admins who tunnel desktop and X11 traffic and want an unattended mode.
Wrong for
Buyers who need a price and country confirmed from the download page.
Not stated by the vendorDownload page shows no price; licence terms sit on a separate page
Connection manager with SSH, RDP, VNC and shared credentials in one document
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best SSH Client Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
For a team mixing server protocols, Royal TSX stores RDP, terminal, VNC, web, FTP and other connections in documents that sync through a network share or cloud storage such as Dropbox, with no SQL database required.
LastPass and KeePass are supported. SSH is one connection type among many, so terminal depth is not the pitch. Buyers get no stated trial length.
What stands out
10-connection Lite plan
Shared credentials
LastPass and KeePass
Where it costs you
Lite stops at 10 connections, so an admin with a full fleet must pay.
The pages state no trial length and no country for Royal Apps GmbH.
Right for
People who juggle RDP, VNC and SSH hosts and share logins within a team.
Wrong for
Anyone who wants only a lean SSH terminal without a connection tree.
Not stated by the vendorFree Lite plan with caps; one-time Single User licence, no subscription
Terminal with multi-year update options and four scripting languages
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best SSH Client Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
SecureCRT is built for scripted work: Python 3, VBScript, JScript or PerlScript, FIPS 140-2 approved ciphers as an option, and serial, Telnet, SSH1 and SSH2 in one client.
Annual and three-year update terms mean the cost recurs unless you accept an older build. The EULA allows one machine at a time per licence, and fifty or more seats go to sales, so large rollouts cannot be priced from the page.
What stands out
Python 3 scripting
FIPS 140-2 ciphers
Serial and Telnet
Where it costs you
A licence works on one machine at a time, which rules out sharing across devices.
Prices show a dollar sign only and VAT is added at checkout.
Right for
Network engineers who script routine device logins in Python 3.
Wrong for
Individuals who need one licence across several personal machines.
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-seat licences with one-year or three-year updates; 30-day evaluation
Perpetual terminal licence that covers two devices and a year of maintenance
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best SSH Client Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Xshell targets users who like buttons and triggers: quick command buttons, pattern-based triggers, script recording, authentication profiles and highlight rules sit inside tabbed sessions. The two-device allowance suits a single person with two machines.
Maintenance lasts one year, volume pricing needs a quote, and the Free License link comes without limits, so a buyer cannot judge it before downloading. Xshell Plus adds Xftp for a higher price.
What stands out
Two-device licence
Quick command buttons
Script recording
Where it costs you
The free option is named but its limits and any trial length are not stated.
The terms page could not be retrieved and no country is given.
Right for
Individuals using a desktop and a laptop who want one perpetual licence.
Wrong for
Teams that need to know free-version limits before they test.
Not stated by the vendorPublished perpetual per-user licence with one year of maintenance; a Free License link without stated limits
Apple-platform SSH client with Mosh, Eternal Terminal and encrypted favourites
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best SSH Client Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Prompt is the pick if your servers are reached from a phone or tablet as often as from a laptop. Mosh and Eternal Terminal support help on unstable connections, YubiKey two-factor is listed, and Clips store reusable commands.
One purchase spans four Apple platforms. Beyond that, the page keeps quiet about the price, any trial, the licence basis and the location of Panic Inc.
What stands out
Mosh and Eternal Terminal
Secure Enclave favourites
visionOS included
Where it costs you
Only Apple platforms are named, so Windows and Linux admins are left out.
The page shows no amount, no trial and no licence basis.
Right for
iPhone, iPad and Mac users who connect over flaky mobile links.
Wrong for
Anyone who works on Windows or Linux desktops.
Not stated by the vendorSingle price across Apple platforms bought through the App Store; amount not shown
Browser-based SSH, SFTP, VNC and RDP with cloud and Docker plans
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best SSH Client Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Shellngn replaces a desktop install with a browser tab or a Docker container you run yourself. Both plans carry a 30-day trial, and file editing, clipboard sync and multi-tab sessions come with it.
Pro's single sign-on and team collaboration appeal to groups. Because the page shows no company name, address or terms, a security reviewer will find little to check.
What stands out
Cloud or Docker plan
Single sign-on
In-browser file editing
Where it costs you
The licence basis for Pro is not explained, so per-user cost is unknown.
The footer names no company, address or country and the terms page failed.
Right for
Small teams wanting a shared browser terminal with sign-on, not installed software.
Wrong for
Buyers who need a documented legal entity before storing credentials.
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly cloud plan and yearly self-hosted Docker plan; 30-day trial without a card
Apache-licensed web and desktop manager for SSH, tunnels and Docker
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best SSH Client Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Termix is a self-hosted platform more than a client, so ranking it high would mislead an individual who simply needs a terminal. It bundles remote desktop, file handling, tunnels and metrics, extended by 50 official plugins, and can run in a browser or an app.
