Best Customer Identity and Access Management Software in 2026

Customer identity and access management software handles sign-up, login and account security for the people who buy from you, not for your staff.

This guide ranks thirteen products on setup effort, the real price once single sign-on and other modules are added, how users can leave, vendor independence and which kind of business each product is built for.

Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.

In short

What customer identity and access management software does

Customer identity and access management software lets an organisation register its customers, authenticate them across apps with passwords, social login or passkeys, and control what each account may do.

01

The top three

13 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

Ranking criteria for this customer identity and access management tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.

13tools reviewed
11publish a price
7have a free tier
7countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

13 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1LogtoUnited StatesFree tier on the cloud; Pro plan and add-ons billed by usage and published; Enterprise quoted; self-hosted plans existYesTeams wanting readable code and the option to self-host sign-in laterBuyers who want a bundled fraud engine and risk scoring
#2KindeAustraliaFree tier with a monthly active user allowance; Pro, Plus and Scale published as monthly plans; Enterprise sold on requestYesEarly software-as-a-service teams that want login, plans and feature flags in one productEnterprises that need SCIM provisioning on day one
#3Curity Identity ServerSwedenFree Community edition; Standard and Enterprise are flat annual subscriptions with unlimited users, quoted by salesYesBanks and telecoms needing OAuth and token control on chosen infrastructureSmall teams wanting drop-in sign-up screens in an afternoon
#4DescopeUnited StatesFree Forever plan; Pro and Growth published as annual-billed plans with usage overages; Enterprise quotedYesProduct teams that want to change login journeys visually without a new code releaseBuyers wanting a fixed price regardless of usage spikes
#5FronteggIsraelPay-as-you-go plan starting at zero with a user allowance; Enterprise quoted with add-ons—Business-to-business software vendors that want customers to manage their own users and rolesConsumer apps with millions of anonymous visitors and tight margins
#6cidaasGermanyPublished monthly prices by tier, billed in euros; 30-day trial; Enterprise on request—Mid-sized retailers and insurers wanting a monthly price list and a German contracting entityStartups needing a permanent entry plan, not a trial
#7OryUnited StatesNetwork plans published per year; Enterprise Network and Enterprise License quoted; open source components free to run yourself—Customer platforms whose engineers prefer to assemble sign-in, tokens and permissions from separate Apache-2.0 partsSmall product teams that want a finished login screen working within one afternoon
#8ClerkUnited StatesFree Hobby plan; Pro and Business billed monthly or annually and published; Enterprise annual and quotedYesProduct teams shipping a customer-facing web app who want ready-made sign-in screens and a meter that ignores visitors who never come backCompanies with several enterprise customers who each expect their own SSO connection at a low fixed cost
#9LoginRadiusCanadaQuoted per organisation; free trial offered; Professional and Enterprise tiers with priced add-ons on request—Enterprises that want a choice of data centre and a single-tenant private cloudTeams that want to sign up and pay online today
#10StytchNot stated by the vendorPay-as-you-go with a free allowance of active users; add-ons and extra connections published; Enterprise quoted—API-first teams building business apps who want published unit prices for each add-onBuyers who need a vendor with a stated country of establishment
#11Transmit SecurityUnited StatesStarting prices published per year by bundle; final quote within a day; no self-service plan—Banks and large retailers that want authentication and fraud scoring from one vendorSmall teams or products with under tens of thousands of users
#12Auth0United StatesFree plan; Essentials and Professional published monthly with user caps; Enterprise quoted; B2B plans priced separatelyYesCustomer apps expecting to stay under 25,000 monthly active users for a good while, or backed by a budget that can absorb the later price stepConsumer products that could pass the free allowance quickly and cannot pass the cost on to users
#13Amazon CognitoUnited StatesPay per monthly active user in Lite, Essentials and Plus tiers; free tier included; advanced security priced separatelyYesTeams already building on AWS that want metered pricing and little vendor managementBuyers wanting identity independent of any cloud provider

A country in this table is where the vendor is based or signs contracts. Hosting regions are covered in the individual entries.

04

The 13 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Logto · 2. Kinde · 3. Curity Identity Server · 4. Descope · 5. Frontegg · 6. cidaas · 7. Ory · 8. Clerk · 9. LoginRadius · 10. Stytch · 11. Transmit Security · 12. Auth0 · 13. Amazon Cognito

#1 Logto

Open source sign-in service with a hosted cloud and a self-hosted edition

Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Customer Identity and Access Management Software in 2026.

