Partition managers cut, shrink, move and copy the sections of a disk, covering eleven tools, from a GPL editor on a boot stick to Windows suites sold in home, server and technician editions.
We favour independent vendors with visible prices, then check which operating system hosts the tool, what the free edition allows, and what commercial use adds.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What partition manager software does
Partition manager software creates, resizes, moves, copies, formats and checks the partitions and file systems of a disk, so storage can be reorganised without reinstalling the operating system.
Ranking criteria for this partition manager tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. A challenger rule applies on top. Places 1 to 3 are kept for lesser-known vendors when the category has them; large brands rank from 4. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Open source partition editor delivered as a bootable Live image
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Partition Manager Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Used from a bootable stick, GParted works the same on Linux, Windows or Mac hardware, because the machine boots from the media and the installed system stays untouched.
The site states that resizing, copying and moving happen without data loss. That promise still deserves a backup first. Expect a rebuild of the stick for each new release, and no vendor to call when a move goes wrong.
What stands out
GPL licence
Live USB image
Wide file system list
Where it costs you
The site presents GParted Live as the stable release, with no standard desktop installation described.
Full features need at least 1 GB of RAM on an x86-64 machine.
Right for
Technicians repairing disks across Linux, Windows and Mac machines from one USB stick
Wrong for
Anyone who wants a tray icon or scheduled jobs inside Windows
Not stated by the vendorFree to download under GPL-2.0-or-later; no editions, seats or licence keys
Home edition without bundles, plus server tiers for Windows
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Partition Manager Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The edition list is the strongest part: one PC at home, two PCs under Professional, two servers under Server, unlimited under Enterprise, and an unlimited technician tier.
Windows 11 back to XP is named as supported. What you give up is clarity on money, since each paid edition shows no price, and the company behind it names no country, so contract questions have no visible answer.
What stands out
Home edition
Server 2003 to 2025
Technician licence
Where it costs you
Prices for every paid edition are absent from the pages we read, so budgeting means asking or clicking through to checkout.
Home-only licensing of the Free Edition rules it out for office machines.
Right for
Home users and small shops wanting Windows software with a ladder up to servers
Wrong for
Teams who need price certainty before opening a vendor conversation
Not stated by the vendorHome edition at no cost covers one PC; Professional, Server, Enterprise and Technician editions are sold, with no amounts on the page
Priced-out ladder and a portable build for Windows partitioning
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Partition Manager Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Pro is shown at 39.99 against a list of 79.99, Server at 129.95 against 199.95, and Unlimited at 399 against 599, all in dollars with no currency code. A thirty-day Server edition and lifetime upgrades add flexibility.
The weak side is certainty: the Technician edition has no price, the free version's limit is unexplained, and Windows is the only platform the page describes.
What stands out
Portable edition
Sale and list prices
Lifetime upgrade
Where it costs you
Sale prices sit beside higher list prices, so a budget built today may not hold at renewal.
The '32T' figure in the Free column is not labelled by the vendor.
Right for
Buyers who want prices on the page, a portable edition and a Server tier
Wrong for
Anyone who needs macOS or Linux support from the same tool
Not stated by the vendorPublished prices from Pro to Unlimited, with list and sale figures; Free edition as installer or portable
Resizer built around C-drive growth, with lifetime server pricing
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Partition Manager Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Resizer Server costs 139 with a lifetime licence, or 159 with a free upgrade, and covers up to 128TB. Unlimited is 399 and Technician is 599, all in US dollars.
The ladder is easy to read and the lifetime model avoids renewals. On the other side, the free build stops at 16TB per PC, the trial length is unstated, and nothing on the site says where the company sits.
What stands out
C-drive resizing
Lifetime licence
16TB home cap
Where it costs you
Trial length for Server, Unlimited and Technician is not stated.
Home edition is capped at 16TB per PC, which matters to large arrays.
Right for
Windows admins who want a lifetime server licence and a free home build
Wrong for
Teams wanting subscription billing or a vendor with a stated country
Not stated by the vendorFree for home users up to 16TB per PC; Server, Unlimited and Technician sold as published lifetime-style licences
KDE's Linux disk, partition and file system manager under GPL-3.0
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Partition Manager Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
On a KDE-based Linux desktop, this is the natural pick: install from the distribution, point it at a disk, and resize without data loss as the page promises. Backup and restore of partitions come in the same window.
