Mobile app testing software gives teams phones, simulators and test tooling they do not have to own, so an iOS or Android build can be checked before release.
This guide ranks twelve products on setup effort, the bill once parallel runs are counted, how test code can leave, and whether you can buy without a partner.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What mobile app testing software does
Mobile app testing software provides cloud-hosted real devices or emulators plus authoring tools, so teams can run manual and automated checks on iOS and Android builds without a lab.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the mobile app testing tool was built for. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
YAML mobile flows run free locally, then in a paid device cloud
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Mobile App Testing Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Maestro keeps the first ninety days cheap: install the CLI, write flows in YAML and run them against your emulators. The repository carries the Apache 2.0 licence, so the framework can be forked or left.
Cloud is the paid step, charged per device per month with unlimited hosted runs. Managed testing and a security review appear only under Enterprise. Expect to build device coverage choices yourself.
What stands out
Open source
YAML flows
Per-device cloud
Where it costs you
Cloud price scales with concurrent devices, so a large suite that must finish quickly costs more.
The vendor's pages name no country of establishment, only that servers are in the United States.
Right for
Teams who want readable flow files and a cheap start on their own devices
Wrong for
Buyers who need a vendor with a stated country and address
Not stated by the vendorFree local CLI and Studio, open source; hosted cloud priced per device per month, published; Enterprise custom
Mobile device cloud with self-serve minute plans and an on-prem option
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Mobile App Testing Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Kobiton's pricing page lays out the ladder plainly: a Startup tier for manual and scripted work on real devices, Accelerate for ramping automation, Scale for parallel runs.
The ladder is measured in minutes, which suits predictable suites and punishes noisy ones. Enterprise adds unlimited users, no-code testing, self-healing Appium execution and on-prem devices. Setup is mostly pointing existing Appium scripts at the cloud.
What stands out
Device cloud
Minute-based plans
On-prem devices
Where it costs you
Minute allowances cap monthly use, so heavy regression suites push you toward Scale or Enterprise.
Dedicated and on-prem devices are listed under the request-based Enterprise offer, not the self-serve tiers.
Right for
Mobile-focused teams that want a device cloud with a clear entry plan
Wrong for
Teams that need dedicated devices without a sales negotiation
United StatesSelf-serve plans with published monthly minutes; Scale annual only; Enterprise by request; free trial
Run iOS and Android apps in a browser tab, billed by minutes
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Mobile App Testing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Appetize fits the gap between a build and a person who needs to try it: send a link and the app runs in the browser. Automation exists through AppRecorder and Playwright.
Starter allows three active devices, Premium sixteen, and Enterprise lists private clouds or self-hosting. Plan pages publish the rates, so cost is easy to model, but the minute meter runs for anyone who leaves sessions open.
What stands out
Browser streaming
Cloud emulators
Playwright support
Where it costs you
The pages sell emulators, so hardware-dependent behaviour has to be checked elsewhere.
Free and paid plans meter minutes, and usage above the allowance is billed per minute.
Right for
Teams sharing live app builds with testers, support staff or sales
Wrong for
Anyone who must test on physical handsets
Not stated by the vendorFree plan for one user; paid plans published monthly or annual, minutes metered beyond the allowance; Enterprise custom
Dedicated-infrastructure test platform with seat pricing and tokens
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Mobile App Testing Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
TestGrid's pricing page puts real devices, browsers and its agent set into one package, so there is no per-agent fee to track. It also lists downloadable open-source test code with no lock-in, which helps on exit.
Trial is by request. For the first ninety days, expect time spent learning token consumption, since an agent-heavy workflow burns the 5,000 allowance faster than a script-based one.
What stands out
Per-seat pricing
Token allowance
On-prem device lab
Where it costs you
Starter combines a per-seat price with a token allowance, which makes monthly cost depend on two meters.
Growth and the custom device lab are priced by contact, so bigger setups have no published figure.
Right for
Small QA groups wanting AI authoring and real devices bundled per seat
Wrong for
Teams wanting a plain per-minute meter and nothing else
United StatesStarter priced per seat per month, published, with a token allowance; Growth and custom device lab by contact; free trial on request
Device cloud priced by parallel tests, with an on-premise lab option
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Mobile App Testing Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Pcloudy's ladder makes the main lever obvious: parallel tests, not seats. Live and automated tracks are priced apart, and the page claims no long-term commitment.
