Qualitative analysis software splits into academic coding suites sold by licence and newer research repositories sold by seat.
This guide ranks fourteen of them on what the first ninety days cost in set-up time, what a team pays once transcription and collaboration arrive, whether codebooks and quotes can leave, and how many vendors state any price at all.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What qualitative data analysis software does
Qualitative data analysis software lets researchers import interviews, documents and recordings, attach codes to passages, retrieve everything filed under a code, and export codes and quotes.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the qualitative data analysis tool was built for. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
AI Cloud subscription and separate Desktop licence; amounts not shown on the product page
—
Individual researchers who want AI-assisted coding with citations and regional hosting
Teams that need shared project editing before 2027
The country column shows the vendor's headquarters or contracting entity. Data hosting is a separate matter, and an entry flags it when the two diverge.
Cloud subscription or one-off offline licence from an Edinburgh company
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Qualitative Data Analysis Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The front page prices a cloud plan with a three-month minimum and a lifetime offline licence for Quirkos 3 on one or two computers, which gives a buyer a clear exit: keep the offline copy and never log in again.
Cloud adds unlimited storage, the web app and live collaboration. The pages say little about reliability testing or statistics, and discounted rates for institutions are not itemised. Registered in Scotland.
What stands out
Offline licence
Cloud collaboration
Edinburgh company
Where it costs you
Offline projects are shared by sending files back and forth, so two people cannot code at once.
Student, academic, public sector and group rates are mentioned without amounts, so a team budget needs a conversation.
Right for
A lone researcher or small team wanting a cheap licence they can keep
Wrong for
Teams needing statistics, GIS or vendor-run enterprise controls
United KingdomCloud subscription with a 3-month minimum, or one-off offline licence, published; 14-day trial
Per-user pricing charged only for the months you log in
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Qualitative Data Analysis Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The cheapest paths are the monthly plans: a student rate, an individual rate and two group rates by team size, all charged only in months with a login. An individual account starts with a month at no cost.
Anyone can collaborate with any other Dedoose user without an extra fee, and the page names no cap. The publisher is Sociocultural Research Consultants, LLC; its country is not shown, and the larger annual plans are unpriced.
What stands out
Active-month billing
Group pricing
Annual enterprise
Where it costs you
Premier and Enterprise carry no published price, so a department budget starts with a sales exchange.
Billing is per user, so a six-person team moves into a different rate tier.
Right for
Fieldwork projects that go quiet for months between analysis bursts
Wrong for
Buyers wanting one flat fee or an installed offline copy
Not stated by the vendorPer user per active month, published; annual Premier and Enterprise plans unpriced; 30-day trial
Installation is a Windows EXE, a macOS DMG, or pip on Linux, opening at localhost:7465, and the same code can sit on a server for a group.
Exports cover the whole project, the codebook, all quotes, the quotes for one tag and highlighted documents, which makes leaving easy. Funding comes through donations on Open Collective. The trade is breadth: tagging is the feature set, and nobody is named as accountable.
What stands out
Open source
Self-hostable
BSD licence
Where it costs you
The pages read list import, highlighting, tagging and export only, so analysis beyond retrieval happens elsewhere.
No maintainer organisation or country is stated, so there is no named vendor to hold to a support promise.
Right for
Students and small projects wanting highlight-and-tag work at zero licence cost
Wrong for
Funded teams needing statistics, double-coding or a contracted supplier
Not stated by the vendorFree and open source (BSD licence); donations invited
Month-to-month coding with double-coding and side-by-side team comparison
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Qualitative Data Analysis Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The homepage describes the product as AI-assisted qualitative analysis that feels natural rather than clunky, a claim you can only test in the trial. Concrete features are code nesting and merging, transcript assignment and double-coding with side-by-side views of two coders.
A month-to-month term lets a short project end cleanly. Missing from the page: prices, seat or storage caps and any legal entity, so ask for those in writing.
What stands out
Month-to-month
Double coding
AI-assisted coding
Where it costs you
No plan amounts or usage limits are shown on the homepage, so cost per project is unknown until sign-up.
