Authoritative DNS is a small purchase that fails loudly: when it stops, every site, mailbox and API behind the domain goes with it.
This guide ranks eleven providers on setup effort, what the bill becomes as zones, queries and health checks grow, how zones can leave, and whether the vendor stands alone.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What DNS hosting providers software does
DNS hosting providers run the authoritative nameservers for your domains, answering queries for each record you set, and many add DNSSEC signing, failover, geographic routing and an API for changes.
The ranking follows five checks. Setup effort comes first, then real cost, then the route for getting data out, then lock-in, then the intended buyer. Smaller challengers are placed in the top three wherever the category has them; the well-known brands come after. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Annual DNS plans from a Canadian company founded in 1998
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best DNS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
easyDNS sells DNS in four packages, and the pricing page states records, monthly queries and anycast clouds for each. The unicast package suits a domain you also register there; Standard raises records to unlimited with one million queries.
Pro adds host monitoring with failover and GeoDNS. Set and Forget DNSSEC and IPv6 come with every package. The ceiling is the allowance: a busy zone needs the 26 million query Enterprise plan to get the written SLA.
What stands out
Annual plans
Anycast tiers
SLA on top plan
Where it costs you
The entry plan allows only 20 resource records and 250,000 queries a month
The 100% uptime SLA appears only on the most expensive tier
Right for
Small organisations that want a yearly DNS bill with query limits stated up front
Wrong for
Teams that need per-query billing with no monthly allowance
CanadaAnnual per plan, published; unicast tier comes with a registered domain
Subscription DNS with per-zone fees, an API and registration in one place
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best DNS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The Solo plan is listed as free with one user, 100 records and 50,000 queries per zone each month. Solo Pro and Teams raise the allowances and lower the overage rate per million queries.
Anycast DNS, DNSSEC, DDoS defence and registration across more than 500 TLDs are on every plan, certificates are on paid plans, and Enterprise is custom priced. Teams includes one seat; each extra seat costs the same as the plan.
What stands out
Per-zone fee
API and webhooks
Registrar included
Where it costs you
The per-zone fee makes a portfolio of hundreds of domains cost more each month
Records per zone are capped at 100, 500 or 1,000 depending on plan
Right for
Agencies and developers managing many domains through an API with webhooks
Wrong for
Owners of a few large zones with heavy query volume
Not stated by the vendorMonthly per plan plus a per-zone fee, published; free solo plan; 30-day trial
Tiered DNS plans from a free single zone to GeoDNS
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best DNS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The free plan gives one zone, 50 records, 500K monthly queries and four unicast servers. Premium DNS lifts the ceiling to 500M queries with four Anycast servers; DDoS Protected DNS goes to 1B queries; GeoDNS adds geographic routing.
Failover and DNSSEC are listed for paid plans, and live chat is on every plan. The vendor claims first place for raw DNS performance on DNSPerf as of May 2025, a claim to test yourself.
What stands out
Free plan
Tiered by feature
24/7 live chat
Where it costs you
The free plan allows one zone, 50 records and 500K queries a month
Zone and record limits for paid tiers are not stated on the pricing page
Right for
Small sites that want a cheap upgrade path from a free zone to Anycast
Wrong for
Buyers who need paid-plan zone and record limits written down
Not stated by the vendorFree plan; paid tiers per month by feature set, published
A free DNS service built around a documented REST API
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best DNS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
deSEC publishes its source repository on GitHub and takes contributions, though the licence is not named on the pages read.
Its JSON-over-HTTPS API handles domains and RRsets, including bulk changes, and the docs cover dynDNS via the IP Update API with ddclient, a Let's Encrypt integration through a certbot plugin, two-factor authentication, scoped tokens and rate limits. The listed support contact is an email address, which suits technical users.