Free tierOpen sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America

Silverhand Inc. publishes the Logto source, so a buyer can start on the hosted cloud and move to a self-hosted install without changing software.

The weakness is the price shape: Pro is a base fee plus metered tokens plus add-ons, and every SAML app costs extra. Self-hosted plans are listed on a separate page, so cost comparisons must be made for the route you pick.

What stands out
  • Open source MPL-2.0
  • Cloud or self-hosted
  • Add-on pricing
Where it costs you
  • Logto Pro bills RBAC, organisations, MFA and enterprise SSO as separate add-ons, so the monthly total depends on which modules a customer product needs.
  • Each SAML application added on Logto Cloud is billed per application, which grows quickly if many corporate customers connect their own identity provider.
Right for

Teams wanting readable code and the option to self-host sign-in later

Wrong for

Buyers who want a bundled fraud engine and risk scoring

United StatesFree tier on the cloud; Pro plan and add-ons billed by usage and published; Enterprise quoted; self-hosted plans exist

#2 Kinde

Authentication bundled with feature flags, billing and multi-environment setup

Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Customer Identity and Access Management Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific

Kinde packs more than login into its plans: billing, feature flags and several environments sit beside the user directory. That reduces the number of vendors for a young product.

The trade is dependence, because moving off Kinde means replacing billing and flags too. Plan tiers also gate environments, and SSO arrives free only from the Plus plan upward. Kinde also takes a percentage of each payment when its billing feature is used.

What stands out
  • Auth plus billing
  • Feature flags
  • Environment limits
Where it costs you
  • Kinde lists SCIM as coming soon on Scale, so automated user provisioning for enterprise customers is not available from the pricing page today.
  • Kinde charges a transaction percentage when its billing feature collects payments from your customers, which adds a cost layer outside the identity bill.
Right for

Early software-as-a-service teams that want login, plans and feature flags in one product

Wrong for

Enterprises that need SCIM provisioning on day one

AustraliaFree tier with a monthly active user allowance; Pro, Plus and Scale published as monthly plans; Enterprise sold on request

#3 Curity Identity Server

Standards-first identity server for banks and API-heavy organisations, on-premise or cloud

Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Customer Identity and Access Management Software in 2026.

Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingEurope

Curity charges a flat subscription, not per user, so cost stays flat as a customer base grows from thousands to millions. Deployment is on-premise or cloud.

That model rewards large user counts and punishes small ones, since the paid editions are enterprise sales. Expect an engineering project: configuration is done through admin UI, CLI or XML files rather than a quick-start widget.

What stands out
  • Flat annual subscription
  • On-premise or cloud
  • OAuth and OIDC
Where it costs you
  • Curity gives no price on its plans page for Standard or Enterprise, so budgeting needs a sales conversation before a trial can be compared with other vendors.
  • Curity Community edition has no multi-factor authentication, so a consumer product needing a second factor must move to a paid edition.
Right for

Banks and telecoms needing OAuth and token control on chosen infrastructure

Wrong for

Small teams wanting drop-in sign-up screens in an afternoon

SwedenFree Community edition; Standard and Enterprise are flat annual subscriptions with unlimited users, quoted by sales

#4 Descope

Visual flow builder for sign-in; plans sized by users, tenants, SSO

Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Customer Identity and Access Management Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

Descope separates plans by tenants, SSO connections and users, so the question is which limit you hit first. Free Forever caps at three SSO connections; Pro raises that to five; Growth to ten.

Overages apply from Pro up. The flow builder is the draw, yet it adds a Descope-specific layer that you would need to recreate if you moved away.

What stands out
  • Flow builder
  • Tiered plan limits
  • Usage overages
Where it costs you
  • Descope reserves SCIM provisioning, fine-grained authorisation and multi-region data residency for the Growth plan or above, which is a large step from Pro.
  • Descope Pro and Growth add usage-based overages on top of the base fee, so a spike in monthly active tenants raises the bill beyond the plan price.
Right for

Product teams that want to change login journeys visually without a new code release

Wrong for

Buyers wanting a fixed price regardless of usage spikes

United StatesFree Forever plan; Pro and Growth published as annual-billed plans with usage overages; Enterprise quoted

#5 Frontegg

Embedded login box with admin portal for software-as-a-service customers' own users

Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Customer Identity and Access Management Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestMiddle East

Frontegg is shaped around tenants: per-tenant login boxes, per-tenant MFA and session policies, and an embeddable admin portal. That fits a vendor selling to companies. It fits less well a plain consumer shop.

