Container security software finds vulnerabilities in images, checks Kubernetes configuration and watches running containers for attacks.
This guide ranks twelve products on setup effort, what the bill becomes once runtime and compliance modules are added, how findings and SBOMs can be exported, and whether you can run the product without a partner or suite.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What container security software does
Container security software scans images and Kubernetes configuration for weaknesses, enforces policy before deployment and detects or blocks suspicious behaviour in running containers.
Each container security tool was put through the same five questions, in sequence: how hard is setup, what does it really cost, how does data come back out, can you leave, and who is it for. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Self-installed SBOM and image scanning with policy gates, sized by SBOMs per month
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Container Security Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
For container security, Anchore sits at the image and SBOM end of the chain. The platform page says it imports SBOMs in CycloneDX and SPDX formats, rescans them without the original artifacts, and applies policy packs for NIST, FedRAMP and DISA.
Its runtime view is an inventory across EKS, ECS, GKE and OpenShift, sold as an add-on. That makes it a sound first purchase for compliance-driven scanning, with a separate runtime tool alongside.
What stands out
SBOM-based scanning
Self-installed
Policy packs
Where it costs you
Tiers are sized by SBOMs per month, so a busy build pipeline can outgrow the quoted tier.
The pricing page does not mention SaaS, so someone on your side has to install and run it.
Right for
Teams that want stored SBOMs rescanned against new vulnerabilities, inside their own cluster or AWS account
Wrong for
Buyers who expect detection of an attack on a live container
United StatesQuoted per deployment; tiers sized by SBOMs per month; trial offered, terms not stated
Apache-licensed Kubernetes scanner for manifests, Helm charts and live clusters
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Container Security Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Kubescape starts from Kubernetes configuration: it reads manifests and Helm charts before deployment and running clusters afterwards, and it maps findings to named frameworks such as CIS Benchmarks and SOC 2.
It also validates network policies and seccomp profiles. Plugins exist for VS Code, Lens, GitHub Actions and GitLab CI. Image scanning is one feature among several rather than the centre of the tool.
What stands out
CNCF incubating
Posture scanning
Open source
Where it costs you
The project site names no support commitment, so incident help depends on community channels or on ARMO's separate platform.
Output lands as console text, JSON, JUnit, HTML or PDF, so someone must build the dashboard and ticket flow.
Right for
Platform teams that want cluster posture checks in CI without a licence fee
Wrong for
Organisations that need a vendor to carry support and reporting
Not stated by the vendorFree and open source (Apache-2.0); no paid tier described on the project site
CNCF-graduated runtime detection that watches syscalls and raises alerts from rules
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Container Security Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Falco hooks into the kernel through either a modern eBPF probe or a kernel module and compares activity to rules. Event sources include syscalls, Kubernetes audit logs, AWS CloudTrail and systems such as GitHub and Okta.
Falcosidekick sends events to more than 50 outputs. It costs nothing to run, and the cost lands in rule tuning and alert handling by your own staff.
What stands out
CNCF graduated
Runtime detection
eBPF or kernel module
Where it costs you
Rules decide what is flagged, so the quality of detection depends on whoever writes and tunes them.
Falco forwards alerts through Falcosidekick but is not an incident console, so triage tooling must be added.
Right for
Teams that already scan images and need runtime alerts they control
Wrong for
Buyers wanting vulnerability scanning and reporting in one product
Not stated by the vendorFree and open source (Apache-2.0); rules and outputs maintained by you
Command-line vulnerability scanner for container images, filesystems and SBOMs
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Container Security Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingNorth America
Grype installs with a script, Homebrew, Docker, Chocolatey or MacPorts, and scans with a single command such as grype followed by a directory or image. OpenVEX support lets known non-issues be filtered out of results.
Because it reads SBOMs, a build can generate the inventory once and scan it repeatedly. Anchore sells commercial support, which is the route when a team wants someone accountable.
What stands out
Open source
CLI scanner
Reads SBOMs
Where it costs you
Results exist only where you store them, so trends over time need your own pipeline.
Images in a local containers-storage store are scanned on Linux only, and only with an explicit flag.
Right for
Developers who want a scanner in CI that accepts Syft SBOMs
Wrong for
Security teams needing dashboards, approvals and compliance evidence
United StatesFree and open source (Apache-2.0); commercial support sold by Anchore
Apache-licensed scanner for images, repositories, Kubernetes and infrastructure code
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Container Security Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingMiddle East
Trivy is written in Go and runs in CI pipelines, as a Docker extension or against a Kubernetes cluster. The same binary finds known vulnerabilities and infrastructure-code misconfigurations.