Where it falls short is reach and service. It is Linux software, it has no paid tier, and responsibility for a failed resize rests with the person who clicked apply.
What stands out
GPL-3.0 or later
Backup and restore
Linux only
Where it costs you
Only Linux appears on the install button, so a mixed fleet needs something else.
The page lists no commercial support, so help depends on the community.
Right for
Linux desktop users who want a graphical editor with backup and restore
Wrong for
Windows or Mac administrators looking for one tool across platforms
Not stated by the vendorFree software released under GPL-3.0 or later; nothing to buy and no tiers
GNOME's disk utility with SMART readouts, benchmarks and USB imaging
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Partition Manager Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Think of this as the inspection bench. Health readings from SMART, access-time and speed tests, and imaging a USB stick sit alongside format and partition actions.
A buyer shrinking a Windows volume to dual boot will want an editor with resize on its feature list, which this page does not claim. The price is nothing, and the licence is GPL, so adopting it costs only the time to learn it.
What stands out
SMART data
Disk benchmark
USB imaging
Where it costs you
The page names formatting and partitioning but not resizing or moving partitions.
It targets the GNOME desktop on Linux, with no Windows or Mac build described.
Right for
Linux users who check drive health and write USB sticks as much as partition
Wrong for
People planning to shrink, move or merge existing partitions
Not stated by the vendorFree desktop application on GPL-2.0 or later terms; no editions or fees
Paid live disk that runs from memory with one licence for all drives
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Partition Manager Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
PXE boot is the detail that sets it apart from a plain USB tool: an IT desk can serve the image across a network and work on many machines without carrying media.
Partitioning sits next to erase, clone and recovery tools. The trade-offs are that you boot away from your normal system to use it, and the vendor prints neither a country nor an amount on its front page.
What stands out
Runs in memory
PXE boot
Secure erase tools
Where it costs you
Cost appears only after following the pricing link, with no amount up front.
It is a boot disk, so there is no always-on tool inside a running system.
Right for
Technicians who want one boot disk for erasing, cloning and repartitioning
Wrong for
Anyone expecting a program installed and available inside Windows
Not stated by the vendorOne licence covers unlimited drives with no per-drive or per-seat fees; the amount is not on the home page
DiskGenius pairs partitioning with cloning, OS migration and file recovery
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Partition Manager Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The licence ladder is unusual: one month without auto-renewal, one year, or lifetime. For a single migration that means paying for a month, not a year, and the Free edition lets you scan and preview before you spend.
Version 6.2.0.1829 is the one listed on the site. Missing pieces are the one-year and lifetime prices and any statement of the company's country.
What stands out
Month-long licence
File recovery
OS migration
Where it costs you
Free recovery is limited to small files, so real rescue work needs a paid licence.
Prices for the one-year and lifetime licences are not shown on the page we read.
Right for
One-off repair jobs where a one-month licence beats a lasting purchase
Wrong for
Buyers who need annual prices before choosing a licence term
Not stated by the vendorFree edition acts as the trial; Professional licences start at a one-month term without auto-renewal, with one-year and lifetime options
Freeware Standard edition with four paid Windows editions above it
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Partition Manager Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
As you climb from Standard to Technician, the vendor names a distinct edition for each audience, which helps an MSP choose. All the paid editions come with a trial.
The gap is information: no price, no currency, no trial length and no limits appear on the page, so a purchasing manager cannot compare it with Macrorit or IM-Magic without leaving the site.
What stands out
Standard for home
Four paid editions
Trial downloads
Where it costs you
Trial length and limits for the paid editions are not stated.
Standard is for personal and home use, so a business machine needs a paid edition.
Right for
Home users who may later move to a technician or server licence
Wrong for
Teams needing published prices and trial terms before talking to a vendor
Not stated by the vendorHome-use Standard edition costs nothing; four higher tiers, each with a trial, show no amounts
Basic free edition, a migration-minded Pro and a server tier
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Partition Manager Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The three-edition structure is straightforward: free basics, Pro with migration and recovery, and Business for servers with priority help at any hour. That support promise is the main reason to look at it over a lone-developer tool.
