A virtual private server gives one customer a fixed share of a physical machine with root access, bought by the month or hour. This guide ranks twelve providers on first-90-day setup effort, real price with backups added, exit, independence and who each suits.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What VPS hosting providers software does
A VPS provider rents a virtualised server with dedicated allocations of CPU, memory and storage, administered by the customer through root access, a console and an API.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each VPS hosting providers tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Published monthly plans with hourly rates, billed monthly in arrears; 3-day trial
—
An agency that wants managed performance without a sysadmin
A team that can configure its own servers
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Cloud servers on shared or dedicated vCPUs, billed in euros
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best VPS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Hetzner Cloud sells shared-resource (Cost-Optimized and Regular Performance) and dedicated-vCPU (General Purpose) servers, managed through a console, a REST API and a CLI, with Terraform, Ansible and Kubernetes integrations.
Servers sit in Germany, Finland, the USA and Singapore, and the Germany and Finland sites hold ISO/IEC 27001 certificates. The backup limit is seven daily slots, and a 99.9 percent uptime SLA is stated. Hetzner Online GmbH is in Gunzenhausen, Germany.
What stands out
Shared or dedicated vCPU
REST API and CLI
Germany, Finland, US, Singapore
Where it costs you
Backups and snapshots exclude volumes attached to the server.
Each Primary IPv4 address adds a monthly charge, and the cloud page shows no hourly or traffic figures.
Right for
Developers and small teams who run their own servers and want low prices
Wrong for
Buyers who need the vendor to administer the operating system for them
GermanyPublished monthly prices excluding VAT per server type; Primary IPv4 address charged separately
Large VPS specifications quoted at 24-month effective rates
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best VPS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Contabo Cloud VPS 4 to 18 range from 4 vCPU and 8 GB to 18 vCPU and 96 GB, with port speeds from 200 Mbit/s to 1 Gbit/s and one to three snapshots by plan. Prices are effective rates for a 24-month subscription, with a one-month minimum initial contract.
Contabo supports the VPS itself but leaves application maintenance and troubleshooting to the customer. A Storage Extension can double capacity. The page names no money-back guarantee for Core VPS.
What stands out
Unmetered incoming traffic
Snapshots included
Storage extension
Where it costs you
Outgoing traffic is unlimited only under a fair usage policy that allows throttling of servers with exceptionally high use.
The cheapest plans carry a 200 Mbit/s port and a single snapshot slot.
Right for
Cost-driven buyers who need large CPU and memory for steady workloads
Wrong for
Workloads that push sustained outbound traffic or need fast backups
GermanyPublished effective monthly rates for a 24-month subscription; 1-month minimum initial contract
Configurable cloud servers billed by the hour or month
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best VPS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Kamatera lets a buyer configure vCPU, memory and storage and choose hourly billing (by the minute, with different charges powered on or off) or prepaid monthly billing.
A 30-day trial worth up to 100 dollars on one server is offered. Windows Server 2016 to 2025 and Windows 10 and 11 are selectable. Snapshots are not mentioned on the page, and the legal country of the company is not stated.
What stands out
Hourly billing
21 locations
Managed option
Where it costs you
Prices for the extended daily backup and for the managed service are not listed on the pricing page.
Traffic beyond the plan allowance is charged at 0.01 dollars per GB.
Right for
Teams that want to size CPU, RAM and storage per server and pay by the hour
Wrong for
Buyers who want a single fixed monthly price with backups included
Not stated by the vendorPublished hourly and monthly prices; 30-day free trial on one server
Managed cloud VPS with a bundled control panel and backups
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best VPS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
ScalaHosting positions its cloud VPS as managed: the team sets up the server, monitors hardware, installs software and resolves issues, and SPanel is included while cPanel is sold as an add-on by account count.
Daily automatic offsite backups and root access are listed. The unmanaged route is linked but not described, the term for each promotional price is not shown, and the country is not stated.
What stands out
Managed VPS
SPanel control panel
Offsite backups
Where it costs you
Promotional prices on the page sit well below the renewal prices shown next to them.
The page shows no vCPU, RAM or SSD values for the builds, only slider labels, and does not name any locations.
Right for
Owners who want a managed VPS with control panel and backups included
Wrong for
Teams that need public pricing, specifications and country details
Not stated by the vendorPublished promotional prices with higher renewal prices; 1, 12 or 36 month terms
Fully managed Linux VPS ladder with an unmanaged discount route
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best VPS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Hostwinds offers Linux VPS plans from 1 vCPU and 1 GB with 1 TB of bandwidth up to 16 vCPU and 96 GB with 9 TB, all with full management included. The Hostwinds Cloud Control Portal manages the servers and cPanel/WHM is available as a template with a separate licence.
