Prompt management software keeps prompts out of application code, with version history, release labels and a test bench.
This guide ranks eleven products on setup effort, the bill once usage grows, whether prompts and their full version history can be exported, vendor independence, and the kind of team each product suits.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What prompt management software does
Prompt management software stores, versions, tests and serves the prompts an AI application sends to language models, so they can change without a code deployment or a developer release.
Each prompt management tool was put through the same five questions, in sequence: how hard is setup, what does it really cost, how does data come back out, can you leave, and who is it for. One rule overrides the order: smaller vendors take the first three places when the category offers them, and the best-known brands start at four. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Monthly plans on the site, plus a free plan for a local playground; paid plans start with a 7-day trial and exclude inference costs, which come from your own API keys
Yes
Solo prompt engineers and small teams comparing prompts across many models
Organisations needing release workflows, audit logs or vendor-signed contracts
Published per-seat plans with a free plan of one seat; trace volume beyond the base allowance is pay-as-you-go; Enterprise custom with self-hosted option
Yes
Teams already building agents with LangChain frameworks who want prompt history
Teams outside the LangChain ecosystem wanting seat-free pricing
Countries listed are the vendor's base or contracting party. Hosting location can differ, and entries mention it when it does.
Prompt registry with a visual editor for non-engineers, priced in plain tiers
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Prompt Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The pricing page sets the Free plan at five users, one workspace and ten prompts, with unlimited prompts from Pro upward. Team adds webhooks and a larger dataset allowance; overage is charged per transaction on Pro and Team.
Free, Pro and Team run as cloud in the United States, and self-hosted deployment or an EU region is an Enterprise option. The company says it is located in New York City.
What stands out
Prompt registry
Visual editor
Tiered plans
Where it costs you
The Free plan stores 10 prompts and 250 evaluation cell runs a month, which a real project exhausts quickly.
Role-based access control and deployment approvals are listed for Enterprise only.
Right for
Product teams where domain experts, not engineers, must edit prompts
Wrong for
Teams needing release approvals without an Enterprise contract
United StatesPlans listed per month, starting with a free plan; usage beyond the included requests billed per transaction; Enterprise by arrangement
Git-style prompt versioning with a public prompt library for teams
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Prompt Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The home page describes git-based versioning with a simple API, a playground, evaluations run in a simple interface and prompt chains. A request is defined as a call to an LLM provider from the playground, the API or a form.
Free allows 2,000 requests a month, Pro 10,000 and Team 50,000, each with a monthly allowance of prompt enhancements. The pages read name no country of establishment.
What stands out
Git-based versioning
Public library
Request-capped
Where it costs you
Every prompt on the Free plan is public, so private company prompts require Pro or Team.
SOC 2 is shown as in progress on the Enterprise column.
Right for
Small teams wanting git-like prompt versions and a shared community library
Wrong for
Companies whose security review needs a finished SOC 2 report
Not stated by the vendorPublished plans billed monthly or yearly, with a free plan where every prompt is public; paid tiers add private prompts and higher request caps
A prompt IDE built from blocks, run by a single named owner
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Prompt Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The site lists 15 providers and over 150 models, prompts built from text and data blocks with variants, test datasets, automatic evaluators, completion ratings, cost estimates and a full changelog.
Data exports as txt, csv, xlsx or json. The free Forge playground stores data locally and uses OpenAI models; Single and Team plans sync to the cloud, and Team includes three users.
What stands out
Prompt IDE
Block composition
Bring your own keys
Where it costs you
Terms state the service is owned and operated by one named individual, which concentrates continuity risk.
Subscriptions include no inference budget, so model costs arrive as separate provider bills.
Right for
Solo prompt engineers and small teams comparing prompts across many models
Wrong for
Organisations needing release workflows, audit logs or vendor-signed contracts
PortugalMonthly plans on the site, plus a free plan for a local playground; paid plans start with a 7-day trial and exclude inference costs, which come from your own API keys
Spreadsheet-style prompt testing and deployment from a Prague company
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Prompt Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The pricing page sets Free at unlimited users, two prompts and 30 days of data retention, Pro at one user and 20 prompts, and Team at ten users with unlimited prompts, a year of retention, radars and alerts.
The privacy policy names LANGTAIL.COM s.r.o., seated in Prague 2. The about page says the founders previously built Avocode; the policy was last updated April 2024.
What stands out
Spreadsheet interface
Prompt testing
Prague-based
Where it costs you
The free plan allows two prompts or assistants and 1,000 logs a month; Pro is limited to one user.
Self hosting is listed for Enterprise only, and the site header promotes a separate product, so confirm the roadmap.