Against that, price and trial length are missing, the home edition is basic by the vendor's own description, and the offices in Canada and Hong Kong leave the legal home unclear.
What stands out
Basic free edition
OS-to-SSD migration
24/7 priority help
Where it costs you
The page prints no prices and no trial length for Pro or Business.
Two offices are listed but no country of incorporation, which leaves contract jurisdiction unclear.
Right for
Organisations wanting a vendor with round-the-clock help for Windows servers
Wrong for
Shoppers who compare editions by price before a first call
Not stated by the vendorBasic home edition at no cost; Pro adds migration and recovery, Business covers servers, trials for both with length unstated
Built-in macOS storage app for partitions, APFS volumes and disk images
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Partition Manager Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Nothing to buy and nothing to install, which makes it the baseline against which paid tools on this page are judged. APFS volume sharing means volumes grow and shrink by themselves, so classic resizing matters less on a Mac.
Disk images can be created, converted and resized, and storage can be password encrypted. Its limit is the platform: macOS only.
What stands out
Included in macOS
APFS volumes
First Aid repair
Where it costs you
It ships only with macOS, so a Windows or Linux estate cannot use it.
The guide describes volume handling in APFS containers, not a full editor with a long file system list.
Right for
Mac owners who need to partition, erase or repair a disk without extra software
Wrong for
Technicians who must work on Windows or Linux disks from one tool
Not stated by the vendorIncluded with macOS at no extra cost; no editions or licence keys
Partition manager software creates, resizes, moves, copies, formats and checks the partitions and file systems of a disk, so storage can be reorganised without reinstalling the operating system. Rather than compare features, settle the following points one after another.
01
Check who publishes a price
Only 6 of the 11 print a price; 5 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: GParted, Macrorit Partition Expert, IM-Magic Partition Resizer, KDE Partition Manager, GNOME Disks, DiskGenius.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
Check the vendor's home market (Elsewhere 11), because that is where subpoenas and data requests arrive first, whatever region holds your files.
03
Check the open source options
Source code is available for GParted. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
GParted Live, Parted Magic and installed Windows editors: where the partition tool runs
The first split in this market is where the program lives, and it is easy to overlook. GParted is distributed as a bootable Live image for x86-64 machines, and Parted Magic boots from USB, DVD or PXE and runs in memory, so neither touches the installed system. NIUBI Partition Editor, Macrorit Partition Expert and DiskGenius are Windows programs that you install.
KDE Partition Manager and GNOME Disks assume a Linux desktop, and Disk Utility assumes macOS. A shop that fixes other people's machines needs the boot-media route, while an office administrator tidying one laptop may prefer a tool living in the running system. Decide this before comparing features, because the answer removes half of the list and saves several pointless trial downloads.
List the operating systems of the machines you will touch
Decide between boot media and an installed program
Confirm the RAM the Live image asks for, such as 1 GB for GParted
Home-only licences at AOMEI, NIUBI, IM-Magic and MiniTool: what a business machine needs
Several vendors give away a fully usable edition, but only for home use. AOMEI Partition Assistant Standard is freeware meant for home users, NIUBI's Free Edition is licensed for one home PC, and IM-Magic's Resizer Free is aimed at home users with a 16TB per-PC limit.
A company laptop then moves to a paid edition: NIUBI Professional covers up to two PCs for commercial use, IM-Magic sells Server, Unlimited and Technician licences, and MiniTool aims its Business tier at servers and larger organisations. Reading the licence line before installing avoids the awkward moment when a free copy turns out to be forbidden at work, and it shows which paid tier you are actually shopping for.
Check whether the free edition allows commercial use
Count the PCs or servers each paid edition covers
Note which edition a repair business needs, such as Technician
Reading the price ladders of Macrorit, IM-Magic, DiskGenius and Parted Magic
Prices here follow four patterns, and three vendors in the ranking are open about it. Macrorit Partition Expert shows a crossed-out list figure above each lower sale figure and sells lifetime upgrades for Pro and Server. IM-Magic Partition Resizer sells Server for 139 as a lifetime licence covering 128TB on two servers, then Unlimited for 399 and Technician for 599.
