Machine learning platforms are sold by user, by workflow minute, by processing unit or not at all, and a cheap entry often becomes a metered bill once training and serving start.
This guide ranks twelve platforms on what the first ninety days cost, the price after real workloads, how models and runs leave, and whether you can run it independently.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What machine learning platforms do
A machine learning platform is software for tracking experiments, training, registering, deploying and monitoring models, run in a vendor's cloud, your own cloud account or on your servers.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each machine learning platform is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Pay as you go per resource with Savings Plans; two-month free tier; rates published
Yes
Teams already on AWS wanting managed notebooks, training and hosting in one account
Teams wanting a single flat price or a non-AWS stack
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Per-user MLOps platform from Turku that runs on your own infrastructure
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Machine Learning Platforms in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestEurope
Valohai sells one product and bills by licensed user. All subscriptions include unlimited projects, experiments, pipelines and deployments, so adding experiments never changes the invoice.
Compute can run on virtual machines, Kubernetes or Slurm, which lets a team use hardware it already owns. The trade-off is that headcount sets the cost, and a large group of occasional users pays the same as heavy ones.
What stands out
Per-user licence
On-premises deployment
Pipelines
Where it costs you
The pricing page lists no amounts, so any budget starts with a sales conversation.
The capabilities listed (Git workflows, pipelines, any framework) describe code-first work, and the page names no visual modelling.
Right for
Engineering teams with heavy training workloads who want a per-user fee, not metered usage
Wrong for
Analysts who want to build models without writing code
FinlandPer user licence, quoted per organisation; 14-day trial
Visual workflow tool with open source desktop client and hosted team plan
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Machine Learning Platforms in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingEurope
KNIME separates the tool from the hosting. The desktop client is downloaded under an open source licence, while the Team plan adds private spaces, version control, scheduling and data apps that end users open in a browser.
Execution sizes are Small, Medium and Large at two, four and eight credits per minute. A workflow built on the desktop therefore stays usable if you leave the hosted plan, but custom Python environments are rebuilt each time the execution context starts.
What stands out
Open source client
Visual workflows
Credit-based execution
Where it costs you
Execution is billed per started minute on top of the plan, so long-running training workflows raise the bill.
The Team plan page names no MLOps features, so model monitoring and registry needs are unconfirmed.
Right for
Analysts and small teams who build models visually and want an open source client
Wrong for
Teams that need a code-first registry and serving stack
SwitzerlandOpen source desktop app; Team plan published as a seat bundle plus execution credits
Apache-2.0 experiment tracking and model registry you run yourself
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Machine Learning Platforms in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
MLflow is a project, not a company, which is why this guide lists no country for it. The licence is Apache-2.0 and the code sits in the mlflow GitHub organisation.
Because Databricks offers a managed version of the same open source tool, a team can start self-hosted and move later, or the reverse. What you give up is a single party to call: hosting, upgrades and security reviews fall to your own staff.
What stands out
Open source
Self-hosted
Tracking and registry
Where it costs you
You operate the tracking server, database and access control yourself, and the project page quotes no support terms.
It is a toolkit for tracking and packaging, and the pages describe no managed compute for training jobs.
Right for
Teams with platform engineers who want tracking and a registry without a vendor
Wrong for
Teams without anyone to run and secure a server
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under Apache-2.0, self-hosted; managed versions are priced by their hosts
Open source H2O-3 core plus commercial Driverless AI AutoML platform
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Machine Learning Platforms in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
H2O.ai has two layers. The open source layer, H2O-3, is a distributed in-memory machine learning platform used from R, Python, Scala or a notebook, with Stacked Ensembles and AutoML among its algorithms.
The commercial layer, Driverless AI, automates six stages from visualisation to scoring and writes AutoDoc for each model. Teams can prototype on the Apache-licensed core before talking to sales, and the commercial agreement terms are public.
What stands out
AutoML
Open source core
Air-gapped deployment
Where it costs you
The site shows no plans or amounts, and the product pages end in a demo request.
Current pages present a broad platform of predictive, generative and agentic AI, so a tabular-only buyer pays attention to scope.
Right for
Regulated teams wanting automated tabular modelling with documentation, on their own servers
Wrong for
Buyers who want published prices and self-service sign-up
United StatesQuoted per organisation; open source H2O-3 core; evaluation agreement for the commercial product
Visual and code platform with cloud trial and a self-installed Free Edition
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Machine Learning Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Dataiku combines visual machine learning and AutoML with full-code development in a shared project flow, and adds an LLM routing layer and agent tooling.
