Ad blocker software removes adverts, trackers and pop-ups before a page finishes loading, whether inside one browser, across every app on a device or at the DNS layer for a whole network.
This guide orders twelve products by who builds them, what the paid layer adds, which browsers they support, and how clearly each vendor describes its data handling.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What ad blocker software does
Ad blocker software filters requests and page elements so adverts, trackers and pop-ups never appear, running as a browser extension, a device app or a DNS service covering several devices.
Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every ad blocker tool here. Top three places belong to challengers outside the best-known brands whenever possible, and incumbents follow from four. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Annual subscription or one-time Lifetime licence, Personal for 3 devices or Family for 9; billed in dollars with amounts not shown; trials on desktop and Android apps
—
Households wanting one lifetime or yearly licence across Windows, Mac and phones
Anyone wanting prices visible before starting a trial
Free plan up to 300,000 queries a month; Pro for personal use, then Business and Education priced per 50 employees or 250 students; all amounts in euros
Yes
Households or schools filtering every device through one DNS configuration
Open source content blocker built by Raymond Hill, strongest on Firefox
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Ad Blocker Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
The project publishes its source under GPL-3.0 on github.com/gorhill/uBlock and lists no paid plan, while asking users to support filter list maintainers instead of the developer. Full strength runs on Firefox desktop and Android.
Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari are covered by uBlock Origin Lite, a different edition. Anyone installing should start from the GitHub repository, because ublockorigin.com says it is not affiliated with the project.
What stands out
GPL-3.0 licence
Firefox desktop and Android
Lite edition for Chrome
Where it costs you
The Chrome Web Store entry was removed, and Chromium browsers still need Manifest V2 support for the full version.
The Thunderbird add-on is no longer updated, and the ublockorigin.com site says it is unofficial.
Right for
Firefox users who want a licensed, donation-free blocker with no account or plan
Wrong for
Chrome or Safari users who want the full edition
Not stated by the vendorLicence GPL-3.0 with no plans or prices; the project declines donations and points users to filter list maintainers
Single-purchase Safari blocker made by one independent developer
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Ad Blocker Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Wipr 2 is sold as a single purchase that works on all your devices, so there is no renewal date to track. It removes ads, popups, trackers and cookie warnings in Safari. The optional Filtr add-on extends blocking to other apps at network level.
The maker is described as a single independent developer, an individual rather than a company, which means the page offers no company name, address or support structure to evaluate.
What stands out
Single purchase
Safari content blocker
Filtr network add-on
Where it costs you
Neither the page nor the App Store badges show a price or currency.
Blocking beyond Safari depends on the optional Filtr add-on, and no Chrome or Firefox version is described.
Right for
Apple users who prefer one purchase over any subscription for Safari blocking
Wrong for
People who browse in Chrome, Firefox or Edge
Not stated by the vendorOne purchase covers all your devices; the page shows no amount and mentions no subscription
Bootstrapped Safari blocker for iPhone, iPad, Mac and Vision Pro
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Ad Blocker Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
1Blocker works as a Safari content blocker on iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Vision Pro, with filtering done locally on the device. The list covers over 50,000 trackers, over 9,000 adult sites, ads and annoyances such as cookie notices and chat pop-ups.
Version 6 arrived as a free update for existing users, which hints at the upgrade policy. The company is bootstrapped and independent, but the page names no country and no plan structure.
What stands out
Bootstrapped indie
Local filtering
Apple devices only
Where it costs you
No trial length, plan list or paid price is given, only that it is free on the App Store.
It covers Apple devices only, with no Windows, Android or Chrome version mentioned.
Right for
iPhone, iPad and Mac owners who want local filtering and extra adult-site blocking
Wrong for
Anyone browsing on Windows or Android devices today
Not stated by the vendorFree to download on the App Store; the page lists no plans or amounts and says income comes from direct App Store sales
Apps and extensions that clean browsers and other programs on the device
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Ad Blocker Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
AdGuard splits its range into free browser extensions, limited free mobile apps and licensed full apps. The licence page offers a yearly subscription or a Lifetime payment, Personal for 3 devices and Family for 9.
Full apps clean browsers and other programs on the device, hide empty gaps left by ads and include in-app support contact. Trials last 14 days on Windows, Mac and Android and 7 days on iOS.
What stands out
Lifetime licence option
Device-wide apps
Trials on four apps
Where it costs you
Billing is in dollars according to the licence page, yet no amounts show, so cost per device is unclear.
Adding more than 9 devices means contacting sales, and the company's country is not stated.