What stands out
API-first
Dynamic DNS
Certbot plugin
Where it costs you
The pages read name no operator, country or service-level commitment
The control panel needs JavaScript and the tooling expects API use
Right for
Developers and hobbyists who automate DNS changes through an API
Wrong for
Businesses that need a contract, an SLA or phone support
Not stated by the vendorFree of charge; no price shown on the pages read
DNS with scripting, load balancing and custom nameservers inside the bunny.net account
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best DNS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The feature list is closer to a traffic manager than a plain nameserver service: scriptable DNS records, load balancing with health checks, weights and geo or latency routing, A-record monitoring by ping or HTTP, and analytics with raw logging.
Custom nameservers on your own domain are stated as no extra cost. That depth is aimed at people running their own delivery stack, and the cost of it is not on the page read.
What stands out
Scriptable records
Load balancing
14-day trial
Where it costs you
The DNS page lists no prices and links to a separate pricing page
The page describes a trial, not a permanent plan
Right for
Teams already on bunny.net who want routing rules beside their delivery setup
Wrong for
Buyers who want to see a DNS price before signing up
Not stated by the vendor14-day trial only; prices sit on a separate page that was not read
Registrar DNS with a REST API and DNSSEC switched on automatically
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best DNS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The page promises changes propagated in under 250 ms across Anycast points of presence, automatic DNSSEC activation, zone templates and automatic backups with restore. Records through the REST API include A, AAAA, CNAME, MX, TXT, CAA, SRV and TLSA.
AXFR transfers to external secondaries give a built-in exit path. The page names ISO 27001 and ISO 22301 certification, which is useful for procurement paperwork, but no headquarters.
What stands out
Registrar bundle
REST API
AXFR to secondaries
Where it costs you
Premium DNS is a separate subscription and the page lists no price
The service is tied to domains registered at Gandi
Right for
Domain owners who already register at Gandi and want API control
Wrong for
Anyone hosting zones for domains registered elsewhere
Not stated by the vendorIncluded with each domain; optional Premium DNS subscription
Zero-cost DNS inside the Hetzner Console with API and CLI
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best DNS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The DNS Console is reached from the Hetzner Console and supports A, AAAA, CAA, CNAME, MX, SRV and TXT records, with import from BIND files. A REST API and DNS CLI let you script changes.
The 25 zone default is generous for most owners, yet the page is short and says nothing about nameserver locations or response times. The footer names Hetzner Online GmbH; the headquarters country is not on this page.
What stands out
No charge
Console, API and CLI
BIND import
Where it costs you
The page mentions no failover, traffic steering or uptime commitment
Raising the 25-zone default needs a support ticket
Right for
Hetzner customers wanting plain zones managed by API without another bill
Wrong for
Teams that need failover, geo routing or an uptime commitment
Not stated by the vendorFree of charge; 25 zones by default
Free hosted forward and reverse DNS with secondary support
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best DNS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Access is stated for IPv6 certification and tunnelbroker account holders, colocation and Transit customers, and anyone who signs up for a free account. Record types include A, AAAA, ALIAS, CNAME, CAA, MX, NS, TXT and SRV.
Secondary (slave) support lets it follow a primary elsewhere, which is the use it fits best. The page lists a Fremont, CA address for the company but does not state a country.
What stands out
Free service
Reverse DNS
Secondary DNS
Where it costs you
The page labels the service open beta
No paid tier or uptime commitment appears on the page
Right for
Network hobbyists and IPv6 users needing free forward and reverse zones
Wrong for
Companies that need a supported commercial DNS contract
Not stated by the vendorFree of charge; open beta service
Three DNS plans with GeoDNS and health checks across 210+ Anycast servers
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best DNS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Free includes four unicast servers; Pro adds extra requests at a stated rate per million, unlimited dynamic RRsets and five health check records every 60 seconds. Enterprise reaches a 1 second minimum TTL, 10 second health checks, vanity nameservers and a white-label option.
Terraform, OctoDNS, ExternalDNS and Certbot integrations cover automation. The 210+ Anycast count applies to all plans, but the quality of a given point of presence is not measured on the page.
