This guide covers programs that record, cut, clean and export audio, from single-file waveform editors to multitrack workstations and transcript-driven tools.
We put smaller independent vendors first, then weigh the time to a working first project, what licences or plans really cost once you need repair or batch features, whether files leave in open formats, and which kind of work each tool serves.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What audio editing software does
Audio editing software lets you record, trim, join, filter and repair sound files on a computer, tablet or browser, then export the result in formats such as WAV or MP3 for podcasts, music, video or archives.
Ranking criteria for this audio editing tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Audio editor for Mac, Windows, iPhone, iPad and the browser
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Audio Editing Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
TwistedWave offers a free 30-day desktop trial and links a 90-day money-back guarantee, a longer safety net than most rivals here. Its edit-by-reading feature uses speech recognition, and video follows audio edits, which suits spoken-word cleanup.
Batch processing covers effects, fades and conversions across folder hierarchies. Time-stretch and pitch-shift use ZTX. The homepage lists no prices, so the real cost of the desktop and browser versions has to be confirmed at the order page.
What stands out
Browser editor
Edit by transcript
Folder batch jobs
Where it costs you
The homepage shows no price or plan list, so cost can only be judged on the order page.
The vendor gives no country or company details on the homepage.
Right for
Editors who switch between Mac, Windows, iPad and a browser tab
Wrong for
Buyers who want published prices before downloading
Not stated by the vendor30-day desktop trial; 90-day money-back guarantee linked; order page holds the figures
Windows editor for recording, restoring, converting and analysing audio
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Audio Editing Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
GoldWave's homepage shows a buy button with one price and offers a fully functional evaluation download, so you can test before paying. It is built for Windows, currently v7.09, with interface languages in English, German, Spanish and French.
Full keyboard accessibility and foot pedal support make it practical for transcription-style work. The copyright line names GoldWave Inc., but the page gives no street address, country or licence terms.
What stands out
Windows
Foot pedal support
Four interface languages
Where it costs you
The page names GoldWave v7.09 for Windows only, so Mac users are left without a stated option.
No plan table or terms are shown beside the buy button, and no country is given.
Right for
Windows users wanting one low-priced editor with a try-first download
Wrong for
Mac users or teams that need a published plan table
Not stated by the vendorSingle price on a buy button; fully functional evaluation download
Open source editor for Windows, macOS and Linux, no cost
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Audio Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Audacity's site states it has always been and will always remain free for everyone, and that its source code stays open to view or modify. It runs on Windows, macOS and Linux and converts between WAV, MP3, FLAC and Ogg.
A Spectrogram view and Vamp analyzers help with diagnosis. Collaboration, versioned backups and sharing sit in the separate Audio.com companion, whose price the page does not give.
What stands out
Open source
Spectrogram view
VST3 and Nyquist plugins
Where it costs you
The page names no licence and no country, which weakens an audit of who stands behind it.
The Audio.com cloud companion is shown without a price.
Right for
Anyone who needs a capable editor at zero licence cost
Wrong for
Teams that need a named vendor with stated terms
Not stated by the vendorFree download; the vendor says it will always remain free
Multi-platform workstation with a published two-tier licence
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Audio Editing Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Reaper's purchase page sets a discounted licence at USD 60 for personal use, commercial use with gross revenue up to USD 20,000, and education or non-profit. The full commercial licence is USD 225.
Evaluation lasts 60 days with full functionality, and new licences get free upgrades through version 8.99. Cockos Incorporated is named as payee with a PO box in Rosendale, NY, though no country appears.
What stands out
Revenue-based licence
60-day evaluation
Free upgrades to 8.99
Where it costs you
The purchase page names no features, so capability has to be tested in the evaluation.
The page names no country, only a PO box in Rosendale, NY.
Right for
Freelancers and small studios wanting a long, fully working trial
Wrong for
Buyers who need a feature list before downloading
Not stated by the vendorTwo published licence prices split by revenue; 60-day evaluation
Danish audio editor for podcasts, radio and audiobook narration
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Audio Editing Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Hindenburg is run by Hindenburg Systems ApS in Copenhagen, Denmark, and organises its offer by audience: Personal, Business and Education.
Hindenburg PRO targets podcast and radio work, Narrator targets audio books with export to EPUB 3, DAISY and direct ACX delivery, and Field Recorder runs on iPhone. A trial is linked, but the page does not describe its terms or show a single price.