Right for
Households wanting one lifetime or yearly licence across Windows, Mac and phones
Wrong for
Anyone wanting prices visible before starting a trial
Not stated by the vendorAnnual subscription or one-time Lifetime licence, Personal for 3 devices or Family for 9; billed in dollars with amounts not shown; trials on desktop and Android apps
Munich extension that blocks ads, disarms trackers and rejects consent banners
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Ad Blocker Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Ghostery is a free extension that blocks ads, disarms trackers and prevents pop-ups across Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Edge, Opera and Brave. Never-Consent answers cookie prompts by rejecting tracking cookies and sending opt-out signals.
Ghostery GmbH has a Munich address in its privacy policy. The pricing page lists monthly, yearly and one-time donation amounts that, the vendor says, do not entitle donors to additional products or services.
What stands out
Donation-funded
Never-Consent cookies
Six browsers
Where it costs you
Its pricing page offers donations only, so nothing is bought and nothing extra is unlocked.
Currency is shown as a dollar sign only, and no parent company or owner is stated.
Right for
Browser users who want ads, trackers and consent prompts handled together
Wrong for
Users wanting a boxed licence with invoices and support
GermanyNo plans exist; the pricing page lists only voluntary monthly, yearly and one-time donations that unlock nothing extra
Five-device blocker that stays out of the Acceptable Ads programme
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Ad Blocker Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
AdLock offers free browser extensions for all popular browsers and standalone apps for Windows, macOS, Android and iOS with a trial. A single licence can be activated on five devices.
The vendor says it stays out of the Acceptable Ads programme and does not collect, transfer or sell data from users' devices. A Bratislava address is shown, but no legal company name appears next to it.
What stands out
Five-device licence
No Acceptable Ads
Apps on four systems
Where it costs you
Plan names, prices and billing periods are not shown, only a link to a Purchase page.
The legal company name is missing, and the trial length for the apps is not stated.
Right for
Households needing one licence across five devices and opting out of Acceptable Ads
Wrong for
Shoppers who want to compare plan prices before buying
SlovakiaOne licence connects five devices; plan names and amounts sit behind a Purchase link; extensions need no payment and apps start with a trial
DNS-level filtering with a monthly query allowance and selectable log location
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Ad Blocker Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
NextDNS works as a DNS service with DNS-over-HTTPS and DNS-over-TLS, so one profile can cover unlimited devices and configurations even on the free plan. Pro lifts the query cap for personal and close family use, Business is priced per 50 employees and Education per 250 students, all in euros.
Logs can be stored in the United States, European Union, United Kingdom or Switzerland. Parental controls include SafeSearch, YouTube Restricted Mode and Recreation Time schedules.
What stands out
DNS filtering
Query-based plans
US, EU, UK or Swiss logs
Where it costs you
The free plan stops blocking after 300,000 queries a month, though it keeps answering DNS.
Malware, phishing and parental controls are described rather than ad lists, and no trial is listed.
Right for
Households or schools filtering every device through one DNS configuration
Wrong for
Users who only need a single-browser ad blocker
Not stated by the vendorFree plan up to 300,000 queries a month; Pro for personal use, then Business and Education priced per 50 employees or 250 students; all amounts in euros
EFF extension built to stop companies spying on you online
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Ad Blocker Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Privacy Badger is made by the Electronic Frontier Foundation and carries no paid tier, only an invitation to donate to the EFF. The extension source is under GPLv3+ and the website source under AGPLv3+.
Its goal, in the maker's words, is to stop companies from spying on you online. Supported browsers are Chrome, Firefox on desktop and Android, Safari 26.5 or later, Edge on desktop and Android, Opera and Brave.
What stands out
Nonprofit maker
GPLv3+ source
No Chrome on Android
Where it costs you
It does not run on Chrome for Android or Edge Legacy, and Safari needs version 26.5 or later.
Its stated aim is stopping spying, so advert removal is not the declared purpose.
Right for
Browser users who want a nonprofit tracker stopper next to a regular blocker
Wrong for
People wanting a single tool that hides all adverts
Not stated by the vendorNo paid tier exists; the page only invites optional donations to the Electronic Frontier Foundation
Extension created in 2009 that allows Acceptable Ads by default
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Ad Blocker Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
AdBlock states that core functionality needs no subscription and no account, and runs on Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Safari, iOS and Android. Pop-ups, banners, video ads and third-party trackers are all targeted.
Michael Gundlach created it in 2009, and the page describes a fully remote team. An AdBlock Premium cookie-banner feature links to a Premium page, but the home page shows no prices, currency or billing periods for it.
What stands out
Acceptable Ads default
Remote team
Mobile and desktop
Where it costs you
Acceptable Ads are allowed by default, so some adverts pass until the setting is changed.
The Premium page price is not on the home page, and no company or country is named.