DiskGenius offers a one-month Professional licence without auto-renewal, with one-year and lifetime options. Parted Magic uses one licence for unlimited drives. AOMEI, MiniTool and NIUBI show no amounts on the pages we read. Write the cost per machine over three years, and mark any figure that is only a sale price, since renewals and upgrades can change the total.
Compare list price and sale price, as on Macrorit
Prefer a lifetime or one-month term for a one-off job
Ask for amounts when the page shows none, as at AOMEI
Desktop-bundled tools: KDE Partition Manager, GNOME Disks and Disk Utility before you buy
Before paying anyone, see what your operating system already includes. Disk Utility ships with macOS and handles partitions, APFS volumes, First Aid repair and disk images. KDE Partition Manager is GPL-3.0 software for Linux that can copy, move, back up, restore and resize partitions. GNOME Disks formats and partitions, shows SMART data, benchmarks drives and images USB sticks, but its page does not name resizing.
These cover routine work for their own platforms, and for a single home machine that is often enough. A paid Windows tool earns its place when you need server editions, technician licences, OS migration or file recovery, which the bundled tools do not list on their pages, so check each requirement against the feature lists first.
Open the bundled tool and list the actions it names
Check whether it resizes, as KDE Partition Manager does
Buy only for gaps such as server licences or recovery
What goes wrong most often when buying partition manager software
Running a free home edition on office machines, where AOMEI, NIUBI and IM-Magic limit it to personal use.
Resizing a system disk without a backup, even though GParted and KDE Partition Manager promise no data loss.
Treating a Macrorit sale price as the permanent price instead of checking the list figure.
Picking a boot-media tool such as Parted Magic when the job needs an installed Windows program, or the reverse.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best partition manager software in 2026?
GParted takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. GParted comes from a community project rather than a company, and the site states the GPL-2.0-or-later licence.
It lists create, delete, resize, move, check, label, new UUID, copy and paste, across a long file system list that includes ext4, ntfs, xfs and btrfs. The cost is the delivery: you boot GParted Live media, and the site asks for 1 GB of RAM to unlock every feature.
Which partition manager tools publish their pricing?
6 out of 11 state a price model on their own site:
GParted: Free to download under GPL-2.0-or-later; no editions, seats or licence keys.
Macrorit Partition Expert: Published prices from Pro to Unlimited, with list and sale figures; Free edition as installer or portable.
IM-Magic Partition Resizer: Free for home users up to 16TB per PC; Server, Unlimited and Technician sold as published lifetime-style licences.
KDE Partition Manager: Free software released under GPL-3.0 or later; nothing to buy and no tiers.
GNOME Disks: Free desktop application on GPL-2.0 or later terms; no editions or fees.
DiskGenius: Free edition acts as the trial; Professional licences start at a one-month term without auto-renewal, with one-year and lifetime options.
The other 5 quote per organisation.
Is there a free partition manager tool?
GParted, IM-Magic Partition Resizer, KDE Partition Manager, GNOME Disks, DiskGenius come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these partition manager software vendors established?
In 1 countries across 1 regions: Elsewhere 11.
GParted: Not stated by the vendor.
NIUBI Partition Editor: Not stated by the vendor.
Macrorit Partition Expert: Not stated by the vendor.
IM-Magic Partition Resizer: Not stated by the vendor.
KDE Partition Manager: Not stated by the vendor.
GNOME Disks: Not stated by the vendor.
Parted Magic: Not stated by the vendor.
DiskGenius: Not stated by the vendor.
AOMEI Partition Assistant: Not stated by the vendor.
MiniTool Partition Wizard: Not stated by the vendor.
Disk Utility: Not stated by the vendor.
Which partition manager tools are open source?
GParted.
What should you use instead of GParted?
The next in line are NIUBI Partition Editor, aimed at Home users and small shops wanting Windows software with a ladder up to servers, and Macrorit Partition Expert, aimed at Buyers who want prices on the page, a portable edition and a Server tier.
Who should not buy GParted?
Anyone who wants a tray icon or scheduled jobs inside Windows. The site presents GParted Live as the stable release, with no standard desktop installation described..
Missing from this partition manager software ranking? Contact us with a short description of the product and its users. Adding it is an editorial choice, and software advice explains what a listing does and does not involve.