The pricing page leans on a slider, so the true bill needs sales input, and the 99.99% SLA is not part of the entry plan. The admin portal is embedded in your own product, which means customers see Frontegg screens inside yours.

What stands out
  • Embedded admin portal
  • Pay as you go
  • Per-tenant policies
Where it costs you
  • Frontegg puts multiple environments, advanced fraud protection and its 99.99% uptime SLA on the quoted Enterprise tier, outside the pay-as-you-go plan.
  • Frontegg shows its calculator but publishes no per-user rate on that page, so cost above 7,500 monthly users cannot be read off before contacting sales.
Right for

Business-to-business software vendors that want customers to manage their own users and roles

Wrong for

Consumer apps with millions of anonymous visitors and tight margins

IsraelPay-as-you-go plan starting at zero with a user allowance; Enterprise quoted with add-ons

#6 cidaas

Customer identity platform from Widas ID with published monthly prices in euros

Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Customer Identity and Access Management Software in 2026.

Published pricingEurope

cidaas lays out tiers with a euro price and a user allowance, which makes comparison simple. The sizes are lumpy, though: Essentials includes 1,000 users and Standard 5,000, and the jump to Pro is large.

The company belongs to the Widas group, so check the contract party. Consent management is listed among its features, and the Pro tier is marked KRITIS-ready.

What stands out
  • Euro monthly tiers
  • Consent management
  • Identity verification
Where it costs you
  • cidaas holds passwordless sign-in and progressive profiling back for the Pro tier, so the cheaper tiers cannot offer those journeys.
  • cidaas charges identity-document verification per validation on top of the platform tier, so onboarding checks create a variable cost.
Right for

Mid-sized retailers and insurers wanting a monthly price list and a German contracting entity

Wrong for

Startups needing a permanent entry plan, not a trial

GermanyPublished monthly prices by tier, billed in euros; 30-day trial; Enterprise on request

#7 Ory

Apache-licensed identity components with a managed network and an enterprise licence

Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Customer Identity and Access Management Software in 2026.

Open sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America

For a customer identity buyer, Ory is a toolkit first and a product second. Kratos, Hydra and Keto sit on GitHub under Apache-2.0, so a team can run them on its own servers without a licence fee.

The managed Ory Network starts at 770 a year for Production, and a self-hosted Enterprise License carries premium support at a custom price. Control is the gain; the cost is building and maintaining the glue between the parts.

What stands out
  • Open source Apache-2.0
  • Managed Network
  • Enterprise License
Where it costs you
  • Ory Network Growth costs 9,350 a year and covers only OIDC for business single sign-on.
  • The 99.99% uptime commitment and multi-region data residency come only with the quoted Enterprise tier.
  • Running Kratos, Hydra and Keto yourself leaves the integration work with your engineers.
Right for

Customer platforms whose engineers prefer to assemble sign-in, tokens and permissions from separate Apache-2.0 parts

Wrong for

Small product teams that want a finished login screen working within one afternoon

United StatesNetwork plans published per year; Enterprise Network and Enterprise License quoted; open source components free to run yourself

#8 Clerk

Prebuilt React sign-in components billed by retained users per application

Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Customer Identity and Access Management Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

Clerk counts a user only once they return at least 24 hours after signing up, so a consumer app with many one-off visitors pays for fewer accounts than the sign-up total suggests.

Hobby is free with 50,000 retained users per application, and Pro costs 20 a month billed annually, then 0.02 for each retained user beyond that. The cost shows up in add-ons: extra SSO connections, directory sync from January 2027 and satellite domains are each billed monthly.

What stands out
  • Prebuilt components
  • Per-app user limits
  • SSO as paid extra
Where it costs you
  • Pro includes a single SSO connection and each further one adds 75 a month.
  • SOC 2 reporting and priority support start at the Business plan, 250 a month billed annually.
  • Satellite domains cost 10 a month each on Pro.
Right for

Product teams shipping a customer-facing web app who want ready-made sign-in screens and a meter that ignores visitors who never come back

Wrong for

Companies with several enterprise customers who each expect their own SSO connection at a low fixed cost

United StatesFree Hobby plan; Pro and Business billed monthly or annually and published; Enterprise annual and quoted

#9 LoginRadius

Customer identity platform with Professional and Enterprise tiers and add-on modules

Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Customer Identity and Access Management Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

LoginRadius offers deployment choices that cheaper tools skip, among them multi-tenant, single-tenant and a pick of cloud provider on Enterprise. The price of that flexibility is opacity.