Choice of hosting is wider than most: Dataiku Cloud, Cloud Stacks in your own tenant where the vendor states it has no access to your data, or a custom install on your server. The trial excludes Govern and advanced LLM Mesh, so the governance features are not testable without sales.
What stands out
Visual ML
Self-managed option
Governance
Where it costs you
The pages checked show no paid prices, so cost is known only after a sales conversation.
The trial ends with deactivation of the cloud instance, and its limits (two users, one space) are tight for a team test.
Right for
Mixed analyst and data scientist teams needing visual and code work in one tool
Wrong for
Solo developers who only want a lightweight experiment tracker
France / United States14-day cloud trial; paid plans arranged with sales
Hub for models, datasets and Spaces with per-user plans and hourly compute
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Machine Learning Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Hugging Face is the entry in this list closest to a package registry for models. Repositories use Git with a storage layer built for large files, Spaces run demos on CPU or GPU hardware by the hour, and Enterprise adds SSO, audit logs and a US or EU storage choice.
Storage is metered per terabyte above plan allowances. Because everything is a Git repository, leaving is a clone, but experiment tracking and pipelines are not what the checked pages sell.
What stands out
Model hub
Git repositories
Hourly compute
Where it costs you
The pages reviewed describe no pipeline scheduler, so training orchestration comes from elsewhere.
The free tier keeps repository data in the US; choosing the EU requires Enterprise.
Right for
Teams sharing, versioning and serving open models who want published per-user prices
Wrong for
Teams needing scheduled, orchestrated training pipelines with lineage tracking
United StatesFree Hub plus Pro, Team and Enterprise per-user plans published; compute billed hourly
Experiment tracking now sold through CoreWeave with published seat plans
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Machine Learning Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Weights & Biases tracks runs and artifacts, and its public Python API can query runs and download artifacts, which matters for exit. The Free plan has five seats and 5 GB of monthly storage, Pro adds storage at a published per-gigabyte rate, and a free academic licence exists for those with an academic email.
The plan structure pushes mid-sized firms to Enterprise, and the site moving under CoreWeave means checking who your contract is with.
What stands out
Experiment tracking
Seat-based plans
Academic licence
Where it costs you
Pro is limited to ten model seats and to companies under 50 employees, after which only a quoted plan remains.
Dedicated deployment, private connectivity and customer-managed keys are listed only under Enterprise.
Right for
Small research teams wanting hosted experiment tracking with published prices
Wrong for
Companies over 50 employees wanting a published price
United StatesFree, Pro and Enterprise plans published; Pro meant for companies under 50 employees
Enterprise MLOps platform as single-tenant SaaS, in your VPC or on-premises
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Machine Learning Platforms in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
Domino is built around running a managed platform for many practitioners. The Nexus option spreads workloads across regions, clouds and on-premises, and FinOps features such as Spot Instance use and autoscaling target compute spend.
Licences are counted by role: admins and service accounts are capped, consumers are not. The cost is a quote-only buying process and a platform team to run Premium or Enterprise.
What stands out
Self-managed option
Marketplace purchase
Tiered licences
Where it costs you
The site offers a demo, not a trial, so hands-on evaluation depends on the vendor.
Admin and service-account counts are capped per tier, so large platform teams need a higher tier.
Right for
Large regulated organisations running many data scientists on shared governed infrastructure
Wrong for
Small teams wanting self-service sign-up and a posted price
United StatesQuoted per organisation; Cloud, Premium and Enterprise tiers
Agent and AutoML platform with 30-day trial and on-premises option
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Machine Learning Platforms in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
DataRobot's 30-day trial includes a low-code and code-first path with a CLI, an app template gallery and a choice of language models and vector databases. Support during the trial is community-based.
After the trial the commercial model is a quote, so the trial helps judge fit but not the invoice. The platform positions itself as replacing many separate AI tools, which suits consolidation but adds dependence on one vendor.
What stands out
AutoML
Agent builder
On-premises option
Where it costs you
The pricing page lists no plans or amounts, so cost follows a sales quote.
Current pages lead with agents, and monitoring and governance appear only as product links.
Right for
Enterprises wanting AutoML and agent building from one vendor with a long trial
Wrong for
Teams wanting published pricing or an open source core
United StatesQuoted per organisation; 30-day trial
Lakehouse platform with managed MLflow, billed per second by usage
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Machine Learning Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Databricks runs on AWS, Google Cloud and Azure, and on Azure it is billed directly by Microsoft. Managed MLflow extends the open source project, which lowers the cost of leaving the model layer, while Model Serving handles deployment of classical models, agents and GenAI.