The on-premise cloud runs the device cloud inside your data centre with bring-your-own devices, which moves the cost to hardware and staff. A free trial is offered, so the first weeks can go on real checks, not procurement.
What stands out
Parallel-test tiers
Dedicated devices
On-premise cloud
Where it costs you
Dedicated devices are quoted separately, so guaranteed availability is not covered by the tier price.
The pages reviewed never state the company's country of establishment.
Right for
Teams sizing cost by parallel runs, with an on-premise route later
Wrong for
Buyers who need a stated legal entity before talking to sales
Not stated by the vendorTiers by parallel tests, monthly or annual billing; dedicated devices by quote; free trial
Codeless test authoring with a real-device cloud inside both plans
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Mobile App Testing Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
Testsigma bundles authoring and execution, which removes the step of joining a framework to a device cloud. Pro covers unlimited projects and minutes, with 24x5 support.
Enterprise adds SAML single sign-on, IP whitelisting and a private grid. The cost of that bundle is dependence: tests live in its editor, so exit planning should start with what can be exported. Nothing is posted on pricing to compare.
What stands out
Codeless authoring
Real mobile devices
Auto-healing
Where it costs you
Neither plan shows a price, so budgeting needs a call with sales.
Private and on-premise deployment is an Enterprise feature, not part of Pro.
Right for
QA teams without coders who want authoring and devices in one product
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a self-serve checkout with posted prices
United StatesPro and Enterprise priced per organisation, quoted; demo offered; on-prem deployment on Enterprise
Real-device cloud with performance KPIs, sold in three CloudTest packages
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Mobile App Testing Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
HeadSpin's public packages are cheap to start, but the product's depth sits in performance measurement: waterfall views, Grafana dashboards and regression intelligence.
If your question is whether a screen opens, you pay for analysis you will not read. If it is whether a release got slower in Brazil, the global device and location coverage is what the vendor sells. Pro and private options need a conversation.
What stands out
Performance KPIs
Three packages
Global devices
Where it costs you
Lite stops at a single seat and 40 monthly hours, which a shared team outgrows quickly.
Pro is priced by project, so the page gives no figure for large or private setups.
Right for
Teams caring about network and performance data on real devices
Wrong for
Small teams wanting only a cheap functional device lab
Not stated by the vendorCloud Test Lite and Go from published monthly prices; Pro by contact; free trial bookable
Separate virtual and real-device plans with unlimited users listed
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Mobile App Testing Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Sauce Labs charges by device type rather than by seat, so a big team costs the same as a small one on the published tiers. Real Device Cloud adds visual snapshots, a REST API and secure single-use devices.
A private device cloud, SSO and professional services are Enterprise items. The practical risk is parallelism: a suite designed for twenty concurrent sessions does not fit the posted plans.
What stands out
Real device cloud
Virtual devices
Unlimited users
Where it costs you
Self-serve plans cover one to five concurrent sessions, and more parallelism means contacting sales.
The AI authoring and insights agents sit behind Enterprise offers.
Right for
Teams needing virtual and real mobile devices with unlimited seats
Wrong for
Self-serve buyers wanting the AI agents included
United StatesLive, virtual-device and real-device plans published monthly or annual; Enterprise by request; free trial
Authoring studio for web, mobile and API tests with a free edition
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Mobile App Testing Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Katalon is the entry where one team writes tests for several surfaces. The free Studio edition covers local record-and-playback; Professional starts as a per-seat monthly charge.
Add TestOps for management and TestCloud for execution and the licence stops being the whole bill. A 30-day trial is on offer. Exit depends on how much logic stays in Katalon's own constructs rather than in code.
What stands out
Studio IDE
Mobile and API
Per-seat licences
Where it costs you
The product is an authoring tool; running on real devices is sold as the separate TestCloud product.
Mobile sits beside web, API and desktop features, which broadens the tool beyond a phone-only need.
Right for
Mixed web, API and mobile teams that want one authoring tool
Wrong for
Teams wanting a device lab included with the licence
United StatesFree Studio edition; Professional per seat per month, published; Enterprise custom; 30-day trial
Large real-device cloud with App Live and App Automate products
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Mobile App Testing Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
BrowserStack is the default reference point because its device pool is the one rivals quote against. Setup is quick for Appium users who point capabilities at its hub.
The weak point is bundle sprawl: manual, automation, accessibility, visual and management tools are different purchases. Terms are under Delaware law. Page prices exist for some plans, but a real quote needs your concurrency count.