Both plans route to sales, add-ons are priced separately, and nothing on the page lets a buyer estimate a year of cost before talking to the vendor. Budget time for procurement, not just for integration.

What stands out
  • Quoted pricing
  • Single-tenant option
  • Add-on modules
Where it costs you
  • LoginRadius shows no price on its pricing page, so a buyer cannot compare its cost with vendors that publish monthly rates.
  • LoginRadius lists adaptive MFA, federated SSO and machine-to-machine tokens as add-ons, which moves part of the real cost into the quote.
Right for

Enterprises that want a choice of data centre and a single-tenant private cloud

Wrong for

Teams that want to sign up and pay online today

CanadaQuoted per organisation; free trial offered; Professional and Enterprise tiers with priced add-ons on request

#10 Stytch

Developer authentication API for business and consumer apps, now part of Twilio

Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Customer Identity and Access Management Software in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

Stytch exposes a pay-as-you-go price list with each add-on priced separately, which helps forecasting. The uncertainty is ownership: the homepage banner says Stytch has joined Twilio, while the pricing and about pages stay silent on the terms.

Buyers should ask which legal entity signs the contract and where it is established. Until that is answered, the exit and liability terms cannot be judged.

What stands out
  • Pay as you go
  • Fraud add-ons
  • Twilio-owned
Where it costs you
  • Stytch charges for each SSO or SCIM connection beyond the first five, which makes enterprise-heavy customer bases cost more as they grow.
  • Stytch now sits inside Twilio, and its site does not explain how contracts, roadmap or pricing may change after that move.
Right for

API-first teams building business apps who want published unit prices for each add-on

Wrong for

Buyers who need a vendor with a stated country of establishment

Not stated by the vendorPay-as-you-go with a free allowance of active users; add-ons and extra connections published; Enterprise quoted

#11 Transmit Security

Fraud, authentication and identity verification sold together on annual enterprise contracts

Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Customer Identity and Access Management Software in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

Transmit Security packages customer identity with fraud detection and identity checks. The published starting prices are per year and sized for 100,000 monthly active users, which shows who the buyer is.

Because bundles overlap, a customer may pay for services already held elsewhere, and B2B or workforce needs are handled through a separate enquiry. The page promises a quote within 24 hours, not a card checkout.

What stands out
  • Annual enterprise bundles
  • Fraud detection
  • Identity verification
Where it costs you
  • Transmit Security lists no self-service or entry-level plan, and its cheapest published bundle is priced per year for large user volumes.
  • Transmit Security says all pricing is indicative and depends on deployment architecture, so the final figure can differ from the published starting price.
Right for

Banks and large retailers that want authentication and fraud scoring from one vendor

Wrong for

Small teams or products with under tens of thousands of users

United StatesStarting prices published per year by bundle; final quote within a day; no self-service plan

#12 Auth0

Okta-owned developer login service with a large free allowance

Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Customer Identity and Access Management Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

Auth0 belongs to Okta, Inc., which matters if vendor independence is on your checklist. Its free plan covers up to 25,000 monthly active users with five organisations, which makes a prototype or small launch cheap.

After that the published tiers begin at 35 a month for Essentials and 240 for Professional, both listing 500 users, so a growing customer base moves quickly into sales conversations. Anyone needing SSO for business clients should price the B2B variants.

What stands out
  • Owned by Okta
  • Large free tier
  • Steep paid steps
Where it costs you
  • Essentials and Professional list only 500 monthly active users, so leaving the free tier is a sharp price step.
  • Enterprise connections, self-service SSO and SCIM need the separate B2B upgrade.
  • The free plan includes just one custom domain and one enterprise connection.
Right for

Customer apps expecting to stay under 25,000 monthly active users for a good while, or backed by a budget that can absorb the later price step

Wrong for

Consumer products that could pass the free allowance quickly and cannot pass the cost on to users

United StatesFree plan; Essentials and Professional published monthly with user caps; Enterprise quoted; B2B plans priced separately

#13 Amazon Cognito

AWS user pool service billed per monthly active user in three tiers

Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Customer Identity and Access Management Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

Amazon Cognito is metered per user and has a free tier, but it is a service of one cloud provider, so leaving it means rebuilding sign-in outside AWS. Tier names decide which features you get: passkeys and Managed Login at Essentials, threat protection at Plus.