Nobody is named as the company and no country is given, so procurement checks go by email.
Right for
Teams wanting coder-versus-coder comparison on a rolling monthly contract term
Wrong for
Buyers who must see prices and limits before talking to anyone
Not stated by the vendorMonth-to-month subscription; 14-day trial; plan amounts not shown on the homepage
Mixed-methods coding with statistics and GIS mapping built in
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Qualitative Data Analysis Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The product page lists imports from Word, Excel, PDF, audio and video, more than seven text-search tools for coding, time tagging and a command log that records analysis steps.
Inter-rater agreement and GIS mapping are included. The Lite Version is freeware, which lets a student test the workflow before paying. What cannot be checked: licence structure, price and where the company is based.
What stands out
Mixed methods
Statistics tools
Freeware Lite
Where it costs you
Licence types and amounts are absent from the order page, so the real price is unknown before contact.
The product page is silent on cloud collaboration, so a distributed team must ask how projects are shared.
Right for
Mixed-methods researchers who want statistics and GIS beside their coding
Wrong for
Teams that want a visible price list and web-based collaboration
Not stated by the vendorLicence; order page lists no amounts; 14-day trial
Subscription licences by customer type with AI and transcription add-ons
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Qualitative Data Analysis Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Terms run six or twelve months, plus annual, three-year and five-year tabs, and a Free Course Licence is linked for academia. Network licences start at five seats.
Transcription comes in packs of 2, 5, 10 and 20 hours across over 50 languages, with 60 free minutes unless already used. The AI Assist Free tier covers occasional single prompts only. The pages name VERBI GmbH as distributor but no country.
What stands out
Subscription
Transcription packs
TeamCloud add-on
Where it costs you
Over 20 licences needs a custom quote, so a large department cannot read its price from the page.
AI Assist capacity is limited, and the provider may throttle unusually high or automated use.
Right for
University departments and agencies that need a licence matched to their customer type
Wrong for
Anyone who wants a price visible on the page before checkout
Not stated by the vendorSubscription by customer type; amounts appear only in the purchase flow
One flat licence fee across desktop and web versions
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Qualitative Data Analysis Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The licence is described as access to all features on all platforms for one flat fee, and the page states free support, 24/5. The vendor claims its AI tools cut analysis time by more than 90 per cent; that is a marketing figure, not a measured limit.
Because multi-user licences carry no restriction on seats or machines, the organisation controls who uses them. Pricing, trial terms and country remain unstated.
What stands out
Windows, Mac and web
Multi-user licences
24/5 support
Where it costs you
No amounts are shown on the page, so multi-user cost is learned at checkout.
The trial's length and terms are not stated, so you cannot plan a pilot around it.
Right for
Mixed teams on Windows, Mac and browsers who share a single licence
Wrong for
Buyers needing visible prices and a documented trial length
Not stated by the vendorFlat licence fee for all platforms; amounts not shown on the page; trial offered
Research tool for design and product groups with a month-long trial
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Qualitative Data Analysis Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The homepage offers a trial of 30 days, all features, no credit card. That makes it one of the easier platforms to evaluate on real interviews. Beyond that the page offers a positioning line and a pricing link, with no plan list.
The footer shows the name Aurelius and a 2026 copyright, with no country; the older getaurelius.com domain is parked for sale and is not the product, so check the address.
What stands out
Design teams
Product teams
30-day trial
Where it costs you
No plans or amounts are listed on its pricing page in the content read, so price stays hidden until sign-up.
Nothing read mentions inter-coder agreement or statistics, so thesis-style coding work looks unsupported.
Right for
Product teams that want to test a research platform for a full month
Wrong for
Academic coders needing reliability checks and statistical output
Not stated by the vendorPlans not listed on the pages read; 30-day trial, no card
UX research repository with analysis, AI and stakeholder sharing
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Qualitative Data Analysis Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Four areas are named: Analysis, Condens AI, Research Repository and Stakeholder Experience. Sharing reaches Slack, Teams and AI assistants such as Claude and ChatGPT. Compliance claims include automated data retention and anonymisation.