Hostwinds describes itself in its terms as a HostPapa Inc company and gives a Seattle address in its privacy policy. No trial or money-back guarantee appears on the VPS page.
What stands out
Fully managed
Root access
Paid backups
Where it costs you
Backups cost extra, at 1 dollar a month plus 0.03 dollars per GB.
The page shows two price figures per plan without saying which is promotional, and names no data centre locations.
Right for
Buyers wanting a managed Linux VPS with root access and a US vendor
Wrong for
Anyone who needs backups, locations and renewal pricing stated up front
United StatesPublished monthly prices with a lower promotional figure on the order button; backups billed extra
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best VPS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Liquid Web's product is the administrator you did not hire: a dedicated server or VPS with operating system updates, monitoring and support staff who will log in and fix things. That is worth paying for if downtime costs money and nobody in-house knows Linux.
It is not cheap next to Hetzner or Vultr, the product list mixes hosting with WordPress plugins and other acquired brands, and the data centres are in the US, Europe and Australia, so check the location before ordering.
What stands out
Self or fully managed
99.99% uptime guarantee
Linux or Windows
Where it costs you
Costs more than renting comparable unmanaged hardware
Catalogue grown by acquisition is hard to navigate
Right for
Businesses outgrowing shared hosting without a system administrator on staff
Wrong for
Technical teams happy to run their own servers
United StatesPublished monthly and hourly prices; promotions for new accounts only
Droplets billed per second with a monthly price cap
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best VPS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
DigitalOcean's pricing is the clearest in cloud infrastructure: servers are billed per second up to a flat monthly price, so you can predict a bill before you deploy, and the documentation taught a generation of developers how to run servers.
Managed databases and Kubernetes are solid. It is unmanaged by default: you are the system administrator, and the managed add-ons cost enough that the price advantage narrows once you use them.
What stands out
Per-second billing
Monthly price cap
12 locations
Where it costs you
Unmanaged: you are the sysadmin
Managed add-ons cost more than they look
Right for
A developer who wants predictable infrastructure pricing
Wrong for
A business with no technical staff
United StatesPublished hourly and monthly prices; billed per second with a monthly cap; promotional credits sometimes offered
Four KVM plans paid upfront, with weekly backups included
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best VPS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Hostinger VPS plans run from KVM 1 (1 vCPU, 4 GB, 50 GB NVMe) to KVM 8 (8 vCPU, 32 GB, 400 GB NVMe) with a 1 Gbps network and a free domain for the first year. Tools include an AI web terminal, a Docker manager, firewall management and a public API.
The 30-day money-back guarantee applies, and the VPS can be moved between its ten locations. The prices are shown with a campaign discount that does not carry into renewal.
What stands out
AMD EPYC and NVMe
Weekly backups
10 data centres
Where it costs you
The renewal price is higher than the introductory price shown, and all plans are paid upfront.
Included backups are weekly, so recovery points can be up to a week old.
Right for
Individuals and small teams starting a first VPS who want guided tooling
Wrong for
Buyers who need hourly billing or daily included backups
LithuaniaPublished prices paid upfront, with renewal prices above the introductory rate; 30-day money-back guarantee
Instance ranges billed pay as you go, with free egress
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best VPS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Scaleway answers the ninety-day question through its startup programmes, which carry credits of up to 36,000 euros, rather than a plain trial.
The real price depends on items beyond the instance: a public IPv4 is billed per hour, a public gateway has its own tiered hourly price, and Edge Services show no egress fee on three plans. Independence is partial, since the company belongs to the iliad Group.
What stands out
Pay as you go
Dedicated or shared vCPU
Paris, Amsterdam, Warsaw
Where it costs you
Each public IPv4 address carries an hourly charge on top of the instance
Cloud regions sit in four countries only, and Sweden and Germany are described as upcoming
Right for
Teams wanting GPU instances and object storage from a Paris-registered operator
Wrong for
Buyers who need regions outside four European countries
FrancePay as you go; Savings Plans give up to 25% off for long-term use
Five VPS sizes with an introductory rate and trial
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best VPS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
IONOS VPS has five sizes from 1 vCore and 2 GB to 12 vCores and 24 GB with NVMe storage and unlimited traffic up to 1 Gbit/s. Linux and Windows Server 2022 or 2025 are offered, with full root access, a Cloud Panel, a KVM console and server images that act as point-in-time snapshots.
