Code editors run from paid single-company products to community projects with no named owner, and the commercial terms differ more than the feature lists.
This guide orders fourteen editors by ninety-day setup effort, what a growing team really pays, how settings and projects can leave, how far each depends on another party, and which developer each suits.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What code editors software does
A code editor is a program for writing and changing source code in text files, adding syntax colouring, search and plugins while staying lighter than a full IDE.
Ranking criteria for this code editors tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. A separate rule reserves the first three places for challengers and moves the household names to place 4 and below. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
Paid editor from a Sydney company, with an evaluation download
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Code Editors in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
The store page splits buyers into two groups. Personal licences are a one-time purchase that includes three years of updates, shown with the optional Sublime Merge in the page total.
Business licences are annual per-seat subscriptions, with the yearly rate falling in steps as the seat count passes 10, 25 and 50. The company is Sublime HQ Pty Ltd in Sydney, and the old sublimetext.com/buy address now redirects to this store. Nothing on the page describes support terms.
What stands out
One-time licence
Per-seat business plan
Sydney company
Where it costs you
Business seats are billed every year, so cost grows with headcount and renews indefinitely.
The evaluation download carries no stated length, which makes a structured team trial harder to plan.
Right for
Individual developers who want to pay once and keep working without subscription pressure
Wrong for
Large teams that need one flat price and written support terms
AustraliaPublished store prices: one-time personal licence with three years of updates, annual per-seat business subscription
Mac-native editor sold outright, with a trial of up to thirty days
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Code Editors in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Panic sells Nova through a buy page showing a one-time price with one year of updates included, a cheaper upgrade route for owners of Coda, and an optional yearly subscription after the first year that can be cancelled.
A full-featured trial runs up to 30 days from launch, long enough to test real projects. The page does not state Panic's country, and it describes Nova as the next-generation Mac-native editor.
What stands out
Mac only
One-time purchase
30-day trial
Where it costs you
It needs macOS 15.6 or later, so it cannot serve Windows or Linux colleagues.
Staying current after the first year means a yearly subscription, or going without updates.
Right for
Solo Mac developers who want a native editor bought outright
Wrong for
Cross-platform teams or anyone running an older macOS release
Not stated by the vendorPublished one-time price including a year of updates, optional cancellable yearly subscription afterwards; 30-day trial
Long-running paid editor with a thirty-day evaluation period
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best Code Editors in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Bare Bones Software lists BBEdit 16 on its store page at an Individual price excluding tax, with separate upgrade prices for owners of 15.x and of 14.x or earlier.
The product page offers a 30-day evaluation, and the company's copyright runs from 1992 to 2026, which marks a long-lived vendor rather than a newcomer. No country is given, and the licence model stays unconfirmed on the pages read.
What stands out
Per-version upgrades
30-day evaluation
Since 1992
Where it costs you
The pages read do not confirm whether a licence is perpetual or tied to a version.
Upgrade prices differ by the version you own, so budgeting across a mixed team needs a spreadsheet.
Right for
Buyers who prefer paying per version and testing for thirty days first
Wrong for
Teams that need confirmed licence terms before starting any evaluation
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-version price with cheaper upgrades for earlier owners; 30-day evaluation
Terminal editor whose engine also drives several separate graphical front ends
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Code Editors in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The homepage points installers to documentation, a store at store.neovim.io and a plugin directory at neovimcraft.com. It also lists graphical front ends, among them Firenvim, vscode-neovim, Neovide and Goneovim, which start Neovim through nvim --embed.
Contact runs through GitHub Discussions and Matrix or IRC, and a sponsorship programme says that 100% goes to developers. Nothing on the page gives a price, licence, country or maintainer names.
What stands out
GitHub project
Embeddable front ends
Plugin directory
Where it costs you
No licence or price appears on the homepage, so legal review must go to the repository.
No maintainers are named, which leaves community channels as the only point of contact.