What stands out
Podcast and radio
Audiobook export
Editing by transcript
Where it costs you
The home page shows no prices and no description of the trial terms.
Three separate products mean the right one must be picked before buying.
Right for
Podcast, radio and audiobook producers wanting spoken-word tools
Wrong for
Music producers or anyone buying on a published price
DenmarkNo prices on the home page; trial linked; audiences split by personal, business, education
Open source multitrack audio and MIDI workstation on three platforms
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Audio Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Ardour's home page calls it a free and open-source digital audio workstation licensed under GPL v2, with no plans or prices shown.
It supports any number of audio and MIDI tracks and busses, plugins in AudioUnit, LV2, VST2, VST3 and LADSPA, MIDI timecode, LTC sync and Mackie Control surfaces. A video timeline with frame thumbnails locks audio regions to video frames. The vendor's country is not stated.
What stands out
GPL v2 licence
Audio and MIDI tracks
Video timeline
Where it costs you
It is a multitrack workstation, which is more than a quick trim or clean needs.
The home page names no company or country.
Right for
Engineers who want a full multitrack workstation with open source code
Wrong for
Anyone who only needs to trim or clean one file
Not stated by the vendorDescribed as free and open source; no plans or prices on the home page
Editor with a non-expiring free edition for non-commercial use
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Audio Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
WavePad's non-commercial edition does not expire, and a master's edition with extra effects is the upgrade path. Cut, trim, split, join, normalize, equalizer, reverb, spectral analysis, vocal isolation and a Noise Removal Wizard are named, along with batch processing and VST and DirectX plugins.
Platforms run from Windows 7 to 11 and macOS 10.5 or above to iPhone, iPad, Android and Kindle. Commercial buyers get a registration code by email.
What stands out
Non-commercial free edition
Noise Removal Wizard
Phones and tablets
Where it costs you
The free edition forbids commercial use, so paid client work needs a licence.
The page gives no prices and no street address for NCH Software.
Right for
Hobbyists and students wanting a lasting free editor on many devices
Wrong for
Freelancers charging clients on the free edition
Not stated by the vendorFree edition for non-commercial use; commercial use needs a licence bought online
Audio editor with real-time effect previews and a spectrogram
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Audio Editing Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Ocenaudio's tagline promises an easy, fast and powerful audio editor, and its features page backs this with real-time effect previews, multi-selection, efficient editing of large files and a spectrogram.
VST plugins are supported, and it is built on the Qt framework for Windows, Mac OS X and Linux. What is missing is business detail: no price, no licence and no developer location were found on the pages checked.
What stands out
Real-time preview
Large file editing
VST plugins
Where it costs you
No price, licence or developer location is stated, and the about page returned a 404.
Ownership cannot be checked from the pages reviewed.
Right for
Editors wanting quick previews while working on very large files
Wrong for
Buyers who must know the licence and vendor first
Not stated by the vendorNo price or licence stated on the site pages checked
Portable freeware editor with VST plugins and batch conversion
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Audio Editing Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Wavosaur says its program has no installer and does not touch the registry, so it can be carried and run as a plain download. Cut, copy and paste, multichannel WAV handling, VST plugins, ASIO drivers, real-time processing and batch conversion are listed, with 32-bit and 64-bit downloads.
The copyright line reads Wavosaur 2006-2026, but the supported systems named are Windows 98, XP and Vista, and no developer is given.
What stands out
Portable, no installer
ASIO and VST
Batch conversion
Where it costs you
The page lists Windows 98, XP and Vista, so current Windows support is unconfirmed.
Neither the developer nor a country is stated.
Right for
Windows users wanting a portable tool that runs from a folder
Wrong for
Anyone on a current OS who needs a vendor of record
Not stated by the vendorDescribed as freeware; no price on the page
Repair-focused audio editor sold in three listed editions
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Audio Editing Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The iZotope storefront lists RX 12 Elements at USD 99, Standard at USD 399 and Advanced at USD 1,399, so the jump between entry and top tier is large.
A Try it free link and a Subscription option sit in the navigation, with no trial length given. Articles on repairing a distorted track and removing clicks and pops show where the product is aimed. Platforms and location are not named.
What stands out
Three editions
Repair work
Trial linked
Where it costs you
The top edition costs USD 1,399, a large step above Elements.
Trial length, platforms and company location are not stated.