A 15-day trial and a demo are on offer. None of this tells you what a team pays, and the country of establishment is missing from the page, which matters if procurement asks for it.
What stands out
UX repository
15-day trial
Redaction
Where it costs you
The pricing page names no plans, limits or billing terms, so a quote is the only way to learn cost.
The pages read focus on UX repositories; academic coding features are not described.
Right for
UX teams that want findings shared with stakeholders inside Slack and Teams
Wrong for
Researchers who need a published price and academic coding tools
Not stated by the vendorPlans not listed on the pricing page; 15-day trial
Interview analysis metered by editors and transcription hours
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Qualitative Data Analysis Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Viewers are unlimited and view-only collaborators cost nothing, so stakeholders can read without a seat. Annual billing gives one month free. SSO, PII redaction, automated deletion, 96-language translation and API access sit on Enterprise.
Prices are in USD, with local-currency payment offered at upgrade, and monthly plans cancel anytime. Hitting the transcription ceiling is the likely friction, and the contradictory editor count is the thing to resolve in writing.
What stands out
Transcription hours
Editor limits
Auto-Analysis runs
Where it costs you
The pricing page gives two different Pro editor counts, so confirm the contract wording.
Hours and uploads are capped per month, and annual billing converts them into a yearly pool.
Right for
Small research teams with steady interview volume that fits a monthly allowance
Wrong for
Teams with irregular, heavy interview loads or many editors
Not stated by the vendorMonthly or yearly per plan, published; Enterprise on contact; 15-day trial
Video-first analysis priced per editor with pooled transcription hours
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Qualitative Data Analysis Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Personal limits files to 4GB and exports to 720p; Professional allows 75GB files, 2K exports and multicam or timeline view; Enterprise adds 4K. Annual billing is stated to save 20 per cent, and non-profit and academic discounts are available by email.
A 14-day trial includes 5 hours of AI transcription. Seat-based Enterprise pricing is published as a starting rate, with utilisation-based models via sales. The vendor country is not given.
What stands out
Per-editor pricing
Pooled transcription
Video exports
Where it costs you
Transcription past the pooled quota is charged per minute, so heavy interview months raise the bill.
SSO and SOC 2 Type II are Enterprise-only, which blocks security reviews on lower tiers.
Right for
Teams whose evidence is video clips shared with many non-paying commenters
Wrong for
Security-led buyers on a lower plan, or text-only coding projects
Not stated by the vendorPer editor per month, published; annual billing discount; 14-day trial
Customer research repository with a free plan and sales-led paid tiers
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Qualitative Data Analysis Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The page frames Marvin as centralising customer knowledge, automating research and delivering insights. The free plan is the entry point; Pro is marked most popular.
The AI Research Suite covers live intercepts and AI-moderated interviews and is open to all paid plans. Enterprise brings a dedicated success manager. Missing from the page: prices, limits on the free plan and the country of the company behind it.
What stands out
Free plan
Add-on modules
Sales-led
Where it costs you
Paid plans show no price, currency or billing basis, so cost is unknown until a demo.
HIPAA, Salesforce and AI Research Suite are add-ons on lower plans, which raises the assembled price.
Right for
Customer-insight teams wanting to trial a repository before any sales call
Wrong for
Buyers needing quotable prices or built-in HIPAA at the entry tier
Not stated by the vendorFree plan, no card; paid tiers by demo or sales contact
Research workspace whose no-cost plan is limited to one project
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Qualitative Data Analysis Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Enterprise lists unlimited agents, channels, projects, docs and dashboards, plus SSO, access control, audit logs and priority support. Taxes such as GST, VAT or US sales tax may be added to the USD price.
A start-trial option exists without a stated length. The product is geared to research teams feeding product decisions, not to formal qualitative method, and the country behind the Pty. Ltd. is not given.
What stands out
Free plan
Enterprise invoicing
AI summaries
Where it costs you
The no-cost plan allows one project, so any ongoing programme outgrows it quickly.
Enterprise is custom-priced and invoiced, and mid-tier terms are outside what the page read here covers.