A vendor-neutral buyer will find the dependence on a hyperscaler the main drawback, and a team outside AWS gains little from the metering. Federated enterprise sign-ins are billed at their own rate.

What stands out
  • AWS-native
  • Three tiers
  • Per-user metering
Where it costs you
  • Amazon Cognito prices federated SAML and OIDC sign-ins at a separate per-user rate, so a corporate-customer base costs more than a social-login base.
  • Amazon Cognito ties risk-based adaptive authentication and compromised-credential detection to the Plus tier, not the default Essentials tier.
Right for

Teams already building on AWS that want metered pricing and little vendor management

Wrong for

Buyers wanting identity independent of any cloud provider

United StatesPay per monthly active user in Lite, Essentials and Plus tiers; free tier included; advanced security priced separately
06

How to choose customer identity and access management software

Customer identity and access management software lets an organisation register its customers, authenticate them across apps with passwords, social login or passkeys, and control what each account may do. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.

  1. 01

    Start with pricing transparency

    The split is 11 published against 2 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Logto, Kinde, Curity Identity Server, Descope, cidaas, Ory, Clerk, Stytch, Transmit Security, Auth0, Amazon Cognito.

  2. 02

    Decide how much the jurisdiction matters

    Check the vendor's home market (North America 8, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1, Middle East 1, Elsewhere 1), because that is where subpoenas and data requests arrive first, whatever region holds your files.

  3. 03

    Decide if open source matters

    Open source here means Logto, Ory. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.

What does customer identity and access management software actually cost?

Customer identity and access management software is priced on three different units: monthly active users, retained users or flat organisational subscriptions. Logto, Kinde, Descope and Frontegg publish tier tables with a free allowance. Clerk counts monthly retained users per application. Curity sells a yearly subscription with no user meter, so cost stops tracking user growth.

Ory publishes yearly Network plans and quotes its Enterprise License. Transmit Security lists starting prices per year for large bundles, and LoginRadius publishes no amounts at all. Compare vendors by modelling your own user count at one year and at three years, and add the modules that your first enterprise customer will demand. The headline plan rarely includes SAML single sign-on, SCIM, a custom domain and a support commitment.

  • Model cost at your current and three-year user count
  • List every add-on you need: SSO, SCIM, custom domain, fraud
  • Ask whether prices are per user, per retained user or flat

Which add-ons turn a cheap customer identity plan into an expensive one?

Enterprise single sign-on is the add-on that most often changes the bill in customer identity and access management. Logto bills SAML applications per application, Clerk charges monthly for each added SSO connection, and Stytch charges per connection beyond five. SCIM is the second gate: Descope starts it at Growth, whereas Kinde has not shipped it yet.

Frontegg and Ory hold their multi-environment and uptime promises back for quoted tiers. Auth0 moves self-service SSO and SCIM into its B2B plans. Before choosing, write down how many corporate customers will connect their own identity provider in year one, and price that number on each shortlisted vendor. The difference between tools shows up there, not in the free tier.

  • Count the corporate customers who will connect their own identity provider
  • Ask whether SCIM is available today or on a roadmap
  • Check which tier carries the uptime commitment

Can you leave a customer identity platform once users are inside it?

Leaving a customer identity platform depends on whether you can host the software yourself and how easily you can export users. Logto and Ory publish their code, under MPL-2.0 and Apache-2.0, so a move to your own servers is possible. Curity runs on-premise or in the cloud. Clerk, Kinde, Descope, Frontegg and Stytch are hosted products, and Amazon Cognito is a service of AWS.

Descope lists zero-downtime SSO migration on Growth, a sign that migration is a sold feature. Ask each vendor in writing how password hashes leave, what export format is used and whether export is included in the plan or billed as a service. A vendor that cannot answer before signature will not answer better at exit, and forcing every customer to reset a password costs far more than any licence saving.

  • Ask how password hashes can be exported
  • Check whether a self-hosted route exists
  • Confirm that export is not a paid service

Which type of buyer should choose which customer identity product?

The right customer identity product depends on whether the buyer sells to consumers, to companies or to regulated customers. Business-to-business software vendors fit Frontegg, Descope or Kinde, which organise users by tenant. Clerk suits React-focused front-end teams. Engineering-led teams who want control fit Logto or Ory. Banks and telecom operators with API estates fit Curity, which is sold as a flat subscription.