What stands out
App Live
App Automate
Per-product pricing
Where it costs you
Each mobile product is priced on its own line, so combined manual, automated and visual testing multiplies cost.
Teams above the published user counts must talk to sales for terms.
Right for
Teams that need the widest set of real devices and will pay per product
Wrong for
Buyers wanting one flat price covering every test type
Not stated by the vendorPer-product pricing, some prices published and large teams via Contact Sales; free trial
SmartBear's device and browser cloud with a 14-day trial
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Mobile App Testing Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Bitbar's pitch is offloading setup, maintenance and upgrades for devices and browsers, with parallel runs in CI. The trial lasts 14 days without a card, so evaluation is cheap.
What is missing is a visible price: the pricing page shows the trial and contact numbers. For a buyer that matters, since the second test, real price, cannot be answered from the page. SmartBear ownership means one vendor for several tools.
What stands out
Device cloud
Browser testing
SmartBear product
Where it costs you
The pricing page text shows no plan amounts, so cost cannot be compared before a trial or sales contact.
It is one product in a larger SmartBear catalogue, so purchasing and support follow that parent.
Right for
Teams already on SmartBear tools who want devices in the same contract
Wrong for
Buyers who need posted prices before talking to anyone
United States14-day trial, no card needed; plan details through SmartBear's pricing page and contact
Pay-per-minute device testing from Amazon, or flat slots monthly
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Mobile App Testing Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Device Farm has the simplest billing in the group: a per-minute rate, or a flat monthly fee per slot. The cost model flips with volume, since metered minutes get expensive once suites run all day while a slot stays fixed.
Because slots are not tied to a device model, you cannot reserve a specific handset. Service terms add Apple developer account requirements for iOS runs.
What stands out
Per device minute
Unmetered slots
AWS service
Where it costs you
Unmetered slots are bought per device family and usage type, so mixed Android and iOS needs several slots.
It runs tests you already wrote; the pricing page offers no test authoring.
Right for
AWS-based teams with existing Appium or native test suites
Wrong for
Teams wanting no-code authoring or a mobile-only vendor
Not stated by the vendorMetered per device minute or unmetered per slot, published; one-time free trial of device minutes
Mobile app testing software provides cloud-hosted real devices or emulators plus authoring tools, so teams can run manual and automated checks on iOS and Android builds without a lab. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
Only 9 of the 12 print a price; 3 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Maestro, Kobiton, Appetize, TestGrid, HeadSpin, Sauce Labs, Katalon, BrowserStack, AWS Device Farm.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
These 12 vendors are established in 2 countries across 2 regions (North America 6, Elsewhere 6). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Source code is available for Maestro. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
How to compare mobile app testing software prices
Mobile app testing software rarely charges by one measure. Maestro bills hosted devices by concurrent capacity, Kobiton sells monthly minutes, AWS Device Farm charges per device minute or per slot, TestGrid mixes seats with tokens, and Pcloudy tiers by parallel tests. Each meter punishes a different habit: long suites, many testers, or fast pipelines.
Before comparing list prices, write down how many builds you test per week, how many minutes a full regression takes, and how many runs must finish at once. Then price that same workload on every candidate, including the extra minutes or seats a busy release week would need. The cheapest tier on a page is often sized for one person trying the product, not for a team shipping weekly.
Count weekly builds and regression minutes first
Check how many tests may run at once
Price the same workload on every shortlisted product
Real devices or emulators in mobile app testing
Appetize sells browser-streamed cloud emulators, while Kobiton, Sauce Labs, BrowserStack and Pcloudy list real devices. The choice changes what a green result means. Emulators are quick to start and fine for layout, navigation and demos, but camera, sensors, battery and vendor-specific behaviour need hardware.
Many vendors split the two: Sauce Labs prices its Virtual Device Cloud and Real Device Cloud as different plans, so a team can pay for emulator volume and rent real handsets for release checks. Decide which defects have hurt you before, and pick the cheapest setup that would have caught them, rather than buying the largest device list on offer. Ask each vendor to show a failing test on a device class you actually support.
List the defects that reached users last year
Ask which plan tier actually includes real handsets
Keep a small set of physical devices for release checks
Exit and lock-in for mobile test suites
A mobile test suite is an asset, and where it lives decides how easy leaving is. Maestro flows are YAML files and the framework is Apache 2.0 licensed, so the files can move to your own machines. TestGrid says its test code can be downloaded as open source. Katalon and Testsigma keep authoring in their own editors, so more of the logic stays inside the vendor's format.
