Home automation platforms are the software layer that links lights, sensors, locks, thermostats and speakers from many brands and runs rules between them.
This guide ranks by who owns the platform, what the first ninety days cost in tinkering hours, whether automations survive an internet outage, how settings and devices leave again, and how large a home each system suits.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What home automation platforms do
A home automation platform pairs a hub or server with a rules engine, so devices on Zigbee, Z-Wave, Matter and Wi-Fi trigger scenes, schedules and notifications from one place.
Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every home automation platform here. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Software costs nothing and needs no subscription; Gladys Plus is monthly, priced in dollars for North America and euros for Europe, with a one-month trial
—
Tinkerers who want a small self-installed server and cheap remote access
People needing a stated licence before adopting software
Local-first automation project governed by a non-profit foundation
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Home Automation Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The foundation structure answers the independence test better than any company can: the page says the project cannot be sold or acquired. Processing stays on your own machine, and the cloud subscription only adds remote access, Google Assistant and Alexa links and the speech engines behind Assist.
The trade-off is that pricing for that subscription lives on a partner site, so a buyer cannot total the yearly cost from the project's own pages.
What stands out
Non-profit steward
Local processing
Optional cloud link
Where it costs you
The pages read give no country and no price for the cloud subscription.
The optional cloud subscription is set to be renamed on 2 December 2026, which can confuse older guides and receipts.
Right for
Households that want local control and a foundation nobody can acquire
Wrong for
Shoppers wanting a boxed product with one price
Not stated by the vendorCore software runs without a subscription; an optional cloud add-on from a partner is priced on that partner's own site
Dutch-localised smart home hub sold as cloud service or hardware
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Home Automation Platforms in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
The product splits in three: a cloud edition that needs no hardware, hubs that run entirely on-premise, and a self-hosted server.
Homey Pro lists Matter 1.5, Thread, Zigbee 3.0, Z-Wave 700 and infrared, with Advanced Flow, HomeyScript and local API keys on top. Its 433 MHz radio is switched off in the US, Canada and South Korea, and backups to the vendor cloud cost 10 dollars a year.
What stands out
Cloud or hardware
750+ apps
Advanced Flow
Where it costs you
Homey Cloud bills monthly once a home passes five devices.
The Homey Self-Hosted Server shows no price, so its cost cannot be compared with the Pro hub.
Right for
Owners who want a polished hub bought once, with Matter, Thread, Zigbee and Z-Wave
Wrong for
Anyone expecting the cloud edition to stay at zero cost
Not stated by the vendorCloud edition free for up to five devices, then billed monthly; Pro and mini hubs are one-time purchases; self-hosted server shows no price
Hub-based automation box that executes rules without internet access
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Home Automation Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The selling point is where logic runs: rules sit on the hub, so a lost broadband line does not stop lights or locks. The hub connects by Ethernet, has built-in Wi-Fi and external antennas for Zigbee and Z-Wave range, and phone apps add remote access and push notifications.
Because the entry point is a US-version device priced at 199.95 USD, anyone outside the 48 states should check which hub version applies before ordering.
What stands out
Local rule execution
Z-Wave 800 LR
Matter 1.5
Where it costs you
Starting means buying the hub, because no software-only route or demo is shown.
Owner and country are not given on the pages read.
Right for
Households wanting a single dedicated box that keeps running offline
Wrong for
Anyone hoping to test the platform before buying hardware
Not stated by the vendorHardware purchase with the hub price listed on the buy page; the pages read show no plan structure or trial
Self-run home server with an optional encrypted remote subscription
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Home Automation Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The founder-led project installs on a mini-PC from a USB drive, on Docker, a Synology NAS, Raspberry Pi or platforms such as Unraid and Proxmox.
Named integrations include Zigbee, Matter, Apple HomeKit, Philips Hue, Shelly, Sonos and SmartThings. Remote access is the part that costs money, at 7.99 dollars a month in the US and Canada, with a one-month trial that needs no credit card.
What stands out
Local installs
494 local integrations
Gladys Plus
Where it costs you
Only 494 of 1,041 integrations run without the cloud, so a fully local home needs checking device by device.
The licence name and company location are not stated on the page.
Right for
Tinkerers who want a small self-installed server and cheap remote access
Wrong for
People needing a stated licence before adopting software
Not stated by the vendorSoftware costs nothing and needs no subscription; Gladys Plus is monthly, priced in dollars for North America and euros for Europe, with a one-month trial
Vendor-agnostic automation software run by a registered non-profit
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Home Automation Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Most of the effort goes into choosing among the many supported technologies. The pre-configured openHABian image shortens the Raspberry Pi route, rules, triggers, scripts and notifications are built in, and client apps cover web, iOS and Android.