Right for
Product teams wanting spreadsheet-style prompt tests without writing any code
Wrong for
Buyers needing self hosting without an Enterprise contract
CzechiaMonthly prices listed, with a free plan limited to two prompts; Pro and Team are sized by prompt count and seats; Enterprise adds self hosting
Open source request logging gateway with prompts referenced by ID
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Prompt Management Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
The Hobby plan covers 10,000 requests, 1 GB of storage and one seat. Pro and Team carry unlimited seats, with Team adding five organisations and SOC-2 and HIPAA compliance; Enterprise lists SAML SSO and on-prem deployment.
Docs show a prompt_id parameter that replaces a hard-coded message, with the template kept in Helicone. Terms identify Helicone, Inc., governed by California law.
What stands out
Open source gateway
Prompts by ID
Usage-based
Where it costs you
Prompts are one feature of a logging gateway, so the prompt tooling is thinner than dedicated products.
The site banner announces a separation from Mintlify without detail, so ownership terms are unclear.
Right for
Engineers who already route model calls through a gateway and want prompts there
Wrong for
Teams wanting a prompt tool with no gateway in the request path
United StatesListed monthly plans, including a free plan (Hobby); Pro and Team add a 7-day trial and usage-based charges; Enterprise by contact
Prompt versioning with automated tests before changes reach production
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Prompt Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The Starter plan lists unlimited test cases per prompt, team members, repositories and criteria, plus a real-time API. Enterprise adds a Dockerised solution, a custom server and requested features.
The home page describes auto-generated retrieval of prompts and end-to-end LLM testing before updates reach production, and quotes its own chief executive calling it the new Git of AI. No prices beyond Starter are shown.
What stands out
Prompt versioning
CI testing
Free Starter
Where it costs you
The pages read name no company address or country of establishment.
Knowledge base and live chat features are labelled coming soon on the site.
Right for
Small engineering teams wanting prompt tests wired into a delivery pipeline
Wrong for
Buyers who need a named legal entity and a security report
Not stated by the vendorFree Starter plan for each organisation with unlimited members; Enterprise by enquiry adds a Dockerised deployment
Evaluation platform where UI-edited prompts are called by slug
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Prompt Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Docs describe two ways to run a prompt: invoke it on Braintrust, which makes and logs the model call, or load it with loadPrompt and send the request through your own client.
The pricing page shows Starter with unlimited users, projects, datasets and playgrounds, Pro with 30-day retention and RBAC, and Enterprise with on-prem or hosted deployment. Terms identify Braintrust Data, Inc., under California law.
What stands out
Eval-first platform
Prompts by slug
Metered usage
Where it costs you
Starter keeps data for 14 days and includes 1 GB of processed data.
Charges accrue per gigabyte and per thousand scores, which makes the monthly bill harder to forecast.
Right for
Teams that gate every prompt change on scored evaluation results
Wrong for
Teams wanting a flat price and a simple prompt library
United StatesPublished platform fee with a free plan (Starter); data, scores and model credits metered beyond the included amounts; Enterprise custom
AI gateway whose paid plan unlocks unlimited prompt templates
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Prompt Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
On the pricing page, Prompt Management appears on all plans: playground, API endpoints, versioning and variables. Production adds role-based access control and service account keys, and Enterprise lists private cloud and VPC hosting.
The gateway repository carries an MIT licence with copyright to Portkey, Inc., and the terms page gives a San Francisco address. Enterprise prices are not published and are arranged through sales.
What stands out
Gateway-based
Template cap on free
Log-metered
Where it costs you
The free Developer plan is limited to three prompt templates and says it is not suitable for production workloads.
Retention is 3 days for logs on the free plan and 30 days on Production.
Right for
Teams routing traffic through one gateway that also hosts their templates
Wrong for
Teams that want prompt storage without a gateway dependency
United StatesPublished plans with a free plan for developers capped at three prompt templates; production plan billed with log overages; Enterprise custom
Prompt Management in the docs covers prompt types, versioning, labels and configuration, and links prompts to traces so performance can be compared by version. Self-hosting runs on Docker Compose, Kubernetes, or Terraform modules for AWS, Azure and GCP.
The imprint names Langfuse GmbH in Berlin; the repository licence names ClickHouse, Inc. as copyright holder. Pro keeps three years of data and Enterprise adds audit logs.
What stands out
Open source core
Labels and versions
Self-hosting guides
Where it costs you
Enterprise add-ons in the repository need a licence key, so a self-hosted install is not the full product.
Langfuse joined ClickHouse in January 2026, so independence from a larger owner no longer holds.
Right for
Engineering teams wanting prompt versions tied to traces, with self-hosting available
Wrong for
Buyers who require a vendor with no parent company
GermanyPublished tiers from a free plan on cloud (Hobby) to a top enterprise plan, metered by units of usage; core code can be self-hosted
Apache 2.0 prompt library that links each version to its trace
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Prompt Management Software in 2026.