Right for
Mobile and desktop users wanting a long-running blocker with no account
Wrong for
Users who want every advert hidden from the first launch
Not stated by the vendorCore blocking needs no subscription; a Premium cookie-banner feature links to a page where no amounts show on the home page
Cologne vendor's GPLv3+ extension with a Premium upgrade adding no blocking
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Ad Blocker Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestEurope
Adblock Plus has a free and open source core under GPLv3+ and runs on Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Opera and Safari plus mobile apps. It claims to block YouTube pre-, mid- and post-roll ads and ads in AI assistants.
Premium comes yearly or monthly with a 60-day money-back guarantee, yet the vendor says it does not provide additional ad blocking. Trademark ownership sits with Ad-IP GmbH & Co. KG, not eyeo.
What stands out
Premium upgrade
YouTube video ads
Mobile apps
Where it costs you
Its Premium page shows two different prices for the same yearly plan, and the currency is only a dollar sign.
Premium adds no extra blocking, by the vendor's own wording, so the paid tier buys something else.
Right for
People wanting a widely available open source extension and mobile apps
Wrong for
Anyone expecting Premium to hide more adverts than before
GermanyOpen source core (GPLv3+); Premium sold yearly or monthly in dollars, where the plan cards and purchase card disagree; 60-day money-back guarantee
Pop-up and overlay blocker with pages for YouTube, Reddit and others
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Ad Blocker Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Poper Blocker presents itself as free forever with no registration required. Pop-ups, overlays and forced interactions are blocked and cookie banners hidden. Separate pages describe behaviour on YouTube, Twitch, Facebook, Instagram, X, LinkedIn, Pinterest and Reddit.
It also appears under the name Pop Up Blocker for Chrome. Since the only company reference is a 2025 copyright line, there is nobody named to hold accountable for the extension.
What stands out
Pop-up focus
Cookie banner hiding
Chrome, Edge, Safari
Where it costs you
No price, currency or billing period is shown for any paid version.
No company, owner or country is stated beyond a copyright line, and no Firefox build is listed.
Right for
Chrome, Edge or Safari users bothered mainly by pop-ups and overlays
Wrong for
Users needing tracker lists or any Firefox support
Not stated by the vendorDescribed as free forever without registration; no price for any paid version appears on the page
Tracker-blocking vendor with consumer, business and licensing offerings
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Ad Blocker Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Disconnect splits into Business, Consumer and Lightbox API. Consumer blocks trackers and fingerprinting on iOS, Android and the web. Business deploys through existing infrastructure and covers devices, apps and browsers across a network.
Lightbox API is sold under enterprise licensing with App X-ray, Web X-ray and Tracker X-ray. A 2026 copyright line is the only ownership hint, with no legal company name or country, so ownership is hard to verify.
What stands out
Fingerprint blocking
Network-wide Business
Lightbox X-ray API
Where it costs you
The home page lists no plans or prices and does not say whether any offering is free.
The 2.4 times faster loads and 39 percent less data figures are the vendor's own claims.
Right for
Organisations wanting network-wide tracker blocking with no new agents installed
Wrong for
Individuals looking for a clearly priced browser extension
Not stated by the vendorThree offerings, Business, Consumer and Lightbox API sold on enterprise licensing; the home page lists no plans or prices
Ad blocker software filters requests and page elements so adverts, trackers and pop-ups never appear, running as a browser extension, a device app or a DNS service covering several devices. Products in this area look alike on a feature list, so we would decide these questions first.
01
Start with pricing transparency
Only 3 of the 12 print a price; 9 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: 1Blocker, NextDNS, Poper Blocker.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Check the vendor's home market (Elsewhere 9, Europe 3), because that is where subpoenas and data requests arrive first, whatever region holds your files.
03
Check the open source options
Source code is available for uBlock Origin, AdBlock Plus. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
Picking ad blocker software by browser: uBlock Origin, Wipr and 1Blocker split the field
Ad blocker software is chosen browser first, because the same product behaves differently on each engine. uBlock Origin keeps its full version on Firefox, while Chrome and Edge users are pointed to the Lite edition after the Chrome Web Store entry was removed. Wipr and 1Blocker are Safari content blockers, and 1Blocker lists iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Vision Pro.
Poper Blocker covers Chrome, Edge and Safari. Privacy Badger lacks Chrome on Android. Write down the browser on every device you use, then eliminate anything that omits one of them. A tool that works on desktop yet leaves your phone browser bare produces the false impression that blocking is switched on everywhere, so test each device with a page you know carries adverts.
Name every browser and mobile operating system in use
Check the vendor's supported-browser list for removals or version floors
Load a known advert-heavy page on each device after installing
Reading ad blocker software prices: AdGuard licences, NextDNS quotas and Adblock Plus Premium
Most ad blocker software costs nothing at the core and charges around it, so the question is what the paid layer buys. AdGuard sells a yearly subscription or a Lifetime payment, Personal for 3 devices and Family for 9, but its licence page names no amounts. NextDNS counts queries, with 300,000 a month on the free plan, after which it keeps answering without blocking.