Remote use can go through myopenhab.org or a self-hosted instance, which keeps the choice with the owner. The unlisted licence is the one point to check before committing.
What stands out
400+ technologies
openHABian image
Foundation-backed
Where it costs you
Neither a licence name nor prices show on the home page.
Support for 400+ technologies and 3000+ things implies many bindings to pick from, which adds setup decisions.
Right for
Technical users who run mixed brands on Linux, Windows or a NAS
Wrong for
Beginners who want a guided, single-vendor starter kit
Not stated by the vendorSoftware shows no price on the home page; the connector service myopenhab.org is described as free for remote use
Adapter-driven automation server with Blockly and JavaScript rules
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Home Automation Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The attraction is breadth of connectors: manufacturers' cloud services sit beside KNX, Modbus and Zigbee adapters, and automation can be drawn in Blockly or coded.
Remote access runs through a VPN or ioBroker.pro, which needs no open ports. Alexa and Google Home attach via the ioBroker.iot adapter, and Apple Home via a Matter adapter. Extras that carry licences make the final bill harder to predict.
What stands out
800+ adapters
KNX and Modbus
Blockly rules
Where it costs you
Prices for the optional licences are not shown, so a visualisation-heavy build cannot be costed in advance.
The licence name and the country are both missing.
Right for
Builders mixing KNX, Modbus and Zigbee who are fine writing scripts
Wrong for
Households wanting wizard-style setup without having to write any logic
Not stated by the vendorBase platform described as free; licences may apply to individual extra services and visualisation features, with no figures shown
French-language framework for homes, buildings and light industry
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Home Automation Platforms in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Reach beyond the house is the distinguishing trait: the framework is marketed for smart buildings, smart cities, industry and air quality as well as homes.
A community of more than 35,000 members and over ten years of development stand behind it. The cloud-based Hyperviseur Pro is a different product from the self-hosted framework, so a buyer must decide which of the two the quote refers to.
What stands out
Self-hosted Linux
KNX and DALI
Gateway boxes
Where it costs you
Boxes and Hyperviseur Pro come without prices, so hardware or cloud budgets cannot be set from the site.
Jeedom names no licence, country or trial offer.
Right for
French-speaking users wanting KNX, DALI or Modbus control alongside their homes
Wrong for
Comparison shoppers needing published prices for gateway boxes
Not stated by the vendorFramework software described as free; plug-and-play gateways and the Hyperviseur Pro cloud are shown without prices
New Hampshire automation vendor selling software, hubs and switches
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Home Automation Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
HomeSeer pairs its HS4 software with its own hardware, such as the WS300 switch and WV100+ water valve, which suits owners who want one supplier for both halves.
The long integration list reaches Tuya, LIFX, Tesla and Chromecast. A remote-access subscription is mentioned only as MyHS and Remote Home Management, so what it costs and where it runs remains unclear from the page.
What stands out
Local automation
No coding needed
Hardware and software
Where it costs you
No prices, licence fees or trial appear on the home page.
MyHS remote access comes without any hosting detail.
Right for
US households wanting vendor-supplied hardware and software from one source
Wrong for
Anyone needing a visible price before talking to a salesperson
United StatesSoftware and hardware catalogue with no figures on the home page, which calls its offers budget friendly
Mac-based home automation hub with a perpetual licence
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Home Automation Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Pricing is unusually clear for this market: a modified perpetual licence, so the purchased version can be kept without a subscription, with updates sold by the year.
Indigo Touch for iOS and the web reach the system, and a built-in reflector gives secure internet access without router changes. Alexa is built in, while Siri depends on third-party plugins, and the platform is tied to Mac hardware.
What stands out
Runs on a Mac
Python scripting
Perpetual licence
Where it costs you
It needs a Mac as the host machine.
A Free Trial link exists, but the pages read show no trial length or terms.
Right for
Mac owners who prefer paying once and keeping the software
Wrong for
Households without a Mac to leave switched on
Not stated by the vendorPerpetual-style licence bought once with a year of updates included; optional yearly renewal keeps updates flowing
Hub maker pairing local processing with optional Vera cloud services
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Home Automation Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Hardware range is the feature: thermostats at 129.95 dollars, smart plugs at 25.95 and cameras at 79.95 sit beside valve kits and Ezlo Protect security with panic buttons that call medical, police or fire dispatch.