The invoice is pay as you go or a committed contract with cross-cloud use. A Free Edition and a limited Community Edition exist for learning, not for production.
What stands out
Usage-based
Managed MLflow
Multi-cloud
Where it costs you
Cost depends on DBUs per workload plus separate cloud charges, which is hard to forecast.
A trial ends when its credits run out, after which you are subscribed to the plan used.
Right for
Teams whose data and pipelines already run on the Databricks lakehouse
Wrong for
Small teams wanting a flat monthly price for tracking only
United StatesPay as you go per Databricks Unit, price list published; committed-use discounts; trial offered
Azure service with no service fee, only underlying compute and services billed
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Machine Learning Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Azure Machine Learning has no separate service fee, so the question is what the surrounding Azure meters add up to. The product page lists automated ML for classification and regression, managed endpoints for deployment and scoring with safe rollouts, and prompt flow for language model workflows.
Microsoft Corporation of Redmond is the vendor, and the free-account link gives no credit terms on the pages checked.
What stands out
Azure only
Automated ML
Managed endpoints
Where it costs you
The total cost is spread over compute and four or more linked Azure services, so forecasting needs a worked estimate.
It sits inside an Azure subscription, so using another cloud for data or compute is outside the product.
Right for
Organisations already running on Azure that want ML inside their existing tenant
Wrong for
Teams on other clouds or with no Azure subscription
United StatesNo charge for the service itself; compute and linked Azure services billed at published rates
AWS model-building service billed per resource, with a two-month free tier
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Machine Learning Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
SageMaker AI is positioned inside Amazon SageMaker as the model development part, with HyperPod, JumpStart and MLOps named on the product page. Pricing is on-demand with no upfront commitments, or Savings Plans that apply across instance families and Regions.
The Free Tier allowances include 150,000 seconds of serverless inference and 160 Canvas session hours a month. It is AWS-bound by design, so the exit question is about the model artifacts you keep.
What stands out
AWS only
Pay as you go
Savings Plans
Where it costs you
Charges accrue per resource across notebooks, training, inference and more, so forecasting needs a careful estimate.
The free tier ends two months after the first resource is created.
Right for
Teams already on AWS wanting managed notebooks, training and hosting in one account
Wrong for
Teams wanting a single flat price or a non-AWS stack
United StatesPay as you go per resource with Savings Plans; two-month free tier; rates published
A machine learning platform is software for tracking experiments, training, registering, deploying and monitoring models, run in a vendor's cloud, your own cloud account or on your servers. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
6 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 6 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: KNIME, Hugging Face, Weights & Biases, Databricks, Azure Machine Learning, Amazon SageMaker.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 5 countries across 3 regions (North America 8, Europe 2, Elsewhere 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
3 of these are open source: KNIME, MLflow, H2O.ai. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
How machine learning platform pricing works: user, minute or unit
Three meters dominate this market, and the headline of one can hide the cost of another. Valohai licenses per user and says price ignores how much work runs. KNIME bills execution credits by the started minute on top of its plan, so long jobs cost more. Databricks counts Databricks Units per second, and Azure Machine Learning charges nothing for the service but bills compute and linked services.
Amazon SageMaker meters each resource separately. Before comparing offers, write down your expected training hours, number of people with logins and number of models served, then price each meter against that single scenario, not against the list price, and ask each vendor to confirm the result in writing.
Does the vendor bill per user, per minute of execution or per processing unit?
Are storage, networking and linked cloud services billed separately from the platform?
Do prices cap or tier by seats, such as the ten-seat Pro limit at Weights & Biases?
Where the platform runs decides how you leave
A platform you can host yourself leaves a different exit than one that only runs in the vendor's cloud. MLflow is Apache-2.0 and has a self-hosting section in its documentation, H2O-3 is Apache-2.0, and Valohai deploys on-premises, in a private cloud or air-gapped. Dataiku offers its own cloud, a deployment in your tenant or your own Linux server.
Hugging Face stores models as Git repositories, so a clone is a complete copy. Azure Machine Learning and Amazon SageMaker live inside a cloud account, so the question becomes which model artifacts and code you keep. Ask for the export path in writing before signing, not at renewal, and test it with a small project so the first real export is not also your last day on the product.