Right for
Product researchers who want to try a repository on one project first
Wrong for
Academic coders wanting codebooks, reliability checks and a one-off licence
Not stated by the vendorFree plan; Enterprise on custom pricing, invoiced net-30
Two products: web-based AI Cloud and installed NVivo Desktop
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Qualitative Data Analysis Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
AURA Chat offers click-through citations and can save answers as memos, and a Devil's Advocate mode surfaces disconfirming evidence. AI processing keeps no data after each task.
Hosting regions are Europe, the United States, Canada, Singapore and Australia. The page lists a Denver, Colorado address but states no country. Desktop and cloud are distinct purchases, so read which one a quote covers.
What stands out
AI Cloud
Desktop licence
Regional hosting
Where it costs you
Team access is stated as arriving in early 2027, so a group cannot buy the cloud product as intended today.
The product page shows no amounts and no trial for AI Cloud, only a link to general trials.
Right for
Individual researchers who want AI-assisted coding with citations and regional hosting
Wrong for
Teams that need shared project editing before 2027
Not stated by the vendorAI Cloud subscription and separate Desktop licence; amounts not shown on the product page
Qualitative data analysis software lets researchers import interviews, documents and recordings, attach codes to passages, retrieve everything filed under a code, and export codes and quotes. Compare on the following points, in this order, before you compare features.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
Only 7 of the 14 print a price; 7 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Quirkos, Dedoose, Taguette, Looppanel, Reduct, Marvin, Dovetail.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Look at the contracting entity: these 14 vendors sit in 2 countries, split by region as Elsewhere 13, Europe 1. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
03
Decide if open source matters
Open source here means Taguette. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
Choosing qualitative data analysis software: licence or repository
The market is two products wearing one label. ATLAS.ti, MAXQDA, NVivo, QDA Miner and Quirkos are coding tools: you build a codebook, tag passages and retrieve quotes. Dovetail, Condens, Aurelius, Marvin, Looppanel and Reduct are research repositories, built to store interviews and share findings with stakeholders. Choosing the wrong half is the commonest waste.
A thesis needs a codebook and an export; a product team needs clips, summaries and a Slack link. Delve and Dedoose are coding tools with team features, and Taguette covers highlighting, tagging and export only. Decide which job you have before reading a single price page, because a repository priced per editor and a coding suite priced per licence cannot be compared line by line, and the cheaper-looking one is often built for the other job entirely.
Name whether the output is a codebook or a stakeholder deck
Check the vendor's own pages for code retrieval, not only AI summaries
Ask whether the licence is held per person or per project
Ninety days in: the costs beyond the licence
Set-up time is mostly import and coding conventions, so a tool that lets you start immediately wins. Aurelius gives a 30-day trial with no card, Dedoose gives a month at no cost, Delve and Reduct give 14 days, and Condens gives 15. Quirkos has a 14-day trial with all features. A trial shorter than your interview schedule tests nothing.
Transcription is the hidden line: Looppanel meters hours per month, Reduct pools hours per editor per year and bills per minute beyond that, and MAXQDA sells hour packs. Plan the number of interview hours before comparing plans, and ask what happens to unused hours at the end of a month, since Looppanel converts monthly allowances into a yearly pool only on annual billing.
Count total interview hours and compare to each plan's transcription allowance
Run a real pilot interview through the trial before the end date
Note which plan first includes redaction, SSO and API access
Real price: who publishes it and who does not
Few vendors here show full prices. Quirkos, Dedoose, Looppanel and Reduct publish amounts; Taguette is free and open source. ATLAS.ti, MAXQDA, NVivo, QDA Miner, Delve, Condens and Aurelius show none on the pages we read, and Marvin and Dovetail keep paid amounts behind sales or custom terms. MAXQDA reveals amounts at checkout, so you pay for the quote in clicks. Dedoose charges only for months you log in, which helps on intermittent projects.
Add-ons shift totals: MAXQDA sells AI Assist Premium, hour packs and TeamCloud separately, and Marvin sells HIPAA and Salesforce as add-ons. Build the total from parts, and write the all-in figure down before a demo so a sales conversation cannot move it. A published low entry price at Looppanel or Reduct tells you little about a team of six editors with forty hours of interviews.