Right for
Developers who build their own setup and want one engine behind several front ends
Wrong for
Organisations that require a named vendor with contractual support
Not stated by the vendorNo price or licence stated on the homepage; sponsorship programme
Editor developed on GitHub and supported through OpenCollective sponsorship
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Code Editors in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Helix gives a buyer little to weigh on its homepage. There is an install link to the docs, repeated as a Download item in the navigation bar, plus a link to the GitHub project and a Matrix community.
No maintainers are named and no country appears. Development is funded by a request to sponsor it on OpenCollective. A team adopting Helix therefore does its own diligence on licence and continuity from the repository instead of from a vendor page.
What stands out
GitHub project
Matrix community
Sponsor-funded
Where it costs you
The homepage does not say whether Helix is free or which licence covers it.
Support is a sponsorship request on OpenCollective, not a service with terms.
Right for
Individuals comfortable reading a GitHub repository to answer licence questions
Wrong for
Companies needing named maintainers or vendor-backed support commitments
Not stated by the vendorNo price or licence stated on the homepage; sponsorship via OpenCollective
GPL v2 editor for Linux, Windows and macOS from credited contributors
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Code Editors in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The homepage states that Geany is Free Software under the GPL v2, gives no price and links to a donation page. It runs on Linux, Windows and macOS. The credited party is 'The Geany contributors', and no individual maintainers are named.
The January 2025 news item looking for a new Windows maintainer shows that platform coverage depends on who steps forward. For a buyer, that means a clear licence but no vendor relationship to lean on.
What stands out
GPL v2
Three desktop systems
Contributor-run
Where it costs you
A news item from January 2025 asked for a new maintainer for the Windows builds.
Only 'The Geany contributors' are credited, so no single organisation answers for the product.
Right for
Linux-first users wanting a GPL-licensed editor across three desktop systems
Wrong for
Anyone who needs a company to sign a support agreement
Not stated by the vendorFree software under the GPL v2; donation page linked, no price stated
Cross-platform editor in Object Pascal from a named copyright holder
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Code Editors in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
CudaText states that it can be used free of charge, even for business, and describes itself as an open source, cross-platform text editor written in Object Pascal. The copyright holder is Alexey Yu. Torgashin, and the page links to the GitHub repository.
Because the licence is not named and the only operating system mentioned is Linux, in a benchmark, the commercial-use statement is the author's own wording, and the licence file in the repository should be read before any rollout.
What stands out
Object Pascal
Open source project
Business use stated
Where it costs you
The page does not name a licence, only that the project is open source.
No full list of supported platforms is given; only Linux appears, in a benchmark.
Right for
Developers wanting a no-cost editor written in Object Pascal for commercial work
Wrong for
Teams needing a documented platform list and a stated licence
Not stated by the vendorFree of charge, stated to include business use
Open source editor at version 0.4.2 with installers per platform
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Code Editors in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
The download section covers a Linux tar.gz for x86-64 and ARM64, a Windows MSI installer and portable zip for x86-64, and a universal macOS DMG. Source sits on GitHub in the lapce organisation, alongside lapdev and floem repositories.
The page calls Lapce open source without naming a licence, and the Lapdev Platform pricing link leads to a page where no prices were shown. Windows on ARM is not among the listed downloads.
What stands out
Open source
Version 0.4.2
Native installers
Where it costs you
Version 0.4.2 is the number on the page, which signals software still changing.
A Lapdev Platform pricing page is linked but shows no prices, so costs beyond the editor are unclear.
Right for
Early adopters who want an open source editor with ready installers
Wrong for
Teams that need a stable, documented licence and pricing position
Not stated by the vendorNo price on the page; described as open source, licence not named
MIT-licensed community builds of VS Code with telemetry disabled
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Code Editors in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The site describes free, libre binaries of VS Code under the MIT licence, built by the community with telemetry disabled; the build scripts clone the Microsoft vscode repository.
