AI content detectors estimate whether text was produced by a language model, and the answer is a probability, not proof.
Vendors meter them by word, character or credit, sell to schools or to publishers, and report accuracy from their own tests. This guide ranks eleven products on setup, real cost, data exit, independence and buyer fit.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What AI content detectors software does
An AI content detector analyses text and returns an estimated likelihood that it was generated by a language model, usually per document and often per sentence, for teachers and editors.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each AI content detectors tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Quoted per institution; no price list on the pages reviewed
—
Universities needing AI findings inside the same system as similarity checks and grading
Freelancers and agencies wanting a self-serve detector with a card
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Published monthly plans from a single-purpose detector, API credits bundled
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best AI Content Detectors in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Pangram answers the setup test quickly: the pricing page lists a 7-day trial and self-serve plans, and Gmail, Google Docs and browser extension connections are named. For exit and independence, data submitted to registered accounts is deleted within thirty days of account closure, per the privacy policy.
The real price rises with scale: Individual allows 300,000 words a month, Professional adds API credits, and Team bills per seat. Expect disputes to run through arbitration, not a local court.
What stands out
SOC 2 Type 2
7-day trial
Image detection
Where it costs you
The terms name no country of establishment, so jurisdiction is unclear before signing
No writing or grammar tools sit alongside, so editors needing both must add a second product
Right for
Writers, editors and researchers wanting published plans and an API without a sales call
Wrong for
Schools needing one institution-wide contract with LMS reporting
Not stated by the vendorFree plan; published monthly plans, 7-day trial on paid tiers, team seats added per seat
One credit pool across text, image and plagiarism scans, registered in Montreal
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best AI Content Detectors in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Setup is light: a 14-day trial with 2,000 credits needs no sales contact, and an enterprise route exists for larger bodies. Real cost depends on credits, since Essential carries 100,000 a month, Advanced 200,000 and Elite 500,000, and top-up credits can be bought.
Exit is not documented on the pricing page, so ask how scan reports can be exported. The company is registered in Montreal, Canada.
What stands out
Credit-based
AI image detection
HUMN-1 certification
Where it costs you
Every scan type spends the same credits, so image and plagiarism checks shrink the text allowance
Annual and monthly amounts sit beside a discount code on the page, making the true rate hard to read
Right for
Content teams wanting text, image and plagiarism checks drawn from a single credit balance
Wrong for
Schools wanting institution-wide deployment under one contract and LMS reporting
Canada14-day trial with 2,000 credits, then published monthly or annual plans metered in credits
Word-credit AI and plagiarism checks shaped for publishers and content agencies
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best AI Content Detectors in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Originality.ai is easy to start: a free allowance of 10,000 words arrives once, with no subscription. The ladder then runs from Pro at 200,000 words a month to Enterprise at 1.5 million, and extra seats are priced per seat.
Pay-as-you-go credits expire two years after purchase. Plans are sold directly on the vendor site by a company based in Collingwood, Ontario. Exit through PDF download and shared reports exists, but a bulk export is not described.
What stands out
Credits per 100 words
Scan history
Agency seats
Where it costs you
Pro and Enterprise credits expire at month end, so unused volume is lost
API access is listed only on the Enterprise tier, which costs far more than Pro
Right for
Agencies and publishers scanning freelance copy in bulk and keeping scan history
Wrong for
Students checking one essay a term who gain nothing from team features
CanadaFree tier with one-time credits; published monthly plans in USD, one credit per 100 words
Education-led detector with writing replay and classroom integrations
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best AI Content Detectors in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
GPTZero lists SOC 2 Type II compliance and a trust centre, which shortens a security review. Setup is quick for a classroom: Canvas, Google Classroom, Google Docs, a Chrome extension, Zapier and an API are all named.
Writing Replay records the typing process, giving evidence beyond a score. Cost is the open question, since the team plan shows 500,000 words per member monthly but the individual table did not load. The company states a New York registered office.