Right for
Restoration work on damaged or noisy recordings, with a clear edition ladder
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a general editor on a small budget
Not stated by the vendorEditions listed at set prices on the storefront; trial linked, subscription option in navigation
Metered media-hours plans from free tier to enterprise
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Audio Editing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Descript's pricing page runs from a free plan with 60 media minutes, 100 one-time AI credits and 5GB storage to Hobbyist at 10 media hours and Creator at 30 media hours with 4K export.
Business adds 40 media hours, 1,500 AI credits, Brand Studio, a support SLA and 2TB for a team of 5. Annual and monthly prices differ, and enterprise is custom.
What stands out
Media-hour limits
AI credits
Brand Studio on Business
Where it costs you
Free exports are 720p with a watermark.
Prices show a dollar sign with no currency code named.
Right for
Teams with a steady monthly volume of recorded media
Wrong for
Heavy producers who run past media-hour limits
Not stated by the vendorFree plan, then three paid plans per person per month; enterprise by sales contact
TechSmith's text-based audio editor that works alongside Camtasia
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Audio Editing Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
TechSmith describes Audiate as the generative AI and text-based editing arm of Camtasia, and the page says it needs Camtasia 2025.0.3 or newer.
Named features include AI voices, audio levelling, AI background noise removal, hesitation removal and transcription. Plans and prices are not on the page, which links out to a store, and no free plan, trial or supported OS is mentioned.
What stands out
Text-based editing
AI voices
Needs Camtasia
Where it costs you
It requires Camtasia 2025.0.3 or newer, so it is not a standalone purchase.
The page names no supported operating system, plan or trial.
Right for
Camtasia users who prefer to cut speech by editing text
Wrong for
Anyone wanting a standalone audio editor with no video suite
Not stated by the vendorPlans not stated on the page; links to a store and pricing page
Adobe's multitrack editor, sold on Creative Cloud plans
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Audio Editing Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Adobe's page lists the Individual plan at EUR 25.99 a month, Creative Cloud Pro at EUR 77.99 regular price with 20 or more apps and Firefly, and a student and teacher price of EUR 19.34.
Business is EUR 86.55 a month per licence excluding VAT. Named features include multitrack and spectral display, Essential Sound, Remix, noise reduction and podcast export. A trial is linked, but its length is not stated.
What stands out
Creative Cloud
Spectral display
Premiere integration
Where it costs you
Only subscriptions are listed, billed monthly on an annual plan.
The full bundle is EUR 77.99 a month at the regular price.
Right for
Video teams already inside Creative Cloud and Premiere
Wrong for
Small buyers wanting a single, one-off licence
Not stated by the vendorMonthly plans published in euros incl. VAT; annual plan billed monthly; trial linked
Audio editing software lets you record, trim, join, filter and repair sound files on a computer, tablet or browser, then export the result in formats such as WAV or MP3 for podcasts, music, video or archives. Work through these questions in order; they separate the products better than a feature matrix does.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
Prices are public at 7 products (Audacity, Reaper, Ardour, WavePad, Wavosaur, Descript, Adobe Audition) and on request at the remaining 6, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 13 vendors are established in 2 countries across 2 regions (Elsewhere 12, Europe 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Check the open source options
Source code is available for Audacity, Ardour. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
Audio editing software: one-file editors against multitrack workstations
The first split in this market is how many tracks you actually need. Audacity, Wavosaur and GoldWave work as editors for single recordings, with cut, copy, paste and effects on a waveform. Ardour offers any number of audio and MIDI tracks and busses, and carries a video timeline whose regions lock to video frames.
TwistedWave keeps multichannel editing up to 32-bit and 192 kHz inside a simpler editor. A podcaster trimming interviews does not need a workstation, while someone scoring a film does. Decide whether your work is repair and cleanup of one file or layering many sources, then shortlist only the group that matches. Trying the wrong group costs weeks of learning for features you will never use.
Count how many simultaneous tracks your typical job uses
Decide if you cut one file or layer several sources
Check that the tool opens the formats your clients send
Audio editing software prices: free, licence or subscription
Pricing models here run from nothing to monthly rent. Audacity states it will always remain free, and WavePad keeps a non-expiring edition for non-commercial use only. Reaper sells a discounted licence for USD 60 under a revenue ceiling and a commercial one for USD 225, with 60 days to evaluate. GoldWave shows a single buy button after a working evaluation download.
iZotope RX lists three editions from USD 99 to USD 1,399. Adobe Audition and Descript charge by plan each month, and Hindenburg and TwistedWave show no prices on their home pages. Compare what you pay in year one against year three, since a subscription keeps billing after a licence would have finished.
