GIS software turns location data into maps and measurements, and the market spans free community desktops, one-time licences, subscription suites, browser mapping and warehouse-native platforms.
This guide ranks twelve products on what the first ninety days cost, what a normal setup costs once data and extensions are added, how data leaves, and whether you can buy and run it alone.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What GIS software does
GIS software stores, edits, analyses and displays data tied to places, such as points, lines, areas and imagery, and produces maps, spatial measurements and datasets for planning and decisions.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each GIS tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Quoted per organisation; annual user-type licences; 21-day trial
—
Government and enterprise GIS teams already running the Esri platform and extensions
Solo users and small teams wanting a low or zero licence cost
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Free desktop GIS under GPL from a Swiss-based association
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best GIS Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
QGIS costs nothing to start and nothing to leave: you download it, open your files and, if you move on, the formats stay open. Ninety days of use is mostly learning time, since the toolbox is broad and the layout designer, atlas and reporting tools take practice.
The real price is training and, if you want a service level, a support provider you pay yourself. Choose the long-term release for stable projects and the current release for new features.
What stands out
GPL licence
Windows, macOS, Linux
Plugin ecosystem
Where it costs you
No single vendor stands behind a service level, so help comes from a community or a provider you hire
Third-party plugins are the main way to extend it, and their upkeep is up to each plugin author
Right for
Analysts and public bodies wanting a no-licence desktop GIS with a large plugin catalogue
Wrong for
Teams that need one contract partner accountable for uptime and fixes
SwitzerlandFree to download; GPL v2 or later licence
Polish general-purpose desktop GIS sold as a perpetual per-user licence
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best GIS Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Setup is light: download the Editor or the free Viewer, open files in place and script in Python once the basics work. The price is published, a Standard licence per user or a concurrent licence for shared use on terminal servers, with volume discounts from the second licence.
Real cost over time is the maintenance renewal at 40 percent. Exit is easy because the licence is perpetual and formats are open. Support comes from the developers who build it.
What stands out
Perpetual licence
Python scripting
Free Viewer
Where it costs you
The free Viewer is read-only, so editing, analysis and scripting need the paid Editor
Updates and support stop after the first twelve months unless the maintenance renewal is paid
Right for
Small teams and consultancies wanting a one-time-fee desktop GIS from an independent vendor
Wrong for
Organisations wanting browser-based mapping run as a hosted service
Windows GIS and spatial database with a single low published price
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best GIS Software in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
Manifold has the shortest path to a purchase decision: Viewer is free, opens Release 9 projects and includes SQL and CPU and GPU parallelism, so you test your own data before paying the single desktop price.
The costs hide elsewhere, in per-incident support fees and the fact that the licence is tied to a machine and activated online. The vendor's own pages lean on benchmarks and forum quotes, so run your heaviest job yourself.
What stands out
Desktop licence
Parallel CPU and GPU
Windows only
Where it costs you
Runs on 64-bit Windows only, and activation requires an internet connection
Factory-direct purchases carry no refunds, and technical support is charged per incident
Right for
Analysts handling very large raster or table data on a Windows workstation
Wrong for
Mac or Linux users, or teams needing refunds and bundled support
Hong KongDesktop licence at one published price; free read-only Viewer; support charged per incident
Business mapping from Caliper with territory and routing tools, runnable offline
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best GIS Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Maptitude is the quickest of these to turn a spreadsheet of addresses into territories, drive-time rings and routes, and one country package with data is bundled.
The desktop edition is sold as a one-year subscription or a ten-year licence per user, and the online edition adds its own yearly fee with a storage and map-load allowance. Maps stay yours after a subscription ends, and offline use means no upload of sensitive locations.
What stands out
Territory management
Offline use
Country data packages
Where it costs you
Aimed at business mapping such as territories and routes, with no lidar or point-cloud workflows listed
Maptitude Online is a separate yearly subscription, so web sharing adds a second charge
Right for
Sales and logistics teams planning territories, delivery routes and site locations
Wrong for
Surveyors and remote-sensing analysts needing lidar or terrain processing
United StatesAnnual subscription or ten-year licence, published; free trial
Browser-based collaborative mapping with seat pricing and free viewers
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best GIS Software in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Felt is easy to start in a browser and cheap to share, because viewers are free on every plan and only editing seats are charged.