What stands out
Writing replay
Canvas and Google Classroom
SOC 2 Type II
Where it costs you
The individual price table did not render in our fetch, so single-user cost is unverified
Team plans accept cards only and need two seats at least, with invoices handled by sales
Right for
Teachers and writers wanting a process record, not only a probability score
Wrong for
Teams that must pay by purchase order without contacting sales
United StatesPer-seat team plan with monthly word allowance; card payment only, invoices through sales
AI detector bundled with a writing assistant, limited by characters per check
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best AI Content Detectors in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestElsewhere
Sapling shows its limits openly: 2,000 characters per check at the free level, 100,000 on Pro, and five or ten files per batch. Individuals get an automatic trial after confirming an email, while teams request a quote.
API billing is separate and starts with a one-time minimum, so budget two lines. Hosting is in the United States and an Irish representative is named for EU and UK residents. Self-hosting is offered only on Enterprise.
What stands out
Character limits
Writing assistant bundle
API billed separately
Where it costs you
Detection is a feature of a writing assistant, so a detector-only buyer pays for unused tools
The free check covers only 2,000 characters, which is too short for most essays
Right for
Customer-support and sales teams already using Sapling who add detection to checks
Wrong for
Teachers wanting classroom reports, LMS integration and process evidence
Not stated by the vendorWriting-assistant subscription includes the detector; separate usage-based API plan; team quotes
Browser detector with a no-cost entry level, plus humanizer and paraphrasing tools
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best AI Content Detectors in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestNorth America
ZeroGPT starts with no payment: the page states a free level with no card needed. Beyond that, personal and business or education plans exist, and the API runs from a prepaid balance after you add credit and whitelist an IP.
The terms state that private user content is not placed in AI training datasets. The operator, Olive Works LLC, is organised in Wyoming. Exit and export terms for paid accounts were not visible.
What stands out
Prepaid API
Humanizer sold alongside
Image and video detectors
Where it costs you
Plan amounts did not load in our fetch, so cost cannot be compared with rivals
The same company sells an AI humanizer, a conflict of interest for a detector
Right for
Individuals wanting a no-cost browser check plus text tools in one account
Wrong for
Compliance teams needing published prices and a documented security programme
United StatesEntry level at no cost; personal, business and education plans; prepaid API balance; amounts not rendered
Multilingual detector inside a student writing suite, 1,000-character minimum
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best AI Content Detectors in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Smodin is quick to begin: paste text of 1,000 characters or more, or upload txt, doc, docx or pdf. The page claims 100+ languages, though the vendor admits its watermark check does not verify any provider's hidden key.
Starter and Premium are the paid tiers, and Premium removes usage limits. The company is Smodin LLC with a Dover, Delaware address. Check refund terms before paying, since the FAQ lists them as a question.
What stands out
100+ languages claimed
Starter and Premium
Humanizer sold alongside
Where it costs you
The accuracy figure is self-reported and no test set is named on the page
The company also promotes bypassing detectors, so its incentives point both ways
Right for
Students and writers who need many languages in one low-friction writing suite
Wrong for
Institutions needing audited accuracy, LMS integration and published rates
United StatesStarter and Premium subscriptions, billed monthly or annually; amounts not shown in our fetch
Sentence-level AI classification inside a plagiarism checker sold to schools
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best AI Content Detectors in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
PlagiarismCheck.org targets institutions: Advanced and Pro plans list LMS integration with Google Classroom, Moodle and Canvas, a personal archive and onboarding. Setup includes account training, and the Pro tier adds any-language interface.
Real cost is unknown until a quote arrives. Per-sentence labelling helps a teacher discuss a flag. The site states use by 200+ academic institutions. Exit terms and export formats are not shown, so request them in writing.
What stands out
Sentence-level scoring
LMS integrations
Quoted plans
Where it costs you
Institution plans are quoted on request, with no figures to compare
The pages we read name no country of establishment
Right for
Schools wanting plagiarism and sentence-level AI checks tied into Moodle or Canvas
Wrong for
Single writers wanting a published monthly price for detection only
Not stated by the vendorAdvanced and Pro institution plans quoted on request; individual rates not seen
French plagiarism and AI checker for teachers and students, hosted by OVH
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best AI Content Detectors in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Compilatio states its corporate record plainly: a simplified joint-stock company registered in Annecy, hosted by OVH. Magister serves teachers and needs a demo, while Studium lets students create an account to check work before submitting.