The hub works with Home Assistant, which gives an exit if the Ezlo software disappoints. Shipping is free over 50 dollars in the contiguous US and returns run for 30 days.
What stands out
Local processing
MeshBot rules
Security kits
Where it costs you
Ezlo's dollar signs come without a named currency.
Cloud service prices and the EZLO HARC product are not available on the page.
Right for
Buyers wanting a hub plus monitored security kits and valve kits
Wrong for
People who need an established product line without roadmap items
Not stated by the vendorHubs and kits sold at listed dollar prices without contracts; cloud service prices are not shown
Integrator-installed whole-home system from the ADI Global group
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Home Automation Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Installer dependence is the defining trade-off: integrators build the scenes, automations and schedules, so the owner buys a service as much as a product. Thousands of Control4 and third-party products are named, with Lutron among the partner logos.
Because the page shows no hosting detail, a buyer should ask the dealer where automations run and what happens to the system if the dealer relationship ends.
What stands out
Dealer-installed
Keypads and touchscreens
ADI Global
Where it costs you
Neither prices nor plans nor a trial are shown.
Hosting model, local controller or cloud, is not stated.
Right for
Large homes where a professional integrator designs and maintains everything
Wrong for
Self-installers who want to buy and configure alone
Not stated by the vendorQuoted by installers rather than listed; the home page shows no plans, prices or trial
Samsung-owned app and hub layer with published account limits
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Home Automation Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Because ownership sits with a large electronics group, it ranks low on independence, but the practical limits are named, which many rivals leave out.
Family Care exists in Korea and the USA on Galaxy Android devices, and Pet Care works only with two Jet Bot models. Those narrow, brand-tied features show the platform is strongest inside Samsung's own range and weaker as a neutral hub.
What stands out
Samsung-owned
300 devices per location
TV as hub
Where it costs you
Accounts are capped at 300 devices per location and 10 locations.
A Samsung Account is required, and no hosting model is stated.
Right for
Samsung TV and appliance owners wanting a hub already in the living room
Wrong for
Those who want a vendor outside a large electronics group
Not stated by the vendorNo subscription or plan prices appear on the Samsung page; setup needs a Samsung Account and wireless network
High-end lighting, audio and video control with whole-home power system
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Home Automation Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The distinguishing idea is the electrical panel as part of the automation: power modules monitor and control each circuit, and energy management is said to offset peak utility costs.
Rooms get lighting, music and video, with music service integration and cross-service search in an iOS and Android app. The page shows no price or purchase route, which keeps it last for a buyer comparing the real cost.
What stands out
Power system
Breaker-panel modules
GE Lighting
Where it costs you
Prices, hosting and trial terms are all absent.
Savant gives no headquarters or country.
Right for
Large new builds wanting circuit-level power control with audio and video
Wrong for
Renters and small flats looking for an inexpensive start
Not stated by the vendorNothing on the home page lists a price, a hosting model or a way to buy
A home automation platform pairs a hub or server with a rules engine, so devices on Zigbee, Z-Wave, Matter and Wi-Fi trigger scenes, schedules and notifications from one place. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.
01
Check who publishes a price
9 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 4 publish a pricing model you can read today: Homey, openHAB, ioBroker, Jeedom.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
These 13 vendors are established in 2 countries across 2 regions (Elsewhere 12, North America 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Home Assistant, openHAB and ioBroker: the hours are the real price
The three self-run options cost no licence on the pages read, so the bill is your time. Home Assistant keeps processing local and sits under a foundation that cannot be sold. openHAB supports over 400 technologies and offers an openHABian image for the Raspberry Pi, which saves a day of installing.
ioBroker offers over 800 adapters and writes rules in Blockly or JavaScript, yet may attach licences to extra visualisation features without showing prices. None of the three names a country or a licence on the pages read. Plan a weekend for the first working lights and a month before the whole house trusts the rules you wrote, then keep a written list of every adapter you installed.
Count the hours you will spend, since no licence fee is shown
Check each platform's named licence before depending on it
List the adapters or bindings your devices need
Hubitat, Homey and Ezlo: the hub decides which radios you get
With a boxed hub the radio list is fixed at purchase. Hubitat spans Zigbee, the long-range Z-Wave 800 chip, Matter and Bluetooth. Homey Pro adds Thread and infrared, and carries a 433 MHz radio that is switched off for three regions, among them the US. Ezlo lists Z-Wave, Zigbee, Wi-Fi and 345MHz and calls its hub Home Assistant compatible.