A donate link funds it. You carry installation and updates yourself, and with no support offer the author is named only by a copyright line.
What stands out
Apache-2.0
50 official plugins
Docker and Kubernetes install
Where it costs you
No imprint, terms or privacy content appeared on the page read.
It is a self-hosted stack to maintain, not a download-and-connect terminal.
Right for
Home-lab and small-team operators happy to run their own management server.
Wrong for
Users who just want a quick terminal on one laptop.
Not stated by the vendorFree and open source under Apache-2.0; donations and sponsorship accepted
The OpenBSD connectivity tool most other clients are measured against
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best SSH Client Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
OpenSSH belongs here as the reference point rather than a purchase. Tunnelling, several authentication methods and key utilities are all stated, and the licence is BSD-style.
It also underlies other clients, since ZOC's SSH v2 is based on OpenSSH 9.3. What a buyer gets is capability, not convenience: no company to contact, no listed interface for organising many hosts, and no stated country for the project behind it.
What stands out
BSD-style licence
Key-management utilities
OpenBSD Project
Where it costs you
The page lists no saved-session list, tabs or graphical front end.
Nobody sells support on the page read, and no country is named.
Right for
Engineers comfortable with key files who build their own scripts around it.
Wrong for
Staff who expect a point-and-click window with saved hosts.
Not stated by the vendorBSD-style licence; the page states no price
SolarWinds tabbed client for SSH, SCP, Telnet and SFTP with auto-login
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best SSH Client Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Solar-PuTTY packs a lot into a free download: tabs, credentials and private keys stored for auto-login, scripted actions after connecting, and a graphical SFTP window that reconnects.
No installation is needed. The weakness is on the independence test, since SolarWinds is the owner and the page states neither licence terms nor a country. That is why it closes the list.
What stands out
Tabbed console
Saved private keys
No installation needed
Where it costs you
The page gives no licence terms, so redistribution and commercial limits are unknown.
The owner is SolarWinds Worldwide, LLC, which places it last for independence.
Right for
Windows admins wanting a no-install tabbed client from a corporate vendor.
Wrong for
Buyers who rank independence from large groups above convenience.
Not stated by the vendorDescribed as 100% free beside the download buttons; no tier or price listed
SSH client software connects a desktop or phone to remote machines over encrypted sessions, storing hosts and keys, forwarding ports and sending files, so administrators avoid retyping the same commands. Feature lists look alike, so we would settle these points one at a time instead.
01
Start with pricing transparency
Prices are public at 11 products (ZOC, MobaXterm, PuTTY, WindTerm, Xpipe, Royal TSX, SecureCRT, Xshell, Shellngn, Termix, Solar-PuTTY) and on request at the remaining 3, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
Look at the contracting entity: these 14 vendors sit in 2 countries, split by region as Elsewhere 13, Europe 1. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
03
Consider whether you want the source
3 of these are open source: PuTTY, Xpipe, Termix. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
SSH client software: read the licence line first
Licence terms differ more than features do in this market. PuTTY is MIT-licensed with unrestricted commercial use, WindTerm is Apache-2.0 and Termix is Apache License 2.0, so none of them needs a purchase order. MobaXterm Home is free yet stops at 12 sessions, while Royal TSX Lite stops at 10 connections.
Bitvise sends you to a separate licence page that the download page does not summarise, and Solar-PuTTY calls itself 100% free without stating terms. Shellngn labels Pro commercial without saying what the licence is counted in. Settle which of these applies to your company before anyone installs a client, because a tool that is fine at home may not be fine at work.
Find the licence text, not just the word free
Count saved sessions against the free-edition cap
Check whether commercial use is stated in plain words
Perpetual, yearly or monthly: how these clients bill
Billing models split the market. ZOC and Xshell sell perpetual per-user licences, ZOC with discounted upgrades and Xshell with one year of maintenance and a two-device allowance. SecureCRT lets you choose one or three years of updates per seat and adds VAT at checkout. MobaXterm Professional includes 12 months of updates but keeps a lifetime right to use.
Royal TSX has a one-time Single User price with no annual fees. Shellngn bills a cloud plan monthly and a Docker plan yearly, and Xpipe offers monthly or yearly tiers. Prompt's price is not on its page at all. Put each quote on a three-year basis and compare those totals, not the headline numbers.
Convert every quote to a three-year total
Ask what happens to updates when the maintenance term ends
Confirm tax and currency, since several pages show a dollar sign only
Desktop terminal, browser gateway or Apple app
Where the client runs changes who maintains it. PuTTY, ZOC, SecureCRT and WindTerm install on a workstation, and WindTerm names Windows, macOS and Linux. Shellngn and Termix run in a browser, so someone must host them: Shellngn offers a Docker plan, and Termix installs through Docker, Kubernetes or Proxmox.