Installation options are broad: Homebrew on macOS, WinGet, Chocolatey and Scoop on Windows, Snap, Flatpak and deb or rpm repositories on Linux, plus GitHub releases. No price is charged, and no country or company is named, so accountability rests with the community project.
What stands out
MIT licence
Telemetry disabled
Many package managers
Where it costs you
It rebuilds Microsoft's repository, so its direction depends on an upstream it does not control.
The site names no company or country and shows no paid support route.
Right for
Developers wanting the VS Code codebase under MIT with telemetry switched off
Wrong for
Organisations that want an accountable vendor for support and warranty
Not stated by the vendorFree and open source binaries under the MIT licence; no price
Community fork of the discontinued Atom editor, funded by sponsors
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Code Editors in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Pulsar presents itself as a community-led, hyper-hackable text editor and a fork of Atom. The homepage offers Download and Donate buttons and shows no price. It works on macOS, Windows and Linux, with source at github.com/pulsar-edit.
Sponsors include tuta.com among other organisations. No individual maintainers are named and no licence appears on the page, so the donation model and community structure are the main signals of how the project is kept going.
What stands out
Atom fork
Donation-funded
Hackable
Where it costs you
The page does not state a licence, which a procurement check would flag.
It forks Atom, which is discontinued, so progress rests on its contributors alone.
Right for
Atom users who want to stay on a familiar, hackable editor
Wrong for
Buyers who need a named licence and an identifiable maintainer
Not stated by the vendorFree to download, donations and organisation sponsorship; no licence stated
Editor listing builds beyond Linux, Windows and macOS, including WebAssembly
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Code Editors in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Beyond Linux, Windows and macOS, the homepage lists FreeBSD, Android, AmigaOS, MorphOS and the web through WebAssembly. It links to downloads and to GitHub, and its About section points to a contributors page.
What it leaves out is the commercial side: no licence, no cost and no maintainers are stated on the homepage. A buyer gets a platform list that is easy to verify and a licence that is not.
What stands out
Wide platform list
GitHub source
Contributors page
Where it costs you
Licence, cost and maintainers are all missing from the homepage.
Only a link to a contributors page indicates who builds it.
Right for
Developers who need one editor across mainstream and unusual platforms
Wrong for
Companies that must record a licence and cost before approval
Not stated by the vendorLicence and cost not stated on the homepage
Foundation-run IDE released under the Eclipse Public License 2.0
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Code Editors in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Eclipse IDE is free and open source under the Eclipse Public License 2.0, with no price shown. The Eclipse IDE Working Group runs it and the footer credits Eclipse Foundation AISBL.
The homepage offers a download button for the 2026-09 release, an Other Releases page and links to getting started and documentation at help.eclipse.org. Missing from the homepage are operating system support and installation steps, which sit in the documentation.
What stands out
EPL 2.0
Working group
Open source IDE
Where it costs you
The homepage lists no supported operating systems or install steps.
A working group under a foundation runs it, so there is no single vendor to hold accountable.
Right for
Organisations that want an IDE under the Eclipse Public License 2.0
Wrong for
Anyone who only needs a quick editor for small text changes
Not stated by the vendorFree and open source under the Eclipse Public License 2.0; no price shown
IDE under the Apache License 2.0, backed by the Apache Software Foundation
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Code Editors in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Apache NetBeans is licensed under the Apache License 2.0 and the Apache Software Foundation stands behind it, with copyright shown as 2017 to 2026. Release 31 is the latest, and the download menu lists Releases, Plugins, Building from source and Previous releases.
It installs on every operating system that supports Java, naming Windows, Linux, Mac OS X and BSD. The page does not state a price and does not say whether it is free beyond the licence.
What stands out
Apache License 2.0
Runs wherever Java does
Foundation-backed
Where it costs you
Installation is described for systems that support Java, so a Java runtime is part of the setup.
The page gives no price statement beyond the licence, leaving cost implicit.