Open sourcePublished pricingNorth America
Docs show prompts pushed from code, fetched by version number or by environment such as production, and chat prompts with system, user and assistant roles.
The repository carries the Apache-2.0 licence, and the open source version has the same codebase as the hosted ones. Cloud Pro supports up to 50 team members and 100k spans a month. Comet states it is headquartered in New York City, with offices in Tel Aviv.
What stands out
Apache 2.0
Prompt library
Span-metered
Where it costs you
The free cloud plan caps usage at 25k spans a month with 60-day retention.
Prompt Library is one module inside a larger tracing product.
Right for
Teams wanting an Apache-licensed library that records which prompt version ran
Wrong for
Teams wanting a standalone prompt editor without tracing
United StatesPublished plans: open source download at no charge, a free plan on cloud, a flat monthly Pro plan by span volume, and Enterprise custom
Prompt commits and tags inside LangChain's paid tracing platform
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Prompt Management Software in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Docs cover chat and completion prompt types, commits, tags for environments, and a playground that tests multiple prompts or runs over a dataset. Plus includes 10k base traces and a free serverless deployment.
LangChain says it is headquartered in San Francisco with offices in New York, Boston and Amsterdam, and calls LangSmith its commercial platform built from open source projects.
What stands out
Prompt commits
Per-seat plans
Hybrid hosting
Where it costs you
The Developer plan is limited to one seat and 5k base traces a month.
Self-hosted and hybrid deployment are listed under Enterprise only.
Right for
Teams already building agents with LangChain frameworks who want prompt history
Wrong for
Teams outside the LangChain ecosystem wanting seat-free pricing
United StatesPublished per-seat plans with a free plan of one seat; trace volume beyond the base allowance is pay-as-you-go; Enterprise custom with self-hosted option
Prompt management software stores, versions, tests and serves the prompts an AI application sends to language models, so they can change without a code deployment or a developer release. Rather than compare features, settle the following points one after another.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
Pricing is public for every product ranked here (PromptLayer, PromptHub, Promptmetheus, Langtail, Helicone, Prompteams, Braintrust, Portkey, Langfuse, Opik, LangSmith), which makes a spreadsheet comparison possible before any sales conversation.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
The vendors on this page are based in 5 countries (North America 6, Europe 3, Elsewhere 2). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.
03
Check the open source options
Open source here means Helicone, Langfuse, Opik. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
Prompt management software: who may publish a prompt change
A prompt edited in a browser reaches production the moment it is labelled live, so the approval rules decide how risky the tool is. Langfuse uses versions and labels, and the SDK keeps a local cache. Braintrust loads a prompt by slug, and UI edits take effect without a redeploy.
PromptLayer keeps role-based access control and deployment approvals in its Enterprise column, so a team on the Team plan has no formal release gate. Portkey lists role-based access from its Production plan upward. Ask who can move a label, whether a change can be rolled back by choosing an earlier version, and whether the approval step costs extra before you commit. Also ask how the tool records who changed what and when.
Find which plan includes role-based access and deployment approvals
Test a rollback by re-labelling an earlier prompt version
Confirm that non-engineers can edit without touching the code repository
Counting what prompt management software charges for
Vendors meter different things, so headline prices do not compare. PromptLayer counts requests and eval cell runs, Langfuse counts units, Opik and Braintrust count spans and scores, Portkey counts recorded logs, and PromptHub counts calls to model providers. LangSmith charges per seat plus trace usage. Langtail caps the number of prompts: two on Free and twenty on Pro.
Promptmetheus charges for the workbench only, and inference stays on your own provider keys. Prompteams lists its Starter plan as free for each organisation. Estimate a month of real traffic, count seats and prompts, and add the overage rate before choosing the cheaper-looking plan. A plan that looks cheapest at ten prompts can turn expensive at fifty, so project the count you expect in a year.
Convert your monthly model calls into each vendor's billing unit
Count seats and the number of prompts you will store
Add the overage rate and the retention period to the total
A prompt tool or a prompt feature inside a platform
Two kinds of product share this category. Dedicated tools such as PromptLayer, PromptHub, Promptmetheus and Prompteams put the prompt at the centre. Platform products such as Helicone, Braintrust, Portkey, LangSmith and Opik treat prompts as one module beside logging, gateways or evaluation. Helicone references a stored prompt by ID through its gateway, so prompts sit in the request path.
Portkey's free plan stores three templates. The trade is clear: a platform links each prompt version to its traces, while a dedicated tool is easier to hand to non-engineers. Decide whether you already pay for a platform before adding another, and whether the prompt module can be cancelled separately from the rest of the contract.