Retailers wanting euro price lists fit cidaas. Large brands wanting fraud scoring beside login fit Transmit Security. A team already deep in AWS may accept Amazon Cognito, knowing it ties the user directory to that cloud. Match the buyer type first, then compare prices. A product built for companies feels heavy for a consumer shop, and a consumer-first tool may lack the tenant model a software vendor needs when its first corporate customer asks for separation.

  • Decide whether your users are consumers or business customers
  • Check the vendor's fit for your industry
  • Shortlist three and price each at your user count

What goes wrong most often when buying customer identity and access management software

  • Choosing a customer identity vendor on the free allowance alone, because Auth0, Clerk and Logto differ most in what happens after the free tier ends.
  • Forgetting to price enterprise single sign-on, which Logto, Clerk and Stytch bill per application or connection and which can outgrow the base plan.
  • Assuming every product can be self-hosted, when Clerk, Kinde and Descope are hosted and only Logto, Ory and Curity offer a route you control.
  • Ignoring ownership changes, such as Stytch joining Twilio or Auth0 belonging to Okta, which can alter contract terms at renewal.
07

Frequently asked questions

8 answers
What is the best customer identity and access management software in 2026?

Logto leads our ranking of 13. Logto is built by Silverhand Inc., a Delaware corporation whose stated focus is consumer identity, and its code is open source under MPL-2.0. The cloud free tier covers up to 50,000 monthly active users.

Organisations, MFA, enterprise SSO and RBAC are add-ons billed separately on the Pro plan, so a business-to-business customer product costs more than the headline plan suggests.

Which customer identity and access management tools publish their pricing?

11 out of 13 state a price model on their own site:

  • Logto: Free tier on the cloud; Pro plan and add-ons billed by usage and published; Enterprise quoted; self-hosted plans exist.
  • Kinde: Free tier with a monthly active user allowance; Pro, Plus and Scale published as monthly plans; Enterprise sold on request.
  • Curity Identity Server: Free Community edition; Standard and Enterprise are flat annual subscriptions with unlimited users, quoted by sales.
  • Descope: Free Forever plan; Pro and Growth published as annual-billed plans with usage overages; Enterprise quoted.
  • cidaas: Published monthly prices by tier, billed in euros; 30-day trial; Enterprise on request.
  • Ory: Network plans published per year; Enterprise Network and Enterprise License quoted; open source components free to run yourself.
  • Clerk: Free Hobby plan; Pro and Business billed monthly or annually and published; Enterprise annual and quoted.
  • Stytch: Pay-as-you-go with a free allowance of active users; add-ons and extra connections published; Enterprise quoted.
  • Transmit Security: Starting prices published per year by bundle; final quote within a day; no self-service plan.
  • Auth0: Free plan; Essentials and Professional published monthly with user caps; Enterprise quoted; B2B plans priced separately.
  • Amazon Cognito: Pay per monthly active user in Lite, Essentials and Plus tiers; free tier included; advanced security priced separately.

2 vendors do not print a price.

Is there a free customer identity and access management tool?

Logto, Kinde, Curity Identity Server, Descope, Clerk, Auth0, Amazon Cognito can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.

Where are these customer identity and access management software vendors established?

Across 7 countries (North America 8, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1, Middle East 1, Elsewhere 1):

  • Logto: United States.
  • Kinde: Australia.
  • Curity Identity Server: Sweden.
  • Descope: United States.
  • Frontegg: Israel.
  • cidaas: Germany.
  • Ory: United States.
  • Clerk: United States.
  • LoginRadius: Canada.
  • Stytch: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Transmit Security: United States.
  • Auth0: United States.
  • Amazon Cognito: United States.
Which customer identity and access management tools are open source?

Logto, Ory.

Which customer identity and access management tools can you host yourself?

Logto, Curity Identity Server, Ory. The remaining 10 run only on the vendor's servers.

What should you use instead of Logto?

Kinde and Curity Identity Server are the next two on this page. Kinde is for Early software-as-a-service teams that want login, plans and feature flags in one product; Curity Identity Server is for Banks and telecoms needing OAuth and token control on chosen infrastructure.

Who should not buy Logto?

Buyers who want a bundled fraud engine and risk scoring. Logto Pro bills RBAC, organisations, MFA and enterprise SSO as separate add-ons, so the monthly total depends on which modules a customer product needs..

—

Tools reviewed

13 products
—

More Data & IT software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

Do you make a customer identity and access management software product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.

Suggest a product →