Adblock Plus Premium offers no additional ad blocking by the vendor's own words and shows different yearly prices on two cards. Wipr is a single purchase, Ghostery takes donations only, and uBlock Origin takes none. Compare what each payment unlocks, how many devices it covers and whether a refund window or trial exists before you pay.
Ask what the paid tier adds beyond blocking
Count devices against the licence cap
Look for quotas that switch blocking off
Ad blocker software scope: Ghostery, Privacy Badger and AdBlock aim at different targets
Not every product here removes adverts first. Privacy Badger states its purpose as stopping companies from spying on you online, so it pairs with another blocker rather than replacing one. Ghostery blocks ads and disarms trackers, and its Never-Consent feature rejects tracking cookies. AdBlock allows Acceptable Ads by default, which lets some adverts through until you change the setting, while AdLock says it stays out of that programme.
NextDNS filters at DNS level and describes malware, phishing and parental controls on the pages read. Disconnect centres on trackers and fingerprints. Decide whether your main irritation is adverts, tracking or consent banners, then pick the tool whose own description names it, and avoid stacking several that overlap.
Identify whether ads, trackers or cookie banners bother you most
Open the settings to see if Acceptable Ads is on
Avoid installing two tools that block the same requests
Vetting the vendor behind ad blocker software: lookalike sites, AdLock and Disconnect
A blocker sees every page you open, so who runs it matters more than in most software. The ublockorigin.com site says it is unofficial, so uBlock Origin should be installed from github.com/gorhill/uBlock. AdLock shows a Bratislava address without a legal company name, Disconnect gives a copyright line without a company or country, and Poper Blocker offers only a 2025 copyright.
Ghostery GmbH and eyeo GmbH state Munich and Cologne addresses. AdGuard names Adguard Software Ltd. but no country. Prefer products that name an operator and state what they collect; AdLock, for instance, says it does not collect, transfer or sell device data. Keep the permission prompt in mind, because a blocker can read the pages you visit.
Install only from the repository or store link the project names
Find a legal entity and address on the vendor pages
Read the statement on data collection before granting permissions
What goes wrong most often when buying ad blocker software
Installing uBlock Origin from ublockorigin.com, a site that says it is not affiliated with the project, instead of the GitHub repository.
Paying for Adblock Plus Premium expecting more blocked adverts when the vendor says the upgrade provides no additional ad blocking.
Treating Privacy Badger as a complete ad remover when its stated aim is to stop companies spying on you online.
Relying on the NextDNS free plan after 300,000 queries, when it keeps resolving DNS but stops blocking.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best ad blocker software in 2026?
uBlock Origin takes first place among the 12 we reviewed. uBlock Origin is a GPL-3.0 open source blocker by Raymond Hill with no plans, prices or donation button. It filters ads, trackers and malicious domains and hides page elements.
Reach is the weak spot: the Chrome Web Store entry was removed, Chromium browsers need Manifest V2 support, and Chrome, Edge or Safari users must switch to the separate Lite edition. The ublockorigin.com site also calls itself unofficial.
Which ad blocker tools publish their pricing?
3 out of 12 state a price model on their own site:
1Blocker: Free to download on the App Store; the page lists no plans or amounts and says income comes from direct App Store sales.
NextDNS: Free plan up to 300,000 queries a month; Pro for personal use, then Business and Education priced per 50 employees or 250 students; all amounts in euros.
Poper Blocker: Described as free forever without registration; no price for any paid version appears on the page.
9 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free ad blocker tool?
1Blocker, NextDNS have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these ad blocker software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 3 countries and 2 regions, Elsewhere 9, Europe 3:
uBlock Origin: Not stated by the vendor.
Wipr: Not stated by the vendor.
1Blocker: Not stated by the vendor.
AdGuard: Not stated by the vendor.
Ghostery: Germany.
AdLock: Slovakia.
NextDNS: Not stated by the vendor.
Privacy Badger: Not stated by the vendor.
AdBlock: Not stated by the vendor.
AdBlock Plus: Germany.
Poper Blocker: Not stated by the vendor.
Disconnect: Not stated by the vendor.
Which ad blocker tools are open source?
uBlock Origin, AdBlock Plus.
What should you use instead of uBlock Origin?
Wipr and 1Blocker are the next two on this page. Wipr is for Apple users who prefer one purchase over any subscription for Safari blocking; 1Blocker is for iPhone, iPad and Mac owners who want local filtering and extra adult-site blocking.
Who should not buy uBlock Origin?
Chrome or Safari users who want the full edition. The Chrome Web Store entry was removed, and Chromium browsers still need Manifest V2 support for the full version..
Makers of ad blocker software products can ask us to look at theirs. Say what it does and who uses it. We choose what to add, and nothing can be bought; see software advice for what a listing means.