The AI function sits inside a plagiarism suite and names its output as passages potentially generated by AI. Real cost is unknown until a quote arrives. A reseller programme is advertised, so partner routes exist.
What stands out
Annecy, France
Magister and Studium
OVH hosting
Where it costs you
The vendor calls AI findings potential, so results need human judgement
Teacher edition has no public price, only a demo route
Right for
European schools wanting a French-hosted plagiarism and AI checker with teacher and student editions
Wrong for
Content agencies scanning large volumes of web copy
FranceTeacher edition by demo request; student edition through account creation
Short-text check without sign-up; Dutch detection sits behind a plagiarism check
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best AI Content Detectors in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Scribbr starts easily: no account is needed for the free English check, and premium begins at a listed starting price. Premium adds Dutch, English and German detection, but each check stays capped at 500 words on the page we read.
Independence is limited, since Learneo, Inc. owns and operates the service and the plagiarism check is run by Turnitin. Exit and data export terms sit in the security and privacy pages, which we did not review in full.
What stands out
Dutch support
500 words per check
Learneo owned
Where it costs you
Free checks cover English only and a maximum of 500 words each
Dutch detection requires buying the premium plagiarism check first
Right for
Dutch and Flemish students checking a thesis who want detection bundled with plagiarism
Wrong for
Teams scanning long web articles or wanting an API
NetherlandsFree for English texts up to 500 words; premium plagiarism check with a listed starting price
Institution-sold AI checker inside a similarity, grading and exam suite
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best AI Content Detectors in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Turnitin fits an institutional rollout: Similarity, iThenticate, Gradescope, ExamSoft and Turnitin Clarity share a vendor, and regional sites cover many countries. Setup means a sales conversation, with no first-ninety-day price in public view.
Independence is low, because the product is bought through a contract and designed around institutional accounts. The company publishes false positive research, which helps a committee setting policy. Turnitin, LLC cites California law in its website terms.
What stands out
Institution contracts
Detects humanizer tools
Integrity suite
Where it costs you
No price list appears, and the pages offer a sales contact instead of a card checkout
Detector-only buyers face a platform contract with suite products attached
Right for
Universities needing AI findings inside the same system as similarity checks and grading
Wrong for
Freelancers and agencies wanting a self-serve detector with a card
United StatesQuoted per institution; no price list on the pages reviewed
An AI content detector analyses text and returns an estimated likelihood that it was generated by a language model, usually per document and often per sentence, for teachers and editors. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
4 of the 11 tools here publish what they cost; the other 7 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Pangram, Winston AI, Originality.ai, Scribbr.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 11 vendors are established in 5 countries across 3 regions (North America 6, Elsewhere 3, Europe 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
How AI content detectors report accuracy, and why the numbers do not compare
Vendors publish figures that cannot be set side by side. Smodin claims 99.8 percent accuracy without naming a test set. PlagiarismCheck.org reports 99.23 percent of sentences correctly classified across seven recent models it tested itself. GPTZero shows a diagram labelled 99.9 percent accuracy, and says independent benchmarking favours its Advanced Scan.
Turnitin takes another route and publishes a page on false positive rates. Each number comes from the seller, on data the seller chose, and none says how the tool treats a non-native writer or a lightly edited draft. A score is a probability, not proof. Treat it as a reason to read the work closely and talk to the author, never as the whole case for a penalty or a rejection.
Ask for the test set, the date and who ran the test, not only the percentage.
Run ten of your own known-human and known-AI samples through each shortlisted tool.
Write a policy that treats a flag as a prompt for review, not a verdict.
Words, characters, credits and seats: how detectors meter usage
The unit of billing changes the real price. Originality.ai converts a credit to 100 words and lets Pro scan 200,000 words a month, while unused monthly credits lapse. Winston AI spends credits on text, image and plagiarism scans together. Pangram's Individual plan allows 300,000 words a month, with Team billed per seat.
Sapling caps a free check at 2,000 characters and a paid check at 100,000. Scribbr limits each check to 500 words. A teacher checking twenty essays a week and an agency scanning daily content need different meters. Estimate your monthly word count first, then compare plans on that number, including top-up prices, per-check limits and what happens to leftover credits at the end of the month.