The price depends on seats and monthly caps: Team and Business have published monthly prices with a yearly discount, and Enterprise starts at a stated minimum. Exit is by export on paid plans, and Felt offers a QGIS plugin. Check the monthly view and processing limits against your traffic.
What stands out
Browser-based
Seat pricing
Felt AI
Where it costs you
The free plan cannot upload or analyse your own data, so a paid plan is needed from the first project
Processing and map views are capped per plan, with 5 GB of processing a month on Team
Right for
Teams sharing maps with many viewers who never touch the data themselves
Wrong for
Analysts running lidar, large raster or offline desktop geoprocessing
United StatesFree plan, then monthly or yearly team plans, published; trial on paid plans
GPL raster, vector and terrain analysis engine with a Python API
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best GIS Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
GRASS costs no licence and keeps your work in open formats, so leaving is cheap. The first ninety days go on learning the toolset and its scripting, which pays back in repeatable analysis.
It runs from Windows to Docker and conda. The honest cost is time and, if you need a service level, a commercial support company you choose from the project's list. Pair it with a mapping tool if cartography matters.
What stands out
GPL licence
Terrain and hydrology
Python API
Where it costs you
The project sells no support, so consulting or training comes from third-party companies on its list
Its strength is computation and scripting, so map layout and day-to-day cartography are done elsewhere
Right for
Researchers and environmental analysts running repeatable terrain, hydrology or time-series workflows
Wrong for
Office teams wanting quick maps and presentation layouts
Not stated by the vendorFree to download; GNU GPL v2 or later licence
Lidar, terrain and format conversion desktop from Blue Marble Geographics
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best GIS Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Global Mapper is a data-processing desktop: format conversion, reprojection and terrain work come first, and the tier you buy decides what else you get. Essentials covers viewing and conversion, Advanced adds analysis and scripting, and Professional adds lidar, photogrammetry and AI classification.
Check which tier carries your task before you start the trial, and read the licence policy, because machine moves and maintenance affect how portable a licence is.
What stands out
Three subscription tiers
Lidar processing
300+ formats
Where it costs you
Lidar, photogrammetry and image classification need the top Professional tier
Moving a licence to another machine requires deactivation and, for node-locked licences, current maintenance
Right for
Surveyors, foresters and engineers converting and analysing lidar, terrain and imagery
Wrong for
Business users planning sales territories and delivery routes
United StatesAnnual subscription in three tiers, published; free trial
Spatial analysis that runs inside your cloud data warehouse, quoted per organisation
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best GIS Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
CARTO suits an organisation whose data already lives in a warehouse, because analysis runs where the data is instead of being copied out.
Plan for the sales conversation: pay-as-you-go carries a twelve-month contract with metered use, and committed tiers are paid upfront yearly with SaaS or, on some tiers, self-hosted deployment. The trial is for evaluation only. Exit is simplest when your own warehouse holds the data.
What stands out
Cloud data warehouse
Pay as you go
Quoted tiers
Where it costs you
It assumes a cloud data warehouse or lakehouse, so teams without one need to set that up first
No prices are shown, and the 30-day trial excludes production use and is not extended
Right for
Data teams with a cloud warehouse wanting spatial analysis on top of it
Wrong for
Individuals and small teams wanting a desktop GIS they can buy once
United StatesPay-as-you-go or committed yearly tiers, quoted per organisation; 30-day trial
Beijing GIS platform with desktop, server, 3D and remote-sensing products
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best GIS Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
SuperMap is a platform choice, not an impulse download. iDesktopX is the desktop tool, with remote-sensing and AI extensions that run to many gigabytes, and a separate licence centre controls activation.
Expect a project-style purchase: the site shows trial access by account login and names no prices. Ask early about English documentation, support hours in your time zone and how projects export to open formats.
What stands out
iDesktopX 12.1
Windows and Linux
3D and remote sensing
Where it costs you
No prices are published on the English site and a trial licence needs a SuperMap account login
Some English product pages returned errors when we checked, so documentation depth is uncertain
Right for
Organisations planning cadastre, land management or smart-city projects across desktop and server
Wrong for
Buyers who want a transparent price before talking to a salesperson
ChinaTrial licence through account login; purchase terms not shown on the English site
Free open-core analysis tools for QGIS, Python and R with paid bundles
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best GIS Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Whitebox is an add-on, so its cost and its limits are easy to see. The open tools run free inside QGIS, Python or R.