List which observability or gateway tools you already pay for
Check whether the prompt module is capped on the free plan
Confirm that prompt versions link to traces or test runs
Leaving a prompt tool: licences, exports and owners
Your prompts are text, but their history, labels and test results are not always portable. Langfuse's core is MIT-licensed outside its enterprise directories, Opik carries Apache-2.0, and Helicone is Apache 2.0, so self-hosting is a fallback. PromptLayer and Langtail reserve self-hosted deployment for Enterprise. Promptmetheus exports prompts and completions in four file formats.
Ownership also moves: Langfuse joined ClickHouse in January 2026, and Helicone's site announces it is no longer part of Mintlify. Ask for an export of versions and labels, read the licence, and note who owns the vendor today. Do this before the pilot, because a pilot that has accumulated hundreds of prompt versions is harder to move.
Export one prompt with its full version history as a test
Read the repository licence before relying on self-hosting
Check the vendor site for recent ownership announcements
What goes wrong most often when buying prompt management software
Choosing on the free plan and discovering that the cap, such as two prompts at Langtail or three templates at Portkey, ends before the pilot does.
Putting company prompts on a plan where they are public, as PromptHub's Free plan does, because the pricing grid was read for price only.
Assuming the open source repository equals the product, when Langfuse keeps enterprise add-ons behind a licence key and PromptLayer reserves self-hosting for Enterprise.
Buying a full evaluation platform to store a dozen prompts, then paying for data and score meters that a lighter tool would not charge.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best prompt management software in 2026?
Our ranking of 11 puts PromptLayer first. PromptLayer treats the prompt as a content item that domain experts can edit and release without a code deploy. Plans are published and there is a free plan.
The catch sits in governance: role-based access and deployment approvals appear only in the Enterprise column, so a mid-sized team on Team has no formal release gate.
Which prompt management tools publish their pricing?
11 out of 11 state a price model on their own site:
PromptLayer: Plans listed per month, starting with a free plan; usage beyond the included requests billed per transaction; Enterprise by arrangement.
PromptHub: Published plans billed monthly or yearly, with a free plan where every prompt is public; paid tiers add private prompts and higher request caps.
Promptmetheus: Monthly plans on the site, plus a free plan for a local playground; paid plans start with a 7-day trial and exclude inference costs, which come from your own API keys.
Langtail: Monthly prices listed, with a free plan limited to two prompts; Pro and Team are sized by prompt count and seats; Enterprise adds self hosting.
Helicone: Listed monthly plans, including a free plan (Hobby); Pro and Team add a 7-day trial and usage-based charges; Enterprise by contact.
Prompteams: Free Starter plan for each organisation with unlimited members; Enterprise by enquiry adds a Dockerised deployment.
Braintrust: Published platform fee with a free plan (Starter); data, scores and model credits metered beyond the included amounts; Enterprise custom.
Portkey: Published plans with a free plan for developers capped at three prompt templates; production plan billed with log overages; Enterprise custom.
Langfuse: Published tiers from a free plan on cloud (Hobby) to a top enterprise plan, metered by units of usage; core code can be self-hosted.
Opik: Published plans: open source download at no charge, a free plan on cloud, a flat monthly Pro plan by span volume, and Enterprise custom.
LangSmith: Published per-seat plans with a free plan of one seat; trace volume beyond the base allowance is pay-as-you-go; Enterprise custom with self-hosted option.
The remaining 0 sell by quote.
Is there a free prompt management tool?
PromptLayer, PromptHub, Promptmetheus, Langtail, Helicone, Prompteams, Braintrust, Portkey, Langfuse, LangSmith can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these prompt management software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 5 countries and 3 regions, North America 6, Europe 3, Elsewhere 2:
PromptLayer: United States.
PromptHub: Not stated by the vendor.
Promptmetheus: Portugal.
Langtail: Czechia.
Helicone: United States.
Prompteams: Not stated by the vendor.
Braintrust: United States.
Portkey: United States.
Langfuse: Germany.
Opik: United States.
LangSmith: United States.
Which prompt management tools are open source?
Helicone, Langfuse, Opik.
Which prompt management tools can you host yourself?
Helicone, Langfuse, LangSmith. 8 products offer no self-hosted option.
What should you use instead of PromptLayer?
PromptHub and Promptmetheus are the next two on this page. PromptHub is for small teams wanting git-like prompt versions and a shared community library; Promptmetheus is for Solo prompt engineers and small teams comparing prompts across many models.
Who should not buy PromptLayer?
Teams needing release approvals without an Enterprise contract. The Free plan stores 10 prompts and 250 evaluation cell runs a month, which a real project exhausts quickly..
We rank 11 prompt management software products on this page. If we missed one, its maker can write to us about its purpose and customers. We pick what gets added; the terms of a listing are set out under software advice.