It sits next to Aqua's commercial platform, which adds the features Trivy lacks. A team that starts with Trivy can add a dashboard later, but then pays Aqua rather than the open source project.
What stands out
Open source
Multi-target scanner
Maintained by Aqua
Where it costs you
The project site does not say whether a paid tier exists, so support terms must be confirmed with Aqua.
Alert history and ownership of fixes stay outside the tool unless you connect it to something else.
Right for
Engineers who want one command that covers images, repos and clusters
Wrong for
Teams needing runtime blocking or a managed console
IsraelFree and open source (Apache-2.0); copyright held by Aqua Security
SUSE's open source container firewall and runtime scanner for Kubernetes clusters
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Container Security Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestEurope
NeuVector ships as manager, controller, enforcer, scanner and updater images, so it lives inside the cluster. Its Layer 7 view learns which pods talk to which and can block deviations.
Reporting covers PCI DSS, HIPAA and GDPR, and audits use Docker Bench and the Kubernetes CIS Benchmark. SSO works through LDAP and SAML. Running it means operating several in-cluster components.
What stands out
Open source
Layer 7 firewall
Owned by SUSE
Where it costs you
The product page gives no prices, so the subscription cost is only known after a conversation with SUSE.
The page offers a demo link rather than a described free trial, so evaluation means self-installing the open source build.
Right for
Kubernetes operators who want network segmentation and runtime blocking with source code access
Wrong for
Teams wanting agentless scanning without installing cluster components
LuxembourgOpen source (Apache-2.0); support subscription priced per node, quoted by SUSE
Runtime-first cloud and container security built around Falco, priced per host
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Container Security Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
In this market Sysdig is the runtime-first option. Its Secure page describes an agent that filters out vulnerabilities tied to unused packages, plus drift control and Falco rules from its own threat research team.
Its detection product is charged for each host under watch. The pricing page lists SaaS regions in the US, Europe, Asia-Pacific and the Middle East, and links an on-premises option. Expect a platform that also covers cloud posture, which widens the scope beyond containers.
What stands out
Falco-based
Per-host licence
Runtime prioritisation
Where it costs you
Host-based licensing means the bill follows the number of nodes you run.
The pricing page offers a quote and a demo but mentions no trial.
Right for
Teams that want to fix only the vulnerabilities in packages that actually execute
Wrong for
Buyers who need nothing beyond a pre-deployment image check
United StatesQuoted per organisation; licensed per host for the CNAPP offering; demo on request
Image assurance, admission control and kernel-level runtime enforcement, SaaS or air-gapped
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Container Security Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestMiddle East
Aqua covers both stages of container security in one vendor. The container page lists image scanning, a dynamic analysis sandbox, assurance policies, KubeEnforcer admission control and a runtime Enforcer, with MicroEnforcer for Fargate.
Registries include ECR, Harbor, JFrog Artifactory and Red Hat Quay. It runs as SaaS or fully self-hosted. The company also holds the copyright on Trivy, so the free scanner and the commercial platform share a maker.
What stands out
Runtime enforcer
SaaS or air-gapped
Maintains Trivy
Where it costs you
The container line has many modules, from sandbox to enforcers, so initial policy setup takes longer.
Pricing splits between repositories and workloads, which makes one combined figure hard to estimate.
Right for
Organisations that need to block unapproved executables at runtime, including in air-gapped networks
Wrong for
Teams that want one scanner and nothing else to configure
IsraelQuoted per organisation; priced per workload or per code repository; trial on request
Developer-facing scanning with a Container product, from a capped free plan to credits
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Container Security Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Snyk is the cheapest way into this category to try, since the Free plan includes 100 Container tests a month, and Team starts at 25 a month for up to ten developers.
Enterprise moves to prepaid credits at 1 each, with a monitored image costing 0.33 credits a day. It links container registries and Kubernetes. Weigh it as a build-time scanner that belongs to a wider developer security product, not a runtime defence.
What stands out
Developer workflow
Free plan
Credit billing
Where it costs you
The docs describe image scanning only, so a running container gets no protection from it.
Free-plan limits of 5 projects and 100 container tests make larger estates move to a paid plan quickly.