Pro is sold by bundle, such as terrain and infrastructure siting or lidar and forest analytics, each priced per user per year, with Entry at best-effort community support and a priority queue from Standard. Count the host tool in the first ninety days, since you must learn that too.
What stands out
QGIS plugin
Python and R
Pro bundles
Where it costs you
It is not a standalone desktop GIS, so mapping and layout come from QGIS, Python or R
Entry-tier Pro support is best-effort community support, and priority queues start at Standard
Right for
Analysts working in QGIS, Python or R who need terrain, lidar and hydrology tools
Wrong for
Beginners wanting a complete GIS with its own map window and layouts
CanadaFree open core; paid Pro bundles, published, per user per year
Precisely desktop GIS with an AI assistant and a 30-day trial
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best GIS Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
MapInfo Pro now follows a subscription with continued software updates and phone, chat and email support, and a 30-day trial opens the product. The sensible test is your own largest raster in the multi-resolution format, plus the AI assistant on your own data.
Work out the three-year cost with the vendor, since no price is printed, and ask how projects and tables export if you later leave the subscription.
What stands out
Subscription
AI assistant
Precisely data
Where it costs you
No prices appear on the product page, so the cost of a subscription is only known after contact
The AI assistant and data integrations are built around Precisely data, which narrows the workflow to one supplier
Right for
Long-time MapInfo teams doing site selection and risk analysis on Precisely data
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a free or perpetual-licence tool with open governance
United StatesSubscription in one to three year terms; 30-day trial
Esri desktop GIS bought through annual user types, Windows only
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best GIS Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
ArcGIS Pro is a platform purchase more than a program: the first ninety days involve choosing a user type, a license level, ArcGIS Online or Enterprise, and extensions. Credits are bundled with ArcGIS Online user types.
Real price comes with extensions and the platform around it, quoted by Esri sales. Exit is the hard part, since the licence is annual and the wider platform holds your content and workflows.
What stands out
Windows only
Annual user types
Extensions
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows no amounts, and extensions such as Spatial Analyst and Image Analyst sit outside the base user types
It runs on Windows only, and access is an annual licence that ends when payment stops
Right for
Government and enterprise GIS teams already running the Esri platform and extensions
Wrong for
Solo users and small teams wanting a low or zero licence cost
United StatesQuoted per organisation; annual user-type licences; 21-day trial
GIS software stores, edits, analyses and displays data tied to places, such as points, lines, areas and imagery, and produces maps, spatial measurements and datasets for planning and decisions. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
8 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 4 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: QGIS, TatukGIS, Manifold, Maptitude, Felt, GRASS GIS, Global Mapper, Whitebox.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 7 countries across 4 regions (North America 7, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 2, Elsewhere 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
1 of these are open source: GRASS GIS. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Desktop, browser or warehouse: choose where the work happens
GIS products differ most in where the analysis runs. QGIS, TatukGIS, Manifold and ArcGIS Pro run on your own machine, so files stay local and large rasters depend on your hardware. Felt works in the browser and is built for sharing maps with many viewers. CARTO runs inside a cloud data warehouse, which makes sense only if your data already lives there.
Global Mapper is a desktop for lidar and terrain processing, while Maptitude targets territories and routes. Picking by feature list hides this split. Decide first whether your people are analysts, mappers or viewers, and where the data sits, then shortlist two tools of the same type and test one real job in both.
Write down who edits data and who only views maps.
Check where your data lives today: files, database or cloud warehouse.
Run one real job, not a demo, in each shortlisted tool.
Free, perpetual or subscription: how GIS licences are paid for
Licence models are the clearest cost driver here. QGIS and GRASS GIS are free under the GPL, and the cost moves to training and any support you hire. TatukGIS sells a perpetual licence with a published price and maintenance renewals at 40 percent after the first year, and Manifold sells a desktop licence at one published price. Maptitude offers a one-year subscription and a ten-year licence.