The UK page offers a 30-day free trial, while the .com page offers a 30-day money-back guarantee. Locations listed are the UK, Germany, Spain and the United States.
What stands out
Unlimited traffic to 1 Gbit/s
Linux or Windows
UK, Germany, Spain, US
Where it costs you
The low monthly figure applies for the first three months and a setup fee is added on the UK page.
Plesk Obsidian is an extra monthly cost, and the vendor shows different legal entities per country site.
Right for
Buyers wanting a trial before committing, with UK or German hosting
Wrong for
Buyers who want one clear total price from day one
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly prices excluding VAT with a 3-month introductory rate and one-off setup fee; 30-day free trial
Four VPS tiers with anti-DDoS and daily backups included
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best VPS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
OVHcloud VPS-1 to VPS-4 run from 2 vCores, 4 GB and 40 GB NVMe to 8 vCores, 24 GB and 200 GB NVMe, with public bandwidth of 500 Mbps to 3 Gbps and unlimited traffic with a footnote.
Daily backups are included on a rolling seven-day basis and replicated three times in the same datacentre. Anti-DDoS protection is included, a KVM console is integrated, and Plesk or cPanel are optional. OVH SAS has its registered office in Roubaix, France.
What stands out
Anti-DDoS included
Daily backups
Unlimited traffic
Where it costs you
Premium automatic backup and snapshots are paid extras on top of the VPS price.
The VPS page names neither a trial or guarantee nor specific data centres.
Right for
Buyers needing built-in DDoS protection and a French provider
Wrong for
Buyers who need the exact price, locations and trial terms on one page
FrancePublished from-prices per month; no trial or guarantee stated on the VPS page
Managed hosting layer sold on top of five cloud providers
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best VPS Hosting Providers in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Cloudways sits between you and DigitalOcean, Vultr, Linode, AWS or Google, and sells the part most agencies do not want to own: the stack, the caching, the staging environments and the updates. The result is fast WordPress hosting without anyone learning nginx, and you keep the choice of where it physically runs.
Two caveats. You pay a management margin over the raw infrastructure price, and DigitalOcean's acquisition has been followed by packaging and price changes that longstanding customers have noticed.
What stands out
Hourly billing
Managed backups
Five infrastructure providers
Where it costs you
A margin on top of the underlying cloud
Pricing and packaging changed after acquisition
Right for
An agency that wants managed performance without a sysadmin
Wrong for
A team that can configure its own servers
MaltaPublished monthly plans with hourly rates, billed monthly in arrears; 3-day trial
A VPS provider rents a virtualised server with dedicated allocations of CPU, memory and storage, administered by the customer through root access, a console and an API. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
11 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 1 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Hetzner Cloud, Contabo, Kamatera, ScalaHosting, Hostwinds, Liquid Web, DigitalOcean, Hostinger VPS, IONOS VPS, OVHcloud VPS, Cloudways.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 6 countries across 3 regions (Europe 6, North America 3, Elsewhere 3). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
What a VPS provider actually sells
A VPS is a slice of a host: you get vCPUs, memory, disk and a public address, and you administer the operating system yourself unless the vendor sells management. That split decides the first 90 days. DigitalOcean calls its Droplets unmanaged, Liquid Web and ScalaHosting sell managed plans, and Hostwinds bundles full management into its Linux ladder.
A cheap unmanaged server costs hours of patching, firewalling and monitoring, which a managed plan moves into the invoice. Cloudways sits one layer higher: it runs managed hosting on DigitalOcean, Vultr, Linode, AWS or Google Compute Engine, so you pay for the management on top of the infrastructure. Decide first how much of that work you will do yourself.
Is management included, optional or absent for the plan you want?
Who owns patching, firewall rules and recovery after a failed update?
Does the plan include root access and a control panel, or is the panel a paid licence?
Reading VPS prices: promotions, terms and add-ons
The advertised figure is rarely the bill. Contabo shows an effective rate for a 24-month subscription, Hostinger VPS and ScalaHosting show promotional prices that rise at renewal, and IONOS VPS charges a setup fee after a three-month introductory rate.
Kamatera bills by the hour or month with no long-term contract, DigitalOcean bills per second against a monthly cap, and Cloudways bills hourly in arrears. Backups are usually extra: Hostwinds charges per GB, DigitalOcean adds a percentage of the server price, while Hostinger VPS includes weekly backups and OVHcloud VPS a daily one. Add the backup line before comparing any two quotes.
Which term is the shown price tied to, and what is the renewal price?
Is there a setup fee, and are IPv4 addresses charged (Hetzner Cloud adds a monthly charge)?