Hubitat's C-8 Pro costs 199.95 USD, Homey Pro 449 euros once, and Ezlo's Plus Hub 179.95 dollars. A sensor family that your chosen box lacks means a second box or a bridge, which is an extra purchase nobody lists on the hub page. Write down the protocol of every device you already own, and mark the ones you plan to add within a year, before choosing a box.
Match every owned device to a radio on the hub
Check which radios your region disables
Confirm the currency and version of the hub price
Control4, Savant and SmartThings: when an installer or a TV is the hub
Some systems are bought through someone else. Control4 describes integrators who personalise the system, automations and scenes, and its page shows no price. Savant adds a power system with breaker-panel modules for circuit control and shows no price either. SmartThings can use the hub inside Samsung TVs from Q60 up released after 2022, and states hard limits of 300 devices per location and 20 rooms.
The first two suit a large build with a professional, while SmartThings suits a TV owner who wants to start tonight. In every case ask who holds the programming, whether you can still change a scene yourself, and what the system does when the relationship with the dealer or the account ends.
Ask the installer who holds the system programming
Check the SmartThings limits against your device count
Request written prices, because none are shown online
Remote access and voice: Nabu Casa, Gladys Plus and myopenhab.org
Local control stops at your front door unless remote access is added, and each platform sells that differently. Home Assistant's partner cloud adds remote access, Alexa, Google Assistant and Assist speech engines, with prices elsewhere. Gladys Plus charges 7.99 dollars a month in North America or 6.99 euros in Europe after a one-month trial.
openHAB offers a connector to myopenhab.org, described as free, or to your own instance. ioBroker uses a VPN or ioBroker.pro, and Indigo includes a reflector service. Decide whether you need remote access at all before paying, and test voice commands on a trial before relying on them for doors or heating. Cost and function differ per vendor, so compare like with like.
List which voice assistants your household really uses
Compare monthly remote-access prices in your own currency
Test remote control while away on a trial
What goes wrong most often when buying home automation platforms
Choosing a platform by device count without reading the SmartThings account ceilings on devices, rooms and locations.
Buying a Hubitat or Homey hub before checking whether its Zigbee, Z-Wave or 433 MHz radio is active in your region.
Assuming a free self-run server is free to keep alive, when Gladys Plus, ioBroker extras and Home Assistant's cloud partner all bill separately for some features.
Signing with a Control4 or Savant dealer without asking for written prices, since neither home page shows any figure.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What are the best home automation platforms in 2026?
Home Assistant takes first place among the 13 we reviewed. Home Assistant sits under the Open Home Foundation, which calls itself a non-profit that cannot be sold or acquired, so no buyer can redirect the project.
It says nothing is stored in the cloud and everything is processed locally. The weak side is paperwork: no country, no subscription prices on the pages read, and the cloud product changes its name to Home Assistant Link on 2 December 2026.
Which home automation platforms publish their pricing?
4 out of 13 state a price model on their own site:
Homey: Cloud edition free for up to five devices, then billed monthly; Pro and mini hubs are one-time purchases; self-hosted server shows no price.
openHAB: Software shows no price on the home page; the connector service myopenhab.org is described as free for remote use.
ioBroker: Base platform described as free; licences may apply to individual extra services and visualisation features, with no figures shown.
Jeedom: Framework software described as free; plug-and-play gateways and the Hyperviseur Pro cloud are shown without prices.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free home automation platform?
Homey can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these home automation platform vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 2 countries and 2 regions, Elsewhere 12, North America 1:
Home Assistant: Not stated by the vendor.
Homey: Not stated by the vendor.
Hubitat: Not stated by the vendor.
Gladys Assistant: Not stated by the vendor.
openHAB: Not stated by the vendor.
ioBroker: Not stated by the vendor.
Jeedom: Not stated by the vendor.
HomeSeer: United States.
Indigo Domotics: Not stated by the vendor.
Ezlo: Not stated by the vendor.
Control4: Not stated by the vendor.
SmartThings: Not stated by the vendor.
Savant: Not stated by the vendor.
Which home automation platforms can you host yourself?
Homey, Jeedom. The other 11 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Home Assistant?
Look at Homey (made for Owners who want a polished hub bought once, with Matter, Thread, Zigbee and Z-Wave) and Hubitat (made for Households wanting a single dedicated box that keeps running offline), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Home Assistant?
Shoppers wanting a boxed product with one price. The pages read give no country and no price for the cloud subscription..
Do you make a home automation platforms product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.