Right for
Developers who want image findings next to code and dependency results, starting at no cost
Wrong for
Security teams looking to stop an attack as it happens in a cluster
United StatesFree plan with capped tests; Team plan for up to ten developers, prices published; Enterprise credits quoted
Image analysis and SBOMs inside Docker Hub, the CLI and a dashboard
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Container Security Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Scout is bundled into Docker plans rather than priced alone. Policy library and alerting is Basic on Pro and Standard on Team and Business, and Team and Business allow unlimited SDLC integrations.
The Personal limit of one repository suits a trial but not a portfolio. Because licensing follows Docker's per-user subscription, cost scales with developer headcount, not with the number of images or clusters scanned.
What stands out
Docker native
Per-user plans
Proprietary
Where it costs you
Scout access depends on a Docker subscription, so seats are bought for developers who may not otherwise need one.
The documentation describes image analysis only, with no runtime enforcement for clusters.
Right for
Teams already on Docker Hub who want image findings without another vendor
Wrong for
Organisations running Kubernetes at scale that need cluster-level controls
United StatesFree plan with one Scout-enabled repository; Pro, Team and Business billed per user, prices published
Kubernetes security bundled with OpenShift Platform Plus, with a managed cloud service
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Container Security Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Advanced Cluster Security targets Kubernetes-native workloads and shows risk in a real-time dashboard. Automated compliance checks and vulnerability management sit alongside policies that apply at deploy time and runtime.
It comes with OpenShift Platform Plus, so the effective price depends on the platform deal. Outside that bundle you buy through AWS Marketplace, and the vendor's own page gives no figure to compare.
What stands out
OpenShift bundle
Policy enforcement
Part of IBM
Where it costs you
The product page shows no price, so the cost outside the OpenShift bundle is unknown.
The page names no self-managed variant, only the cloud service.
Right for
OpenShift customers who get the product inside their platform subscription
Wrong for
Buyers with no Red Hat estate looking for the cheapest start
United StatesBundled in OpenShift Platform Plus or bought on AWS Marketplace; 60-day self-supported trial
Palo Alto Networks' CNAPP covering image scanning and runtime defence, licensed by credits
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Container Security Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Prisma Cloud offers the full container path from one supplier. Its container page covers scanning in CI/CD and registries, trusted images, and runtime defence that profiles containers and blocks unusual behaviour.
Buyers can choose agent or agentless deployment, and the product page mentions a self-hosted Compute Edition. Licensing is credit-based with no prices shown and a demo instead of a trial, so the real cost only appears in a quote.
What stands out
Credit licensing
Runtime defence
Platform suite
Where it costs you
Credits are drawn down across modules, so forecasting container spend alone is hard.
Host protection is a separate module, so covering nodes as well as containers adds a line to the contract.
Right for
Enterprises already standardising on Palo Alto Networks that want scanning and runtime defence under one licence
Wrong for
Small teams that need a single priced scanner and a trial to test it
United StatesCredit-based licensing; product page lists no prices, demo requested
Container security software scans images and Kubernetes configuration for weaknesses, enforces policy before deployment and detects or blocks suspicious behaviour in running containers. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Check who publishes a price
Only 6 of the 12 print a price; 6 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Kubescape, Falco, Grype, Trivy, Snyk, Docker Scout.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
Headquarters range over 4 countries and 4 regions: North America 7, Middle East 2, Elsewhere 2, Europe 1. Legal exposure follows the vendor, not only the data centre, so read the contracting entity before you sign.
03
Decide if open source matters
5 of these are open source: Kubescape, Falco, Grype, Trivy, NeuVector. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Container security software: scanner, runtime sensor, or both?
The first decision is which stage you are buying for. Grype and Trivy scan images and filesystems before deployment and say nothing about a container that is attacked tomorrow. Falco does the opposite: it reads syscalls and Kubernetes audit logs and raises alerts, but its project page describes no image scanning.
NeuVector and Aqua Security combine both, and Sysdig ranks vulnerabilities by what actually runs. Single-stage tools cost less to start and leave a gap you must fill with a second tool. Suites cover both stages and ask you to run more components. Decide which stage hurts today, then check whether the product covers it by name.
Does the vendor page name image scanning, admission control and runtime detection separately?
Which stage would still be uncovered if you bought only this product?
Does it need an agent on every node to work?
How Anchore, Aqua Security and Prisma Cloud count what you use
Container security pricing hides in the billing unit. Anchore tiers by SBOMs per month, from 500 to 4,000 on its commercial side. Aqua Security counts repositories for developer scanning and workloads for cloud scanning. Sysdig counts hosts, Prisma Cloud spends credits across modules, and Snyk Enterprise charges 0.33 credits per monitored image per day.