Xpipe keeps vault data on your own machines and syncs through a git remote you host. Prompt is aimed at Apple devices, covering macOS, iOS, iPadOS and visionOS with Panic Sync. OpenSSH is a set of utilities rather than an application. Decide whether your team wants to operate a server before choosing a browser tool, and whether anyone connects from a phone.
List the operating systems your admins actually use
Decide who patches a self-hosted gateway
Test connection behaviour on a mobile network if phones matter
Protocols, scripting and tunnels worth testing
Feature lists look alike until you need one specific thing. SecureCRT adds serial, Telnet, RDP on Windows only, and scripting in Python 3, VBScript, JScript or PerlScript. ZOC offers over 200 scripting commands and agent forwarding. Bitvise lists X11 forwarding, tunnelled Remote Desktop and VNC, and an FTP bridge.
MobaXterm Home allows only 2 SSH tunnels and 4 macros. Prompt supports Mosh and Eternal Terminal, which matter on weak links. WindTerm integrates tmux through tmux -CC. Royal TSX bundles RDP, VNC, web and file transfer in one document. Write down your three hardest daily tasks, such as a serial console or a bastion jump, and run only those during the trial.
Test serial, jump host and tunnel needs with real devices
Run your own login script during the evaluation
Check the free-edition tunnel and macro limits
What goes wrong most often when buying SSH client software
Treating a free download as cleared for company use before reading the licence page, as with Solar-PuTTY and Bitvise.
Buying a perpetual licence such as Xshell without noting that maintenance covers a single year.
Standing up Termix or a Shellngn Docker plan without naming who will patch and back it up.
Choosing on feature lists alone, and ignoring that OpenSSH and PuTTY give you no vendor to call.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best SSH client software in 2026?
ZOC takes first place among the 14 we reviewed. EmTec sells ZOC as a one-off per-user licence, with cheaper upgrades for owners of version 8 or older and a 30-day evaluation on Windows or macOS.
It speaks SSH v2 built on OpenSSH 9.3, Telnet, Rlogin and serial, and moves files over SCP, SFTP or FTPS. The weak spot is transparency: the page names no country for EmTec, and licences for 500 users or more carry no listed price.
Which SSH client tools publish their pricing?
11 out of 14 state a price model on their own site:
ZOC: Published perpetual per-user licence with upgrade prices; 30-day evaluation.
MobaXterm: Free Home Edition with caps; published per-user Professional price with 12 months of updates.
PuTTY: Free under the MIT licence, commercial use allowed; no paid plan shown.
WindTerm: Free under Apache-2.0 for commercial and non-commercial use.
Xpipe: Free Community plan with limits; paid monthly or yearly tiers; Enterprise on request.
Royal TSX: Free Lite plan with caps; one-time Single User licence, no subscription.
SecureCRT: Published per-seat licences with one-year or three-year updates; 30-day evaluation.
Xshell: Published perpetual per-user licence with one year of maintenance; a Free License link without stated limits.
Shellngn: Published monthly cloud plan and yearly self-hosted Docker plan; 30-day trial without a card.
Termix: Free and open source under Apache-2.0; donations and sponsorship accepted.
Solar-PuTTY: Described as 100% free beside the download buttons; no tier or price listed.
The other 3 quote per organisation.
Is there a free SSH client tool?
MobaXterm, PuTTY, WindTerm, Xpipe, Royal TSX, Termix offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these SSH client software vendors established?
Across 2 countries (Elsewhere 13, Europe 1):
ZOC: Not stated by the vendor.
MobaXterm: Not stated by the vendor.
PuTTY: Not stated by the vendor.
WindTerm: Not stated by the vendor.
Xpipe: Germany.
Bitvise SSH Client: Not stated by the vendor.
Royal TSX: Not stated by the vendor.
SecureCRT: Not stated by the vendor.
Xshell: Not stated by the vendor.
Prompt: Not stated by the vendor.
Shellngn: Not stated by the vendor.
Termix: Not stated by the vendor.
OpenSSH: Not stated by the vendor.
Solar-PuTTY: Not stated by the vendor.
Which SSH client tools are open source?
PuTTY, Xpipe, Termix.
Which SSH client tools can you host yourself?
Shellngn. The other 13 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of ZOC?
Second is MobaXterm, which suits Admins who want a capped trial-like edition before paying a modest per-user price.. Third is PuTTY, which suits anyone who needs a no-cost client with unrestricted commercial use..
Who should not buy ZOC?
Buyers who need a vendor country stated before signing anything.. The order page gives a country only for a distributor, never for EmTec itself..
If a SSH client software product of yours deserves a place among these 14, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.