Compare total cost over three years, not the first month
Confirm whether your revenue changes which licence you may use
Find out if upgrades are included or billed again
Cleanup and restoration: where Audition, iZotope RX and WavePad differ
Buyers often say editing when they mean repair, and the vendors split along that line. Adobe Audition names noise reduction and the Essential Sound panel, and WavePad lists a Noise Removal Wizard and vocal isolation. iZotope RX publishes articles on repairing a distorted track and removing clicks and pops, and its editions climb steeply in price.
Audiate names AI background noise removal and hesitation removal, but only inside the Camtasia family. Ocenaudio and Audacity both offer a spectrogram view, which lets you see a hum or click before removing it. Test each candidate on your worst recording, not on a demo file, because a clean sample hides what a damaged one exposes.
Run your noisiest real recording through each trial
Look at a spectrogram before choosing a repair tool
Check which edition actually contains the repair modules you need
Editing speech by text: Descript, Audiate, Hindenburg and TwistedWave
Spoken-word work has shifted toward editing the transcript rather than the waveform. Audiate lists text-based editing, hesitation removal and transcription, and Hindenburg lists editing by transcript for podcast and radio. TwistedWave offers edit by reading the words through speech recognition, with video following the audio edits.
Descript is built around media time instead: its free plan gives 60 media minutes a month and Business gives 40 media hours, so heavy producers must watch the meter. Audiate needs Camtasia 2025.0.3 or newer, which changes the price of entry. If you cut interviews daily, measure how many hours you really record before choosing a plan with a media limit.
Add up your monthly recorded hours before choosing a metered plan
Check whether the tool needs another product to run
Test transcript editing on speakers with accents or noise
What goes wrong most often when buying audio editing software
Reading Wavosaur's page as proof it runs on current Windows, when it names only Windows 98, XP and Vista.
Doing client work on WavePad's free edition, which the vendor limits to non-commercial use.
Assuming Reaper's discounted USD 60 licence applies to everyone, when it depends on revenue up to USD 20,000 or on education and non-profit use.
Buying Audiate as a standalone editor, although the page says it requires Camtasia 2025.0.3 or newer.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best audio editing software in 2026?
TwistedWave takes first place among the 13 we reviewed. TwistedWave runs on Mac, Windows 10 and 11, iPhone and iPad, and has a browser version that needs no install, which few editors here match.
It handles up to 32-bit and 192 kHz multichannel files and can batch effects across folders. The homepage shows no prices, so the cost is only visible at the order page, and the vendor names no country.
Which audio editing tools publish their pricing?
7 out of 13 state a price model on their own site:
Audacity: Free download; the vendor says it will always remain free.
Reaper: Two published licence prices split by revenue; 60-day evaluation.
Ardour: Described as free and open source; no plans or prices on the home page.
WavePad: Free edition for non-commercial use; commercial use needs a licence bought online.
Wavosaur: Described as freeware; no price on the page.
Descript: Free plan, then three paid plans per person per month; enterprise by sales contact.
Adobe Audition: Monthly plans published in euros incl. VAT; annual plan billed monthly; trial linked.
6 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free audio editing tool?
Audacity, Ardour, WavePad, Descript can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these audio editing software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 2 countries and 2 regions, Elsewhere 12, Europe 1:
TwistedWave: Not stated by the vendor.
GoldWave: Not stated by the vendor.
Audacity: Not stated by the vendor.
Reaper: Not stated by the vendor.
Hindenburg: Denmark.
Ardour: Not stated by the vendor.
WavePad: Not stated by the vendor.
Ocenaudio: Not stated by the vendor.
Wavosaur: Not stated by the vendor.
iZotope RX: Not stated by the vendor.
Descript: Not stated by the vendor.
Audiate: Not stated by the vendor.
Adobe Audition: Not stated by the vendor.
Which audio editing tools are open source?
Audacity, Ardour.
What should you use instead of TwistedWave?
Look at GoldWave (made for Windows users wanting one low-priced editor with a try-first download) and Audacity (made for anyone who needs a capable editor at zero licence cost), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy TwistedWave?
Buyers who want published prices before downloading. The homepage shows no price or plan list, so cost can only be judged on the order page..
Your audio editing software product is not among these 13? Tell us what it is for and who it serves, and we will consider it. The decision is editorial, and the ground rules are set out under software advice.