What do backups and snapshots cost once the server holds real data?
Traffic, network and fair usage
Almost every provider here says unlimited or generous traffic, and the wording matters. Contabo allows unlimited outgoing traffic only under a fair usage policy and reserves the right to throttle exceptionally high use. IONOS VPS gives unlimited traffic up to 1 Gbit/s, and OVHcloud VPS shows unlimited traffic with a footnote.
Kamatera charges 0.01 dollars per GB beyond the plan, while Scaleway advertises free egress. Port speed also varies, from 200 Mbit/s on a small Contabo plan to 3 Gbps on OVHcloud VPS-4. Ask for the figure that applies to the plan you will run, because the headline claim is usually the best case.
Is outgoing traffic capped, throttled under fair usage or billed per GB?
What is the port speed on the plan you will actually run?
Does the DDoS protection come with the plan or as an extra?
Leaving a VPS provider
Exit is a technical task, not a form. Snapshots and images usually stay inside the provider, so a move means copying data out yourself. Hetzner Cloud states that backups and snapshots exclude attached volumes, and OVHcloud VPS keeps a rolling seven-day daily backup rather than an archive.
Prepaid terms also matter: Hostinger VPS is paid upfront and Contabo shows rates for a 24-month subscription, so leaving early forfeits the discount, while Kamatera and Cloudways state no long-term contract. Before committing, write down the exit steps: how you copy data off, how long DNS changes take and what the cancellation notice is.
Can you export a disk image or only restore inside the same provider?
How long is the prepaid term and is a refund stated (for example Hostinger VPS offers 30 days)?
Are volumes, IPs and snapshots billed after you delete the server?
What goes wrong most often when buying VPS hosting providers software
Comparing the first-term promotional price of one provider with the renewal price of another.
Buying an unmanaged server without allocating anyone to patching and monitoring it.
Assuming unlimited traffic means no throttling, and not reading the fair usage clause.
Treating provider snapshots as the only backup, so that leaving or losing the account loses the data.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best VPS hosting providers in 2026?
Hetzner Cloud leads our ranking of 12. Hetzner Cloud offers three server families (Cost-Optimized, Regular Performance, General Purpose) in Germany, Finland, the USA and Singapore, with a REST API, a CLI and Terraform and Ansible integrations.
Daily backups keep seven slots and snapshots are manual. Two limits to plan for: backups and snapshots exclude attached volumes, and every IPv4 address adds a monthly charge.
Which VPS hosting providers tools publish their pricing?
11 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Hetzner Cloud: Published monthly prices excluding VAT per server type; Primary IPv4 address charged separately.
Contabo: Published effective monthly rates for a 24-month subscription; 1-month minimum initial contract.
Kamatera: Published hourly and monthly prices; 30-day free trial on one server.
ScalaHosting: Published promotional prices with higher renewal prices; 1, 12 or 36 month terms.
Hostwinds: Published monthly prices with a lower promotional figure on the order button; backups billed extra.
Liquid Web: Published monthly and hourly prices; promotions for new accounts only.
DigitalOcean: Published hourly and monthly prices; billed per second with a monthly cap; promotional credits sometimes offered.
Hostinger VPS: Published prices paid upfront, with renewal prices above the introductory rate; 30-day money-back guarantee.
IONOS VPS: Published monthly prices excluding VAT with a 3-month introductory rate and one-off setup fee; 30-day free trial.
OVHcloud VPS: Published from-prices per month; no trial or guarantee stated on the VPS page.
Cloudways: Published monthly plans with hourly rates, billed monthly in arrears; 3-day trial.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free VPS hosting providers tool?
No. None of the 12 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these VPS hosting providers vendors established?
In 6 countries across 3 regions: Europe 6, North America 3, Elsewhere 3.
Hetzner Cloud: Germany.
Contabo: Germany.
Kamatera: Not stated by the vendor.
ScalaHosting: Not stated by the vendor.
Hostwinds: United States.
Liquid Web: United States.
DigitalOcean: United States.
Hostinger VPS: Lithuania.
Scaleway: France.
IONOS VPS: Not stated by the vendor.
OVHcloud VPS: France.
Cloudways: Malta.
What should you use instead of Hetzner Cloud?
Contabo and Kamatera are the next two on this page. Contabo is for Cost-driven buyers who need large CPU and memory for steady workloads; Kamatera is for teams that want to size CPU, RAM and storage per server and pay by the hour.
Who should not buy Hetzner Cloud?
Buyers who need the vendor to administer the operating system for them. Backups and snapshots exclude volumes attached to the server..
If your VPS hosting providers product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.