Right for
Java-oriented teams wanting an Apache-licensed IDE on any desktop system
Wrong for
People who want a lightweight tool for opening single files
Not stated by the vendorApache License 2.0; the page mentions no price
Microsoft-distributed editor with MIT source and separate download terms
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Code Editors in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
VS Code is a free download, and the homepage says it is open source. Two licences apply: the source code is MIT, while the download is covered by Microsoft Software License Terms.
Those terms state that usage data is collected unless turned off, that automatic updates can be disabled using documented instructions, that software is licensed not sold, and that liability for direct damages is capped at US$5.00. Extensions have their own licences.
What stands out
MIT source
Microsoft licence terms
Extension Marketplace
Where it costs you
The downloaded binary falls under Microsoft licence terms that collect usage data unless switched off.
Liability for direct damages is capped at US$5.00 and no express warranty is given.
Right for
Developers who accept Microsoft's licence terms for a cost-free download
Wrong for
Organisations that want the binary free of Microsoft licence conditions
Not stated by the vendorFree to download; source under MIT, binary under Microsoft licence terms
A code editor is a program for writing and changing source code in text files, adding syntax colouring, search and plugins while staying lighter than a full IDE. Feature lists look alike, so we would settle these points one at a time instead.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Only 9 of the 14 print a price; 5 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Sublime Text, Nova, BBEdit, Geany, CudaText, VSCodium, Pulsar, Eclipse IDE, Visual Studio Code.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
The 14 companies behind this list are established in 2 countries, by region Elsewhere 13, Asia-Pacific 1. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Open source here means CudaText, Lapce, VSCodium, Eclipse IDE. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
Code editors: read the licence on the download, not on the repository
A code editor can have open source in its repository and different terms on the file you install. Visual Studio Code is the clearest case: the source is MIT, yet the download is covered by Microsoft Software License Terms that collect usage data unless turned off. VSCodium rebuilds the same source under MIT with telemetry disabled.
Geany states the GPL v2 on its homepage, and Eclipse IDE states the Eclipse Public License 2.0. Others are quieter: Helix, Pulsar and Lite XL name no licence on the pages we read. Treat a missing licence as an open question for legal review, because a GitHub link is not a licence statement, and note that extensions carry licences of their own.
Does the licence on the installer match the licence on the source?
Is usage data collected by default, and can it be turned off?
Do extensions you rely on carry separate licence terms?
Paid code editors: one-time price, per-version upgrade or seat subscription
Three paid editors in this ranking charge in three different ways. Sublime Text sells a personal licence once with three years of updates, and charges businesses per seat each year at a falling rate. Nova is a one-time purchase with a year of updates, then an optional yearly subscription.
BBEdit prices version 16 on the store page and offers cheaper upgrades to owners of 15.x or older versions. The difference shows up in year two, when a team of ten on Sublime Text is renewing seats while a Nova owner is deciding whether to renew at all. Ask each vendor what happens to a copy you keep after the update window ends.
What does year two cost for the number of developers you have?
What happens to the version you keep once updates stop?
Is the evaluation period long enough to test a real project?
Platform reach: macOS-only, three desktops, or anything with Java
Platform lists decide the shortlist faster than features do. Nova needs macOS 15.6 or later, so it fits only a Mac-only team. Lapce publishes Linux, Windows and macOS downloads, with Windows given for x86-64 only. Lite XL stretches to FreeBSD, Android and WebAssembly, while Apache NetBeans runs wherever Java does.
Eclipse IDE shows no operating system support on its homepage at all, which means the answer sits in its documentation. Neovim adds a different angle: front ends such as Neovide and vscode-neovim run it through nvim --embed, so one engine can sit behind graphical shells. Confirm the exact operating system, chip architecture and version for every developer machine before trial.
Does every developer machine appear on the vendor's platform list?
Is your chip architecture listed, not just the operating system?