Global Mapper and Felt charge yearly or monthly, and ArcGIS Pro and MapInfo Pro are subscriptions where the price comes after contact. A perpetual licence may need paid upgrades, while a subscription renews whether you use it or not. Price five years, including extensions, add-ons and seats, because a low first-year figure often hides the larger later bill.
Price five years of use, including maintenance renewals and upgrades.
List every extension or tier you need and price those, not the base.
Ask what happens to your files and licence when payment stops.
Extensions and tiers decide the real price of Global Mapper and ArcGIS Pro
The entry price of a GIS rarely covers a normal project. Global Mapper's Essentials tier handles viewing and conversion, but terrain and vector analysis sit in Advanced and lidar, photogrammetry and AI classification in Professional. ArcGIS Pro is bought as a user type with Basic, Standard or Advanced levels, and extensions such as Spatial Analyst or Image Analyst are added on top.
Felt caps monthly processing and map views by plan, and CARTO meters use. Whitebox sells paid bundles per user and year around a free core. Before comparing, list the five tasks you do every month and find the exact tier or extension that carries each one, then price that combination.
Map each monthly task to the tier or extension that includes it.
Ask for the tier comparison table before the trial starts.
Check usage caps such as processing, views or credits against your volume.
Trials, viewers and the limits they hide
GIS trials and free versions limit the steps that test your pipeline. Manifold's free Viewer opens Release 9 projects but is read-only and lacks scripting and printing. TatukGIS has a free Viewer that cannot edit. CARTO gives 30 days, excludes production use and does not extend them.
ArcGIS Pro offers 21 days, MapInfo Pro 30 days and Global Mapper a trial without a credit card. SuperMap asks you to log in to request a trial licence. A trial that cannot write or export proves little about delivery, so plan one real deliverable before it expires, and open the exported files in a second program to confirm that your data can leave.
Note what each trial or viewer disables before you start.
Export one finished map or dataset and open it elsewhere.
Confirm whether trial projects open after you buy.
What goes wrong most often when buying GIS software
Comparing a business-mapping tool with a lidar and terrain tool on feature count instead of on the work you do every month.
Treating a free GIS as free of cost when training time and missing vendor support land on your own team.
Buying the base tier of a subscription and finding that the extension you need is priced separately.
Judging a trial or read-only viewer that cannot edit or export, then being surprised by the workflow after paying.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best GIS software in 2026?
QGIS leads our ranking of 12. QGIS is published under GNU GPLv2+ and owned by its contributors, with the project organised as an association legally based in Switzerland.
It installs on Windows, Mac and Linux, offers a long-term release (3.44) next to the current 4.2, and is extended through third-party plugins. Support comes through local user groups and support providers that the site lists.
Which GIS tools publish their pricing?
8 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Manifold: Desktop licence at one published price; free read-only Viewer; support charged per incident.
Maptitude: Annual subscription or ten-year licence, published; free trial.
Felt: Free plan, then monthly or yearly team plans, published; trial on paid plans.
GRASS GIS: Free to download; GNU GPL v2 or later licence.
Global Mapper: Annual subscription in three tiers, published; free trial.
Whitebox: Free open core; paid Pro bundles, published, per user per year.
The other 4 quote per organisation.
Is there a free GIS tool?
QGIS, Felt, GRASS GIS, Whitebox offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these GIS software vendors established?
In 7 countries across 4 regions: North America 7, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 2, Elsewhere 1.
QGIS: Switzerland.
TatukGIS: Poland.
Manifold: Hong Kong.
Maptitude: United States.
Felt: United States.
GRASS GIS: Not stated by the vendor.
Global Mapper: United States.
CARTO: United States.
SuperMap: China.
Whitebox: Canada.
MapInfo Pro: United States.
ArcGIS Pro: United States.
Which GIS tools are open source?
GRASS GIS.
Which GIS tools can you host yourself?
Felt, ArcGIS Pro. The other 10 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of QGIS?
TatukGIS and Manifold are the next two on this page. TatukGIS is for small teams and consultancies wanting a one-time-fee desktop GIS from an independent vendor; Manifold is for Analysts handling very large raster or table data on a Windows workstation.
Who should not buy QGIS?
Teams that need one contract partner accountable for uptime and fixes. No single vendor stands behind a service level, so help comes from a community or a provider you hire.
If your GIS software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.