What stands out
Free plan
GeoDNS
Health checks
Where it costs you
The free plan has one health check record, checked every 300 seconds
Minimum TTL is 120 seconds free and 30 seconds on Pro
Right for
Teams wanting geo and ASN routing rules without an enterprise contract
Wrong for
Buyers who want to confirm the owner and country on the page
Not stated by the vendorFree plan; Pro monthly, published; Enterprise custom
DigiCert's managed authoritative DNS for very high query volumes
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best DNS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The page lists DNSSEC, DDoS protection, traffic steering and failover, plus primary and secondary DNS including the UltraDNS2 Anycast secondary network. That secondary option is useful when you keep a primary elsewhere and want a second provider for resilience.
The vendor tells buyers pricing varies by domains, queries, users and features, which is clear about the model, yet no ranges appear. The 150 billion figure is a capacity claim from the vendor.
What stands out
Enterprise DNS
DigiCert product
Primary and secondary
Where it costs you
The page shows no prices, so budgeting needs a sales conversation
It is sold as one DigiCert product, so the page says little about the DNS team
Right for
Large operators needing secondary DNS or very high authoritative query capacity
Wrong for
Small sites and teams that need a published monthly price
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation; plans vary by domains, queries and users
Pay-as-you-go DNS billed per zone, per query and per health check
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best DNS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Standard queries are charged per million with a lower rate after the first billion each month, routing policies cost more, and health checks differ for AWS and non-AWS endpoints.
Up to 50 AWS-endpoint health checks, private hosted zone queries and alias queries to listed AWS services are free. DNSSEC signing has no Route 53 charge, though KMS charges apply. The pricing page states no country, and the many price dimensions need modelling before you commit.
What stands out
Usage billing
Health checks
Traffic Flow
Where it costs you
Latency, geolocation and IP-based routing queries cost more than standard queries
Traffic Flow policy records add a monthly charge per record
Right for
Teams running workloads on AWS who want alias records and health checks together
Wrong for
Buyers who want one flat monthly DNS price
Not stated by the vendorPay as you go per zone, query, health check and policy record, published
DNS hosting providers run the authoritative nameservers for your domains, answering queries for each record you set, and many add DNSSEC signing, failover, geographic routing and an API for changes. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
The split is 8 published against 3 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with easyDNS, DNSimple, ClouDNS, deSEC, Hetzner DNS, Hurricane Electric DNS, Gcore DNS, Amazon Route 53.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
The vendors on this page are based in 2 countries (Elsewhere 10, North America 1). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.
Which DNS hosting providers publish a price you can model
DNS hosting providers meter very different things. DNSimple charges a subscription plus a fee for every zone, easyDNS sells yearly plans with a monthly query allowance, ClouDNS bills per tier, and Amazon Route 53 adds up zones, queries, health checks and policy records. UltraDNS publishes no figures at all, and Bunny DNS sends you to a separate pricing page for them.
Before comparing, convert each to your own numbers: zone count, records per zone and monthly queries, read off your current provider's console. A quiet company site often fits a free plan, while a portfolio of three hundred domains can cost more in per-zone fees than in queries, so the model that looks cheapest for one domain can be the dearest for many.
Count zones, records per zone and monthly queries from your current console.
Ask which tier unlocks failover, DNSSEC and GeoDNS.
Check what happens when you pass the included query allowance.
Where free DNS plans stop
Free DNS is common here and the limits are specific. ClouDNS gives one zone and 50 records, Gcore DNS offers one health check record every 300 seconds, Hurricane Electric DNS calls its service open beta, and deSEC states no operator or country on the pages read. Hetzner DNS costs nothing but defaults to 25 zones and does not mention failover.
These are fine for a personal domain or a staging zone. They are riskier for a shop whose checkout depends on one hostname, because a free plan rarely comes with a written uptime commitment. Look for one on the paid page of the same vendor, and read what the compensation is when it is missed.
Find the written uptime commitment, or note that there is none.
Check the minimum TTL, which was 120 seconds on the Gcore DNS free plan.
Note whether support is chat, tickets or an email address only.
Registrar DNS and the cost of moving out
Gandi LiveDNS comes with each registered domain, easyDNS includes unicast DNS with registration, and Hetzner DNS sits in the same console as the servers. The convenience is real, but the DNS then follows the account, so leaving means exporting zones and changing nameservers at the same time.