Ask each vendor for the all-in annual figure including add-ons
Check whether prices are per editor, per user or per licence
Confirm currency and whether tax is added on top
Exit: getting codebooks and quotes out
Qualitative work lasts longer than a licence, so leaving matters. Taguette documents export of every quote, quotes per tag, highlighted documents and the codebook, which is the clearest export list in this ranking. Quirkos keeps an offline licence you keep running after cloud access ends. NVivo splits cloud and desktop products, and ATLAS.ti lets projects move between desktop and web.
For most other vendors the pages we read describe no export formats, so ask for a test export of a coded project before signing. A repository that holds only summaries is hard to reconstruct later, and a codebook built over six months is the most expensive thing to lose. Whatever you choose, schedule a yearly export and open it in a spreadsheet to check that quotes still sit beside their codes and their source documents.
Request an export of a coded sample project during the trial
Confirm in writing that exports remain available after cancellation
Keep a plain copy of the codebook outside the tool
What goes wrong most often when buying qualitative data analysis software
Buying a repository such as Dovetail or Condens for a thesis that needs codebooks, double-coding and reliability checks.
Comparing a per-licence price at ATLAS.ti or MAXQDA with a per-editor price at Reduct or Looppanel without adding transcription hours.
Assuming a team can start together on NVivo AI Cloud, when team access is stated for early 2027.
Trusting a free plan to carry a programme, when Dovetail limits it to one project and Marvin gives no paid amounts.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best qualitative data analysis software in 2026?
Quirkos takes first place among the 14 we reviewed. Two ways to buy: a cloud subscription with live sharing, or an offline licence for one or two computers that needs no login.
Both prices are on the front page, which is rare in this market, and the trial carries no feature limits. The offline route means collaboration is sending project files back and forth. Student, academic, non-profit and commercial rates exist, but their amounts are not listed.
Which qualitative data analysis tools publish their pricing?
7 of the 14, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Quirkos: Cloud subscription with a 3-month minimum, or one-off offline licence, published; 14-day trial.
Dedoose: Per user per active month, published; annual Premier and Enterprise plans unpriced; 30-day trial.
Taguette: Free and open source (BSD licence); donations invited.
Looppanel: Monthly or yearly per plan, published; Enterprise on contact; 15-day trial.
Reduct: Per editor per month, published; annual billing discount; 14-day trial.
Marvin: Free plan, no card; paid tiers by demo or sales contact.
Dovetail: Free plan; Enterprise on custom pricing, invoiced net-30.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free qualitative data analysis tool?
Taguette, Marvin, Dovetail can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these qualitative data analysis software vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 13, Europe 1:
Quirkos: United Kingdom.
Dedoose: Not stated by the vendor.
Taguette: Not stated by the vendor.
Delve: Not stated by the vendor.
QDA Miner: Not stated by the vendor.
MAXQDA: Not stated by the vendor.
ATLAS.ti: Not stated by the vendor.
Aurelius: Not stated by the vendor.
Condens: Not stated by the vendor.
Looppanel: Not stated by the vendor.
Reduct: Not stated by the vendor.
Marvin: Not stated by the vendor.
Dovetail: Not stated by the vendor.
NVivo: Not stated by the vendor.
Which qualitative data analysis tools are open source?
Taguette.
Which qualitative data analysis tools can you host yourself?
Taguette. The remaining 13 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of Quirkos?
The next in line are Dedoose, aimed at Fieldwork projects that go quiet for months between analysis bursts, and Taguette, aimed at Students and small projects wanting highlight-and-tag work at zero licence cost.
Who should not buy Quirkos?
Teams needing statistics, GIS or vendor-run enterprise controls. Offline projects are shared by sending files back and forth, so two people cannot code at once..
Sell qualitative data analysis software and missing from the ranking? Send us a line on what the product does and who buys it. Whether it is added is our decision, though commercial arrangements can also affect it, and the terms of a listing sit on the software advice page.