Does a runtime such as Java have to be installed first?
Who stands behind the editor: companies, foundations and contributors
Behind each editor sits a different kind of party, and it changes your risk. Sublime HQ Pty Ltd and Bare Bones Software are companies with store pages. Eclipse IDE is run by a working group with Eclipse Foundation AISBL credited, and Apache NetBeans by the Apache Software Foundation. Geany credits only 'The Geany contributors', and its January 2025 notice seeking a Windows maintainer shows how thin cover can be.
Pulsar is a fork of the discontinued Atom, and VSCodium depends on Microsoft's repository. Neither Helix nor Neovim names maintainers on its homepage. Decide whether your organisation can accept community support, because for several editors here sponsorship and chat are the only contact route.
Is there a named company or foundation you could contact?
Who maintains the build for your operating system?
Does the editor depend on an upstream it does not control?
What goes wrong most often when buying code editors software
Choosing Visual Studio Code or VSCodium by name alone, when the first ships under Microsoft Software License Terms and the second under MIT with telemetry disabled.
Counting the Sublime Text personal price for a whole team, when business use is billed per seat each year.
Buying Nova for a team before checking that every machine can run macOS 15.6 or later.
Assuming that an editor with a GitHub repository, such as Helix or Lapce, has stated licence terms you can show to procurement.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best code editors in 2026?
Our ranking of 14 puts Sublime Text first. Sublime Text is sold by Sublime HQ Pty Ltd of Sydney, straight from its own store. Personal buyers pay once and receive three years of updates; businesses pay per seat each year, at a rate that steps down past 10, 25 and 50 seats.
The evaluation download has no stated length, and once the update window closes a personal buyer stays on the version they hold.
Which code editors tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 9 products on this page:
Sublime Text: Published store prices: one-time personal licence with three years of updates, annual per-seat business subscription.
Nova: Published one-time price including a year of updates, optional cancellable yearly subscription afterwards; 30-day trial.
BBEdit: Published per-version price with cheaper upgrades for earlier owners; 30-day evaluation.
Geany: Free software under the GPL v2; donation page linked, no price stated.
CudaText: Free of charge, stated to include business use.
VSCodium: Free and open source binaries under the MIT licence; no price.
Pulsar: Free to download, donations and organisation sponsorship; no licence stated.
Eclipse IDE: Free and open source under the Eclipse Public License 2.0; no price shown.
Visual Studio Code: Free to download; source under MIT, binary under Microsoft licence terms.
The other 5 quote per organisation.
Is there a free code editors tool?
Geany, CudaText, VSCodium, Pulsar, Eclipse IDE, Visual Studio Code offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these code editors vendors established?
In 2 countries across 2 regions: Elsewhere 13, Asia-Pacific 1.
Sublime Text: Australia.
Nova: Not stated by the vendor.
BBEdit: Not stated by the vendor.
Neovim: Not stated by the vendor.
Helix: Not stated by the vendor.
Geany: Not stated by the vendor.
CudaText: Not stated by the vendor.
Lapce: Not stated by the vendor.
VSCodium: Not stated by the vendor.
Pulsar: Not stated by the vendor.
Lite XL: Not stated by the vendor.
Eclipse IDE: Not stated by the vendor.
Apache NetBeans: Not stated by the vendor.
Visual Studio Code: Not stated by the vendor.
Which code editors tools are open source?
CudaText, Lapce, VSCodium, Eclipse IDE.
What should you use instead of Sublime Text?
Look at Nova (made for Solo Mac developers who want a native editor bought outright) and BBEdit (made for Buyers who prefer paying per version and testing for thirty days first), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Sublime Text?
Large teams that need one flat price and written support terms. Business seats are billed every year, so cost grows with headcount and renews indefinitely..
This list covers 14 code editors products. A product we left out can be put to us by its maker, with a short note on its purpose and its customers; we decide on inclusion ourselves. The rules are under software advice.