Estimate monthly words scanned, then compare plans on that figure.
Find out whether credits expire and whether images or plagiarism spend the same pool.
Check the per-check cap, since a 500-word limit rules out whole essays.
Institution contract or card payment: who the product is built for
Some detectors are sold only to organisations. Turnitin is purchased by institutions, Compilatio starts Magister with a demo, and PlagiarismCheck.org quotes Advanced and Pro plans on request. Others sell with a card: Pangram, Winston AI and Originality.ai publish plans, and GPTZero's team plan is card-only with a two-seat minimum. The split matters for exit and procurement.
An institutional deal brings LMS links and training but no public price. A self-serve plan can be cancelled the same day but gives a school little reporting. Decide who needs the result, the teacher, the editor or the compliance officer, before comparing the tools, because the buyer type removes half the field immediately and shortens the demos you need to sit through.
Decide whether a purchase order is required, since GPTZero's team plan takes cards only.
Ask institutional vendors for a written price before a demo is booked.
Confirm which LMS connections are included in the tier you would buy.
Process evidence and data handling beyond the score
A probability score is weak evidence alone, so some vendors add proof of how text was written. GPTZero offers Writing Replay, a video-style record of typing, and Originality.ai lists writing replay in its browser extensions. Winston AI offers HUMN-1 website certification. Data handling matters just as much when the text is a student's essay or an unpublished manuscript.
Pangram states that content from registered accounts is deleted within thirty days of account closure, and ZeroGPT's terms say private user content is not used for AI training datasets. Read the retention clause, not the marketing line, ask whether exports exist, and note whether free scans are kept, since Pangram's free service collects submitted text.
Check whether the tool records the writing process or only scores finished text.
Read the retention and training clauses for both free and paid use.
Ask where data is hosted and who the contracting company is.
What goes wrong most often when buying AI content detectors software
Treating a single percentage as proof of misconduct, when every vendor labels it a probability and publishes only self-reported accuracy.
Choosing by headline price without converting to your own monthly word count, so credit expiry or a 500-word cap raises the real cost.
Buying a writing suite, such as Sapling or Smodin, when only detection is needed, and paying for unused features.
Pasting confidential manuscripts or student work into a free scanner before reading how the vendor stores and reuses submitted text.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best AI content detectors in 2026?
Pangram leads our ranking of 11. Pangram lists every plan: Individual covers 300,000 words a month plus image scans and similarity detection, Professional multiplies that fivefold and adds monthly API credits worth 200 dollars, and Team charges a listed amount per seat.
The pricing page states a SOC 2 Type 2 report. Detection is the whole product, so there is no writing suite around it. The terms name no country, and disputes go to binding arbitration.
Which AI content detectors tools publish their pricing?
4 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Pangram: Free plan; published monthly plans, 7-day trial on paid tiers, team seats added per seat.
Winston AI: 14-day trial with 2,000 credits, then published monthly or annual plans metered in credits.
Originality.ai: Free tier with one-time credits; published monthly plans in USD, one credit per 100 words.
Scribbr: Free for English texts up to 500 words; premium plagiarism check with a listed starting price.
The other 7 quote per organisation.
Is there a free AI content detectors tool?
Pangram, Originality.ai, Sapling AI, ZeroGPT, Scribbr offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these AI content detectors vendors established?
In 5 countries across 3 regions: North America 6, Elsewhere 3, Europe 2.
Pangram: Not stated by the vendor.
Winston AI: Canada.
Originality.ai: Canada.
GPTZero: United States.
Sapling AI: Not stated by the vendor.
ZeroGPT: United States.
Smodin: United States.
PlagiarismCheck.org: Not stated by the vendor.
Compilatio: France.
Scribbr: Netherlands.
Turnitin: United States.
What should you use instead of Pangram?
Winston AI and Originality.ai are the next two on this page. Winston AI is for Content teams wanting text, image and plagiarism checks drawn from a single credit balance; Originality.ai is for Agencies and publishers scanning freelance copy in bulk and keeping scan history.
Who should not buy Pangram?
Schools needing one institution-wide contract with LMS reporting. The terms name no country of establishment, so jurisdiction is unclear before signing.
If your AI content detectors product belongs among these 11, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.