Plain Appium scripts run on Kobiton, Sauce Labs, BrowserStack or AWS Device Farm with little more than a changed endpoint. Ask each vendor what leaves with you on cancellation: scripts, run history, screenshots and videos, and in what format. A tool that cannot show a sample export before you sign is telling you something about the exit.
Ask for a sample export of tests and results
Check whether scripts are plain code or editor-bound
Keep test code in your own repository
Buying mobile app testing software without a partner
Some vendors can be bought online and left by cancelling; others need a call before you see a figure. Appetize, Kobiton's Startup and Accelerate tiers, Sauce Labs and HeadSpin's Lite and Go post prices. Testsigma shows custom pricing on both plans, and Bitbar's pricing page lists a trial and contact numbers.
Private device clouds, dedicated devices and on-premise labs usually sit behind sales on every vendor, including Kobiton, Pcloudy and TestGrid. That is acceptable if you need them, but test the vendor's self-serve path first: start the trial, run real builds, and see what the bill becomes before signing a long term. Kobiton's Scale tier, for example, is annual only, which turns a trial decision into a twelve-month one.
Start the trial with a real build
Ask what needs a sales contract and what does not
Confirm the term length and cancellation terms in writing
What goes wrong most often when buying mobile app testing software
Buying the biggest device list instead of checking which handsets and OS versions your own users run.
Sizing a plan for one tester and discovering that CI pipelines need several parallel sessions.
Treating emulator results as proof for camera, sensor, battery or vendor-skin behaviour.
Writing every test in a vendor editor and finding out at cancellation that no portable export exists.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best mobile app testing software in 2026?
Maestro takes first place among the 12 we reviewed. Maestro tests are short YAML files, and the CLI and Studio run free on your own devices under the Apache 2.0 licence.
Hosted Android, iOS and web devices cost a published monthly rate per device, sized by how many tests run at once. That makes parallel speed the bill: more concurrency means more devices. The privacy notice names only mobile.dev and US servers, so the company's seat is unknown.
Which mobile app testing tools publish their pricing?
9 out of 12 state a price model on their own site:
Maestro: Free local CLI and Studio, open source; hosted cloud priced per device per month, published; Enterprise custom.
Kobiton: Self-serve plans with published monthly minutes; Scale annual only; Enterprise by request; free trial.
Appetize: Free plan for one user; paid plans published monthly or annual, minutes metered beyond the allowance; Enterprise custom.
TestGrid: Starter priced per seat per month, published, with a token allowance; Growth and custom device lab by contact; free trial on request.
HeadSpin: Cloud Test Lite and Go from published monthly prices; Pro by contact; free trial bookable.
Sauce Labs: Live, virtual-device and real-device plans published monthly or annual; Enterprise by request; free trial.
Katalon: Free Studio edition; Professional per seat per month, published; Enterprise custom; 30-day trial.
BrowserStack: Per-product pricing, some prices published and large teams via Contact Sales; free trial.
AWS Device Farm: Metered per device minute or unmetered per slot, published; one-time free trial of device minutes.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free mobile app testing tool?
Maestro, Appetize, Katalon come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these mobile app testing software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 2 countries and 2 regions, North America 6, Elsewhere 6:
Maestro: Not stated by the vendor.
Kobiton: United States.
Appetize: Not stated by the vendor.
TestGrid: United States.
Pcloudy: Not stated by the vendor.
Testsigma: United States.
HeadSpin: Not stated by the vendor.
Sauce Labs: United States.
Katalon: United States.
BrowserStack: Not stated by the vendor.
Bitbar: United States.
AWS Device Farm: Not stated by the vendor.
Which mobile app testing tools are open source?
Maestro.
Which mobile app testing tools can you host yourself?
Kobiton, TestGrid, Pcloudy, Testsigma. 8 products offer no self-hosted option.
What should you use instead of Maestro?
Kobiton and Appetize are the next two on this page. Kobiton is for Mobile-focused teams that want a device cloud with a clear entry plan; Appetize is for teams sharing live app builds with testers, support staff or sales.
Who should not buy Maestro?
Buyers who need a vendor with a stated country and address. Cloud price scales with concurrent devices, so a large suite that must finish quickly costs more..
Do you make a mobile app testing software product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.