Can you install it on your own servers or in your own cloud tenant?
Are models, runs and metadata exportable in open formats or through a public API?
Does the contract end with deactivation of the instance, as with the Dataiku cloud trial?
Tracking and registry tools versus end-to-end platforms
Some entries here track and store, others cover the whole path from data to serving. MLflow records experiments and registers models, and the Weights & Biases public API queries runs and downloads artifacts. Hugging Face hosts models, datasets and demo Spaces. Dataiku, DataRobot, Domino Data Lab and Databricks claim wider scope, adding deployment, governance or agents.
Buying the wide platform to get a tracker means paying for scope you may never use, while buying a tracker for a regulated production line leaves governance to your staff. Decide first which stages you actually lack, then match them to the pages of each vendor, and treat anything a page only links to as unconfirmed until a demo shows it working on your data.
Which of tracking, training orchestration, registry, serving and monitoring do you need now?
Does the vendor page name monitoring or governance, or only link to it?
Can the narrow tool be replaced later without rewriting your training code?
Trials and evaluations tell you different things
Trial terms in this market range from a 30-day DataRobot trial with no stated usage caps to the 14-day Dataiku cloud trial limited to one space and two users. Valohai also offers 14 days. The Databricks trial ends when its credits run out, and the Amazon SageMaker free tier lasts two months from the first resource.
Domino Data Lab shows a demo rather than a trial. A trial proves the product runs your workload, but it rarely proves the invoice, since several vendors quote prices after the trial. Use the trial to measure hours and users, then ask the vendor to price exactly those numbers, including the second year, so the trial scope and the contract scope match.
What does the trial exclude, such as governance features or larger compute?
Does it end with deactivation, with a subscription to the plan used, or nothing?
Can you test your own data and a real training job, not only a demo project?
What goes wrong most often when buying machine learning platforms
Comparing list prices of a per-user tool and a per-minute or per-unit tool without pricing the same workload against both.
Choosing a cloud provider's service for its zero service fee and forgetting storage, registry and monitoring meters.
Assuming a trial reflects production because it includes the full feature list, when limits on users and compute differ.
Treating an open source tracker as free of cost and leaving out who will run, upgrade and secure the server.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What are the best machine learning platforms in 2026?
Valohai leads our ranking of 12. Valohai charges a fixed fee per user per month and says the price does not follow how much work runs on the platform, which keeps a GPU-heavy team's bill predictable.
It deploys as managed cloud, private cloud, on-premises or air-gapped. The pricing page shows no amounts, so cost appears only after a quote, and the listed capabilities centre on code, Git and pipelines.
Which machine learning platforms publish their pricing?
6 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
KNIME: Open source desktop app; Team plan published as a seat bundle plus execution credits.
Hugging Face: Free Hub plus Pro, Team and Enterprise per-user plans published; compute billed hourly.
Weights & Biases: Free, Pro and Enterprise plans published; Pro meant for companies under 50 employees.
Databricks: Pay as you go per Databricks Unit, price list published; committed-use discounts; trial offered.
Azure Machine Learning: No charge for the service itself; compute and linked Azure services billed at published rates.
Amazon SageMaker: Pay as you go per resource with Savings Plans; two-month free tier; rates published.
The other 6 quote per organisation.
Is there a free machine learning platform?
KNIME, Hugging Face, Weights & Biases, Amazon SageMaker offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these machine learning platform vendors established?
In 5 countries across 3 regions: North America 8, Europe 2, Elsewhere 2.
Valohai: Finland.
KNIME: Switzerland.
MLflow: Not stated by the vendor.
H2O.ai: United States.
Dataiku: France / United States.
Hugging Face: United States.
Weights & Biases: United States.
Domino Data Lab: United States.
DataRobot: United States.
Databricks: United States.
Azure Machine Learning: United States.
Amazon SageMaker: United States.
Which machine learning platforms are open source?
KNIME, MLflow, H2O.ai.
Which machine learning platforms can you host yourself?
Valohai, MLflow, H2O.ai, Domino Data Lab, DataRobot. The other 7 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Valohai?
KNIME and MLflow are the next two on this page. KNIME is for Analysts and small teams who build models visually and want an open source client; MLflow is for teams with platform engineers who want tracking and a registry without a vendor.
Who should not buy Valohai?
Analysts who want to build models without writing code. The pricing page lists no amounts, so any budget starts with a sales conversation..
If your machine learning platforms product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.