Gandi LiveDNS supports AXFR transfers to external secondaries, deSEC exports zonefiles through its API, and Hetzner DNS imports BIND files, which shows how each treats portability. A provider that offers none of these is not necessarily a bad host, but it makes the exit a manual job. Test the export early: pull a zonefile, compare it with the live records and note which record types would not survive the trip, before the day you are forced to move.
Export every zone to a zonefile and compare it with the live records.
Confirm whether DNSSEC keys must be rolled over when nameservers change.
Keep the registrar and the DNS host separable if you can.
Routing and failover features that raise the price
Plain authoritative DNS answers a question; GeoDNS, failover and health checks make it decide. Gcore DNS routes by geography, subnet and ASN, Bunny DNS adds load balancing with weights, and easyDNS puts GeoDNS and host monitoring on its Pro tier. Amazon Route 53 charges more per million queries for latency, geolocation and IP-based routing than for standard answers, and Traffic Flow policy records carry a monthly fee each.
Decide first whether you need traffic steering at all. Many sites only need fast answers and DNSSEC, in which case a cheaper tier is the correct choice and the routing features are unused cost. Ask for a trial of the steering rules on a spare hostname before moving production.
Write down which failure you want DNS to react to.
Check health check frequency; it ranges from 300 seconds down to 10.
Compare the per-million rate for steered queries with plain ones.
What goes wrong most often when buying DNS hosting providers software
Counting only the headline monthly price and missing per-zone fees, which turn a cheap DNSimple plan into a larger bill for a big domain portfolio.
Using a free service labelled open beta, such as Hurricane Electric DNS, as the only host for a revenue-critical domain.
Switching nameservers before checking that DNSSEC records at the registrar match the new provider, which can make a domain stop resolving.
Assuming a registrar bundle is the right long-term home, then discovering the zones cannot be sent to a second provider without a manual rebuild.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best DNS hosting providers in 2026?
easyDNS leads our ranking of 11. The plan ladder is easy to read: unicast comes with a registered domain, then three paid anycast tiers priced per year, with query allowances stated for each.
The company states its address in Ontario and a founding year of 1998. The cheap tiers cap queries at one million or five million a month, and the uptime SLA is only listed on the Enterprise tier.
Which DNS hosting providers tools publish their pricing?
8 out of 11 state a price model on their own site:
easyDNS: Annual per plan, published; unicast tier comes with a registered domain.
DNSimple: Monthly per plan plus a per-zone fee, published; free solo plan; 30-day trial.
ClouDNS: Free plan; paid tiers per month by feature set, published.
deSEC: Free of charge; no price shown on the pages read.
Hetzner DNS: Free of charge; 25 zones by default.
Hurricane Electric DNS: Free of charge; open beta service.
Gcore DNS: Free plan; Pro monthly, published; Enterprise custom.
Amazon Route 53: Pay as you go per zone, query, health check and policy record, published.
3 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free DNS hosting providers tool?
ClouDNS, deSEC, Hetzner DNS, Hurricane Electric DNS, Gcore DNS can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these DNS hosting providers vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 10, North America 1:
easyDNS: Canada.
DNSimple: Not stated by the vendor.
ClouDNS: Not stated by the vendor.
deSEC: Not stated by the vendor.
Bunny DNS: Not stated by the vendor.
Gandi LiveDNS: Not stated by the vendor.
Hetzner DNS: Not stated by the vendor.
Hurricane Electric DNS: Not stated by the vendor.
Gcore DNS: Not stated by the vendor.
UltraDNS: Not stated by the vendor.
Amazon Route 53: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of easyDNS?
Look at DNSimple (made for Agencies and developers managing many domains through an API with webhooks) and ClouDNS (made for small sites that want a cheap upgrade path from a free zone to Anycast), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy easyDNS?
Teams that need per-query billing with no monthly allowance. The entry plan allows only 20 resource records and 250,000 queries a month.
Your DNS hosting providers product is not among these 11? Tell us what it is for and who it serves, and we will consider it. The decision is editorial, and the ground rules are set out under software advice.