NeuVector subscriptions are described by SUSE as per node. A cluster that autoscales behaves differently under each unit. Ask for a quote built on your own peak numbers: images in the registry, nodes at maximum, repositories and builds per month, then compare the totals.
Which unit does the quote count: hosts, nodes, repositories, images, SBOMs or credits?
What happens to the price when the cluster autoscales to its peak?
Are runtime or inventory modules a separate line item?
What Falco, Trivy and Kubescape cost when the licence costs nothing
Falco, Trivy, Grype, Kubescape and NeuVector are all Apache 2.0, so the licence fee is zero and the cost moves to people. Someone writes and tunes Falco rules, stores Trivy and Grype output, and builds the dashboard that Kubescape's JSON and PDF exports lack.
Support is the other gap: Anchore sells commercial support for Grype, and SUSE sells NeuVector subscriptions. Estimate hours per month for tuning and triage, multiply by an internal rate and set it beside a quote. For a small team the open source route often wins on cash and loses on attention.
Who will own rule tuning and alert triage each week?
Where do scan results get stored, and for how long?
Which project has paid support, and from which company?
Getting out: SBOMs, exports and bundles
Exit is easiest where findings live in open formats. Anchore Enterprise imports SBOMs in Syft, CycloneDX and SPDX formats, and Grype reads Syft SBOMs, so the inventory moves with you. Docker Scout builds an SBOM too, but access sits inside a Docker subscription and its command-line tool is licensed under a proprietary Docker agreement.
Red Hat Advanced Cluster Security ships inside OpenShift Platform Plus, so leaving it often means leaving the bundle. Ask whether policies, exceptions and history export, not only vulnerability lists, because rebuilding policy is the real switching cost.
Can SBOMs and findings be exported in CycloneDX or SPDX?
Can policies and exceptions be exported, or only reports?
Is the product tied to a platform bundle you would also leave?
What goes wrong most often when buying container security software
Buying a scanner and assuming it protects running containers, when Grype, Trivy and Docker Scout describe image analysis only.
Comparing quotes from Sysdig, Aqua Security and Prisma Cloud without converting host, workload and credit units to your own cluster size.
Treating Apache-licensed tools such as Falco and Kubescape as costless, then finding nobody owns rule tuning or alert handling.
Accepting a free-plan limit, like Snyk's 100 Container tests a month, as enough for a registry with hundreds of images.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best container security software in 2026?
Anchore leads our ranking of 12. Anchore, based in Santa Barbara, California, sells Anchore Enterprise as software you install: an AWS machine image or container images deployed with Helm on Kubernetes.
Tiers are sized by SBOMs per month, 500 to 4,000 on the commercial side, and prices are quoted. It scans stored SBOMs again when new vulnerabilities appear. Runtime coverage on its pages is an inventory of running images, not threat detection, so pair it with a runtime tool.
Which container security tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Kubescape: Free and open source (Apache-2.0); no paid tier described on the project site.
Falco: Free and open source (Apache-2.0); rules and outputs maintained by you.
Grype: Free and open source (Apache-2.0); commercial support sold by Anchore.
Trivy: Free and open source (Apache-2.0); copyright held by Aqua Security.
Snyk: Free plan with capped tests; Team plan for up to ten developers, prices published; Enterprise credits quoted.
Docker Scout: Free plan with one Scout-enabled repository; Pro, Team and Business billed per user, prices published.
The remaining 6 sell by quote.
Is there a free container security tool?
Kubescape, Falco, Grype, Trivy, Snyk, Docker Scout offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these container security software vendors established?
Across 4 countries (North America 7, Middle East 2, Elsewhere 2, Europe 1):
Anchore: United States.
Kubescape: Not stated by the vendor.
Falco: Not stated by the vendor.
Grype: United States.
Trivy: Israel.
NeuVector: Luxembourg.
Sysdig: United States.
Aqua Security: Israel.
Snyk: United States.
Docker Scout: United States.
Red Hat Advanced Cluster Security: United States.
Prisma Cloud: United States.
Which container security tools are open source?
Kubescape, Falco, Grype, Trivy, NeuVector.
Which container security tools can you host yourself?
Aqua Security. The other 11 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Anchore?
The next in line are Kubescape, aimed at Platform teams that want cluster posture checks in CI without a licence fee, and Falco, aimed at teams that already scan images and need runtime alerts they control.
Who should not buy Anchore?
Buyers who expect detection of an attack on a live container. Tiers are sized by SBOMs per month, so a busy build pipeline can outgrow the quoted tier..
If your container security software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.